Credit Card Thread V6

hye
post May 8 2009, 10:29 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(santaclaus @ May 8 2009, 10:10 AM)
for the rm600 rebate max per annum ... the sales told me its per annum not monthly wor ... he say if i used up all the rebate on the first month ( example on friday , transaction rm12000 x 5% = rm600 rebate ) then i wont get any more rebate until next year.

the account comes together with this card is a current account rite? do we hafta maintain any minimum monthly balance to get these rebates???
I asked about the minimum balance that needs to be maintained but the CS said no need. BTW ... you need to be a little practical ... there's very little chance that anyone would actually wait till Friday and hit a RM12K bill on the credit card.

That's why I said I'm a little skeptical about the monthly rebate coz the chart did not indicate so. The confusion came from a new product thus probably many agents are still not well versed on the product. Don't blame the banks ... more often than not it is the agent themselves who purposely misled you into signing up. Agents need to meet their quota so the unscruplus ones will do anything just to get a customer

Example
Have you encountered a cc agent approached you and say .... "Sign for Citibank Shell cc and you will get x% rebate everytime you use your card" or "Sign up for RHBBank Travel Money cc and you will get 5% rebate everytime you use your card" What is not mention that to get the maximum rebate for Citibank Shell cc, you will need to have carry forward balance, RHBBank petrol rebates only works on certain days and HLB's petrol rebate are so complicated coz you need to do this and that and not to mention spend some money to send an SMS.

If you confront the agents with the info then they will spill it out. (I get a kick doing this sometimes) I believe often it is the cc agents who are misleading the consumer. Hey ... I got hit a few times as well with the biggest scam done by an Citibank card sales agent to me.
hye
post May 9 2009, 10:13 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Well ... I got no complaints nor Wow! factor about DA.
To me the card is interesting for it being the first Free for Life cc in Malaysia I believe. The most useful part about this card would be the iPay plan scheme and perhaps the 2% petrol rebate. (except that I get a better rebate elsewhere until June 2009 at least)

If anyone here made an analysis of CIMB cc products, they were nowhere on the map until they acquire Southern Bank and suddenly people started using CIMB cards. What happened was that the former head of cc @ SBB is now the head of cc business in CIMB.

Did they improve ? Yes ....
Compare them with other banks like MBF, AMBank, etc and I think these guys would fall into the Top 3 tier in the local cc issuers market. Don't compare them with the foreign players like Citibank, HSBC, etc where they are more established.

To the notion that all cards are created the same ? Perhaps but I believe that the distinguishing factor would be CS. Rate CIMB against MBF, AMBank, Bank Rakyat, Affin Bank (Affin CS's only works office hours only) and they are better off I believe.

I don't work for any of these bank but I have had a taste of the level of CS at one time or another. Sometimes it is luck as well ... I have encountered CS which are very friendly and some (over the phone) sounds very grouchy and had a bad day or something like that. Some will go all the way to help you (like my recent encounter with a SCB cs vs my own RM which is not helpful at all) and some couldn't care less.

Emmm .... it all depends on what is a person's expectations - different people will have different ideas on what good service is like and their expectations on how they should be treated.
hye
post May 10 2009, 05:09 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ May 10 2009, 07:35 AM)
Yes, CIMB cc business has improved because of “free for life” cc from the former Southern Bank. But, why did you compare CIMB with smaller players like Bank Rakyat and Affin??? It looks like comparing Toyota Camry with Toyota Vios. Before the KLSE rally last month, CIMB ranked 2nd in M’sia in terms of market cap, after Public Bank but ahead of Maybank. Why not rate CIMB against Maybank and PBB. CIMB still has a long way to go….

Added on May 10, 2009, 8:06 am

After DA charged courier fee for the RM50 voucher I redeemed, I called them to ask for waiver. The customer service staff said her company won't waive for it because they have already waived the annual fee of the card. Consumers need to be wary of "free for life" term, as this term always comes with a lot of strict conditions. Since they are so many other banks who also offer free cards, we consumers have many choices to choose other banks. But I think we must thank DA for being the first to create "free for life" cards, otherwise we won't be spoilt for choices now... brows.gif
Actually I wanted to compare CIMB cards with PBB and Maybank but my personal experience with them was not that good. PBB gave me one of the lowest CL in my cc history and they were snobbish in not wanting to review it. (RM3K to be precise whereas my other cards at that time was at least RM10K) MBB Petronas took 2 months to arrive to me and not to mention my horrifying experience to open a current account with one of their branches which took 6 months. (And they ask me to pay a penalty for having zero funds, sigh!) They forgot to process my form which the officer left it in their drawer, issue me a cheque book without even me knowing it and open the account without informing me that it was all done - they did not allow me to put in funds until the account was open. Then they forgot to inform me about it. Go figure !

Why I use some of those banks as references ? .... Just to give an example where the better card providers are compared to the lesser ones. I personally wouldn't consider them coz they just don't cut out for me. My experience with AEON card is one of those example ... bad CS, bad back office processing ... left my payment to them missing and no one bothers to help. E-Mail, call, etc are useless. I wonder why people bother applying for them in the first place.

HLB may have a relatively good CS but their latest marketing program which require you to SMS here and there is very confusing - that's out of my list. Need I say more ?

If you ask me, I think CIMB and MBB cc are the reputable ones. Hey I'm even using Alliance Bank's cc for cash rebates but seriously I don't think their CS is the best - plus I have once went to their card centre in Capital Square and I totally did not agree with the way they treat their customers.

In short .... cc preference is an individual preference. I have used almost all of them to come to my current preference.

Added on May 10, 2009, 5:09 pm
QUOTE(fauzistt @ May 10 2009, 04:21 PM)
.. i would love it if somebody could point me a heavenly credit card... hehe..  tongue.gif
Emmm ... not this question again!

This post has been edited by hye: May 10 2009, 05:09 PM
hye
post May 10 2009, 10:43 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ May 10 2009, 09:40 PM)
Since I was advised by my banker friend not to own cc from more than 2 banks, I will cancel this card once the cash rebate promotion is over.
Any particular reason for this statement. First time I'm hearing this one.

QUOTE(winner @ May 10 2009, 09:40 PM)
I own Citi Platinum. This card so far gives me the best service ever, probably due to the platinum status. I enjoy lots of privileges, especially when I travel overseas. Further, I feel very proud of showing this card while making payment, whenever with my gf and bussiness associates.

I've just applied for Alliance Younique, soon after I cancelled my DA early this year. I like the unique feature, which allows customers to choose any design they like. It really looks cool and so different from conventional cc. It also gives cash rebate and bonus point simultaneously. The bonus points collected will never expire. Another plus point is that it is free for life, with condition of minimum 5 swipes in a year. Alliance deserves a praise for their creativity. But I doubt whether they could garner a bigger market share because the number of branches is limited. Generally ppl will only own cc from the banks located near their house and office, or their existing banks where they can do online banking.
Citibank had a case where their agent applied 2 cards without me knowing. Plus Citibank and UOB had this little thing where they do not allow me to put the name that I want on the card. (Only this 2 banks, others are OK with me) UOB once pull off this little stunt where they refuse to temporarily increase my credit limit and i was overseas and needing a bit more limit to cover my hotel bill. (I'm left with about RM1-2K and I came this close to be held hostage by the hotel) Otherwise I have no complaints about this bank and they are very efficient when dealing with transaction dispute. (Some merchant tried to pull off a fast one with me but I won)

HSBC is OK but is a little dry on promos sometimes.
My fav is now the Alliance Bank cash rebate cc. They gave me less than half of my regular limit but I don't need that much coz this card is only useful up to the first RM5K. More than that then no more rebate.
Yeah ... DA holds a little bit of a sentimental value to me but maybe I'll cancel it if confirm no more iPay plan after June 2009. And I need to find out whether confirm I can't hold both a DA and CIMB card at the same time. Emm on second thoughts, I could still use it to get my petrol rebate beginning July 2009.

Guess it is about time to cancel my MBB Petronas and MBB SIA AMEX. Not really very useful to me.

Added on May 10, 2009, 10:47 pm
QUOTE(StupidZ @ May 10 2009, 10:06 PM)
Just found out that MBB provided another free for life CC, which is Sony Card, but I though all the while it is not a free for life card?
This card works best if you always buy things from Sony Wings. Well, there's so many cards out there which are free. Customer will just walk out unless banks match the "Free for Life" offer.

For example, HSBC offered me a 5 years annual fee waiver when I wanted to cancel. I was with them for only 2 years I think.

This post has been edited by hye: May 10 2009, 10:47 PM
hye
post May 11 2009, 09:05 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ May 11 2009, 02:08 AM)
today at one utama, for the first time i saw booth promoting PBB credit card... even though i was rejected many times already, i just apply to take their free gift (alarm clock) and free bread story cakes voucher...haha...
Hahaha ... probably I'll do the same thing as well. Even though approve also will cancel the card later.
hye
post May 11 2009, 12:17 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ May 11 2009, 11:33 AM)
I did not my real name shown on IC. I used an Eng name + my surname
Aha ... what Citi wants was to put my full name on the card. They quickly found out that it is too long and then they abbreviated it which makes it looks weird. This was still the case early last year and then I gave up.

Did you only recently hold a Citi card @winner ?
hye
post May 11 2009, 03:05 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ May 11 2009, 02:26 PM)
hmm, i just called HSBC to waive my Visa Gold's annual fee
The CS told me that starting this year HSBC will have a new mechanism to auto waive the annual fee provided you swipe 12 times or more a yr

anyone here get the same story?
I have heard of this before but remember this - this information is not stated in B&W in their website, promotional materials or even their cc application forms. This promo is executed when the a particular "promo code" is applied to your account.
Well ... if HSBC continues to give out good promos and maintain their CS quality then it is good to keep the card. Otherwise the bank can offer you 5 years, 10 years or unconditional Free for Life and customers will still run.
hye
post May 11 2009, 04:59 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(woengx2 @ May 11 2009, 04:41 PM)
yes, no problem at all. Not often this few months since every time with my wife and parents mostly. Last year i'm quite often been to KLIA, can enter to plaza premium only. Overseas's lounge not experience before. May I ask any other lounge where we could entry for free and enjoy the meal for free as well both local and overseas ?
nod.gif
You need to either pay for the lounge access for fly on Business or First class to enjoy the lounge. The beauty of the Infinite is that it is using the Priority Pass programme. (If I got this correctly) Google the Priority Pass programme and see the list of lounge that it allows access to.
hye
post May 12 2009, 02:54 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(hlliew @ May 12 2009, 01:49 PM)
Has anyone have problem with annual fee waiver for OCBC Robinsons VISA? Their call center insist on the terms and conditions of spending 1000 @ robinsons and 7000 @ other merchants per annuam. That why my request has been refused and there is no way to appeal according to the call center.

Please advice.
My sincere advice ... cut the card if they are so difficult and hard up to annual fee waiver. There's nothing special about the card - entry point so low for a Platinum card, discounts can also be obtain if you have the Robinson's member card (normally those who didn't make it for the cc would be given this card by the store itself) and unless you shop now where else except Robinson's it is probably a good card.
hye
post May 13 2009, 07:30 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I am thinking to reduce my CL for my Alliance's cc Cash Back card as I only intend to use up to a max of RM6K. (Cash back is only applicable for RM5K per month)

Would this improve my credit risk ? Need a second opinion ..
hye
post May 13 2009, 02:57 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ May 13 2009, 12:56 PM)
Yes, so the higher your limit and the more cards you have, the higher is yr credit risks, which defers from bank to bank.
Thanks tgeoklin and tinkerbel. I called the Alliance Bank's CS already to reduce the CL. They ask me why and I said the cash back is only up to RM5K per month only - so having a higher CL than RM5K does not give me any benefit at all.

Emm .. they don't sound shocked @ my request though. I'll continue consolidating my cards again in the next couple of months.

BTW guys ... how to classify SCB's JustOne card ? I believe this is Malaysia's first credit AND debit card.

This post has been edited by hye: May 13 2009, 02:59 PM
hye
post May 13 2009, 10:53 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ May 13 2009, 05:52 PM)
In terms of cashback, most cards are basically limited. Can't beat the good ole days of the HLB Visa Essential, which was the best cashback card ever introduced, period!
Eh ... that's funny but I have noticed a few places offering this HLB Visa Essential card. Last weekend I saw it over @ Tropicana Mall and today in KLCC Cold Storage. Even funnier that this card is not stated anywhere in HLB's website at this point of time.

I saw the bunting and if I'm not mistaken ... cashback is only 1%. Errr ... can you elaborate more why you say this card was the best cashback card ?
hye
post May 14 2009, 08:06 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ May 14 2009, 06:18 PM)
Yesterday I go to Jusco swap my credit card.
And my 16 digit credit card number printed at merchant and customer copy.
Should I report to Aeon for my own safety to make sure that no one is use my infromation?
This is normal like MilesAndMore mentioned. Most merchant terminals will display your 16 digit cc on the merchant copy but not on your copy. Some terminals will not display all 16 but only the last 4 digits. (But I can't remember which bank ... maybe it is HSBC terminals only will this happen)

I have been watching my slips for the last couple of months since this subject was bought up some time back by another forummer.
hye
post May 14 2009, 11:34 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 14 2009, 11:24 PM)
@vin_ann,
Oh!  I don't quite take note of that but I think most merchant copies would have the 16-digits because that way, it's easier for the bank to check stuff?! *shrugs*

Thus far, I haven't had any fraud cases with my CCs so it's good biggrin.gif
I'm not particularly worried about my cc being "cloned" like in the old days just because someone knew my cc 16 digits. However, I'm concerned about those scams that you will always get via the phone - recently TheStar reveals that these info can be bought cheaply.

They suspect someone within the industry itself is providing this info to these cold calls companies.
Although I have confidence with bank's cc dispute resolution system but it is always good to be safe. For years, I have made a practice to destroy (via shredding or tear into small pieces) my old cc slips after a while.
hye
post May 16 2009, 12:29 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(changjie83 @ May 16 2009, 01:29 AM)
my gosh, 6 months,i really can't wait to get my first card. its rubbish me 1.9k can't get a classic card.i believe my credit is clean, i didn't loan anything. i tried 2 different bank already SC and HSBC. next stop is maybank. i really want to know the reason i was rejected. if got valid reason, i just stop apply so i won't waste time and energy to reapply.
Before you waste more energy, banks would never tell you why they rejected you. The best answer they will give you is "Is the management decision to reject you" or something similar to that effect.
hye
post May 18 2009, 01:45 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ May 18 2009, 12:32 PM)
From your explanation, I understand that your main requirements are cash rebates, free for life and evergreen points. At this point in time, I don't see any cards that offer all the combined benefits except Alliance Bank. The cash back from Alliance is applicable to all kinds of purchases. However, the number of branches is quite limited though. Convenience is the key element of consideration when choosing a cc. It is advisable to select a bank which is located near your house and office, or your existing bank which you normally do online banking.
If you use this as a benchmark then SCB's JustOne card is slightly better than Alliance Bank's one. (Caution the cash rebate cap that JustOne have that Alliance don't have) Most of the guys here are right, cash rebate is better than points. Most points system sucks anyways and with cash rebate you save money right away.
hye
post May 18 2009, 08:54 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ May 18 2009, 08:33 PM)
i'm not very clear about SCB Just1 titanium. do the retailers in Malaysia have an option to purchase using debit or credit card? my understanding, paying with debit card means using credit card channel (MC/Visa) but the fund is deducted from account.
Seems no one here have this card yet so nobody is sharing their experience yet.
I'm not particularly worried about this coz I'm sure the bank have gave it a thought already. BTW ... how's yr situation ?
hye
post May 19 2009, 08:49 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ May 19 2009, 11:52 AM)
Just concentrate your spending on every Friday to maximise the benefit of the 5% cash rebate. In case your annual expenditure on the card is less than RM15k and SCB charge annual fee for the 2nd year, then you can just redeem the reward points and cancel this card.

The 5% rebate is tempting. I think I’ll apply this card too, after I cancel my HLB.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hahaha ... changed your mind winner ? I thought you earlier said that Alliance is better.
I had around the same thought when I wrote coz I figure enjoy the benefit while you can and then keep the card in the freezer. If all their customers did this than perhaps SCB would need to change their mind again.

Anyway ... these are some extra info that my RM provided about this card

- Need to maintain minimum balance of RM1K in the current acc. You will be subjected to a half yearly fee of RM50 if the balance falls below RM1K.
- Actually the card will use your account balance first and then if no money, it will use the credit facility.

Conflicting info from the CS contrary to most forummer reported ... YES! In fact, I called CS and they told me the same thing as well. Nevertheless the rebate is attractive enough - use it and then freeze the card!

Added on May 19, 2009, 8:54 pm
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 19 2009, 02:03 PM)
My mom didn't produce her bank account statement even Maybank and CIMB Bank request for this when we applied for their credit cards. Bank account statement is confidential and since our bank accounts are held with other banks, i will not produce my bank statement no matter what.
But many people know the starting credit line for HSBC Premier Mastercard and you even have HSBC Amanah VISA Platinum. I'd say you have a high CL for your credit cards  biggrin.gif
Yup agreed. I will never produce my bank statement when applying for credit card. If they insist then I walk away ... you are not the only provider in town.
HSBC Premier MC starting CL is RMxxk ... yup I know that too.

Added on May 19, 2009, 8:57 pm
QUOTE(pisang @ May 19 2009, 04:18 PM)
hello guys... just wanna share with u guy on my exp to apply for AM bank credit card. i applied that CC coz i wanna get the special promo on HP laptop.

27/4 form submitted thru brance officer @ johor together with supporting docs. i was told it would be sent to HQ for processing the next working day. I called 3 days later. I was told my application not receive according to the CS's system. Maybe at that time already reached their HQ with first stage processing.
keep calling every 2 days... but no used. CS has no visibility of the status.

4/5 was told form received and under processing. i immediately asked the CS to help to expedite.

7/5 : pending for approval.
12/5 : card approved and sent to the branch.
15/5: it took 3 days to arrive at the branch.

so, in total it took about 3 weeks to get the card. Nothing can be done prior they update in the system (to acknowledge receive of the application form). So, those who want to apply for the credit card, be prepared to wait for 3 weeks. but i would say ambank service is LOUSY!!!
I don't view AMBank's cc services very favorably from my past experience. The notebook are just candies, do not be fooled.

Added on May 19, 2009, 9:03 pm
QUOTE(pingping86 @ May 19 2009, 05:12 PM)
Ahhh..~~~ My card is being use by somebody else and done a total 7transaction by using PAYPAL... Now my card is already cancel but i still need to wait 5working days to comfirm whether the bank did approve the transaction...

Im using Alliance bank You:Nique CC... Any experience this b4...???
Nope ... possibly somebody captured your cc details and used it without your knowledge.
Simple ... bank will check the transaction points to whose name. If is not yours, you need not worry and bank will clear it up. Unless someone pulls a complex hoax then maybe it is not to your favor. Relax ... if you did not do it the you have nothing to be worried about.

This post has been edited by hye: May 19 2009, 09:38 PM
hye
post May 19 2009, 09:37 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 19 2009, 09:30 PM)
Shoo ... shoo ... Potential card thief might be scanning through this forum too  laugh.gif
Opps ... sorry. Better edit my earlier post then.

Added on May 19, 2009, 9:43 pm
QUOTE(santaclaus @ May 19 2009, 09:23 PM)
@hye :

the current acc nid to maintain min balance??? how come the cs i called say no nid???
then they use our acc money first b4 cc means it will function as debit then onli cc???
The CS and Price Solution people told me the exact different information as compared to my RM.
So rather then we argue about it, I'll be trying out this product myself soon. At least we will be able to get the correct picture regarding this product. I didn't like the idea about the RM1K as well but look at it this way .... either way you will still need to pay your card account anyway. Take the RM1k as a prepay amount and you gotta admit the rebate is good. (Especially if you use it every friday)

This post has been edited by hye: May 19 2009, 09:43 PM
hye
post May 21 2009, 07:08 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 21 2009, 06:28 PM)
Someone here said if you apply using an existing credit card for StanChart VISA Infinite, your credit line for that particular credit card must be no less than RM100,000.

It is not me but maybe I could help. From what I know is is not RM100K but lower than that. Can I say this info in public or people need to PM me?

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0449sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:28 PM