Is it the badminton shop next to the roundabout there?
According to zdepth, buying shoes or clothes will get taxed quite a bit. So best not to buy shoes.
LYN Tennis Lovers V2, Tennis Racquets & Courts in Klg Valley
Jul 7 2009, 05:58 PM
4,523 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Is it the badminton shop next to the roundabout there?
According to zdepth, buying shoes or clothes will get taxed quite a bit. So best not to buy shoes. |
Jul 8 2009, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(praetorian @ Jul 8 2009, 08:02 PM) Just a heads up, I have never touched a APDC before, I have tried a APD (non cortex), I believe Babolat rackets are very stiff ,not stiff in the sense if a racket stiffness, they are made stiff, I have tried the Wilson K Blade tour and that racket is plenty stiff and solid and I liked it, but APD, hmmm it felt very stiff on the arm, it did NOT translate stiff on the ball,so I am not going to 100% accurate on APDC, I do know for a fact that Babolat rackets in general are stiff lol( how many words 'stiff' are gonna pop up?!!). They are also the main cause of tennis elbow, this is a proven fact. If you are young, below 25, keep it up, I will wanna see you play in your 40's.The ONLY way I know that you can play with a Babolat racket is with soft poly ie Cyberblue, Sigma Pro Poly HexEXtreme 16L and of course Natural Gut. I just had my test on the PDRGT today and boy oh boy it impresses.Please note Black code will need AT least 2-3 hitting sessions BEFORE it comes ALIVE! You said Babolat are the main cause of tennis elbows, that I do agree. But today after the PDRGT, looks like Babolat got it right this time. 72 stiffness rating, I'd say its wrong eventhough the ratings are made by Babolat themselves. If you ask me, I do feel that it is something around the realm of 64-67. I test the racquet being strung with a Luxilon ALU Power 16 at 57lbs. So I'm really, really suprised that it didn't felt stiff at all. I have heard alot about the APDC being one of the stiffest racquets around, but the PDRGT... it ain't. So according to you guys saying the Cyberblue is softer, it just gets even betetr. |
Jul 8 2009, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(Yan @ Jul 8 2009, 10:12 PM) Finally, thank you. that's what i felt Ben. I was saying to my friend that the PDRGT felt so much softer than the APDC and the rating of 72 can't be right. Even i tried his PDGT(non Roddick) today strung with 57/55 Luxilon Ace 112, it still felt soft. Also the lighter weights seem to be nice to swing as well. I think it's more forgiving in terms of the maneuverability. However he said compared to mine with Cyberblue at 55lbs, mine is definitely softer and more comfortable. Cool, cool.Then we switched to the APDC luxilon spin @ 55lbs.. Our arms really felt wanna jatuh. Btw surprise surprise the PDRGT seems so much easier to serve. Nice pop on the serve. Actually before that let me ask, what's the benefit of setting 2 different tensions ? i ikut ikut only never really find out the reason..lol I'll need to swing by uptown damansara to get thos cyberblue then. Actually 2 different tensions for main and crosses are generally used for hybrid set of strings. The idea is to get the best of both worlds. I usually string my Dunlop Max Comfort 16(multi-fil) as my mains and Dunlop Comfort Poly 17(poly) as my cross. Sure Dunlop isn't the best of strings, but it's what I've been doing for a long long time. You use the same string but yet string at a different tension for mains and cross, so I'm actually kinda suprised you did that. Are your mains and cross different gauges? Not that no one has done it, just that it isn't as widespread as to mix strings. |
Jul 9 2009, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(Yan @ Jul 8 2009, 11:22 PM) well it's the same gauge ... just not sure what it does... according to the shop fellas the different tension is good for spins.. but i dunno what basis he is basing it on. i understand the tying of 4 knots as opposed to 2knots but not sure abt the 2 tensions thingy. I've never tried using the same string strung at different tensions for the main and crosses, so I can't say for sure that if it does provide better spin.BTW, how's the tension loss on the Cyberblue? QUOTE(praetorian @ Jul 9 2009, 06:44 AM) I'd stick to the same string if you already know what you like, take Nadal for example, his Duralast is a crap string, but he refuses to change, because he is so accustomed to the string, stick to what works for you. Haha yea.Though Dunlop max comfort are getting increasingly rare in Malaysia. Suppliers just don't want to bring them in, I don't know why. Maybe it isn't generally selling too well... But I'll try the Cyberblue out for a change since I've heard nothing but great things from this string thus far. Still a little skeptical about its durability however. Added on July 9, 2009, 8:44 am QUOTE(putera_due @ Jul 9 2009, 12:13 AM) hello, anybody know where can find yonex tennis raquets in malaysia? anybody here used yonex raquet? Come to Jusco Maluri.Miraculously, they do stock Yonex racquets. Don't remember if they sell the one used by Ivanovic or Dementieva though, but I remember seeing it. If you're looking for Lleyton Hewitt's racquet, it's nearly impossible to find it here. This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jul 9 2009, 08:44 AM |
Jul 9 2009, 10:45 PM
BTW enlighten me on something.
The Babolat PDRGT I tested had different specs than the one stated in Babolat's site and Tennis-Warehouse. Official Specs (From Babolat and T/W) Head Size: 100 sq. in. / 645 sq. cm. Length: 27 inches / 69 cm Strung Weight: 11.8oz / 335g Balance: 5pts Head Light Swingweight: 334 Stiffness: 72 Beam Width: 22-26-23 Tapered Beam Composition: Graphite Tungsten Power Level: Low-Medium Swing Speed: Moderate Grip Type: Syntec Grip String Pattern: 16 Mains / 19 Crosses Mains skip: 8T,8H Two Piece No shared holes String Tension: 55-66 pounds Yan, let me know if your specs is the same as this. The one I tested Head Size: 100 sq. in. / 645 sq. cm. Length: 27 inches / 69 cm Strung Weight: 11oz / 315g Balance: 7pts Head Light Swingweight: 334 Stiffness: 72 Beam Width: 22-26-23 Tapered Beam Composition: Graphite Tungsten Power Level: Low-Medium Swing Speed: Moderate Grip Type: Syntec Grip String Pattern: 16 Mains / 19 Crosses Mains skip: 8T,8H Two Piece No shared holes String Tension: 55-62 pounds |
Jul 10 2009, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(Yan @ Jul 9 2009, 11:35 PM) yah mine is of the same specs as yours (the bottom half) but i think under the string weight specs: our 315g is before string... UNSTRUNG 315g. at least that's what i got fr other players / sellers.. the tenniswarehouse specs are "strung weight". ours is before stringing i think coz it's printed on the racket itself and normally those printed there are actual weights meaning .. bare.. no strings. But yah i do see some variations on the specs as well. maybe another type of Asian and US specs difference. Oh right, missed the point that the strung weight is from T/W.anyways for the PDRGT i guess not just you and me but.. just now even "underworld" played with it and it felt pretty easy on the arms too.. so i guess we're not crazy after all.. However even after testing all these other rackets. i still am amazed by the RED. I was hitting half the time with Sophis on the PDRGT then we had a pause. i whipped out the O3SpeedportRED and started hitting with it. My oh my, it was like a complete load off my shoulders / arm.. was so easy to swing and producing lots of control. it was raining before and we just trying to hit middle section of the court as not to hit the puddles. It was such ease to hit to the same spot all the time esp on the forehand. I can do more than 10hits to the same spot back and forth without much difficulty. Just a no-frills racket. However Don't get me wrong here, as the PDRGT too felt great with lots of power, solid and the pop on the sweetspot. But it is not an easy racket meaning you need to whack it proper with follow-thru and timing to get a good hit in ...etc.. Meaning gotta work at it pretty much to have the desired control. I'll be getting my PDRGT today and I think I'll need to add a little bit of weights and lead tape to the racquet. 11.8oz (considering this is the weight of the racquet we will get as well after being strung) feels a little too light for me. And yea I was thinking maybe it's the Asian/US difference in specs again. They kinda screwed the head balance a little bit, placing at 7pts. One of the reason I looked forward to the racquet was the 5pts head light balance. Hoho I'll follow your style of stringing this time. String the same string using 2-piece knots, cross and main different tension. I'll see how it feels like. EXO3 Red should be as good if not better than the O3 Speedport RED I suppose, a couple of improvements here and there. Let us know how it feels like when you get the demo racquet from Prince. QUOTE(darky @ Jul 10 2009, 01:13 AM) anyone knows where to get the ball basket? been looking for high and low at topper and ultimate and both told me out of stock... Yesterday when I was at Uptown Damasara, No.1 tennis shop they were selling the baskets for RM100.so in demand one meh? the price they quoted me rm95-98...didn't know a basket would cost that much... anyway, if you do know where to look for the basket pls tell me. thanks. Theres also some being sold at Sunway Pyramid, the LG floor sports shop(forgot the name). But those come with balls and I think they cost around the region of RM200-RM300+. Babolat balls btw. My suggestion, buy market basket! RM9.90 from Jusco only. Don't be lazy and go pick up the balls yourself. |
Jul 11 2009, 09:52 AM
Wow Yan... you can never stop buying can you?
What's next? When the Ignite 95 makes it way here, I can for see you hitting with it as well. |
Jul 11 2009, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Jul 11 2009, 12:35 PM) How much for a exo3 graphite? Last I asked, RM550 after discount from Topper at Ampang Park.My hands oso itchy...... though haven't tried it but I trust the heritage of this stick man. Yesterday when I was getting my PDRGT I saw that they put the EXO3 Graphite for demo though, so you may ask and see if you can take for a test run before you buy the racquet. |
Jul 15 2009, 12:53 PM
Haven't been in here for a couple of days.
Got sick actually! Don't worry, its no H1N1 crap. Looks like theres a gathering, where you guys playing? I might be able to come around if I'm feeling well. |
Jul 16 2009, 06:15 PM
IMO, theres never been a wrong style.
If you look at every successful tennis player, some of them really has some of the worst forms you can have in a match (John Mcenroe anyone?). Look at Sampras backhand behind the baseline, he looks he's about to fly off the entire court. Really though, doesn't matter what the style is... work at it if thats your own style and you'll get good. It's how the pros does it, its how good players does it any sport. This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jul 16 2009, 06:16 PM |
Jul 16 2009, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(sungami @ Jul 16 2009, 10:33 PM) Hi people, this thread looks like a happening one tennis wise. Come find me Wednesday (but only 2-4pm) and Friday, Kampung Pandan Sports Complex.Anyway, I'm looking for a regular practice/sparring/stroking/game partner. Preferably if we can play at least once a week. I'm looking to play after work during the weekdays and anytime during the weekend. The area would be anywhere around KL. Anyone interested? Btw, I'm a so-so player only. |
Jul 19 2009, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(darky @ Jul 18 2009, 10:14 PM) argh...why they charge so expensive? If you want to hybrid, I suggest you go with Poly.like that no choice lor, coz other shops not really accessible by public transport, dun have car to move around in KL. only topper can reach by taking LRT. hey guys, since dunlop max comfort is a multi-fil string, what type of strings do you guys think should complement it, as in hybrid? polymer or syn gut? i prefer a soft stringbed. I have a racquet of mine strung with Max Comfort as crosses, max explosive as mains. If you want to use the entire Max comfort, I suggest you do 2-piece stringing if your racquet allows it as max comfort does drop tensions quite fast. |
Jul 21 2009, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(Patt_Hup @ Jul 21 2009, 12:16 PM) ok my question here is i notice i having a very weird single backhand.. Definitely not.Have u guys see any one using forehand semi western grip on a single backhand before ? That someone is going to hurt his wrist if he tries to snap a flat backhand onto the sidelines using a.... semi-western on a backhand? The heck? |
Jul 23 2009, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(darky @ Jul 23 2009, 08:03 AM) can u explain what do u mean by if my racquet allows it? i mean will certain racquet break upon doing 2 piece stringing? There are some older racquets that doesn't have the point of 2-piece stringing.These racquets aren't particularly common these days as majority (if not all) racquets today are built with hybrid stringing in mind. I have a racquet that doesn't allow me to do hybrid stringing. |
Jul 28 2009, 11:23 PM
I haven't been in here for quite a while... but yea, I think the chatting has to stop. Going way too off-topic, I think a mod who sees this would close the thread down.
Jul 29 2009, 02:16 AM
QUOTE(chip73 @ Jul 28 2009, 11:32 PM) I want to, but I don't know where you guys playing?Is it in Yan's place? I only know from you guys saying it is somewhere near 1 utama? QUOTE(pooh88 @ Jul 28 2009, 11:37 PM) I know man.But don't go off-topic too much laa... This is after-all, a tennis thread. If you really want to discuss so much on PRC and BKT, we meet up in the courts and can talk about it all day ya. This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jul 29 2009, 02:17 AM |
Jul 29 2009, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(Yan @ Jul 29 2009, 02:57 PM) chip73, you coming tomorrow ? ahwee got passport to come tomorrow and i think carto and eason is regular lah and carto bringing another fren fr forum who stays in kota damansara i think. another guy that might join us is SSJBEN oh yar i nearly forgot... i still luv you Pooh.. QUOTE(chip73 @ Jul 29 2009, 03:01 PM) Ben coming ah?.....wah..... I'll try to come tomorow.me visa tak terhad one.....anytime la.....where got la like ah wee's one.....dunno which country one....so susah dapat, dapat already also no confirm one....last minute can tarik balik one....must be communist one.....hehehe.....betul tak Wee?...... Me shld be ok la since i will be in sg buloh 2nd half of the day....then just singgah lor.....June also might come if he can make it...... Added on July 29, 2009, 3:03 pmAnd i also love you Pooh!!!!!! hahahaha......damn....feeling a little gay already..... No promises, since I have work to do in the morning... no idea when it'll end. IINM, isn't it pretty jam in the evening heading to damansara? |
Jul 30 2009, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(junebug @ Jul 30 2009, 12:44 AM) Good one Yan. We can all have a hit together. IINM, Slazenger balls are basically re-labeled Dunlop Forts.I've only tried Dunlop Fort and Slazenger and they both feel the same to me. That's also in terms of durability. Not too sure about Head. ckseong and carto, where have you guys been? I know there are a couple of different Dunlop Forts though. The all-court with DUCK version IMO, doesn't really lose it bounce that fast. I have a can with it still being quite playable after about using it a month or so. QUOTE(Yan @ Jul 30 2009, 12:48 AM) what time u guys coming.. Ben is coming at 3pm or so .. mati me. haha.. i think i'll have to ask him to go minum a bit first with me. else i'll die in the hot sun. he says his normal time woh playing at 3pm .. manyak pro. Pro what la.... I only know how to talk. Go onto the courts, legs will tremble... hold racquet also cannot hold properly. Eastern grip, western grip all terbalik. tchiaming might join us as well tomorrow. seems like quite a grp 2molol. june u coming ? wat time ? i know ahwee can onli make it after he finishes his work 530pm. unless he curi ular ..keke I hope I can really make it tomorow. Really have a heavy work load schedule in the morning, hope can finish it before lunch. |
Jul 30 2009, 01:49 AM
QUOTE(chip73 @ Jul 30 2009, 01:08 AM) Now this is the real "pretend-pig-eat-tiger" guy....hahahahaha Who's the real pretend-pig-eat-tiger I wonder... Ben, take your time...dun worry...the courts will still be there....but amatuers like me will only be there later....hahha You guys planning to play until what time? |
Jul 31 2009, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(SticH @ Jul 31 2009, 03:08 PM) Opps I mean he take back his racket with very loose wrist and swing his racket with very high speed. His back hand is normal but his forehand clear the net by alot but still go into the court. I have a firm wrist take back and firm wrist contact, should I change to loose wrist take back? I see nadal have a bit loose wrist but not to the uncle's extend. Its called pronation when hitting a forehand shot.Normally for most people, we keep our wrist firm and hit the ball without any wrist motion (other than when the ball is hitting the racquet and your wrest flexes a bit, that is entirely normal). The technique of pronation through a forehand I would say is not a "good" way to do a forehand shot UNLESS you have a very high level of a forehand shot. Federer pronates on his forehand, Nadal does it, Roddick does it on his windshield wiper, Murray does it as well. Thats why sometimes you see their shots to very "whippy" like. Pronation is the part of your wrist and forearm moving together in same motion. Many people get this wrong and have the thinking of pronation being only moving your wrist. |
| Change to: | 0.0398sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:16 AM |