80 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

medical / critical illness insurance enquiry

PJusa
post Nov 17 2009, 11:42 AM

2,029 posts

i dont agree - in general you always (see posts before) fare better with a general insurance IF it is guaranteed renewable. selling someone who is looking for medical cover a life insurance is bad advice if you ask me. those are entirely different products and you pay for stuff you dont want without having any substantial benefits from the product. the agent though is getting a higher comission %-wise and the premium is usually much higher.

your package seems priced OK even though i dont know your age epalbee3. you should however consider a higher life/annual limit for medical cover since a serious illness might cost more than your cover can provide. also a lifetime limit means you will eat this up over time and at one point stand without coverage. better to take a cover without lifetime limit if you can afford it. you can look around what offers are around or let me know your budget and i let know what insurers offer a pack that fits your pocket (no charge, no agent)
epalbee3
post Nov 17 2009, 12:13 PM

1,345 posts

well.. it is a trade-off between premium and coverage.

I'm looking for a moderate coverage which costs moderately.

Kurnia insurance provides a renewable package up to 70 years, which is the normal case for medical insurance.
I guess if you want to protect up to 100 years, you got to go for CI insurance. (I don't know what is the price.)

For your information, to get up to RM150k/RM450k limit, you will have to pay twice of RM520 = RM 1000+. (where as the premium keep increasing every five years)

If looking from other perspective, we are already better than previous generations who do not have any coverage, but live happily..
Buying one just to keep us free of mind as you know nobody will lend you money.

Added on November 17, 2009, 12:25 pm
QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 17 2009, 12:13 PM)

Kurnia insurance provides a renewable package up to 70 years, which is the normal case for medical insurance.
I guess if you want to protect up to 100 years, you got to go for CI insurance. (I don't know what is the price.)

For your information, to get up to RM150k/RM450k limit, you will have to pay twice of RM520 = RM 1000+. (where as the premium keep increasing every five years)

If looking from other perspective, we are already better than previous generations who do not have any coverage, but live happily..
Anyway, for those afford, please buy as much as you can.

In future, may be we can still upgrade the current plan.

Added on November 17, 2009, 1:14 pmBy the way, anyone know if there is a CI plan with RM50k coverage until 100 years old? standalone product.

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Nov 17 2009, 01:14 PM
PJusa
post Nov 17 2009, 01:20 PM

2,029 posts

epalbee3,

ok - one thing first: dont confuse CI and health insurance.

CI pays a lump sum amount in case of diagnostic and survival of one of the 36 "dread deseases". there is no additional benefit to this insurance and premium will go through the roof once you get older. you should use a CI (if you really want to) only while you are young and the risk is low. that way CI can serve as a means of providing a financial cushion should you be unable to work further or in case you die provide relief to your family.

H&S (hospitalisation and surgical insurance) on the other hand pays your bills up the limit. the scope is pretty much that - hospital and surgery + some after care. this is what you need to focus on. if your H&S stops at 70 and you life longer who is paying the bills. i personally would want 80 or 100 for my H&S. CI can stop at 55 imho and cover can even decrease with age to provide adequate cover throughout time with low cost.

problem is: medical insurance will be damn expensive at 70++ so few insurance companies offer them. for example AXA, GE, AIA have plans that cover until 80 or 100. what you need to look at is the average costs until the end of the cover from your current age onwards. if you can afford the resulting average premium today, chances are you will be able to keep the policy in force despite inflation driving the premiums even higher in the future.

and yes: buy as much medical cover as you can afford smile.gif.

my personal choice is H&S and PA over H&S and CI because PA covers more cases at a fixed price and high H&S covers the dread deseases too. CI is fine between 20 and 50 though but not entirely essential if you ask me.

that beeing said, i'd look into ways of increasing your annual H&S cover if you have the budget to spare. for example a so called top-up insurance with a high deductable is a very cost efficient solution to cover spikes. premium will be only a couple of 100 RM even for a 150k p.a. / 750 k lifetime extra cover.

This post has been edited by PJusa: Nov 17 2009, 01:22 PM
epalbee3
post Nov 17 2009, 03:22 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Nov 17 2009, 01:20 PM)
epalbee3,

ok - one thing first: dont confuse CI and health insurance.

CI pays a lump sum amount in case of diagnostic and survival of one of the 36 "dread deseases". there is no additional benefit to this insurance and premium will go through the roof once you get older. you should use a CI (if you really want to) only while you are young and the risk is low. that way CI can serve as a means of providing a financial cushion should you be unable to work further or in case you die provide relief to your family.

H&S (hospitalisation and surgical insurance) on the other hand pays your bills up the limit. the scope is pretty much that - hospital and surgery + some after care. this is what you need to focus on. if your H&S stops at 70 and you life longer who is paying the bills. i personally would want 80 or 100 for my H&S. CI can stop at 55 imho and cover can even decrease with age to provide adequate cover throughout time with low cost.

problem is: medical insurance will be damn expensive at 70++ so few insurance companies offer them. for example AXA, GE, AIA have plans that cover until 80 or 100. what you need to look at is the average costs until the end of the cover from your current age onwards. if you can afford the resulting average premium today, chances are you will be able to keep the policy in force despite inflation driving the premiums even higher in the future.

and yes: buy as much medical cover as you can afford smile.gif.

my personal choice is H&S and PA over H&S and CI because PA covers more cases at a fixed price and high H&S covers the dread deseases too. CI is fine between 20 and 50 though but not entirely essential if you ask me.

that beeing said, i'd look into ways of increasing your annual H&S cover if you have the budget to spare. for example a so called top-up insurance with a high deductable is a very cost efficient solution to cover spikes. premium will be only a couple of 100 RM even for a 150k p.a. / 750 k lifetime extra cover.
mind to share the price of "AXA, GE, AIA" for 80 and 100?
Let's say if monthly need RM500++ then they will be no point, as during the old age, you might not be able to pay for this.

AAM does offer CI (50k) at a reasonable annual premium of RM80-200 for < age of 45 years old. After that it is like a few thousands.
It is no harm to buy it while young.

But you are right, if we have money, why dun top up the medical insurance.

I think as long as you have some medical coverage, you can cover some emergency situation where government hospital cannot give immediate treatment. After that, may be you have to rely on government hospital.

After all, we have our own current aims to achieve everyday, it will not make sense to pay too much for this.

Added on November 17, 2009, 4:06 pmAIA only up to 70 years old.

I am quite surprised with AXA which offers unlimited coverage. Anyone experience with them before?

GE MEDICARE 100 is the only one that gives protection until 100 years.

Mind to share more about this?

Added on November 17, 2009, 4:18 pmone more comment: AXA limits the amount per disability which may not be good for long year problem..

Anyone shares about GE Medicare 100?

For kurnia, you can apply for medicare senior once you reach 50 years old.

Added on November 17, 2009, 10:09 pmOne more comments:

Even with > 70 years medical insurance, I will not buy.

from 70 - 100 years, you got to pay about 200k premium.

If you have that money, you don't need medical insurance.

If not, you better use that money to feed yourself.

Remember, after retirement, every cent is hard to recover.

Medical insurance is just for those with money, not those without money.

Before you buy medical insurance after 70 years, make sure you have well-plan your retirement.

Without proper retirement plan, there is no point talking about senior medical insurance.

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Nov 17 2009, 10:09 PM
PJusa
post Nov 18 2009, 12:05 PM

2,029 posts

epalbee3,

from AXA you can use smartcare optimum (no life time limit, cover until 80). depending on the cover you choose you will end up with an average premium of around 50-300 RM per month for 35-80.

B.Health Net offers no lifetime limit, but only until 70

same for OAC Easi-Health

others offer waiver of lifetime limit for a fee.

GE MEDICARE 100 and Manucare100 both offer until 100 but the premium runs into 10s of thousands when you hit 80+ and this makes it totally unaffordable. i remember manulife is charging like 30 or 40 k for age 90 p.a.

if you ask me why the premium is so high? it's because this is the average damage plus a fee for the insurance that they expect you to cost them. so you should also expect that you yourself will have to pay this amount. if desaster strikes it will be higher though since the insurance only charges the average cost. so for a secure average damage you get protection from higher costs. still a fair deal to me unless you know you will cost less than average.

btw: you have a point with axa's limit per disability. but if you look at the shedule, there are no such specific limits as they cover full subject to custom and reasonable charges. i believe this clause applies to the additional benefits (kidney dialysis and cancer treatment) only. maybe someone from axa can confirm?
klang-valley
post Nov 18 2009, 10:13 PM

178 posts

I agree with you that we need to have proper retirement plan for our future. Medical insurance is way so expensive when we are old, but if you have plan your savings at a much early age, this should help to offset some of the high cost.
numbertwo
post Nov 19 2009, 03:48 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 17 2009, 03:22 PM)

I am quite surprised with AXA which offers unlimited coverage. Anyone experience with them before?

GE MEDICARE 100 is the only one that gives protection until 100 years.

Mind to share more about this?

Added on November 17, 2009, 4:18 pmone more comment: AXA limits the amount per disability which may not be good for long year problem..

As per AXA contract, this is the definition of 'per disability'

11. Disability Shall mean a Sickness, Disease, Illness or the
entire Injuries arising of a single or continuous series of causes. ANY ONE DISABILITY shall
mean all of the periods of disability arising from the same cause including any and all
complications there from except that if the Insured Person completely recovers and
remain free from further treatment (including drugs, medicines, special diet or injection or
advice for the condition) of the disability for at least ninety (90) days following the latest date
of discharge and subsequent disability from the same cause shall be considered as though it
were a new disability.

If you have an existing medical plan, you can opt for "Deductible' Option in AXA SC Optimum plan.
Bad thing about AXA, the way I rate them, is their limited lifetime limits on kidney/cancer treatments. That's why their premium is affordable yet still gives you 'unlimited' lifetime limit.

I'vent been able to update my site, but maybe some info is helpful from within : http://finance.groups.yahoo.com/group/Medi...aysia/message/2

Rgrds
PJusa
post Nov 19 2009, 08:21 PM

2,029 posts

numbertwo,

correct about the definition - i have the wordings too. but the question is: since there are no limits besides the annual limit besides for cancer / dialysis how does this clause affect the insured for other disabilities besides cancer and dialysis? the way i read it it doesnt affect you since there is no specified monetary limit present.
epalbee3
post Nov 19 2009, 11:33 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 19 2009, 03:48 PM)
As per AXA contract, this is the definition of 'per disability'

11. Disability Shall mean a Sickness, Disease, Illness or the
entire Injuries arising of a single or continuous series of causes. ANY ONE DISABILITY shall
mean all of the periods of disability arising from the same cause including any and all
complications there from except that if the Insured Person completely recovers and
remain free from further treatment (including drugs, medicines, special diet or injection or
advice for the condition) of the disability for at least ninety (90) days following the latest date
of discharge and subsequent disability from the same cause shall be considered as though it
were a new disability.

If you have an existing medical plan, you can opt for "Deductible' Option in AXA SC Optimum plan.
Bad thing about AXA, the way I rate them, is their limited lifetime limits on kidney/cancer treatments.  That's why their premium is affordable yet still gives you 'unlimited' lifetime limit.

I'vent been able to update my site, but maybe some info is helpful from within : http://finance.groups.yahoo.com/group/Medi...aysia/message/2

Rgrds
so this is the weakness of AXA policy, which is not good for long-term treatments.

again. no point buying medical insurance after 70 as premium is very high.

Added on November 19, 2009, 11:35 pm
QUOTE(PJusa @ Nov 19 2009, 08:21 PM)
numbertwo,

correct about the definition - i have the wordings too. but the question is: since there are no limits besides the annual limit besides for cancer / dialysis how does this clause affect the insured for other disabilities besides cancer and dialysis? the way i read it it doesnt affect you since there is no specified monetary limit present.
PJusa, there is a limit of 150 days hospitalization per disability.

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Nov 19 2009, 11:35 PM
numbertwo
post Nov 20 2009, 09:27 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 19 2009, 11:33 PM)
so this is the weakness of AXA policy, which is not good for long-term treatments.

again. no point buying medical insurance after 70 as premium is very high.

Added on November 19, 2009, 11:35 pm

PJusa, there is a limit of 150 days hospitalization per disability.
agree with you on the med insurance after 70... I never bother to consider this point when I compare med policies as I really do not think I can afford one by that time I'm 70's...and no I don't want my children to pay for it either...when time comes, if I have to go I have to go... biggrin.gif
PJusa
post Nov 20 2009, 01:40 PM

2,029 posts

thanks for the pointer. i never saw it in conjunction with the 150days. that is a serious loophole. i am running AXA in combination with a top-up so i am pretty save in that respect and since both policies have serious weeknesses that dont really overlap (i.e. AXA 150 days, tokio marine 10k deductable) the combination of the two still seems to be a very attractively priced round coverage.

sadly so far i have not come across a better solution to overcome lifetime limit issues and fee issues i.e. premiums that are out of reach of the insured. anyone has a better solution besides going for an international insurance?

Added on November 20, 2009, 2:04 pmquick update: william russel has an office in malaysia.

http://www.william-russell.com/individuals...ntial/benefits/

this plan might be a good idea too as the limits that apply to local policies dont apply here.

if you choose this policy as a backup with a 2,500 US$ deductable you can insure a 33 yr old for around 50 US$ per month with a 200,000 US$ annual limit. that would be pretty good. will check what allianz offers these days.

This post has been edited by PJusa: Nov 20 2009, 02:04 PM
epalbee3
post Nov 21 2009, 09:02 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Nov 20 2009, 01:40 PM)
thanks for the pointer. i never saw it in conjunction with the 150days. that is a serious loophole. i am running AXA in combination with a top-up so i am pretty save in that respect and since both policies have serious weeknesses that dont really overlap (i.e. AXA 150 days, tokio marine 10k deductable) the combination of the two still seems to be a very attractively priced round coverage.

sadly so far i have not come across a better solution to overcome lifetime limit issues and fee issues i.e. premiums that are out of reach of the insured. anyone has a better solution besides going for an international insurance?

Added on November 20, 2009, 2:04 pmquick update: william russel has an office in malaysia.

http://www.william-russell.com/individuals...ntial/benefits/

this plan might be a good idea too as the limits that apply to local policies dont apply here.

if you choose this policy as a backup with a 2,500 US$ deductable you can insure a 33 yr old for around 50 US$ per month with a 200,000 US$ annual limit. that would be pretty good. will check what allianz offers these days.
For William Russell, it is only for expatriates:

You are unable to get a quote if your Country of Residence is the same as your nationality, we can only insure expatriates

ltandrew
post Nov 21 2009, 09:53 AM

Hi All,

Is trher any plans that
a-cover specialist doctor visits
b-cover hospitalisations
c-other rest
epalbee3
post Nov 21 2009, 10:00 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(ltandrew @ Nov 21 2009, 09:53 AM)
Hi All,

Is trher any plans that
a-cover specialist doctor visits
b-cover hospitalisations
c-other rest
Most medical cards cover this.

Try to buy from kurnia, AXA and etc.

I would say kurnia is ok.
ozak
post Nov 21 2009, 10:49 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 17 2009, 12:13 PM)

Added on November 17, 2009, 12:25 pm

Anyway, for those afford, please buy as much as you can.

In future, may be we can still upgrade the current plan.

Added on November 17, 2009, 1:14 pmBy the way, anyone know if there is a CI plan with RM50k coverage until 100 years old? standalone product.
Maybe you can check with AIA. They have better deal. And cover till 100yrs.
epalbee3
post Nov 21 2009, 10:54 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 21 2009, 10:49 AM)
Maybe you can check with AIA. They have better deal. And cover till 100yrs.
I dun think medial insurance after 70 years is affordable if you do not have income.

Our previous conclusion is no point buying medical insurance after 70.

PJusa
post Nov 21 2009, 01:48 PM

2,029 posts

yeah too bad about william russel. but it seems allianzworldwidecare is available. at least i managed to a get an offer just fine. they have a pretty high end cover even on the lower plans and malaysia apparently enjoys some discount on the premium.

basic plan only around RM 400 per month. and this "Classic Individual" covers 1.25 million euros per year medical costs p.a. without any lifetime limit - take a look:

http://www.allianzworldwidecare.com/compar...duals?choice=en

annual premium for age 33 is €1,025.00 = RM 5000 = 416 p.m.

the optional outpatient is way too costly but the core plan is good. but hold your breath: premium at age 70 is €4,617 p.a.= 23k. if you compare this with local insurances that aint that bad considering the cover you get.

too bad they dont publish rates beyond 70, the support told me they cover until you die if you so wish but could not advise on premium due.

maybe one should ask them to offer a group plan for malaysia (lowyat medical plan wink.gif ) to get extra discount....
epalbee3
post Nov 21 2009, 04:38 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Nov 21 2009, 01:48 PM)
yeah too bad about william russel. but it seems allianzworldwidecare is available. at least i managed to a get an offer just fine. they have a pretty high end cover even on the lower plans and malaysia apparently enjoys some discount on the premium.

basic plan only around RM 400 per month. and this "Classic Individual" covers 1.25 million euros per year medical costs p.a. without any lifetime limit - take a look:

http://www.allianzworldwidecare.com/compar...duals?choice=en

annual premium for age 33 is €1,025.00 = RM 5000 = 416 p.m.

the optional outpatient is way too costly but the core plan is good. but hold your breath: premium at age 70 is €4,617 p.a.= 23k. if you compare this with local insurances that aint that bad considering the cover you get.

too bad they dont publish rates beyond 70, the support told me they cover until you die if you so wish but could not advise on premium due.

maybe one should ask them to offer a group plan for malaysia (lowyat medical plan wink.gif ) to get extra discount....
Ok, things come with a price.

RM416/month at young age is not something that within our limits. don't forget it is only for medical. how about PA?

Just buy kurnia, you got RM42 per month to enjoy reasonable coverage for PA and medical.

After that, you can put the rest of your money at ASW or AS1M, you should double your money within 20 years.
PJusa
post Nov 21 2009, 09:22 PM

2,029 posts

well what i like is the cover .... RM 5,000,000 is more than enough for any kind of hospitalisation that i can think. also no limit of number of days. i am not entirely sure if can afford or not but i got in touch with them nonetheless to make an offer for my family. hopefully some family discount can be given. since the plan is core only i would still need a local top up for dialysis - that seems to be not covered. waiting for reply from then on that.
epalbee3
post Nov 21 2009, 10:38 PM

1,345 posts

my friend was offered a GE investment linked insurance with monthly 150 for 20 years.

he is now 30 years old. but medical insurance until 70 years old.
may I know how does he pay for medical insurance until 70?

Also the sum assured is RM35000 and CI is 20000 (until 100 years old). Does it mean 20000 is deducted from sum assured?does he able to get back money when he was 70 years old?

Added on November 21, 2009, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 21 2009, 10:38 PM)
my friend was offered a GE investment linked insurance with monthly 150 for 20 years.

he is now 30 years old. but medical insurance until 70 years old.
may I know how does he pay for medical insurance until 70?

Also the sum assured is RM35000 and CI is 20000 (until 100 years old). Does it mean 20000 is deducted from sum assured?does he able to get back money when he was 70 years old?
Some of my friends said that if you are going to include medical insurance in the life policy, you usually will end up get nothing, paying all for medical premium. Is that true?

Since investment link is not guaranteed, usually policy will assume the best case, which you might face difficulty later? kindly advise.

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Nov 21 2009, 10:43 PM

80 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:49 AM