Proton Persona and Saga blm, Any problem with this model

TSsaf
post Feb 15 2009, 07:23 PM, updated 17y ago

491 posts

Hi all,

i want check with u guys escp who owns persona and proton BLM do u guys facing any problem wit this model?Pls share u guys experience here .....frend plans to get this model...tq

This post has been edited by saf: Feb 15 2009, 07:44 PM
syawalx
post Feb 15 2009, 07:26 PM

133 posts

ya. the new proton saga. its really heavy. got no power. aiyo. when will the local cars improve?
xshiro
post Feb 15 2009, 07:34 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(syawalx @ Feb 15 2009, 07:26 PM)
ya. the new proton saga. its really heavy. got no power. aiyo. when will the local cars improve?
no pickup = drive by wire delay. plus campro is hi rev engine. at 4k rpm then u feel power. its not a problem

so im driving one got no problem so far

This post has been edited by xshiro: Feb 15 2009, 07:37 PM
nazri86a
post Feb 15 2009, 07:46 PM

276 posts

im one of proud owner of proton saga blm... can check my blog from the first day i got car....

common problem :???

too cun... laugh.gif
heavencloud
post Feb 15 2009, 08:05 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(syawalx @ Feb 15 2009, 07:26 PM)
err... are u sure u driven it enough? coz i've been driving my mum's blm sometimes, i can say thing such as no power didnt exist. Proton tuned the 1st and 2nd gear ratio to be high so u will have the power u need when hill climb or carrying a full passenger. The iafm will help to deliver extra power when driving above 80km/h (that was what i noticed).

singchaii
post Feb 15 2009, 08:59 PM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Feb 15 2009, 08:05 PM)
err... are u sure u driven it enough? coz i've been driving my mum's blm sometimes, i can say thing such as no power didnt exist. Proton tuned the 1st and 2nd gear ratio to be high so u will have the power u need when hill climb or carrying a full passenger. The iafm will help to deliver extra power when driving above 80km/h (that was what i noticed).
Yes.. This is how IAFM technology work.. Long-short intake manifold. But in term of pick up, saga blm really leak abit of power due of campro.

Proton Saga BLM = Problem with the intake manifold. But it can be claimed. The intake manifold will cause some noise and the idling is not good. Not all saga BLM have such problem. But the common problem, the power window switch.

So far what I see my customer claimed is intake manifold, steering rack (The steering rack will leak power steering fluid), rear wheel bearing (First batch of saga blm. the wheel bearing is not fit while I don't know why proton still using it and cause burn out) and last, power window switch. This is the thing normally I help customer to claimed at my workshop. And, got 1 batch of saga blm auto which have overheat problem. Only happen on Auto cause of a cooling host problem.

Proton Persona = High risk of overheat problem. While I have two customers having overheat problem with their car before 10k. We claimed the cylinder head for them, but the temperature still not normal. Temperature will increase and drop not stable. Another problem is, front and back wheel bearing will spoiled due to water store inside. Last, for the drum brake behind. Having sound when during braking. Not forget, some batch of persona front having 'tak tak' sound when at uneven road but this problem can be solve.

And the most common for Proton Saga BLM and Proton persona is 'rat' sound at the back. Because of the rear seat..
RoyMcAvoy
post Feb 15 2009, 09:17 PM

Going to be a grand wizard next year
1,732 posts

QUOTE(saf @ Feb 15 2009, 07:23 PM)
Hi all,

i want check with u guys escp who owns persona and proton BLM do u guys facing any problem wit this model?Pls share u guys experience here .....frend plans to get this model...tq
I bought my Saga BLM on March last year. 2 week after, my central locking is malfunction until now. Send for repair few times already but the central locking keeps malfunction just after few days.

Day after tomorrow i'm gonna send my car to EON hq at glenmarie for 20k service. Hope they can fix it since i'm getting fed -up already.
dvinez
post Feb 22 2009, 03:25 AM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

got saga blm for 6 months already.
so far not a single problem, better and good than i expected.
VarioCam
post Feb 22 2009, 09:56 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(saf @ Feb 15 2009, 07:23 PM)
Hi all,

been using an auto blm fer some time now (our company car)

+ side:

- it sips fuel!
- good la fer short town trips
- interior is plastic, so it would not deteriorate easily.
- no major probs, yet

- side:
-overtaking with the blm is utter crap (it's an auto, with a so-called 'racy' campro 1.3 twin cam that loves to rev, but hates to think for itself)
so you wanna overtake, when you mash the pedal, it's like "wtf? oooh you wanna downshift arr? wait ahh.. i downshif for you!" and THEN it downshifts.
on a manual, it's no prob la. but fer an auto it's PITA

-(personal opinion) they should used a long stroke sohc 8 valve or something in there.. better torque is what i'm talking about.
on a small car you really dun wanna rev like a maniac everytime you wanna overtake or something, there's a better way to do it.
that car needs more torque, not revs.. IMO a long stroke engine would do it. engine config is old skool, but it works.
look up what mercs is been doing. cool.gif

-the aircon fan button broke inside edi.. aiya. so when you 'off' it, it's actually still on number 1!

-on long trips, lenguh arr.. my long legs dun like the seating position.
back from a 360km daytrip i demam the nxt day wtf! (compared to going with a CLK still can larat mau play golf when sampai rumah tongue.gif )

neverlog
post Mar 3 2009, 11:55 AM

392 posts

QUOTE(VarioCam @ Feb 22 2009, 09:56 AM)
- side:
-overtaking with the blm is utter crap (it's an auto, with a so-called 'racy' campro 1.3 twin cam that loves to rev, but hates to think for itself)
so you wanna overtake, when you mash the pedal, it's like "wtf? oooh you wanna downshift arr? wait ahh.. i downshif for you!" and THEN it downshifts.
Luckily, it's not like: " WTF? ooh you wanna reduce the speed? wait ahh....I reduce for u!" then it reduce the speed.... laugh.gif

sure have a lot of accidents later on.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by neverlog: Mar 3 2009, 11:56 AM
NewAchiever
post Mar 4 2009, 08:54 AM

222 posts

BLM so far so good, i like it very much ^^
When you press the oil to move your car after idling (while waiting for the traffic light), you must be careful not to press to much so that it will go smoothly instead of jerking frontward mmm

However, so far mood kereta ni baik saja ~ Nowadays, the pickup is quite good ~ got certain timing ~

Aircon quite good in strong in normal weather, even the minimum temp is quite cool ~~~

Overall I'm quite satisfied with this car ~
D_Predator
post Mar 4 2009, 09:01 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(VarioCam @ Feb 22 2009, 09:56 AM)

+ side:

- it sips fuel!
- good la fer short town trips
- interior is plastic, so it would not deteriorate easily.
- no major probs, yet

- side:

-(personal opinion) they should used a long stroke sohc 8 valve or something in there.. better torque is what i'm talking about.
on a small car you really dun wanna rev like a maniac everytime you wanna overtake or something, there's a better way to do it.
that car needs more torque, not revs.. IMO a long stroke engine would do it. engine config is old skool, but it works.
look up what mercs is been doing.  cool.gif 

-the aircon fan button broke inside edi.. aiya. so when you 'off' it, it's actually still on number 1!

-on long trips, lenguh arr.. my long legs dun like the seating position.
back from a 360km daytrip i demam the nxt day wtf! (compared to going with a CLK still can larat mau play golf when sampai rumah tongue.gif )
Aiyo bro, dun la compare BLM with CLK...it's a local car, and serves the purpose which is point A to B..
kesian you know..it's 41k car..obviously there's a few things u're not going to happy...If the CLK cost you a bomb and got prob here and there, u sure mengamok punye...l sweat.gif ..my 2 cents..dun marah ah bro..hehehe rolleyes.gif

arasy
post May 1 2009, 10:06 AM

27 posts

for 41 k its worth to buy compare to viva.. atleast safer with strong chasis..
AMenzZ
post Nov 14 2009, 12:41 AM

Master
306 posts

perhaps the "CLK" terms refer to "Cute Little Kelisa" izit? hahaha...
@MAN-kun
post Nov 14 2009, 09:33 AM

147 posts

like my blm. 3 months with 4k mileage. no problem so far. just cant start the car last 2 months bcos i forgot to refuel my car doh.gif

my dad like the car too. he said its better than his perdana. hahaha... tongue.gif

imo, saga (the cheapest new sedan car in this country) is good for easy/cruise driving. not for racing/overtaking. driving aggressively is dangerous nod.gif

This post has been edited by @MAN-kun: Nov 14 2009, 09:34 AM
FlamingFox
post Nov 14 2009, 10:07 AM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

Persona owner here (auto and first batch)

Good sides:
- Spacious
- Big boot
- Good audio system
- Stable on high speeds
- The sound of closing the door sounds quite solid

Bad sides:
- Small side mirror
- Restricted rear vision
- High FC
- A bit slow on pickup
- Seats a bit too low, especially the rear seats
Xefron
post Nov 14 2009, 10:17 AM

2,507 posts

Persona owner here.NVH is better than any previous proton model.maybe a slight better than new honda city.(i drive city too).

so far so good for a 50K car.only minor irritation which u can refer to our dedicated thread.
andy81
post Nov 14 2009, 04:03 PM

saga blm..its cheap, affordable, car for the people with average income, design for family use, fuel saving coz 1.3 cc only...and i'm very proud of it.

So dont aspect a good @ high level of powerfull performance from this kind of car. It's average...and i have no problem with it.

Overall, BLM is ok2 la....

Want 2 compare cars?...try comparing cars with the same cc, same power performance and price.

This post has been edited by andy81: Nov 14 2009, 04:11 PM
Hamilton
post Nov 14 2009, 09:49 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(andy81 @ Nov 14 2009, 04:03 PM)
saga blm..its cheap, affordable, car for the people with average income, design for family use, fuel saving coz 1.3 cc only...and i'm very proud of it.

So dont aspect a good @ high level of powerfull performance from this kind of car. It's average...and i have no problem with it.

Overall, BLM is ok2 la....

Want 2 compare cars?...try comparing cars with the same cc, same power performance and price.
U seriosly driving one?
andy81
post Nov 15 2009, 01:36 PM

QUOTE(Hamilton @ Nov 14 2009, 09:49 PM)
U seriosly driving one?
look at my avatar, thats my actual car...

fuel saving...good enough for a 1.3cc..

This post has been edited by andy81: Nov 16 2009, 11:20 PM

0.0187sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:54 PM