5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

disadvantages of overclocking, disadvantages of overclocking

TSS16
post Mar 4 2009, 01:51 AM, updated 17y ago

153 posts

hi guyz... i jz started 2 do overclocking... i heard dat overclocking can reduce the lifetime of the hardware... can i knw how far is it true?
ham_revilo
post Mar 4 2009, 01:56 AM

I
6,583 posts

of course it will but if u dont OC still hardware lifetime will be reduce anyway. in everything there is a advantages and disadvantages.

oc wisely and u get the best out of your hardware smile.gif

This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Mar 4 2009, 02:00 AM
TSS16
post Mar 4 2009, 02:00 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Mar 4 2009, 01:56 AM)
of course it will but if u dont OC still hardware lifetime will be reduce anyway. in everything there is a advantages and disadvantages.

oc wisely and u get the best out of your hardware smile.gif
thanx bro...
BuLaNaR
post Mar 4 2009, 02:17 AM

penyair sepi
777 posts

i luv oc...but u know oc likes u give drug to ur body...u might be strong but only for certain time only until u collapse,hehe...i will risk ur life...same with oc,will reduce life span of ur devices
tkh_1001
post Mar 4 2009, 03:36 AM

2,547 posts

the main disadvantage of OC....

u will get addicted to it and spend more money once u know more about hardwares that can improve ur OC sweat.gif
are_lee39
post Mar 4 2009, 03:44 AM

30 posts

yes, that right...
verdict
post Mar 4 2009, 07:55 AM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:36 AM)

u will get addicted to it and spend more money once u know more about hardwares that can improve ur OC sweat.gif

101 % True...

Computer is nothing without OCING....

Yeaayyy!!!!

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by verdict: Mar 4 2009, 10:41 AM
oe_kintaro
post Mar 4 2009, 08:14 AM

2,222 posts

Nowadays high performance chips are fabricated with copper used as the metalization. Copper atoms are smaller than Aluminium which is the traditional material used to fabricate metalization in ICs, and furthermore lack the capability to form an impermeable oxide layer like that in Al. That makes copper more prone to electro-migration. The increased voltages will accelerate copper electro-migration and result in early failure.

Forgive me if I seem to be throwing a fox into the chicken coop, but one AMD design engineer I knew preferred to *underclock* his PC and said overclocking as well as fancy glow-in-the-dark UV doodads is for stupid people. I tend to agree. Overclocking induces electromigration, while UV light is know to accelerate the degradation of polymers.

It's just like using NO boost on your car 24/7: you feel damn syok sendiri but will cry when the repair bills come.

However, having said all that, what I can say is that there nothing ethically wrong with overclocking as long as you know what you are getting yourself into. Just don't go whining to the manufacturer asking for a RMA when you overclock parts that are not suitable to OC and cause them to break. Overclock knowing full well that you are voiding a manufacturer's warranty

This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Mar 4 2009, 08:16 AM
SUSedmunz
post Mar 4 2009, 08:25 AM

dupe buster..since 2010
900 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Mar 4 2009, 08:14 AM)
Nowadays high performance chips are fabricated with copper used as the metalization. Copper atoms are smaller than Aluminium which is the traditional material used to fabricate metalization in ICs, and furthermore lack the capability to form an impermeable oxide layer like that in Al. That makes copper more prone to electro-migration. The increased voltages will accelerate copper electro-migration and result in early failure.

Forgive me if I seem to be throwing a fox into the chicken coop, but one AMD design engineer I knew preferred to *underclock* his PC and said overclocking as well as fancy glow-in-the-dark UV doodads is for stupid people. I tend to agree. Overclocking induces electromigration, while UV light is know to accelerate the degradation of polymers.

It's just like using NO boost on your car 24/7: you feel damn syok sendiri but will cry when the repair bills come.

However, having said all that, what I can say is that there nothing ethically wrong with overclocking as long as you know what you are getting yourself into. Just don't go whining to the manufacturer asking for a RMA when you overclock parts that are not suitable to OC and cause them to break. Overclock knowing full well that you are voiding a manufacturer's warranty
im interest to know more bout UV light accelerate the degradation of polymers.... whr can we find polymer in PC / wat component icon_question.gif
underclock da pc wont cause pc to b unstable ?????

linkinstreet
post Mar 4 2009, 08:34 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(edmunz @ Mar 4 2009, 08:25 AM)
im interest to know more bout UV light accelerate the degradation of polymers.... whr can we find polymer in PC / wat component icon_question.gif

basically all processors right now have would underclock automatically if the OS feels that the proc is not in full use. I know Intel has their EIST, but forgot what AMD was (Cool n' Quiet?). Running your processor at a lower speed than it's meant to won't make it unstable. In some cases it would be a more stable option
vamfire
post Mar 4 2009, 09:12 AM

171 posts

Ya, i also never knew that UV light can kill pc components until i read this post... Wah so scary!!! Is this really TRUE!!! blink.gif

I got plenty UV goin' on in my PC case, if true i'll be damned... doh.gif

Can someone pls point out some reference for this matter....
sweat.gif
oe_kintaro
post Mar 4 2009, 09:20 AM

2,222 posts

basically nearly EVERYTHING inside a PC that isn't metal or silicon is some sort of polymer-based material. (aka plastics). We are talking about the PCBs, mold compounds, wire insulation etc. Though maybe they have varying resistance/stabilization to UV light, it is just a matter of time, and very often your system is only as good as your weakest link. (Actually, all plastics degrade given enough time and temperature, and in IMHO adding UV to the mix just helps it move along a little faster)

Not forgetting too, certain wavelengths of UV were traditionally used to ERASE nonvolatile memory ICs such as EPROMS. Though now we have migrated to flash and EEPROMS for our PCs' BIOSes and it is exceedingly rare you will find any piece of IC in your modern PC board which intentionally exposes the silicon die via a transparent plastic window (e.g. in the old CERDIP type packages), you should be aware that UV rays (as well as Xrays) are generally not your PC's best friends.

HOWEVER, as far as I know, no one has ever done a serious scientific study of how pimping up one's PC with UV lights will affect the lifetime of the components tongue.gif

edit: some general info on UV degradation of polymers:

http://www.gcrio.org/UNEP1998/UNEP98p62.html

This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Mar 4 2009, 09:34 AM
piumiu
post Mar 4 2009, 09:38 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

I have seen many people overclock for 4 years and more and still their PC is alive and kicking. Most of it are the famous case are the AMD Barton 2500.

With the new overclock technology that been provided by manufacturer as Black Edittion, Oc Mainboard and GPU, I don't see it as stupid.

People like us with little money tend to achieve best computing experience with our limited budget and hardware.

Your friend don't have the interest, requirement or limitation of budget that kind to understand and yet condemn millions of people stupidity in overclocking.

So are we in overclockers united lame and stupid?
We are not, we are smarter than AMD engineer.

Please provide what sort of engineer he is as I also know few fabrication specialist from Intel US.
goldfries
post Mar 4 2009, 09:39 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Mar 4 2009, 07:55 AM)
101 % True...

Computer is nothing withput OCING....

Yeaayyy!!!!

laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
nahhh tongue.gif

anyway, about the reducing of lifespan part - no one knows how much it's reduced.

reduced from 10 years to 5 years, 50% off but still ok mah! biggrin.gif

for me, main drawback of OCing is the time consumed. depends on how deep you go into it la, some people like to spend time and $$$ for OCing.

i personally won't go that far (but hey, i'm still OCer) but then whatever floats your boat la, as long as happy - who's there to stop? smile.gif

maybe another part is about consuming more power, but that additional power consumed is not significant IMO.

lastly, my preference for OCing are processors. nowadays i really lazy to OC graphic card already cos OC here OC there also not much boost, but spend a lot of time on test. crash. reboot.
xixo_12
post Mar 4 2009, 09:52 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

one main point, disadvantage:

u will keep updated to new hardware, and once it come out u will buy.
about degrading, who involve in oc area, i can confirm, u will not try to stay at same hardware for more than 1 years, so...

and if u tend to agree with "overclocking is for stupid people"..
nah, i think u are stupid, coz don't want to full utilize ur hardware while it can do more,

again, time consume to reboot, crash, test, eat laugh.gif is the factors u need to consider..

too general if u want to say, it reduce lifespan, u can feel the different?
can u tell the percentage to me, no, u can't right?

oc is for the fun and to get max value in what u buy, and no one in oc will stay with same hardware for long time..
SUSjoe_star
post Mar 4 2009, 10:08 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Mar 4 2009, 09:52 AM)
oc is for the fun and to get max value in what u buy, and no one in oc will stay with same hardware for long time..
very true. theres never a "good enough" smile.gif
oe_kintaro
post Mar 4 2009, 10:24 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(piumiu @ Mar 4 2009, 09:38 AM)
I have seen many people overclock for 4 years and more and still their PC is alive and kicking. Most of it are the famous case are the AMD Barton 2500.

With the new overclock technology that been provided by manufacturer as Black Edittion, Oc Mainboard and GPU, I don't see it as stupid.

People like us with little money tend to achieve best computing experience with our limited budget and hardware.

Your friend don't have the interest, requirement or limitation of budget that kind to understand and yet condemn millions of people stupidity in overclocking.

So are we in overclockers united lame and stupid?
We are not, we are smarter than AMD engineer.

Please provide what sort of engineer he is as I also know few fabrication specialist from Intel US.
You don't have to get so defensive. I'm sure he meant it in half-jest but his reasoning is not unsound. Like I said, I'm aware that I'm throwing the proverbial fox into the chicken coop, but there's nothing like healthy debate to enhance everyone's understanding of the issues involved. I'm not condemning OCing or pimping one's rig per se, but just that would like to do some sharing so that everyone knows what they are doing and the potential risks involved.

As long as you are happy with your results it is fine.

The example you gave me is like saying that you know someone's grandpa who smoked like a chimney and lived until he was 80: it does not mean that smoking will not do harm, certainly not in the face of overwhelming scientific evidence.

All manufacturers incorporate a certain amount of safety factors, and one chip binned at 2.5GHz is often exactly the same as another one binned at 3.0GHz, except for tolerance related process variance which results in one chip being faster than the other. Secondary manufacturers often take the cream of the crop and do their own testing so it is generally safe. Just remember that it is the 2nd manufacturer that guarantees you the product not the primary one.
fesick
post Mar 4 2009, 10:27 AM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:36 AM)

agreed~~
but after a long time u will get bored..

sakuraboo
post Mar 4 2009, 10:29 AM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

so if i dun install the funnee lights so no uv so OC ok?!
vamfire
post Mar 4 2009, 10:39 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Mar 4 2009, 10:29 AM)
so if i dun install the funnee lights so no uv so OC ok?!
OC without UV = still got risk of shortening hardware lifespan

OC with UV (like me) = got risk + acceleration summore (no proven study lar)

Correct me if i'm wrong icon_rolleyes.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:45 PM