LYN Tennis Lovers V2, Tennis Racquets & Courts in Klg Valley

SSJBen
post Jul 31 2009, 05:04 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Yeap.

Which is why fundementals and core basics are so important to learn first before attempting to copy your favourite player's style on TV. Once your basics is solid, you really can do anything with the ball with whatever style you choose.
SSJBen
post Jul 31 2009, 07:28 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Yes you are right.
Also alot of people tend to move their elbow when hitting a forehand shot thinking that they'd get a real powerful shot. The thing is, the power comes from your SHOULDERS and HIPS. I see many people just swinging their elbows not their entire arm, result in very poor power output. Not everyone has Bruce Lee's forearm.

Keep that damn elbow tucked, plow through with the twist of your waist and shoulders.

Well from chip's explanation earlier on how he does his backhands, definitely he has solid fundementals right at the back of his hand. If you can place the ball where you want, when you want... you're good to go.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jul 31 2009, 07:30 PM
SSJBen
post Aug 1 2009, 04:13 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Aiks.... Can't join you all today le.
Got dinner at 6... and you know what, I just WOKE up and came here typing this. laugh.gif
SSJBen
post Aug 2 2009, 02:36 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Aug 2 2009, 12:32 PM)
But where is Chip they all?

Can anyone recommand any shop to buy rackets? Cause no idea where to buy only Sunway Pyramid the sport shops only....
You can go to Topper Sports or Ultimate.

Forget about buying in Sunway Pyramid, chop you kao kao.
SSJBen
post Aug 2 2009, 07:59 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Topper Sport is at Ampang Park. Opposite citibank.
I don't know if that name is called kompleks cambell though... heh.
SSJBen
post Aug 3 2009, 02:06 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

No thats not quite... true.

By stringing the cross higher than the mains, you are only going to make your sweet spot smaller. I've never tried it myself since I'm most of the time on a 90sq.inch head, my sweet spot already damn small.

But according to some people, it does improve feel and control.
SSJBen
post Aug 4 2009, 09:47 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Look what my friend from HK came back with.....

Prince Super Graphite Long Body (a.k.a Boron in Japan)

Head size: 107sq.inch
Length: 28 inches
Weight: 308g (strung)
Stiffness: 65
Material: Graphite

AFAIK, this racquet is only sold in Japan and some other parts in Asia.
Not worldwide. It is basically a combined Prince Super Graphite Longbody and Super Graphite Oversize. Using 2 crossbar stabilizers and has 107sq.inch head.

I've never seen this racquet before, only the original SGLB but with a 100sq.inch head. Any of you seen this before?
Going to have a hit with him this Friday and wanna see how this racquet works out.
SSJBen
post Aug 5 2009, 02:53 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Aug 5 2009, 06:49 AM)
Yhaa I have this was the most expensive racket at one time, a whopping 800SGD I think when I was playing, it played quite stiff, many preferred the Graphite over the Boron but I suspect price was the factor.....

Definitely a keeper! Great racket for collection, may I ask how much did you/ your friend pay for this gem?
He said there was a clearance sale on the last day he was in HK, which means on Monday.
Then he saw this racquet for sale at only 700HKD. Which means about RM345 here.

That is a bonker of a price. He picked it up, said it just felt right for him. Straight pay and bought it.

But damn, didn't know it was 800SGD back then... nuts!
SSJBen
post Aug 8 2009, 02:13 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Just go to some hardware shop and ask for a roll of lead-tape laa...
Much cheaper and easier to apply.
SSJBen
post Aug 10 2009, 10:39 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Personally I feel the X-one isn't worth the money.
Its damn expensive for a multi like you said, however my biggest gripe with this string is that it loses tension too damn fast. Just within a set, the tension loss on this string is nearly 35%!!

At one point I was playing and all of a sudden the strings just lost its life. Stopped playing with it and I took it to go measure the tension. Strung at 60 lbs, dropped to 46 lbs in just less than an hour. Thats bloody ridiculous for its price.

Plays pretty good while it lasts however. Good comfort and great control, a little bit less on the spin however I feel.
SSJBen
post Aug 11 2009, 12:46 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Please don't go full.
Considering you're a power player (atleast from what I've heard here), going full gut will be awesome for a few couple of sets. But for the sake of not snapping your string (you'll feel like your balls being crushed when it snaps), hybrid with poly.

I suggest poly on the cross, gut on the mains. Tension you can string it up at around 60lbs on your PDRGT, once the string sets-in a bit it'll be like you're on drugs all of a sudden. brows.gif

Putting a couple of string savers here and there won't be a idea as well btw.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 11 2009, 12:48 PM
SSJBen
post Aug 11 2009, 03:22 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(chip73 @ Aug 11 2009, 01:06 PM)
Ya lor Ben....petang ni kita main main and sembang sembang OK?....Yan go string his natural gut for all to try....heheheheh  tongue.gif

Set  Ben?  brows.gif
Today where can.
Loaded with work.

QUOTE(praetorian @ Aug 11 2009, 01:18 PM)
I am no sifu lah, Ben has a opinion and he is entitled to it, I certainly can understand his viewpoint.
If you hybrid, just use a normal synthetic gut or multi , you can go poly provided they don't have any special shape, if they are 'round' feel free to use poly.

Stringers will always recommend you 'hybrid' thats to save you money, but hehehehe if money is no object you owe to yourself to try FULL gut at least once in your lifetime.

There is a reason why no company in the world can replicate natural gut.
No sifu either.
But just speaking from experience. I once had a full-gut strung at 57lbs on a 90 sq.inch racquet, but the string snapped in just 2 matches. Furthermore those 2 matches IINM, were relatively short ones (just about an hour plus or so). Felt so heart broken that time when they snapped, especially when I'm only studying then. Money doesn't drop from anywhere.

I switched to poly and gut after that and never had a string snapped on me with this setup atleast until now.

I don't know if its the stringer's fault that he didn't string well or not, or maybe just my playstyle isn't right for it. But really, experienced once.... RM200+ down the drain, ain't gonna do it again. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(Yan @ Aug 11 2009, 01:39 PM)
you are absolutely right. luv to get all the inputs i can. well i guess i'll be trying both setups then. will go for full setup first round and hybrid it the next round.

for full natural gut. should i go higher than normal ? say on my blackcode now is 57lbs for the 4d300. should i go 60lbs or 62lbs ? the range of the 4d300 is 55-65 i think.
60lbs would be nice I say.
Wouldn't matter if you string it at 65lbs either, since Dunlop racquets are rather flexible. Won't hurt your arm much, if at all.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0228sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:44 PM