6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

The Coolermaster League V5

hahn87
post Feb 21 2009, 11:29 AM

820 posts

crucial balistic tracer user would benefit alot.. coz i know that ram gila hot. (under heavy OC condition)
my friend told me he touched it ones when the PC is running and he never dare to touch it again.

what i am sayinging v10>V8 = +- ultra120ex/other HSF
from what i know is thermalright HSF tend to benefit with higher air flow and also usually need to be manually lapped coz factory default surface is not flat and rough.

IMO v10 is a very good cooler. it cools CPU and RAM in 1 unit (just like CM gemini2) but with the TEC technology the higher the temperature ur proc goes the better the v10 perform compare to other HSF

Added on February 21, 2009, 11:34 amjust see the ram clearance photo again on the forum
(link i provided on previous post)
if u wanna remove the ram or install ram with normal height there shouldn't be any problem but you have to remove ur graphic card though.
corsair ram user with DHX heat spreader or any other brand ram with the heat spreader as tall as the corsair's DHX
BAD NEWS...
precisely 1mm+ clearance =.=
no choice but to remove the heatsink lol
those with mobo tray with hole for backplate mounting u are in luck coz u noneed to remove mobo to install the cooler.
as for those without back plate mounting hole on mobo tray...
too bad ><

This post has been edited by hahn87: Feb 21 2009, 11:34 AM
hahn87
post Feb 21 2009, 11:56 AM

820 posts

from USD conversion it's gonna be around 500 bucks here LOL
hahn87
post Feb 21 2009, 12:02 PM

820 posts

let's just wait till it get in msia market to see the price ><

Added on February 21, 2009, 12:23 pmlooking at the review on the link provided by of our member..
QX9650 at 3.78ghz overclock 1.5v under load with TEC on is 85C.
DAMN
my freezer xtreme do my qx9650 88C under load at 4ghz overclock with just 1.42v and vdroop to 1.368v under stress..
that's a big difference......
i was already considering liquid cooling setup for my 4ghz overclock..
V10 just made me second guess things....

This post has been edited by hahn87: Feb 21 2009, 12:23 PM
hahn87
post Feb 22 2009, 06:23 AM

820 posts

finally all koki's talk as turn into action!!
Gratz
been away for a day messing with my new phone almost forgot about this thread.
stupid garmin maps took me 4 hours to get it install on my nokia 5800

anyway koki to answer some question.
-ur cable managment is a mess.
-bottom intake fan for HAF not really recommended. coz common sense lar most of use sweep floor oso sweep around then below the case we sure leave it.
so the bottom part of the casing is always the dustiest.
-but as for now u are using stock side panel fan then ok lar to install the bottom intake for now.
-it is better to remove it after u replace ur side panel fan with 4 12cm fan coz the bottom fan intake and the bottom right of the side panel intake will clash.
-the original screws that hold the stock side and top fan are allen keys.
front panel bazel can be remove but require quite some force.
-i broke one of the 4 mounting on the bazel but it's ok no biggie. i open the bazel always then remove the metal mesh on it to clean coz dust usually trap there. when u remove it u will see the dust are all in line look very nice 1 lol.
-doesn't matter the size. wad matters are they support ATX mobo. which is the our common mobo like p45 chipset mobo. if ur casing accept atx then it will accept M-ATX. E-ATX to me is just something extra which u probably wont even use unless u are rich enuf to buy 4 piece of FB-DIMM ram, 2 QX9775 core2extreme processor and intel skulltrail motherboard.(correct me if i am wrong)
what matters most is just ATX. so CM690 user no worries coz it is already enuf to fit ur ATX mobo.

ATCS user. if u install the 2 fan on the hdd cage then bottom intake noneed to install.
but if u dont install the 2 fan on hdd cage then u should install the bottom intake fan.
in my opinion. install the 2 fan on the hdd cage. install the air duct behind the case. with the top 2 large fan doing the exhaust work the air will come in from the bottom of the casing passively.
if u wan the bottom to passively intake more fan. the top mounting for the 360x120 length radiator area.
mount 3 powerful 12cm fan to assist the top exhaust.
this concept should be correct la. u can check ur bottom filter from time to time to see if it collect dust lol.

i had made up my mind on my casing future upgrade on fans. gonna buy 4 Xigmatek XLF fan with transparent black blade. for side intake. 3 xigmatek XLF fan with orange transparent blade for top exhaust. 1 set UV violet CCFL and 1 set white CCFL.
white ccfl at the top and bottom of the case. UV violet at top and beside the motherboard.
move 1 of my blue fan to bottom intake and another to optical drive bay for intake. sponge seal up some area.
wanna try out pekies's positive pressure concept.

@koki
since u ady get ur HAF maybe tomolo i take pic of my latest management and ost it here lar.

@xel
cute interior... wad system is that. intergrated graphic?? when u plan to change specs?

edit:
@koki i download ur photo and draw on them for you to refer

This post has been edited by hahn87: Feb 22 2009, 06:50 AM

hahn87
post Feb 22 2009, 03:10 PM

820 posts

dnu worry about CM PSU mounting with the fan facing down..
the fan is not really that strong not much dust will collect only...
my 750w half year liao still clean ~_~
hahn87
post Feb 22 2009, 06:48 PM

820 posts

yes serious.
the fan to me is quite weak lol.
maybe it's because i have a 750w and my peak load it's not enuf half the total power it has so it's not spinning as fast =.=
but really. turn ur PC on. feel the fan. u will know.
summore with HAF the air has to go through the case.. then to the PSU stand.. then only to ur power supply.
that's more than enuf filtering for me LOL

Added on February 22, 2009, 6:51 pm@xel
lol u penang? hahaa
i love the rain's
it's been raining a bit and a bit these days and it's hot as hell.
finally today it rains properly haahah
i'm lovin' it. and so does my Haffy =D

This post has been edited by hahn87: Feb 22 2009, 06:51 PM
hahn87
post Feb 23 2009, 02:25 AM

820 posts

there are UCP700, 900, and 1100.

@xel
omg i wan ur monitor!! can rotate to portrait mode rite?
u spend so much for the monitors and have so many fans in ur casing but ur system like empty liddat..
when is ur upgrades gonna be?
hahn87
post Feb 26 2009, 08:13 AM

820 posts

As promised my most recent cable management photo on my HAF932
just happen to open and clean up the dust so i snap some pic b4 i close it all back
photos are in high quality low compression jpegs so u guys can zoom in on the detail if you with to follow.
cables at the back of the motherboard tray

HDD area and other cables

components

This post has been edited by hahn87: Feb 26 2009, 08:19 AM
hahn87
post Feb 26 2009, 03:09 PM

820 posts

@onnjeyyon
wanted to change lar.. currently short of cash.. CEX just gimme a bad news that they are not bringing in anymore black transparent blade XLF fan.. wanted to change my side panel fan then move those red LED fans to the top.
those hdds. 2 new 2 old..
2 sata and 2 old pata which is 40gb and 80gb.
going to add another 1TB caviar green soon then save up more money then replace the 2 pata drive with another with a 1TB or 2TB green + another 1TB caviar black. hdd space are never enough for me.

@yshiuan
don't bother mounting another 2 fan for the hdd there. the stock 230mm fan is quite powerful ady. compare to last time when i use CM690 it is a lot better.
last time on cm690 i even elevate the fan from the dust filter abit just to improve the airflow but compare to HAF stock 230mm fan it's nothing.
the 2 fan on ATCS are actually meant for graphic card cooling

@M1X
rm280 for v8?
moderno sell rm230 only. even CEX selling 5 bucks more than moderno only

This post has been edited by hahn87: Feb 26 2009, 03:44 PM
hahn87
post Feb 26 2009, 09:17 PM

820 posts

not really rich lar. hdd slowly add lar.. spaces are never enough for me.
might be getting 4 cm red 90cfm fan since the black fin XLF fan no where to be found ady
hahn87
post Feb 27 2009, 12:19 AM

820 posts

his photo is taken in longer exposure so it's brighter. in person really not that bright. very nice one.
@fesick
u wan lighting fans with UV. try VIZO and AC Ryan. i heard from friend the rated CFM is not as high as the cm90cfm fan but in reality the fan could be more powerful than the 90cfm. i haven't try but if u are looking or UV light fans. VIZO and AC Ryan brand is the way to go.

This post has been edited by hahn87: Feb 27 2009, 12:23 AM
hahn87
post Feb 27 2009, 12:31 AM

820 posts

it's because of the camera metering system
hahn87
post Feb 27 2009, 09:39 PM

820 posts

koki ur cable management still a lot of room to improve.

downloaded ur photo and write guide on it for u.

also i just posted my cable management photo. a lot u can follow .
refer back my cable management. follow the guide i wrote on ur photo.
post it again here after u are done to see how much more can be improve after that.

i believe after you follow this it will look a lot better

This post has been edited by hahn87: Feb 27 2009, 10:07 PM

hahn87
post Feb 27 2009, 10:58 PM

820 posts

koki there is just another hole right beside the 120mm fan u can just slide it though there actually.
is ur fan just a direct molex connector and not the 3 pin?
even with molex u are still able to stuff it thought the small hole i just mention.
or if u still wanna get it though the 230mm fan area u can just remove 3 allen screw of the fan and turn it a bit so u can stuff it in.
hahn87
post Feb 28 2009, 01:47 AM

820 posts

no it only comes with a 8pin extension

@koki
the front bazel for the fan area just pull out from bottom.

i wanting caviar black for the speed and size coz i dowan to raid my HDDs
if u were to get a caviar green 1TB and above MAKE SURE the code is EADS not EACS.
EADS is the newer model which offer better efficiency and speed.
i wan green just for storage coz it's takes less power and generate lesser heat
black coz i just want my stuff to load faster.
blue is not bad for everyday normal usage as it's 7200rpm by default.
green is 5400rpm. and the newer green can switch between 5400rpm and 7200rpm.
i friend told me that he tried raid 0 with 2x 320gb WD SE16 drives. load things very fast especially game loading =/
i am not much of a raid fan. as i using big capacity hdd and i scare either one of the drive die then all my data die T_T
hahn87
post Mar 1 2009, 08:33 AM

820 posts

@koki
more adjustment to do
do u mind taking photo of the back of the motherboard tray so i can further guide u?

hahn87
post Mar 1 2009, 02:24 PM

820 posts

@koki
that i mention to you i guarentee all can do. is just weather u understand what i said or not only.
the sata cable definately can hide.
the front panel header wires also still can hide.
thats why i need you to take a photo of the back of ur motherboard so can further guide you..
the thing i am sure of u can do it ur sata cables.... just try follow what i said and look back at my rig's pic that i posted. sure will look better with the sata wel organized
hahn87
post Mar 5 2009, 09:45 PM

820 posts

so long haven't come read the thread =/

i just upgraded my motherboard... and changing my freezer xtreme to V8 tomorrow =D

will post photo when i get it done
hahn87
post Mar 6 2009, 08:02 AM

820 posts

i change motherboard because the biostar only have 4 phase power and does work well with quaddies. vdroop like mad under load.
sold my freezer xtreme yesterday and got a V8 yesterday.. today install.. =D
hahn87
post Mar 7 2009, 06:55 AM

820 posts

whoa... long night.... the V8 is in =D
pics will upload later.. very tired... borrowed the corsair dominator fan from friend too.

today carry whole rig to friend's place. so we did something extra also.
he got his thermalright True 120 black today.. to replace his regular true 120 extreme. they both perform same just that the black is so much sexy

his true 120 extreme was already lapped.
so we decided to compare the temperature ourself on my 4ghz overclocked core2extreme.
wad we did was
-true 120 extreme passive cooled (no fan installed) side panel opened
-true 120 extreme passive cooled (no fan installed) side panel closed
-true 120 extreme active cooled (2x cm90cfm fans) side panel closed
-V8 actived cooled max fan speed side panel closed.

will post screen shots along

wad i can say is thermalright true 120 extreme with 2 fans really crazy the cooling performance. with v8 u definitely get more value if u compare price - performance.

overall pretty happy with the V8

forgot to mention. it's about 10-15c cooler than my arctic cooling freezer xtreme =D

v10 priced too high and for that price i dun feel it's worth buying at all =(

This post has been edited by hahn87: Mar 7 2009, 07:20 AM

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0403sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:12 AM