8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

CLOSED

ar188
post Feb 3 2009, 09:40 AM

9,206 posts

htkaki, I think he mix you up with your elite fren with aston. lol.
ar188
post Feb 3 2009, 11:39 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Feb 3 2009, 11:34 AM)
Composite will give u 480i whereas component will give u 480p and progressive should give u a smoother image.. hmm.gif
However if talking about resolution different...then the difference will become very obvious..
yeah maybe need to activate upscaler DVD into 1080i/720p/1080p instead of just 480p?
ar188
post Feb 3 2009, 11:46 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Feb 3 2009, 11:43 AM)
Upscaler dvd player requires HDMI connector ...component for DVD player will forever stay at 480p...unlike component for BD player will go 720p and 1080i...
har? last time still got upscaling HD component DVD player wor.. now no more ar?

anyway, the plasma TV got HDMI or not?
ar188
post Feb 3 2009, 03:32 PM

9,206 posts

actually, even 90% is fullHD projector and 10% is source is also ok..

example. 9k FULLHD and BDP-35 (say 1k or less from europe) + RM50 bucks HDMI..

I'm willing to bet it will make a stunning image..

Added on February 3, 2009, 3:33 pmok, maybe spend another 1k+ for a manual screen..

This post has been edited by ar188: Feb 3 2009, 03:33 PM
ar188
post Feb 3 2009, 03:40 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Feb 3 2009, 03:36 PM)
Video to me is 70% of the movie experience... if got 120" full HD PJ, just average sound system enuff d
same here.. tongue.gif
somehow I could enjoy DTS + FullHD projector

while I can't enjoy as much if DTS-MA AV Amp + rm10k worth of speakers, the works, if the Display is playing just SD 480i/p or DVD quality material..

anyway, I think got fine balance between the two, I guess for me, if budget allows, 10k on Visual, 10k on Sound.. 50:50... should be sufficient

Added on February 3, 2009, 3:58 pm

nice wall sized display.. megatron, big enuf or not for your new 100x100ft house? rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Feb 3 2009, 03:58 PM
ar188
post Feb 4 2009, 11:16 PM

9,206 posts

got CC offer for A950 ar?
ar188
post Feb 7 2009, 01:07 AM

9,206 posts

wah where ar? I go and see..
ar188
post Feb 7 2009, 02:52 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Feb 7 2009, 01:52 PM)
agreed must be display unit lor...

saw philips FHD 52" LCD, (forgot the model) display model discount almost 10k.. at HN sunway..

P/S: Who dares buying HN display set.. playing hours n hours all day long... hmm.gif
wah after discount 10k is how much? if cost only 3-4k I dun mind lorr.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Feb 8 2009, 06:58 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Feb 8 2009, 06:53 PM)
Interested to get PV80 soon. Just wonder how HD movie will show on it?
Cause hd movie usually in widescreen ratio while pv80 resolution is 1024*768. Will it the output look weird?

From ratio 16:9 input and output to pv80 4:3 ratio, i would like to get pv80 users' input.
PV80 is 16:9 ratio.. the pixels are stretched horizontally to fit widescreen mode... I guess this sideeffects only affects PC input at XGA 1024x768 levels..
ar188
post Feb 8 2009, 10:36 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Feb 8 2009, 08:45 PM)
So I guess any media with 720p/1080p resolution will be downscale to play 1024*768 16:9 ratio on PV80?
I asking this because Panasonic website does show the resolution of this model.
I was wondering why LCD TV HD ready resolution is 1360*768 while Plasma HD ready is 1024*768.

If the resolution won't affect the video quality as long as it still ratio 16:9, I'm gonna get 42PV80H soon smile.gif
yes, most definitely will downscale 720p/1080i/p sources..
ar188
post Feb 9 2009, 07:45 PM

9,206 posts

big square pixel? Thats the source doing macro blocking. Low bitrate video at fast moving scene. Not tv issue. Cheers.
ar188
post Feb 11 2009, 09:12 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(naruto_kun @ Feb 11 2009, 07:51 PM)
3)The thing about resolution, no need to worry so much lah. Just use something that the tv support will do. My laptop is 1024 x 768 with 4:3, but the plasma is 1024 x 768 but 16:9. I dun see any stretching in the plasma. But whenever, I plug it to my 19' LCD tv, it looks blurry a bit. Font looks nicer on the plasma. However, when watching movies, not really noticeable about the stretch. Because the movies itself have their own resolution right?
just wondering if your laptop set the VGA out 1024x768 (XGA signal), this signal go into the TV, is there black bars on the left/right side? if yes, then there is no horizontal stretching.
if No black bars on the side, then considered the XGA signal has been stretched.. or maybe Zoomed in (if the top/bottom portion of the XGA desktop is not seen anymore)

not sure cos I don't own this TV, but any help to answer whether the XGA signal is stretched or in original 4:3 ratio when displayed on this PV80 TV..
ar188
post Feb 14 2009, 06:44 PM

9,206 posts

all I know about that MBF version is that can get free holiday hahaha!
ar188
post Feb 14 2009, 11:18 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Feb 14 2009, 10:56 PM)
the 42pv80h is a HDready 720p plasma while the lz800mk is a fullHD 1080p lcd @ 100mhz.
the PV80 is HD ready alright, but I wouldn't call it 720p.. it has insufficient pixels to be a proper 720p HDTV
ar188
post Feb 14 2009, 11:46 PM

9,206 posts

hehe.. my plasma also this rez so I know it's short comings quite well... watch SD like astro/DVD is dem chun, but when switch to 720p/1080p materials, can see it's lacking in resolution/sharpness....
ar188
post Feb 15 2009, 12:41 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Feb 14 2009, 11:54 PM)

u shudnt be sitting near to yr 50pv and purposely spot the weakness when running yr hd contents .... at a comfortable distance of 6ft & abv, most probably one cant tell the diff tongue.gif
liddat just download those basic DVDrips at 700mb should be sufficient for some people's movie watching needs.. biggrin.gif no need plasma etc.. tongue.gif

sometimes, the lack of image quality (once you are used to 1080i/720p/1080p video material) keeps reminding you why SD is insufficient and need to move to minimum 720p display and 720p source..
ar188
post Feb 15 2009, 02:26 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 15 2009, 01:56 AM)
Talking abt res...

Even if plasma is 1,024 x 768 its handle videos well....especially 720p/1080p materials.

I can tell you this..upscaled 700mb to 1080p and real mkv 1080p output is totally different even on a 1024X768 panel...trust me.
true, between 700mb and a proper 1080p MKV, there will be visible difference between the 2 files when viewing on this 1024x768.

when moving to higher def source like 720p or 1080p MKV/BD.. there is visible difference between a 1024x768 42in plasma and a 1366x768 42in plasma.. at the same viewing distance.. this means the 1024x768 still in adequate for HD sources..
ar188
post Feb 15 2009, 04:32 PM

9,206 posts

not sure, you have to ask pioneer 410 users, AVIs are a mix bags, cos it can contain various codecs for video and audio not to mention codec bit rates and resolutions.. so very high chance it won't play some of the AVIs available around..

but if you going to pair the 410 to a PV80 or a 50incher, I don't really see the need for a 1366x768 panel just for the sake of "viewing" 700mb upscaled to 1080p material.. cos there is not much data to begin with.. I think these low res AVIs would look just fine on the PV80... unless you start talking about 720p MKV, 1080k MKV, or Blu-rays..
ar188
post Feb 15 2009, 07:45 PM

9,206 posts

i think htpc fits your solution. Play all solution with optical drive. But probably need much tinkering initially.
ar188
post Feb 15 2009, 07:58 PM

9,206 posts

a pc optimised in software n hardware for home theater use.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0428sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:53 AM