7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

ENGINE OIL ALTERNATIVE, engine oil alterative for your engine

Esky
post Mar 25 2009, 08:03 AM

394 posts

When monitoring the FC with the installation of new things or tuning, one should drive the same way and same routes as before for a few tanks so that we know the FC is caused by the new thing or tuning, and not the diff travelling speed.
ibmlenovo
post Mar 31 2009, 12:42 PM

ok guys.my waja just top overhaul,replace sensor's,timing belt set and others belt change.clean with dcarbo(2 bottle).spark plug and replace oil filter and put in pure palm cooking oil.gimme 1week time to see the difference when driving with palm oil.....i travel 60-70km daily...should be enuf to test this...
Esky
post Apr 1 2009, 09:38 AM

394 posts

Eagerly anticipating your feedback happy.gif

By the way, how much did the Waja's top set cost?
ibmlenovo
post Apr 1 2009, 12:10 PM

QUOTE(Esky @ Apr 1 2009, 09:38 AM)
Eagerly anticipating your feedback happy.gif

By the way, how much did the Waja's top set cost?
it cost me RM450.he did replace a few things inside the head,i cant remember what..
whiztech
post Apr 7 2009, 09:23 PM

31 posts

any good progress my friends?
detomaso
post Apr 10 2009, 12:41 AM

1,896 posts

cooking oil user maybe pening dy conrod bearing sudah makan need replacement a.k.a overhaul.. ekeke.
Esky
post Apr 13 2009, 04:23 PM

394 posts

Palm oil definitely has lubricity, but what's lacking could be properties like anti-oxidation, anti-foaming, acid-neutralising, sludge-removal & suspension, etc.
ibmlenovo
post Apr 13 2009, 04:47 PM

QUOTE(whiztech @ Apr 7 2009, 09:23 PM)
any good progress my friends?
so far engine bloody smooth n superb.engine more quiet.pickup very good.easily reach 0-100kmh.can chase n cucuk perdana v6 or satria gti on highway doing 160kmh.but this is also maybe coz i just top overhaul n change engine parts.anyway,cannot really tell about FC coz my fuel meter kaput already....huahuahua...i'll be back with more news later
Conroe
post Apr 16 2009, 03:40 AM

253 posts

Very interesting topic here.Would like to try it on my car but i'll wait for updates from u guys 1st.
beez
post Apr 22 2009, 04:18 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Esky @ Apr 13 2009, 04:23 PM)
Palm oil definitely has lubricity, but what's lacking could be properties like anti-oxidation, anti-foaming, acid-neutralising, sludge-removal & suspension, etc.
agreed there bro. Normal cooking oil does not have the additives packages needed to protect the engine from wear, sludge formation and carbon build up.

Even if you add in bottle of additive sold aftermarket it still wont give you the exact performance like normal engine oil as we need adequate additive package to make it perform at optimum level; the key here is adequate % of additive. not too much , not too low.
icyd
post Apr 22 2009, 04:44 PM

727 posts

maybe worth someone local go into research this stuff.later we could produce our own palm oil based engine oil
ibmlenovo
post Apr 22 2009, 05:05 PM

QUOTE(beez @ Apr 22 2009, 04:18 PM)
agreed there bro. Normal cooking oil does not have the additives packages needed to protect the engine from wear, sludge formation and carbon build up.

Even if you add in bottle of additive sold aftermarket it still wont give you the exact performance like normal engine oil as we need adequate additive package to make it perform at optimum level; the key here is adequate % of additive. not too much , not too low.
i am fully aware of this matter.i doing this to find out how far the engine can go with palm oil.after all i just top overhaul n replace some engine parts n my RB20 is ready to be transplant if my 4g18 kaput.....
b48753
post Apr 23 2009, 11:12 AM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

QUOTE(ibmlenovo @ Apr 22 2009, 05:05 PM)
i am fully aware of this matter.i doing this to find out how far the engine can go with palm oil.after all i just top overhaul n replace some engine parts n my RB20 is ready to be transplant if my 4g18 kaput.....
I did read the reseach paper by Faculty of Engineering, Khon Kaen University, Thailand. The link is in previous post.

The engine they run failed on 64th hour continuous running after putting 15% extra load at 50th hour run. The deposition at inlet valve cause the engine to stop. Piston, block and piston ring is okay.

So means that cooking oil will damage the engine head due to clogging at head. So you need frequent change your 'engine oil' to avoid this problem, or put some engine oil additives.
kevinkok
post Apr 23 2009, 04:46 PM

QUOTE(ibmlenovo @ Apr 22 2009, 05:05 PM)
It is good to learning some thing different, this myth proof that the engine can run with palm oil temporary with no problem.

So next time when the engine oil of your car is low and you are in hurry, you can fill up with palm oil for temporary use, then later send your car to service center to have correct engine oil change.

rcracer
post Apr 23 2009, 08:08 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(kevinkok @ Apr 23 2009, 04:46 PM)
It is good to learning some thing different, this myth proof that the engine can run with palm oil temporary with no problem.

So next time when the engine oil of your car is low and you are in hurry, you can fill up with palm oil for temporary use, then later send your car to service center to have correct engine oil change.
10x harder to find bloody palm oil than to drive to petrol station and pick up self brand engine oil
kevinkok
post Apr 24 2009, 08:40 AM

QUOTE(rcracer @ Apr 23 2009, 08:08 PM)
10x harder to find bloody palm oil than to drive to petrol station and pick up self brand engine oil
sweat.gif

ibmlenovo
post Apr 24 2009, 05:33 PM

u can use palm cooking oil BUT need to change every 5k mileage or so.same as normal engine oil.a ask a few mech here already..they said it can be use.
kevinkok
post Apr 25 2009, 09:53 AM

QUOTE(ibmlenovo @ Apr 24 2009, 05:33 PM)
u can use palm cooking oil BUT need to change every 5k mileage or so.same as normal engine oil.a ask a few mech here already..they said it can be use.
Hope all member understand. Yes, the myth proof it can use in "temporary", but doesn't mean it can be like engine oil.

Palm oil is palm oil, it can't be use as engine oil, like others member say, palm oil like lag of additives like anti-oxidation, anti-foaming, acid-neutralising, sludge-removal etc.

We can't tell how much damage will it be to engine, we can't tell it by our own feeling, once we feel there is some thing worng to the engine, it will be already too late...

Imagine when you driving your car travel about 120km/h then the engine stop suddenly, do you think you can handle it? even you able to control it, but do the car behind you can do it too? think again hmm.gif

Esky
post Apr 28 2009, 08:38 AM

394 posts

ibmlenovo,

sounds like yr mechanic has quite a number of customers who hv tried the palm engine oil?

Maybe palm oil can be mixed in with regular motor oil to get the various properties I've mentioned.

rcracer,

if you're near a hypermarket, then there's easily 10x more palm oil than motor oil available! happy.gif
ibmlenovo
post Apr 29 2009, 08:39 AM

QUOTE(Esky @ Apr 28 2009, 08:38 AM)
ibmlenovo,

sounds like yr mechanic has quite a number of customers who hv tried the palm engine oil?

Maybe palm oil can be mixed in with regular motor oil to get the various properties I've mentioned.

rcracer,

if you're near a hypermarket, then there's easily 10x more palm oil than motor oil available! happy.gif
can be used with regular motor oil or just the palm oil.of course palm oil have no additives like regular motor oil.
from my xperience,engine smooth coz palm oil less thicker n i dont know why the engine temp is quite low.
after a while i found out that quite number of people using palm oil for years already.like i said....when the times come,really need to replace the oil n filter.most mech here not surprise when i mention using palm cooking oil.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:39 PM