6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

LYN Tennis Lovers V2, Tennis Racquets & Courts in Klg Valley

zdepth
post Jul 16 2009, 08:30 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Jul 16 2009, 06:02 PM)
ok got that now the flight. whether the ball travels high or low over the net doesnt actually mean the same thing right. travel high doesnt mean deep.. it fixes onto whether how much spin/power ratio u applied to it

so at the end of the day, apex of the ball is not so important as cant be applied to all because nowadays more power game is being used so u dont get to see nadal rainbow much..

again the new ITF theory is.. there's no wrong style. tongue.gif
I need to comment on this view of yours or rather explain on that coach behalf.... I fully, I mean really fully understand what was that coach trying
to convey to our friend, Yan. I agree that high or low clearance doesnt correspond to how deep the ball would go... it depends on power & spin.

Now... the word 'apex' comes into play on the second comment. Whether u hit with power, spin, high, low, moonball, screwball, sidespin or whatever,
every single ball, shuttlecock, pingpong, hockey ball, tennisball, soccer, rugby or even your underwear would have an apex if it is thrown into air &
push down by gravity. A ball would start to drop down from it's apex (apex means highest point)... so what the coach is trying to explain to Yan is that
his apex is so far deep into the court, by the time it touches ground, it will be out of the court! So to solve it, he wanted Yan to move his apex further
back to net area, so that it wouldnt go out.

'Apex' is important in Yan's case. The coach is trying to correct him by asking him to move his apex. Although I think this his own unique approach
in explaining & correcting him... but logically it is not wrong, just a different approach.... an approach that some might think is not the right way
to correct a student.

Apex exist on everything in life... with a overhead smash, u have a linear trajectory direct down to the court, so the apex is on your racquet contact
point. Thats the highest point.

In circuit driving & drifting, the apex of every corner is so critical & there are so many ways to attack it & it is even more complex than a forehand in
tennis... it is always taming & conquering apex in racing as races are won in corners not the straights... unlike drag racing. Same as tennis, u dont
hit straight... u hit with a proper apex/path control.

In our lifes, some achieve their apex at early age as in they became so successful at an early stage in their life & then it mellow down. Some would achieve
apex/success in their later life & straight after that they die. That coach wants him to move his apex to an earlier spot..... be successful early & enjoy
longer. His coach is not wrong to me, in fact he given me a different insight into the game... very very unique explanation indeed. His coach is not asking
or teaching him to play like nadal or soderling or to play a modern power game... he is just correcting his stroke. Its a simple correction that will bring him
progress along this game of tennis.

Tennis isnt rocket science, I really think that there are tons of smarter people on this forum than roger federer.... forex trading is 1 million times more complex
than tennis Mr.Yan.... u are way smarter & I think you will progress faster than anyone & I think u understand things very quick.... no worries smile.gif
zdepth
post Jul 16 2009, 09:06 PM

197 posts

LMAO.... i love this forum... 1 serious discussion, suddenly 1 bodo joke come out... LoL..
thats how life should be... got apex/climax, got apek/PRC... good balance

This post has been edited by zdepth: Jul 16 2009, 09:06 PM
zdepth
post Jul 17 2009, 08:43 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Jul 16 2009, 11:01 PM)
nope still have 1 year left haha.. well with beginners the only thing i'll correct them is point of contact and to remind them to swing more forward.. how they grip or start their racquet is irrelevant..of course i do point out whats the most common way beginners start off but u dont wanna make it too technical else they'll be too frustrated.. no matter wat grip u use as long as point of contact and swinging forward is done, u cant go wrong with it.. spin? well just tell them hit the bottom of the ball dont need turn on contact,etc..those only explain to students ready for next level tongue.gif
finally someone like grinner... wonder where the hell is he laugh.gif
ok back to discussion, apex is the height of the ball right.. if i were to say hit a flat ball my flight of ball would be straight line no apex of flight right..same thing as in when i hit a fast spin ball.. 

but u did point out apex is when the ball drops and yan's ball drop too deep then its out.. yes i do agree the safe approach is to loop the ball thus getting a higher apex earlier and get the ball in..but by doing so, you'll be compromising your game style which in yan's case he likes to whack.. so to gain a better apex u reduce power. By doing so now, he's sacrificing the fun he could have from whacking balls right..

i would rather he still keep the same power but improve on the racquet acceleration through the ball to get just enough spin to bring the ball in rather than out..

what you think?
Correction... apex is not the height of the ball. Apex is the highest reach point of a ball in height. When u hit a straightline ball it would still have an apex
because there is gravity that will push the ball down to earth eventually. When there is a 'down', there must be a 'up' in your case. Let me give u a visual
explanation on the word 'apex' in various situation below:

My Summary:

This whole case to me is a matter of approach & conduct. His coach has given him an insight of his stroke situation now. He pointed to him that his apex is
too deep & he is hitting too hard. What he did was a basic analysis & gave Yan a one dimensional answer & not rectifying it yet. This might be his approach
as with most coaches they would entice students & gave them a little introductory tips in the beginning... get them interested & thinking first. You want
more? lai lai lai RM60 one more time.
Now what you're suggesting here is not wrong, you are going deeper into the rectifying stage... the correction stage, the problem solving stage. This doesnt
mean that the other coach cant correct Yan, it is just that you have your own approach & conduct. Keyword again 'approach & conduct'. In this case u are always
a winner & I advance more by going to you than other coaches simply because of your approach & conduct. I really think that you are a bad businessman but
a great coach.... why? because go to u once, I become pro already so no need to pay u again... LMAO!!
zdepth
post Jul 17 2009, 08:52 AM

197 posts

kesian him laaa... u can always find money to pay him because you are such a smartass.
zdepth
post Jul 17 2009, 12:34 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(chip73 @ Jul 17 2009, 12:10 PM)
Z,

the more i look at the race circuit, the more it's telling....hahahahaha.....intentionally kah?......hahahahah......looking more and more like a human organ.....hahahahaahahaa    laugh.gif
haih... hamsap mind will always think hamsap things... lol laugh.gif
zdepth
post Jul 19 2009, 06:05 AM

197 posts

unker chip.... heard u sapu people until half dead just now.... lucky i didnt
come if not i also kena sapu ..... ph34r.gif sword very sharp nowadays ooo...

zdepth
post Jul 20 2009, 02:33 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(chip73 @ Jul 20 2009, 02:12 PM)
Auntie Z....2 days lau sia ah?....backside got "open flower" or not?.....hahahahaha    laugh.gif

Pooh dissapointed big time man, you yesterday evening no come...... tongue.gif

He came prepared with his "kah chan" to tah pau ppl..... sweat.gif
arghhh... i dying soon... stomach cancer level 2... need to go for surgery. No need
play tennis already.... u can play every weekend with winnie da pooh & friends now.
I wash hands & can sit at home peacefully now... u enjoy your tapau session Unker
Chip.. i sure a lot more waiting for u to get tapau notworthy.gif .. hahahha
zdepth
post Jul 20 2009, 02:56 PM

197 posts

here also can chit-chat maaa... some more can put picture here... so nice... hahaha

Horse lai liaoooo!!

zdepth
post Jul 22 2009, 03:57 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Jul 21 2009, 11:57 PM)
Where can I find a place which for training which have the machine balls. Like what other countries have, you just go into and hit the balls that blow out. Any where in Subang?
Hi John,

U can find a coach in Kg Pandan sports complex & also another one in Raintree Club Ampang
with that machine. A lot of other coaches in Klang Valley do have ball machines of their own
but its kinda heavy to carry to the court so its better off to hand feed students. A human can
feed as well as a machine too. If u need a consistent & good feeder u can try coach Marco Sitepu
of UM .... he feed from 2 giant hypermart trolleys... easily 1000 + balls per session... just make
sure u bring ambulance & get ready for serious arm injury sweat.gif
zdepth
post Jul 22 2009, 05:03 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(hyperthom007 @ Jul 22 2009, 04:35 PM)
Anyone playing in Bandar Tun Razak DBKL Tennis court? I am a student in HUKM and in need of a tennis partner. Also, I want to check out how good/bad I am (been playing only for the past 2 years).
am playing now in cheras... call me at 017-394 8736 if u wanna join.
zdepth
post Jul 22 2009, 10:09 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(pooh88 @ Jul 22 2009, 05:22 PM)
Bro,

Tell your members after Raya we play the friendly game  rclxms.gif
Get at least 6 or 7 doubles come over my place ok  nod.gif
I think that club dont have 6-7 pairs.. if got also hard to organize all to come together
unless they play at home ground. Normally its very hard to get a lot of people together
to go somewhere far. I'll ask them when I see them... oh yeah they are not my members,
I'm not attached to any club, group or team & I wont come for the game as well.

Added on July 22, 2009, 10:11 pm
QUOTE(hyperthom007 @ Jul 22 2009, 07:12 PM)
Damnit... Tersleep until now from 5-7  sad.gif  . What are the odds... Are you the group of people who play in the court everday from 5-7? I always see a group of people playing doubles in the evening.
Nope... i dont play doubles. I'm a singles player & sometimes I play some doubles if there is too many people waiting.

This post has been edited by zdepth: Jul 22 2009, 10:11 PM
zdepth
post Jul 24 2009, 01:57 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(darky @ Jul 23 2009, 09:52 PM)
just a noob question, how do u guys feel whether the tension on the racket has dropped or not?
bro darky.. for future technical questions please refer to tt.tennis-warehouse.com ... u're better off there,
lowyat.net tennis forum is not meant for technical queries & discussion... this is suppose to be a
forum for us to discuss about prostitution, eating babi bak kut teh, latest acquired gears & prostitution
again. I think u're here long enough to understand that. dry.gif
zdepth
post Jul 26 2009, 10:56 PM

197 posts

Hi...

To anyone, If you got like 2 pairs of doubles or more & would like to have some friendly doubles matches in Cheras, please PM me. I know this team of players who are looking for challenges, preferbly NTRP 5.0 & above... I hope u can sapu this team 6-0 so that they wont bug me to look for games again for them. Oh yeah, I dont have any relation with this team & wont be coming for the match.

This post has been edited by zdepth: Jul 26 2009, 10:59 PM
zdepth
post Jul 27 2009, 02:42 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(chip73 @ Jul 26 2009, 11:37 PM)
Z...where the earth la you today???????

All missed you....ah wee also waiting....some more he no bring his alarm clock wor.....hahahahah  laugh.gif
Today i working.. ph34r.gif .. tomorrow i play tongue.gif
zdepth
post Jul 27 2009, 02:32 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(chip73 @ Jul 27 2009, 11:27 AM)
Z...today main kat mana?  drool.gif
I play at cheras leh... 5pm today... u want come PM me lor party.gif
zdepth
post Jul 29 2009, 05:01 PM

197 posts

Zdepth's Tennis Etiquette Guide

Tennis is a sport traditionally played mostly by the upper middle & higher class of society, thus carrying a lot of gentlemanly values to it. But today it is generally being played by people from all levels of society & age group. I'm an active social player & have played at various clubs, public courts, private courts in apartments/condos & avenues of various kind. One thing I see is the deterioration of the gentlemanly manners & positive etiquette especially on the recreational levels nowadays. I've decided to come up with this guide to instil some good code of conduct & behaviour back in the game especially to those who are lacking these values.

Social Tennis

1. When someone invite you to play at their courts, please offer to pay for the court time & if it is free, please bring some new balls or at least some refreshments. You're not Roger Federer & being invited to play is a privilege.

2. If you know someone who has access to a court, do not ask him whether you can play there or not. He might not like to play with you. It doesnt matter if you are a good or bad player. Most clubs are private & normally tennis groups would play among themselfs only unless they invite you. Only play when you're invited & dont pester people to play with you.

3. Show gratitude & thanks after a game especially to the host for providing you good time & enjoyment in tennis. They provide you with the court time & also play with you. A lot of people charge you money for being a sparring partner in tennis... so be very thankful if someone is willing to play with you. It's not easy to find people who are into tennis especially in Malaysia where tennis is a highly unpopular sport.

4. Dont bring anyone else to an invited game unless there is permission.

5. Follow all club rules & protocol when you are there. If you're unsure ask your host about it. Don't wander away from your host when you're there. A lot of the more prestigious clubs have strict club rules. Adhere to them at all times.

On the Court

1. Dont be noisy. If you're at the side bench keep chat volume down to a minimal. If you're on the court dont shout & curse. The people on the other courts will not appreciate that.

2. Do not smoke on the court. Inhaling smoke off a smoker is worse than being a smoker & doing it while playing tennis is a big No-No.

3. Do not litter. Please throw all empty drink cans/bottles, ciggie butts (duh), banana skin, etc out of the court area.

4. Dont walk pass the court when a game is in progress. Dont walk behind players when they are playing. Wait till the point is ended & ask for a pardon to walk pass. Always walk behind the baseline & not in front of the net (duh).

5. Wear proper attire & shoes when you're on the court. A lot of clubs have dress code, adhere to them.

6. A tennis court is strictly for tennis only, dont be bringing a football, skateboard, basketball, volleyball or your remote control car & play on it.

7. Take care & dont damage anything on the tennis court. If you're playing at night, make sure u close the lights after playing or remind the caretaker to do so.

8. Dont jump over the net like a monkey. You might damage the cords or even your balls if you're stuck in between it.

Ball Management

1. Always give your share of balls when you play. Dont be coming to a court with your racquet only.

2. Mark your balls for easy identification especially if there are more than one court as they might get mix up with balls from other players.

3. Dont whack a ball all over the place in frustration when you lose a point. It might hit someone & its a waste of time for you & other players when they have to go & retrive it for the next serve

4. Dont fill the court with balls everywhere, someone might step on one & injure themselfs. Make sure the court is clear off any balls before u start to play a game.

5. Apologize to other players on the other courts if your ball flies into their court. Dont ask them to pick them up for you when they're in a game. Wait till the point is ended. Say thanks when they help you to retrive your ball.

6. Dont hit every ball towards the baseline of the server after a service rotation. Pass to them properly. Hit the ball well over the net with one bounce before it reaches the server nicely. Always pass balls to the server & not on the ground for him to pick up. Make sure they have 2 balls in hand before they start serving.

7. The person closest to the ball should pick it up & get it to the server

8. Don't bring old balls for a game when you are invited. When I say old, that means balls that are opened up from the can.

Game Play / Behaviour / Temperament / Attitude

1. Don't argue with players when there is a dispute, offer a replay if you really think you are right & if they disagree on the replay give the point to them. Do not question the issue & play on. This is a game for gentlemen. You will be well respected for being one.

2. When the ball lands out of the line but is close to it, the ball is 'In'. Always continue the point when you see a ball that is close to the line, dont stop & say 'Out'... in recreational level that is very ungentleman. Only stop the point when the ball is clearly out.

3. Don't call out balls on your opponent's side of the court. Its on their side, they have a better view than you. If they're cheating, let them be. Tennis is a gentleman's game, win or lose in grace & virtue, remember that.

4. When playing doubles, don't distract your opponents by waving your racquet & jumping around during serve. Don't act like a monkey if you are not one.

5. Always agree with your partner during doubles. Doubles in tennis is all about teamwork & being one. If arguing with the opponents is bad, arguing with your teammate is even worse.

6. If you're stroking for a warm up before a game, always hit back to your opponent & not to an empty court area. Don't be pulling stunts like slice drop shot when you're stroking especially with strangers. The definition of stroking is where u hit with moderate powered strokes, emphasizing your fundamentals. This is to warm up your muscles & loading up the strokes memory & also refreshing the body/feet/hand movements.

7. If you hit a player during play, apologize quickly. Don't turn your back & walk off.

8. Lastly, please display a gentlemanly attitude at all times. Try to change if you're not one. I really like to stress out & talk about this more. Different people have different temperament/attitude but in tennis please try to put out a positive & polite display. Live out the classiness of the game in the days of way back smile.gif

zdepth
post Jul 30 2009, 01:02 AM

197 posts

babii unker chipppp... that night stroke with u I kena tennis elbow already now cant play..
doing soft tissue massage now & icing non-stop!! faster replace my arm backkk! dry.gif
zdepth
post Jul 30 2009, 01:21 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(chip73 @ Jul 30 2009, 01:13 AM)
Really ah?....OK set man....mixed doubles anyone?..... tongue.gif
the hamsap reply very fast.... LoL.... tongue.gif
zdepth
post Jul 30 2009, 01:33 AM

197 posts

but now i phobia play with gals la... after kena 6-0 that day ... u laaaa, u should've wore a skirt during that match maaa... at least lose also not so malu!
zdepth
post Jul 31 2009, 03:47 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Jul 31 2009, 03:08 PM)
Opps I mean he take back his racket with very loose wrist and swing his racket with very high speed. His back hand is normal but his forehand clear the net by alot but still go into the court. I have a firm wrist take back and firm wrist contact, should I change to loose wrist take back? I see nadal have a bit loose wrist but not to the uncle's extend.
Bro...

If you want to progress quicker & better in tennis & need technical help, I suggest you go to tt.tennis-warehouse.com. I'm not asking people here to move their technical enquiries & discussion from this forum to tt.tennis-warehouse.com but seriously, if you're a serious tennis player plus an internet savvy person, there would be no other tennis forum in the world that is as comprehensive, advance, technical & progressive than tt.tennis-warehouse.com. Your questions would be answered by reliable teaching pros, USPTA coaches, tech gurus & ex players.

The environment there is so conducive in the upbringing of advancement in the sport of tennis. I progress way quicker there & in a proper way than any other place I've been to. A lot of good people are there like Will from fuzzyyellowtennisball, Fed's stringer, a lot of other atp stringers, great USPTA/ITF coaches, etc. A good thing with the forum there is that when an advice is given wrongly by someone who thinks they know the game, it is quickly corrected by a reliable & well informed senior/pro. It's sad to see people getting the wrong advice & information on playing tennis & also on gear info. You really need to move out to the outside world so see how western country progress & teach tennis.... the discussion quality is of a very high level, technical informations are put into a very advance & complex thought process.

My advice is to learn tennis & get tech info bout gear on tt.tennis-warehouse.com & come here for domestic discussion like meeting up for game, local tennis gear availability, buy/sell, tennis location & casual general tennis chat. Not to look down on this forum but just showing u a better knowledge guideway. Cheers...

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0501sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:00 PM