disadvantages of overclocking, disadvantages of overclocking

oe_kintaro
post Mar 4 2009, 10:46 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Mar 4 2009, 10:29 AM)
so if i dun install the funnee lights so no uv so OC ok?!
actually they are two completely different but related potential issues because of the demographic (OCers tend to be the ones more likely to install funny lights) tongue.gif sweat.gif

most polymers inside a PC may already have various stabilizers which may aid resistance to UV but I don't know of any serious scientific study at this point which investigates the effects of constant UV exposure within an operating PC enclosure. My concern about this is mainly relating to the potential for structural integrity failure of load bearing components.

OCing is associated with a different set of problems, such as electromigration (at the physical level) and system instability and unreliability (at the application level). If you are just running a PC at home, chances are most people won't mind any risks involved, but if you are running critical enterprise stuff or operating a space shuttle, chances are you wouldn't wanna risk your life plugging in an overclocked PC to do the heavy lifting. To put it simply, my stand that everyone can choose their own poison as long as you can accept it smile.gif

This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Mar 4 2009, 10:48 AM
ktek
post Mar 4 2009, 11:02 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

do you guys know DFI LANParty "UT" stands for?
UV on, Tweak fun!!
DFI says, no UV no OC where got fun whistling.gif

those dark ugly PC components back in the day become *bling* fashionable stuffs.
side transparent /windowed PC Case become popular.

my pc is old and plain, i overclock it to somewhere near limit also not catching up Core2 generation.
but hey, i'm had fun with it for a long time. countless test crash reb00t.
no regrets even it burn down right now rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ktek: Mar 4 2009, 11:22 AM
OlgaC4
post Mar 4 2009, 11:15 AM

5,292 posts

If your honda cup C70 can run 70Km/hr you modify it to run 90Km/hr the seal and casket in the engine will fail very soon because of the pressure. Furthermore the speed will not stable, some times 80km sometimes 85. I don't want when playing a games my computer sometimes go fast sometimes go very slow. Unstable. Stop harward abuse...

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Mar 4 2009, 11:19 AM
ktek
post Mar 4 2009, 11:19 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

unstable because of p00r overclocking knowledge (i'm not professional so just shoot me).
like PC, you don't adjust properly, stress test, cooling & etc.. straight go break the WR.
anyone agree with me?

This post has been edited by ktek: Mar 4 2009, 11:21 AM
xixo_12
post Mar 4 2009, 11:21 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Mar 4 2009, 11:15 AM)
If your honda cup C70 can run 70Km/hr you modify it to run 90Km/hr the seal and casket in the engine will fail very soon because of the pressure. Furthermore the speed will not stable, some times 80km sometimes 85. I don't want when playing a games my computer sometimes go fast sometimes go very slow. Unstable. Stop harward abuse...
u said that because u didnt know to oc? laugh.gif whistling.gif
oe_kintaro
post Mar 4 2009, 11:21 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Mar 4 2009, 11:15 AM)
If your honda cup C70 can run 70Km/hr you modify it to run 90Km/hr the seal and casket in the engine will fail very soon because of the pressure. Furthermore the speed will not stable, some times 80km sometimes 85. I don't want when playing a games my computer sometimes go fast sometimes go very slow. Unstable.
A very good metaphor! I hope it makes it clear for everyone here.

ps: forgive me for being OT here, but are u a intellier or ex-intellier? the alphabet soup in your nick brings back memories for me (I interned in Intel around the time they were working on the Deschutes)
hehehe smile.gif
OlgaC4
post Mar 4 2009, 11:25 AM

5,292 posts

Ya i am a ex-interllier. He he he. I know my stuff. We burn a lot of AMD processor during our stress test. Use the same test on intel still work perfectly. Intel work like this your car can run 200km/hr
the chip cut the speed to 180km/hr that is why intel is stable and much more cooler, cos the processor is not used to 100%

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Mar 4 2009, 11:29 AM
lichyetan
post Mar 4 2009, 11:35 AM

2,295 posts

lol... it actually depends la.. for personal computer, OC stress test tweak for fun lo... benchmark to test how far the PC can go etc... maximize the potential CPU power, i believe Intel & AMD's R&D department also got OC inside their lab for benchmark or testing purpose whenever a new product come out... just like those DIY'ers like to mod their car, same goes to OC'er, tweak have fun. experience the speed etc...

for server usage, who wan OC ? stability is the highest priority.... for space shuttle server etc they might be using multi processor already, 10 cores 12 cores mayb... full buffered dram etc... supercomputers mayb... gotto ask NASA...

ur fren AMD might be right... but mention ppl who OC is stupid is not right... if OC'er is stupid, all DELL XPS engineers are stupid, Intel's and AMD R&D department (partly) are stupid... ur fren are the best engineer in AMD.. whistling.gif (just a joke, since i dont like calling other ppl stupid's ppl).

btw, in my opinion, by the time ur proc die(10 years? 6 years?), ur PC might be keep in the shelf d... average life cycle for a personal computer is around 2 years (thanks to microsoft and those hardware manufacturer who keeps on introducing new products) tongue.gif

server diff business la... dont ever compare industrial use with personal use...

UV bling bling diff business... i do OC, i dun like UV lights or others... my pc is just plain black with non-transparent sidepanel...

This post has been edited by lichyetan: Mar 4 2009, 11:39 AM
oe_kintaro
post Mar 4 2009, 11:55 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Mar 4 2009, 11:35 AM)
lol... it actually depends la.. for personal computer, OC stress test tweak for fun lo... benchmark to test how far the PC can go etc... maximize the potential CPU power, i believe Intel & AMD's R&D department also got OC inside their lab for benchmark or testing purpose whenever a new product come out... just like those DIY'ers like to mod their car, same goes to OC'er, tweak have fun. experience the speed etc...

for server usage, who wan OC ? stability is the highest priority.... for space shuttle server etc they might be using multi processor already, 10 cores 12 cores mayb... full buffered dram etc... supercomputers mayb... gotto ask NASA...

ur fren AMD might be right... but mention ppl who OC is stupid is not right... if OC'er is stupid, all DELL XPS engineers are stupid, Intel's and AMD R&D department (partly) are stupid... ur fren are the best engineer in AMD..  whistling.gif (just a joke, since i dont like calling other ppl stupid's ppl).

btw, in my opinion, by the time ur proc die(10 years? 6 years?), ur PC might be keep in the shelf d... average life cycle for a personal computer is around 2 years (thanks to microsoft and those hardware manufacturer who keeps on introducing new products)  tongue.gif

server diff business la... dont ever compare industrial use with personal use...

UV bling bling diff business... i do OC, i dun like UV lights or others... my pc is just plain black with non-transparent sidepanel...
Like I said, he meant in jest, but it was a memorable statement designed to provoke an interesting debate. No need to take it personally or have hard feelings over it sweat.gif

Btw oftentimes the R&D people push their parts to the limits so that the marketing people can safely quote you specs in the datasheets that they know their process can meet with one eye closed tongue.gif That's the safety factor involved in the design and manufacturing process. It helps minimize any potential law suit or compensation as a result of parts not meeting specs.

Perhaps that is also why those 2 rovers on Mars are still up and running for so long despite their initial "designed" lifespan of 6 months.

This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Mar 4 2009, 11:59 AM
lichyetan
post Mar 4 2009, 12:10 PM

2,295 posts

lol... tongue.gif
thanks for sharing so many info...

i got a bit emo when saw the word "OC for stupid ppl only"... ntg more...

i understand all those things since i am an undergraduate computer engineering students as well...

it depends lo.. but not as much as damage can cost compare to car modding or tuning(when the bills come)...

i always do mild OC in my personal computer... nvr own a server or etc though... but i knw industrial usage of PC's are diff...

who need OC when u have multi proc, full buffer dram, high speed SAS/scsi hdd, and most important thing is server need to be reliable, once a server down it cost the organization huge amount of $$$...
wodenus
post Mar 4 2009, 12:17 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

The main disadvatage is that you pay more for power if you raise the voltage. If you're mainly surfing you don't see much of an increase there, so you have to wonder why you're actually paying for the power when you're not using it tongue.gif

ktek
post Mar 4 2009, 12:24 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 4 2009, 12:17 PM)
The main disadvatage is that you pay more for power if you raise the voltage. If you're mainly surfing you don't see much of an increase there, so you have to wonder why you're actually paying for the power when you're not using it tongue.gif

we need to overclock TMNuT brows.gif
feel your PC too free? let's join Folding@Malaysia.
hilmiangah
post Mar 4 2009, 12:40 PM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

lets just say its personal preferences.

some people like chocolate ice cream while i like vanilla.

for me i oc to increase the performance of my hardware.

who need a 800 ringgit proc when a 400 ringgit one can match or even better the performance of the much more expensive proc.

the disadvantage of oc-ing is.....................hmm i cant think of any.
the degrading thingy............if u into oc u know the risk so most of us doesnt even care if it degrade.

but like xixo said once u get addicted to it be prepared to spend a lot of $$$ to spend on hardware.
cracksys
post Mar 4 2009, 12:43 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

the reason why this thread exist mainly because of sudden rise of faggot-oc-er in recent years. thanks to Intel Conroe.

faggot-oc-er, they don't read
uzer85
post Mar 4 2009, 12:46 PM

love............love......
3,812 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Mar 4 2009, 12:40 PM)
lets just say its personal preferences.

some people like chocolate ice cream while i like vanilla.

for me i oc to increase the performance of my hardware.

who need a 800 ringgit proc when a 400 ringgit one can match or even better the performance of the much more expensive proc.
the disadvantage of oc-ing is.....................hmm i cant think of any.
the degrading thingy............if u into oc u know the risk so most of us doesnt even care if it degrade.

but like xixo said once u get addicted to it be prepared to spend a lot of $$$ to spend on hardware.
agreed. OCing have more advantage than disadvantage.
the only disadvantage i can think is, it reduce component lifespan. but who care bout it. we wont use it for 8 years, so reducing lifespan is not disadvantage at all. just my personal opinion though. tongue.gif

hilmiangah
post Mar 4 2009, 12:54 PM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 4 2009, 12:43 PM)
the reason why this thread exist mainly because of sudden rise of faggot-oc-er in recent years. thanks to Intel Conroe.

faggot-oc-er, they don't read
and the DFI's ABS is a prove of that.
xixo_12
post Mar 4 2009, 01:05 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

i like ABS spring.. laugh.gif

should we close this topic? tongue.gif
too many question like this before..
it mean nothing .. debate into the same thing

if u like oc, so stay with it..
if u dont want to learn, and dont want to know about the oc overall, just leave it.. icon_rolleyes.gif
general_odin
post Mar 4 2009, 01:33 PM

no work, no money
904 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:36 AM)
the main disadvantage of OC....

u will get addicted to it and spend more money once u know more about hardwares that can improve ur OC sweat.gif
OMG... thats the real drug... damm addictive XD

Added on March 4, 2009, 1:47 pmlol... anyway... i've softmodded and oced my graphic card... took me few days... result? FRIED and went for warranty for a few months... LOL

but... I STILL LOVE TO OC... woot
OC is fun... paying for the hardware SUX !!!

you really can feel the difference when you oc, everything... but to reduce chances fo senting your hardware bakc to rma... do not softmod or flash your graphic card, try not to OC more than 40%... (CPU, ram, graphic card or anything that can be overclocked)

im good with 20% coz few months without HD4850 really hurts... T_T

This post has been edited by general_odin: Mar 4 2009, 01:48 PM
OlgaC4
post Mar 4 2009, 02:36 PM

5,292 posts

Is there any software can test for stability? 3d Mark 06 and Vantage cannot perform this, No point your display card reach 27K when it is not stable.... I really hate it when i play a fsp the computer goes fast then slow then really slow then very fast. I prefer smooth gaming.
lichyetan
post Mar 4 2009, 02:42 PM

2,295 posts

personal opinion:
advantage:
faster PC,
save $$$ (instead of going higher clock speed, take core i7 920 and 940 as example, u will know wat i mean brows.gif )

disadvantage:
electricity
degrading issue
higher heat output, higher room temp(if dun have aircond), mayb green house effect. others emitting enough heat d
more power consumption leads to more trees or forest to being develop to built power plant...( mayb tongue.gif )
spent even more $$$ on cooling devices, burn a hole in pocket, end up eat bread... bad for health tongue.gif

it seems more disadvantage comparing to advantage, sommore in my point of view, if u pair a decent clock speed with a expensive SAS or SSD HDD, u dont need OC already feel the speed increment, if OC only slight improvement except when gaming, wont see difference in normal usage...

so i think OC is hobby, just like ppl like to tweak their car, same as OC'er, the need for speed brows.gif rclxm9.gif of course when come to industrial use, we wont OC those hardware(seldom see any DHL or others van go for turbo etc rite, take taxi as example, customer request is comfortable ride, not noisy and scary ride(dont take taxi movie as example, tht is movie tongue.gif ).

for me, my personal computer always been OC and fine tuned and tweaked on the very 1st day to optimize tht power of the hardware i bought.

OlgaC4, prime95, memtest is the best tool to test stability....

Dont OC ur Graphic card, not worth to OC at all, sommore OC tend easier to die on OC compare to CPU.

3dmark, furmark, rthdribl_1_2 to test for artifacts if OC GPU, for CPU, run LinX, orthos priority 10, prime95, memtest etc to test overall system stability...

u wont experience sudden lag etc when ur OC is stable, sometimes sudden lag or others are caused by other bottleneck from ur hardware. eg, insufficient ram space causes paging, the OS gotto move the data from hdd to main memory, main memory to hdd on and off, as we knw hdd are slower, and caused delays.

This post has been edited by lichyetan: Mar 4 2009, 02:51 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:51 AM