135 Pages « < 129 130 131 132 133 > » Bottom

Nokia ♪♥ Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" V7 ♥♪, 15000 posts & 250 registered users

akkihiko
post Feb 10 2009, 01:00 AM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

what software u use to capture the screen??
aspire2oo6
post Feb 10 2009, 01:01 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

screensnap
leongtat
post Feb 10 2009, 01:02 AM

950 posts

Guyz....i heard theme effect no longer slow down the system....anyone tried this?
tcmean
post Feb 10 2009, 01:03 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(akkihiko @ Feb 10 2009, 01:00 AM)
what software u use to capture the screen??
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 10 2009, 01:01 AM)
screensnap
Yeah! It's Screensnap
AskarPerang
post Feb 10 2009, 01:04 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

Nokia 5800 Firmware Update v20.0.012 Adds Geotagging

The first major firmware update for the Nokia 5800 Xpress Music, version 20.0.0.12, is now available, adding camera photo geotagging, full device search and (slightly) faster operation. You can update either using PC Suite or over-the-air (OTA). The 5800 does have user data preservation, which means your data should be retained during the update, but it is still advisable to do a back up before carrying out the update. Read on for more.

Updating via PC Suite
You can update the firmware using the Software Updater component of PC Suite.

Updating firmware over the air (OTA)
You can also choose to update the firmware of the 5800 from the device itself. This method is called 'over the air' (OTA) updating and is generally the easiest method. However this will use a data connection on the phone. While you can use a 3G data connection a WiFi data connection is recommended for speed, stability and reliability (and potentially costs) reasons.

From the homecsreen, access the dialler (numeric keypad) and enter *#0000#. This will take you to the device updates screen, which shows you information about the current version of the software (firmware) running on your phone. To update the software choose 'Check for updates' from the Options menu.

Availability
Firmware availability usually varies by market (geography) and variant. Generally updates for SIM-free phones are available first, with operator variants being made available at a later date.

Changelog
There's no official news of what's new as we write this, but (updated):

Geotagging information now available in Camera (finally).

Dictionary application added, with support for multiple languages (as first seen on E66 and E71).

App. update application added (as first seen on N85 and N79) - this is used to update individual Nokia applications outside of firmware updates.

General operation seems smoother, better performance is various applications, including Gallery, plus screen rotations are faster.

Playing back videos had less hiccups, especially on YouTube, where Web on the 5800 now becomes almost as good as a dedicated YouTube client, there's an article on this coming from Steve shortly...

'Search' on the standby screen now searches phone content as well as on the Internet

The usual litany of small bug fixes.

User Data Preservation also worked perfectly, *everything* remained as it was before the update. However, general operation provided a few glitches and Steve is currently vaping his settings and doing a little rebuilding.... [later] If you see 'System error' when launching 'Search' from the standby screen, use a 'Settings reset', i.e. *#7780#. (Lock code is '12345' and you have to hold each 'key' down to get the numbers.) You should only have to re-input a few profile and theme settings,plus resync your bookmarks if possible, but this soft(er) reset will save you having to rebuild anything etc.
qwerty79
post Feb 10 2009, 01:04 AM

1,907 posts

This thread move so fast. I just sleep a while, now already 138131 pages.

The firmware surprisingly is a huge leap from v11. I'm shock when our camera now has geo tagging and the scroll bar bigger than before! Previously I always failed to scroll down without touching the option button when in landscape mode. Even in portrait mode, scroll is hard enough with my big thumb.

Other worth mentioning upgrade:

1) Now we can use secondary camera
2) Phone start faster
3) Option to off search function homescreen
4) Virtual key for flash
5) New dictinoary
6) New icon/animation
7) Louder speaker

But sadly, camera quality almost the same and mark/unmark no improvement. Start up memory also reduce to 45~50Mb from 55~60Mb before.

I have problem to open the new dictinoary.

First I restart, not working.
Take out battery for a while, not working.
Resetting to factory default, not working.
Finally, I hard reset, and it working.

I know that someone already mentioning about restore backup but I believe with a update this big, hard reset is better. The seach function at home screen also functionaing well and finally I found the benifit of the function.

This post has been edited by qwerty79: Feb 10 2009, 01:06 AM
akkihiko
post Feb 10 2009, 01:05 AM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

QUOTE(leongtat @ Feb 10 2009, 01:02 AM)
Guyz....i heard theme effect no longer slow down the system....anyone tried this?
yeah not as slow as b4
rafiza
post Feb 10 2009, 01:06 AM

(Rally codriver)
616 posts

QUOTE(leongtat @ Feb 10 2009, 01:02 AM)
Same also....slow down a bit..
Mr.Lonely
post Feb 10 2009, 01:08 AM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

erm... actually ur system not slow down... bcoz normally 3rd party theme added theme effect those effect delay things works =) try off theme effect to turn back a normal tube
akkihiko

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

i love the option to remove the shortcut on the homescreen
rclxm9.gif
leongtat

950 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Feb 10 2009, 01:04 AM)

The firmware surprisingly is a huge leap from v11. I'm shock when our camera now has geo tagging and the scroll bar bigger than before! Previously I always failed to scroll down without touching the option button when in landscape mode. Even in portrait mode, scroll is hard enough with my big thumb.

2) Phone start faster
4) Virtual key for flash
5) New dictinoary
6) New icon/animation
7) Louder speaker

But sadly, camera quality almost the same and mark/unmark no improvement. Start up memory also reduce to 45~50Mb from 55~60Mb before.

I know that someone already mentioning about restore backup but I believe with a update this big, hard reset is better. The seach function at home screen also functionaing well and finally I found the benifit of the function.
bolded statement can be good n bad.... rclxub.gif

anyway thanks for providing the feedback...
Mr.Lonely
post Feb 10 2009, 01:10 AM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

how about it like those windows Mobile can hide and show by urself =) it will b great haha
loselegend
post Feb 10 2009, 01:10 AM

(◕‿◕✿)
881 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Feb 10 2009, 01:04 AM)

2) Phone start faster
4) Virtual key for flash
5) New dictinoary
6) New icon/animation
7) Louder speaker

How hard reset?
leongtat
post Feb 10 2009, 01:11 AM

950 posts

F**K me.....the search function was far too cool...........
qwerty79
post Feb 10 2009, 01:12 AM

1,907 posts

*#7370#
But all installed progam will gone. Backup first.
Mr.Lonely
post Feb 10 2009, 01:13 AM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

wao ! i busying flashing 3 ori tube to v20 haha!
loselegend
post Feb 10 2009, 01:13 AM

(◕‿◕✿)
881 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Feb 10 2009, 01:12 AM)
*#7370#
But all installed progam will gone. Backup first.
Even Memory Card also? blink.gif
ckming21
post Feb 10 2009, 01:16 AM

Life Is Boring
805 posts

My phone sucess flashing ... Done everything working good and the phone seem faster .... proud of my phone now
rafiza
post Feb 10 2009, 01:17 AM

(Rally codriver)
616 posts

QUOTE(loselegend @ Feb 10 2009, 01:13 AM)
Even Memory Card also?  blink.gif
Memory card not effected....
Mr.Lonely
post Feb 10 2009, 01:17 AM

I Don't Give a Damn
1,304 posts

*#7370# wont format ur memory card dun worry
Awsss!! stupid streamyx damn slow.... 3 TUBE !! 133.1MB x 3 WTF !! = 400MB ! WTF !

This post has been edited by Mr.Lonely: Feb 10 2009, 01:18 AM

135 Pages « < 129 130 131 132 133 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:16 AM