Style & fashion articles, Men's worst style mistake

TSjind86
post Feb 13 2009, 04:29 PM, updated 16y ago

1,507 posts

Anyone is welcome to share men's style & fashion articles/tips here.. Kindly scan or write the information neatly.. Also please do not forget to include referencing for your information..

For the readers, zoom in if the words are too small..

Guys, feel free to add comments or simply say thanks if you found something useful =)

This post has been edited by jind86: Jul 3 2009, 11:08 AM
TSjind86
post Feb 13 2009, 04:31 PM

1,507 posts

Untucked, untied.. uncool..

Source: GQ Magazine

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 13 2009, 04:31 PM

TSjind86
post Feb 13 2009, 04:34 PM

1,507 posts

Roll up your sleeves, the right way

Source: GQ

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 22 2009, 08:58 PM

TSjind86
post Feb 22 2009, 08:58 PM

1,507 posts

GQ Rules
From our fashion team, timeless bits of style wisdom to live by..

Click for 25 essential tips, secrets, and shortcuts guaranteed to improve your style..

http://men.style.com/gq/features/slideshow/v/110905GQRULES

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 22 2009, 09:08 PM
TSjind86
post Feb 22 2009, 09:01 PM

1,507 posts

THE 10 COMMANDMENTS OF STYLE
There are a few hard-and-fast rules for dressing well. Master these and you will possess the building blocks of great taste..

Thou shalt match your socks with your suit—and nine other sacred style imperatives..

http://men.style.com/gq/features/slideshow...806COMMANDMENTS

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 22 2009, 09:07 PM
TSjind86
post Feb 22 2009, 09:07 PM

1,507 posts

there's a clearer picture of the "roll up your sleeves the Italian way" here =)
choyster
post Feb 22 2009, 11:14 PM

1,802 posts

i think you should pin this
TSjind86
post Feb 22 2009, 11:39 PM

1,507 posts

yeah i'd possibly pin this up, but later, there's no worries bout it getting buried at the moment.. guys feel free to share articles/readings here =)
hanhanhan
post Feb 23 2009, 12:00 AM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

(i dont really know how to tie a tie so just sharing what i've learnt so far.. )

To tie the Half Windsor Knot, select a necktie of your choice and stand in front of a mirror. Then simply follow the steps below:

1) Start with the wide end ("W") of your necktie on the right, extending about 12 inches below the narrow end ("N") on the left.

2) Then cross the wide end over the narrow end.

3) Bring the wide end around and behind the narrow end.

4) Then bring the wide end up.

5) Pull the wide end through the loop and to the right.

6) Bring the wide end around front, over the narrow end from right to left.

7) Again, bring the wide end up and through the loop.

8) Then, bring the wide end down through the knot in front.

9) And -- using both hands -- tighten the knot carefully and draw it up to the collar.

from http://www.tie-a-tie.net/halfwindsor.html

This post has been edited by hanhanhan: Feb 23 2009, 12:01 AM
hanhanhan
post Feb 23 2009, 12:13 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

tips for us young adults about ties.. (something i just learnt as well.. my dad only taught me the windsor knot and i've been using it thru high school until now. haha)

SHARP DRESSED MAN
Jim Moore, GQ Creative Director

"LeBron is doing something that a lot of guys do, which is a bit of a no, but I can understand why he did it. First of all the suit looks beautiful. I think it fits him really well. I think that his shirt and tie is probably a little bit old-manish for him. I like the French-cuff shirt, I love the cut of the shirt. Again, it looks like it’s a two-button, the grey looks fantastic on him. The width of the lapel is great. The shoulders aren’t too wide. I would just maybe – if he wanted to stay with a spread-collar shirt, maybe just do a darker tie with it and he should also be tying a four-in-hand knot not a windsor. He’s tying a knot that’s basically for – a windsor knot is basically for people over 50. It’s not even an age thing, it’s just a very old-fashioned thing. He should just tie it once around and through. I think what a lot of these guys are trying to do is create this bigger knot. Someone like LeBron, again a young guy, can go with a slim tie. The width of the tie seems great, I just don’t know if I would do this kind of pastel thing, because it looks a little businessy and a little older than he portrays himself."

from nba.com
hanhanhan
post Feb 23 2009, 12:19 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

just some diff collars on shirts n how to match ties with it..

The Traditional Collar is the collar that you will find on most "standard" or store bought shirts. Although you can wear a neck tie with a Windsor or Half Windsor Knot, this collar has a smaller spread and is ideal for a Four In Hand Knot. A Traditional Collar with a neck tie using a Four In Hand Knot is a basic style that is very common with American executives. If you are not wearing a neck tie, there will be a slight spread with the collar but it should still be comfortable to wear.

The Tab Collar is business collar and can only be worn with a neck tie. When determining the size of the tab to be used, we factor in the size of the Neck itself. We will normally cut smaller Necks with a 3/4" tab and larger Necks with a 1" tab. That gives the customer enough flexibility to choose the Tie Knot that is most appropriate. If you want to "squeeze" the tab sides together a Four In Hand Knot is probably most appropriate.

The Button Down Collar is as traditional as it gets. The Button Down Collar can be worn with a Neck Tie or it can be worn without in a more casual style. Because of the way the collar adjusts, you can wear any Tie Knot that you want but this would be another collar where a Four In Hand Knot is probably most appropriate. In a twist to the traditional Button Down Collar, we also offer an Inside Button Down Collar where the buttons are on the inside of the collar (invisible) and attach to a tab on the inside. What you end up with is similar to a Tab Collar where the collar halves are held down. You can see this Collar below.

The Pin Collar - Straight Collar is another business collar where the neck tie gets squeezed between the collar halves. Instead of using a tab to achieve that, a pair of holes are are cut into the collar so that a Tie Pin can be thread between the halves and keep the spread small. The Tie Pin has to be purchased by you, we do not sell or provide them. This collar is not appropriate for wear without a neck tie. The type of knot that you use is up to you and the size of your Tie Pin, but a Four In Hand Knot is probably best.

The Quarter Spread Collar is one of the larger spread collars that we offer, this is sometimes considered a more "European" collar. The Quarter Spread Collar is halfway between the Traditional Collar (little spread) and the Half Spread. On a Quarter Spread Collar it is more appropriate to use a Windsor Knot or a Half Windsor Knot. The fullness of these knots is going to help cover some of the spread at the Neck. These collars can be worn without a neck tie but you might find that the collar points will hang up on your collar bones and make the back of the Neck of your collar not rest flush with your Neck, but instead will bow out away from the back of your Neck.

The Half Spread Collar has the largest spread that we offer, this is sometimes considered a more "European" collar. The Half Spread is cut so the spread looks somewhat vertical on your shirt. On a Half Spread Collar it is more appropriate to use a Windsor Knot or a Half Windsor Knot. The fullness of these knots is going to help cover some of the spread at the Neck. These collars can be worn without a neck tie but you might find that the collar points will hang up on your collar bones and make the back of the Neck of your collar not rest flush with your Neck, but instead will bow out away from the back of your Neck.

The Inside Button Down Collar is the same as the standard Button Down Collar except the buttons are placed inside the collar. A tab is also added to the inside of the collar so that they can attach to the buttons. This way you can have the collar stay in the same position as the Traditional Collar but have the collar points stay close to the shoulder blades at all times. This collar is another option if you like the Tab Collar but do not like to "squeeze" the two halves of the collar together.

The Small Spread Collar is another unique collar, it has very little spread with the collar halves coming almost straight down. The edges of the collar are rounded for a softer look. Their is a small space at the top of the collar for wearing a neck tie. This shirt should be worn with a neck tie. This collar is sometimes called a "Soprano Collar" or "Mafia Collar" or even a "Continental Collar" because it is worn on the European Continent.

from http://www.execshirts.com/dress-shirt-collars.htm
TSjind86
post Feb 25 2009, 04:51 PM

1,507 posts

HOW TO BUY A LEATHER JACKET
A leather jacket is a long-term investment, so study up..

http://men.style.com/gq/fashion/slideshow/v/071508LEATHER
TSjind86
post Feb 25 2009, 05:55 PM

1,507 posts

HOW TO BRING YOUR BUSINESS WARDROBE IN UNDER BUDGET
Hard times? No sweat..

http://men.style.com/gq/fashion/slideshow/v/021609BIZ
hanhanhan
post Feb 26 2009, 12:46 AM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

just some short guideline i read from AUGUST MEN on buttoning blazer..

"sometimes first

always second

never third"

erm.. they meant the buttons..
TSjind86
post Feb 26 2009, 01:47 AM

1,507 posts

yes hanhanhan, it is a rule to always leave the lowest button undone..

Why do men never button the bottom button of your suit, sports jacket, vest or Cardigan sweater?

King Edward VII, “Bertie”, son of Victoria (1841 – 1910, King 1901 - 1910) was so heavy that he could not get the bottom button fastened on his vest or to be more historically kind, maybe he just forgot. His subjects taking it as a fashion statement followed his lead and today most men’s suits, sports jackets or vests are not designed to button the bottom button. The tradition of not buttoning the bottom button may have also come from the early waistcoats, which were very long. It may have been out of necessity of being able to walk that the bottom buttons were left undone.

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 26 2009, 01:48 AM
Calvin Seak
post Feb 26 2009, 08:59 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,446 posts

Put "toe taps" on your leather-soled dress shoes. They will significantly increase the shoes’ life span.

Where do i get "Toe taps" in Malaysia
TSjind86
post Feb 26 2009, 12:40 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 26 2009, 08:59 AM)
Put "toe taps" on your leather-soled dress shoes. They will significantly increase the shoes’ life span.

Where do i get "Toe taps" in Malaysia
go to any good cobblers, i did mine in Bangsar Shopping Complex, there is a cobbler at the lowest ground.. but mine is placed with a thin layer of rubber underneath the shoe, it will give adequate protection as well as grip.. cost around RM50..

three important points on how to take care of your dress shoes:

1) always use a shoe tree when you are not wearing your shoes (it will help preserve its shape and increase life span)
2) put toe taps / rubber taps on your shoes (protects the shoe and for the rubber material, it will provide more grip)
3) polish your shoes regularly (restore the appearance of leather shoes and extending the footwear's life)

-Jin

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 26 2009, 07:17 PM
TSjind86
post Feb 26 2009, 07:22 PM

1,507 posts

Slim ties can be used for both formal and casual wear. Unless you’re a hard-core fashion guy who favors a super-skinny tie, stick with one that measures about two and a half to three inches at its widest point. It will be narrower than traditional ties, but not by too much. Tie one on and you’ll look modern and sophisticated.

I've actually had a number of people come up to me and go "Hey Jin, are slim ties suitable for office wear?". Yes they are, most guys mistaken slim for skinny ties; those are only suitable for casual wear and not for professional use, anything around 2 inches is categorized under skinny and any thinner will be followed by super-skinny.

Example of a slim tie:

How could you say the guy above does not look professional in his slim tie? =)

-Jin

This post has been edited by jind86: Mar 4 2009, 09:34 PM
netmatrix
post Feb 27 2009, 01:59 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,723 posts

Well the guys is well built and he has a model'esque face. Which many of us are not. I don't dig the hipster pants though. Those are either for hip hoppers or jeans wearers. Flat front pants are a must, because if you use pleat it would create fat girth or fa hip look. A no no.
TSjind86
post Mar 3 2009, 02:01 PM

1,507 posts

well he is a model thats why lol.. i actually prefer pants to ride on my hips, im still not too used to pants which sits on the waste, so i actually like the look.. but anyways the main focus on the picture is about the tie =)
TSjind86
post Mar 8 2009, 02:52 PM

1,507 posts

PROJECT UPGRADE: A GQ STYLE INTERVENTION

GQ’s fashion editors take to the streets and grab six dudes who could use a little bit—okay, a lot—of style help

In a world of puffy dress shirts, oversize suits, and clunky square-toed lace-ups, there’s plenty of room for improvement. GQ hit the streets of New York and found six real men with real problems—and supplied them with advice any guy can learn from.

http://men.style.com/gq/fashion/slideshow/v/021908UP

GQ PROJECT UPGRADE VIDEO

http://men.style.com/video/from-gq/from-ig...ade/14120010001
hanhanhan
post Apr 22 2009, 11:17 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

How to differentiate popular nike sneakers

What is the difference between Quickstrike, Hyperstrike, Tier 0, Tier 1

Levi's Fragment special collabs/releases

Levi's Fragment complete list of Crush Customized Denims
hanhanhan
post Apr 23 2009, 11:23 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,197 posts

Nike special collabs - MEDICOM DUNKS
wartrol
post Apr 24 2009, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Feb 26 2009, 12:46 AM)
just some short guideline i read from AUGUST MEN on buttoning blazer..

"sometimes first

always second

never third"

erm.. they meant the buttons..
thanks yr support, I access them

TSjind86
post Jun 18 2009, 02:03 AM

1,507 posts

10 TIES X 10 SHIRTS = 100 FOOLPROOF OPTIONS
You don’t need dozens upon dozens of shirts and ties if you know how to pair them

The key to building a wardrobe is maximum compatibility. These shirts and ties all go perfectly with each other.

http://men.style.com/gq/fashion/slideshow/v/081307TIES
ask_dino
post Jun 23 2009, 11:29 AM

DS is the name
741 posts

amazing articles + facts
TSjind86
post Jul 3 2009, 11:08 AM

1,507 posts

Project Upgrade

> Why casual doesn't have to mean schlumpy (for slightly bigger guys)..

Added on July 3, 2009, 11:10 amzoom in to get a better view of the words

This post has been edited by jind86: Jul 3 2009, 11:10 AM

wernshen
post Jul 3 2009, 12:47 PM

93 posts

any articles on how to properly roll up jeans/chinos? biggrin.gif
TSjind86
post Jul 3 2009, 01:46 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(wernshen @ Jul 3 2009, 12:47 PM)
any articles on how to properly roll up jeans/chinos? biggrin.gif
it's not recommended to roll up jeans/chinos especially for those who are typically not that tall.. it shouldn't be too bad provided the pants itself is slim/skinny cut =)

anyway here's a great way to roll up your chinos:

http://men.style.com/details/fashion/slide...lay=false&cnt=1

This post has been edited by jind86: Oct 14 2009, 01:13 PM
TSjind86
post Oct 14 2009, 01:12 PM

1,507 posts

Every day for two weeks, a new video that shows you, in sixty seconds, a money-saving style secret—hosted by GQ's style expert, Jim Moore.

http://www.gqrules.com/

Those interested can sign up for free =)

This post has been edited by jind86: Oct 14 2009, 01:13 PM
pejalGSR
post Oct 27 2009, 04:54 PM

man....very2 gud articles...
keep it goin guys....
thumbs up..
SUSarjunawong
post Nov 8 2009, 04:01 PM

22 posts

jean n t shirt still goes well with me with this hot temperatures
pejalGSR
post Nov 12 2009, 10:08 AM

mr jind..
wat if only two button blazer
issit always first...n never second
or
sumtimes first..alwys second
how arrr?
just curios....
tongue.gif
TSjind86
post Nov 12 2009, 12:14 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(pejalGSR @ Nov 12 2009, 10:08 AM)
mr jind..
wat if only two button blazer
issit always first...n never second
or
sumtimes first..alwys second
how arrr?
just curios....
tongue.gif
i never fasten the last button..
pejalGSR
post Nov 12 2009, 10:06 PM

QUOTE(jind86 @ Nov 12 2009, 12:14 PM)
i never fasten the last button..
thought so...thnkx yar..
TSjind86
post Nov 15 2009, 07:17 PM

1,507 posts

There's simply just too many Malaysians who jump into conclusion that a dress shirt (which is the proper term for the widely used formal shirt) or a dress pant is considered formal, when they are actually not.. A single piece of clothing by itself does make the entire outfit formal, its all the right pieces together.. Similarly, a person who's wearing a dress shirt, necktie, suit jacket (yes, the jacket is called a suit jacket and not just suit) and jeans, does that make the look formal? It's not about a single piece, but all the pieces together..

simple illustration of dress codes:

image found by calvinloke
attacusatlas
post Dec 9 2009, 09:52 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

Ten Worst Male Fashion Offenses

http://www.tressugar.com/6215998?page=0,0,0
TSjind86
post Dec 15 2009, 03:38 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Dec 9 2009, 09:52 PM)
Ten Worst Male Fashion Offenses

http://www.tressugar.com/6215998?page=0,0,0
i don't agree with some, especially the one on skinny jeans..
TSjind86
post Dec 15 2009, 03:40 PM

1,507 posts

Project Upgrade

> Before you rent the tux..

chuakz
post Dec 18 2009, 06:18 PM

1,192 posts

jind86....jus wanna ask what men's fashion magazine you would recommend me getting? prefer magazines with malaysian prices for the clothes shown and such....if M'sian mens mags aren't tht good foreign ones are ok too....and the price...=)
yii123
post Jan 7 2010, 07:39 PM

http://www.details.com/style-advice/rules-...milan-and-paris

THE TREND: COLOR AND PATTERN
Some designers—like Stefano Pilati at Yves Saint Laurent and Kean Etro—applied bold strokes of color, while others embraced idiosyncratic prints. At Jil Sander, Raf Simons sculpted austere coats and suits from a marbled fabric. Dries Van Noten, who described his collection as "unconventional traditionalism," deftly mixed prints and textures, and Miuccia Prada took a sledgehammer to customary men’s attire with skintight, flesh-colored sweaters and triangular pieces of fabric that clung to models’ bodies like bikinis.

THE TREND: THE NEW FORMAL
The reinvented tuxedo was a provocative presence on the runway. Far from the pedestrian version, it ran the gamut from avant-garde (Dolce & Gabbana’s sharp navy jacket covered in an imperceptible layer of organza) to nostalgic (Lanvin’s mismatched, textured jackets and cropped trousers). "It’s more formal, more dressy, more crisp," said Lucas Ossendrijver, men’s designer at Lanvin, of the collection. At Burberry Prorsum, Christopher Bailey dismissed the tuxedo jacket altogether and put gauzy V-neck sweaters over silk shirts and bow ties. Tomas Maier, Bottega Veneta’s creative director, went his own way. At first glance, his strong-shouldered jackets and pleated white shirts appeared traditional, but below the waist were baggy pants that provided a striking counterpoint. "A man’s wardrobe has become much broader," Maier said. "Things that were not possible before are possible now."

THE TREND: CHECKS AND PLAIDS
Tartan and other traditional prints were an unequivocal trend. British designers Paul Smith and Alexander McQueen used the former liberally in their collections, and Kris Van Assche worked contrasting checks into patchwork shirts. Yohji Yamamoto indulged his penchant for plaid and draped swaths of fabric in the print over his signature suits. You may not be wearing head-to-toe tartan come September, but that plaid tie might suddenly seem remarkably fresh.

This post has been edited by yii123: Jan 7 2010, 10:47 PM
yii123
post Jan 7 2010, 07:41 PM

Read them while u can, dont do the same mistake again guys. cheers rclxms.gif

http://www.details.com/style-advice/rules-...-and-dean-caten

Guys never get proportions right. They’re so used to enormous suits that when they try something semi-fitted they get freaked out. You’re not meant to do cartwheels in a suit. When you think you have the right size, take one smaller.

To change your look, accessorize differently. If you usually wear a white shirt, then add a tie one day, take the tie away the next. Wear a gold watch; wear a different belt.

For tuxedos, your shoes have to be brand-new. You should be at your best when wearing a tuxedo—it’s the most elegant you should ever be. If your footwear is looking a little less than perfect, it’s not acceptable.

Take one piece and let it make a statement—it can be an accent of color, or your jacket, or your socks. The rest of your clothes and accessories should play second fiddle. If something talks, the rest walk.

We can’t stand it when guys have girls’ eyebrows.

Too much cologne is sickening. It’s sexy when you can smell a man only when you get close to him but not when he walks into a room. Sexy is being a little bit reserved—not being too in-your-face.

We tend to overdress: It’s better to be overdressed than underdressed.

When shoes get worn in, you don’t have to throw them away—just wear them with jeans. When we break in a pair of brogues, they become our jean brogues, they’re not suit brogues anymore.

Guys don’t have a lot of options when it comes to playing with their look. There’s too much room for error with jewelry. Instead a guy should work ties (no Disney prints), cuff links, and watches. A man should have a yellow gold watch, a white sporty watch, and an evening watch.

During the winter, your coat is the most important item. Invest in an outer piece, because it’s the thing you’ll wear the most.

Added on January 7, 2010, 10:43 pmIt's from Dsquared2 designer. Dan and Dean Caten.

This post has been edited by yii123: Jan 7 2010, 10:43 PM
Daymon
post Jan 7 2010, 08:53 PM

399 posts

lol...like this also can ar..
creat topic> insert a site > no any description..laugh.gif
yii123
post Jan 7 2010, 10:38 PM

QUOTE(Daymon @ Jan 7 2010, 08:53 PM)
lol...like this also can ar..
creat topic> insert a site > no any description..laugh.gif
juz wanna share smthing to everyone. biggrin.gif
Steven_aka_G
post Feb 6 2010, 03:05 PM

524 posts

Guys, when I wear formal shirts, the back of my shirt kinda puffs out which I feel looks horrible when seen sideways. Is there any way to avoid this?
TSjind86
post Feb 6 2010, 11:41 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(Steven_aka_G @ Feb 6 2010, 03:05 PM)
Guys, when I wear formal shirts, the back of my shirt kinda puffs out which I feel looks horrible when seen sideways. Is there any way to avoid this?
yes, alteration..
yii123
post Mar 27 2010, 11:29 PM

MENS WORST STYLE MISTAKE
http://www.gq.com/entertainment/humor/2010...e-coyle#slide=1

1. Embellished jeans
2. Guylights ( high lighted hair)
3. Mesh clothing
4. Ed Hardy
5. Sunglasses indoors or at night
6. Stupid t-shirts
7. Overly tan
8. The skullet
9. Fur coat (Thank god we're in malaysia) rclxms.gif
10. Sports jerseys
11. Leather pants
12. Overly cologned
13. Hair plugs
14. Tighty whities
15. Colored contacts
16. Sideways baseball hat: A.K.A "the Hat Tilt"
18. Perm
18. Tacky polyester suits
19. Pinky rings

Click in the GQ.com website for more details. thumbup.gif
irmond
post Apr 6 2010, 05:17 AM

629 posts

a man most important stylish performance usually is the "HAIR".

a bad hair day would create a dooms day for anyone..

I suggest everyone with dry hair..not oily..only with dry hair to get wax and hair spray to obtain a perfect balance of fuzzy look..

with oily and wet hair i would advise a super hard gel or a wet gel would do..
please don't get those cheap ones with bad scent or fragrance that the gel pollute to the hair..

some gel creates bad scent that u know u can easily get from supermarket e.g; 7-eleven..

get a brand that name loreal or oasis or gatsby..this would surely help u in boosting ur confidence..
Seriously, the 1st impression is ur hair..a messy hair would reduce ur confidence and self-esteem, if u don't trust me..

ask urself, the 1st thing when u see a men or a women, what do u look at?
the answer should be "HAIR".

This post has been edited by irmond: Apr 6 2010, 05:17 AM
absorb-d
post Apr 23 2010, 02:09 PM

1,115 posts

fark i never do anything to my hair since getting outa bed =/

QUOTE(yii123 @ Mar 27 2010, 11:29 PM)
MENS WORST STYLE MISTAKE
http://www.gq.com/entertainment/humor/2010...e-coyle#slide=1

1. Embellished jeans
2. Guylights ( high lighted hair)
3. Mesh clothing
4. Ed Hardy
5. Sunglasses indoors or at night
6. Stupid t-shirts
7. Overly tan
8. The skullet
9. Fur coat (Thank god we're in malaysia) rclxms.gif
10. Sports jerseys
11. Leather pants
12. Overly cologned
13. Hair plugs
14. Tighty whities
15. Colored contacts
16. Sideways baseball hat: A.K.A "the Hat Tilt"
18. Perm
18. Tacky polyester suits
19. Pinky rings

Click in the GQ.com website for more details. thumbup.gif
guilty of only 1, sports jerseys which i disagree

This post has been edited by absorb-d: Apr 23 2010, 02:12 PM
melvintcs
post May 1 2010, 01:42 AM

♥ Photography ♪
1,350 posts

i hav black blazer, silver/white tie, black long pant... wat color of formal cloth should i wear? hmm.gif
crapoccur
post May 1 2010, 02:14 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(melvintcs @ May 1 2010, 01:42 AM)
i hav black blazer, silver/white tie, black long pant... wat color of formal cloth should i wear? hmm.gif
White shirt in a black suit and a black tie can be beautiful, if you can pull it off.
melvintcs
post May 1 2010, 03:00 AM

♥ Photography ♪
1,350 posts

but mine is black blazer and white tie...biggrin.gif
crapoccur
post May 1 2010, 06:05 AM

489 posts

my advice is get a black tie.
melvintcs
post May 1 2010, 12:36 PM

♥ Photography ♪
1,350 posts

black tie, pink cloth.. how about that? not bad huh? tongue.gif
crapoccur
post May 2 2010, 01:10 AM

489 posts

black tie and pink shirt is ok..
jaclynjac
post May 6 2010, 11:19 AM

297 posts

black blazer + dark shirt + white tie = nice
crapoccur
post May 6 2010, 08:05 PM

489 posts

dark blazer + dark tie + white shirt = nicer

BikerVoodoo
post Jun 30 2010, 06:33 AM

448 posts

I noticed a guy walking around with
- Grey (very) peaked lapel double breasted suit
- Prominent black buttons, running up the side of the chest
- Walking around with the double breasted suit UNBUTTONED

He also thinks he is the smartest of all and everyone else is stupid. Despite all that, he consistently fails in his work projects.
bloke1
post Jun 30 2010, 12:02 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

QUOTE(jaclynjac @ May 6 2010, 11:19 AM)
black blazer + dark shirt + white tie = nice
God almighty! shocking.gif
lanatir
post Jul 1 2010, 10:22 AM

472 posts

http://www.klue.com.my/klassifieds/21512

nah for those who are keen...
kotmj
post Jul 1 2010, 03:44 PM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 1 2010, 10:22 AM)
http://www.klue.com.my/klassifieds/21512

nah for those who are keen...
I think Fusionsex has potential to win something here...
Cheenoo
post Jul 1 2010, 09:05 PM

Alpha as fuck
845 posts

Looks real fishy..pls be careful fusionsex!
kotmj
post Jul 1 2010, 09:20 PM

3,802 posts

Yes, if you're not careful you might end up getting anal gang raped!
antaeusguy
post Jul 14 2010, 08:44 PM

209 posts

Yahoo posted an article about Men's 10 biggest mistake

http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/beauty/you-.../#photoViewer=1

Guess what? Ed Hardy came up #1 in the list...
raul88
post Aug 17 2010, 05:31 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,279 posts

QUOTE(antaeusguy @ Jul 14 2010, 08:44 PM)
Yahoo posted an article about Men's 10 biggest mistake

http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/beauty/you-.../#photoViewer=1

Guess what? Ed Hardy came up #1 in the list...
skinny jeans a mistake???
ZintanthraX
post Oct 9 2010, 05:05 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

for me,a serious mistake a man do in their wearings is d phone case(d 1 dat they hook on their belt) n d other 1 is (i think lots n lots n lots of ppl do it) wearing a belt with diff colour from d shoe. smile.gif
bloke1
post Oct 9 2010, 05:40 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Oct 9 2010, 05:05 AM)
for me,a serious mistake a man do in their wearings is d phone case(d 1 dat they hook on their belt) n d other 1 is (i think lots n lots n lots of ppl do it) wearing a belt with diff colour from d shoe. smile.gif
That's silly. Have you been reading too much GQ rules? They need not match exactly the same, as long as they're in the same family.

This post has been edited by bloke1: Oct 9 2010, 05:41 PM
ZintanthraX
post Oct 9 2010, 10:16 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Oct 9 2010, 05:40 PM)
That's silly. Have you been reading too much GQ rules? They need not match exactly the same, as long as they're in the same family.
its ok if ur wearing it as streetwear.but 4 formal,they look ridiculous.....i saw lots n lot of guys out there (normally with d phonecase hanged on their belt) wear a burgundy/brown belt n a black shoe,n not 2 4get,act like their d ultimate beng....duh..... laugh.gif

compare which 1 btter smile.gif

unmatched belt n shoe...

matched belt n shoe...

its not dat hard.buy both,i mean d belt n d shoe,matched black,or both brown.

This post has been edited by ZintanthraX: Oct 9 2010, 10:39 PM
bloke1
post Oct 9 2010, 11:18 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

And I was right.

Note that I said same family of colors. A burgundy belt would work with brown shoes. It's a no brainer not to match brown and black together. Every kid who reads GQ knows that. But the general consensus here is no belt for businesswear. Belts are for small timers. Side adjusters and braces are the only way to get around here.

Don't read too much GQ otherwise you'll end up like...

ZintanthraX
post Oct 10 2010, 01:18 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

braces? wow... laugh.gif
Cheenoo
post Oct 10 2010, 07:33 PM

Alpha as fuck
845 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Oct 10 2010, 01:18 AM)
braces? wow... laugh.gif
The only acceptable belt around here is real croc. wub.gif
beau
post Oct 12 2010, 11:56 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Cheenoo @ Oct 10 2010, 07:33 PM)
The only acceptable belt around here is real croc.  wub.gif
The ones made from the belly of West Nile Crocs , the softness Croc skins in the world
Cheenoo
post Oct 17 2010, 07:48 PM

Alpha as fuck
845 posts

QUOTE(beau @ Oct 12 2010, 11:56 PM)
The ones made from the belly of West Nile Crocs , the softness Croc skins in the world
How do Malaysian crocs fare on softness?

This post has been edited by Cheenoo: Oct 17 2010, 07:48 PM
beau
post Oct 17 2010, 10:34 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Cheenoo @ Oct 17 2010, 07:48 PM)
How do Malaysian crocs fare on softness?
Not sure. The expert on this subject is a certain Penangnite currently appealing against his sentence
joejoe0731
post Dec 18 2010, 12:12 PM

Hey! Can anyone provide me steps to tuck in casual shirts neatly?
Cheenoo
post Dec 18 2010, 05:17 PM

Alpha as fuck
845 posts

^Keep your torso as straight as possible while tucking in.
Balaclava
post Dec 18 2010, 08:21 PM

5-Star Swagger
941 posts

I have a question Cheenoo, when tucking in shirts, do you pull some out to cover the edge of your trousers, or you just tuck them in and leave the trousers edge visible?
Cheenoo
post Dec 19 2010, 12:20 PM

Alpha as fuck
845 posts

I don't pull out. I try to have them as tucked as possible. But this is not possible if your shirt's too baggy.
Zephyr_Mage
post Dec 20 2010, 12:23 AM

Validating
5,444 posts

Unless you are a robot or a mannequin, your shirt WILL come out a bit when you move your arms around.

My advice: Tuck them in as much as possible. If your shirt fits perfectly, it will look fine.
Schampoo
post Apr 20 2011, 02:36 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Dec 18 2009, 06:18 PM)
jind86....jus wanna ask what men's fashion magazine you would recommend me getting? prefer magazines with malaysian prices for the clothes shown and such....if M'sian mens mags aren't tht good foreign ones are ok too....and the price...=)
Anyone can recommend? biggrin.gif
linkinwayne
post Apr 26 2011, 07:04 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(Schampoo @ Apr 20 2011, 03:36 AM)
Anyone can recommend?  biggrin.gif
No point getting any. Check out gq.com, they mostly recycle their stuff yearly, but most of the articles go online anyway. Then you have gilt.com/manual and about a million other style blogs/tumblrs to check out (mostexerent, put this on etc.)
brandon alexander toh
post Apr 26 2011, 07:29 PM

Bicycleninja
333 posts

QUOTE(Schampoo @ Apr 20 2011, 02:36 AM)
Anyone can recommend?  biggrin.gif
i read "august men".
you should try it out too.
kotmj
post May 28 2011, 01:59 AM

3,802 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SddMJoVHvg
shyey
post May 30 2011, 11:07 PM

201 posts

any articles on tying our shoelace?
i see some people make a ribbon and hide it inside the shoe... wonder how they do it?

i would like to know tips to hide a ribbon knot on my boat shoe/ox shoe/etc...
crapoccur
post May 31 2011, 10:23 PM

489 posts

Google surgeon's knot. It's better than hiding it.

Grimm
post Jun 1 2011, 10:26 AM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

I think it's a good read, "Slow fashion".

http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2008/au...retail.fashion1

credits to Cheeno I think, for introducing this.
shyey
post Jun 1 2011, 10:26 AM

201 posts

Good tips! ^^

Anyway, a not-so-trivial-question...
i've some casual pants and one slack/office pants (all from G2000) what kind of shoe would be matching with the pants? for casually outing, not some high-profile gathering or dinner.

the only method i can try is loafer & boat/deck shoe. any opinion?
thanks.
bloke1
post Jun 1 2011, 06:04 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

^Suede double monkstraps/chukka boots
shyey
post Jun 1 2011, 06:58 PM

201 posts

Thanks!
Chukka boots was what i've been searching for in the past few days.
But is it able to match an outfit? top: ?? polos/long sleeves? bottom: casual pants

Yesterday saw this type of shoes at timberland, really nice. but costly RM400+ ...

i think i'll find alternative brand or go back to singapore to buy, cheaper.

This post has been edited by shyey: Jun 1 2011, 07:04 PM
bloke1
post Jun 1 2011, 07:46 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

Pebble grain or suede leather is more casual. You can wear them with a polo
xphossis
post Jun 20 2011, 03:23 PM

Me Gusta!
878 posts

An interesting article regarding ankle showing pants nowadays blush.gif
SOS

Zephyr_Mage
post Jun 27 2011, 12:37 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

I saw almost every dude in Japan wear those cut off pants, but for some reason they don't look that sillyt doing it. I used to absolutely loathe them.
absorb-d
post Jun 29 2011, 08:53 PM

1,115 posts

there is an interesting documentary regarding the secrets of fashion superbrands, BBC Secerts of the Superbrands, part 2 Fashion
its good informative watch, it tells about the history, the psychology, brand power, income pyramid and even who started destroyed denim etc involving the brand giants like LV, burberry, nike etc

This post has been edited by absorb-d: Jun 29 2011, 08:59 PM
sin2010
post Jun 30 2011, 06:45 PM

148 posts

hi everyone, regarding to tuck and untuck the shirt, is it suitable i untuck my shirt (for casual wearing)? which kind of shirt should be tucked n untucked? any guideline?
linkinwayne
post Jul 2 2011, 02:09 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(absorb-d @ Jun 29 2011, 09:53 PM)
there is an interesting documentary regarding the secrets of fashion superbrands, BBC Secerts of the Superbrands, part 2 Fashion
its good informative watch, it tells about the history, the psychology, brand power, income pyramid and even who started destroyed denim etc involving the brand giants like LV, burberry, nike etc
Just watched the whole series (3 parts only, I think). Pretty interesting stuff, definitely worth a watch.

QUOTE(sin2010 @ Jun 30 2011, 07:45 PM)
hi everyone,  regarding to tuck and untuck the shirt, is it suitable i untuck my shirt (for casual wearing)? which kind of shirt should be tucked n untucked? any guideline?
Some shirts are made for untucking, they'll typically be too short to tuck in or the sides will come out whenever you lift your arms a tad. Feel free to alter other shirts to be worn casually shorter, but obviously it's more of a case by case basis than anything. Some shirts just don't look good untucked.

Also, make sure they don't go lower than halfway down your crotch, anything lower tends to look like you were too dumb to tuck it in
Loej
post Jul 2 2011, 07:42 PM

120 posts

hey guys, where can i get some pretty decent collar stiffeners in Melaka?
KL?
tjwn
post Jul 26 2011, 02:09 PM

255 posts

http://style.ralphlauren.com/askralph/styl..._MEN_EXPLORENOW

worth have a look
irmond
post Aug 26 2011, 11:38 PM

629 posts

what is the best collar when wearing a suit?
based on this
might be the tab color.
based on experience thru watching movie I guess.

This post has been edited by irmond: Aug 26 2011, 11:41 PM
izwanz
post Sep 6 2011, 06:18 PM

565 posts

Will people laugh at you if you go around wearing suits like Barney Stinson in HIMYM?
stylophile
post Sep 6 2011, 09:22 PM

201 posts

^have you met kotmj?
JeffxMatt
post Sep 6 2011, 10:02 PM

136 posts

i dont think he has.

anyway, Izwanz, dont you worry. you can wear a suit everyday and if anyone laughs, theyre just sartorially stupid.

p.s: id wear a suit everyday if i can afford to have enough no of suits for everyday wear.

kotmj
post Sep 7 2011, 12:14 AM

3,802 posts

Dunno who Barney Stinson is, but suits are really only worn by certain people at certain times.

If you're a low level employee that people have trouble taking seriously and you go about in a cheap suit indiscriminately, people will think you're not only young and inexperienced, they will also think you are stupid.

For some people in some circumstances, not wearing a suit is a sign that you should be removed from your job. Immediately. Think of when meeting with ministers at officiating ceremonies, industry prize-giving ceremonies, when giving a speech to other businesspeople...

Suits are highly ceremonial in nature. They also happen to be, in this country, worn infrequently, but when a suit is called for, much depends on it being a good one. There is no better way to lower your status than weraring a bad suit when the spotlight shines on you and several hundred eyes gaze upon you.

But what Malaysians do not know is that there exists a whole genre of tailored clothing that is based around the tailored jacket but which is unmistakably casual. An opened neck buttondown shirt with a cream linen jacket worn with jeans is perceived as casual by everyone whose opinions are worth anything. (fan cheongs will remain fan cheongs and will always be clueless and stupid)

This Stinson guy is irrelevant to the wearing of tailored garments.
dvlzplayground
post Sep 7 2011, 12:28 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(izwanz @ Sep 6 2011, 06:18 PM)
Will people laugh at you if you go around wearing suits like Barney Stinson in HIMYM?
the fact that he wears a suit all the time (even his pyjamas is kind of a suit) is a running joke throughout the series should give you a clue tongue.gif
JeffxMatt
post Sep 7 2011, 02:35 AM

136 posts

the funny thing about Barney is that, he tailors all of his suits...or at least he claims them to be...then again, no one knows what he does for a living and how the hell is he so damn rich.
kit615
post Sep 14 2011, 04:23 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(JeffxMatt @ Sep 7 2011, 02:35 AM)
the funny thing about Barney is that, he tailors all of his suits...or at least he claims them to be...then again, no one knows what he does for a living and how the hell is he so damn rich.
He haz a lot of keys!

JeffxMatt
post Sep 16 2011, 03:30 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(kit615 @ Sep 14 2011, 04:23 PM)
He haz a lot of keys!
keys?
Mihawk7
post Sep 16 2011, 06:54 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(JeffxMatt @ Sep 16 2011, 03:30 PM)
keys?
If im not mistaken, Ted mosby said something about Barney and his job. The line goes "I dont know what he did for a living but he does has a lot of keys........" tongue.gif
kotmj
post Sep 16 2011, 08:20 PM

3,802 posts

If this Barney guy is a caricature, then izwanz's question could only have come from a stupendously stupid pea-sized brain.

It's like asking, "If I dress like Ronald McDonald will people laugh at me?"
Mihawk7
post Sep 17 2011, 05:04 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 16 2011, 08:20 PM)
If this Barney guy is a caricature, then izwanz's question could only have come from a stupendously stupid pea-sized brain.

It's like asking, "If I dress like Ronald McDonald will people laugh at me?"
Chill bro. Barney is not a cartoon. He's rated as top 100 world most influential men in 2010 if im not mistaken. His question is justified.

steward911
post Nov 5 2011, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(Mihawk7 @ Sep 17 2011, 05:04 PM)
Chill bro. Barney is not a cartoon. He's rated as top 100 world most influential men in  2010 if im not mistaken. His question is justified.
I prefer 8118 superfine series
couleur
post Nov 22 2011, 01:50 AM

188 posts

My tips is...

Always work out, to get a decent body shape to fit most clothes, dont have to be muscular, just need to be fit.

Make sure you buy your clothes size. Never be tempted to buy something bigger and think you can fit in the near future.

When you buy shirts, make sure the sleeves fall well on your hand. If its too long, alter it. If its too short, buy a bigger size (the sleeves will be longer and will fall nice, if it doesn't means the brand is pretty bad in making shirts) but check whether collar fits when button up, make sure you can only fit two fingers maximum when you button up the shirt. If its okay, the width of the shirt is usually bigger, so alter it to fit. Add darts or take in by the side. If you dont feel like spending that money, look out for SLIM FIT shirts. Not all brands are the same, Zara makes good Slim Fit which is reasonable and cheap. Keep in mind even expensive brands needs alteration, there is no such thing as a perfect fit shirt for the mass market! Also, if the sleeves is too short, you might want to think whether you will likely roll them up since malaysia is always hot. If you are going to wear them casual and think that most of the time it will be rolled up, then its okay to buy.

About Jeans or Pants length, if you want them to be shorten, make sure when you wear them the pants only breaks once when it touches your shoe. If it breaks more than 2 to 3 or more creases, means its too long. Also ensure you always wear your shoe when you get them shorten, if you dont, after tailoring it will be likely to be longer than you expected.

About shoe sizes. Make sure you know your Euro size. Example. 41, 42, 43, 44, they do half sizes too so double check. Euro size is important because not all shoes share the same UK and US sizes. If you are a half size like me, 43.5 it is always better to buy half size smaller than half size bigger, shoes can expand (not sure about sneakers unless they are leather or suede). Your feet wont grow when you after 20 years old. Unless you eat more and gain weight it will only grow on the width. The sizes are D, E, EE.. for shoe width most shoes runs on D and E.

Men wardrobe basics

Sneaker
Black work shoes
Patent dress shoes

Blue Jeans
Dark Jeans
Chinos (if you are young)
Shorts

Black Suit
Blue Navy blazer

White shirt (Always but the best white shirt you can afford. Many people think white shirt can buy cheap ones and wont make difference. Dont be wrong, it is very easy to tell a cheap shirt from a well made shirt even if they are both just plain white.
Black shirt (buy the best you can afford)
Light blue shirt

Checked shirt

T shirts < buy as much as you like. Make sure they fit well

Always find the best tailor you can afford to tailor you suits. You dont want someone to fit you like the 70's, do research, find feedback's before attempting to engage a tailor. Look up at the latest cuts, or timeless pieces, see how well they are fitted, learn and replicate the fit. Brands like Brioni, Caruso, Pal Zaleri, Kiton, Ermeneigildo Zegna, Tom Ford has long history or good reputation in making suits.

This post has been edited by couleur: Nov 22 2011, 01:51 AM
500Kmission
post Jan 13 2012, 01:03 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(couleur @ Nov 22 2011, 01:50 AM)
My tips is...

Always work out, to get a decent body shape to fit most clothes, dont have to be muscular, just need to be fit.

Make sure you buy your clothes size. Never be tempted to buy something bigger and think you can fit in the near future.

When you buy shirts, make sure the sleeves fall well on your hand. If its too long, alter it. If its too short, buy a bigger size (the sleeves will be longer and will fall nice, if it doesn't means the brand is pretty bad in making shirts) but check whether collar fits when button up, make sure you can only fit two fingers maximum when you button up the shirt. If its okay, the width of the shirt is usually bigger, so alter it to fit. Add darts or take in by the side. If you dont feel like spending that money, look out for SLIM FIT shirts. Not all brands are the same, Zara makes good Slim Fit which is reasonable and cheap. Keep in mind even expensive brands needs alteration, there is no such thing as a perfect fit shirt for the mass market! Also, if the sleeves is too short, you might want to think whether you will likely roll them up since malaysia is always hot. If you are going to wear them casual and think that most of the time it will be rolled up, then its okay to buy.

About Jeans or Pants length, if you want them to be shorten, make sure when you wear them the pants only breaks once when it touches your shoe. If it breaks more than 2 to 3 or more creases, means its too long. Also ensure you always wear your shoe when you get them shorten, if you dont, after tailoring it will be likely to be longer than you expected.

About shoe sizes. Make sure you know your Euro size. Example. 41, 42, 43, 44, they do half sizes too so double check. Euro size is important because not all shoes share the same UK and US sizes. If you are a half size like me, 43.5 it is always better to buy half size smaller than half size bigger, shoes can expand (not sure about sneakers unless they are leather or suede). Your feet wont grow when you after 20 years old. Unless you eat more and gain weight it will only grow on the width. The sizes are D, E, EE.. for shoe width most shoes runs on D and E.

Men wardrobe basics

Sneaker
Black work shoes
Patent dress shoes

Blue Jeans
Dark Jeans
Shorts

Black Suit
Blue Navy blazer

White shirt (Always but the best white shirt you can afford. Many people think white shirt can buy cheap ones and wont make difference. Dont be wrong, it is very easy to tell a cheap shirt from a well made shirt even if they are both just plain white.
Light blue shirt

Checked shirt

Always find the best tailor you can afford to tailor you suits. You dont want someone to fit you like the 70's, do research, find feedback's before attempting to engage a tailor. Look up at the latest cuts, or timeless pieces, see how well they are fitted, learn and replicate the fit. Brands like Brioni, Caruso, Pal Zaleri, Kiton, Ermeneigildo Zegna, Tom Ford has long history or good reputation in making suits.
Thanks for the tips
cheezzzz
post Jan 13 2012, 05:06 PM

610 posts

+1.

i think Malaysia is infested with too many ppl in the business who just wanna make money ie shops in Sg Wang. noone wants to make/sell clothes that give the ones wearing them the satisfaction they deserve.
jihar08
post Mar 6 2012, 08:24 AM

QUOTE(jind86 @ Feb 13 2009, 04:34 PM)
Roll up your sleeves, the right way

Source: GQ
I like this. Keep it up.

ideas for walk in closet
ghostrider888
post Jun 22 2012, 03:08 AM

good thread! keep it up guys!

Added on June 22, 2012, 3:09 amanyone selling gshock watches here? pls pm me, thanks.

This post has been edited by ghostrider888: Jun 22 2012, 03:09 AM
ujelly
post Jul 12 2012, 04:20 PM

89 posts

nice fashion advice

This post has been edited by ujelly: Jul 12 2012, 04:20 PM
WiLeKiyO
post Aug 19 2012, 12:11 PM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(Mihawk7 @ Sep 17 2011, 05:04 PM)
Chill bro. Barney is not a cartoon. He's rated as top 100 world most influential men in  2010 if im not mistaken. His question is justified.
The straightest gay. laugh.gif
Ethan07
post Aug 31 2012, 07:49 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Sep 7 2011, 12:28 AM)
the fact that he wears a suit all the time (even his pyjamas is kind of a suit) is a running joke throughout the series should give you a clue tongue.gif
hey that's showing how legend...

wait for it...

DARY he is!

Added on August 31, 2012, 8:01 pm
My tips is...

Men wardrobe basics

Sneaker
Black work shoes
Patent dress shoes

Blue Jeans
Dark Jeans
Shorts

Black Suit
Blue Navy blazer

Light blue shirt

Checked shirt

can recommend some nice but affordable brand of shirt? i've tried and bought quite a number of brand but still can't feel anyone that's satisfying enough...

This post has been edited by Ethan07: Aug 31 2012, 08:01 PM
Boykidz93
post Oct 7 2012, 03:08 PM

iKnow uJealous, Look at my starS
2,334 posts

QUOTE(Ethan07 @ Aug 31 2012, 07:49 PM)
hey that's showing how legend...

wait for it...
DARY he is!

Added on August 31, 2012, 8:01 pm
can recommend some nice but affordable brand of shirt? i've tried and bought quite a number of brand but still can't feel anyone that's satisfying enough...
Shirt? U can try g2000, affordable + comfortable...

dvlzplayground
post Oct 15 2012, 11:57 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

mark & spencer is pretty good for the price. slim fit choices are limited though.

i like zara too but then for rm200 each, i'd rather have a tailor make one for me
Boykidz93
post Nov 1 2012, 01:27 AM

iKnow uJealous, Look at my starS
2,334 posts

hope can get solution, advise, suggesstion from you guys,
When i wear 75% formal, long-sleeve, wanna look like not SO formal yet formal,
Izzit i have to wear slack pant?
Anyone wear formal without slack pants?
Any other choices ? hehehex
dr.evil
post Nov 19 2012, 01:13 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(Boykidz93 @ Nov 1 2012, 01:27 AM)
wears them with chinos, it is technically "less formal" or jeans.
i wear them with vintage military sateen pants
veninomous
post Nov 21 2012, 03:06 PM

QUOTE(Boykidz93 @ Nov 1 2012, 01:27 AM)
Shirt with tie, plus pants and then covered with leather jacket.
Formal yet not so very formal to me. biggrin.gif
Amanda'S
post Dec 23 2012, 01:45 PM

17 posts

Thanks for the sharing...
Henry_heller
post Jan 31 2013, 01:34 PM

Thinking How to tie a tiehow to tie a tie? then read these more simple steps and your problem is solved!

Keat999
post May 30 2013, 11:13 AM

BOY LONDON ORIGINAL SNAPBACK ! GUARANTEE 100% ORIGINAL AND AUTHENTIC , VERY LIMITED ! PM FOR THE BEST PRICE ! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

karl_storm
post Jun 16 2013, 07:58 AM

31 posts

Hi guys, I need advices.

I recently received a new shoe from family.
user posted imageuser posted image

I'm highly uncertained how to dress up with shoe of that colour scheme. Can any pro enlighten me with a suitable colour scheme of jeans and t-shirts?
Grimm
post Jun 16 2013, 02:05 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

Basics - wear something with the same colour scheme? Dull yellow t-shirt and a lighter coloured jean could do the trick

http://cdn4.lbstatic.nu/files/looks/medium....jpg?1367117830

If you're feeling more adventurous

http://cdn1.lbstatic.nu/files/looks/small/....jpg?1327983440

I reckon this is very common in Msia, so you should also be able to get something like this

http://traclist.com/sneakersden/519ba71474...g-pony-t-shirt/
karl_storm
post Jun 16 2013, 03:16 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Jun 16 2013, 02:05 PM)
Basics - wear something with the same colour scheme? Dull yellow t-shirt and a lighter coloured jean could do the trick

http://cdn4.lbstatic.nu/files/looks/medium....jpg?1367117830

If you're feeling more adventurous

http://cdn1.lbstatic.nu/files/looks/small/....jpg?1327983440

I reckon this is very common in Msia, so you should also be able to get something like this

http://traclist.com/sneakersden/519ba71474...g-pony-t-shirt/
What about in the case that I don't want to wear the same colour scheme? Any other scheme recommendation?

This post has been edited by karl_storm: Jun 16 2013, 03:16 PM
isaacjoe
post Jul 12 2013, 04:24 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(karl_storm @ Jun 16 2013, 07:58 AM)
Hi guys, I need advices.

I recently received a new shoe from family.
user posted imageuser posted image

I'm highly uncertained how to dress up with shoe of that colour scheme. Can any pro enlighten me with a suitable colour scheme of jeans and t-shirts?
how about a pair of slim fit jeans and a tshirt.
shah05
post Jul 12 2013, 07:11 PM

72 posts

How bout guys with clutch bag.. Its look good rite?
SUSJames Bum
post Jul 12 2013, 07:27 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(shah05 @ Jul 12 2013, 07:11 PM)
How bout guys with clutch bag.. Its look good rite?
It looks as bad as a guy holding a murse or manbag...
shah05
post Jul 12 2013, 10:10 PM

72 posts

Hahaa.. Too bad.. But clutch is more smaller than manbag besides it can fit your gadget as well smile.gif
jayxunned
post Jul 13 2013, 04:59 PM

478 posts

--

This post has been edited by jayxunned: Jul 13 2013, 07:17 PM
arshley
post Jul 17 2013, 02:47 PM

I am interested in tailored dress shirts and feel this best for the men Dress Shirts

This post has been edited by arshley: Jul 17 2013, 02:51 PM
erwanyale
post Jul 19 2013, 02:55 PM

Hi Guys, I've been browsing on a lot of men's style guides and tips and really found some awesome blogs that can really be relevant when it comes to fixing an outfit for a certain occasion. Here's one site I recommend and enjoyed http://b-styleguide.com/. Thanks and check it out too!
miky007
post Jul 30 2013, 02:30 PM

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Feb 22 2009, 09:00 AM)
(i dont really know how to tie a tie so just sharing what i've learnt so far.. )

To tie the Half Windsor Knot, select a necktie of your choice and stand in front of a mirror. Then simply follow the steps below:

1) Start with the wide end ("W") of your necktie on the right, extending about 12 inches below the narrow end ("N") on the left.

2) Then cross the wide end over the narrow end.

3) Bring the wide end around and behind the narrow end.

4) Then bring the wide end up.

5) Pull the wide end through the loop and to the right.

6) Bring the wide end around front, over the narrow end from right to left.

7) Again, bring the wide end up and through the loop.

8) Then, bring the wide end down through the knot in front.

9) And -- using both hands -- tighten the knot carefully and draw it up to the collar.

from http://www.tie-a-tie.net/halfwindsor.html
That is really a good post. Thanks

absorb-d
post Sep 18 2013, 12:43 PM

1,115 posts

some reminders covers both male and female
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-24019737

SUSTyler__Durden
post Sep 27 2013, 02:09 PM

98 posts

http://www.wellbuiltstyle.com/

Great site for style reference.
nles
post Nov 12 2013, 08:13 PM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

Wondering what to wear for my brother's wedding dinner, don't want too suit up, guest might mistaken that i'm the one whos getting married, happens to me before.

Probably not a tux, not too casual either...... any recommendation?
Azure19
post Dec 9 2013, 03:12 PM

44 posts

Edit..wrong thread

This post has been edited by Azure19: Dec 9 2013, 09:54 PM
eddyeddy
post Dec 16 2013, 09:55 PM

18 posts

http://www.esteemfashiontailor.com/category/blog/

This custom made suit shop in PJ area also has an interesting blog for suit advice. Pretty neat i would say
theoneandonly1
post Dec 22 2013, 10:12 PM

yea, i went to have a suit done for a business event, and the tailor did it decently, even quoting me a good price, definitely recommend him at Esteem Fashion

This post has been edited by theoneandonly1: Dec 22 2013, 10:13 PM
rivacordex
post Feb 21 2014, 07:34 PM

44 posts

http://www.bloomberg.com/video/how-good-wo...aAmi_hoxbg.html

Wonder how much suit that kinda money can get you?

RedWonder
post Apr 17 2014, 04:23 PM

Groom yourself for a job. different job, different appropriate looks. lol who knew:

https://www.facebook.com/DASHINGForMen/phot...?type=1&theater

abhicreative12
post May 22 2014, 07:17 PM

nice thread..!!! very informative

This post has been edited by abhicreative12: May 22 2014, 07:17 PM
abhicreative12
post May 23 2014, 07:36 PM

useful forum...!!!
blogshop
post May 24 2014, 10:32 PM

fashion never goes out of style. regardless of which era you live in . Have fun blogshopping
abhicreative12
post Jun 3 2014, 06:08 PM

Wow...got so much info on all types and designs....!! very nice one..!
trendin1234
post Jun 24 2014, 11:29 PM

24 posts

yup fashion never ends it changes with generations and it always changes..
Jason_Stitch09
post Jun 30 2014, 06:21 PM

Need your Advice guyzz..planning to buy this Jacket drool.gif

pangke
post Jul 3 2014, 03:52 PM

61 posts

hey guys, I am a typical tees and jeans type and just wondering if a Jordan11 would go well or will it be better that I wear shorts? I really love the shoes but it feels kinda bulky when I wear it with my 501's.
retarded_mj
post Jul 8 2014, 11:17 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(pangke @ Jul 3 2014, 03:52 PM)
hey guys, I am a typical tees and jeans type and just wondering if a Jordan11 would go well or will it be better that I wear shorts? I really love the shoes but it feels kinda bulky when I wear it with my 501's.
Which color of your 11?
pangke
post Jul 9 2014, 09:08 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(retarded_mj @ Jul 8 2014, 11:17 AM)
Which color of your 11?
hey bro, it's a low cut concord
retarded_mj
post Jul 9 2014, 02:14 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(pangke @ Jul 9 2014, 09:08 AM)
hey bro, it's a low cut concord
If you talking abt jeans, no loose fit jeans. Check below:

http://www.nicekicks.com/2014/05/01/on-foo...11-low-concord/

pangke
post Jul 9 2014, 02:47 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(retarded_mj @ Jul 9 2014, 02:14 PM)
If you talking abt jeans, no loose fit jeans. Check below:

http://www.nicekicks.com/2014/05/01/on-foo...11-low-concord/
thanks bro! thumbup.gif
trendin1234
post Jul 14 2014, 02:47 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Jason_Stitch09 @ Jun 30 2014, 06:21 PM)
Need your Advice guyzz..planning to buy this Jacket drool.gif
This jacket is looking cool..!!!
Haru@Glory
post Aug 22 2014, 05:41 PM

17 posts

bumps on useful thread..
activexxx
post Sep 16 2014, 10:14 PM

445 posts

I got a lot of checkered shirt in my wardrobe but my new company need us to wear tie during work.

I am having a hard time of what kind of tie to pair with my checkered shirt.

Any useful links for me to refer on this? Thanks.
trade99
post Sep 18 2014, 01:43 AM

199 posts

what to wear for wedding dinner ? formal long sleeve + vest coat ? or just formal long sleeve ? or short sleeve with short / long jeans ? give me some idea guys... thank you so much ! icon_question.gif
AhJetz
post Nov 3 2014, 09:39 PM

85 posts

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=147331...&type=2&theater

Good video on man's fashion
SUSGoldenHorn
post Mar 22 2015, 11:33 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(activexxx @ Sep 16 2014, 10:14 PM)
I got a lot of checkered shirt in my wardrobe but my new company need us to wear tie during work.

I am having a hard time of what kind of tie to pair with my checkered shirt.

Any useful links for me to refer on this? Thanks.
go with plain color tie?

or get new plain shirt tongue.gif
AlecStrong
post Apr 14 2015, 10:45 PM

I thought I had style until I came here and started reading all of these posts, thanks for the insights
Amandaff
post Jun 10 2015, 06:30 PM

Ohhh! I can that! rclxms.gif
Amandaff
post Jun 10 2015, 06:43 PM

Did U heard about Nick Wooster? He is amazing! http://www.nickwooster.com/
Should be a style icon for all mens!
Amandaff
post Jun 10 2015, 07:00 PM

Here some tips:

Some stylish hearcuts Stylish men's hair

And user posted image

And Men's Style

This post has been edited by Amandaff: Jun 10 2015, 07:06 PM
OvenBaked
post Jun 16 2015, 01:25 PM

Hurricane
726 posts

QUOTE(Amandaff @ Jun 10 2015, 07:00 PM)
Here some tips:

And user posted image

And Men's Style
nice nod.gif
scobyscoby
post Aug 1 2015, 07:28 AM

oh its really very helpful

scobyscoby
post Sep 10 2015, 04:16 AM

Thanks for sharing Really nice post about Men's Fashion and Style because every one one think about girls fashion and beauty thanks alot its really help me
MrCola
post Sep 17 2015, 05:43 PM

91 posts

I hate to wear long pants or jeans because my butt is too small and when i wear it then my ass will look like a wooden plank sad.gif so jealous those men got round butt
BenHarleyLozano
post May 10 2016, 09:48 AM

For me having a specific scent of cologne is ageless. Scents conjure memories. Studies say that smell is intimately linked with emotional memories and conditioned learning. It has the ability to directly associate experience, persons, and period of time regardless whether it’s negative or positive. One can easily time travel to the past just by scents and colognes.

I personally associate smell with my younger years when it was less stressful and having less responsibilities.

Those are my two cents!

Here’s a couple of good read about colognes:

http://www.realmenrealstyle.com/mens-cologne/

http://www.mensaxis.com/best-colognes-for-men/

jhonathanwaters
post Jun 1 2016, 10:01 PM

Anyone please help me find custom shirts that have a reasonable price. I have exceptionally long arms and the shirts that match my collar size do not have arms of my size. I'm in utter pain. Any suggestions welcomed. Any.
izzudrecoba
post Feb 22 2017, 10:00 AM

749 posts

Italian Style anyone? #sprezzatura

Italian Style Anyone?
Mariche22
post May 19 2017, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(jind86 @ Feb 13 2009, 04:29 PM)

Anyone is welcome to share men's style & fashion articles/tips here.. Kindly scan or write the information neatly.. Also please do not forget to include referencing for your information..

For the readers, zoom in if the words are too small..

Guys, feel free to add comments or simply say thanks if you found something useful =)

Hi there,
my brother is a hairdresser, he says most guys have no idea what they do with their hair. He usually asks his clients to come with a picture. I myself usually check online, Here a few hairstyles I like right now:

There is a ton of options for man here. A good hairstyle can make the difference especially if you are not conventionally beautiful as it is my case blush.gif

Hope it helps!

markvell
post Jun 30 2017, 02:17 PM

Smart and comfortable summer shoes are a must-have as temperatures rise, and it’s hard to beat the classic elegance and practicality of the moccasin. These may sound like it should be worn by an native American, but moccasins are modern shoes today that are super comfortable. You can take your pick from a range of colors and materials, meaning you shouldn't struggle to find ones that complement your outfits. This footwear can be teamed up with anything from work suits to relaxed weekend ensembles and even shorts and t-shirts. When you're selecting these men’s shoes, pay attention to comfort as well as looks. It’s best to opt for ones that offer impressive cushioning and softness, and ideally they should have an antibacterial layer to help keep them fresh even in the hottest weather.
junbecks
post Jul 19 2017, 01:30 PM

140 posts

guys, what to do with sweaty armpits?
when you work in Singapore without access to a car, you have to walk and take mrt everywhere. Simply cant wear a nice shirt to work because the armpits will just get soaked.

deodourants dont stop sweat, they just make the armpit smell better.

any accessory out there that can soak up the sweat?
.:zaxiao:.
post Jul 29 2017, 01:19 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(junbecks @ Jul 19 2017, 01:30 PM)
guys, what to do with sweaty armpits?
when you work in Singapore without access to a car, you have to walk and take mrt everywhere. Simply cant wear a nice shirt to work because the armpits will just get soaked.

deodourants dont stop sweat, they just make the armpit smell better.

any accessory out there that can soak up the sweat?
wear uniqlo airism inside/
PRMcKie
post Aug 2 2017, 01:24 PM

Can anyone suggest the sites, where I can purchase shoes?
sonypshomer
post Sep 10 2017, 08:16 PM

1,594 posts

Here some tips:

A lot of people cannot pull off skinny jeans but still want to wear them
enriquelee
post Nov 13 2017, 10:36 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

Nice info. Any recommended hair saloon who is adopting this hair style recommendation?
pky
post Nov 28 2017, 05:31 PM

558 posts

I asked this question in the tailoring thread, but no respond. Hopefully someone here can here.

This is about boutonniere for groom's suit. I had a suit custom made, but the button hole on the lapel was not open. Is it advisable to open it to put the boutonniere or follow typical Malaysian groom style to put the boutonniere on the chest pocket in place of pocket square?
Kekikan
post Dec 6 2017, 12:14 PM

167 posts

Here some tips:

And user posted image

And Men's Style
This is helpful! rclxms.gif
Kekikan
post Dec 6 2017, 12:15 PM

167 posts

Just a random comment. Was looking at the first post in 2009 with a photo of the fashion for men back then. How times have changed, haha.
Ewww!
post Dec 19 2017, 03:54 AM

2,033 posts

Here some tips:

And user posted image

And Men's Style
Awesome tips mang, Thanks for the post. thumbup.gif
Til111
post Jan 18 2018, 09:58 AM

Here is a nice article to check out!!

Defining The Essence Of The Modern Gentleman

What it Means to be a Gentleman:
1.Be respectful
2.Keep your composure
3.Be consistent and disciplined
4.Follow through on commitments
5.Follow your passions
6.Be confident
7.Look the part

Hope it helps smile.gif
kotmj
post Aug 9 2018, 12:43 AM

3,802 posts

I'd like to offer up this article "Everything you need to know about wedding suits"

https://www.jeremytok.com/single-post/2018/...t-Wedding-Suits
imRaccoon P
post Jan 25 2020, 02:36 AM

Probation

What is Men's casual laid back style? Google seems to confuse me which is right. As for me, a good shorts and Tee or something less dramatic because we are on the hot zone compare to foreign countries.
dianalouis P
post Jun 4 2020, 09:23 PM

Probation

Try This for hairstyles https://lovehairstyles.com/modern-asian-hairstyles/

Daggata P
post Aug 23 2020, 02:49 AM

Probation

Haircut is an important part of all looks, I am sure. You can hide flaws and emphasize the advantages of choosing the right haircut. But choosing a hairstyle is painstaking work. You have to comprehend everything. I found my short curly hairstyles https://menshaircuts.com/short-curly-hairstyles-for-men/ and I can say it looks perfect! As for me everyone can choose something here
Lord Flak`
post Sep 22 2020, 04:30 PM

51 posts

anyone here wear accessories like EK?
Sim City
post Oct 30 2020, 12:43 PM

54 posts

Read up AugustMan magazien guys. Even me being a girl, enjoys reading it.

0.1110sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:40 PM