Nokia N79 Thread V2, New Firmware v20

chewchew
post Mar 25 2009, 05:24 PM

545 posts

is the wifi sniffing easy to use?...

as in is it easy for the phone to sniff out wifi network available?...

what if the wifi network suddenly get disconnected?...will access to the internet be disconnected o will it connect automatically using 3G which is damn expansive?....

thank you for your attention...
chun
post Mar 25 2009, 07:08 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Mar 24 2009, 02:11 AM)
if you already installed 5.3, dont worry because you dont need to remove garminXT 5.3. Instead, download garminXT 5.4 and install it, it will update to 5.4 and you dont need to do anything anymore...you can just use it straight away. remember to look in the settings to turn off the app running in the background.
thanks for the info thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

i have been trying out the 5.3 version for the pass 2 days and it looks like it is performing alright, battery life can last me almost 2 days even when i on the gps while travelling around to numerous locations. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

And i also noticed that using the Garmin XT somehow it gets the signal faster (maybe cos i forgot to switch off A-GPS initially) and feels like it doesn't sucks as much battery as using the nokia maps..

Oh, doomx i went to lowyat that day and saw the pouch you mentioned... doesn't look as good with the phone in it la... and the one opening from the side (similar to the E66 one) also cannot fit nicely la... those are usually for those slim phones... although the n79 is much slimmer then most of the other N-series cousins, but still a bit thick compared to the others .... i believe it's because of the camera optics which makes it well worth the extra milimetres.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif picture quality have been astounding... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Added on March 25, 2009, 8:35 pmjust to show you what I meant here's a pic i took (outdoor la)

and the picture has already been resized (by about 70%) and a bit of jpeg compression.

This post has been edited by chun: Mar 25 2009, 08:38 PM
HEERO
post Mar 25 2009, 09:07 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Mar 25 2009, 05:22 PM)
dear n79 owners, i read a review from gsmarena on this phone and i want to know how true are the disadvantages of this phone from them..

its stated that the zooming takes ages.. how true is this? as in 3-5 seconds long? can a firmware update solve this?

how about the navi-wheel performance? and is the cpu of this phone fast enough to ensure a smooth transition between photos?
i'm using N79 now, friendly speaking i didn't feel any hang o photo sharen problem(must wait a few sec for 1st time view the photo). After d firmware update,it's smooth(if u had successfull update without any interruption o disturb.) on this time, many software been updated to overcome most problem,seen this model is quite new. Navi-wheel working well,seen it's same as u moving d cursor in note book pad(in phone u just move around d navi-wheel to have a fast scroll up n down.) this function is usefull when u r searching messy songs in ur gallery.

This post has been edited by HEERO: Mar 25 2009, 09:14 PM
alpha_company
post Mar 25 2009, 09:26 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(chun @ Mar 25 2009, 07:08 PM)
thanks for the info thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

i have been trying out the 5.3 version for the pass 2 days and it looks like it is performing alright, battery life can last me almost 2 days even when i on the gps while travelling around to numerous locations. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

And i also noticed that using the Garmin XT somehow it gets the signal faster (maybe cos i forgot to switch off A-GPS initially) and feels like it doesn't sucks as much battery as using the nokia maps..
Oh, doomx  i went to lowyat that day and saw the pouch you mentioned... doesn't look as good with the phone in it la... and the one opening from the side (similar to the E66 one) also cannot fit nicely la... those are usually for those slim phones... although the n79 is much slimmer then most of the other N-series cousins, but still a bit thick compared to the others ....  i believe it's because of the camera optics which makes it well worth the extra milimetres..  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  picture quality have been astounding...  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Added on March 25, 2009, 8:35 pmjust to show you what I meant here's a pic i took (outdoor la)

and the picture has already been resized (by about 70%) and a bit of jpeg compression.
seriously install the 5.4 over the 5.3...and wont need to do anything else, it will update itself. in 5.4 you can turn off the background app. if 5.3 lasts you almost 2 days i bet 5.4 with the background app OFF will last you 2+ days with the same amount of use.

Added on March 25, 2009, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(HEERO @ Mar 25 2009, 12:51 PM)
i'm a new user on symbian phone. So i has some question to ask.

1)where should i paste d installer after i download my theme?
2)how to delete d theme after i had installed it? As i couldn't delete it in apps manager.
3)If i brought a new micro SD 8GB, what i need to do so that i can use it as usual?
4)whr can i download "Dictionary"(that original came with nokia phone,seen i had format my memory card n phone)?
5)My frenz r using "talking dictionary" but i dunno where to get d apps, anyone kmcan tell of where to download it?
1. Just put the .sis installer file in your memory card. Then open Tools>File Manager and click right to look for files inside your Memory card. Install in your memory card as i do not recommend installing it in your phone memory as there have been complains of themes/apps not being able to be uninstalled when it is installed in phone memory.

2. Go the selected themes that you want to uninstall and click options>remove.

3. If you want all your files then make sure that u enable hidden files and copy all of it into your new phone. OR use nokia PC suite and backup anything u need.

4. the dictionary is not on the phone originally actually as far as i know. i suggest installing a 3rd party dictionary as it is much better and easier to use, plus it also supports various languages.

5. There are numerous dictionaries available, some are free and some are not. I suggest searching google and looking in this websites zedge.com and symbian-freak.com inside the freeware apps for S60 V3

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Mar 25 2009, 09:48 PM
HEERO
post Mar 25 2009, 11:58 PM

265 posts

Thx vry much to alpha_company, u let me learn a lot of things. notworthy.gif

Did u r not using N79? Coz i saw u written "click right to view files in d memory card" but inside my phone whn i go into file manager, i ald can choose either go to phone memory o memory card. ( what i saw in my bro N82 is can see all d .sis files tht had been pasted )

Izzit zedge.com o symbian-freak.com provided free software is safe to use?
Can anyone recommend me whr can i get free theme too?
alpha_company
post Mar 26 2009, 12:11 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

1. You're welcomed.

2. What i mean by click right is that you can flip between phone memory and memory card. btw, did you put your files in memory card or phone memory? but anyways, install the themes & apps in your MEMORY CARD.

3. both zedge and symbian-freak provide safe trusted softwares.

4. for S60 themes, look in zedge.com but 1st set the device to n79 and it will list down compatible themes and apps for your phone.

5. look here for great themes too.. http://www.pizero.net/archives/category/theme-posting

click next below for other older but still great themes.
MT-MT
post Mar 26 2009, 09:42 AM

245 posts

Just wanna confirm some features before i become N79 user...

1) If i wanna take a moveable item with photo, how long it takes? Since i found some camera phone take few seconds
to capture the photo, how is the performance of N79??

2) Should i On / Off the A-gps? Will it need to pay for gprs, edge, 3g etc cost?

3) Real player file can play ? smoothly?

Thanks for all comment

exshige
post Mar 26 2009, 09:52 AM

186 posts

with more testing on the Garmin GPS.. i notice that if i open my car windows.. i get 2-3 signal bars and will get a lock on after 4-5min.. if i shut it.. 0 bars...

once i get a lock on ... i try opening and shutting my car windows.. it does affect the signal..

the only thing i can think of is could it be vkool as i did it on all my car screens? coz last time we heard story of smart tag and vkool got problem..

This post has been edited by exshige: Mar 26 2009, 09:53 AM
chun
post Mar 26 2009, 11:24 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Mar 25 2009, 09:26 PM)
seriously install the 5.4 over the 5.3...and wont need to do anything else, it will update itself. in 5.4 you can turn off the background app. if 5.3 lasts you almost 2 days i bet 5.4 with the background app OFF will last you 2+ days with the same amount of use.

Oh... izzit?? cool... will try it out later.. thanks notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif and i just asked a friend he also said the nokia maps sucks battery like noone business wan tongue.gif

Added on March 26, 2009, 11:26 am
QUOTE(HEERO @ Mar 25 2009, 09:07 PM)
i'm using N79 now, friendly speaking i didn't feel any hang o photo sharen problem(must wait a few sec for 1st time view the photo). After d firmware update,it's smooth(if u had successfull update without any interruption o disturb.) on this time, many software been updated to overcome most problem,seen this model is quite new. Navi-wheel working well,seen it's same as u moving d cursor in note book pad(in phone u just move around d navi-wheel to have a fast scroll up n down.) this function is usefull when u r searching messy songs in ur gallery.
wah so much benefit with the new firmware kar? would really want to install the new firmware then... just a bit afraid to mess anything up sweat.gif sweat.gif with my almost perfect N79... tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by chun: Mar 26 2009, 11:26 AM
HEERO
post Mar 26 2009, 12:32 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(chun @ Mar 26 2009, 11:24 AM)
Oh... izzit?? cool... will try it out later.. thanks  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  and i just asked a friend he also said the nokia maps sucks battery like noone business wan tongue.gif

Added on March 26, 2009, 11:26 am
wah so much benefit with the new firmware kar? would really want to install the new firmware then... just a bit afraid to mess anything up sweat.gif  sweat.gif  with my almost perfect N79... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
If u r zitron set, i would advise u go to nearest nokia care centre let them help u to do d update,seen they will confirm that d firmware update won't be interrupted.

If u r updating d firmware in nokia care centre,they will return to u d memory card inside. So the update will not mess up ur files. Enjoy ur update ya! tongue.gif

Added on March 26, 2009, 12:43 pm
QUOTE(MT-MT @ Mar 26 2009, 09:42 AM)
Just wanna confirm some features before i become N79 user...

1) If i wanna take a moveable item with photo, how long it takes? Since i found some camera phone take few seconds
to capture the photo, how is the performance of N79??

2) Should i On  / Off the A-gps? Will it need to pay for gprs, edge, 3g etc cost?

3) Real player file can play ? smoothly?
Thanks for all comment
1) i had tried, it's around 2-3sec will be done to capture a moveable object.

2) u can on it, if u wish not to paid, then go to Tools-Setting-Positioning-Positioning Method-Network based(disabled it) then gps connection is free to use!

3) in my opinion, i advise u to convert the files to mp4 so that it's smooth when play.

This post has been edited by HEERO: Mar 26 2009, 12:43 PM
doomx
post Mar 26 2009, 02:51 PM

Look at mah stars
2,801 posts

QUOTE(HEERO @ Mar 26 2009, 12:32 PM)
If u r zitron set, i would advise u go to nearest nokia care centre let them help u to do d update,seen they will confirm that d firmware update won't be interrupted.

If u r updating d firmware in nokia care centre,they will return to u d memory card inside. So the update will not mess up ur files. Enjoy ur update ya! tongue.gif

Added on March 26, 2009, 12:43 pm
1) i had tried, it's around 2-3sec will be done to capture a moveable object.

2) u can on it, if u wish not to paid, then go to Tools-Setting-Positioning-Positioning Method-Network based(disabled it) then gps connection is free to use!

3) in my opinion, i advise u to convert the files to mp4 so that it's smooth when play.
i tot Assisted GPS need to pay ony? Network based also need?
TSbooooster
post Mar 26 2009, 03:07 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Mar 26 2009, 07:51 PM)
i tot Assisted GPS need to pay ony? Network based also need?
network based is A-GPS smile.gif
MT-MT
post Mar 26 2009, 03:12 PM

245 posts

Thanks for reply... rclxms.gif

Means tat i need to hav software to convert real player file to mp4 rite? any freeware to do it? r Nokia Pc suite wll help?

TSbooooster
post Mar 26 2009, 03:34 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(MT-MT @ Mar 26 2009, 08:12 PM)
Thanks for reply...  rclxms.gif

Means tat i need to hav software to convert real player file to mp4 rite? any freeware to do it? r Nokia Pc suite wll help?
try winavi MP4 converter
nk3371
post Mar 26 2009, 05:15 PM

4 only ah?
536 posts

successfully hacked my n79...
Now can access private/resources folders...
no camera sound...
no need to sign anything...
installed fontrouter...<--enhanced my phone font...+anti-aliased thumbup.gif

tommorow wanna install n-gage games, new font, and garmin... brows.gif
and also, wanna get rid of pre-flash and red flash when taking pictures and videos...<--need to study first... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by nk3371: Mar 26 2009, 05:17 PM
choyster
post Mar 26 2009, 05:41 PM

1,802 posts

hey guys i dont know why my gps cant use, when i open nokia map nothing happen and how to check my current location? izzit because my firmware is arab firmware?
doomx
post Mar 26 2009, 05:50 PM

Look at mah stars
2,801 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Mar 26 2009, 03:07 PM)
network based is A-GPS smile.gif
Then there is another option there Assisted GPS? So must leave 1 turn on only which is the Integrated-GPS right?
HEERO
post Mar 26 2009, 05:52 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(nk3371 @ Mar 26 2009, 05:15 PM)
no camera sound...

and also, wanna get rid of pre-flash and red flash when taking pictures and videos...<--need to study first... sweat.gif
Wow, great! rclxms.gif
icon_question.gif Can u tell me whr to download d hacking pack? so that all of us can share tis joy.
If u have any else more nice software, pls share with us too biggrin.gif thx ya
TSbooooster
post Mar 26 2009, 06:15 PM

Gadget Guy
3,076 posts

QUOTE(HEERO @ Mar 26 2009, 10:52 PM)
Wow, great! rclxms.gif
icon_question.gif Can u tell me whr to download d hacking pack? so that all of us can share tis joy.
If u have any else more nice software, pls share with us too biggrin.gif thx ya
pls refrain from talking bout hacking ere or it wil get u warned and in more severe circumstances banned

jus use google there's all the info u need
chun
post Mar 26 2009, 06:40 PM

85 posts

network based is also A-gps ar? sh*t like that must've charge me a lot liao i just off the A-GPS. i tot network based is when u have wifi or something...

QUOTE(nk3371 @ Mar 26 2009, 05:15 PM)
no camera sound...

wah... cool i also want to do that ler... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Anyone knows how to do a shortcut/software to turn on the flash light easily? sometimes want to find something in the dark have to purposely go to my camera mah..

100 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:52 AM