7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Games Street Fighter 4 Tournament Malaysia 2009, ARE YOU STILL A STREET FIGHTER?

rawfish
post Mar 18 2009, 09:16 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Mar 18 2009, 10:59 AM)
QUOTE(MasterAlvin @ Mar 18 2009, 02:10 AM)

i heard it's madcatz TE if you can get your hands on one
Reported problems though.

Some people have it good and have no problems. Others are facing some stick issues.
Actually, the reported problems are with the SE (Standard Edition) FightSticks, not TE (Tournament Edition). That's because it uses proprietry Mad Catz parts while the TE has the full Sanwa treatment (JLF stick and OBSF30 buttons). The washer on the stick's PCB is not secured thus when you move the stick the washer also moves hence scraping the PCB sides. This causes wear and tear to the PCB and not only your character moves in unintentional directions, but also won't go back to neutral if left static.
rawfish
post Mar 19 2009, 02:07 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(brastel @ Mar 18 2009, 11:32 PM)
lol as expected i lost my first match, but not a trashing though thank god haha. i was up against a blanka with 16k+ BP(with a 50%+ win rate out of 1000+ matches), i have 6k+ BP(with a 10% win rate out of 500 matches lol)..

the match was kinda boring for me since the blanka turtled like hell. i missed an obvious ultra chance and i was nervous as hell with so many people watching behind me and an mc just next to me commentating the match haha. but overall its a good experience, im tryin to make it my weekly thing until i win the thing(hopefully). wish summin like this exists in malaysia but then arcade's pretty much dead there... sad.gif

oh and im thinkin of modding my hrap3 buttons, its real cheap to do so here... smile.gif)
Congrats, brastel! By being in Japan, you STILL win no matter what the results are.

You still WIN.

Y o u s t i l l W I N..

Y o u s t i l l w i n . . . .
rawfish
post Mar 23 2009, 02:07 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Mar 22 2009, 10:12 PM)
Haha, Spammer indeed. I see they turn my arcade stick I also want to faint already laugh.gif

Yup, That is the same as you are using on our booth.

I think our setting for Street Fighter 4 for the arcade stick is too high.. Should have find a table lower for the arcade stick And of course a stick that does not move around laugh.gif

Didn't see alan ? he was the one wearing dragon ball shirt. (today was purple I think)

but lucky can find spare part for the stick, if not my "heart pain" biggrin.gif
Hi Jason, did not see you there yesterday. Actually wanted to thank you and GH for the machine setup as me and my friends enjoyed a few short sessions there. It's quite good and generous of GH to have SF4 on a HD setup there. The 360 sticks were comfortable enough and ideal to take on the crowd punishment for that day, so no use sacrificing a good premium stick. Screen distance was also good and the table height was quite ok, though some kids may complain of it being set up too high.

I was straying my eyes to the RE5 setup too, which was great to see side-by-side 2-player action. Had some spoilers for me though, but great nonetheless. The atmosphere while I was there was overall enjoyable as it was close to the cosplay judging event. Didn't expect Namewee to make an appearance too.

Hey Alan, you were busy but I was also there!
rawfish
post Mar 23 2009, 02:55 PM

30 posts

Hi Alan,
You may want to look into this, for more tournament rules/setups in future. This is for this year's EVO:
http://forums.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=181540

Street Fighter IV
• Game version: US Playstation 3
• Game Settings: Versus Mode, 99 Seconds, No Handicap
• If the players do not agree on a stage within 15 seconds, the match will be random stage select.
• Tournament Structure: To be determined. Tentatively 2/3 Rounds, 2/3 Games, Double Elimination.

Street Fighter III: 3rd Strike 2on2
• Game version: US Playstation 2
• Game Settings: Team Play, 2/3 Rounds, Round Time 99 Seconds
• All players must keep the character throughout the tournament, but may change super art.
• Gill is not allowed in tournament play.
• The in-game judgment feature will be used to determine the outcome of draw games.
• Each team must consist of two unique characters.
• Each Player must play one game. If players from different teams win, a playoff occurs with the players that won the earlier game.

Super Street Fighter 2 Turbo HD Remix
• Game version: US Playstation 3
• Game Settings: Versus Mode, Speed 3, 2/3 Rounds, 2/3 Games, Remixed Mode.
• Akuma is not allowed in tournament play.
• Version 1.10
2/3 rounds, 2/3 matches would be nice depending the number of participants vs allocated time. 2on2 for SF4 would also be nice. Note that they haven't banned Seth. I think this is because it's the first time the console-SF4 is being played in a major US tournament hence they would like to see how pro-Seth players fair against the other characters - and determine if is he truly broken or not. If a char is banned without ever further exploration, it's a waste, right?

Other rules for other games:

rawfish
post Mar 29 2009, 05:19 PM

30 posts

It's definitely a Sunday for me. 12pm onwards so we can play more instead of worrying later in the evening how to get out of any traffic jams and prepping for work the next day.
rawfish
post Apr 2 2009, 01:21 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(brastel @ Apr 1 2009, 11:45 PM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wMHc32ygldk

lol never give up hilarious vid.

anyway i did better on the tournament today, nothing special but i won my first match(vs gouki) and then lost to a fuerte(was close though, i think)..

vid will be up next week but im planning to record some casual matches tomorrow so yeah we'll see.
Good to hear that, Brastel - good for you.

Alan, next weekend's Holy Week for Christians - Holy Thursday, Good Friday and Easter Sunday. I will be tied up for the weekend, as with anyone who practise this faith. Do you think you can move it back to the first date i.e. 19/04/09? If you can't then it's okay.
rawfish
post Apr 6 2009, 10:57 PM

30 posts

Quiet, kids. It's Alan's thread so let's not make this an unfriendly place or turn this into GameFAGs.

If I were to seek gaming tips, I'd resource other avenues for information. Anyone not happy with the advice given here should do the same. While I appreciate this gesture, especially to those unfamiliar to the game and need some push to the right direction, please be mindful in giving the CORRECT information, and also nurture some self-help habits to develop their minds and styles for their game. Spoon-feeding alone leads to nowhere.

I myself adore how the Japanese play, as they are referenced for their variety of skill, discipline, in-depth knowledge, exposure and dedication to the game. They are no deities, but they are good, at the same time defeat-able.

To not make this post totally useless, let's visit an SBO match between Muteki (invincible) Guile and Kurahashi:

Muteki Guile is considered the best ST Guile in Japan, if not - the world. In the video, a zillion Sonic Booms are churned, but notice the progress of each other's life bar. This is a match where every hit counts, including chip damage (this is a 4-round match). This is a psychologically intense match between both players. This is also a mirror match, so the only thing separating both players are their level of skill. Both display excellent knowledge on frame data, charge buffering, footsie gameplay, execution (watch 0:29), patience/composure (final seconds of 3rd round) and overall knowledge of their character.

Similarly, a person who wishes to learn the art of turtling in 3S should watch any of Ricky Ortiz or Justin Wong's videos. Blind worship without learning anything is pointless, I'd say.

I don't think anyone's e-penis is as long as they think should be, so no one's smarter than the other.

Peace out.
rawfish
post Apr 7 2009, 10:11 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(twwong @ Apr 7 2009, 09:23 PM)
Which one is Muteki? The person who won or lost? Man these players are just too good. But I think there are surely Malaysian players who are equally as good at least :].
Expression-less guy in suit = Kurahashi. Muteki Guile is always super-cheerful, what a character.

Watch the expression of both players, LOL:

I'm just thinking what will happen if someone decides to bring over an SF4 arcade cabinet - I am sure many people will appreciate it especially since PSN connection is not too good.
rawfish
post Apr 14 2009, 10:50 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(brastel @ Apr 13 2009, 08:48 PM)
so ive bought a ps3 a few days ago but i cant play online because i forgot my internet password to set up psn LOL

have to wait for a week for them to send my password to my mail. sad.gif

I know Aiman's gamertag = Artelier

anyone else? biggrin.gif there're gonna be lag and stuff i guess...
Mine's rawfish_us.
rawfish
post Apr 14 2009, 01:07 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(alanmukkl @ Apr 14 2009, 12:14 PM)
DEAR ALL,

Sorry for dissapearing these few days...I was kind of busy working and preparing new menu...OK...first thing first:

1) SF4 Friendly tournament confirmed this WEEKEND 19th April 2009 at 1PM..so all come and do warm up first...Tournament start around 3 or 4 ok? We do round robin...hahahah
2) There will also be a PAUL BART MALL COP mini event where someone will walk away a RM 150 - rm 500 watch...very easy to win trust me...and got lots to give out...so also come join lah ok?

3) Myself and Sakura had took over Outpost Cafe kitchen and we have new menu now...seriously, bring some cash as you guys can have Fridays or Tony Romas Meals with 50% cheaper then them...

4) Terms simple...just buy Paul Bart,s meal to take part this SF4 Mini Tournament and win FREE GOODIES...remember,,,this time, you will walk away the SF legend of Chun Li Standee...or perhaps a watch...will let you guys know on that day .....

All the best, and wish to see more SF kaki on that day...
Tangan can? Coz some fighters can only attack with their hands that day. bruce.gif

This post has been edited by rawfish: Apr 14 2009, 01:07 PM
rawfish
post Apr 17 2009, 04:58 AM

30 posts

A bit lazy to find the link again but it's just like the last mini one, where there's a loser's bracket. Loser fights his/her way back to the winner's pool.

Another alternative is to redo the scoring system just like the Sony Tourney Day 1, since it won't be as big. Round robin for points.

Or, have a tag team event like, 2 vs 2.

Actually I'm more keen on casuals before and after the event - and any good food there. Mike if you come, I will spend you a meal.

It's for helping me get this:

This post has been edited by rawfish: Apr 17 2009, 05:02 AM
rawfish
post Apr 17 2009, 04:46 PM

30 posts

Alan boss, well said.

I will bring my PS3 with SF4. There's SF HD Remix in there too, if you guys wanna try it.

Everyone should bring their own sticks - just don't forget to label it in case of mix-ups.
rawfish
post Apr 19 2009, 01:41 AM

30 posts

Alan, do I have to bring composite cables? I only have HDMI.
rawfish
post Apr 20 2009, 01:08 PM

30 posts

Wong Bros:
The standee's still at Outpost, unless Eddy commissions Seth's SIN charter jet to collect it.

DS:
The Chun Li player you were referring to was our own mikeeeee and the other Chun Li was ytjay (Eugene)'s friend, Rei. I was impressed with his Elf (El Fuerte) and Chun which were both very good.

The Viper player was the legendary Chucky, and yes that's his PSN id. If you know him he's a very down-to-earth player and did anyone see him lose the epic battle with Abel (Kodanshi)? At the end he gave a sportsmanship cheer - he seems happy as he lost a very close fight to a good Abel player. Both were down to near-zero health, final round. If anyone has the video please post it..

The Gief player was Gan - veteren Capcom kaki as well, and a very patient player. Doesn't have PSN biggrin.gif

Alan:
Thanks again man for pulling this together. Compliments to the chef and I appreciate the food. Thanks to Richard too for the Segway tournament LOL smile.gif

Eddy:
It's not luck - you were good and played best when it counted the most smile.gif

rawfish
post Apr 21 2009, 10:58 AM

30 posts

Off-topic, Kodanshi you have a great Chun Li sig smile.gif

I'm sure you will inspire plenty of others. Let me come up with something for Rufus...
rawfish
post Apr 22 2009, 12:04 PM

30 posts

...the f***?
rawfish
post Apr 29 2009, 07:18 PM

30 posts

Hi Brastel,

I hear you, mate. It's very sad to see you post here by yourself. I don't think many people here have time, or care enough to discuss on quality material which adds value to the discussion. Hey, speaking of idiots I'm sorry to have not seen your PSN invite the other day. If I am not around perhaps I went away to take a call or something.

Good Abel gameplay, and did you use any other characters? I really appreciate you posting your vids. As related to this thread's topic, how's the Tougeki scene there now?
rawfish
post May 12 2009, 01:08 PM

30 posts

Hi Alan,

Long time no see. Recommendation for 31/05/2009 (Sunday). A very strategic date from a business point of view, if you get what I mean.

Another suggestion, I myself would like to catch Terminator Salvation as an early matinee or after the games are played - perhaps you can rope this into your SF4 event for interested participants. Next one can then be on 28/06/2009, the week Revenge of the Fallen comes in. Or better still earlier than the public release, if you can get exclusive screenings for members who spend a certain amount at your place, or as prizes for the tournament.

This post has been edited by rawfish: May 12 2009, 08:00 PM
rawfish
post May 29 2009, 01:28 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(brastel @ May 27 2009, 04:41 PM)
meh sagat is boring.
Why?
rawfish
post Jun 2 2009, 04:55 PM

30 posts

If you guys dislike fighting Sagat in SF4, you definitely do not want to meet Old Sagat in ST. He rapes your moms and eats your babies - while you watch slowly with dismembered limbs. Remember, as much as you guys hate Sagat, Sagat hates you too. Hail to the king, baby! bruce.gif

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 1 2009, 01:40 AM)
guys wanna ask, is the normal edition mad catz fighting stick good? Or better take Hori?

The TE is too expensive for me >_<
This HORI's cheaper and I've seen it - it's in good condition and a great deal:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1036805

I'm helping a friend to sell as well - this comes with a matte-printed Viper background. Perhaps you can look him up:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=886221

HRAP3s are good buys over SEs, any day.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0482sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:02 PM