Proton Persona and Saga blm, Any problem with this model

yngwie
post Nov 15 2009, 03:40 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Feb 15 2009, 07:34 PM)
no pickup = drive by wire delay. plus campro is hi rev engine. at 4k rpm then u feel power. its not a problem

so im driving one got no problem so far
agree with you. pick up isn't so good but am satisfied with the saga blm(am driving it during the run-in period) i bought for my sister recently.
fill up with ron97 does make a slight different in pick up.
btw, saga blm is a fuel saver? i beg to differ. shakehead.gif
i know new car need a run in in order for the engine to perform to it's optimal capability. and this campro iafm engine need to rev over 3.5k to perform.
almost hitting 1k mileage. FC is worst than my other 1.8t and 1.6 car sweat.gif
usually, a light foot driver here smile.gif

btw, looking forward to over 6k mileage covered. hopefully it will be more frugal on fuel.
danny_sp15
post Nov 15 2009, 03:47 PM

==============
3,045 posts

Been using saga BLM 1.3 for about a year now (Mileage 23000km)...

The pros: biggrin.gif
- Full spec only costs around 40K. much better than other new cars at that price.
- Aircon works fine even though almost 1 year. U wont be sweating like hell in this car in a sunny day
- Pickup is there, but depends on which gear and at what speed.. from 80kmh u shouldnt have any problems overtaking the car in front.
- i hit a wira pretty hard until his bumper got a huge dent, and occasionally (quite often) hit the curb when parking, but my front bumper so far only minor scratches.
- Seats are comfy, stereo's pretty good, simple interior, interior build materials are pretty good
- easy to drive. steering is pretty good for its class. dont compare with bmw or merc la...
- u can do 175kmh in this car, though not recommended sweat.gif

The cons: sad.gif
- personally, i think the fuel consumption is quite high for a 1.3L engine... i dont have any evidence though, it's just what i feel.
- Power windows stop working occasionally, first on passenger side, now on driver's side.
- digital fuel meter not accurate. from 3 bar go to 2 bar, then after a few minutes suddenly go to 1 bar, and after a few more minutes the low fuel warning light comes on. the next day will be 2 bar or 1 bar again. it's like "saham". up and down.
- pickup from 0-80kmh is sooo slow.. sometimes u're struggling to take over a bus or a lorry...
- stereo no mp3

This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Nov 15 2009, 03:58 PM
Loseeker
post Nov 16 2009, 10:45 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(andy81 @ Nov 15 2009, 01:36 PM)
look at my avatar, thats my actual car...

fuel very save...good enough for a 1.3cc..
How save is your fuel? Can u elaborate a bit more on that ? As in, it doesn't blow your car up even if you light it? tongue.gif

Just kidding, tongue.gif Ok, let's get back to the point, please give us detail as in how many KM/L or KM per RM50 you can go with your "fuel very save" saga?
andy81
post Nov 16 2009, 11:13 PM

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Nov 16 2009, 10:45 PM)
How save is your fuel? Can u elaborate a bit more on that ? As in, it doesn't blow your car up even if you light it?  tongue.gif

Just kidding, tongue.gif Ok, let's get back to the point, please give us detail as in how many KM/L or KM per RM50 you can go with your "fuel very save" saga?
Distance - 25km, driving 6 days a week. Speed maintain 80 - 90 km/h

Monday buy rm50 of fuel, can last until next tuesday.

Traffic condition - Light.

Are u driving one nw? For those who complaint a lot on the fuel consumption, mayb they are driving on a high traffic area...also should consider their driving attitude too. How fast they are driving, how often do they have to shift gears, are they driving alone, with passangers or extra load?

Last Gawai i went bck to my home town from Bintulu to Kuching...believe it or not, i only spend rm70 on fuel. reach home still balance 1 bar. Certain time i off aircond to save fuel consumption.

This post has been edited by andy81: Nov 16 2009, 11:18 PM
SiuYi
post Nov 16 2009, 11:53 PM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

andy81
rm70 bintulu kuching is damn cheap.my honda spends around rm45 to reach sibu...1.6L la.hmm..
andy81
post Nov 17 2009, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Nov 16 2009, 11:53 PM)
andy81
rm70 bintulu kuching is damn cheap.my honda spends around rm45 to reach sibu...1.6L la.hmm..
Well...i fill full tank at bintulu - Rm30, then put another Rm40 at Sarikei. Reach Serian balance still 1 bar.

I did off my aircond at certain times though...

This post has been edited by andy81: Nov 17 2009, 03:01 PM
SiuYi
post Nov 17 2009, 06:33 PM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

andy81
i will do my rally count next time if i happen to go down sibu.whhahaha.
bryanwong3
post Nov 17 2009, 10:37 PM

QUOTE(singchaii @ Feb 15 2009, 08:59 PM)
Yes.. This is how IAFM technology work.. Long-short intake manifold. But in term of pick up, saga blm really leak abit of power due of campro.

Proton Saga BLM = Problem with the intake manifold. But it can be claimed. The intake manifold will cause some noise and the idling is not good. Not all saga BLM have such problem. But the common problem, the power window switch.

So far what I see my customer claimed is intake manifold, steering rack (The steering rack will leak power steering fluid), rear wheel bearing (First batch of saga blm. the wheel bearing is not fit while I don't know why proton still using it and cause burn out) and last, power window switch. This is the thing normally I help customer to claimed at my workshop. And, got 1 batch of saga blm auto which have overheat problem. Only happen on Auto cause of a cooling host problem.

Proton Persona = High risk of overheat problem. While I have two customers having overheat problem with their car before 10k. We claimed the cylinder head for them, but the temperature still not normal. Temperature will increase and drop not stable. Another problem is, front and back wheel bearing will spoiled due to water store inside. Last, for the drum brake behind. Having sound when during braking. Not forget, some batch of persona front having 'tak tak' sound when at uneven road but this problem can be solve.

And the most common for Proton Saga BLM and Proton persona is 'rat' sound at the back. Because of the rear seat..
hi bro singchaii! have been diverted to this thread by bro heavencloud. related to persona as u mentioned above, how to solve the tak tak sound and the rear drum brake sound?? what cause both sounds?? appreciate if you could help!
SiuYi
post Nov 18 2009, 11:22 AM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

bryanwong3
tak tak sound, iafm pushrods. replace it.
rear drum brake sound, ntg big deal, wait for some few weeks, the sound will gone.if it is still there, ask the SC to check.
mensa
post Nov 18 2009, 02:26 PM

487 posts

almost 3 months owning a persona..so far i'm encountering these problem:-

knocking during turning at uneven road (very minimal)
rattling sound from center aircon vent
power window got sound oredi
stock break suck..change to OEM mintye..better than bosch one.

others:

aircon very cool
stable n comfy
stock speaker sound is good (at least for me)
suspension is good
full tank for RM65 RON 95..managed to get about 410KM

pesona b-line automatic.

dowhhhhhh

This post has been edited by mensa: Nov 18 2009, 02:29 PM
bryanwong3
post Nov 18 2009, 08:22 PM

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Nov 18 2009, 11:22 AM)
bryanwong3
tak tak sound, iafm pushrods. replace it.
rear drum brake sound, ntg big deal, wait for some few weeks, the sound will gone.if it is still there, ask the SC to check.
what is pushrods?? i've sent to the service centre b4 but still the same sound. the rear drum brake sound happened at the 2nd week until today (2 weeks d). What's wrong le??
niu_niu
post Nov 18 2009, 09:17 PM

Remember to feed the cat!
580 posts

I think some problem with the ventilation inside the car....got water vapor inside my car...
Refer to the link below

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1198140/+980&#

Added on November 18, 2009, 9:56 pmI think some problem with the ventilation inside the car....got water vapor inside my car...
Refer to the link below

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1198140/+980&#

This post has been edited by niu_niu: Nov 18 2009, 09:56 PM
scorponoc
post Jan 11 2010, 11:48 AM

415 posts

So, which actually cerita betul ni? Good or not good? If compare to my 10 year old AD Resort (gegar sana sini), this Saga BLM is worth it to buy or not? vmad.gif
SUSblack or white
post Jan 11 2010, 11:00 PM

25 posts

Here's a little comparison between BLM and old saga or Iswara
For me Iswara is an OK car, everything is not good, not bad, but acceptable.
So this is my comparison between BLM and an OK car. (manual transmission)

BLM cons
pickup 0-50kmh is slightly worse than Iswara.
on paper, the interior is wider than Iswara but when you sit in it (driver) you'll feel its narrower because of the centre console and door armrest.
Seat design not suitable for big people.
Quality/design not too good - when u wind up your window fully, you can feel the door panel come inwards and goes outwards when you wind down.

BLM pros
Fuel consumption very slightly better than Iswara
Road holding is much better
higher speeds got way more power
more comfortable - if you are not too big
Way, way more room for rear passengers

Issues I have with my BLM,
IAFM noise - warranty part ordered at SC since no stock.
Thin paint, paint chipped off at some corners for no reason
Interior plastic quality not good, plastic near the foot rest got marks and colour changed because of frequent friction with shoes.
Rubber floor mats tearing.
Engine bay full of plastic stuff - radiator spare tank and brake reservoir feels flimsy.

So I would say its still a worthy buy despite the practically negative impression above. For me, gegar sini, gegar sana, I take a screw driver or spanner and tighten whatever is loose and DIY. Its kind of a hobby so I don't really mind that.

Added on January 11, 2010, 11:11 pmOne more thing. There is a 1 second delay between pressing the accelerator pedal and the engine revving.You press the pedal and let go, 1 second later only you can hear the engine sound.

When changing gears it can be a little irritating. You must train yourself to release the accelerator 1 second earlier before pressing the clutch and press the accelerator 1 second earlier before release the clutch.

This post has been edited by black or white: Jan 11 2010, 11:11 PM
JonSpark
post Jan 12 2010, 12:32 AM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Feb 15 2009, 07:34 PM)
no pickup = drive by wire delay. plus campro is hi rev engine. at 4k rpm then u feel power. its not a problem

so im driving one got no problem so far
agree

campro is a high revving engine, you want power......shift to 2nd gear and tekan until hit the redline
mazda626
post Jan 14 2010, 12:21 AM

2,335 posts

Guys, i am newbie in car tread - i confused with my Pesona SE.

After switchoff the aircond, it seems the air still flowing in. Is that normal ? Or may your guys may lead me to Pesona SE tread. Thanks
Onechild
post Oct 30 2011, 10:21 PM

Hi, if u want to change Saga BLM back rear bearing, here got promotion.
>>get 10% discount(only pay RM162 instead of RM180).
-SAGA BLM Back Rear Bearing(FAG brand, made in Korea).
-Using machine to pump bearing in/out of the plate.
-Skillfull & experienced mechanics

Email me: lordonechild@gmail.com for booking & reservation process.

** first come, first serve

0.0186sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:07 PM