Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Mar 4 2009, 07:55 AM)
101 % True...

Computer is nothing withput OCING....

Yeaayyy!!!!

laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
nahhh tongue.gif

anyway, about the reducing of lifespan part - no one knows how much it's reduced.

reduced from 10 years to 5 years, 50% off but still ok mah! biggrin.gif

for me, main drawback of OCing is the time consumed. depends on how deep you go into it la, some people like to spend time and $$$ for OCing.

i personally won't go that far (but hey, i'm still OCer) but then whatever floats your boat la, as long as happy - who's there to stop? smile.gif

maybe another part is about consuming more power, but that additional power consumed is not significant IMO.

lastly, my preference for OCing are processors. nowadays i really lazy to OC graphic card already cos OC here OC there also not much boost, but spend a lot of time on test. crash. reboot.
goldfries
post Mar 4 2009, 03:20 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(gamers maniac @ Mar 4 2009, 02:56 PM)
agreed with lichyetan. OC is a hooby to most of us.. but it is a very expensive hobby.. hardware change dramatically compared to cars. once u enter OC world, u always have rm10 in ur bank    tongue.gif
i disagree with that!

tongue.gif OCing is actually not as expensive as long as you don't go high end specs everything and OC.

a good example will be what i used last. time

AMD AthlonXP 1700+ (Thoroughbred-B) <=- below RM 200
Abit NF7-S <=- below RM 300
Kingston Value RAM with BT-D43 chips <=- total also below RM 250 i think.

so total cost? considered cheap, since lower end processor, value RAM and not even high range board.

but OC already get what? the 1700+ from 1.433ghz to 2.3ghz. smile.gif those days, 2.xghz AXP processors cost like more than RM 1k!

so it's not costly but it's cost effective! and that's just one of the many example, in fact i must say I got more value out of my components that what i put it - all due to the knowledge to do some overclocking.

ok i forgot to add that my heatsink is about RM 100 or so, TR SLK900/947U. still have them with me. and also i've modded my casing, spent a few hundred on ianho's service. still using the casing till now despite like being around 4 - 5 years already.

and i also disagree on the have to change dramatically thing. you could change parts once every 6 months, it's fine. still can sell off and cover part of the cost, knowing that the parts you've chosen are of certain quality that has value. smile.gif

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Mar 4 2009, 11:15 AM)
If your honda cup C70 can run 70Km/hr you modify it to run 90Km/hr the seal and casket in the engine will fail very soon because of the pressure. Furthermore the speed will not stable, some times 80km sometimes 85. I don't want when playing a games my computer sometimes go fast sometimes go very slow. Unstable. Stop harward abuse...
BUT let's not forget, some of the good OCing stuff are actually higher model units but running at lower speeds (remarked, relabelled, whatever......) as they couldn't meet some requirement. smile.gif

as to the 2nd part (bolded area) - it's totally not true, simply because again - quite often they are just models remarked or relabelled, but inside is the capability of running at higher speed.

and since when does it sometimes GO FAST and sometimes GO SLOW la? I've been OCing since <500mhz days and have not once faced such issues.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 4 2009, 03:21 PM
goldfries
post Mar 4 2009, 03:46 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 03:23 PM)
when u overclock a CPU, the CPU becomes hotter, hence u need to look for an aftermarket cooling solution

stock heatsink is fine for overclocking. if you don't have the budget for aftermarket heatsink, then stick to the limitation of the stock heatsink.

even a 1.6ghz E2140 could be clocked to like 2.4ghz (50% OC) and still work fine with stock heatsink.

1.Mobo, at least find a mobo that supports overclocking option, and have good Bus speed

i disagree. even a nice G31 also can overclock nicely. depends on how far you want to push.

an RM 200 - 300 board would suffice. so it's not expensive.

2.Ram, not sure if its important, but once u overclock, u know having a good performance ram helps to stabilize ur pc, since it reduces the risk of bottle necking.

i disagree too.

Value RAMs work fine. plenty of us have done OC on value RAM.

run 1:1 CPU:FSB ratio and OC a 800 / 1333 FSB processor to 1600FSB and it doesn't even break the sweat of a DDR2 800 RAM.

3.Power supply, most people said u need at least 800W PSU for overclocking but it is not entirely true, since i did my overclocking using a 450watt true power PSU before. But to be safe, i say 500watt are the minimum requirement.

i disagree again. it's not about the wattage. lz to explain already, clearly you're mislead from some place.

4.Good casing with good ventilation flow, without a good ventilation, no matter how big ur Heatsink it'll be a waste...open the side panel? sure, but based on my red scorpion on a sagitta casing experience, my proc become hotter when the side panel is opened...so i say air flow are actually important...

ok this one is true BUT it does not apply to OCing alone, it applies to every computer.

it gives advantage in OCing assuming that you're OCing it kau kau and have some temperature raised.

5.Bling2?honestly i dun like UV, normal lighting are enough for my taste..but UV is good if u want to kill ants or bugs lingering inside ur casing.

no comment. tongue.gif that one nothing to do with OCing, that one goes to case-modding.

6.Requires time: testing, restarting and etc...so it consumes time, for me time=money...

ok this one i'm on same boat as you BUT for me, I'm willing to spend just a little bit of time to get my money's worth.

say spend an hour or 2, OCing the RM 300 processor to run better than RM 700 processor, already worth my time. smile.gif

7.To overclock u need basic knowledge on how to assemble a PC, know about thermal paste,Heatsink,PSU,Mobo and other components, their functions...

i don't see how assembling a PC is related to OCing. you can order all parts from a shop and get them to assemble, bring home and still OC without having to do assembly.

If u have the guts, i say if u do proper overclocking, u will reduce the risk of burning ur hardwares, but do not OC like hell, let say getting a E7200 up to 4GHZ and use it daily, confirm ur proc will die...

every processor will die la. aiyah my E7200 run 3.4 - 3.6ghz daily anyway.

goldfries
post Mar 4 2009, 04:28 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 4 2009, 03:58 PM)
haha. personal lashing eh godfries.

mana ada? smile.gif

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Mar 4 2009, 04:17 PM)
so again, its depends on budget...like goldfries said, its depends wat hardware u wanna play with, from amd sempron to i7 for nowadays.

like wat i been recommend my fren doing, buy an e2140 or e5200, tweak the hell out of it and u are near core2 series performance and yet save lotsa money... or u setup an i7 system and enjoy privilege of ultimate speed.

ya, nowadays more and more OC'er who know nothing about OC nor PC hardwares... lotsa ah beng and ah seng knw OC nowadays without actually study anything, just speed it up with very minimal knowledge.

ya, wen i change hardware i owez sell and buy... lose not much money although its a rugi business la...
yeah. i read this thread and it's quite a lot of facepalm doh.gif

because it's as if people never heard of

1. selling off old hardware to fund for new hardware.
2. inexpensive component overclocking.

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:21 PM)
curious
i overclock and buy system to improve my gaming
especially when there no other methods to improve gaming experience.
also its a price performance ratio.
and it certain aspects thats the price to pay for that extra gaming performance..

do u know running ure rams at 800mhz for 775 cpus is already overclocking.

u guys actually game or not??
if not then whats the point on overclocking..
to make excel spreadsheet load faster??
thumbup.gif same here........

but there are people who just OC to lengthen e-penis via benchies. eg 3dmark, super pi blablablbal..................

my work (design) rig i plan to OC, or heck i'd probably just change processor. tongue.gif my old OCed A64 2800+ is now running on stock, cos now become my 3rd (later be my 4th / 5th) rig. biggrin.gif

if all goes well my 4th rig will be up tonight.

*edited : too many emoticons. ugly.*

This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 4 2009, 04:29 PM
goldfries
post Mar 4 2009, 04:31 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

reminds me of an AM2 mobo that i bought, BIOSTAR board. just change 1 auto setting and done, my X2 3600+ runs at 2.5ghz. smile.gif sweet.
goldfries
post Mar 4 2009, 05:40 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

nur_ver_3, seriously you're pretty much generalizing and putting situations that support your statement but certainly not painting the correct picture. If i was on my pc now i'll counter what you posted but looks like i'll have get back to you later, perhaps someone else enlightens you before i do. smile.gif
goldfries
post Mar 4 2009, 06:01 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i'm not pro, cos i'm not doing it as profession.
i never claimed to be expert either. smile.gif however i have this inclination towards fanless silent overclocked gaming pc.......

Now back to topic la guys. smile.gif
goldfries
post Mar 4 2009, 11:32 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 4 2009, 10:32 PM)
come on, cut some slack. don't be an as$hole. most of the guys in OC scene takes word pro as being good/elite.

take your dic-ktionary back home.
aiyah like that you also same la. smile.gif just chill dude. nothing wrong for someone to explain about the misused terminology. smile.gif

ok now i'm back, and time to reply..............

QUOTE(NUR_VER.3 @ Mar 4 2009, 04:55 PM)
honestly bro, we all know it is unwise to stick with stock heatsink when overclocking...though it is possible, like i said, its risky...

i disagree. it's normally the newbies or those who lack knowledge that are actually keep harping that using stock heatsink for overclocking is suicidal.

it's not a matter of stock heatsink or not, it's a matter of knowing what you got and how far you can push with what you got. it's not even risky to OC with stock heatsink to begin with.

so with stock heatsink, there are the stable limitations on how far it can be overclocked. (notice i didn't use the word SAFE). and beyond the limit, it gets warm thus lead to instability. either that or overheat, which it'll power down. so what risk of frying la? it's just a matter of vs heat. stock heatsink has it's limitation but certainly not incapable of steady overclocking.

and to add, newbies always focus so much on heatsink but often they forgot casing airflow. LOL. so it's not going to get any better with 3rd party coolers. even 3rd party coolers have their limitation.

bottom line stock heatsinks are plenty capable for certain overclocking, OCing without vcore raises don't add that much to temperature.

ok but what happened if a guy has an old mobo that only support up to 667mhz bus speed? but the proc FSB can go up to 800mhz
(just an example,now all can go over 1333mhz)? sure we can adjust multipliers but it wont be enough to bring the full potential of the proc dont u think?

surely a 200-300 bucks mobo can be overclocked but how far can the owner tinker wit the stock BIOS? using OC'ing software maybe an alternative but dont u think it is best to overclock using BIOS?

damn funny la. obviously when i say RM 200 - 300 is NEW mobo la.

i don't see the point of bringing old mobo into the picture here as we're talking about inexpensive setup. old stuff are inherited, you can call that cheap setup but if it's limited then it's hardware problem and doesn't in anyway justify what you've posted thus far.

multiplier adjustments? LOL. please la, look at the Intel processors - the multiplier you can adjust lower, not higher, unless it's those processor with unlocked multiplier.

and please la (again) we're talking on BIOS overclocking all the while, and stock BIOS is not a problem for overclocking. probably you're expecting something super overclocked but your post doesn't paint the actual picture in overclocking where many of the default BIOS also already could do decent overclocking.

well, that adds a limitation on how far u can overclock no?

every component has it's limitation, but again you're going off the track.

let's look at what you posted earlier.

2.Ram, not sure if its important, but once u overclock, u know having a good performance ram helps to stabilize ur pc, since it reduces the risk of bottle necking.

LOL. it's laughable at best.

so you're saying using value RAM is less stable?

and what do you mean by risk of bottlenecking? what risk?

my point is that your post is clearly misleading, without a counter post like mine, newbies to OCing would probably have been mislead (they already are, you're just adding to it) that high-performance RAM = OCing. that's why we're getting a lot of shitty post at HW Q&A.

look at the Kingston Value RAM using BT-D43 chips, they were value RAMs but they were AWESOME in overclocking.

even my Kingston Value RAM DDR2 667 using Hynix chips can do DDR2 ~750 speed with no problems.

so firstly you're talking about needing performance RAM to stabilize and whatever then now you say limitation.

C,mon..if u dont even know the basics of the components dont you think it is risky to overclock? if like that every time u wanna change heatsink or changing a PSU also need to send back to shop la....then overclocking would be more expensive la,service charge lagi...huwa...

OVERCLOCKING = meaning to run the things beyond stated operating specs. in the case of OCing processor, it's a matter of changing of settings involving the multipler and FSB, and doing additional adjustments such as vcore, fsb:cpu ratio, RAM settings and those who prefer more advanced settings could even adjust the voltage for NB, RAM timings and so on so forth - it's all within the BIOS. the most the person has to touch is the JUMPER to reset CMOS if needed.

so what assembling skills you need? i could assemble a whole PC and pass to my neighbour and teach him to OC, and he'll still be able to OC successfully without knowledge of assembly, already proof that ASSEMBLY skill is not a pre-requisite to learn OCing.

*sorry la i may edit a bit here and there. long winded can miss out things.*

This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 4 2009, 11:40 PM
goldfries
post Mar 5 2009, 12:44 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

lu tarak clever is $$$ planning. and tarak clever in controlling addiction.

biggrin.gif yes,

OC with E2140 + G31 + KVR 667 + stock heatsink, then realize eh want more la. so next upgrade mobo. then realize RAM limited. then upgrade RAM then realize too hot. then upgrade heatsink then realize want more! then E8xxx.

so end up E8xxx + P45 + performance 1066 RAM + WC setup. tongue.gif
goldfries
post Mar 5 2009, 02:45 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

hehe. sometimes you just refuse to sleep / quit / eat because you are just a bit short of reaching that ideal clock speed or FSB. then later reach already, question come "eh i can reach this leh! i wonder how far can i go...... " then there goes your time.

and $$$ come in when you manage to convince yourself that upgrade gonna get you more OC headroom. tongue.gif
goldfries
post Mar 5 2009, 11:54 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

not necessarily. photography cost also depends on how far you want to bring it to.

i can tell you that my fish-keeping hobby actually cost more than my OCing hobby, and worse thing about fish is they die more easily then pets like cats or dogs. and setting up a 4ft tank involves a lot more hassle than setting up a PC.

long story la. but summarized - there's always cost in everything we do, monetary or not. and how much the cost depends on how far we bring it.

0.0196sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:13 AM