Style & fashion articles, Men's worst style mistake

TSjind86
post Feb 13 2009, 04:29 PM, updated 16y ago

1,507 posts

Anyone is welcome to share men's style & fashion articles/tips here.. Kindly scan or write the information neatly.. Also please do not forget to include referencing for your information..

For the readers, zoom in if the words are too small..

Guys, feel free to add comments or simply say thanks if you found something useful =)

This post has been edited by jind86: Jul 3 2009, 11:08 AM
TSjind86
post Feb 13 2009, 04:31 PM

1,507 posts

Untucked, untied.. uncool..

Source: GQ Magazine

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 13 2009, 04:31 PM

TSjind86
post Feb 13 2009, 04:34 PM

1,507 posts

Roll up your sleeves, the right way

Source: GQ

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 22 2009, 08:58 PM

TSjind86
post Feb 22 2009, 08:58 PM

1,507 posts

GQ Rules
From our fashion team, timeless bits of style wisdom to live by..

Click for 25 essential tips, secrets, and shortcuts guaranteed to improve your style..

http://men.style.com/gq/features/slideshow/v/110905GQRULES

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 22 2009, 09:08 PM
TSjind86
post Feb 22 2009, 09:01 PM

1,507 posts

THE 10 COMMANDMENTS OF STYLE
There are a few hard-and-fast rules for dressing well. Master these and you will possess the building blocks of great taste..

Thou shalt match your socks with your suit—and nine other sacred style imperatives..

http://men.style.com/gq/features/slideshow...806COMMANDMENTS

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 22 2009, 09:07 PM
TSjind86
post Feb 22 2009, 09:07 PM

1,507 posts

there's a clearer picture of the "roll up your sleeves the Italian way" here =)
TSjind86
post Feb 22 2009, 11:39 PM

1,507 posts

yeah i'd possibly pin this up, but later, there's no worries bout it getting buried at the moment.. guys feel free to share articles/readings here =)
TSjind86
post Feb 25 2009, 04:51 PM

1,507 posts

HOW TO BUY A LEATHER JACKET
A leather jacket is a long-term investment, so study up..

http://men.style.com/gq/fashion/slideshow/v/071508LEATHER
TSjind86
post Feb 25 2009, 05:55 PM

1,507 posts

HOW TO BRING YOUR BUSINESS WARDROBE IN UNDER BUDGET
Hard times? No sweat..

http://men.style.com/gq/fashion/slideshow/v/021609BIZ
TSjind86
post Feb 26 2009, 01:47 AM

1,507 posts

yes hanhanhan, it is a rule to always leave the lowest button undone..

Why do men never button the bottom button of your suit, sports jacket, vest or Cardigan sweater?

King Edward VII, “Bertie”, son of Victoria (1841 – 1910, King 1901 - 1910) was so heavy that he could not get the bottom button fastened on his vest or to be more historically kind, maybe he just forgot. His subjects taking it as a fashion statement followed his lead and today most men’s suits, sports jackets or vests are not designed to button the bottom button. The tradition of not buttoning the bottom button may have also come from the early waistcoats, which were very long. It may have been out of necessity of being able to walk that the bottom buttons were left undone.

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 26 2009, 01:48 AM
TSjind86
post Feb 26 2009, 12:40 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Feb 26 2009, 08:59 AM)
Put "toe taps" on your leather-soled dress shoes. They will significantly increase the shoes’ life span.

Where do i get "Toe taps" in Malaysia
go to any good cobblers, i did mine in Bangsar Shopping Complex, there is a cobbler at the lowest ground.. but mine is placed with a thin layer of rubber underneath the shoe, it will give adequate protection as well as grip.. cost around RM50..

three important points on how to take care of your dress shoes:

1) always use a shoe tree when you are not wearing your shoes (it will help preserve its shape and increase life span)
2) put toe taps / rubber taps on your shoes (protects the shoe and for the rubber material, it will provide more grip)
3) polish your shoes regularly (restore the appearance of leather shoes and extending the footwear's life)

-Jin

This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 26 2009, 07:17 PM
TSjind86
post Feb 26 2009, 07:22 PM

1,507 posts

Slim ties can be used for both formal and casual wear. Unless you’re a hard-core fashion guy who favors a super-skinny tie, stick with one that measures about two and a half to three inches at its widest point. It will be narrower than traditional ties, but not by too much. Tie one on and you’ll look modern and sophisticated.

I've actually had a number of people come up to me and go "Hey Jin, are slim ties suitable for office wear?". Yes they are, most guys mistaken slim for skinny ties; those are only suitable for casual wear and not for professional use, anything around 2 inches is categorized under skinny and any thinner will be followed by super-skinny.

Example of a slim tie:

How could you say the guy above does not look professional in his slim tie? =)

-Jin

This post has been edited by jind86: Mar 4 2009, 09:34 PM
TSjind86
post Mar 3 2009, 02:01 PM

1,507 posts

well he is a model thats why lol.. i actually prefer pants to ride on my hips, im still not too used to pants which sits on the waste, so i actually like the look.. but anyways the main focus on the picture is about the tie =)
TSjind86
post Mar 8 2009, 02:52 PM

1,507 posts

PROJECT UPGRADE: A GQ STYLE INTERVENTION

GQ’s fashion editors take to the streets and grab six dudes who could use a little bit—okay, a lot—of style help

In a world of puffy dress shirts, oversize suits, and clunky square-toed lace-ups, there’s plenty of room for improvement. GQ hit the streets of New York and found six real men with real problems—and supplied them with advice any guy can learn from.

http://men.style.com/gq/fashion/slideshow/v/021908UP

GQ PROJECT UPGRADE VIDEO

http://men.style.com/video/from-gq/from-ig...ade/14120010001
TSjind86
post Jun 18 2009, 02:03 AM

1,507 posts

10 TIES X 10 SHIRTS = 100 FOOLPROOF OPTIONS
You don’t need dozens upon dozens of shirts and ties if you know how to pair them

The key to building a wardrobe is maximum compatibility. These shirts and ties all go perfectly with each other.

http://men.style.com/gq/fashion/slideshow/v/081307TIES
TSjind86
post Jul 3 2009, 11:08 AM

1,507 posts

Project Upgrade

> Why casual doesn't have to mean schlumpy (for slightly bigger guys)..

Added on July 3, 2009, 11:10 amzoom in to get a better view of the words

This post has been edited by jind86: Jul 3 2009, 11:10 AM

TSjind86
post Jul 3 2009, 01:46 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(wernshen @ Jul 3 2009, 12:47 PM)
any articles on how to properly roll up jeans/chinos? biggrin.gif
it's not recommended to roll up jeans/chinos especially for those who are typically not that tall.. it shouldn't be too bad provided the pants itself is slim/skinny cut =)

anyway here's a great way to roll up your chinos:

http://men.style.com/details/fashion/slide...lay=false&cnt=1

This post has been edited by jind86: Oct 14 2009, 01:13 PM
TSjind86
post Oct 14 2009, 01:12 PM

1,507 posts

Every day for two weeks, a new video that shows you, in sixty seconds, a money-saving style secret—hosted by GQ's style expert, Jim Moore.

http://www.gqrules.com/

Those interested can sign up for free =)

This post has been edited by jind86: Oct 14 2009, 01:13 PM
TSjind86
post Nov 12 2009, 12:14 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(pejalGSR @ Nov 12 2009, 10:08 AM)
mr jind..
wat if only two button blazer
issit always first...n never second
or
sumtimes first..alwys second
how arrr?
just curios....
tongue.gif
i never fasten the last button..
TSjind86
post Nov 15 2009, 07:17 PM

1,507 posts

There's simply just too many Malaysians who jump into conclusion that a dress shirt (which is the proper term for the widely used formal shirt) or a dress pant is considered formal, when they are actually not.. A single piece of clothing by itself does make the entire outfit formal, its all the right pieces together.. Similarly, a person who's wearing a dress shirt, necktie, suit jacket (yes, the jacket is called a suit jacket and not just suit) and jeans, does that make the look formal? It's not about a single piece, but all the pieces together..

simple illustration of dress codes:

image found by calvinloke

0.0393sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:48 PM