CLOSED

ic-klass
post Jan 29 2009, 04:34 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 29 2009, 04:07 PM)
err.. go for 46A950... at least it's bigger than 40" tongue.gif Contrast is better smile.gif
series 9n is LED/newer - but why not consider a plasma 50pv80 or 42py800 at that budget??
ic-klass
post Jan 29 2009, 04:44 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jan 29 2009, 08:57 AM)
wah.. version 4 already!

i'm still toying around with the settings in my PV80.. DVE disc haven't arrived yet.
I tried this: http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/Panasonic-TH42PX80/Settings/
So far satisfied with the PQ with DVD and Xbox - astro..emm just live with it la..
ic-klass
post Jan 30 2009, 05:35 PM

959 posts

of course la, you cannot compare apple with durian. Our market is small and the RM has very little value. Even a 4L fresh milk in UK cost 0.99pence (here rm7-8/ rm6+ if on sales..). have to remember also we do not have a strong buying power like those in the western - where their economic are strong and currencies hold a greater values than us RM.

I agree with time the price can go down but not as rediculous as rm999/50in plasma or even lcd - may be monitor. Hav to include also the cost of "new" tech that will be included later to cater for the escalating cost. Raw material will always on the up trend, same for other factors such as labour, transport etc. The low prices in western countries also because they bought it over very large volume and their market also is more superior than us. Not to mention their euro, Dollar , Pound (try looking how much Ruppee for a same model in malaysia rclxub.gif ) Furthermore, the model came if many variants than what available to us, also their model turn over is really fast..

I'll believed u if US$999 for a 50in plasma - but RM999... doh.gif

You are not exposed much and have not travelled much. Malaysian plasma and lcd prices are inflated. See other countries and their prices and you will realise that you do not know much.

Whilst a 52 inch Sharp LCD was sold for RM25,000 (now RM13,999) a few months ago, my friend in the US bought it for US$1199. Now, even can get US$999. My friend in the UK bought it more or less same price. How now can you account for your so called storage, virgin raw materials and profit margin each level of marketing then? Btw, this is a 50KG item.

And a 50 inch Pana plasma is far cheaper in the US. So how lah your theory of raw cost? And that is now. What about 5 years time when penetration is much higher?

So how come the consumer can buy it for US$1199? and yet all those from manufacturer to the marketing levels ie distributor and retailer can still make profit?

Once the penetration increases in Msia and consumers demand more and realise how cheap the flat panels are overseas, prices would drop.

Your comments are based in your small world of just Malaysia. Open your eyes globally.

Friend, your desktop 15 inch LCD was a bomb years ago. Infact, it was like RM5000. Now, you can get a 24 inch widescreen for less than RM900 and a 19 inch for RM400 even.
This post has been edited by ic-klass: Jan 30 2009, 05:45 PM
ic-klass
post Jan 31 2009, 02:17 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jan 30 2009, 07:27 PM)
yeah..maybe have to specify which type of milk....hehehe...

what irony to start off the comment with 'cant compare apple to durian' and then the next few sentence comparing purchasing electronics with milk.
it's good that u know the diff between "apple and durian" and "electronics and milk(basic consumer product)" - then i assumed u understand my points.. rclxms.gif
ic-klass
post Feb 1 2009, 04:32 PM

959 posts

For anyone who ae interested in buying a Plasma, stay away from other model - only consider pioneer and panasonic. Both Offer 5 years warranty. The entry level for pioneer is the 42in 428XG, last price i check was aroung rm6.8k (last boxing day in HN). For panny, it is the 42in pv80 or in you dont mind losing CAT and SD card, can try 42in pv8. All are "HD Ready" with panel of 1024x768.

Black level, pioneer still the best - still can see different if put side by side.

If you have money - go for 428XG, but with that also can get 50in pv80 (real HD Ready with 1366x768 panel)
ic-klass
post Feb 1 2009, 07:39 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(zhengyang89 @ Feb 1 2009, 06:27 PM)
bro you using panasonic 42pv80 rite ? how was it when watch astro compare to panasonic 42lz80mk ?
that day i go to the shop to see between this 2 model, the plasma is more clear, the full hd lcd a bit blur...
the shop ppl quote me rm3300
If you gonna use it more to watch astro, then i advice you to go for plasma. LCD with plasma, erg bad marriage!!
CRT with Astro = ideal
Plasma with Astro = OK if your watching distance is right..cartoon and sport abd nat Geo, acceptable..

Added on February 1, 2009, 7:40 pm
QUOTE(tanseehua @ Feb 1 2009, 07:27 PM)
Just bought a LG entry level 32inch LCD TV yesterday at Tesco (got 5% rebate on Tesco RHB CCard), model: LG32LG30RA-TA.

Me really dunno anythings about LCD TV, see cheap just bought it price at RM1688 (Free Tesco Cash Voucher RM100), using Tesco RHB CCard on last weekend got 5% rebate. Club Point: 884.

RM1688-RM100-RM84.40= RM1503.60

I also dunno why i bought it, i go tesco yesterday actually is to go buy Sandisk 4GB tumbdrive few unit one, but the Computer section guy go back liao coz i go after 10pm. saw this LCD TV, then buy lo............

is this price okay ah???? is this model good.
I buy this is for my PC usage more one......
hat off to you - spurred of the momment i guessed!!
Anyway, ou bought it, might as well enjoy it.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ic-klass: Feb 1 2009, 07:40 PM
ic-klass
post Feb 2 2009, 01:26 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(eagle.ng @ Feb 2 2009, 12:24 AM)
Hi, for the normal dvd movie, if I use normal RGB cable vs Composite cable vs HDMI cable, will they give PQ different?
or alll will be same PQ since the dvd movie source is not good?
I will purchase Plasma TV soon....but just wonder the PQ will be better if I purchase the composite cables for my DVD player to Plasma tv or should I purchase HDMI player in future?
Need help pls!!  sad.gif
For DVD it will be 480. Yes cables can improved the PQ. But dont compare PQ of SD against HD. Good cable will minimised data transfer loss/ improve the transfer signal. Invest in a good cable if you wanna optimised ur setup - about 10% of ur setup should go for cable.
What good about HDMI is there is no data loss, and the data is transfer in it original uncompressed at faster speed. It will not convert your 480/SD signal to 720/1080 - this is being done by the processor/algorithm in the TV itself.

PQ: HDMI > Component > scart > s-video > composite

This post has been edited by ic-klass: Feb 2 2009, 01:27 PM
ic-klass
post Feb 3 2009, 03:08 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(eagle.ng @ Feb 3 2009, 10:30 AM)
Just puchased the 42PV80H, is new set...
check the tv status and shown...
000000:00  and count 0000003 (on and off during setting).
Experience on this plasma, not much thing can play like I expected early...little bit disppointed...anyway, will take more try for few day!!

One more thing, I found that when I play the DVD movie, with different cable like Composite Cable(RCA: Yellow, Red, White ) vs Component cable (Green, Blue, Red), the movie quality is no different.... why? sad.gif
I never tried using composite/yellow rca when watching DVD/SD. I tried it with Component and S-video. I noticed when using component, the colour reproduction was much richer and vibrant - using both cinema defaults setting and colour management set to off, PNR set to off. Hope this help.

Added on February 3, 2009, 3:11 pm
QUOTE(99below0 @ Feb 3 2009, 03:05 PM)
Only one I see so far is the RM138 made-in-china model still available at Tesco. Dunno how good is the cheapo upscaler though. Probably better to just buy a good progressive scan DVD player with some decent component cables and let your TV do the upscaling.

Or just add a few more bucks to RM369 and buy a Pioneer DV410 or Philips 5996 (both with free HDMI cables).

People with a new plasma/lcd tv... don't la be stingy on cables or players. The TV is probably only 30% of the equation, the other 70% of the PQ is your source/player/cable. A BD player will make even a 42LG53FR look good. And a china-brand dvd player, pasar malam dvd and in-the-box composite cables will still make your 42PV80 look crappy.
totally agree. to get the best PQ, all gadget must be in the same class/price categories..

This post has been edited by ic-klass: Feb 3 2009, 03:11 PM
ic-klass
post Feb 7 2009, 12:22 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(kevinboey86 @ Feb 7 2009, 11:49 AM)
wah if 42PV80 at RM2200 only i wanna buy la haha
me too. At that price, surely will lite up my toilet!!
ic-klass
post Feb 8 2009, 04:46 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(aiz1j @ Feb 8 2009, 03:22 PM)
Panel is one thing, electronics behind it is one thing and the SOFTWARE & PROCESSOR is another thing.
yap, agree. Just take proton for example. They used Mitsu body/engine, the whole lots. But at the end it was far from being a mitsu.
Good news is that, some of Pioneer tech will surely be trickling into Panny - so in the end, hope Panny wil closes the gap with Pioneer..
ic-klass
post Feb 10 2009, 06:03 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(starkm68 @ Feb 9 2009, 12:41 AM)
I am looking for plasma TV, I have narrow down to 2 model of about the same price, Panny TH-50PV80 and LG 50PG70UR.

Need some help on deciding which 1 to go with.... hmm.gif  Based on spec, LG's seems to be better, but they look about the same in show room (with HD source)

The main usage is for watching astro.
I'll go for panny
ic-klass
post Feb 18 2009, 06:20 AM

959 posts

eh!! how come got pixel round shape?? pixel it self by definition is square, rite.. blink.gif
ic-klass
post Feb 21 2009, 02:50 AM

959 posts

after reading all this, my advice -
"if you hav the mu-lah, just get the best your mu-lah can buy.." Need to remember, good things dont come cheap.

and,
LCD is totally diff than Plasma - just choose which PQ u like most from the two camps (there are diff.!!)

then,
Then, once u decide it's going to be LCD/Plasma - demo 2/3 recommended model from this forum (trust ur eyes, bring ur own disc, lappy, etc.)

finally,
spend ur mu-lah, and enjoy ur set - chin up!! flex.gif
ic-klass
post Feb 22 2009, 10:12 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Feb 22 2009, 07:54 PM)
so far after going for a 3 hour demo from another lowyat reseller on

Plasma vs LCD

Plasma just killed LCD in every situation possible

eg : Karaoke Text , Sports (blurring) , Underwater colour (over exposure) , Black demo , skin colour demo, refresh rate demo, gaming , PQ , brightness, lifetime, power consumption and many more =.=

of course, the wallet kills too but i think plasma is worth the investment , at least something that will last 5 - 10 years or so smile.gif
Hope this honest review will help to decide future buyer of flat screen...
It's not just about resolution.... thumbup.gif
ic-klass
post Feb 24 2009, 12:47 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 22 2009, 11:19 PM)
wah you dun scared after LCD supporter come chase you..  biggrin.gif
no scare la wan. can ask for some tips as well - if you get my drift..
ic-klass
post Feb 25 2009, 07:12 PM

959 posts

where are the prvious posts?? server crashed again ka??

anyway, to my under standing 42PV80 is assembled in S'pore, but the panel and stuff inside is made in Japan. some say that those that comes with 5 years warranty panel are all made in japan..
ic-klass
post Mar 2 2009, 07:18 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Mar 1 2009, 08:56 PM)
either that or Panasonic don't lnow how to price properly. In overseas, both more or less same price and not one double the price of the other.

Moral of the story, the 42 inch Pana LCD is worth it in Msia
i thought panny only have upto 37in LCD in malaysia - that's for 2008 line up..
ic-klass
post Mar 3 2009, 08:01 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(stephen5577 @ Mar 3 2009, 03:06 AM)
40' ? I got my 32' Series 6 for RM2850~ According to what i've observed from Sony Style, 100hz and 200hz makes movie look fake.The movement is just too smooth but mayb its good for sports.
just go ahead and buy a plasma...
ic-klass
post Mar 3 2009, 11:01 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Mar 3 2009, 08:11 PM)
im interested in Panasonic 42PV80h but it has no HD ready....
??? im confused??

Added on March 3, 2009, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(stephen5577 @ Mar 3 2009, 08:15 AM)
Wouldnt LCD be a better choice for Full HD Gaming and Bluray disc?
depend on what u want from ur flat screen - PQ/Aesthetic/Connection/Size/....or just for the sake of owning a flat screen

Not to mention budget!!!

This post has been edited by ic-klass: Mar 3 2009, 11:04 PM
ic-klass
post Mar 5 2009, 07:16 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(aiz1j @ Mar 5 2009, 05:20 PM)
Panasonic 2009 Plasma TVs are shipping now in the US.

http://www2.panasonic.com/consumer-electro...000000000005702

Seems that HD ready series (X1 series 720p entry level - replacing PX80 or PV80 in Malaysia) pricing is lower than prev generation. Last time they introduced 42" PX80 at USD999, now 42" X1 at USD899. Featuring 2mil:1 dynamic CR or 30,000:1 (native CR). Previously 1mil:1 dynamic or 15,000:1 native. Also offering lower power consumption and 600Hz subfield drive. I edited - X1 series doesn't offer the neo-PDP panels, only S1 and higher series.

More news and details on FullHD S1 series, G10 series

http://hdguru.com/2009-hdtvs-are-shipping-...-panasonic/392/
ha...how lcd onna catch up..!!!

0.2805sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:42 AM