Anyone has been went for petronas for interview? can tell me how they conduct their interview?thanks a lots.....
INTERVIEW IN PETRONAS
Feb 16 2009, 09:03 AM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
3 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Anyone has been went for petronas for interview? can tell me how they conduct their interview?thanks a lots.....
Feb 16 2009, 09:05 AM
88 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
i failed d on9 test
Feb 16 2009, 09:20 AM
2,236 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
must wear low low cut, sure pass
Feb 16 2009, 09:23 AM
Feb 16 2009, 09:36 AM
258 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
i went before.
2 stupid women interviewed me. should be easy for you lah |
Feb 16 2009, 09:37 AM
181 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Cair Paravel |
What's the position you got?I think you need to be outspoken.Don't be afraid to voice out and maybe even argue with the interviewer.I know petronas likes people like that.
Feb 16 2009, 02:02 PM
188 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Between Two Hills |
petronas = nepotism
believe me...if you are freshie....dont have any crony.. u will definitely will not get it even though u r scholar unless if you are professional worker...easily to get in |
Feb 16 2009, 04:44 PM
50 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Georgetown |
Feb 16 2009, 04:59 PM
390 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Feb 16 2009, 05:44 PM
137 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: i dunno...above? |
Feb 16 2009, 09:12 PM
228 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
hmm...they called it as SI - structured interview..
1st: the personality test - do it online..u need to reg to get the username etc2..forgot ady.. 2nd: ability test - series of test for your brain..3 papers if im not mistaken.. 1. wordy lenghty paper <--test ur management/critical thinking skill 2. basic math, but real tricky..n the numbers involve quite a headache oso <--test ur technical skill 3. essay..<--test ur persuasive/convincing skill? all these be done prior to ur interview session... |
Feb 16 2009, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(vanguard_13 @ Feb 16 2009, 09:12 PM) hmm...they called it as SI - structured interview.. thanks alot ya1st: the personality test - do it online..u need to reg to get the username etc2..forgot ady.. 2nd: ability test - series of test for your brain..3 papers if im not mistaken.. 1. wordy lenghty paper <--test ur management/critical thinking skill 2. basic math, but real tricky..n the numbers involve quite a headache oso <--test ur technical skill 3. essay..<--test ur persuasive/convincing skill? all these be done prior to ur interview session... |
Feb 16 2009, 11:26 PM
137 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: i dunno...above? |
QUOTE(vanguard_13 @ Feb 16 2009, 09:12 PM) hmm...they called it as SI - structured interview.. hmm...when did u take the test? 1st: the personality test - do it online..u need to reg to get the username etc2..forgot ady.. 2nd: ability test - series of test for your brain..3 papers if im not mistaken.. 1. wordy lenghty paper <--test ur management/critical thinking skill 2. basic math, but real tricky..n the numbers involve quite a headache oso <--test ur technical skill 3. essay..<--test ur persuasive/convincing skill? all these be done prior to ur interview session... becoz the one i received from email only got two parts, verbal reasoning test and numerical reasoning test..yeah, the numerical reasoning test is quite a headache bcoz my friend's friend said a lot of people cant get through the numerical test..but i dont have any idea bout verbal reasoning test so, the personality test is just to measure our personality, but what kind of essay question did they ask? |
Feb 17 2009, 01:16 AM
QUOTE(bleu_huh @ Feb 16 2009, 11:26 PM) hmm...when did u take the test? mmm..basically, they are some questionnaire to answer, n later part is an essay...its like to see how well u can sell yourself:becoz the one i received from email only got two parts, verbal reasoning test and numerical reasoning test..yeah, the numerical reasoning test is quite a headache bcoz my friend's friend said a lot of people cant get through the numerical test..but i dont have any idea bout verbal reasoning test so, the personality test is just to measure our personality, but what kind of essay question did they ask? 1 - wat ur most-proud achievement n why.. 2 - wat does dat achievement contribute to urself 3 - y shud petronas hire u.. dat sort of question.. n for 1-on-1 interview, its quite tough oso... they give u a topic/statement ½ hr prior to interview, then ask u to elaborate/solve/troubleshoot that probs.. later it will be questioned in interview.. in 1-on-1 interview itself, as usual self intro a bit of chit chat..then role play, where they will give u situation n u will play as some1 in dat..quite interesting tho.. p/s: pray for good interviewer..fren of mine got strict interviewer, n later he failed the interview.. |
Mar 14 2009, 02:34 PM
13 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(uglytwinkle @ Feb 16 2009, 02:02 PM) petronas = nepotism no lah.. i'm freshie when i start working with petronas early feb.. don't have any crony or cable.. not even a scholar..believe me...if you are freshie....dont have any crony.. u will definitely will not get it even though u r scholar unless if you are professional worker...easily to get in its all about yourself man.. |
Mar 14 2009, 02:46 PM
98 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(eastmail @ Mar 14 2009, 02:34 PM) no lah.. i'm freshie when i start working with petronas early feb.. don't have any crony or cable.. not even a scholar.. I guess your university/college spoken for itself. Let say you are from ivy league, or something then they come right after you its all about yourself man.. This post has been edited by oyst3rman: Mar 14 2009, 02:46 PM |
Mar 15 2009, 05:40 PM
1,002 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
anyone apply for East Coast Economic Region Development Council which is under Petronas as well....?
Very interested but no response at all... |
Mar 15 2009, 09:16 PM
869 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
well, it takes time for them to process your application
be patient la, there are like so many people wanting to join Petronas |
Mar 16 2009, 01:47 AM
71 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(uglytwinkle @ Feb 16 2009, 03:02 PM) petronas = nepotism lol. tink betta find sum other oil company... i evn know some petronas scholars that r praying hard so that they get releasedbelieve me...if you are freshie....dont have any crony.. u will definitely will not get it even though u r scholar unless if you are professional worker...easily to get in |
Mar 16 2009, 02:16 AM
34 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
i went to all the test, interview and finally worked there...
but at the end of the day, i just quit my self... sometimes, u can't tell...even tough its a good/big company,but when u felt like u dont belongs to it...then it was nothing... the online test is nothing...they just know what type of person r u...no pass or fail...no worries during the interview session, u'll be given a several test with shorten time (15 min.) to answer too many questions (i.e 20-30 quest.), the answer is u only required to answer at least 5-8 correct answers out of 20-30 quest. they just want to measure how u tackle the 1st 10 questions...whether is it all wrong or correct... i managed to get the highest during my time but I just "hentam" all the answer, cause not enough time...but makesure u answer all even tough not enough time... trust me, its just matter of ur luck n pray...gud luck!!! |
Mar 16 2009, 03:40 AM
2,108 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: PJ |
what i heard freshie RM3.5k, experienced RM4.5k above.
Mar 16 2009, 05:06 PM
true, after 1 year the freshie will get another RM500 for tech allowance...
Mar 16 2009, 10:28 PM
1,002 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Mar 17 2009, 12:13 PM
i was an instrument engineer, the reason was location...i insist to work somewhere klang valley but they attached me to the east cost side...n its better for me to leave the company, after all the chances for me to get transfer is zero or else i need to wait the next 5 years then they only can consider for relocate...but still not promising...
Mar 18 2009, 03:45 PM
24 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Went through the online verbal and numeric test 3 weeks ago. But until now still do not have any feedback from Petronas. Disappointed.
Mar 18 2009, 07:26 PM
105 posts Joined: May 2007 From: JB |
i failed the interview.. damn.. its just another good experience for me
Mar 19 2009, 04:53 AM
kwnai,
normally, it took about 6-8 mths...if u r short listed n kiv |
Mar 19 2009, 08:37 AM
4,458 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Mar 19 2009, 09:39 AM
24 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
I though 6-8 months is for those who already went through the structure interview.
This post has been edited by kwnai: Mar 19 2009, 09:42 AM |
Apr 8 2009, 09:38 AM
270 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Do they call everybody that drops their resume online, at career fair?
I know tonnes of people who have taken up the online test. And even to the interview. Just wondering |
Apr 9 2009, 09:12 PM
2 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Would like to seek advice from lowyat forumer who have experience underwent Petronas's SI.
1. I am a fresh graduate 2. I have taken online test. Pass. 3. Had technical interview with this particular department and interviewed by the senior staff from the dept (they call the technical interview - chit chat). Dunno whether pass or not. But the HR guy said that pass or not, I will have to go to this SI. Dunno when. 4. So, this SI, with the latest update, from this forum, I conclude that: (a) Conducted from 8-5? (b) Divided into (i) Role play (ii) Essay (iii) Given topic and being interviewed by interview panelists? (And need to pray to get good interview panelists) (iv) Role play (v) Case study (vi) Ability test? © All the type of assessments above conducted individually? Meaning I dont have to sit together with other candidates and they let us debating, and they will see who is good and who is not (i hate this)? 5. One of my questions, what are the topic that you are given for the interview? 6. Do I really need to be at KLCC at 8am? It is very difficult for me. Do you think I can gamblingly take my time and can arrive at KLCC around 8.15 to 830? I know interview = impression. But it is just my home quite far from KLCC. In addition, because i was made to inderstand, first activity is to watch video clips on petronas? 7. Any other tips? This post has been edited by a300: Apr 9 2009, 09:42 PM |
Apr 10 2009, 08:05 AM
67 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(a300 @ Apr 9 2009, 09:12 PM) Would like to seek advice from lowyat forumer who have experience underwent Petronas's SI. Petronas Structured Interview1. I am a fresh graduate 2. I have taken online test. Pass. 3. Had technical interview with this particular department and interviewed by the senior staff from the dept (they call the technical interview - chit chat). Dunno whether pass or not. But the HR guy said that pass or not, I will have to go to this SI. Dunno when. 4. So, this SI, with the latest update, from this forum, I conclude that: (a) Conducted from 8-5? (b) Divided into (i) Role play (ii) Essay (iii) Given topic and being interviewed by interview panelists? (And need to pray to get good interview panelists) (iv) Role play (v) Case study (vi) Ability test? © All the type of assessments above conducted individually? Meaning I dont have to sit together with other candidates and they let us debating, and they will see who is good and who is not (i hate this)? 5. One of my questions, what are the topic that you are given for the interview? 6. Do I really need to be at KLCC at 8am? It is very difficult for me. Do you think I can gamblingly take my time and can arrive at KLCC around 8.15 to 830? I know interview = impression. But it is just my home quite far from KLCC. In addition, because i was made to inderstand, first activity is to watch video clips on petronas? 7. Any other tips? The structured interview comprises of 4 different sections: i) One on One Interview ii) Case Study iii) Role Play Session iv) Aptitude Test (Numerical and Language Test) 1.0 One on One Interview • Introduce yourself (5-10 minutes) (Studies, abilities, qualities & etc) • What is your interest? (Provide a reasonable elaboration) • Your strengths and weaknesses? • Your best achievement? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • How do you pick yourself up after a bad experience/facing a failure? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • How do you handle a conflict? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • How do you find your leadership? • Have you encountered a situation where you are required to lead a group of subordinates? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • Have you encountered a situation in which your integrity being challenged? What did you do? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • What and how you can contribute/add value to PETRONAS? • What do you look in your career? • Why do you think you suit this position? AND! Remember to prepare some questions for the interviewer as well! Duration: +/- 30minutes or so 2.0 Case Study • You will be given a piece of article as a case study. You are required to study the material carefully, understand the case as well as to highlight some key elements within the article. (Duration: 15minutes or so) • You might want to jot down your ideas and key points as you are then required to present the case study to the interviewers. Remember to make a presentable, smart looking & well brainstormed notes as it will be collected by the interviewer at the end of the session. • You will be asked to discuss the case study from various point of views i.e. Key elements (why do you choose that as key elements?), wider implications, main problems, suggested solutions & the benefits (Presentation and Q&A Duration : 45minutes) • Some of the case study topics: 1. PEOPLE Strategy 2. Corporate Finance 3. Product Change 4. Tourism 5. Pollution 6. Market Share 7. ICT 8. Nanotechnology 9. Integrity • Don’t worry too much if you do not know the case study very well. They just want to see the way you think and how your present your case. 3.0 Role Play • You will be asked to do a role play together with the interviewer. There will be three separate cards which represent three different situations i.e. (Manager vs. Staff rep, Manager vs Teacher & etc) • Example: You are a factory manager. 4 students from a nearby school came to do a practical training within the factory. Suddenly there has been an incident of theft reported. Some of your permanent staffs have lost a significant amount of money and they were very upset. The staffs have accused the trainees of stealing the money as such incident has never occurred in the past. How would you handle the situation? • The interviewer (staff representative) will try to provoke you (manager) with various arguments. You will have to stand up for your principle and at the same time maintain the professionalism. • The whole idea of this exercise is to examine your sense of empathy, integrity as well as professionalism. 4.0 Aptitude Test • Questionnaires 88 questions within 15 minutes • Writing Test - Essay • Comprehension Test You will be given 5-6 paragraphs, each paragraph contains 3-4 questions. So total question you will need to answer is about 20. This is multiple choice questions (TRUE, FALSE and CAN NOT SAY). (Duration: 15 minutes or so) • Mathematical Test (30 something questions to be completed in 18 minutes). Multiple choice of a,b,c,d,e. You will be given a piece of paper with various statistics data presented in the form of bar charts, pie charts & graphs. The questions will be asked based on the charts given and to make it worse, the questions are being put in random manner. Some questions have 2 pie charts, you will need to calculate the value or the percentage of ‘cake’ in the chart, the percentage of profit and loss, which you may have to look back into another pie chart. The questions look easy (only involves simple operations (+.-,x,%)), but sometimes could be very tricky. (Duration: 18 minutes) Don’t forget to bring along your calculator am still waiting for my interview results. About the Aptitude test, im not sure whether they'll do it during the interview day or not, but last time i did the test online. And the writing test was also done at home. During the interview day, i just bring along all the forms they asked to complete including the essay test + certs. Good luck anyway! |
Apr 10 2009, 12:13 PM
104 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(didilicious @ Mar 17 2009, 12:13 PM) i was an instrument engineer, the reason was location...i insist to work somewhere klang valley but they attached me to the east cost side...n its better for me to leave the company, after all the chances for me to get transfer is zero or else i need to wait the next 5 years then they only can consider for relocate...but still not promising... wht u said is true.many of my friend are stuck. For eg, there is a famous church in East Msia called SIB, (and it also means stuck in bintulu) hehehe...fyi bintulu is in sarawak, a place that takes 2 hours KL flight and there is no McDonald and Gardenia bread there. |
Apr 10 2009, 06:38 PM
2 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Thanks very much wareyenet. Really2x appreciate your information provided as above. I will utilize it as much as possible.
Thanks again. |
Apr 11 2009, 03:43 AM
24 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
after six month petronas kept me as potential candidate...lastly i fail get a job at petronas...so sad..but at least i have experience..i dont know why?
because recession, or not scholar, or dont have cable..haha |
Apr 12 2009, 10:45 PM
35 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(sunny2009 @ Apr 10 2009, 12:13 PM) wht u said is true.many of my friend are stuck. For eg, there is a famous church in East Msia called SIB, (and it also means stuck in bintulu) hehehe... hmmm...nice 'acronym' u got there. sure u gonna pissed off those who going to those churches. By the way, is it that bad there's none McD or gardenia bread there? im sure u'll survive without gardenia bread coz there are plenty of food there other than that.fyi bintulu is in sarawak, a place that takes 2 hours KL flight and there is no McDonald and Gardenia bread there. I'm not sure now if there's any McD outlet there (with the development and all right now) but they do have other fast food restaurants like mary brown's. |
Jul 26 2009, 08:27 PM
14 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: SERDANG |
sunny2009,
from the way ur thinking i can say ur not a open minded and chalenging person. u can't live without McD or bread? and fyi sarwak now is now under the SCORE project which will soon boost investors from all over the world to land in sarawak. so i guess Mcd then will be just a pawn among the other franchises. |
Jul 27 2009, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(uglytwinkle @ Feb 16 2009, 02:02 PM) petronas = nepotism *sigh* youngster nowadays...why always keep blaming other,n not urself first? don't be too full of yourself, dat when u dun get job offer from the company, all the crony-cable-scholar thingy went out..just admit that u r not up to their standard of employment or something..believe me...if you are freshie....dont have any crony.. u will definitely will not get it even though u r scholar unless if you are professional worker...easily to get in got some of my frens who score very well - 3.8+ CGPA in univ - but ended up being rejected by PETRONAS..so, juz dun get overconfident and too full of urself dude.. |
Aug 4 2009, 01:09 PM
28 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Petronas is the only company want to interview me even though I got a 3rd class degree. other company reject bulat2... kekeke
Dec 4 2009, 11:52 AM
343 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
deleted
Added on December 4, 2009, 11:56 am QUOTE(wareyenet @ Apr 10 2009, 08:05 AM) Petronas Structured Interview wow..is this applicable to experience candidate also?The structured interview comprises of 4 different sections: i) One on One Interview ii) Case Study iii) Role Play Session iv) Aptitude Test (Numerical and Language Test) 1.0 One on One Interview • Introduce yourself (5-10 minutes) (Studies, abilities, qualities & etc) • What is your interest? (Provide a reasonable elaboration) • Your strengths and weaknesses? • Your best achievement? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • How do you pick yourself up after a bad experience/facing a failure? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • How do you handle a conflict? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • How do you find your leadership? • Have you encountered a situation where you are required to lead a group of subordinates? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • Have you encountered a situation in which your integrity being challenged? What did you do? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • What and how you can contribute/add value to PETRONAS? • What do you look in your career? • Why do you think you suit this position? AND! Remember to prepare some questions for the interviewer as well! Duration: +/- 30minutes or so 2.0 Case Study • You will be given a piece of article as a case study. You are required to study the material carefully, understand the case as well as to highlight some key elements within the article. (Duration: 15minutes or so) • You might want to jot down your ideas and key points as you are then required to present the case study to the interviewers. Remember to make a presentable, smart looking & well brainstormed notes as it will be collected by the interviewer at the end of the session. • You will be asked to discuss the case study from various point of views i.e. Key elements (why do you choose that as key elements?), wider implications, main problems, suggested solutions & the benefits (Presentation and Q&A Duration : 45minutes) • Some of the case study topics: 1. PEOPLE Strategy 2. Corporate Finance 3. Product Change 4. Tourism 5. Pollution 6. Market Share 7. ICT 8. Nanotechnology 9. Integrity • Don’t worry too much if you do not know the case study very well. They just want to see the way you think and how your present your case. 3.0 Role Play • You will be asked to do a role play together with the interviewer. There will be three separate cards which represent three different situations i.e. (Manager vs. Staff rep, Manager vs Teacher & etc) • Example: You are a factory manager. 4 students from a nearby school came to do a practical training within the factory. Suddenly there has been an incident of theft reported. Some of your permanent staffs have lost a significant amount of money and they were very upset. The staffs have accused the trainees of stealing the money as such incident has never occurred in the past. How would you handle the situation? • The interviewer (staff representative) will try to provoke you (manager) with various arguments. You will have to stand up for your principle and at the same time maintain the professionalism. • The whole idea of this exercise is to examine your sense of empathy, integrity as well as professionalism. 4.0 Aptitude Test • Questionnaires 88 questions within 15 minutes • Writing Test - Essay • Comprehension Test You will be given 5-6 paragraphs, each paragraph contains 3-4 questions. So total question you will need to answer is about 20. This is multiple choice questions (TRUE, FALSE and CAN NOT SAY). (Duration: 15 minutes or so) • Mathematical Test (30 something questions to be completed in 18 minutes). Multiple choice of a,b,c,d,e. You will be given a piece of paper with various statistics data presented in the form of bar charts, pie charts & graphs. The questions will be asked based on the charts given and to make it worse, the questions are being put in random manner. Some questions have 2 pie charts, you will need to calculate the value or the percentage of ‘cake’ in the chart, the percentage of profit and loss, which you may have to look back into another pie chart. The questions look easy (only involves simple operations (+.-,x,%)), but sometimes could be very tricky. (Duration: 18 minutes) Don’t forget to bring along your calculator am still waiting for my interview results. About the Aptitude test, im not sure whether they'll do it during the interview day or not, but last time i did the test online. And the writing test was also done at home. During the interview day, i just bring along all the forms they asked to complete including the essay test + certs. Good luck anyway! This post has been edited by razorzx66: Dec 4 2009, 11:56 AM |
Dec 4 2009, 04:08 PM
270 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Yes razor. Everybody
Dec 6 2009, 01:06 AM
343 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Feb 24 2010, 04:45 PM
2 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
How do u know that u failed the online test?
Did petronas send u an email or call u? |
Mar 9 2010, 04:44 PM
85 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Hi Guys,
I passed the SI back in May '09. But till to date (10 months ardy) still no offer.. Helpless. Must have cable uh? Don't know what to do.. HRM says 'll contact me when there is a relevant position. My degree in Chemical |
May 26 2010, 04:15 PM
54 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Hi Guys,
I need info on PETCO (Petronas Trading Corporation).It’s a wholly owned subsidiary of Petronas- the only info I could find from the main website. I'm attending a chat session soon for Chartering under PETCO. Any info on this OPU and the specific role which can help me to prepare for the chat? |
Jul 13 2010, 03:28 PM
356 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KOKO KOVID |
QUOTE(prakashpj82 @ Mar 9 2010, 04:44 PM) Hi Guys, Look for oher job lah..I passed the SI back in May '09. But till to date (10 months ardy) still no offer.. Helpless. Must have cable uh? Don't know what to do.. HRM says 'll contact me when there is a relevant position. My degree in Chemical i passed interview and everything,even when i call to confirm they said my interview was recommended. now 2 years already, still no hope but still every year i sent resume online. luckily after 6 months no job offer from petronas i manage to secure a good job from big ong construction n commissioning. now thinking to jump ship already... |
Aug 4 2010, 09:59 AM
297 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
hey guys, i have an interview scheduled today for legal officer. The thing is, I didn't submit any application but they called me because I achieved a certain cgpa in my uni. I was told that there will be 3 stage interview.
I am not too sure if I have to wait 6 months to get an answer. LOL, it's difficult to wait that long for an answer. |
Aug 4 2010, 03:33 PM
4 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
i'm a pet scholar.
currently there are hundreds of petronas scholar that are recommended to work with Petronas.(for july 2010 batch session.the one just graduate this year) month already.from what i know,just 3 of them got their placement in petronas. if u are a freshie,its hard to get at the moment.but if u hav a strong exp in working field,there's a possibility..but still...hundreds are waiting..this hundreds from UTP..i dont know how many from other uni..and i dont how many that recommended student from previous batch that still jobless and waiting from the petronas. all i heard,u need a cable to work in there.if u just waiting from klcc HR.. berjanggut jugak ler~ |
Aug 4 2010, 04:40 PM
2 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
deleted
This post has been edited by iraa79: Oct 15 2010, 12:17 AM |
Oct 19 2010, 09:31 PM
2 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(triad @ Jul 13 2010, 07:28 AM) Look for oher job lah.. [QUOTE]i passed interview and everything,even when i call to confirm they said my interview was recommended. now 2 years already, still no hope but still every year i sent resume online. luckily after 6 months no job offer from petronas i manage to secure a good job from big ong construction n commissioning. now thinking to jump ship already... Am wondering if there are pet scholars who were recommended but still awaiting job offers? Would love to discuss further with those in the same condition.. This post has been edited by Sweet_Candy: Oct 19 2010, 09:44 PM |
Oct 20 2010, 09:14 AM
1,230 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Oct 20 2010, 10:32 AM
157 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
scholar pet, utpians, graduated 2 years back, didnt manage to get through ~_~"
Oct 20 2010, 10:23 PM
1,038 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: K . L . I . A |
Oct 22 2010, 05:51 AM
Petronas scholars,
I'm curious. I have heard about the long list of scholars who are waiting for placement. 1.What if you pass the interview, but fail to get any placement for more thn 1 or 2 years.. Do you need to payback the amount they sponsored you? 2.How if you are frm foreign uni? Certainly the sponsorship amount is huge.Pay back aso? 3.What if you can't even get through the interview? |
Dec 5 2010, 01:19 AM
24 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
I'm sponsored by petronas, still studying.
Petronas's sponsorship is always a loan, unless they hire you, then it will be converted to a scholarship. According to the contract, if after 6 months and we're not hired by petronas or being placed into other companies (by petronas as well), we will have to pay back all the amount (about 150k for 5 years study in UTP) within 30 days (however, it's said that the loan payback is negotiable, and we only pay back a small portion, where the amount depends on our academic performance, 10% for first class, can't be sure anyway) |
Dec 5 2010, 02:34 AM
31 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
My friend went for the interview in KLCC.
She got in. According, majority of the interview was role playing on a case given. The questions were so tough. Basically management problems. Which are some how impossible to deal with. So good luck! |
Jan 26 2011, 06:14 PM
27 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(neotouch @ Dec 5 2010, 01:19 AM) I'm sponsored by petronas, still studying. lol.. there're a number of us (not more than 20) graduated from UK last year under this AhLong named 'PETRONAS'. Petronas's sponsorship is always a loan, unless they hire you, then it will be converted to a scholarship. According to the contract, if after 6 months and we're not hired by petronas or being placed into other companies (by petronas as well), we will have to pay back all the amount (about 150k for 5 years study in UTP) within 30 days (however, it's said that the loan payback is negotiable, and we only pay back a small portion, where the amount depends on our academic performance, 10% for first class, can't be sure anyway) As usual, same as local grads, we've to take SI and etc2. Some of us passed, and some failed. For them who failed the SI, immediately they prepare for your Repayment Loan letter and the Release Letter. For one of us, under special PETRONAS project which they've sent the top/super cream of the cream student for their A Level/IB abroad ie; UK has been released due to not passing the SI. Unlucky for him, he got released, and obviously, being abroad for 6 years won't be cheap! He has been asked to pay for 30% of the loan, RM275k approx for monthly RM1300.00 (no mistake with this figure) and increased with RM100 every year. Where the hell a graduate electronics engineer can earn up to their expectation with the loan amount repayment. I'm a graduate, recommended list from overseas as well and yet still waiting. My senior, graduated with 1st class, recommended, yet been released coz PETRONAS failed to employ. Other than that, my advise is, AVOID PETRONAS! they're !@#$%^& evil. for those who has brothers/sisters, don't let them take PETRONAS 'scholarship'. There are lot more helpful sponsorship than this AhLong. I regret my decision to put aside MARA and JPA offer earlier. MARA: 1st class= apprxo 1%-5% 2nd upper: 10% 2nd lower: 15% 3rd class: 30% PETRONAS: 1st class= 10% 2nd upper: 15% 2nd lower: 30% 3rd class: (never dream to be still sponsored with this result. U'll terminated before your graduation) btw, the figure approx is 50% |
Feb 27 2011, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(asdiqa @ Jan 26 2011, 06:14 PM) lol.. there're a number of us (not more than 20) graduated from UK last year under this AhLong named 'PETRONAS'. Wah.. As usual, same as local grads, we've to take SI and etc2. Some of us passed, and some failed. For them who failed the SI, immediately they prepare for your Repayment Loan letter and the Release Letter. For one of us, under special PETRONAS project which they've sent the top/super cream of the cream student for their A Level/IB abroad ie; UK has been released due to not passing the SI. Unlucky for him, he got released, and obviously, being abroad for 6 years won't be cheap! He has been asked to pay for 30% of the loan, RM275k approx for monthly RM1300.00 (no mistake with this figure) and increased with RM100 every year. Where the hell a graduate electronics engineer can earn up to their expectation with the loan amount repayment. I'm a graduate, recommended list from overseas as well and yet still waiting. My senior, graduated with 1st class, recommended, yet been released coz PETRONAS failed to employ. Other than that, my advise is, AVOID PETRONAS! they're !@#$%^& evil. for those who has brothers/sisters, don't let them take PETRONAS 'scholarship'. There are lot more helpful sponsorship than this AhLong. I regret my decision to put aside MARA and JPA offer earlier. MARA: 1st class= apprxo 1%-5% 2nd upper: 10% 2nd lower: 15% 3rd class: 30% PETRONAS: 1st class= 10% 2nd upper: 15% 2nd lower: 30% 3rd class: (never dream to be still sponsored with this result. U'll terminated before your graduation) btw, the figure approx is 50% That means ur fren pay back ony 30% (275K) of the total amount given to him (916.7K)?? That's humble enough.. Not bad what for having secured ony 2nd class lower |
Mar 30 2011, 03:07 PM
26 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Keningau, Sabah |
To all friends, sifus & forummer..
I just want to know that any other people that failed with the STRUCTURED INTERVIEW before?? Added on March 30, 2011, 3:23 pm QUOTE(asdiqa @ Jan 26 2011, 06:14 PM) lol.. there're a number of us (not more than 20) graduated from UK last year under this AhLong named 'PETRONAS'. I thought that ALL the scholarship holder from PETRONAS was AUTOMATICALLY EMPLOYED by PETRONAS??As usual, same as local grads, we've to take SI and etc2. Some of us passed, and some failed. For them who failed the SI, immediately they prepare for your Repayment Loan letter and the Release Letter. For one of us, under special PETRONAS project which they've sent the top/super cream of the cream student for their A Level/IB abroad ie; UK has been released due to not passing the SI. Unlucky for him, he got released, and obviously, being abroad for 6 years won't be cheap! He has been asked to pay for 30% of the loan, RM275k approx for monthly RM1300.00 (no mistake with this figure) and increased with RM100 every year. Where the hell a graduate electronics engineer can earn up to their expectation with the loan amount repayment. I'm a graduate, recommended list from overseas as well and yet still waiting. My senior, graduated with 1st class, recommended, yet been released coz PETRONAS failed to employ. Other than that, my advise is, AVOID PETRONAS! they're !@#$%^& evil. for those who has brothers/sisters, don't let them take PETRONAS 'scholarship'. There are lot more helpful sponsorship than this AhLong. I regret my decision to put aside MARA and JPA offer earlier. MARA: 1st class= apprxo 1%-5% 2nd upper: 10% 2nd lower: 15% 3rd class: 30% PETRONAS: 1st class= 10% 2nd upper: 15% 2nd lower: 30% 3rd class: (never dream to be still sponsored with this result. U'll terminated before your graduation) btw, the figure approx is 50% Am I wrong with this statement?? Added on March 30, 2011, 3:30 pm QUOTE(acib @ Mar 18 2009, 07:26 PM) What do mean you fail?? Did you FAILED THE STRUCTURED INTERVIEW ONLY??This post has been edited by eboy7855: Mar 30 2011, 03:30 PM |
Apr 19 2011, 12:12 AM
4 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
i also have an interview this Wednesday.. wish me luck...
Apr 19 2011, 12:40 PM
4,286 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(eboy7855 @ Mar 30 2011, 10:07 AM) To all friends, sifus & forummer.. If there is no position in the company, even if you are a Petronas scholar, you will not be offered a position.I just want to know that any other people that failed with the STRUCTURED INTERVIEW before?? Added on March 30, 2011, 3:23 pm I thought that ALL the scholarship holder from PETRONAS was AUTOMATICALLY EMPLOYED by PETRONAS?? Am I wrong with this statement?? Added on March 30, 2011, 3:30 pm What do mean you fail?? Did you FAILED THE STRUCTURED INTERVIEW ONLY?? |
Jul 1 2011, 09:31 AM
18 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
To all the senior who ever attended Petronas Structured Interview, may u all share what topics and situation of CASE STUDY and ROLE PLAY given to u???
I have gone through and passede telephone chi-chat session followed by online ability test... And now i have confirmed with Petronas HR personnel that they will arrange an interview with me soon, and i want to get this job very much!!! ... I applied for engineering executive E1 position. i only hav abt 2 years of experience but without any O&G experience. so may all the senior out there pls share ur experience with me a) CASE STUDY TOPICS b) ROLE PLAY SITUATION THX FOR UR INFO AND YOUR ASSISTANT WILL BE APPRECIATED Thread i started to collect above mentioned info: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry43506921 |
Jul 18 2011, 03:57 PM
55 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Jul 18 2011, 04:17 PM
Good luck to all of you. I remembered the 1st time I went to the interview (15 years ago), I guess a lot has changed.
For those scholars, as mentioned by another poster, if there is no position, they will not offer you a job and unless you are on a scholarship (not a loan), then they will release you without asking you to pay (my time lah), now I don't know. I find it strange that if you are on a scholarship (not a loan) that if they don't have a position for you, that they will ask you to pay it back. |
Jul 18 2011, 07:20 PM
1,551 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(asdiqa @ Jan 26 2011, 06:14 PM) lol.. there're a number of us (not more than 20) graduated from UK last year under this AhLong named 'PETRONAS'. waahh dah dpt duit from petronas, hantar jauh2 pun komplen banyak...bayangkan la yg local grad like me nak masuk petronas pun blom tentu boleh....As usual, same as local grads, we've to take SI and etc2. Some of us passed, and some failed. For them who failed the SI, immediately they prepare for your Repayment Loan letter and the Release Letter. For one of us, under special PETRONAS project which they've sent the top/super cream of the cream student for their A Level/IB abroad ie; UK has been released due to not passing the SI. Unlucky for him, he got released, and obviously, being abroad for 6 years won't be cheap! He has been asked to pay for 30% of the loan, RM275k approx for monthly RM1300.00 (no mistake with this figure) and increased with RM100 every year. Where the hell a graduate electronics engineer can earn up to their expectation with the loan amount repayment. I'm a graduate, recommended list from overseas as well and yet still waiting. My senior, graduated with 1st class, recommended, yet been released coz PETRONAS failed to employ. Other than that, my advise is, AVOID PETRONAS! they're !@#$%^& evil. for those who has brothers/sisters, don't let them take PETRONAS 'scholarship'. There are lot more helpful sponsorship than this AhLong. I regret my decision to put aside MARA and JPA offer earlier. MARA: 1st class= apprxo 1%-5% 2nd upper: 10% 2nd lower: 15% 3rd class: 30% PETRONAS: 1st class= 10% 2nd upper: 15% 2nd lower: 30% 3rd class: (never dream to be still sponsored with this result. U'll terminated before your graduation) btw, the figure approx is 50% |
Jul 19 2011, 03:03 AM
71 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(mhyug @ Jul 18 2011, 06:20 PM) waahh dah dpt duit from petronas, hantar jauh2 pun komplen banyak...bayangkan la yg local grad like me nak masuk petronas pun blom tentu boleh.... I think drg complain sbb drg tak boleh masuk petronas sbb x ada kekosongan and kene bayar balik..and 1.3k per month for a fresh grad is a killer...most fresh grad are making around 2.5k..tolak epf smua..dapat la dlm 2,2k..lepas tolak 1.3k = jadi rm900..yeah..its not petronas yg hantar but they get into the foreign uni later they applied for the scholar..correct me if I'm wrong. By the way, ada byk local grad yg masuk petronas esp yg from UTP. But i believe it is better if you apply as a professional with few years exp daripada as a fresh grad. It is not fair if they want the student to pay it back if Petronas fail to give him job due to no vacancy in the company. It is not like they knew this is going to happen. Companies that provide out scholar ship (or any act of community service) received tax exemption up to some percentage. And for company that is making billions like petronas, even 1% is damn lot. So if the student is required to pay, this is like highway robbery. And the additional interest does not help the student either. I'm against such scholarship->they pay u scholar then u must work for them. There are so many opportunities out there and its a shame that you know even before you grad where you are going to work. Let say, you are under Petronas scholar, then just few months before you grad, u see an opening in Microsoft or Shell that you know you might have a chance, but you cant work there due to contract with Petronas. It sucks esp when u are in a long term contract. I'm believe that as a fresh grad, you must jump to other company atmost after 2 years on your first job. Normally after 2 years, your development slows down. Your learning curve starts going horizontal. Unless you are on project based and doing different things, but usually that is not the case. I prefer JPA, YTAR, or any other non bonding scholarship.. I heard Shell gives scholarship WITHOUT bonding..It is not even compulsory for you to take you internship in Shell>>this community service. This post has been edited by optyx_spider: Jul 19 2011, 05:05 AM |
Jul 20 2011, 12:34 PM
71 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(optyx_spider @ Jul 19 2011, 04:03 AM) I think drg complain sbb drg tak boleh masuk petronas sbb x ada kekosongan and kene bayar balik..and 1.3k per month for a fresh grad is a killer...most fresh grad are making around 2.5k..tolak epf smua..dapat la dlm 2,2k..lepas tolak 1.3k = jadi rm900..yeah.. very simple. do ur homework in the first place b4 accepting it. u should have thought of it before going overseas. whether can u afford to break your bond in case u get a better offer or in case they ask u pay back.. if ur fren has studied in utp, he wuould only need to pay back 30% of 120k which is only 36k.. its not petronas yg hantar but they get into the foreign uni later they applied for the scholar..correct me if I'm wrong. By the way, ada byk local grad yg masuk petronas esp yg from UTP. But i believe it is better if you apply as a professional with few years exp daripada as a fresh grad. It is not fair if they want the student to pay it back if Petronas fail to give him job due to no vacancy in the company. It is not like they knew this is going to happen. Companies that provide out scholar ship (or any act of community service) received tax exemption up to some percentage. And for company that is making billions like petronas, even 1% is damn lot. So if the student is required to pay, this is like highway robbery. And the additional interest does not help the student either. I'm against such scholarship->they pay u scholar then u must work for them. There are so many opportunities out there and its a shame that you know even before you grad where you are going to work. Let say, you are under Petronas scholar, then just few months before you grad, u see an opening in Microsoft or Shell that you know you might have a chance, but you cant work there due to contract with Petronas. It sucks esp when u are in a long term contract. I'm believe that as a fresh grad, you must jump to other company atmost after 2 years on your first job. Normally after 2 years, your development slows down. Your learning curve starts going horizontal. Unless you are on project based and doing different things, but usually that is not the case. I prefer JPA, YTAR, or any other non bonding scholarship.. I heard Shell gives scholarship WITHOUT bonding..It is not even compulsory for you to take you internship in Shell>>this community service. if you want to jump companies in every 2 years in the oil and gas company, i dun think u cn do so unless u r a super excellent employee...if u have a look at the papers, in the oil and gas industry , they want at least 5 yrs experience b4 u cn join an operating company...as for petronas , they are already offering 4k for starting pay and this does not include allowances. they even provide superb training. who would give u that outside....mayb shell yess btw , i have a friend who is a shell scholar and he is bonded to shell...there is no such thing as saying i think gives scholarship WITHOUT bonding.... evn as a utp student , it is not compulsary for me to do internship with petronas...i have friends who went n did their internships in altera, schlumberger, intel, halliburton , baker hughes and many other companies |
Jul 20 2011, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(rishie @ Jul 20 2011, 07:34 AM) very simple. do ur homework in the first place b4 accepting it. u should have thought of it before going overseas. whether can u afford to break your bond in case u get a better offer or in case they ask u pay back.. if ur fren has studied in utp, he wuould only need to pay back 30% of 120k which is only 36k.. Good answer.if you want to jump companies in every 2 years in the oil and gas company, i dun think u cn do so unless u r a super excellent employee...if u have a look at the papers, in the oil and gas industry , they want at least 5 yrs experience b4 u cn join an operating company...as for petronas , they are already offering 4k for starting pay and this does not include allowances. they even provide superb training. who would give u that outside....mayb shell yess btw , i have a friend who is a shell scholar and he is bonded to shell...there is no such thing as saying i think gives scholarship WITHOUT bonding.... evn as a utp student , it is not compulsary for me to do internship with petronas...i have friends who went n did their internships in altera, schlumberger, intel, halliburton , baker hughes and many other companies I was a PETRONAS scholar and I was bonded for 10 years after I graduated (I had the option to be released without paying anything to them though if they didn't find me a place in the company) BUT I do personally feel that I am grateful for PETRONAS who spent close to 400K in sending me overseas and I am a man of my word. I sign a contract that says that once I return, I must serve the company and so I did. A man is only as good as his word. I left the company after 10 years to get other opportunities which I would not have gotten if not for the excellent training and job skills that I got from PETRONAS. A scholarship/loan to send any of us to great tertiary eductaion system is not an entitlement. If you think that you really don't want to return and work in Malaysia (be it with a JPA/MARA/PETRONAS scholarship), then don't take the money/scholarship/loan. There are other people who is as good as you in their academic achievements who are willing to return and serve the country. |
Jul 20 2011, 06:42 PM
1,551 posts Joined: May 2009 |
exactly my pt in the short one i posted.my take is petronas have been very good to those whom they have sponsored a lot of money both local and overseas.and i bet those guys wont be struggling so much like the rest of us in finding high paying jobs in ong or other fields since they already have that repo the rest of us need to scrape hard in experience to match.
Aug 12 2011, 09:26 PM
19 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
Hi all,
I am new to this forum. I'm not sure do I really need to register or give an introduction in the new member list (other forum practice this) I've attended Petronas S.I last 2 week and still waiting for the result. I'm an experienced candidate with 5 years BG in oilfield applying for exec. position in PMU. After the S.I , admin told me i shall receive the result within weeks. She told me, normally that was the final interview. Is that normal for experienced applicants? Reading this thread discussion, I thought you have to go through all the process (haven't done any role play or IQ test) |
Aug 13 2011, 03:53 PM
60 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(barracuda_8119 @ Aug 12 2011, 09:26 PM) Hi all, barracuda_8119, was that your 1st or 2nd interview ?I am new to this forum. I'm not sure do I really need to register or give an introduction in the new member list (other forum practice this) I've attended Petronas S.I last 2 week and still waiting for the result. I'm an experienced candidate with 5 years BG in oilfield applying for exec. position in PMU. After the S.I , admin told me i shall receive the result within weeks. She told me, normally that was the final interview. Is that normal for experienced applicants? Reading this thread discussion, I thought you have to go through all the process (haven't done any role play or IQ test) |
Aug 14 2011, 02:21 PM
138 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
I attended interview in July, next week will collect offer from them
Aug 14 2011, 02:46 PM
334 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: KL |
Aug 14 2011, 04:37 PM
138 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Aug 19 2011, 02:31 PM
2 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(barracuda_8119 @ Aug 12 2011, 09:26 PM) Hi all, hi all, I am new to this forum. I'm not sure do I really need to register or give an introduction in the new member list (other forum practice this) I've attended Petronas S.I last 2 week and still waiting for the result. I'm an experienced candidate with 5 years BG in oilfield applying for exec. position in PMU. After the S.I , admin told me i shall receive the result within weeks. She told me, normally that was the final interview. Is that normal for experienced applicants? Reading this thread discussion, I thought you have to go through all the process (haven't done any role play or IQ test) can you tell me the proceedure and the questions of structural interview, because i am also 5.5 years experience reservoir(petroleum) engineer working in rteliance industries (E&P), mumbai india. I have structural interview on 23 aug 2011, please suggest me how to tackle this interview becuase i have already clear first technical interview which held on 24 june , in mumbai , india thank you |
Mar 10 2012, 01:27 PM
3 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
My experience (fresh grad position) :
1) walk in. fill up forms. (At this point I was shocked that the minimum to enter is a 2:2. That's REALLY low.) 2) given a case study and given about 30 mins + to prepare - (I refused to prepare because I read it and it was so open ended and almost too easy so I just chilled out). Tried to talk to the other candidate who walked out from the interview room but our conversation ended after he found out my uni. (??) 3) got called to interview room - walk in, smile, chit chat. 1 on 2. Let's go! 4) case study discussion - just breeze through like a boss! too easy. My advice is stay confident and try to control the discussion. Direct the discussion to areas which u are familiar with and give succinct pseudo-intelligent replies to questions which you. Have alot to talk about too. (you can prepare for this earlier during the preparation time, but honestly it's way more fun to do it spontaneously under pressure, if that was pressure) 5) competency skills questions - another easily prepared section. (eg. tell us of a time where u had to use innovative skills to solve a problem?) At this point I was told it was finished. But I was not done and I asked "what about role playing? I heard there was a role playing part earlier. I'm excited for that. " *eyes gleaming because I was INDEED having so much fun in the interview I wanted to do the role playing too* But alas the reply I got was "That won't be necessary. Only if we cant get info that we want from you in the earlier parts then we'll do the role play." So I didnt get to do this but basically, 6) role playing (if you are asked to do this part means you didnt do well in the earlier parts and because PETRONAS gives ppl so many chances that you get a another chance - the role play chance) 7) say bye. smile. walk out of the London hotel. And knew pretty much for sure an offer is coming. 8) receive offer letter in writing 2 weeks later 9) contemplate whether to accept/reject the offer. (THIS IS THE HARDEST PART, I FEEL. Mostly because I guess I did not apply but was just called up for interview in the first place and the fact that I am not bonded to them) Unrelated link but it's something I was reading while composing this reply. A good take on our local education system in malaysia where critical thinking is so discouraged. My friends in UM are increasingly annoyed with how everyone is just suppose to shut up and accept and copy. http://rickardoberg.wordpress.com/2012/02/...ry/#comment-113 |
Mar 10 2012, 08:48 PM
6 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
QUOTE(uglytwinkle @ Feb 16 2009, 02:02 PM) petronas = nepotism wrong..dont have any crony shit but still get in believe me...if you are freshie....dont have any crony.. u will definitely will not get it even though u r scholar unless if you are professional worker...easily to get in |
Mar 10 2012, 10:41 PM
1,397 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Peaceful Island |
is petronas only accepting engineering accounting, law, HR, students for interview?
I wonder can a chemistry or biotech students accepting into the interview? do they restrict and particular about what fields u r from? |
Mar 10 2012, 11:16 PM
212 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(OMG! @ Mar 10 2012, 10:41 PM) is petronas only accepting engineering accounting, law, HR, students for interview? I got a double degree ( Chemistry and biology)friend who got petronas also. i would say no harm try ur luck.I wonder can a chemistry or biotech students accepting into the interview? do they restrict and particular about what fields u r from? |
Mar 11 2012, 05:05 PM
Mar 11 2012, 05:12 PM
Mar 11 2012, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(positive energy @ Mar 11 2012, 05:12 PM) During one of the petronas campus recruitment, he submitted his resume.he's been working in petronas for 2-3 yrs dy. I think he's working in Lab. I see. that mean we need to select the fields when we apply to the company during campus recruitment right?Does Petronas company really consider and particular about what degree you r doing? Like is it possible to apply for HR if i have no experiences in HR related fields and I hold a BSc in chemistry field? |
Mar 11 2012, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(OMG! @ Mar 11 2012, 05:16 PM) I see. that mean we need to select the fields when we apply to the company during campus recruitment right? to my knowledge, when you go discover petronas register(1)ing, you can choose what's your favorite field, if your resume managed to get spotted (2) by HR, then they will ask again during Structured Interview(3) in details. you probably have to convinced them how good u r in talent sourcing or payroll bla bla. No worries. Does Petronas company really consider and particular about what degree you r doing? Like is it possible to apply for HR if i have no experiences in HR related fields and I hold a BSc in chemistry field? |
Mar 11 2012, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(positive energy @ Mar 11 2012, 05:34 PM) to my knowledge, when you go discover petronas register(1)ing, you can choose what's your favorite field, if your resume managed to get spotted (2) by HR, then they will ask again during Structured Interview(3) in details. you probably have to convinced them how good u r in talent sourcing or payroll bla bla. No worries. which means i need to do a relatively well study about HR field before i could put on a tick on the field i want to embark on.I am not very sure how easy or how difficult will I be able to to pick up the HR skills but I know I need to do self research more on this field. Ok, thanks for the reply, anyway!=) |
Mar 11 2012, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(OMG! @ Mar 11 2012, 05:49 PM) which means i need to do a relatively well study about HR field before i could put on a tick on the field i want to embark on. erm....no.....you only need to study well about HR when they called you for Structured Interview. Duration of waiting their call varies from months to years, i suggest you start with a HR related job first before go for it.I am not very sure how easy or how difficult will I be able to to pick up the HR skills but I know I need to do self research more on this field. Ok, thanks for the reply, anyway!=) |
Mar 11 2012, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(positive energy @ Mar 11 2012, 05:54 PM) erm....no.....you only need to study well about HR when they called you for Structured Interview. Duration of waiting their call varies from months to years, i suggest you start with a HR related job first before go for it. even when it applies to campus interview? I thought campus recruitment should be more or less faster?do you mean it will be better if we obtain experiences in SME, china man, or small companies first before applying to those MNC? |
Mar 11 2012, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(OMG! @ Mar 11 2012, 06:06 PM) even when it applies to campus interview? I thought campus recruitment should be more or less faster? 1. Assuming you have some fundamental knowledge of HR since you have interest in HR role, i would say your knowledge is enough to have interview in campus recruitment stage.do you mean it will be better if we obtain experiences in SME, china man, or small companies first before applying to those MNC? 2. After your graduation, just go for your best job offer instead of reject the offer and WAIT for Petronas to call you for Structured Interview (S.I), be it SME, chinaman, or others which acts upon your best interest. Graduates who join petronas upon graduation are either by NETWORKING (PARENT, RELATIVES,Scholar) or by PURE LUCK. My case was the latter. just my 2 cents. cheers, mate. This post has been edited by positive energy: Mar 11 2012, 09:24 PM |
Mar 11 2012, 06:58 PM
Hmmm ... may I know why you liked HR? I'll be frank, HR are the most hated department in PETRONAS. Ask anyone in Petronas and you will get the same response.
Mar 11 2012, 07:34 PM
4,554 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(positive energy @ Mar 11 2012, 06:49 PM) 1. Assuming you have some fundamental knowledge of HR since you have interested in HR role, i would say your knowledge is enough to have interview in campus recruitment stage. msotly i presume are networking...sad but true...and credits to them too cos eventhough its networking, they are good in their field.2. After your graduation, just go for your best job offer instead of reject the offer and WAIT for Petronas to call you for Structured Interview (S.I), be it SME, chinaman, or others which acts upon your best interest. Graduates who join petronas upon graduation are either by NETWORKING (PARENT, RELATIVES,Scholar) or by PURE LUCK. just my 2 cents. cheers, mate. |
Mar 15 2012, 04:57 PM
50 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: kota damansara |
hi all..
I will having an interview session with petronas carigali this coming few days..i apply through email only not website..they also give send invitation to me by email..then i call them for confirmation to come and ask about the mode of the interview..they said the mode only an interview session with 2-3 interviewer.. for information, i apply for civil engineer position..dont have any experience in oil & gas..just a little experience in civil engineering field.. so, do you all have any idea for this interview?what kind of question and if there any test to do rather than interview only? mind to share your experience and opinion here..thanks |
Mar 16 2012, 12:30 PM
105 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
QUOTE(rey07 @ Mar 15 2012, 04:57 PM) hi all.. I was being interviewed (technical assesment) by PCSB last week and what i can say it was successfull. I will having an interview session with petronas carigali this coming few days..i apply through email only not website..they also give send invitation to me by email..then i call them for confirmation to come and ask about the mode of the interview..they said the mode only an interview session with 2-3 interviewer.. for information, i apply for civil engineer position..dont have any experience in oil & gas..just a little experience in civil engineering field.. so, do you all have any idea for this interview?what kind of question and if there any test to do rather than interview only? mind to share your experience and opinion here..thanks There were 3 panels, which is Technical "Otai", and it was like a chit chat session on ur expereince at first, but sometimes the question can make your brain in 'blank' mode. but I manage to provide the answer eventhough I have a feeling that the answer was not the correct one. I believe is not whether u are giving a wright or wrong asnwer, but to test your confident level to speak and brief the solution. So my 2cents advise is, u must be prepare or check back your current jobscope, in terms of technical and management. You have to describe by giving an example and how u manage it. e.g: Have u ever been in a situation where u was not able to provide the solution? answer: u need to give an example based on your experience, explain technically and how u manage it. Dont say "No". The interview session was last for almost 2 hour, and at the end of interview, just ask nicely whether they recommend u or not. |
Mar 16 2012, 12:56 PM
103 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(rey07 @ Mar 15 2012, 04:57 PM) hi all.. hye,I will having an interview session with petronas carigali this coming few days..i apply through email only not website..they also give send invitation to me by email..then i call them for confirmation to come and ask about the mode of the interview..they said the mode only an interview session with 2-3 interviewer.. for information, i apply for civil engineer position..dont have any experience in oil & gas..just a little experience in civil engineering field.. so, do you all have any idea for this interview?what kind of question and if there any test to do rather than interview only? mind to share your experience and opinion here..thanks how long does it take for you to email them and u got the response for the interview ?? |
Mar 17 2012, 12:00 PM
41 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(azraeil @ Mar 11 2012, 06:58 PM) Hmmm ... may I know why you liked HR? I'll be frank, HR are the most hated department in PETRONAS. Ask anyone in Petronas and you will get the same response. agreed, they think they shud be adressed like kingI tried query abt my payslip inconsistencies but instead i get the "u shud be thankful u have a job" preach lol |
Mar 18 2012, 06:04 PM
45 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: MALAYSIA (moving a lot) |
Last year, Petronas hired a lot of green (not under Petronas bond or something like that)....and I think this year would be the same.It is kind of weird...but it is true and a lil bit ridiculous
Mar 18 2012, 08:37 PM
Mar 18 2012, 08:43 PM
155 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(DeJaV00 @ Mar 18 2012, 06:04 PM) Last year, Petronas hired a lot of green (not under Petronas bond or something like that)....and I think this year would be the same.It is kind of weird...but it is true and a lil bit ridiculous QUOTE(azraeil @ Mar 18 2012, 08:37 PM) Green? What does that mean??? |
Mar 19 2012, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(eandi @ Mar 16 2012, 12:30 PM) I was being interviewed (technical assesment) by PCSB last week and what i can say it was successfull. Thanks for long explaination here..There were 3 panels, which is Technical "Otai", and it was like a chit chat session on ur expereince at first, but sometimes the question can make your brain in 'blank' mode. but I manage to provide the answer eventhough I have a feeling that the answer was not the correct one. I believe is not whether u are giving a wright or wrong asnwer, but to test your confident level to speak and brief the solution. So my 2cents advise is, u must be prepare or check back your current jobscope, in terms of technical and management. You have to describe by giving an example and how u manage it. e.g: Have u ever been in a situation where u was not able to provide the solution? answer: u need to give an example based on your experience, explain technically and how u manage it. Dont say "No". The interview session was last for almost 2 hour, and at the end of interview, just ask nicely whether they recommend u or not. actually i little bit nervous when it comes to interview but not so obvious.. 2 hours i think its a lots of time..so long ..so many questions? all in english or mix with malay? Added on March 19, 2012, 10:25 am QUOTE(powercolor @ Mar 16 2012, 12:56 PM) i think 1 month plus...do you apply it too?This post has been edited by rey07: Mar 19 2012, 10:25 AM |
Mar 20 2012, 10:33 AM
rey07,
All in English.. Dont get your self too nervous..they want to see ur confident level.. There's alot of questions, especially on your current job function/scope.. what i can say is, when u explain in terms of technical and they will try to twist ur explanation.. When is your interview?which Department?PCSB?If PCSB they wil ask "ar u willing to relocate/station to anywhere ,overseas, including IRAQ??" Just say "Yes". |
Mar 20 2012, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(eandi @ Mar 20 2012, 10:33 AM) rey07, ok..i don't mind if in english just when in speak in english i little bit nervous because rarely speak english out there..All in English.. Dont get your self too nervous..they want to see ur confident level.. There's alot of questions, especially on your current job function/scope.. what i can say is, when u explain in terms of technical and they will try to twist ur explanation.. When is your interview?which Department?PCSB?If PCSB they wil ask "ar u willing to relocate/station to anywhere ,overseas, including IRAQ??" Just say "Yes". my interview would be this thursday with PCSB.. basically the questions on our current & past job scope? what about the question about their company, i mean PCSB or Petronas itself? i didn't do the pure technical in my current job..and my experience also just a little altough i had been working nearly 3 years.. |
Mar 20 2012, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(rey07 @ Mar 20 2012, 10:52 AM) ok..i don't mind if in english just when in speak in english i little bit nervous because rarely speak english out there.. So it will be fine..just imagine like u are in chit chat session..my interview would be this thursday with PCSB.. basically the questions on our current & past job scope? what about the question about their company, i mean PCSB or Petronas itself? i didn't do the pure technical in my current job..and my experience also just a little altough i had been working nearly 3 years.. Question about PCSB, or Petronas ..no..as I used to deal with them before.. It was all about u.. technical does'nt mean all the calculation, theory bla2.. it can cover Project Management.. Situation/Problem and how u handle it.. how u liase with Client, or Sub Con..I beleive u have experienced all this.. Use this when u want to elaborate ur answer/explanation..STAR..Situation, Task, Action, Result...it might help.. U can ask the Panels whther ur recommended or not for Structure Interview with their HR.. Anyway, Good Luck..at Level 37..tower 1.. |
Mar 20 2012, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(eandi @ Mar 20 2012, 11:22 AM) So it will be fine..just imagine like u are in chit chat session.. thanks you very much for your explaination..Question about PCSB, or Petronas ..no..as I used to deal with them before.. It was all about u.. technical does'nt mean all the calculation, theory bla2.. it can cover Project Management.. Situation/Problem and how u handle it.. how u liase with Client, or Sub Con..I beleive u have experienced all this.. Use this when u want to elaborate ur answer/explanation..STAR..Situation, Task, Action, Result...it might help.. U can ask the Panels whther ur recommended or not for Structure Interview with their HR.. Anyway, Good Luck..at Level 37..tower 1.. btw, do you shorlisted for recommended or successful? goodluck for me.. |
Mar 20 2012, 11:44 AM
Mar 30 2012, 10:45 PM
291 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(eandi @ Mar 20 2012, 11:44 AM) I can say recommended=successfull for the techincal assesement interview.. gonna go for the SI, any tips for the interview ?then another step is..to pass the S.I.. summary of this forum thread is: i) One on One Interview ii) Case Study iii) Role Play Session iv) Aptitude Test (Numerical and Language Test) anything else ? |
Apr 2 2012, 04:24 PM
7 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Hi I just have a question here and sorry if I'm out of the topic.
My status after the Petronas SI is recommended and I'm waiting for the placement almost 2 months now. I just wondering if there's any way or tips on how to get the placement? I don't know who should I contact and how. Thank you |
Apr 2 2012, 07:33 PM
560 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Australia |
QUOTE(ramramram @ Apr 2 2012, 05:24 PM) Hi I just have a question here and sorry if I'm out of the topic. Please call the talent sourcing unit.My status after the Petronas SI is recommended and I'm waiting for the placement almost 2 months now. I just wondering if there's any way or tips on how to get the placement? I don't know who should I contact and how. Thank you |
Apr 2 2012, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(mangoman @ Apr 2 2012, 07:33 PM) Hmm. i already contacted them and their answer is that I need to wait for the opu to call me. some of my friends told me that it's better if I can pass my resume to OPU's HR but I didn't have their contact.Anyway,thanks for that yaaa |
Apr 5 2012, 07:29 AM
1,264 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
whats the contact email for talent sourcing ?
Thanks |
Apr 5 2012, 07:05 PM
560 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Australia |
QUOTE(ramramram @ Apr 2 2012, 09:13 PM) Hmm. i already contacted them and their answer is that I need to wait for the opu to call me. some of my friends told me that it's better if I can pass my resume to OPU's HR but I didn't have their contact. I have been in your situation before, I know how you feel now. Just be patient and at the same time looking for opportunities out there. Anyway,thanks for that yaaa |
Apr 5 2012, 08:10 PM
Apr 5 2012, 09:25 PM
SI soon, hope the luck is with me
Apr 8 2012, 04:46 PM
66 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: shah alam |
QUOTE(wareyenet @ Apr 10 2009, 08:05 AM) Petronas Structured Interview wow! thank you so much for this info. help me a lot. I'm going for SI this 10th April. wish me luck The structured interview comprises of 4 different sections: i) One on One Interview ii) Case Study iii) Role Play Session iv) Aptitude Test (Numerical and Language Test) 1.0 One on One Interview • Introduce yourself (5-10 minutes) (Studies, abilities, qualities & etc) • What is your interest? (Provide a reasonable elaboration) • Your strengths and weaknesses? • Your best achievement? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • How do you pick yourself up after a bad experience/facing a failure? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • How do you handle a conflict? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • How do you find your leadership? • Have you encountered a situation where you are required to lead a group of subordinates? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • Have you encountered a situation in which your integrity being challenged? What did you do? (Elaborate based on your past experience) • What and how you can contribute/add value to PETRONAS? • What do you look in your career? • Why do you think you suit this position? AND! Remember to prepare some questions for the interviewer as well! Duration: +/- 30minutes or so 2.0 Case Study • You will be given a piece of article as a case study. You are required to study the material carefully, understand the case as well as to highlight some key elements within the article. (Duration: 15minutes or so) • You might want to jot down your ideas and key points as you are then required to present the case study to the interviewers. Remember to make a presentable, smart looking & well brainstormed notes as it will be collected by the interviewer at the end of the session. • You will be asked to discuss the case study from various point of views i.e. Key elements (why do you choose that as key elements?), wider implications, main problems, suggested solutions & the benefits (Presentation and Q&A Duration : 45minutes) • Some of the case study topics: 1. PEOPLE Strategy 2. Corporate Finance 3. Product Change 4. Tourism 5. Pollution 6. Market Share 7. ICT 8. Nanotechnology 9. Integrity • Don’t worry too much if you do not know the case study very well. They just want to see the way you think and how your present your case. 3.0 Role Play • You will be asked to do a role play together with the interviewer. There will be three separate cards which represent three different situations i.e. (Manager vs. Staff rep, Manager vs Teacher & etc) • Example: You are a factory manager. 4 students from a nearby school came to do a practical training within the factory. Suddenly there has been an incident of theft reported. Some of your permanent staffs have lost a significant amount of money and they were very upset. The staffs have accused the trainees of stealing the money as such incident has never occurred in the past. How would you handle the situation? • The interviewer (staff representative) will try to provoke you (manager) with various arguments. You will have to stand up for your principle and at the same time maintain the professionalism. • The whole idea of this exercise is to examine your sense of empathy, integrity as well as professionalism. 4.0 Aptitude Test • Questionnaires 88 questions within 15 minutes • Writing Test - Essay • Comprehension Test You will be given 5-6 paragraphs, each paragraph contains 3-4 questions. So total question you will need to answer is about 20. This is multiple choice questions (TRUE, FALSE and CAN NOT SAY). (Duration: 15 minutes or so) • Mathematical Test (30 something questions to be completed in 18 minutes). Multiple choice of a,b,c,d,e. You will be given a piece of paper with various statistics data presented in the form of bar charts, pie charts & graphs. The questions will be asked based on the charts given and to make it worse, the questions are being put in random manner. Some questions have 2 pie charts, you will need to calculate the value or the percentage of ‘cake’ in the chart, the percentage of profit and loss, which you may have to look back into another pie chart. The questions look easy (only involves simple operations (+.-,x,%)), but sometimes could be very tricky. (Duration: 18 minutes) Don’t forget to bring along your calculator am still waiting for my interview results. About the Aptitude test, im not sure whether they'll do it during the interview day or not, but last time i did the test online. And the writing test was also done at home. During the interview day, i just bring along all the forms they asked to complete including the essay test + certs. Good luck anyway! |
Apr 8 2012, 11:41 PM
Apr 9 2012, 02:42 AM
Apr 16 2012, 08:37 PM
31 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
hi guys, hows your SI session going? I will attend the interview next week
Apr 17 2012, 12:05 AM
Apr 17 2012, 12:48 AM
Apr 17 2012, 01:37 PM
Apr 19 2012, 03:13 PM
229 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(hyper_insomia @ Apr 8 2012, 04:46 PM) QUOTE(ixus @ Apr 8 2012, 11:41 PM) Guys, the interview was re-scheduled to 8.00 am, room 3717 instead of 4005 rite?If I'm right, then we've met once |
Apr 20 2012, 02:58 PM
My S.I will be next week..wargh..suddenly getting nervous la...I hate the Non Technical Interview..
Apr 20 2012, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(eandi @ Apr 20 2012, 02:58 PM) the tough part would be the case study and role play.pls prepare well, for case study, u need to study alot. there is no right or wrong ans in this part. for role play, try to be more mature in ur role's decision making, it is what they are looking for.. |
Apr 20 2012, 04:49 PM
Mind to share what topic for case study did you get?
Apr 20 2012, 04:56 PM
102 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Hi.
How do you guys get Interview in Petronas Company? What job did u guys apply? |
Apr 27 2012, 11:42 AM
809 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Ann Arbor |
QUOTE(PAC_3467 @ Apr 20 2012, 04:56 PM) just register at discoverpetronas and fill up all your personal details..they'll call you for an interview even if you didn't apply to any posts on that website..anyway, anyone who went to SI recently wants to share their experience? |
Apr 27 2012, 02:10 PM
102 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
If they call, does it mean that we have to fly to KL? |
Apr 27 2012, 02:38 PM
As for me, my Case Study is about R&D. need to give opinions about Malaysia R&D and what suggestion that we can give to improve it. Make sure to have short-term and long-term strategy ya
As for the scenarion, I got a situation where I need to become a shop manager, then a PR to handle some situation where the interviewer will act as the customers and complain to me. Goodluck guys. |
Apr 27 2012, 05:01 PM
Just went to S.I recently..
Ice breaking+ case study + CBI Case Study : The problem of hunger.. Then C.B.I session...all tooks 1.5 hours.. |
Apr 30 2012, 10:42 AM
55 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Is CPOC interview will be same as Petronas?
May 2 2012, 04:13 PM
349 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Puchong/Sunway/Subang Jaya/Shah Alam/Klang |
I got a chit chat session with one of the HR at petronas dagangan this coming monday. anybody working there?
May 3 2012, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(prakashpj82 @ Mar 9 2010, 04:44 PM) Hi Guys, I passed the SI back in May '09. But till to date (10 months ardy) still no offer.. Helpless. Must have cable uh? Don't know what to do.. HRM says 'll contact me when there is a relevant position. My degree in Chemical QUOTE(triad @ Jul 13 2010, 03:28 PM) Look for oher job lah.. i passed interview and everything,even when i call to confirm they said my interview was recommended. now 2 years already, still no hope but still every year i sent resume online. luckily after 6 months no job offer from petronas i manage to secure a good job from big ong construction n commissioning. now thinking to jump ship already... QUOTE(skod @ Oct 20 2010, 10:23 PM) Anyone happened to face this very problem recently? |
May 3 2012, 09:15 PM
Actually, the waiting moment was the hardest part.....i experienced it before.
May 3 2012, 10:00 PM
236 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: KL/JB |
And the Petronas HR also really suck..I already passed the SI and got the position for me.
Just waiting for them to prepare my offer letter. After few weeks follow up back and then they told my position already given to another candidate. How come that happen if not using SUBMARINE CABLE. That make me didn't respect HR Petronas anymore. Really not professional for a big company like Petronas. Added on May 3, 2012, 10:02 pm QUOTE(pandikar @ May 3 2012, 10:05 PM) Happen to me also.This post has been edited by jamaluddin4: May 3 2012, 10:02 PM |
May 3 2012, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(positive energy @ May 3 2012, 09:15 PM) So how long it took you back then, positive energy?Added on May 3, 2012, 10:38 pm QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ May 3 2012, 10:00 PM) And the Petronas HR also really suck..I already passed the SI and got the position for me. When did that happened to you, jamaluddin4?Just waiting for them to prepare my offer letter. After few weeks follow up back and then they told my position already given to another candidate. How come that happen if not using SUBMARINE CABLE. That make me didn't respect HR Petronas anymore. Really not professional for a big company like Petronas. Added on May 3, 2012, 10:02 pm Happen to me also. This post has been edited by pandikar: May 3 2012, 10:38 PM |
May 4 2012, 12:19 AM
766 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
hi, just wanna share my topic that i got during structured interview.
the case study that i got was 'lean or mean'. basically, its about the current trend of a lot of companies now to reduce cost by various means such as: a) staff retrenchment b) workload change c) application of technology d) process reengineering they will ask you which approach should you take, what are the pros and cos. just defend your stand. when, i got this topic i was quite confused since i'm not really familiar with it. just do a google search and you will be enlightened. for role play, i got some safety issues. each card has a situation that gradually worsen. i got 4 cards in total which i think is not a good situation to be in (dunno la, but i think different interviewer see/think in different perspectives). best advice is, stay calm and give solutions. bear in mind, your solution is not always the best.. the interviewer will sometimes tell you what you should do instead. just accept what they say. there's a thin line between having a firm stand and accepting other opinions. in regards to safety, you need to be very strict. no more first or second warnings, any negligence in safety must result in termination of employment. any wrongdoing regarding safety of your company, you must admit it and take responsibility. ensure that all staffs know about safety and make safety courses compulsory. anyways, I passed my interview and waiting for placement. I don't think I aced it and i rate my answer 5/10 (maybe thats just me as i always put very high expectations on myself). goodluck to all who will be having their interview. |
May 4 2012, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ May 3 2012, 10:00 PM) And the Petronas HR also really suck..I already passed the SI and got the position for me. When was ur S.I?Just waiting for them to prepare my offer letter. After few weeks follow up back and then they told my position already given to another candidate. How come that happen if not using SUBMARINE CABLE. That make me didn't respect HR Petronas anymore. Really not professional for a big company like Petronas. Added on May 3, 2012, 10:02 pm Happen to me also. |
May 4 2012, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(pandikar @ May 3 2012, 11:37 PM) I also trying to call and email directly to their senior exec HR. And until now still no news.Below is my email to them... As per tele-conversation just now, please be inform that i already attended the Structural Interview(SI) dated 29 July 2011. And few weeks after that, Ms. xxxxx (xxxx) from HRM & Capability Division, PETRONAS D&P,PCSB informed that i passed the SI. She also mentioned the position that will be offered to me (PMU, Project Development, Shallow Water & Acid Gas). And also mentioned that she will prepare the offer letter for me. After few weeks, I tried to call Ms. xxxx back, and sadly she mentioned that other person already fill in my position (PMU, Project Development, Shallow Water & Acid Gas). And until now, i still didn't receive any news and waiting for the placement with Petronas. Regards, Engr.Jamaluddin Bin Abu Bakar Added on May 4, 2012, 9:09 am QUOTE(eandi @ May 4 2012, 09:56 AM) on 29 July 2011. I already give up with this company and luckily i got another offer from UK based company.Thanks God. This post has been edited by jamaluddin4: May 4 2012, 09:09 AM |
May 4 2012, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ May 4 2012, 09:07 AM) I also trying to call and email directly to their senior exec HR. And until now still no news. Then I guess, u need to have The Umbilical to join PMU.Below is my email to them... As per tele-conversation just now, please be inform that i already attended the Structural Interview(SI) dated 29 July 2011. And few weeks after that, Ms. xxxxx (xxxx) from HRM & Capability Division, PETRONAS D&P,PCSB informed that i passed the SI. She also mentioned the position that will be offered to me (PMU, Project Development, Shallow Water & Acid Gas). And also mentioned that she will prepare the offer letter for me. After few weeks, I tried to call Ms. xxxx back, and sadly she mentioned that other person already fill in my position (PMU, Project Development, Shallow Water & Acid Gas). And until now, i still didn't receive any news and waiting for the placement with Petronas. Regards, Engr.Jamaluddin Bin Abu Bakar Added on May 4, 2012, 9:09 am on 29 July 2011. I already give up with this company and luckily i got another offer from UK based company. Thanks God. |
May 4 2012, 09:34 AM
May 4 2012, 09:51 AM
2,199 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: OKR KL |
May 4 2012, 10:05 AM
6 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
petronas is one of the best company
May 4 2012, 10:12 AM
48 posts Joined: Feb 2012 From: on my way to paradise |
already submitted my resume via career fair last month to petronas..still waiting for their job interview..hoping some good news for me soon..huhu
May 4 2012, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(deepan84 @ May 4 2012, 10:51 AM) Sr. stands for Professional SurveyorIr. stands for Professional Engineer Ar. stands for Professional Architect Added on May 4, 2012, 10:17 am QUOTE(cuteyman @ May 4 2012, 11:12 AM) already submitted my resume via career fair last month to petronas..still waiting for their job interview..hoping some good news for me soon..huhu Good Luck..This post has been edited by jamaluddin4: May 4 2012, 10:17 AM |
May 4 2012, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ May 4 2012, 09:07 AM) I also trying to call and email directly to their senior exec HR. And until now still no news. Sh*t just got serious! Below is my email to them... As per tele-conversation just now, please be inform that i already attended the Structural Interview(SI) dated 29 July 2011. And few weeks after that, Ms. xxxxx (xxxx) from HRM & Capability Division, PETRONAS D&P,PCSB informed that i passed the SI. She also mentioned the position that will be offered to me (PMU, Project Development, Shallow Water & Acid Gas). And also mentioned that she will prepare the offer letter for me. After few weeks, I tried to call Ms. xxxx back, and sadly she mentioned that other person already fill in my position (PMU, Project Development, Shallow Water & Acid Gas). And until now, i still didn't receive any news and waiting for the placement with Petronas. Regards, Engr.Jamaluddin Bin Abu Bakar Added on May 4, 2012, 9:09 am on 29 July 2011. I already give up with this company and luckily i got another offer from UK based company. Thanks God. One can only wonder why such a distinguished and reputable company like Petronas has this kind of incompetent person in their HR department. ps: maybe bro Azraeil wanna give some intel on this one? Added on May 4, 2012, 10:42 amAlso wondering on why Petronas HR keeps calling people for interview, when they already have tons of successful candidates in their record/ system.. got KPI to be achieved eg. in 1 year, need to call 1000 person for interview? This post has been edited by pandikar: May 4 2012, 10:42 AM |
May 4 2012, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(pandikar @ May 4 2012, 10:25 AM) Sh*t just got serious! Maybe True la..because I figure out that Project Team also offer direct hire position, i'e Rapid Project, so how about those appllications for the Permanent Position.One can only wonder why such a distinguished and reputable company like Petronas has this kind of incompetent person in their HR department. ps: maybe bro Azraeil wanna give some intel on this one? Added on May 4, 2012, 10:42 amAlso wondering on why Petronas HR keeps calling people for interview, when they already have tons of successful candidates in their record/ system.. got KPI to be achieved eg. in 1 year, need to call 1000 person for interview? |
May 4 2012, 10:54 AM
6 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
May 4 2012, 10:55 AM
the HR that called me to attend SI is from downstream business unit (PETH). does it means that I'm interviewing for a downstream position? I'm more interested in upstream..
May 4 2012, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(AtMostFear @ May 4 2012, 10:55 AM) the HR that called me to attend SI is from downstream business unit (PETH). does it means that I'm interviewing for a downstream position? I'm more interested in upstream.. What Position? Just grab it, it is still Petronas ma..Added on May 4, 2012, 11:03 am QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ May 4 2012, 10:16 AM) Sr. stands for Professional Surveyor jamaluddin4,Ir. stands for Professional Engineer Ar. stands for Professional Architect Added on May 4, 2012, 10:17 am Good Luck.. How many years left that u can get ur IR bro? I'm stuck with my Log Book, and now stop for a while. This post has been edited by eandi: May 4 2012, 11:03 AM |
May 4 2012, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(eandi @ May 4 2012, 10:58 AM) What Position? Just grab it, it is still Petronas ma.. don't know yet, my SI is next week. hope everything goes well. |
May 4 2012, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(AtMostFear @ May 4 2012, 10:55 AM) the HR that called me to attend SI is from downstream business unit (PETH). does it means that I'm interviewing for a downstream position? I'm more interested in upstream.. Just go for it. Make sure you secure the position first.They got mobility. Can change dept., maybe after a few years. |
May 4 2012, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(pandikar @ May 4 2012, 11:25 AM) Sh*t just got serious! I also didn't know why this happen to me. Before this i didn't believe if we want to join Petronas, need to use CABLE BESAR.One can only wonder why such a distinguished and reputable company like Petronas has this kind of incompetent person in their HR department. ps: maybe bro Azraeil wanna give some intel on this one? Added on May 4, 2012, 10:42 amAlso wondering on why Petronas HR keeps calling people for interview, when they already have tons of successful candidates in their record/ system.. got KPI to be achieved eg. in 1 year, need to call 1000 person for interview? Now i believe since it already happen to me...haha |
May 4 2012, 11:59 AM
155 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ May 4 2012, 11:08 AM) I also didn't know why this happen to me. Before this i didn't believe if we want to join Petronas, need to use CABLE BESAR. Try to lodge complaints (to parties other than the senior exec HR) and make a big fuss over it Now i believe since it already happen to me...haha This post has been edited by Mooi: May 4 2012, 11:59 AM |
May 4 2012, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(eandi @ May 4 2012, 11:58 AM) jamaluddin4, Maybe another 2 or 3 years. Currently already got 2 years experience in design. And starting next month, i'll join EPCC company and hopefully can get my site/field experience.How many years left that u can get ur IR bro? I'm stuck with my Log Book, and now stop for a while. My friend got his Ir. with only 4 years of experience. One of the youngest Ir. that i know. I'm not using Log Book scheme since my superior is P.Eng(Ir.) This post has been edited by jamaluddin4: May 4 2012, 12:14 PM |
May 4 2012, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ May 4 2012, 11:08 AM) I also didn't know why this happen to me. Before this i didn't believe if we want to join Petronas, need to use CABLE BESAR. This is terrible, my friend.Now i believe since it already happen to me...haha To Pandikar : i've waited for 4 months........ This post has been edited by positive energy: May 4 2012, 12:10 PM |
May 4 2012, 01:10 PM
May 4 2012, 01:14 PM
May 4 2012, 02:02 PM
May 4 2012, 02:51 PM
May 5 2012, 12:33 AM
May 6 2012, 10:22 PM
349 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Puchong/Sunway/Subang Jaya/Shah Alam/Klang |
anybody who has experience working elsewhere and has got an interview with petronas?what's the interview like? is there any difference between freshgrad interview process?
May 7 2012, 09:12 AM
4,765 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
just curious, do petronas consider grads who took UK 3 yrs degree program?
May 7 2012, 11:31 AM
May 7 2012, 01:46 PM
May 7 2012, 01:51 PM
67 posts Joined: May 2006 |
May 7 2012, 02:53 PM
May 7 2012, 09:19 PM
May 7 2012, 09:24 PM
649 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(echobrainproject @ May 7 2012, 09:12 AM) Any reason why you specifically mention 3 year uk degree programme ? I am pretty sure most of the companies do accept UK degree graduate , the bachelor degree they offered in UK are mostly 3 years only. |
May 8 2012, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(pandikar @ May 4 2012, 05:25 AM) Sh*t just got serious! Sorry have not been reading the thread. My office here now blocks access to any message boards or forum so have been using my iPhone to surf which is not as often la. One can only wonder why such a distinguished and reputable company like Petronas has this kind of incompetent person in their HR department. ps: maybe bro Azraeil wanna give some intel on this one? Added on May 4, 2012, 10:42 amAlso wondering on why Petronas HR keeps calling people for interview, when they already have tons of successful candidates in their record/ system.. got KPI to be achieved eg. in 1 year, need to call 1000 person for interview? Didn't know that Jamal had this issue. I think I know the SM for that PMU unit. You guys realize I hate HR right? Heh heh. What I do know works is that if you can send or if you know someone who knows the head of the units, then you can send it directly to them and they will ask HR to arrange for an interview. I hate giving HR any power. |
May 8 2012, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 8 2012, 12:00 AM) Sorry have not been reading the thread. My office here now blocks access to any message boards or forum so have been using my iPhone to surf which is not as often la. I hate them already. Hahaha.Didn't know that Jamal had this issue. I think I know the SM for that PMU unit. You guys realize I hate HR right? Heh heh. What I do know works is that if you can send or if you know someone who knows the head of the units, then you can send it directly to them and they will ask HR to arrange for an interview. I hate giving HR any power. But seriously, read other forum, they are many people who are cursing Petronas' HR as well. Something must not be right if one particular dept is being hated by almost every ex-staff that I know. |
May 8 2012, 12:47 PM
HR in PETRONAS are the slimeballs of the company. They think they control everyone and this was due to the previous president who gave too much power to HR. They are extremely secretive, use the processes and procedures for their own advantages (like jumping queues for the promotion discussion where they will put in the proposal for HR people ahead of the technical people this delaying the promotion of those people) and so much more.
My company now only have personnel dept. They don't do anything other than doing support. Most of the task are automated via the SAP system anyway. Can you believe it that asking for a employment certificate (those letter that says you are working with the company with this amount of salary, you know for loans etc etc) takes a minimum of 3 days in Petronas? Over here, I go to HROnline, click on employment certificates and a PDF file is generated which I can print. 2 minutes tops. I also have full access to the Industrial manual where I can see all rules/regulation/entitlement which is updated every 3 months. Full transparency. Ask any HR PETRONAS staff if they know when the last time the executive handbook was updated. All those memos, the HR keeps to themselves. They prefer the staff do not know what they are entitled because it gives them power. I put 90% of the blame why 2500 technical staff who left PETRONAS on HR. if ever I return to Petronas as the president (day dreaming lah), the first division I would scrap is HR. Sorry for the rant. |
May 8 2012, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(heavenhell @ May 7 2012, 09:24 PM) Any reason why you specifically mention 3 year uk degree programme ? I am pretty sure most of the companies do accept UK degree graduate , the bachelor degree they offered in UK are mostly 3 years only. it is because you cant register in BEM in any 3 year engineering program, which takes most of the UK unis out. Thats why most opt for a Masters. QUOTE As long as the program is recognized by Board of Engineers Malaysia (BEM), I dont see any problem. QUOTE The recognised academic qualification for registration as a Graduate Engineer with BEM includes the following: even if it is an accredited 3 year program, u cant register as an engineer under BEM simply because its a 3 yr degree?An engineering degree accredited/recognised by EAC, BEM available in an approved list maintained by EAC, BEM. For degree which is not recognised (e.g. 3 years programme) need to be top up with a master degree by instruction from accredited university. For further details, check Requirement to be Registered in Electrical Engineering. LINK: http://www.bem.org.my/v3/app_graduate.html |
May 8 2012, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 8 2012, 12:47 PM) HR in PETRONAS are the slimeballs of the company. They think they control everyone and this was due to the previous president who gave too much power to HR. They are extremely secretive, use the processes and procedures for their own advantages (like jumping queues for the promotion discussion where they will put in the proposal for HR people ahead of the technical people this delaying the promotion of those people) and so much more. I see. No wonder every ex-staff is cursing them here and there.My company now only have personnel dept. They don't do anything other than doing support. Most of the task are automated via the SAP system anyway. Can you believe it that asking for a employment certificate (those letter that says you are working with the company with this amount of salary, you know for loans etc etc) takes a minimum of 3 days in Petronas? Over here, I go to HROnline, click on employment certificates and a PDF file is generated which I can print. 2 minutes tops. I also have full access to the Industrial manual where I can see all rules/regulation/entitlement which is updated every 3 months. Full transparency. Ask any HR PETRONAS staff if they know when the last time the executive handbook was updated. All those memos, the HR keeps to themselves. They prefer the staff do not know what they are entitled because it gives them power. I put 90% of the blame why 2500 technical staff who left PETRONAS on HR. if ever I return to Petronas as the president (day dreaming lah), the first division I would scrap is HR. Sorry for the rant. Bro Jamal, maybe this is one of the reasons why they turned a blind eye on your placement. As for the bold part, Bro Azraeil, you mean the previous CEO that was highly praised + credited for Petronas' transformation tu ka? If that is so, then this will be the first time I heard/read a not-so-good story about him. |
May 8 2012, 04:46 PM
48 posts Joined: Feb 2012 From: on my way to paradise |
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 8 2012, 12:47 PM) HR in PETRONAS are the slimeballs of the company. They think they control everyone and this was due to the previous president who gave too much power to HR. They are extremely secretive, use the processes and procedures for their own advantages (like jumping queues for the promotion discussion where they will put in the proposal for HR people ahead of the technical people this delaying the promotion of those people) and so much more. after reading your post here bro azraeil..my hope on petronas just kaput lol..My company now only have personnel dept. They don't do anything other than doing support. Most of the task are automated via the SAP system anyway. Can you believe it that asking for a employment certificate (those letter that says you are working with the company with this amount of salary, you know for loans etc etc) takes a minimum of 3 days in Petronas? Over here, I go to HROnline, click on employment certificates and a PDF file is generated which I can print. 2 minutes tops. I also have full access to the Industrial manual where I can see all rules/regulation/entitlement which is updated every 3 months. Full transparency. Ask any HR PETRONAS staff if they know when the last time the executive handbook was updated. All those memos, the HR keeps to themselves. They prefer the staff do not know what they are entitled because it gives them power. I put 90% of the blame why 2500 technical staff who left PETRONAS on HR. if ever I return to Petronas as the president (day dreaming lah), the first division I would scrap is HR. Sorry for the rant. |
May 8 2012, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(cuteyman @ May 8 2012, 04:46 PM) but never try never know.. never giv up everyone, Petronas might not be the best company, but its offer and opportunity given are still better than most of the companies in Msia. Petronas is a good starting point |
May 8 2012, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(pandikar @ May 8 2012, 10:51 AM) I see. No wonder every ex-staff is cursing them here and there. Don't get me wrong. I love Petronas but I hate the HR department. There's a difference Bro Jamal, maybe this is one of the reasons why they turned a blind eye on your placement. As for the bold part, Bro Azraeil, you mean the previous CEO that was highly praised + credited for Petronas' transformation tu ka? If that is so, then this will be the first time I heard/read a not-so-good story about him. I try as much as I can when I was in PETRONAS not to deal with HR. If I had to deal with them everyday, sure pendek umur one. The previous president has done a lot of good thing for PETRONAS. There is no denying that. Credit should be given where it is due, but he is a well known stingy miser and also keras kepala. He strongly believe that everyone contributes the same amount for the company and therefore, everyone should be treated the same, compensation wise. That was why he put so much emphasis and power on HR. The thing is, since he came from an accounting background, those with chartered accountancy certs, are immediately given the senior salary grade SG23 at the time. So talk about hypocrisy. Technical people such as geologist, petroleum engineers and drilling engineers are the bread and butter of an OIL & GAS company. They are the one who decide where to drill that 30 million USD well, they are the one who decide what kind of deep water platform is most economical/technically feasible but they are the one who are the worst treated. No promotion, gaji sama macam those HR and finance people. PETRONAS seems to think that everyone are the same in the company. I'd like to ask him how many middle east or European company are willing to headhunter PETRONAS' HR people? How many Finance staff are being poached by the same middle eastern or European companies? I can write a book about why I think the previous president is responsible for all the staff shortages in PETRONAS right now. It was him and HR. HR had once told all of us that our salary was competitive. When asked with which company this was compared against, the shyly said TNB and Telekom. What a fuc**in' joke. When asked why the salary of PETRONAS geologist/petroleum engineers were not compared against ExxonMobil/Shell etc (let's not even go to overseas), they said those companies were not willing to share their info. I hate HR in PETRONAS with a vengeance. I love the company but I think it was seriously undermined by HR. I am happy that the current president is serious about stemming the brain drain but I think the boat have left the harbor. So many talented (those who were responsible for so many of Petronas successes in the past) have left the company. Disillusioned with the treatment that they received. A lot of my friends who are still in PETRONAS still tell me that because so many of us have left, the company finally changed the remuneration scheme. Sekarang semua gaji tinggi but they are struggling because so many projects to deliver but so many young staff and so little experience staff are left. I would not be where I am if not for PETRONAS, and for that I am eternally grateful. Maybe one day I will return and hopefully join PETRONAS again. Who knows. Don't lose hope, it is an excellent company to learn the trade an maybe to climb the corporate ladder and it has changed for the better. |
May 8 2012, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 8 2012, 06:42 PM) Don't get me wrong. I love Petronas but I hate the HR department. There's a difference I see. Quite a lot of never-heard-before infos you wrote there, bro.I try as much as I can when I was in PETRONAS not to deal with HR. If I had to deal with them everyday, sure pendek umur one. The previous president has done a lot of good thing for PETRONAS. There is no denying that. Credit should be given where it is due, but he is a well known stingy miser and also keras kepala. He strongly believe that everyone contributes the same amount for the company and therefore, everyone should be treated the same, compensation wise. That was why he put so much emphasis and power on HR. The thing is, since he came from an accounting background, those with chartered accountancy certs, are immediately given the senior salary grade SG23 at the time. So talk about hypocrisy. Technical people such as geologist, petroleum engineers and drilling engineers are the bread and butter of an OIL & GAS company. They are the one who decide where to drill that 30 million USD well, they are the one who decide what kind of deep water platform is most economical/technically feasible but they are the one who are the worst treated. No promotion, gaji sama macam those HR and finance people. PETRONAS seems to think that everyone are the same in the company. I'd like to ask him how many middle east or European company are willing to headhunter PETRONAS' HR people? How many Finance staff are being poached by the same middle eastern or European companies? I can write a book about why I think the previous president is responsible for all the staff shortages in PETRONAS right now. It was him and HR. HR had once told all of us that our salary was competitive. When asked with which company this was compared against, the shyly said TNB and Telekom. What a fuc**in' joke. When asked why the salary of PETRONAS geologist/petroleum engineers were not compared against ExxonMobil/Shell etc (let's not even go to overseas), they said those companies were not willing to share their info. I hate HR in PETRONAS with a vengeance. I love the company but I think it was seriously undermined by HR. I am happy that the current president is serious about stemming the brain drain but I think the boat have left the harbor. So many talented (those who were responsible for so many of Petronas successes in the past) have left the company. Disillusioned with the treatment that they received. A lot of my friends who are still in PETRONAS still tell me that because so many of us have left, the company finally changed the remuneration scheme. Sekarang semua gaji tinggi but they are struggling because so many projects to deliver but so many young staff and so little experience staff are left. I would not be where I am if not for PETRONAS, and for that I am eternally grateful. Maybe one day I will return and hopefully join PETRONAS again. Who knows. Don't lose hope, it is an excellent company to learn the trade an maybe to climb the corporate ladder and it has changed for the better. Never heard of Petronas' not-so-good-side before, since all that I've come to know is that it's a company where all the engineering graduates (particularly) would want to start their career with (higher salary, 6-9 months' bonus, PCMC is one of it's panel hospital etc). And all the good things only about the previous CEO. Having read what is written above, I'm glad to notice that Petronas is starting to appreciate their technical staffs more. Plus the current CEO is not so not-qualified after all, giving his effort to woo ex-Petronas staffs to join back the company. And bro Azraeil, should you return to Petronas as a CEO/president, please also help to scrap the HR's way of how they handle the placement for candidates that already passed their SIs right now. It's ridiculous, no matter how they try to defend/explain it. And the people who allow it to happen should be terminated without prior notice. |
May 8 2012, 10:27 PM
I believe that Petronas has change for the better. From what I heard from good friends who are still there, the remuneration scheme for technical staff is much much better and the promotion prospect is also quite good. But PETRONAS is a huge company so there is still those vestiges of the old habit of HR.
I still believe it is one of the best company to ply your trade. To learn about the skills in the industry. I left about 6 years ago when the company is in turmoil. It is trying to be better and those joining now will be in a good position to reap the rewards. |
May 8 2012, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 8 2012, 10:27 PM) I believe that Petronas has change for the better. From what I heard from good friends who are still there, the remuneration scheme for technical staff is much much better and the promotion prospect is also quite good. But PETRONAS is a huge company so there is still those vestiges of the old habit of HR. all the best to u bro azraeil I still believe it is one of the best company to ply your trade. To learn about the skills in the industry. I left about 6 years ago when the company is in turmoil. It is trying to be better and those joining now will be in a good position to reap the rewards. |
May 8 2012, 10:37 PM
529 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
But, still hard to enter Petronas. Just try and try.
May 9 2012, 02:32 PM
just called the HR who was in charge of my SI..he said I passed the SI but he will contact me again to arrange for another interview session (chit chat and CBI)..
hopefully the process won't take long.. |
May 9 2012, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(pandikar @ May 8 2012, 04:51 PM) I see. No wonder every ex-staff is cursing them here and there. Thanks Azraeil for the explanation. Its ok la Panikar, just forget about it since i already got another offer from other company. Will start there by early next month..Bro Jamal, maybe this is one of the reasons why they turned a blind eye on your placement. |
May 10 2012, 03:20 PM
161 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
hi everyone...need help...
received a phone call from petronas asking me to go for a chitchat session with them next week...how is the interview stage like in petronas..is the chitchat session is a part of the interview on getting a post in petronas...where will it go from the chitchat session if i pass the chitchat? anyone can help? |
May 10 2012, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(azrene @ May 10 2012, 04:20 PM) hi everyone...need help... That's normal practice in Petronas. After you pass the chitchat session, they will calling you for Structural Interview (SI) .received a phone call from petronas asking me to go for a chitchat session with them next week...how is the interview stage like in petronas..is the chitchat session is a part of the interview on getting a post in petronas...where will it go from the chitchat session if i pass the chitchat? anyone can help? |
May 10 2012, 04:12 PM
May 10 2012, 04:20 PM
May 15 2012, 12:58 PM
May 16 2012, 02:57 PM
done d chitchat session yesterday...wow....almost 1 hour n a half jugak...then they gave me a written test for 30mins....they said if a contract position, i dont have to take the structured interview...if permanent, yes i have to take it...i really hope to be give the permanent position actually..but it all depends on rezeki...ada rezeki, adalah...
May 16 2012, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(azrene @ May 16 2012, 02:57 PM) done d chitchat session yesterday...wow....almost 1 hour n a half jugak...then they gave me a written test for 30mins....they said if a contract position, i dont have to take the structured interview...if permanent, yes i have to take it...i really hope to be give the permanent position actually..but it all depends on rezeki...ada rezeki, adalah... azrene, ar u fresh graduate or experienced? |
May 17 2012, 11:50 AM
3 posts Joined: May 2012 |
QUOTE(echobrainproject @ May 8 2012, 02:06 PM) it is because you cant register in BEM in any 3 year engineering program, which takes most of the UK unis out. Thats why most opt for a Masters. Yeah I was gonna ask the same thing . Is a 3 year engineering programme recognized by BEM and petronas. Its recognized by the engineering council uk , engineers australia . Not so sure about BEM tougheven if it is an accredited 3 year program, u cant register as an engineer under BEM simply because its a 3 yr degree? |
May 17 2012, 02:29 PM
May 17 2012, 04:19 PM
May 17 2012, 04:22 PM
801 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Is Petronas accepting a fresh grads from engineering field to apply for HR or administration jobs? Just curious.
May 18 2012, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ May 17 2012, 04:19 PM) for Petronas, below 3 years they consider as fresh. oooo..i got almost 10 years experience already...havent gone to SI or technical interview yet...baru lepas chitchat selasa lepas....but i think technical no need coz im not into engineering side...SI? depends on what they gonna offer...if permanent, then kena p SI. if contract, no need they saidYou already attended SI and Technical Interview or not. |
Aug 30 2012, 09:26 AM
2 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
QUOTE(azrene @ May 18 2012, 12:49 PM) oooo..i got almost 10 years experience already...havent gone to SI or technical interview yet...baru lepas chitchat selasa lepas....but i think technical no need coz im not into engineering side...SI? depends on what they gonna offer...if permanent, then kena p SI. if contract, no need they said I attend TA last Monday and then interviewer recommend me permanent position instead of contract staff ..now waiting for SI date ..suppose to be early Sept.. but i wondering why H.R asking twice for my Cert and Resume ...is it Habit ?This post has been edited by amp30: Aug 30 2012, 09:34 AM |
Oct 3 2012, 02:59 PM
29 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Hi all,
What is the mean of being put in KIV? Is there any chance of you to passed the interview. Guess the chances are lower and need to move on,eh? |
Oct 3 2012, 03:04 PM
84 posts Joined: Nov 2011 From: Temple of VTEC |
QUOTE(Phill Eppi @ Oct 3 2012, 02:59 PM) Hi all, KIV is Keep In View, meaning you are not suitable for now and maybe they will re-consider you in the future. But normall, KIV is as good as gone case.What is the mean of being put in KIV? Is there any chance of you to passed the interview. Guess the chances are lower and need to move on,eh? Btw, to get a job in Petronas race is important. Not being racist just telling fact.... |
Oct 3 2012, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(MugenConcept @ Oct 3 2012, 03:04 PM) KIV is Keep In View, meaning you are not suitable for now and maybe they will re-consider you in the future. But normall, KIV is as good as gone case. I am bumiputera Sarawak..still the chances are low? Btw, to get a job in Petronas race is important. Not being racist just telling fact.... Wow, I need to move on now I guess. .. Is there any Petronas staff here got the job after KIV? This post has been edited by Phill Eppi: Oct 4 2012, 01:32 PM |
Oct 3 2012, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(Phill Eppi @ Oct 3 2012, 04:11 PM) I am not Malay. I am bumiputera Sarawak..still the chances are low? Then you shouldn't even try it in the 1st place as the result is expected........... this is reality in this part of the world........Wow, I need to move on now I guess. .. Is there any Petronas staff here got the job after KIV? |
Oct 3 2012, 04:19 PM
Oct 3 2012, 04:22 PM
Oct 3 2012, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(MugenConcept @ Oct 3 2012, 04:22 PM) Cannot tell............. sorry but I know the drill in GLCs. You must be fresh grad, otherwise you'll know all these facts in Msia.... I knew the facts for the long time. Just tried the chances..You'll learn as you grow young padawan.... btw, i am not fresh grad.been working for many years.. how long the cooling period for us to re-apply? |
Oct 3 2012, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(Phill Eppi @ Oct 3 2012, 04:30 PM) I knew the facts for the long time. Just tried the chances.. Ouch....... still not giving up hope young Padawan?btw, i am not fresh grad.been working for many years.. how long the cooling period for us to re-apply? Cooling period? You kidding me bro? Your application form is in a box collecting dust by now....... Anyway, good luck and hope to see you there one day.... |
Oct 3 2012, 04:39 PM
Nov 21 2012, 10:08 PM
2 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
Did anyone has gone through those tests? Would you guys please share with us about your experience for the interview and probably provide us some answers =)
Nov 25 2012, 07:58 PM
1 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Deleted
This post has been edited by Udin1984: Nov 25 2012, 07:58 PM |
Jan 11 2013, 05:01 PM
199 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Hi guys, i went to the Structured Interview on wednesday, and today the HR called me telling me i passed the test. They told me to wait for the offer letter.
The thing is, they said they are processing on where to put me in PETRONAS. Since when i came for the interview i applied through a job fair, there 's no specific position that i've applied for.. Just areas of interest.. Question is, is my place in petronas really confirmed? How long should i wait for the offer letter since the caller herself dont know where im going to be put in? |
Jan 11 2013, 05:05 PM
821 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(xtrasher_kingx @ Jan 11 2013, 05:01 PM) Hi guys, i went to the Structured Interview on wednesday, and today the HR called me telling me i passed the test. They told me to wait for the offer letter. You need to call and follow up with her/him... The thing is, they said they are processing on where to put me in PETRONAS. Since when i came for the interview i applied through a job fair, there 's no specific position that i've applied for.. Just areas of interest.. Question is, is my place in petronas really confirmed? How long should i wait for the offer letter since the caller herself dont know where im going to be put in? |
Jan 11 2013, 05:17 PM
Jan 11 2013, 05:18 PM
Jan 14 2013, 11:07 AM
Jan 14 2013, 12:19 PM
Jan 16 2013, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(RazerDeathAdder @ Jan 14 2013, 12:19 PM) I already got email from the HR saying that i am recommended for employment with petronas within 6months of the interview date.. If no news, means not shortlisted n no job already.. Now i dont know whether to be happy or be upset.. >_<" |
Jan 17 2013, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(xtrasher_kingx @ Jan 16 2013, 11:58 PM) I already got email from the HR saying that i am recommended for employment with petronas within 6months of the interview date.. If no news, means not shortlisted n no job already.. Now i dont know whether to be happy or be upset.. >_<" Wah! They said like that>???? |
Jan 17 2013, 02:37 PM
7,446 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(azrene @ May 18 2012, 12:49 PM) oooo..i got almost 10 years experience already...havent gone to SI or technical interview yet...baru lepas chitchat selasa lepas....but i think technical no need coz im not into engineering side...SI? depends on what they gonna offer...if permanent, then kena p SI. if contract, no need they said chit chat. sounds funny. what do they ask during chit chat session? |
Feb 14 2013, 03:42 PM
334 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(xtrasher_kingx @ Jan 11 2013, 05:01 PM) Hi guys, i went to the Structured Interview on wednesday, and today the HR called me telling me i passed the test. They told me to wait for the offer letter. Congratulation, you are so lucky The thing is, they said they are processing on where to put me in PETRONAS. Since when i came for the interview i applied through a job fair, there 's no specific position that i've applied for.. Just areas of interest.. Question is, is my place in petronas really confirmed? How long should i wait for the offer letter since the caller herself dont know where im going to be put in? May i know ur CGPA and working experience ? |
Apr 1 2013, 03:27 PM
12 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(xtrasher_kingx @ Jan 11 2013, 05:01 PM) Hi guys, i went to the Structured Interview on wednesday, and today the HR called me telling me i passed the test. They told me to wait for the offer letter. hi, i have the same case like you..but i dont receive any call from HR..they just let me know that i have passed S.I and subject to placement decision through an email.. and now, i am confuse what to.. should i call HR to follow up.. or just wait them to call me... thanx The thing is, they said they are processing on where to put me in PETRONAS. Since when i came for the interview i applied through a job fair, there 's no specific position that i've applied for.. Just areas of interest.. Question is, is my place in petronas really confirmed? How long should i wait for the offer letter since the caller herself dont know where im going to be put in? |
Jun 4 2013, 12:37 PM
11 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: kuala lumpur |
hye guys,
i need your help regarding petronas interview.i got a call and they ask me to come for technical assesment interview.im quite confuse as i am fresh grad. i tot it should be SI interview?wat is the difference between these 2 interviews? Appreciate ur help Thank You |
Jun 4 2013, 04:44 PM
15 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
I attended interview last May 18 held in Jakarta.. until now no result from my agent. I dont know how long they process the result
Jul 22 2013, 12:52 PM
59 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(gimgy88 @ Jun 4 2013, 01:37 PM) hye guys, same goes to me..my interview tommorow...is there any different between SI and Tecnical Assesment Interview? i need your help regarding petronas interview.i got a call and they ask me to come for technical assesment interview.im quite confuse as i am fresh grad. i tot it should be SI interview?wat is the difference between these 2 interviews? Appreciate ur help Thank You |
Jul 22 2013, 02:01 PM
1,346 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
WTF so many test to get in. they pay RM10k ker once u get in WTF?
Jul 22 2013, 02:10 PM
Sep 11 2013, 03:53 PM
29 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
I already registered in discoverpetronas, last two weeks the HR dpmt called me and asked me to send back the declaration form ( they emailed first the form), latest CV, academic transcript and other related documents.
And now, what should I do? Just waiting for the HR call me for SI ? I understood that they will only call u if there are any possible vacancies in petronas.. |
Sep 11 2013, 06:35 PM
107 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(MugenConcept @ Oct 3 2012, 04:15 PM) Then you shouldn't even try it in the 1st place as the result is expected........... this is reality in this part of the world........ Now I know why not many non-bumi in Petronas.. Because of this mindset u spread. Well just to let U know, 1 of my chinese friend got a job at petronas carigali, no cable nothing. |
Mar 24 2014, 11:49 PM
10 posts Joined: Jan 2014 |
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 22 2013, 02:10 PM) They are the one who wants people, they can do whatever they want to assess their candidate. If you don't like the process, you do not need to apply. bang azraeil, what was the course you study last time and ur position in petronas??? This post has been edited by vanc3: Mar 24 2014, 11:49 PM |
Mar 25 2014, 09:48 PM
Mar 26 2014, 03:25 PM
41 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
Hi guys. I sent my resume thru email to one of the hr person in Petronas since they requested me to send my cv to him. Sent it on november 2013. Until today no answers from him. Have been follow up (until now) thru email and tried to call him few times, no answer. My last word, should I give up? Haha
Mar 26 2014, 06:05 PM
10 posts Joined: Jan 2014 |
QUOTE(azraeil @ Mar 25 2014, 09:48 PM) I studied Geology for my undergraduate degree. The last position I held before I left Petronas was Manager I from mechanical engineering major in manufacturing.Do i qualify for study master in geology or petrophysicist??I m reading all the previous threads and think the geologyis very interesting.. |
Mar 28 2014, 10:13 AM
317 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Does Petronas have good career path for IT?
Apr 3 2014, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(vanc3 @ Mar 26 2014, 01:05 PM) I from mechanical engineering major in manufacturing.Do i qualify for study master in geology or petrophysicist?? Errmm most likely not. Usually if you did pure sciences in college, then maybe. I have several friends whose 1st degree is Physics and they became a Petrophysicist and Geophysicist in Petronas.I m reading all the previous threads and think the geologyis very interesting.. |
Apr 10 2014, 12:20 PM
46 posts Joined: Apr 2014 |
Hi all, just sharing my experience here and have a question. Im a fresh grad.
I've been called to Petronas interview, the technical assessment first, then for the "chit-chat" session with the department head, personally, one on one. Then I got a mail of recommendation to proceed to SI. This is the second week after I got the mail but no any news yet for the SI , when and where. The technical assessment is as the name suggest, asking for technical knowledge related to the field you are applying. Mostly technical questions and a bit problem solving. The "chit-chat" session is with the department manager/ head (might not be the technical assessment interviewer) which he/she wish to know more about you and decide whether you should go for the SI or not. My question is how long to wait for the SI call? I believe different cases should experience different waiting time i suppose? just want to have some idea form who've had experienced it. thankyou. |
Apr 25 2016, 04:49 PM
2 posts Joined: Apr 2016 |
[quote=didilicious,Mar 16 2009, 02:16 AM]
i went to all the test, interview and finally worked there... but at the end of the day, i just quit my self... sometimes, u can't tell...even tough its a good/big company,but when u felt like u dont belongs to it...then it was nothing... the online test is nothing...they just know what type of person r u...no pass or fail...no worries during the interview session, u'll be given a several test with shorten time (15 min.) to answer too many questions (i.e 20-30 quest.), the answer is u only required to answer at least 5-8 correct answers out of 20-30 quest. they just want to measure how u tackle the 1st 10 questions...whether is it all wrong or correct... i managed to get the highest during my time but I just "hentam" all the answer, cause not enough time...but makesure u answer all even tough not enough time... i got final interview with petronas lubricant for manager business development with GM..before tht my 1st interview i tot i failed after 3month HR call me and asked to send my slip gaji..after 1 week they send me email for final interview ...may i know if i already got the job or not... |
| Change to: | 0.0917sec
5 queries
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:57 AM |