OKLY
post Apr 5 2009, 11:33 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

DiGi Broadband in my area couldn't touch 3mbps tonight.
OKLY
post Apr 6 2009, 12:00 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Apr 5 2009, 11:48 PM)
@ Kai Loon,
Have you reached 20Gb limit where Digi throttle speed.
Wondering if they would really throttle it down to 128kb/s.
Please share when it's throttled.
Contemplating of upgrade to RM188 plan since tmnut is so bad.
TIA
No I've not touched 20GB yet as I am not a heavy downloader. This is about the second week and the usage is only about 6GB. smile.gif
OKLY
post Apr 9 2009, 08:14 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

So far so good with DiGi Broadband in my area. Speed has been consistent to be just above 3mbps all the time. smile.gif

OKLY
post Apr 12 2009, 09:23 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(sblsbl @ Apr 12 2009, 02:17 PM)
icicic, no wonder.... hmmm.... still thinking whether to take jaring or digi... too bad no strike lottery, if not sure take both...  cry.gif
Both offer really good services, JARING has been pretty good through many years while DiGi only launched their broadband service recently so it is still early to judge. Nevertheless, both should be good options for the time being. smile.gif
OKLY
post Apr 12 2009, 10:15 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Raki @ Apr 12 2009, 10:05 PM)
Does Kota Kinabalu have Digi 3G coverage or what? why is digi's broadband website covering most of KK in blue color saying its in a 3g/edge zone. is this some joke of what?
I too find it weird but it isn't impossible. Perhaps you should check it out with a DiGi Centre.
OKLY
post Apr 13 2009, 12:34 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(KLlee @ Apr 13 2009, 12:04 AM)
anyone using Digi BB has some random DC ?
There are some occasional disconnections at times but this is really rare and there isn't much fuss about it. smile.gif
OKLY
post Apr 13 2009, 04:20 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(KLlee @ Apr 13 2009, 02:48 PM)
Thanks for the info but I do hope it's not something that Digi would do to disconnect the connection over period of time. I'm playing a lot of online games. So hoping that we have a reliable connection. Dont mind paying more for excellence service tho..
Cheers!
From my experience, I've never got disconnected when I'm using it. It only disconnects when I leave the connection idle.
OKLY
post Apr 14 2009, 12:12 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(cruxidex @ Apr 13 2009, 08:04 PM)
interesting discovery when i do network search using my vodafone celcom bb modem.. i saw DIGI 3G here in Sg Ramal Luar~!... so fast digi already here lo~

P1 also berjanggut nak sampai sini
I'm surprised as well with the rapid increase in coverage area from DiGi. Now the real game begins when more people sign up for their broadband service. smile.gif
OKLY
post Apr 14 2009, 10:53 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Apr 14 2009, 08:48 AM)
just wanna ask..can i use my Sierra Wireless Aircard USB 875u as a modem for this DG bb...
Older devices does not have support for HSPA so your upload speed might suffer.
OKLY
post Apr 14 2009, 11:48 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(KLlee @ Apr 14 2009, 11:31 AM)
Go to digi.com.my. It has all ur answer. For me, this is the best Broadband ISP. Hopefully they maintain the speed and service when more customer base. Getting ppl sign up is easy but to maintain high level of customer service, now that is the challenge for all ISP.
Everything needs to be maintained, a good balance of good network maintenance and quality customer service is the basic key to success. smile.gif
OKLY
post Apr 14 2009, 11:06 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Raki @ Apr 14 2009, 10:15 PM)
This is from digi bb's faq

Q15.  What is the usage limit for these broadband packages?
A15.  -  The Discover package comes with a data quota/usage limit of 3GB. Usage beyond 3GB will be charged at 15sen/10MB and will be capped at a maximum of RM138/month.
      -  The Explore package comes with a data quota/usage limit of 10GB. Usage beyond 10GB will be charged at 5sen/10MB and will be capped at a maximum of RM138/month.
      -  The Extreme package comes with a data quota/usage limit of 20GB. Usage beyond 20GB will be free although the speed will be throttled to 128kbps.
Q16.  And what happens after I’ve reach the maximum capped amount…?
A16.  My, my wink.gif You will still be able to access the internet but your broadband connection will be throttled to a lower speed of 128kbps for all 3 packages.
So, i think is for discover package is that after u use 3GB, digi will charge u 15sen per 10MB u use and will keep charging u until ur digi bb monthly bill is RM138 (something like their PAYU/"pay as u use " in their gprs/edge. Same goes to discover but with a 10GB quota and 5sen per extra 10MB. u are given a month quota and is charge for over ur quota until a certain amount and than u dont need to pay any further for that month. But sadly for digi BB, their will throttl u to 128kbps after u reach the max payment... wth blink.gif .... thats slower than edge  doh.gif
The average speed for DiGi EDGE is around 20kB/s while if you are capped at 128kbps, that's 16kB/s and I don't think that differs much. Moreover, you'll get a much lower latency compared to an EDGE connection. smile.gif
OKLY
post Apr 15 2009, 01:38 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(bL!x x3roTh @ Apr 15 2009, 12:55 AM)
kinda noob here in wireless broadband  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
can i know ,does Digi has problem using torrent?
bcoz i donlod lots of stuff there  brows.gif  icon_idea.gif
No problems with torrents but I hope you are aware of a Fair Usage Policy.
OKLY
post Apr 15 2009, 11:08 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Well, I think it isn't in the coverage map but doesn't mean in actual testing there's isn't any coverage at all.
OKLY
post Apr 15 2009, 10:39 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(NicolasLau @ Apr 15 2009, 09:31 PM)
edge only run around 200kbps as i know they not allow u sign up if u out of coverage area
Not true, my friend applied for it and they still allow even if there's no coverage. It doesn't make sense that they do not allow since it is a wireless broadband, I can still use it at somewhere that is covered.
OKLY
post Apr 18 2009, 10:47 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(whcheng @ Apr 17 2009, 09:22 AM)
i have been experiencing frequent disconnection from the network. Anyone having similar problem?
Same here, frequent disconnection and often I need to refresh the page. It could be that they are doing something to their network for the time being.
OKLY
post Apr 18 2009, 11:49 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Apr 18 2009, 10:57 AM)
Same here too. The Digi Dashboard doesn't show any disconnection but you will see that the data transfer will momentarily stop for nothing. During this idling, I guess this is where things are disconnected. I wonder if we can check IP from the dashboard, if it is changed then sure disconnection has happened. As a result, my Windows Live always get disconnected and I have to refresh the webpages from time to time (as they will time out). Signal reception is very strong though.

I realize, if we keep transferring data or downloading something the disconnection will be lesser. Wondery why.
Perhaps the connection will be disconnected on idle or something like that. It happened to me a few times when I just leave it connected with Windows Live Messenger and the connection totally disconnected.
OKLY
post Apr 19 2009, 12:54 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(KLlee @ Apr 18 2009, 11:45 PM)
The disconnection for Digi is getting pretty frequent. almost every 1 half hours dc one time.. Its like loosing packets. Anyone experience this?
If I leave it on for a day, there are countless "short disconnections". The speed is still fast but the so-called disconnections is getting pretty annoying.
OKLY
post Apr 19 2009, 11:21 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(KLlee @ Apr 19 2009, 11:20 AM)
sad to say fast connection but not reliable. Keep getting random dc. Y charge fair usage policy when we cant get steady connection?

Random dc is very annoying. Cant we here in Msia get a reliable ISP?
I'm not too sure what went wrong with DiGi Broadband at the moment but yes it is annoying to get disconnections. It could be that there are more subscribers now and they are not handling it efficiently.
OKLY
post Apr 19 2009, 05:40 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Apr 19 2009, 05:18 PM)
I fear for the idle thingy only.....
Once it is left idle for certain amount of time, there you go, can't surf anymore. Need to disconnect and reconnect again.
Same here on this issue but some do have scripts to refresh their browser on a website so that the connection does not remain idle.
OKLY
post Apr 20 2009, 01:45 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Apr 19 2009, 09:59 PM)
subscribers now frust menonggeng with celcom so the switch to Digi lor

btw, i have a noob question.
why latency factor here is important, are they connected with the time to take a page to fully load or time taken for data to be send/received?
example, with my poor capped celcom bb it takes about 2-3 minutes for a page to load fully
Well, latency is mainly important for gamers. As for web browsing, the latency will help improve the responsiveness. For example, if the latency is low to this forum say about 15ms, the moment you click to go to a topic you will almost immediately enter that topic and start loading it.

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0609sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:49 PM