When to pump petrol?

TSkei18kun
post Mar 4 2009, 07:42 PM, updated 17y ago

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

is it better to pump petrol when the tank is half full or near empty?
reason given is:
-if half full then pump petrol, the amount of petrol changing into gas and lost is minimise but then the car is heavier and use more petrol

pls give ur comment. tq icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kei18kun: Mar 4 2009, 07:50 PM
leanman
post Mar 4 2009, 07:45 PM

Da LYN Man
2,253 posts

what is the difference between half full and half empty?
I normally pump when the meter shows F (finish)

This post has been edited by leanman: Mar 4 2009, 07:47 PM
killerloop81
post Mar 4 2009, 07:52 PM

SpLiTfIrE
1,429 posts

when is 2nd last bar
loong2020
post Mar 4 2009, 07:52 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

nah..not much different.....full tank make the car abit heavier...but pickup u wont notice......just fill up full tank and enjoy ur driving and fewer trips to petrol station......i icon_idea.gif

SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 4 2009, 08:07 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

when i feel like eating ice cream i pump... n when i pump i pump till full lor
Ferdinand5
post Mar 4 2009, 08:23 PM

24 posts

i think not too much different?!
mayb at nite preferred? laugh.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 4 2009, 08:28 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Mar 4 2009, 07:42 PM)
is it better to pump petrol when the tank is half full or near empty?
reason given is:
-if half full then pump petrol, the amount of petrol changing into gas and lost is minimise but then the car is heavier and use more petrol

pls give ur comment. tq icon_rolleyes.gif
whether u pump half full or near empty, the amount of petrol evaporation will still be the same isnt it?
Just the matter of doing it once for whole tank, or twice for half tank and half tank sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

About the car heavier, yes it will be heavier but dude....u are not F1 racer, slight weight doesnt even do much for u...
bo093
post Mar 4 2009, 08:38 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Ferdinand5 @ Mar 4 2009, 08:23 PM)
i think not too much different?!
mayb at nite preferred?  laugh.gif
If not mistaken.
At nite is the best time to pump.
That what my brother always do.
Pump at nite less evaporation.
Why..
Less escape through the hole for gas.
Like water in a bottle.
More Evaporation faster escape.
Less Evaporation slow escape of gas.

Please do correct me. wink.gif
iluvena
post Mar 4 2009, 09:32 PM

425 posts

some myth..

pump at nite to reduce gas evaporation
but according to some.. the land surrounding the tank is still hot (even it is night already).. so no difference.

i suggest pump during the day (early in the morning)..
coz.. according to my myth.. the land surrounding the tank is still cold.. so the gas will less evaporate to the thin air.
adrianteddy
post Mar 4 2009, 09:34 PM

Founder of Lowyat.Net Android Community Club
1,542 posts

Dun wait till light come out only pump.. You will indirectly spoilt your Fuel Meter Sensor.. Just pump whenever you are free...
bo093
post Mar 4 2009, 09:50 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(iluvena @ Mar 4 2009, 09:32 PM)
some myth..

but according to some.. the land surrounding the tank is still hot (even it is night already).. so no difference.

coz.. according to my myth.. the land surrounding the tank is still cold..  so the gas will less evaporate to the thin air.
Yeah early in the morning before sunrise.
Before sunrise is the coldest point of the day.
aarex
post Mar 4 2009, 09:52 PM

** DyNaMic **
1,153 posts

QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Mar 4 2009, 09:34 PM)
Dun wait till light come out only pump.. You will indirectly spoilt your Fuel Meter Sensor.. Just pump whenever you are free...

hmm.gif Is tat true?? I always wait til light come out only pump wo, sometimes come out i also havent pump...still drive more 50km++. but after pump, found tat inside still got 10 litre petrol left. sweat.gif wink.gif
V12Kompressor
post Mar 4 2009, 09:53 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

Go Genting Highland pump lor...
The Esso there... fuel should be at the maximum density.

sleep.gif
adrianteddy
post Mar 4 2009, 09:54 PM

Founder of Lowyat.Net Android Community Club
1,542 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Mar 4 2009, 09:52 PM)
hmm.gif Is tat true?? I always wait til light come out only pump wo, sometimes come out i also havent pump...still drive more 50km++. but after pump, found tat inside still got 10 litre petrol left.  sweat.gif  wink.gif
Yup....it is true.. It might not spoilt if you do that for short term, but for long term it will.. If ur sensor spoilt d, fuel wanna empty already also the light wont come on anymore.. Its better to be safe and sorry. smile.gif
fahrur_07
post Mar 4 2009, 09:56 PM

~unite against racism~
1,273 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Mar 4 2009, 07:45 PM)
sure ar your car meter shows F for finish blink.gif
i thought have F=full and E=empty
ice_prince7
post Mar 4 2009, 10:25 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(fahrur_07 @ Mar 4 2009, 09:56 PM)
hahaha spot on!
imperialrealcs
post Mar 4 2009, 10:35 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

not true, been doing that for 13years and my fuel indicator still functioning as usual nod.gif
everything is subjected to wear and tear.. even the best silicon wiper cant last u a lifetime
ahliew
post Mar 4 2009, 10:43 PM

tumpang thread, as u know the gas pump handle has a speed selector, whether to pump it fast or slow.

why since day one when i bought my satria neo, i cannot pump in the fastest speed? & the handle will jump as in stopped automatically.

the only solution is to pump it in a slower speed.

why like that? is it too much gas vapour in the tank that causes it?
MaUi^
post Mar 4 2009, 10:48 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(fahrur_07 @ Mar 4 2009, 09:56 PM)
I though E is for Enough? enough to go to petrol pump, if E = empty your cannot more already.
MangO
post Mar 4 2009, 11:04 PM

LYN Addict
623 posts

Ok this is what I heard but can't confirm but makes sense to me:

1. Pump early in the morning because the gas is the coldest at that time. In the evening heat is still retained in the concrete thus pumping fuel late evening is still warmer then morning. In science molecules contract when its colder. Following that priciple you should get more bang for your buck when you pump in the morning.

2. The petrol tanks are also refilled in the evening and will stir up the petrol and moving the sediments, If you are pumping at that or after that time the sediments might be pumped into your car.

3. Pumping at lower speeds might take longer but there will be less evaporation. Its like washing your car when you on more water, more spray will be created especially when you hit the car.

4. Pumping half tank is better because there will be a point that the fuel can't evaporate due to saturation in the. Larger empty portion = more evaporated gas. Also its no fun when your tank shows empty and you are not near a station. Heh.

5. Safer to also pump in the morning as more people and robbers are less like to rob then.

kayap00
post Mar 5 2009, 10:18 AM

152 posts

try tank always in FULL..

last week .. heavy rain morning . . stuck in jam 3 hours ..

last 2 day .. heavy rain after work .. stuck in jam another 3 hours ..

luckly those 2 day tank is FULL ...

so .. don care when to pump .. just pump it when u feel need to...

This post has been edited by kayap00: Mar 5 2009, 10:20 AM
-Y-
post Mar 5 2009, 10:34 AM

misanthropist
1,424 posts

QUOTE(MaUi^ @ Mar 4 2009, 10:48 PM)
I though E is for Enough? enough to go to petrol pump, if E = empty your cannot more already.
yeah. E for enough. but i dont remember how many km ur car can go with the E status.
Dannyl
post Mar 5 2009, 10:37 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Mar 4 2009, 07:45 PM)
Damn you're funny. But you're right. F=finish. E=enough.
carlist_my
post Mar 5 2009, 10:45 AM

QUOTE(iluvena @ Mar 4 2009, 09:32 PM)
some myth..

coz.. according to my myth.. the land surrounding the tank is still cold..  so the gas will less evaporate to the thin air.
yeap yeap, i pump in the morning too.
TSkei18kun
post Mar 7 2009, 09:19 AM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

haha, good wan, but no petrol station around, will do it on weekends for me
loong2020
post Mar 7 2009, 10:04 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(kayap00 @ Mar 5 2009, 10:18 AM)
try tank always in FULL..

last week .. heavy rain morning . . stuck in jam 3 hours ..

last 2 day .. heavy rain after work .. stuck in jam another 3 hours ..

luckly those 2 day tank is FULL ...

so .. don care when to pump .. just pump it when u feel need to...
lol..agreed....we never know whats gonna happen later on, sometimes terrible jam if ur car left 1bar and jam for 3hours.... doh.gif doh.gif
jonasrudd
post Mar 7 2009, 10:41 AM

30 posts

i pump during morning or night only icon_idea.gif afternoon feel the fuel finishing so fast doh.gif
TSkei18kun
post Mar 13 2009, 03:12 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Mar 5 2009, 10:37 AM)
Damn you're funny.  But you're right.  F=finish.  E=enough.
lol, taken from the singapore movie "liang po po"
K3nnYkl82
post Mar 13 2009, 03:38 PM

2,479 posts

that is what the sensor build for ..
if you it never light up .. u lagi worry tongue.gif ... haha ..
after 5 years .. petrol empty d .. the sensor was never working how ? haha
HughieRmX
post Mar 13 2009, 04:10 PM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

Hmm .. in my opinion, normally I will make sure if possible go for full tank and to my surprise it can last longer rather than pumping half or quarter fill of the tank only. unsure.gif
But so far .. it works for my side here.

Cheers ~
TSkei18kun
post Mar 14 2009, 02:56 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Mar 13 2009, 03:38 PM)
that is what the sensor build for ..
if you it never light up .. u lagi worry tongue.gif ... haha ..
after 5 years .. petrol empty d .. the sensor was never working how ? haha
correct also, need to test my light up

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Mar 13 2009, 04:10 PM)
Hmm .. in my opinion, normally I will make sure if possible go for full tank and to my surprise it can last longer rather than pumping half or quarter fill of the tank only. unsure.gif

Cheers ~
the only thing is if u pump full some of the petrol will be sent back to petrol station
just near full should be ok, my opinion lah
holy_devil113
post Mar 14 2009, 03:14 PM

546 posts

i pump when i got money...
No money no pump. sad.gif
NewbieBetta
post Mar 14 2009, 03:36 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Mar 13 2009, 04:10 PM)

Cheers ~
i feel this way too..pumping full tank feel like it can last longer.. hmm.gif
andyjyneo
post Mar 14 2009, 08:11 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

When you feel need to, then pump. For city folks, pump at half tank is the safest, in case of traffic jam.

What's the best time to pump? Dawn will be, because ground temperature is cold, hence you'll pump more petrol. And remember to adjust to slow mode.
zeist
post Mar 14 2009, 08:15 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

I pump according to mileage, why? Because my fuel meter is no longer working. lulz!

socratesman
post Mar 14 2009, 09:47 PM

1,807 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Mar 14 2009, 08:11 PM)
Dawn will be, because ground temperature is cold, hence you'll pump more petrol. And remember to adjust to slow mode.
I agree with you.
but i wonder the difference significant enough? Has anyone pumped at dawn and in hot-afternoon and accurately measure the differences?
ahliew
post Mar 14 2009, 09:58 PM

when it's empty just pump it, don't care whether it's in the morning or night. half tank or empty tank.....

just pump it & rempit...........
PinkPing88
post Mar 14 2009, 10:12 PM

xD i guess u will not let anyone sit in ur car, bcoz human are heavy. take off ur 3 seats. and it will be much lighter! use carbon fiber hood. carbon fiber exhaust. like that sure very light alrdy i think o.o good luck and dont eat too much oily food, will make ur car heavier!~
andyjyneo
post Mar 14 2009, 10:15 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(socratesman @ Mar 14 2009, 09:47 PM)
I agree with you.
but i wonder the difference significant enough? Has anyone pumped at dawn and in hot-afternoon and accurately measure the differences?
I'm not really sure, bro. There's nothing for us to measure, really. sad.gif
NewAchiever
post Mar 16 2009, 08:30 AM

222 posts

IMO, it's better to pump early in the morning when the temperature is much cooler ~ I always pump during that early hour ~

However, if tak sempat to wait better go and pump first anytime of the day as needed~
shazmn
post Mar 16 2009, 08:39 AM

~.~*I own a six Stars...do you?? :P*~.~
1,800 posts

When to pump petrol?

i usually pump petrol once i see the petrol indicator already blinking...

i definitely need to pump petrol once the car cannot start already due to no petrol left

XD
boogiemk4
post Mar 16 2009, 12:14 PM

30 posts

"A difference of 15-degrees Fahrenheit, about 8 degrees celcius, will result in 1% difference in volume".

http://blogs.consumerreports.org/cars/2008...-pump-myth.html

Pump in RM50, save RM0.50, spend more in petrol to drive up to fill up in the morning. doh.gif

ah liew
post Mar 16 2009, 12:15 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(shazmn @ Mar 16 2009, 08:39 AM)
When to pump petrol?

i usually pump petrol once i see the petrol indicator already blinking...

i definitely need to pump petrol once the car cannot start already due to no petrol left

XD
dry.gif
clawhammer
post Mar 16 2009, 02:25 PM

///M
8,788 posts

The difference would be rather minimal so I just pump whenever the warning indicator comes up.
loong2020
post Mar 16 2009, 03:47 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

yeah...i also pump whenever feel so...light left 1 bar...or light on..... rclxms.gif
BridgestoneRE711
post Mar 17 2009, 03:14 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Mar 4 2009, 09:54 PM)
Yup....it is true.. It might not spoilt if you do that for short term, but for long term it will.. If ur sensor spoilt d, fuel wanna empty already also the light  wont come on anymore.. Its better to be safe and sorry. smile.gif
the fuel sensor is on , whether it is empty or not empty .
when it is lower than the certain amonut , it will triggle the warning light only .

Added on March 17, 2009, 3:15 amthe amount differ will be so minimal until u wont notice it ler .
it fact , if u want to save money , lighten ur right foot . that is more effective .

This post has been edited by BridgestoneRE711: Mar 17 2009, 03:15 AM
RCrex
post Mar 17 2009, 04:28 PM

The man who turn impossible to possible...
2,251 posts

pump when u don hav fuel tongue.gif
n don ever doubt yr fuel gauge when low
i had nightmare wif it b4 -.-
ah liew
post Mar 17 2009, 09:22 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(RCrex @ Mar 17 2009, 04:28 PM)
pump when u don hav fuel tongue.gif
n don ever doubt yr fuel gauge when low
i had nightmare wif it b4 -.-
i remembered u pushed the car laugh.gif brows.gif
RCrex
post Mar 17 2009, 10:42 PM

The man who turn impossible to possible...
2,251 posts

din push but visited shell twice -.-
eez
post Mar 19 2009, 12:30 PM

i pump when near to empty... then pump at night.. sure got a lot of fuel!
TSkei18kun
post Mar 27 2009, 02:57 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

haha, i just add some fuel additives to add more mileage
WhiteWing
post Mar 27 2009, 03:12 PM

2,854 posts

I pump at morning normally,when the light blink,I will go drive another 80km then only go petrol station biggrin.gif ~ I go petrol station only 2 times in 1 month smile.gif
nazri86a
post Mar 27 2009, 03:31 PM

276 posts

hahaha yesterday i forgot to switch to ngv, using petrol.. so near traffic light mydin usj subang my car's engine die..

luckly there lot petrol station nearby and i fill up rm5 petrol at bottle at shell and manually put it at my tank.. after that i start engine back and topup rm50 petrol...
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Mar 27 2009, 03:37 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

half of the 1/4 tank laugh.gif rclxms.gif later than that confirm will mati engine due 2 lack of energy lolz

This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Mar 27 2009, 03:39 PM
ah liew
post Mar 27 2009, 03:39 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Mar 27 2009, 02:57 PM)
haha, i just add some fuel additives to add more mileage
u mean those pills? can be found at Jusco or Giant?

i wonder it works or not hmm.gif
TSkei18kun
post Mar 28 2009, 11:29 AM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Mar 27 2009, 03:12 PM)
I pump at morning normally,when the light blink,I will go drive another 80km then only go petrol station biggrin.gif ~ I go petrol station only 2 times in 1 month smile.gif
wow, quite good leh, can use 2 weeks for 1 time pump, u rarely use ur car
even pump full i need to pump once every week

QUOTE(ah liew @ Mar 27 2009, 03:39 PM)
u mean those pills? can be found at Jusco or Giant?

i wonder it works or not  hmm.gif
only at 7-11 n cosway
the product have RM1 million insurance, dunno true or not lah
so far im comfortable with it since can see the effect

This post has been edited by kei18kun: Mar 28 2009, 11:31 AM
ah liew
post Mar 28 2009, 11:41 AM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Mar 28 2009, 11:29 AM)
only at 7-11 n cosway
but my car don't have RM1 million insurance wor... laugh.gif later bang! engine rosak in front of 7-11 tongue.gif
WhiteWing
post Mar 28 2009, 01:42 PM

2,854 posts

Ok lo ... full tank can run 680km biggrin.gif ~ everyday also using for work and go home and sometime midnight go eat supper or go cybercafe play game lo ....where got rarely use car sweat.gif
egiewan
post Mar 28 2009, 01:52 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(iambenyap @ Mar 28 2009, 11:49 AM)
I think you should pump when its convenient for you (along the way if you see petrol station). It cost more money to purposely drive to a petrol station in the morning which is out of your way to the office just coz you want to fill up full tank man.
That's the thing....some people really semangat fill petrol early in the morning/late at night just to gain a few little sips of petrol rclxub.gif
sonic_cd
post Mar 28 2009, 02:53 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(ah liew @ Mar 28 2009, 11:41 AM)
but my car don't have RM1 million insurance wor...  laugh.gif later bang! engine rosak in front of 7-11  tongue.gif
at least in front of 7-11 , can pinjam phone and call tow truck .lol
zeist
post Mar 28 2009, 03:00 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Feng Tau pills for petrol. LMFAO.
cherroy
post Mar 28 2009, 03:13 PM

25,802 posts

Afternoon, night or morning or half tank or whatever, the theory is similar you order a cup of hot milo, then you think the Milo is too hot causing it evaporate which you had lesser Milo in micro-litres tongue.gif

It is insignficantly. Just pump whenever you pass by the petrol station when your tank is lesser than half or low.

Purposely drive out to pump during morning or night time will cause you more petrol. yawn.gif

Did all notice whenever we pump, after the pump stop, there still would be a drop or two in the nozzle? Do you pick it up or use the straw to suck it up so that you get more petrol? <-- it could be the same theory/amount with you are getting more during night or morning. No offence.

It is insignificant, better spend those effort, time or resources concentrate on other things else like better planning on your route, servicing your car (like make sure tyre pressure is ideal for fuel efficiency), don't drive reckless like pick up then suddenly stop sharply instead slowly drive during traffic jam etc will save much much more than trying to get more petrol to pump at night or morning time.

Just my 2 cents.
ah liew
post Mar 28 2009, 04:01 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Mar 28 2009, 02:53 PM)
at least in front of 7-11 , can pinjam phone and call tow truck .lol
ya ya! pinjam the church van & use laugh.gif
TSkei18kun
post Apr 1 2009, 04:44 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

lots of good comments, keep it up thumbup.gif
NewAchiever
post Apr 2 2009, 03:15 PM

222 posts

only at 7-11 n cosway
Cosway huh?
The fuel additive that you are using is it Automax Nanotech??
BridgestoneRE711
post Apr 3 2009, 05:01 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

put pills in the car for what , i dont get it .
it is more worth if you lighten your right foot. as a matter of fact, if addictive were to create so much power . why esso shell etc thought of that too ?

0.0334sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:35 PM