hye
Apr 22 2009, 03:56 PM
White Tiger
bagok,
We are not against debt but we are concerned the way you intend to use cc (a form of debt) to obtain assets. If you can't finance the downpayment that means you are (indicatively) living beyond your means.
Believe me (or us), I have seen many falling into this spiral. Often, they say they are desperate for cash for one reason or another and would do anything to get money. This is the wrong way to plan your finances and the problem will only get bigger in the long term - it will never get "managable" or "I can do it".
Just postpone your purchase of that car until you can
1. Afford the downpayment and ... 2. Afford the monthly payment, petrol, insurance, maintenance of the car. (Not to mention parking fees whereever you go)
Getting into debt is easy ... but getting out is very hard.
hye
Apr 22 2009, 05:08 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Apr 22 2009, 04:28 PM) rhb oso 60k for plat, and both the banks has visa infinite SCB VISA Infinite got chance for you to apply. RHB VISA Infinate is only via invitation only, possibly via Priviledge Banking customers with at least RM1 mil in deposits. I wouldn't even come close to any RHB cc products as I'm not (personally) impressed by their CS and teller services.
hye
Apr 22 2009, 09:17 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(Dozz @ Apr 22 2009, 08:52 PM) just recieved my Visa Infinite card from SCB  Congrats ! How long did it took from the point of application till you receive the card ? This post has been edited by hye: Apr 22 2009, 09:28 PM
hye
Apr 24 2009, 11:21 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 23 2009, 12:07 AM) Hye said in the latest "Standard Chartered Priority Banking" flyer it is stated that all "Priority Banking customers" will get a complimentary VISA Infinite now Just to clarify, prior to the entry limit upgrade (RM200k) - Priority Banking customers could get a complimentary VISA Infinite (1st year AF waived) provided they have RM300K in deposits. (Please don't try to look for this info in the website because this is almost internal information). Entry limits is now RM250K (Again this new limit is never updated anywhere online) and the flyer/letter says that members enjoy VISA Infinite card. (They could have maintained that RM300K for all you know) One member mentioned about the 3 year AF waived which I think is lucky/very good coz previously only 1st year is waived. I wouldn't push my luck and force SCB to make this card free coz 1. Historically it has always been only 1st year AF waived offered to Priority Banking cust. If I'm not mistaken non-priority banking members would need to pay the annual fee of RM800. 2. Card is exclusive and possible to obtain if you meet the requirements as compared to RHB VISA Infinite card.
hye
Apr 25 2009, 05:12 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(Dozz @ Apr 25 2009, 01:13 AM) yes i heard its not that good too! but when it is free of charge... better than nothing lor. haha.... go in drink a can of beer or coke then go out la. hahaha:P Couldn't agree more! If I travel on my own personal account then it's back to economy for me so this free lounge is good enough for me ! If you are complaining about the Premium Lounge then in certain countries, the airport lounge is nothing more than a special room just for you! (Doesn't encounter this often) I didn't know that 10x points thing that SCB Visa Infinite gives on your birthday month.
hye
Apr 25 2009, 10:45 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(radi0head @ Apr 25 2009, 09:39 AM) guys... some Q on credit cards ya... can i swiped the total amount of the item i wanna buy and after then only i apply for installment plan... can it be done tat way or must b4 purchase choose the monthly installment plan (mostly online purchasing lor tis way as options are available mar...) ? Conversion to installment plan after purchase is available via iPay plan from DA. What you mentioned to choose installment before purchase sounds like the option available via Dell's website online purchase - this is purely subjected to the merchant. If it's available you can choose it, if it doesn't sorry mate.
hye
Apr 25 2009, 11:37 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(radi0head @ Apr 25 2009, 11:21 AM) hehe... yes, it's the dell's payment option... meaning other credit card doesnt provided such conversion to installment after purchase lar izit? No ... Dell only provide installment for MBB and Citibank cards only. Added on April 25, 2009, 11:38 amQUOTE(Dozz @ Apr 25 2009, 11:32 AM) IF not mistaken, Citibank platinum card holders can access lounge area in KLIA for free too? Should be as I saw a bunting which advertises so right outside of the Premium Lounge in KLIA. Not sue whether it has any hidden T&Cs or not. This post has been edited by hye: Apr 25 2009, 11:38 AM
hye
Apr 28 2009, 10:25 AM
White Tiger
Guys ... can we skip all this talk about ATM cards and return to the main topic please ? There has been too much activities on this subject already and the sidetracking are very obvious.
And please ignore CSS if he/she opens up this ATM subject again.
Thank you
hye
Apr 28 2009, 02:38 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(donpapachino @ Apr 28 2009, 07:53 AM) 1 month after public bank approved my hire purchase, then i received their gold cc, delivered by hand to my house. is that 'normal'? i didnt applied for the cc. perhaps they use my hire purchase application & automatically applied for me? n using my ic intended for the hire purchase indiscriminately to apply for the cc?  I did a hire purchase with PBB and yes ... in the many stack of forms, there's also the cc application form. The agent wiho processed my form said that the card is preapproved (make sense coz the bank have all your income documents in the first place - similar to a typical cc application process) but I told the guy that I'll be declining the card. BTW I never receive any cc from them till now. Not to jump the gun, you could call the CS and ask them how did this card arrive without your application. You could tell them that you wish to be certain your documents are not being used fraudalently and I'm sure they will entertain you if you are persuasive enough. On the safe side it is better to be sure as if it is really true that someone within PBB is using your details without your knowledge, you could act to inform the bank (and manybe police) to ensure such bad practices will be halted.
hye
Apr 28 2009, 07:03 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Apr 28 2009, 05:38 PM) I feel like wanna cancel my another CIMB card due of share limit ... Do you guys think I really need to submit anything just to terminate my card ? You have to inform them in writing, informing them verbally would not work or accepted. Look for a sample in the 1st post of this thread. Added on April 28, 2009, 7:07 pmQUOTE(donpapachino @ Apr 28 2009, 04:45 PM) so its considered 'normal' then. but is it ethical?  Some banks practice product "cross marketing" and it makes sense for them. I'm not saying that I condone such practices but what is more important is for consumers (e.g. cc users who read this thread) to be aware and take necessary steps to prevent fraud. You think the bank are going to care if you call them up and cry "ethical or not" ? Heck, they want to make money ... they are not charity ! This post has been edited by hye: Apr 28 2009, 07:09 PM
hye
Apr 29 2009, 09:51 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 29 2009, 08:24 AM) Is there any 1 time fee or charges if we use MBB 0% installment plan? Normally the merchant will absorb it. If I'm not mistaken, MBB charges RM70 to the merchant per installment plan.
hye
Apr 29 2009, 10:40 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Apr 29 2009, 10:20 PM) need not. u just need to call card centre to report lost and replace yr card  UOB will waive the replacement fee if you submit your police report. However, you need to come in person to the card centre in Jalan Raja Laut. (Not sure what will be the case for outstation cases) The card replacement fee is RM 50 if you opt to pay for it.
hye
May 1 2009, 10:34 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(zenwell @ May 1 2009, 09:55 PM) does MBB cc gives treatpoints for overseas transaction? or any other cards? Obviously yes!
hye
May 4 2009, 12:33 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(zenwell @ May 4 2009, 12:01 PM) Wanna ask about CIMB cc, do they give 2% rebate for all purchases overseas? No ! No such thing. The closest you could get to cash rebate is the Alliance Bank Cash Back cc (up to 2.0% for Plat card, capped @ RM5K per month spendings) and SCB Business Platinum. (0.5%) CIMB definately does not have rebate or double points for overseas purchases. This post has been edited by hye: May 4 2009, 12:59 PM
hye
May 4 2009, 03:33 PM
White Tiger
Recently a couple of my friends have noticed that whenever they use they MBB Petronas card, the terminal will ask to insert their mesra card.
Have anyone noticed this as well?
If this situation is true, this could indicate that
1. Yes ... you could accumulate Mesra points. But more importantly ... 2. Could it also means that the 5x points promotion is no longer available.
Some forummers have mentioned that MBB have made this a permanent feature but don't you think the fact that the machine is asking for the Mesra card is weird ? (I'm not using Petronas fuel at the time of writing)
hye
May 5 2009, 12:02 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(darkages @ May 5 2009, 11:46 AM) Anyone here pays their HSBC credit card via Maybank2u? How do you do it? 1. Use the interbank transfer facility in Maybank2U. 2. Enter your HSBC cc number when asked for account number 3. Enter TAC for Maybank2U and confirm amount. That should do it. The above is not a detailed instruction but anyone familiar with Maybank2U menus will understand what I have just mentioned. Any problems can just PM me
hye
May 5 2009, 10:20 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(kockroach @ May 5 2009, 09:44 PM) Hi all, I plan to cancel my Maybank Amex CC which I never used before after I got the card, can I know what I should do. Will they impose any charges as the requirement is 12 transaction per year to get free annual fee. Thanks 1. Check if you can remember at the point of application whether your card is free for the 1st year. 2. A sample of the cancellation letter is available @ the 1st page. 3. Call CS and ask for fax number to send letter. Can try to cancel over the phone as well. (Some banks allow this) 4. You can ask whether yr card will be imposed charges for card termination (usually should be no) That should do it ! Remember to follow up after a week just to confirm yr card has been cancelled. Just to be safe coz sometimes CS might not do it or they may pass it to another dept for the card cancellation.
hye
May 6 2009, 06:42 AM
White Tiger
SCB's JustOne Titanium Mastercard cash rebate is interesting but not sure how does it work. I don't mind getting this card coz it is so cool!
And yes ... this card definately look way better than HSBC's Premier's card.
hye
May 7 2009, 07:42 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 7 2009, 01:40 AM) Now, can I just sign up to become a KrisFlyer member without taking any SIA flights?!  Yes you can tinkerbel ... I am one of the examples.
hye
May 8 2009, 09:00 AM
White Tiger
Yesterday I called to inquire about the SCB JustOne card, here're some of the facts.
1. You need to open an account with SCB to maintain the card. (Even though you are an existing account holder) 2. Cash rebates are provided monthly but subject to a maximum of RM600 per year. (I'm slightly skeptical about this coz the online pamphlet doesn't mention about the monthly rebates)
Card is rather cool though despite the rebates are provided for only up to RM30K of yearly spendings. Possibly the bank is targeting generally the gold card holders market who will probably spend that much in a year.