9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V3, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

SSJBen
post Feb 17 2009, 04:32 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Feb 17 2009, 04:06 PM)
sorry to post a noob question here...am not a owner yet...planning to buy 1

can the PS3 support keyboard and mouse for first person shooter games like COD4 and so on?

inputs are much appreciated
Technically yes. But the only FPS that supports keyboard and mouse is Unreal Tournament 3. No other FPS on the console supports K&M.

QUOTE(ajea @ Feb 17 2009, 04:24 PM)
ey guys i wanna ask about the PSN registration..... camne korang dpt valid nyer address untuk buat kart US nyer ID
Google is your best friend.

Just google up a hotel/restaurant address in the US and use it. That simple.
SSJBen
post Feb 17 2009, 08:09 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(charliezz @ Feb 17 2009, 07:09 PM)
just a question ... will ps3 ever infected by viruses ?
This question has been asked a million times.

The answer is technically yes.
However to create a virus(which are broken codes that corrupts your files and registries) takes more than the average "you-know-how-to-create-a-virus" for Windows knowledge.

The PS3's OS is built upon a custom API, based loosely on Linux if you would like to put it that way. So, unless you are an expert in software development and is very familiar with the PS3's API, you wouldn't be able to create a virus for it.
SSJBen
post Feb 17 2009, 08:59 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

I've answered your very same question on the uncharted thread.

So I'm reposting it here for you(and anyone else still wondering):

"Because the Platinum/Greatest Hits/Playstation The Best editions are re-release of a game which has reached a certain amount of sales in the region(on the PS3, its 520k for Europe, 450k for Asia/Jap, 750k for US).

And thats why, its much cheaper. Has always been like that since the PS1 days. "
SSJBen
post Feb 18 2009, 12:41 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

The Greatest Hits boxes are nice though! Pure red!
SSJBen
post Feb 18 2009, 11:11 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

It depends.... sometimes, Greatest Hits gets extra bonus contents. Its happen to the PS2 before, but hasn't really happened to the PS3 games yet. Well atleast, Burnout Paradise Ultimate Box doesn't really count even if its sold at a budget price.
SSJBen
post Feb 18 2009, 08:05 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Feb 18 2009, 11:15 AM)
ps3 has :

-greatest hits
-platinum
-playstation the best

correct?
are these based on the region the games are released? as in R1-R3 or not?
Greatest Hits = Released for US only.
Platinum = Release for EU.
Playstation The Best = Release for Japan/Asia.

Of course, in Malaysia we get all three anyways... laugh.gif

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Feb 18 2009, 07:40 PM)
Hrmm crap...my less than a year old ps3 seems to be acting weird...

When I load my SFIV inside ...it didn't autorun...okay nvm although its weird...

2nd time (few hrs later) when I pop it in...it works again (autorun) but this time the loading screen take ages....whole screen goes blank...so I took out the cd and I restarted it...

My concern is this....it hangs!!...out of my PS1, PS2, it never hangs before....so I was wondering is it normal that it freezes/hangs occasionally?
Okay.... thats weird. It isn't normal.

Does the game works now?
SSJBen
post Feb 19 2009, 06:48 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Okay, now it sounds to me like your HDD is being the problem here.

Its rather rare to crash on a demo unless the demo is filled with bugs anyway. Probably reading the data off the HDD is causing the demo to crash.
SSJBen
post Feb 19 2009, 07:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Ask what daniel?
SSJBen
post Feb 19 2009, 08:32 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Feb 19 2009, 06:57 PM)
decided to ask it here.

can anyone help me. i've got Midnight Club: Los Angeles for quite a while but I've not been able to access the online modes. It always reads "Error with server...." Is it because I own a R2 game while playing with a SG PSN account or my Internet or is it the Midnight Club servers? I've asked this on a European based games forum and they said they have had no problems accessing the servers.

Help?

Damn, thought i pasted the question here.

And no, my disc's never hot but then I don't play for more than 2 hours.
I've heard of the problems too. Apparently, you can only connect if you have an EU IP, either that or use proxy.

QUOTE(ajis @ Feb 19 2009, 08:27 PM)
Daniel? Kobe? unsure.gif

btw, you guys here ever touch the disc after played the game for a while? I just bought a MY PS3 80gb and played VC for 2 hours. The disc kinda hot, a bit..remind me a lot like my previous Xbox360, which got 3ROD due to overheating console  sweat.gif Is this normal?
Kobe = Daniel... laugh.gif

You have no idea how fast the disc is spinning inside that Blu-Ray drive man...
The difference, it doesn't sound like a hair-dryer like the other white box does.
SSJBen
post Feb 19 2009, 09:07 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Wait you're telling me the 360 doesn't sound like a grinding machine when a disc is spinning inside?! shocking.gif
SSJBen
post Feb 20 2009, 03:47 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

You used to be able to purchase stuff on the HK store with a Msian credit card. I'm not so sure now if Sony has blocked it though.
SSJBen
post Feb 20 2009, 01:50 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Feb 20 2009, 10:13 AM)
well you can still use MY cc with SG account. i never purchased off of HK store yet.

@ssj - OT - is flower good?
HK store updates a little bit more frequently than SG store... so thats the thing there laugh.gif
Also, IINM stuff bought off the HK store are cheaper than the SG store. Atleast in comparison to currency exchange.

Flower = God-given game. Nuff' said.

QUOTE(hagon81 @ Feb 20 2009, 11:06 AM)
buying from PSN HK is accepted.
Im using HSBC cc. anyway.
Thanks for the heads up. Nice to hear HK PSN is still accepting Msia cc.
SSJBen
post Feb 22 2009, 05:06 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Feb 21 2009, 11:05 PM)
hey i was wondering. i rented prince of persia and got a bunch of trophies. if i delete PoP game data will those trophies disappear or will it forever stay.

what if i delete the save data?
Trophies are tied to your PSN account, not to your game data, not to your save data. You can completely wipe out anything that is Prince of Persia on your PS3, you'll still have your earned PoP trophies.
SSJBen
post Feb 22 2009, 03:59 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Feb 22 2009, 12:09 PM)
Hey, was wondering is there any damage to my game data if my blueray disc have some hairline scratches , and will it cause any damage to the lens ?
Generally it won't be much of an issue really.

While the lens may work a little bit harder than usual to read data, depending where those scratches are... some light scratches wouldn't be such a big threat. So don't worry about it.
SSJBen
post Feb 22 2009, 05:47 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

No you cannot charge your controller when your PS3 is in standby.

Why not just connect it to your PC instead.
SSJBen
post Feb 22 2009, 07:30 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

On a full charge on a new DS3, the battery will last anywhere from 15 hours to 25 hours. Depending on the game, if theres alot of vibration(usually driving games or action games) and sixaxis motion, then the battery time will drop.

As for the old SIXAXIS, a full charge lasts anywhere from 27 to 32 hours.
SSJBen
post Feb 28 2009, 06:14 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(gyver @ Feb 28 2009, 12:14 AM)

I have plans to get PS3 this year, if everything else goes well as planned. But suddenly today I came across this article. So should I wait for the price drop or will I have to sacrifice with a non blue ray player PS3. I really want the blue ray function.

http://www.afterdawn.com/news/archive/17107.cfm
laugh.gif doh.gif

Think about it for a second, if Sony releases a Blu-rayless PS3 what would then happen to current games? So it would mean Sony would tell people to not play any games prior to a release of a non-Bluray drive PS3 is it?

Okay, now if all PS3 games does come out on the PSN(which won't happen, Sony doesn't have the power to control third-parties), then that would still severely limit consumers to playing games. They'll need a bloody big HDD, even if you get a 500GB or even a 1TB(by the time a non Bluray PS3 comes out, it should be here), people will still be limited to downloading games.

More over, not everyone has an internet. Especially if a blu-rayless PS3 is aimed to make the PS3 cheaper, it would also mean for less-financialy stable consumers to grab a PS3. Which in this case also mean theres a high chance they do not have internet.

My point is, NO, theres no way a non Blu-ray PS3 will surface on the earth of the planet for sale atleast.
As for the price cut, its 50/50 still.

QUOTE(liwern @ Feb 28 2009, 06:03 PM)
hello all I just bought a 60GB PS3 from someone and it's working fine and im enjoying it.

Problem is if I want play online, it tells me to update the system. Should I do so? If i update my firmware, Im afraid I might get YLOD (Coz 60GB very prone to this).

Advise please
All PS3s are prone to YLOD, like it or not.

You're not only missing out on going online, but alot of the new features and fixes the latest firmwares has.
SSJBen
post Feb 28 2009, 07:19 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(liwern @ Feb 28 2009, 06:32 PM)
i cant find it.....

one last time asking...

IS IT SAFE FOR ME TO UPDATE FIRMWARE 2.60???
MINE IS 60GB VERSION PS3
AND IM AFRAID AFTER UPDATE WILL GET YLOD
If you're so damn afraid, why even bother asking then?
Either update your PS3, or miss out on all the online fun.

Your choice.

YLOD wise, its not something I would worry about anyday.
SSJBen
post Mar 1 2009, 10:48 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Even if that happens, go figure how long you'd need to download a bloody game from torrenting it..... Not practical.
SSJBen
post Mar 1 2009, 07:56 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Mar 1 2009, 05:46 PM)
weird, when i press the PS button the controller wont settle into assigned being no1.

instead the 4 lights keep blinking endlessly shocking.gif
I found the way to correct this issue a few weeks ago when my DS3 and SIXAXIS didn't register onto my PS3.

What I did was:

1) Turn off my PS3 completely, including the main switch at the back.
2) Connect the USB cable from my PS3 to my DS3.
3) Turn on my PS3.
4) Reset my DS3 by pressing the pin at the back for 2 seconds.
5) Turn off my PS3 again and unplug my DS3.
6) Connect the USB cable from my PS3 to my DS3 again.
7) Turn on my PS3, press PS button.

After that my PS3 automatically recognizes my DS3 again. I did the same for my SIXAXIS as well.

Then a couple of days ago that happened again, and this time was due to my PS3 auto-restarting 7 times in a row when I re-downloaded SSHD and it didn't want to update. This leads me back to remembering that I enabled auto-shutdown even if something is running on the background when my controllers first didn't being recognized by my PS3.

After that many times of auto-restarting, my DS3 couldn't register onto my PS3 again.
This time, all I did was connect the USB cable, turn on my PS3 again, then use my SIXAXIS first. Since my SIXAXIS wasn't in use, it isn't affected by the cause of the PS3 "forgetting" which controller is paired to the machine. I then notice that my DS3 is charging, which means it isn't dead. However pressing the PS button didn't go into player 1 when my SIXAXIS was off.

So I needed to result into forcing it into player 1 by first turning on my SIXAXIS as player 1, then set it to player 2. Then voila! Pressing the PS button on my DS3 turned in back into player 1.

I'm sure there are a few causes to a PS3 not recognizing your controllers, but I'm sure as of now one of them is due to improper shutdowns and many times of auto-restarts.

Hope this helps.

QUOTE(iAce @ Mar 1 2009, 06:42 PM)
Dear all sifus,

Just want to know after the warranty period is over, if anything goes wrong with your PS3, how are you able going to fix it? Just a question to help me buy the PS3~
If you bought a MY PS3 set, don't register the warranty until you have a problem.
So when it does have a problem, register the warranty under Sony's website then go to the shop and ask for a receipt that you purchase the unit not too long ago. While this loophole in Sony's policy under warranty terms may be patched soon, but at the moment thats how everyone is doing it for claiming warranty.

If not, individual PS3 parts aren't that easy to replace like PS2, Wii or the 360.
The dead Blu-Ray lens can be changed into a new one without much trouble, you could even do it yourself actually. Not too hard if you know what you're doing.

But if it comes to firmware bricks, the Cell or RSX chips getting burnt, you're out of luck.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0414sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:37 AM