disadvantages of overclocking, disadvantages of overclocking
Mar 4 2009, 02:56 PM
1,070 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
agreed with lichyetan. OC is a hooby to most of us.. but it is a very expensive hobby.. hardware change dramatically compared to cars. once u enter OC world, u always have rm10 in ur bank
Mar 4 2009, 03:20 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(gamers maniac @ Mar 4 2009, 02:56 PM) agreed with lichyetan. OC is a hooby to most of us.. but it is a very expensive hobby.. hardware change dramatically compared to cars. once u enter OC world, u always have rm10 in ur bank i disagree with that!a good example will be what i used last. time AMD AthlonXP 1700+ (Thoroughbred-B) <=- below RM 200 Abit NF7-S <=- below RM 300 Kingston Value RAM with BT-D43 chips <=- total also below RM 250 i think. so total cost? considered cheap, since lower end processor, value RAM and not even high range board. but OC already get what? the 1700+ from 1.433ghz to 2.3ghz. so it's not costly but it's cost effective! and that's just one of the many example, in fact i must say I got more value out of my components that what i put it - all due to the knowledge to do some overclocking. ok i forgot to add that my heatsink is about RM 100 or so, TR SLK900/947U. still have them with me. and also i've modded my casing, spent a few hundred on ianho's service. still using the casing till now despite like being around 4 - 5 years already. and i also disagree on the have to change dramatically thing. you could change parts once every 6 months, it's fine. still can sell off and cover part of the cost, knowing that the parts you've chosen are of certain quality that has value. QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Mar 4 2009, 11:15 AM) If your honda cup C70 can run 70Km/hr you modify it to run 90Km/hr the seal and casket in the engine will fail very soon because of the pressure. Furthermore the speed will not stable, some times 80km sometimes 85. I don't want when playing a games my computer sometimes go fast sometimes go very slow. Unstable. Stop harward abuse... BUT let's not forget, some of the good OCing stuff are actually higher model units but running at lower speeds (remarked, relabelled, whatever......) as they couldn't meet some requirement. as to the 2nd part (bolded area) - it's totally not true, simply because again - quite often they are just models remarked or relabelled, but inside is the capability of running at higher speed. and since when does it sometimes GO FAST and sometimes GO SLOW la? I've been OCing since <500mhz days and have not once faced such issues. This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 4 2009, 03:21 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM
308 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Dun ya |
honestly i dont think Overclocking is cheap....
when u overclock a CPU, the CPU becomes hotter, hence u need to look for an aftermarket cooling solution, but thats not all, there are several parts u need to change to fully support ur overclocking hobbies such as: 1.Mobo, at least find a mobo that supports overclocking option, and have good Bus speed 2.Ram, not sure if its important, but once u overclock, u know having a good performance ram helps to stabilize ur pc, since it reduces the risk of bottle necking. 3.Power supply, most people said u need at least 800W PSU for overclocking but it is not entirely true, since i did my overclocking using a 450watt true power PSU before. But to be safe, i say 500watt are the minimum requirement. 4.Good casing with good ventilation flow, without a good ventilation, no matter how big ur Heatsink it'll be a waste...open the side panel? sure, but based on my red scorpion on a sagitta casing experience, my proc become hotter when the side panel is opened...so i say air flow are actually important... 5.Bling2?honestly i dun like UV, normal lighting are enough for my taste..but UV is good if u want to kill ants or bugs lingering inside ur casing. 6.Requires time: testing, restarting and etc...so it consumes time, for me time=money... 7.To overclock u need basic knowledge on how to assemble a PC, know about thermal paste,Heatsink,PSU,Mobo and other components, their functions... dont forget, u also need to properly learn how to overclock, and know ur hardware limitations,to follow the safe route u need to see other OC'ers that are using identical hardware like urs and start OC'ing slowly... If u have the guts, i say if u do proper overclocking, u will reduce the risk of burning ur hardwares, but do not OC like hell, let say getting a E7200 up to 4GHZ and use it daily, confirm ur proc will die... |
Mar 4 2009, 03:27 PM
1,205 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: In the heart of Kuala Lumpur |
got $money$ is advantage....
no $money$ is disadvantages lor..... |
Mar 4 2009, 03:34 PM
Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) when u overclock a CPU, the CPU becomes hotter, hence u need to look for an aftermarket cooling solution stock heatsink is fine for overclocking. if you don't have the budget for aftermarket heatsink, then stick to the limitation of the stock heatsink. even a 1.6ghz E2140 could be clocked to like 2.4ghz (50% OC) and still work fine with stock heatsink. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 1.Mobo, at least find a mobo that supports overclocking option, and have good Bus speed i disagree. even a nice G31 also can overclock nicely. depends on how far you want to push. an RM 200 - 300 board would suffice. so it's not expensive. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 2.Ram, not sure if its important, but once u overclock, u know having a good performance ram helps to stabilize ur pc, since it reduces the risk of bottle necking. i disagree too. Value RAMs work fine. plenty of us have done OC on value RAM. run 1:1 CPU:FSB ratio and OC a 800 / 1333 FSB processor to 1600FSB and it doesn't even break the sweat of a DDR2 800 RAM. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 3.Power supply, most people said u need at least 800W PSU for overclocking but it is not entirely true, since i did my overclocking using a 450watt true power PSU before. But to be safe, i say 500watt are the minimum requirement. i disagree again. it's not about the wattage. lz to explain already, clearly you're mislead from some place. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 4.Good casing with good ventilation flow, without a good ventilation, no matter how big ur Heatsink it'll be a waste...open the side panel? sure, but based on my red scorpion on a sagitta casing experience, my proc become hotter when the side panel is opened...so i say air flow are actually important... ok this one is true BUT it does not apply to OCing alone, it applies to every computer. it gives advantage in OCing assuming that you're OCing it kau kau and have some temperature raised. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 5.Bling2?honestly i dun like UV, normal lighting are enough for my taste..but UV is good if u want to kill ants or bugs lingering inside ur casing. no comment. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 6.Requires time: testing, restarting and etc...so it consumes time, for me time=money... ok this one i'm on same boat as you BUT for me, I'm willing to spend just a little bit of time to get my money's worth. say spend an hour or 2, OCing the RM 300 processor to run better than RM 700 processor, already worth my time. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) 7.To overclock u need basic knowledge on how to assemble a PC, know about thermal paste,Heatsink,PSU,Mobo and other components, their functions... i don't see how assembling a PC is related to OCing. you can order all parts from a shop and get them to assemble, bring home and still OC without having to do assembly. QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM) If u have the guts, i say if u do proper overclocking, u will reduce the risk of burning ur hardwares, but do not OC like hell, let say getting a E7200 up to 4GHZ and use it daily, confirm ur proc will die... every processor will die la. aiyah my E7200 run 3.4 - 3.6ghz daily anyway. |
Mar 4 2009, 03:58 PM
3,668 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Bikini Abyss |
haha. personal lashing eh godfries.
feels good reading it, i can't help but to post. my personal op, i do feel OC has been overly hyped by motherboard maker. it has lost its unique-ness now. even fag thought they knew how to OC nowadays even tho they're not. i hate intel for that. out of topic? i don't give a crap. |
Mar 4 2009, 04:15 PM
13,202 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
my case: mobo and RAM always die first but processor still going strong
Mar 4 2009, 04:17 PM
2,295 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
wow... i think playing with hardwares depends on budget... i didnt mentioned its expensive...(mayb u all get it wrong forr the i7 920 vs 940 example, i mean we pay less yet get same speed with 940 with 920 via OC, take e2140 vs e6600 for example or e7200 vs e8400)
yet if u compare it with car, pc hobby is totally not expensive at all... mayb u could get an i7 system with the price of just 4 nice rims for a car... so again, its depends on budget...like goldfries said, its depends wat hardware u wanna play with, from amd sempron to i7 for nowadays. like wat i been recommend my fren doing, buy an e2140 or e5200, tweak the hell out of it and u are near core2 series performance and yet save lotsa money... or u setup an i7 system and enjoy privilege of ultimate speed. ya, nowadays more and more OC'er who know nothing about OC nor PC hardwares... lotsa ah beng and ah seng knw OC nowadays without actually study anything, just speed it up with very minimal knowledge. ya, wen i change hardware i owez sell and buy... lose not much money although its a rugi business la... This post has been edited by lichyetan: Mar 4 2009, 04:22 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 04:21 PM
6,799 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
curious
i overclock and buy system to improve my gaming especially when there no other methods to improve gaming experience. also its a price performance ratio. and it certain aspects thats the price to pay for that extra gaming performance.. do u know running ure rams at 800mhz for 775 cpus is already overclocking. u guys actually game or not?? if not then whats the point on overclocking.. to make excel spreadsheet load faster?? |
Mar 4 2009, 04:23 PM
2,295 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:21 PM) curious yeah... gaming is the main reason of OC...i overclock and buy system to improve my gaming especially when there no other methods to improve gaming experience. also its a price performance ratio. and it certain aspects thats the price to pay for that extra gaming performance.. do u know running ure rams at 800mhz for 775 cpus is already overclocking. u guys actually game or not?? if not then whats the point on overclocking.. to make excel spreadsheet load faster?? also got another reason... if u OC ur proc when doing video encoding, it acutally save us some time... few percent though... This post has been edited by lichyetan: Mar 4 2009, 04:24 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 04:28 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 4 2009, 03:58 PM) haha. personal lashing eh godfries. mana ada? QUOTE(lichyetan @ Mar 4 2009, 04:17 PM) so again, its depends on budget...like goldfries said, its depends wat hardware u wanna play with, from amd sempron to i7 for nowadays. yeah. i read this thread and it's quite a lot of facepalm like wat i been recommend my fren doing, buy an e2140 or e5200, tweak the hell out of it and u are near core2 series performance and yet save lotsa money... or u setup an i7 system and enjoy privilege of ultimate speed. ya, nowadays more and more OC'er who know nothing about OC nor PC hardwares... lotsa ah beng and ah seng knw OC nowadays without actually study anything, just speed it up with very minimal knowledge. ya, wen i change hardware i owez sell and buy... lose not much money although its a rugi business la... because it's as if people never heard of 1. selling off old hardware to fund for new hardware. 2. inexpensive component overclocking. QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:21 PM) curious i overclock and buy system to improve my gaming especially when there no other methods to improve gaming experience. also its a price performance ratio. and it certain aspects thats the price to pay for that extra gaming performance.. do u know running ure rams at 800mhz for 775 cpus is already overclocking. u guys actually game or not?? if not then whats the point on overclocking.. to make excel spreadsheet load faster?? but there are people who just OC to lengthen e-penis via benchies. eg 3dmark, super pi blablablbal.................. my work (design) rig i plan to OC, or heck i'd probably just change processor. if all goes well my 4th rig will be up tonight. *edited : too many emoticons. ugly.* This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 4 2009, 04:29 PM |
Mar 4 2009, 04:29 PM
Mar 4 2009, 04:31 PM
Forum Admin
reminds me of an AM2 mobo that i bought, BIOSTAR board. just change 1 auto setting and done, my X2 3600+ runs at 2.5ghz.
Mar 4 2009, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM) stock heatsink is fine for overclocking. if you don't have the budget for aftermarket heatsink, then stick to the limitation of the stock heatsink. honestly bro, we all know it is unwise to stick with stock heatsink when overclocking...though it is possible, like i said, its risky...even a 1.6ghz E2140 could be clocked to like 2.4ghz (50% OC) and still work fine with stock heatsink. QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM) i disagree. even a nice G31 also can overclock nicely. depends on how far you want to push. ok but what happened if a guy has an old mobo that only support up to 667mhz bus speed? but the proc FSB can go up to 800mhzan RM 200 - 300 board would suffice. so it's not expensive. i disagree too. (just an example,now all can go over 1333mhz)? sure we can adjust multipliers but it wont be enough to bring the full potential of the proc dont u think? surely a 200-300 bucks mobo can be overclocked but how far can the owner tinker wit the stock BIOS? using OC'ing software maybe an alternative but dont u think it is best to overclock using BIOS? QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM) Value RAMs work fine. plenty of us have done OC on value RAM. run 1:1 CPU:FSB ratio and OC a 800 / 1333 FSB processor to 1600FSB and it doesn't even break the sweat of a DDR2 800 RAM. QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM) i don't see how assembling a PC is related to OCing. you can order all parts from a shop and get them to assemble, bring home and still OC without having to do assembly. C,mon..if u dont even know the basics of the components dont you think it is risky to overclock? if like that every time u wanna change heatsink or changing a PSU also need to send back to shop la....then overclocking would be more expensive la,service charge lagi...huwa...QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM) im talking about risk la bro, im not saying procs will never die, and noobs might not have the skill like u bro.. |
Mar 4 2009, 05:00 PM
3,812 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Eden |
Mar 4 2009, 05:11 PM
Mar 4 2009, 05:25 PM
3,812 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Eden |
Mar 4 2009, 05:40 PM
Forum Admin
nur_ver_3, seriously you're pretty much generalizing and putting situations that support your statement but certainly not painting the correct picture. If i was on my pc now i'll counter what you posted but looks like i'll have get back to you later, perhaps someone else enlightens you before i do.
Mar 4 2009, 05:41 PM
900 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: world of siham |
iz so weird tat every mfg talk bout how capable their mobo can b OC, but then they don wan take responsible if mobo fry... why don those mfg tweak those mobo earlier so we as consumer can enjoy pwr of OC right after assemble...
| Change to: | 0.0212sec
5 queries
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:41 PM |