QUOTE(hazremi @ Feb 2 2009, 12:45 PM)
Yes we are all as fickle as you.English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 22/02 Man Utd v Blackburn | 01:25 CH813
English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 22/02 Man Utd v Blackburn | 01:25 CH813
Feb 2 2009, 01:43 PM
6,112 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Earth |
Feb 2 2009, 01:47 PM
4,050 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 2 2009, 11:25 AM) Lampard's red card was harsh no doubt but in the end, we showed more willingness to get forward. How often did you see Bosingwa or Cole making runs down the flanks? Did Anelka even manage to muster a shot on target? We've often disagreed on matters and I think we will again. I must admit that we were somewhat fortuitous but hey, we've been hard done by before as well. The last time Chelsea visited Anfield, Rob Styles awarded a penalty after Malouda jumped into Steve Finnan. Earlier this season, we had a clean goal disallowed against Stoke, denying us 3 points. Sometimes you get the run of the mill and sometimes you don't, I think you'd agree. most of the shots were long range effort.. in our 7-1 against roma they have 20 shots too but all were long rangeAnyhow these were the stats from soccernet. Shots on Goal : Liverpool 25(9) - Chelsea 8(2). Corners : Liverpool 12 - Chelsea 1. The posession count was pretty much even but we pressed higher up the pitch than they did. We got the ball into wide areas whenever possible but were lacking in ideas in the final third. I just find it hard to believe that we didn't go for a win after all the observations I've just made. "Deserved"? I think we all know now that in the end, the team that deserves to win is the one that puts the ball in the back of the net. Ceteris Paribus. Sorry to go OT but I'm just responding to an issue currently being discussed. |
Feb 2 2009, 01:48 PM
5,909 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 06.02.58.44.23.08.03 |
You guys wanna see a starfish? It's beauty..
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Feb 2 2009, 01:50 PM
4,050 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
at anfield, vidic, lampard sent off
at emirates, adebayor sent off all undeservedly that show something....... |
Feb 2 2009, 01:59 PM
857 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Mlk, Klang |
Feb 2 2009, 02:01 PM
1,582 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Lost in Transition |
Mike Riley looks like a nerd caught in referee shirts..
Feb 2 2009, 02:06 PM
2,232 posts Joined: May 2007 From: ... around and about... |
Feb 2 2009, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Feb 2 2009, 01:47 PM) most of the shots were long range effort.. in our 7-1 against roma they have 20 shots too but all were long range I am aware having watched the game. However the debate is about who "deserves" it more, to which our efforts regardless of range, outweighed that of our opposition. I've put points across in my previous points i.e. how we pegged Bosingwa and Cole back, etc that have yet to be refuted. I don't expect to win any arguments in this thread despite my efforts. Do I "deserve" to? Well it depends on what you make of my arguments. QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Feb 2 2009, 01:50 PM) at anfield, vidic, lampard sent off Yes, it's a conspiracy and the FA favours Liverpool which is why we've won all these titles in recent times.at emirates, adebayor sent off all undeservedly that show something....... |
Feb 2 2009, 02:08 PM
857 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Mlk, Klang |
Feb 2 2009, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Feb 2 2009, 02:08 PM) but seriously after you watch the replay, it seems the it's alonso who fouled lampard. lampard did get the ball and alonso came and kick him. Here's where there is a grey area. My personal take is that it was a harsh decision and a yellow at the most. However when you go into a challenge with your studs showing, you tend to get into trouble even if you win the ball but still go through the player. If Alonso had stayed grounded, Lampard would have slid right through him. The same can be said of players that win balls from behind or the side before sliding into the opposition player. Just because he doesn't have the ball anymore, doesn't mean you can up end him. |
Feb 2 2009, 02:22 PM
2,232 posts Joined: May 2007 From: ... around and about... |
QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Feb 2 2009, 02:08 PM) but seriously after you watch the replay, it seems the it's alonso who fouled lampard. lampard did get the ball and alonso came and kick him. Yup, I agree about that. Which is why I believe Lampard's card will be rescinded. Both players went after the ball but Lampard got to it first. It's unfortunate though that Riley's position meant it would've looked to him as a Lampard challenge with studs up. Again this is one reason why I support using video evidence for important game changing decisions like this. The 4th official could easily have verified or disproved what the ref on the pitch saw to back up the decision, which would avoid cock-ups like this. And to the argument that video evidence would affect the flow of the game (stop-start), limit it to 3 a game per side. I.e. each manager can only ask for video evidence review 3 times in a game. That way important decisions get a proper look and managers don't simply abuse it and call for review every 2 minutes. Added on February 2, 2009, 2:25 pm QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 2 2009, 02:17 PM) Here's where there is a grey area. My personal take is that it was a harsh decision and a yellow at the most. However when you go into a challenge with your studs showing, you tend to get into trouble even if you win the ball but still go through the player. If Alonso had stayed grounded, Lampard would have slid right through him. The same can be said of players that win balls from behind or the side before sliding into the opposition player. Just because he doesn't have the ball anymore, doesn't mean you can up end him. I believe that is Riley's justification for the red card - that it was a dangerous challenge. Do the rules state that whether one gets the ball or not doesn't matter in that situation?This post has been edited by Fyrekat: Feb 2 2009, 02:25 PM |
Feb 2 2009, 02:51 PM
1,410 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kay El |
QUOTE(biOaRm @ Feb 2 2009, 02:29 AM) stupid torres score twice in last minutes..haizz..congrates 2 liverFOOL n bubye 4 lampard 4 da red card..LOL you may want to change your wordings before alien bro sees it...QUOTE(shgx700 @ Feb 2 2009, 07:42 AM) nah... they'll stick with him till the end of the season. After that, very difficult to say though I'd stick with him. He hasn't been able to build his own team yet.QUOTE(db07mufan @ Feb 2 2009, 11:30 AM) meh While I think luck does play a part, I think the most worthy champion will win the league. Luck isn't going to carry a team through 38 matches. If it could, then Hull City would be on top.its football, shit happens. Murphys Law. Even though its not always right, it happens. What happened has happened. If the league is perfect, it won't be that interesting anymore. No more controversies, no more drama. No more bollocks written in the papers. I much prefer it that way. To win the league, its not about having the best team i find. You need to have the champion's luck. That luck will give you an edge out of the other competitors. |
Feb 2 2009, 03:21 PM
3,854 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
the table is getting a little unpredictable at the moment..surprises and upsets happening everywhere!now thats what i call exciting!!
Feb 2 2009, 03:26 PM
1,573 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Nilai, Negeri Sembilan |
QUOTE(boxsystem @ Feb 1 2009, 10:41 PM) Might be watching the game while assembling my PC onto the new casing that I bought earlier today. Now at work, will finish at 12am. Spent RM1.5k for casing, lcd and hdd. Whoa .. my instincts were true then. I do thought that Pool would win.Am hoping for a draw but got a feeling that either one will nick full points tonight. QUOTE(Apis_LuaLua @ Feb 2 2009, 12:54 AM) box.. so much money for upgrade ur rig huh.. haha.. Alhamdulillah, ade rezeki lebih sket. btw, so far so good for us.. but i am not sure if i can tahan watching the game for the next 45 minutes.. damn bored game!! QUOTE(Hevrn @ Feb 2 2009, 11:11 AM) True that. The sending off changed the face of the game imo. Lampard is far and away the best player for Chelsea atm, he's probably the only one playing with real heart. The challenge was a nothing one. 50-50 ball, Lampard lunges in, nicks the ball and gets kicked in the foot by Alonso. Riley rushed into a decision there. Lol at Mikel's reaction to the red though, on slow mo it looked hilarious. Guess Fergie, the "leader of the FA and referees" will not be to pleased with Riley. No bottle of wine for him then. Well, luck plays part in everything. We were lucky to win all those 1-nil matches just as were Pool was lucky to win 2-nil over Ski. Simple.Like I said before, Chelsea were always gonna be the bigger threat in the long run. Yes, Scolari is clueless, but the team knows what it takes to seriously challenge for the league up to the end, having done so for the last 4-5 years. This was probably the 2nd best result (or best some would argue) we could have gotten. edit: Alien didn't like my post |
Feb 2 2009, 03:27 PM
1,756 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: PJ |
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 2 2009, 02:17 PM) Here's where there is a grey area. My personal take is that it was a harsh decision and a yellow at the most. However when you go into a challenge with your studs showing, you tend to get into trouble even if you win the ball but still go through the player. If Alonso had stayed grounded, Lampard would have slid right through him. The same can be said of players that win balls from behind or the side before sliding into the opposition player. Just because he doesn't have the ball anymore, doesn't mean you can up end him. Indeed it was harsh considering Gerard did something similar just before that in which he didn't even get the ball and got off with just a warning instead. Not to mention he vented out his frustrations after that and even that didn't warrant a yellow card. I'm not against Gerard or whatsoever, but in relative of the 2 similar incident, one got out of jail while the other one didn't. |
Feb 2 2009, 03:28 PM
52 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Talking abt refrees, did u guys watch the match between Stoke City and Manchester City...
I dun understand why Rory Delap was sent off but not Shaun Wright-Philips.. If Delap deserved a red card for kicking the ball and accidentally ( but it seem obvious ) kicked Shaun, bt why not Shaun sent off by kicking Delap? and Shaun din even get a yellow card for the 'foul' he commited.. Studs showing (although its nt high) into Etherington b4 he was kicked by Delap... Funny decision.. bt luckily the result is fair enuff.. |
Feb 2 2009, 03:32 PM
30 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
think scolari make a mistake by commenting on referee before a big match against big club.. those who make comment on referee before big match sure kana backfired. that why Sir Alex don comment on referee before big match..
put pressure on referee before a big match is a big nono... hope scolari learn his lesson... |
Feb 2 2009, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(Ronaldevil7 @ Feb 2 2009, 03:28 PM) Talking abt refrees, did u guys watch the match between Stoke City and Manchester City... Sometimes I think we can be a little overcritical of refs. I mean we get to see everything in slow motion again and again. I personally try to avoid looking into offside decisions that come down to inches knowing well that players these days are getting faster and refs are having a hard time coping. I'm sure you can relate; a couple of guys analysing the replay intentively 3 times before going, "look lah, offside lah". I mean if they had to look at it 3 times in slow motion to be sure, imagine what it must be like for the ref. This is why there has been continous calls for there to be television replays introduced. This will of course bring about a whole new set of contraversies such as teams stalling for time to wait for the results of other matches, referees being undermined,etc.I dun understand why Rory Delap was sent off but not Shaun Wright-Philips.. If Delap deserved a red card for kicking the ball and accidentally ( but it seem obvious ) kicked Shaun, bt why not Shaun sent off by kicking Delap? and Shaun din even get a yellow card for the 'foul' he commited.. Studs showing (although its nt high) into Etherington b4 he was kicked by Delap... Funny decision.. bt luckily the result is fair enuff.. Added on February 2, 2009, 3:53 pm QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Feb 2 2009, 03:32 PM) think scolari make a mistake by commenting on referee before a big match against big club.. those who make comment on referee before big match sure kana backfired. that why Sir Alex don comment on referee before big match.. It depends. Not long ago Ferguson was asking that Ronaldo get more protection from the officials prior to the start of games. I don't think it's a problem so long as you come across as pointing something out to the ref rather than disrespecting him.This post has been edited by Duke Red: Feb 2 2009, 03:53 PM |
Feb 2 2009, 05:05 PM
770 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: secret cave behind your house |
about the video evidence thingy where manager can call up to 3 time review or whatnot, its a no no no no , football will become like american football where the ref wait for someone to see the video and explain to the crowd what ruling has been made base on that video. football is most importantly a human game. referee is part of the game as well. its all human. with human comes error. that is the beauty of the game. the x factor.
and coming from a chelsea fan liverpool did deserve to win 2 - 0 , luck? sure team do sometimes get lucky , but team like liverpool make their own luck , that goes same to man united as well. they MAKE their own luck. looking out how they hv played last night, i was on the edge of my seat waiting for a liverpool goal to come to be really2 honest. |
Feb 2 2009, 05:48 PM
224 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Around JB |
reason why Bosingwa kick benayoun back
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
| Change to: | 0.0278sec