Want go try hiking with my gf and new to this. Any place good for newbie in klang valley and dont need to apply permit? Thanks
Travel Outdoor activities, hiking & camping, treking, rock climbing & more xtreme act
Jul 1 2022, 01:56 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
530 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Want go try hiking with my gf and new to this. Any place good for newbie in klang valley and dont need to apply permit? Thanks
Jul 1 2022, 02:34 PM
17,021 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Jul 19 2022, 05:59 PM
410 posts Joined: Jul 2021 |
guys im new. please recommend me famous camping shop?
im looking to buy waterbag but have no idea where to go. 15 years ago i bought from Pertama complex. Not sure now do camper still go to pertama to find items? shopee a lot but i want to borak2 with seller abit coz im new. |
Jul 20 2022, 08:59 AM
76 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(Azran1979 @ Jul 19 2022, 05:59 PM) guys im new. please recommend me famous camping shop? you mean hydration bag like camelbak, hydrapak type right? back in the day, pertama complex was the goto place aside from evergreen and ufl. im looking to buy waterbag but have no idea where to go. 15 years ago i bought from Pertama complex. Not sure now do camper still go to pertama to find items? shopee a lot but i want to borak2 with seller abit coz im new. but, haven't been there in ages. nowadays it's much more convenient to shop at decathlon or sportsdirect... as for knowledgeable salesperson... quite sure the auntie at pertama didn't go hiking much. decathlon and sportsdirect will depend on your luck, some of the sales person actually are outdoor person...some are just sales person with no outdoor experience whatsoever. i have seen some of them giving false info acting all knowledgable... whilst clearly never been there. if you are hoping to borak2 to gain knowledge for your trip... just be aware that the salesperson might have never been there, have never used the product they are trying to hard sell you. you are better off borak2 with genuine outdoor person/forum. back in the day, i would have pointed you towards gunungonline forum...not sure where hikers hang nowadays... anyway, i'd suggest you try decathlon...they're very decent... |
Jul 20 2022, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(Azran1979 @ Jul 19 2022, 05:59 PM) guys im new. please recommend me famous camping shop? You can try hereim looking to buy waterbag but have no idea where to go. 15 years ago i bought from Pertama complex. Not sure now do camper still go to pertama to find items? shopee a lot but i want to borak2 with seller abit coz im new. 1) Outdoor Centre Jalan Ampang. On the main road. Carefull look for like old house. It convert into shop. Can chat with them. 2) Explorer Outfitter Atria, Publika, Ampang, Cheras, Da Men Mall etc. Can chat with them. It also depend on what you interest. Hiking, running or camp. If for running, you got to look for sport shop. |
Sep 9 2022, 12:08 AM
2,096 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Shithole Klang |
Guys, I have some questions. About pressure lantern.
I'm going to purchase this Coleman powerhouse dual fuel lantern that is going to burn through camping nights for many years to come. Previously I've been sticking with the old but proven Butterfly lamp, but getting reliable supply of minyak tanah is troublesome nowadays (Coleman can burn RON95). I find the downside for this Coleman burner is, its no.21 mantle is not as ubiquitous as butterfly whatever one, and it's even harder to get good old thorium version. 1. Can I just use the (slightly longer) Butterfly mantle in Coleman, but fold and tie it higher a bit? anyone tried this? 2. 1.5 liter petrol can burn how many hours on max brightness? |
Sep 15 2022, 09:54 AM
nvm I tried and it work.
Tie it higher and use steel wire to clip at the neck. But this butterfly mantle produces lots of gunk during preburn unlike coleman/peerless, so you have to be careful pulling it away from generator before burning. Else it will stick to the metal and gets ruined. ![]() |
Sep 22 2022, 10:21 AM
436 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
just balik from camping @ camperz hideout bukit tinggi
recommended place but kinda expensive, unless u guy go in group |
Sep 22 2022, 11:09 AM
Sep 22 2022, 11:13 AM
Sep 22 2022, 11:21 AM
Sep 22 2022, 11:33 AM
Sep 23 2022, 05:29 PM
424 posts Joined: Sep 2015 |
Hey guys. Any recommendations for a late afternoon/evening hike in Klang Valley?
Sep 25 2022, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(akecema @ Sep 22 2022, 11:33 AM) can u the camp site name? You cab google and FB. Fraser only have few campsite.imma mau DIY car roof rack, then can lepak on car roof for stargazing while layan coffee There is new campsite in Genting and Genting sempah also. Genting is still under construction. But I heard they offer an early campsite with cheaper price without the toilet. (Toilet not ready) This genting side is quite windy. |
Sep 29 2022, 06:29 PM
Coleman cooler box worth it? Im planning to buy a 16qt box.
Is it better than cheap box out there? or any better brands? |
Sep 29 2022, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Sep 29 2022, 06:29 PM) Coleman cooler box worth it? Im planning to buy a 16qt box. Look for those label can last how many day. Some keep 1day or 3day.Is it better than cheap box out there? or any better brands? If you look for larger, makesure have roller with handle. Much more easy to bring into deeper campsite. When checking for size, makesure calculate included ice or icepack. It can take a lot of space. Leave not much room for your item. Coleman or Igloo is fine. |
Oct 2 2022, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 29 2022, 10:38 PM) Look for those label can last how many day. Some keep 1day or 3day. Im just looking for 1-day box.If you look for larger, makesure have roller with handle. Much more easy to bring into deeper campsite. When checking for size, makesure calculate included ice or icepack. It can take a lot of space. Leave not much room for your item. Coleman or Igloo is fine. Ive been measuring around seems like the 16qt one fits the balance best between amount of food to carry and dogs fit the rest of equipment. |
Jun 26 2023, 10:29 AM
5 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Jun 26 2023, 10:30 AM
5 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Feb 5 2020, 03:57 PM) Looking to find out if there are people here in Malaysia into the sport of Packrafting? Its a relatively new sport in the world but it truly caters to those adventurous at heart or simply want a weekend of adventure in the water. What is a packraft? Packraft and trail boat are colloquial terms for a small, portable inflatable boat designed for use in all bodies of water, including technical whitewater and ocean bays and fjords. A packraft is designed to be light enough to be carried for extended distances. How light can it be? A packraft can weigh as little as 2kg and when folded it is the size of a kitchen towel roll. The contruction of packrafts are what sets it aside from conventional inflatable boats. Packrafts are made up of 210 Denier Nylon at least with some going as high as 800D nylon and Kevlar reinforced floors. Why this is attractive is because packraft can be packed into your backpack and brought anywhere. Whats more, the raft itself can handle your weight as well as your bicycle on top of it to cross bodies or water. ![]() Any enthusiats here do drop a message. I'm current using one for rivers and seas that can take rapids up to CLASS II. ![]() ![]() ![]() I got a Rogue R-Deck i got 2nd hand in 2021 ... I've put it in KL .. any suggestion nearby can go for a weekend paddle ? |
Jun 27 2023, 03:38 PM
7,485 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(mingkiat @ Jun 26 2023, 10:30 AM) I got a Rogue R-Deck i got 2nd hand in 2021 ... I've put it in KL .. any suggestion nearby can go for a weekend paddle ? Hey fellow packrafter.R-Deck would be with the splash skirt? If you're KL based I can only suggest the lakes around KL or some rivers in KKB. (Alor Lempah is the tail end of the KKB river rafting so its mostly a chill paddle down river or upriver) I took my Rogue to Semenyih but I was told illegal to paddle out in the dam so was only out there for a while but it was an awesome paddle in a giant body of fresh water. Other than that Putrajaya lake where they offer canoes, you can inflate and paddle there. I think there are a few more spots for wake boarding in KL Selangor area but I haven't tried. There are a few lakes in Setia Alam / Shah Alam that part of a hiking trail. Some of the packrafters that are more advance I know here have even tried up north in Sungkai I think one issue is where doing this is permissible in KL side. I had no problems in the sea here or Sabah but that's when you're on longer vacation. Sungai Tembeling in Taman Negara would be another great spot but 3.5 hours away. |
| Change to: | 0.0291sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:22 PM |