Wireless Broadband ★★DiGi 3G Broadband Thread★★, Broadband done right
9M-MAS
Jun 15 2009, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(ks98 @ Jun 15 2009, 09:43 PM) Maxis and Celcom are out of my option list... for Maxis, i got the bill more than their service... for celcom, the only place to fix your issue is Celcom service centre (wasted my time only!)
Ditto! but a certain fan of a certain telco says he doesn't mind bad customer service as long as the coverage is wide... This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Jun 15 2009, 10:53 PM
9M-MAS
Jun 29 2009, 07:27 AM
Question(S): If I sign up for any of the packages:
1) if I move to an area with no 3G, will it fall back to EDGE? 2) if I fall back to EDGE, will EDGE usage be counted towards the FUP quota? 3) I'm a bit confused with the costing for with modem packages. If I sign up for discover package with modem, do I pay RM58 a month, or RM 58 + RM 15 = RM 73 a month (Currently)?
Thanks in advance
9M-MAS
Jun 29 2009, 07:34 AM
Thanks fruitie - I have this odd feeling you will answer pretty fast!
9M-MAS
Aug 1 2009, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Jul 31 2009, 03:15 PM) just came back from PC Fair. i've finally become a fellow subscriber. took the explore plan at RM88! also guys, they are selling a huawei router at RM299 (purchase with purchase). I signed up today as well at 12:30. Still not activated. Is yours activated already?
9M-MAS
Aug 2 2009, 08:13 AM
My line just activated....woohooo
9M-MAS
Aug 4 2009, 09:35 AM
More areas should be covered. I live inside DiGi HSPA coverage, but work outside, in the middle of KL.
EDGE coverage is still good though.
9M-MAS
Aug 5 2009, 07:10 AM
QUOTE(davidmak @ Aug 4 2009, 11:14 PM) Anyone happen to be in Cheras tonight? Quality is down the drain tonight. Can't load anything. Even a local site like Lowyat is slow. Ditto - I'm in Bandar Tun Razak. YT buffering like crazy. Morning now seems OK though. This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Aug 5 2009, 07:10 AM
9M-MAS
Aug 7 2009, 04:25 PM
When will DiGi 3G come to KL Sentral area? It's a hub of activities...I work there, got only EDGE.
Got 3G back home though.
9M-MAS
Aug 8 2009, 07:24 AM
Could this be due to the backbone issues? IINM all landing sites in the country are controlled by TM. That's why when one link goes down all kena one.
9M-MAS
Aug 9 2009, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(adslgourou @ Aug 8 2009, 08:04 AM) Try downloading the Ping Plotter freeware from the site www.pingplotter.com. Perform a continuous traceroute and ping to google, youtube, yahoo or any other preferred sites during busy hours. Save the results as image and post it here. I think the link to Hong Kong PCCW and going out of Hong Kong is also affected by the same problem as TM. See the pics below: Thanks dude - will do later in the night. today (morning)'s speed test This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Aug 9 2009, 08:27 AM
9M-MAS
Aug 10 2009, 10:49 PM
Anyone experiencing slowdown tonight? Surfing seems fast enough but file downloads (HTTP)....hiyoh! Less than 10KB/sec...tried different servers...all the same..
This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Aug 10 2009, 10:51 PM
9M-MAS
Aug 12 2009, 11:03 PM
Some youtube videos are buffering...very unnerving...
9M-MAS
Aug 15 2009, 05:39 PM
Is there an outage in Bandar Tun razak? I can barely get 3G signal. Was full bar before.
9M-MAS
Aug 15 2009, 06:12 PM
Back to normal now...full bar...
9M-MAS
Aug 15 2009, 08:25 PM
9M-MAS
Aug 17 2009, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(preducer @ Aug 17 2009, 01:25 PM) looking at the chart, it would be bad for digi to say theoretical speed > 3.6mbps and u can only get average 700kbps.. i would rather have my streamyx > 1mbps and im getting 1mbps. I think DiGi purposely limit everyone at 1Mbps so as to maintain some level of quality. They after all did advertise the service @ average speed of 700kbps (as opposed to others who keep saying up to 3.6Mbps and actual speeds are far shorter than that!). Theoretical is technical, like saying the maximum you can get on a phone dialup is 56kbps, but you can never get that. Some areas can only get 33.6kbps, never mind the technology supports up to 56kbps. It's theoretical - and I think it is in that context that 'Theoretical 3.6mbps' statement was made. WHat's important to me is that it is constant, and I get the same speed local or overseas. WIth Shytmyx I may be getting 1.5Mbps, but overseas rarely if ever exceed 400kbps...(when I was using it sometime back)
9M-MAS
Aug 17 2009, 11:30 PM
Very spurious tonight. Keeps dropping to EDGE before disconnecting me altogether. Hiyoh what is happening....
9M-MAS
Aug 18 2009, 07:12 PM
9M-MAS
Aug 18 2009, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(adslgourou @ Aug 18 2009, 09:26 PM) Try to use the long cable with 2 USB heads... Normally with more power, you will be able to get better signal reception. It was not that. Signal has always been stable, never disconnected suddenly until yesterday. I'm using the E160 from DiGi, BTW
9M-MAS
Aug 18 2009, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(adslgourou @ Aug 18 2009, 09:31 PM) Try to use the long cable and force the modem to WCDMA only. Tried that yesterday but of no use. Instead of getting EDGE I just get disconnected!  Seems OK today though.