Cergau
post Apr 29 2010, 09:35 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 29 2010, 09:02 AM)
very good write up cergau.
look at the penyu in terengganu .

I may be wrong abt the penyu being under Perhilitan. It could be under Fisheries or maybe the state govts.
Either way I see them as impotent in so far as turning around a threatened specie is concerned.

To continue my rants against unjust laws
How irresponsible of the state govt to penalise it's own loyal citizens due to it's own shortcoming of not keeping protected specie current to CITES recommendation. Whilst they continue to adhere to CITES recommedation on the enforcement structure and local gazetting from which they derive their authority?
Enforcement Authorities / Autoridades de observancia / Autorités de lutte contre la fraude
For / para / pour Sarawak
Sarawak Forestry Corporation
Attn: Haji Chee (A) Abidin Bin Sulaiman
Area Manager
Security and Asset Protection Unit
Level 12, Wisma Sanyan
No. 1, Jalan Sukan
9600 SIBU
Sarawak

Tel: +60 (84) 33 74 44
Fax: +60 (84) 33 74 11
Email: hjchee @ sarawakforestry.com

http://www.cites.org/cms/index.php/lang-en...ncd/?country=MY

From history we know from the victims of unjust laws rose a man the world who would later know as Mahatma Gandhi.
Agi Idup Agi Ngelaban!

This post has been edited by Cergau: Apr 29 2010, 11:11 AM
Cergau
post Apr 30 2010, 08:52 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 30 2010, 01:37 AM)
do u guys see the quite similar reaction when the IGP threatened to pull the police men out of the street due to the shooting of 15 years old.

all these patterns seem to be quite identical whether its in the bird nest industry, F&B , Entertainment, MACC, beer issue, pork issue, education etc...

I really see that our system is not heading towards but backward in everything. Is paying our taxes had make them so arrogance and unappreciated to the public who paid their housing loan, recreational facilties, holiday and retreat home , training, seminars, overseas trip and even their salary.

What makes them think we are not paying all these to them and can even make threat to us and want to even cut off the opportunity of others. sigh
M'sia 2010 = Zimbabwe
M'sia 2020 = Somalia

Nike ............just do it
1Malaysia ....just du-it
Cergau
post May 1 2010, 06:28 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(Lucas 1 @ May 1 2010, 04:47 AM)
WAKE UP CALL icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
I think time is very short.
Lucas 1,
YES, very very short indeed.
Also, See the invitation from Perhilitan below.
Any mention by any of your local association? At all?
Better still, any comments from the supposed 'federal assoc' that just concluded their AGM?
All the major NGOs has come out in support of the Bill and have issued press releases.

BERNAMA - New Wildlife Act In Force End 2010
http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsindex.php?id=492569

NST Online New Wildlife Act to be enforced end of 2010
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/art...icle/index_html

WILDLIFE PRESERVATION : More ideas on better wildlife cover
Submitted by pekwan on Monday, December 28th, 2009
Monday, December 28th, 2009 08:42:00

The DWNP would like to take this opportunity to invite the NGOs, public institutions and the public to cooperate in creating awareness on keeping wildlife as pets.

Should any clarification be needed further, please do not hesitate to contact the DWNP at pakp@wildlife.gov.my.
Yamuna Perimalu
For the Secretary-General
Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment
Putrajaya

Cergau
post May 2 2010, 07:00 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ May 2 2010, 12:47 PM)
Just back from the KL AGM of the FED and this is what I hear and  I can understand.

So far so good but for how long from my opinion, also depend on all of BHs cooperation to minimise negative public opinion on our industry. The Health Department is the obstacle to the GP as they want to be involved but the problem has been settled between the ministers involved according to what I heard and if I heard correctly but my ears not so good lah.

So far, some of us are really getting to our nerve and not only the public complaints, so of us BH owners also complaint so the best action it to ensure that those black sheep of our family do toe the line.

As for the GP, everybody is keen to know as it affect our future but the draft will remain a confidential document until the cabinet view and approval have taken into consideration. Remember that we are not alone but we do have many enemies which will like to see our elimination and destruction @ towns. So, the best is to remain calm and the Fed Asso. Boss, Dato Beh has personally ensure me that he was in all the meetings and dialogs concerning the industry and he is happy that so far so good. He request that all must cooperate so that there shall be no changes in the draft as many of our enemies will like to see. Anyway, to be frank to all here that I believe to there need to be a win win solution to the BHs @ town and we as the BH owners in town will definately need to compromised but the only factor cannot be compromised is the moving the BHs from towns and this cannot be compromised!!!!!!! And what I heard from President Dato Beh and his team believe in it, too.

Also  do not spread rumour about the industry as you will only cause alot of pain and sleepless nights for many of us who depend on the  industry for income. Maybe, some have secret agenda for it but do it else way as I believe this site is best reserve for the swiftlets matter and not for political mileage, discrimination and dirty cleaning.   

I hope that you all agreed with me on the matter as I maybe small but united, we are a big force to reckon with. Ishaallah, we will survive and live thru the storm.
Unc WW,
Thanks for the feedback frm yr participation in the Fed AGM.
Fed - 1GP
Correct me if wrong here, I have yet to read nor heard anywhere the Fed issuing a press release that they are indeed participating in all the meetings and dialogs and 'everything' is OK.
Their assurances would help alot and we would not have to spent so much time digging thru everything that concerns EBN for discussion here.
It would also dispel alot of unnecessary rumours and everyone will be able to sleep well and utilise our time better.
It's not a very difficult thing to do nor a very unreasonable thing to ask for is it?

Fed - Conservation of Wildlife Act 2010
What is their stand on this?
Was this discussed in the AGM?
This tells a lot of their awareness and their usefulness as the industry representative.

Rumours
You have rightly pointed out they are a spurts of panicky posting here lately.
What else are we do to do when little info is forthcoming from folks are are supposedly the industry representative?
Lack of information is the root of rumours.
I would demand more information if I were an member of any local association affiliated with Fed!

Politics
As posted before, we do not go looking for politics but politics is frequently thrust into our faces.
How many would wish that we are all left to ourselves to just do what we do best.
Can we? Can we continue to let Perhilitan to their elements...coming out with such all encompassing laws and such authorities over our very means of survival (as many have testified)?
Even the means to offer compromises to the Bill is a political process.
We may wish to stay apolitical, getting this Bill amended will not allow one to stay on the fence.
You think any BN rep will be brave enough to vote against the Bill as it stand?
Are the Fed talking to Perhilitan for suitable amendments?
The choice is left to each of you reading, either you place your trust on the Fed and hope for the best OR
Help your selves, debate the Bill here and we each werite to our MPs for awareness OR
The Fed folks get online here and see if WE can collaborate on this.
(I am not being arrogant here by demanding their presence on the forum, it's just that this is the most convenient medium for collaboration)

IF the Fed do show their mettle and resolves all these issues, they would certainly endear themselves to everyone here.
and they can look forward to strengthening the Fed with more local assoc participation.

This post has been edited by Cergau: May 2 2010, 07:06 PM
Cergau
post May 3 2010, 04:59 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ May 2 2010, 08:47 PM)
is asked politely like I did at the AGM.

Unc WW, pls note that these Qs are not directed at you.
My point was why such good news as 'Semua OK' not disseminated to the local assoc. What's the secrecy? No one is asking for the document.
Do you not agree that it is exactly this kind of secrecy that has dire consequences for the nation?
o)Did we not purchase a submarine for the Navy that initially didnt dive and when it did, discovered that it doesn't have armaments?
Bought to bring undersea joyrides for orphans?
o)8 trainer planes for the air force that doesn't have engines but cost 2x more than with engines? Answer in Parliament was..the govt can't afford them with engines.
http://www.malaysiakini.com/v6/link.php?ht...d-in-empty.html
Need I go on?

Can we allow the Bill as it stand... that Perhilitan can do no wrong and can't be sued in court?
We need to be responsible citizen and help bring responsibility and accountability back into govt service.

As we do know that Dato Beh or Mr.John do have many BHs in Towns including also in sensitive areas like Malacca and surely, they are also looking after their own interests as well as ours, too...... that's my opinion but I maybe wrong and please do correct me if I am.

I have to admit that knowing that they have some investments at risk similar to many here bring some measure of comfort.

Again, I would say that all can be negotiated or compromised but moving out presently or in the future is totally out of the question, agreed???
Wish that it was that simple... that just our agreement of not moving will make it so.
All depends on what's in the 1GP!
Our argument has come full circle...so what's in the 1GP? Still waiting for the 'Semua OK' frm the Feds.

As for the Perhilitan tabled Bill, I need to seek more clarifications from them to answer......maybe someone here did asked and got the answer???
Obviously the BILL was not discussed at the AGM then.
My concern on the Feds priority vs BH owners relates to the following
"Clause 41 provides that a birds’ nest collector shall sell birds’ nest collected
by him only to a licensed dealer or licensed taxidermist."

My concern is based on past experiences on the difficulties of obtaining such licenses as shared on the forum.
To whose advantage are the absences of competing purchasers.?

This post has been edited by Cergau: May 3 2010, 05:35 PM
Cergau
post May 3 2010, 08:08 PM

416 posts

Dear Cergau,

I have already PM you on your requirements and if you require anymore assistance, just PM me again...................
Unc WW,
Still waiting for yr PM.
Cergau
post May 3 2010, 11:02 PM

416 posts

Wow, Lucas 1,
You must have achieved some kind of record as far as length of posting is concerned.
I started reading in KL and was in Ipoh when I stopped to rub my eyes biggrin.gif

Seriously,
As far as the Feds are concerned, it baffles me that for a National Assoc supposed representing the EBN industry in dealings with the govt.
They have chosen to only whisper their 'feel' of the situation.
What does it take for the new office bearers to boldly declare that they are indeed present in all dialogs and meetings as the industry representative and the situation is clear and good or whatever they wish to share. No one is asking for the document per se with the red RAHSIA stamped on it.

Just some ASSURANCES!! Please Sir ?
(Sedikit keterangan untuk meredakan suasana tegang.)

Just 2 little paragraphs on where the Fed Assoc is on
1)1GP
2)Conservation of Wildlife Act 2010 (Bill)

Thank You in advance.
(I may even consider kissing your hand if you wash them first) biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Cergau: May 3 2010, 11:14 PM
Cergau
post May 4 2010, 07:58 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ May 4 2010, 01:05 AM)
Wow! Lukas, cergau and ww all building up for the Ultimate showdown soon............
Recently , I finished watching American Gangster ..........edited
Hackwire,
Good that you find so much inspiration from movies.
Just too bad we all here are not going by a script, else we will know the ending.
As Lucas 1 has pointed out, once this get to the cinemas, coming up with a sequel will be tough.
Hopefully we can make a prequel now and influence the script for the current release.

Dont read too much into our rantings. Just loud thoughts.
At the end of the day, we will still jump into same bed.
Cergau
post May 4 2010, 10:02 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ May 4 2010, 09:15 AM)
...... buggers came in, suck information out and not willing to dip their hand into the political arena .
...... can you imagine how many people visit this IT site.
If everyone decide NOT to tolerate what's bad around us and stand up to stop the abuse, we will not be in this situation will we?
Everyone have their threshold.
What's sad is most have very high threshold and can only be tipped over past the point of no return.
So folks like these have nothing but regrets to share with their children.
The least some of us can say is.....we tried...
Wish them luck when they have to explain if they have left this earth a better place to their grand children.
Democracy-lah, I respect their right to be less than smart.

What's more important is... what do you do with the realisation you have often shared here?

As to yr lament of apeks not knowing better. Watch this short clip below.
Worst things happen to our bros in East M'sia and see how folks (illiterate but better informed than apeks) do.
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x4gqci_penusah-tana

This post has been edited by Cergau: May 4 2010, 10:04 AM
Cergau
post May 4 2010, 05:24 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ May 4 2010, 05:00 PM)
He added that the Government would approve a project that was not good for the country.  (tats copy n paste from The Star no editing ok ..haha)
Betul Betul
For once a Minister speaks the truth. rclxms.gif

While for Sabah, it's the other extreme.
The govt is fighting to have a coal fired power plant.
http://www.malaysia-today.net/index.php?op...s&Itemid=100131

This post has been edited by Cergau: May 4 2010, 05:30 PM
Cergau
post May 5 2010, 08:43 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ May 5 2010, 06:26 PM)
Yes sir after so many pages . time to write in....no lah! still don't have bird house yet.
but i think when time comes many will rally under this umbrella . i presume they will get letters first from any dept who found them .
I been wondering if the shoplot were suspected of housing swiftlet, can the authority issue warrant from court to go into private property? but i guess they can and as always you cannot as they will have their reason.
I believe we have previously touched on the point of Perhilitan's authority on search, seizure and arrest with and w/o warrant.
Their authority is quite similar to our PDRM in both new and old Act.

But with the new Act they are similar to PDRM. (if passed, they are now armed)
see the clause below in the Wild Life Conservation Bill 2010
Carrying and use of arms
8. Subject to the administrative orders of the Director General,
an officer may carry and use arms in the exercise of the powers
and duties under this Act

Ensure you dun hire anyone with the name Aminulrasyid.

This post has been edited by Cergau: May 5 2010, 08:48 PM
Cergau
post May 6 2010, 03:18 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ May 6 2010, 08:53 AM)
I think that's good to have a checlist or 101 Survivor guide book for all . Call it The Red Code book.
I'm no lawyer, but since the Bill already propose to give them just as much authority as the Police;
And in the absence of any assistance from our Feds.
I have here the link from the M'sian Bar with a handy book of your rights when faced with such situations.
Coincidentally it's called the RedBook.....
I figure they can be loosely known as the Wild Life police force if the Bill get's passed as is.
They can arrest you and bring you to the police station, from then on criminal procedures applies.
In effect, anyone outwith this proposed Act will be treated like criminals.
As such for those of you who prefers not to do anything abt the Bill...the Redbook is a must-have.
http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/index.php?o...=628&Itemid=332

Power of arrest
93. (1) An enforcement officer may arrest without warrant
any person whom he reasonably believes has committed or is
attempting to commit an offence under this Act or any of its
subsidiary legislation.
(2) An enforcement officer making an arrest under subsection
(1) shall, without unnecessary delay, bring the person arrested
to the nearest police station, and thereafter the person shall be
dealt in accordance with the law relating to criminal procedure
for the time being in force.

Only the postman, garbage collectors, TNB and water meter readers remain and awaiting to be armed.

Cergau
post May 6 2010, 05:09 PM

416 posts

05/May/2010
Ban all swiftlet farming activities
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...89136&sec=focus

04/May/2010
Legalise swiftlet farming, Pahang govt urged
http://thestar.com.my/metro/story.asp?file...&sec=southneast

This post has been edited by Cergau: May 6 2010, 05:14 PM
Cergau
post May 6 2010, 05:43 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 6 2010, 05:30 PM)
Is the SAM also the CAP's President?!
He has a tendency of jumping the gun and sensationalizing mole hills, as many a times his piece contain NO factual research.
Without rebuttals.... it becomes fact to the general public.

Cergau
post May 7 2010, 12:59 PM

416 posts

No reason to ban swiftlet farming
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...11867&sec=focus

to writer (HUMANE), thank you
Cergau
post May 7 2010, 08:49 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ May 7 2010, 08:45 AM)
Did called up the Fed. Swiftlet Boss yesterday and I think he doesn't know about the Wildlife Act bill being tabled @ Parliament except what he has read in the newspaper. All the while he was taking are about GP at the AGM.

Thanks for the infos here and I did email him the websiteas requested by him  and will check up with him later and if any news will be posted for all concerned.
----- Forwarded Message ----
To:..............edited...............
Sent: Friday, 7 May 2010 13:33:11
Subject: RE: Ban all swiftlet farming activities (URGENT)
Dear All,
After discuss with Veterinary Dr. Fazilah and Menteri Perumhan Dato Sri Kong,
The amended Bill has taken out Walit from the list.
Thank you
Dato Beh

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All,
I was forwarded the above self explanatory email from Dato Beh and I have taken the liberty to share the good news here.
However,.... it still bugs me cos' AF never was listed specifically anywhere in the Bill.
Again I stress AF is NOT listed in any of the Schedules in the Bill .....to be taken out.

My layman reading of the Bill has been that AF is included implicitly through a combination of clauses.
It worries me even more that both Dr Fazilah and Dato Sri Kong has chosen to assure Dato Beh that it will be taken out from the list.
Again AF is not on ANY list!!!!!
Does anyone actually has a handle on this?
Do we have to ask the PM personally? rclxub.gif

Appreciate any comments if you hold a different view or I am being too cynical to take any good news at face value.
Cergau
post May 8 2010, 12:44 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ May 8 2010, 12:40 AM)
i assume AF is Aerodamus deciphagus , the correct species for swiflet.

so you mean the swiftlet is too general ? correct me if im wrong. It's good to be more specific as i saw the same case happen to the dolphin documentary lately that Japanese does not recognize dolphin fish as  one of the species in the whale category thus it was exempted and legal to be kill by the japanese govt but according to scientist dolphin is in the family tree.
The thrust of my earlier posting was that the issue was treated so flippantly.
When AF was not specifically stated in anywhere in the Bill...how then can the assurance be stated as taken out of the list?
It's not in a list/schedule....and as pointed out privately the corrective action ought to be a specific exception clause similar to the example (below) from the Bill
"Pecari tajacu (except the
populations of Mexico and the
United States of America)"

AF = Aerodramus fuciphagus
where in some ref also loosely known as Collocalia fuciphaga
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edible-nest_Swiftlet

Yes, your assumption is correct, the current Bill is not sufficiently precise
A contentious point may arise from Collocalia esculenta in the First Schedule.
tuckfook has offered his take on this and I leave it to him to elaborate on this point.

This post has been edited by Cergau: May 8 2010, 12:48 PM
Cergau
post May 8 2010, 10:28 PM

416 posts

Even if AF or CF is specifically excluded...there is still another hook the Bill has into EBN
Irrespective of the outcome of getting AF off from any Schedules.
Collection license is a certainty

However import, export or re-export licensing is depenedent on AF being protected.

Requirement for licence
9. (1) Subject to the provisions of this Act, no person shall—
(a) hunt or keep any protected wildlife;
(b) take or keep any part or derivative of any protected
wildlife;
© collect birds’ nests;
(d) carry on the business of dealing;
(e) carry on the taxidermy business;
(f) import, export or re-export any protected wildlife or any
part or derivative of any protected wildlife,

“nest” means any abode, den or any other structure which is
being constructed or is being used by any wildlife for—
(a) procreation;
(b) the laying of eggs;
© the incubation of eggs;
(d) the protection of eggs or immature offspring; or
(e) the nurture of immature offspring;

We should lobby for birds' nest be qualified as
© collect nests of protected or totally protected birds;
Otherwise with this wide definition doing anything to any nest will breach the law.

My usual caveat that I am no lawyer.

nest, eggs, procreation, offsprings
you may admire it, feel it, touch it but never harvest it brows.gif

This post has been edited by Cergau: May 8 2010, 10:38 PM
Cergau
post May 8 2010, 11:58 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ May 8 2010, 11:05 PM)
Again if a nest is no longer being used to hatch eggs, protect fledglings etc. etc. then it should no longer be considered a nest to warrant protection. It has been discarded by the birds, no longer in use ! It was a nest !
When is a nest not a nest?
Why go there at all.
My preference is qualify nest collection in no uncertain terms that it applies to only protected and totally protected and be done with it.
Also less room for further confusion if every clause plugged need to be independent and free standing, inter-dependecies is nightmarish.
"My understanding is then, Bird's nest refers to nests of all the protected species only."
It MAY be so if the 2 clauses are read with the 3rd ie the definition of 'wildlife'
which than hinges on the word 'any' which is qualified as totally protected or protected
Requirement for licence
9. (1) Subject to the provisions of this Act, no person shall—
(a) hunt or keep any protected wildlife;
(b) take or keep any part or derivative of any protected
wildlife;
© collect birds’ nests;
(d) carry on the business of dealing;
(e) carry on the taxidermy business;
(f) import, export or re-export any protected wildlife or any
part or derivative of any protected wildlife,

“nest” means any abode, den or any other structure which is
being constructed or is being used by any wildlife for—
(a) procreation;
(b) the laying of eggs;
© the incubation of eggs;
(d) the protection of eggs or immature offspring; or
(e) the nurture of immature offspring;

“wildlife” means any species of wild animal or wild bird,
whether totally protected or protected, vertebrate or invertebrate,
live or dead, mature or immature and whether or not may be
tamed or bred in captivity;

"Unprotected species will be out of context."
I wish I have your confidence that there is a design in all this. biggrin.gif
Cergau
post May 9 2010, 12:00 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ May 8 2010, 03:22 PM)

Added on May 8, 2010, 4:32 pmGood News......The Fed. Asso. Boss is calling for an Emergency Meeting on the matter concerned and that's a positive sign that the Fed. Asso Boss is concerned.
Will keep the forum updated on the matter...... when I get the latest news.
Unc WW,
Please share date, time & venue when details available?
thks

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0805sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:30 AM