100 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Bottom

Nokia N79 Thread V2, New Firmware v20

Andrew Lim
post Apr 20 2010, 02:36 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

I don't know about kae7, but I already have an N86, but right now switching to N79.
Although the N86 has better specs overall, the main reason is convenience. The N79 is much lighter (97g) than the N86 (149g). It's also thinner. The candy bar form is also quicker to use, I don't have to push a slider like the N86.
neo_sharky
post Apr 20 2010, 04:54 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 20 2010, 03:36 PM)
I don't know about kae7, but I already have an N86, but right now switching to N79.
Although the N86 has better specs overall, the main reason is convenience. The N79 is much lighter (97g) than the N86 (149g). It's also thinner. The candy bar form is also quicker to use, I don't have to push a slider like the N86.
also, hard to slip into the pocket if wear tight jeans biggrin.gif
kae7
post Apr 20 2010, 05:06 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Apr 20 2010, 12:03 PM)
N85 have the identical features as N79, right?
Then why you want to change to N79? Slider problem in N85?
i'm not changing to N79.. i'm just use N79 as my 2nd phone..
N85 still my first/primary phone...

there are no problem with my N85..

I own to phone.. nod.gif

[kae7] [20/04/2010] [AP] [USED] [my 2nd phone]
aspire2oo6
post Apr 20 2010, 05:13 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 20 2010, 02:36 PM)
Wow thats is so heavy for a sliding phone

Even my nokia N900 weight only 181g
Andrew Lim
post Apr 20 2010, 05:22 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Apr 20 2010, 04:54 PM)
also, hard to slip into the pocket if wear tight jeans biggrin.gif

Exactly! I came across this problem a few times with some phones.
Sometimes I wear loose shorts and if they don't have strings for tying I can't carry heavy phones otherwise my shorts would drop! brows.gif
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 20 2010, 05:13 PM)
Wow thats is so heavy for a sliding phone
Even my nokia N900 weight only 181g

Yeah, N900 is the biggest and heaviest, which is why it's not suitable for me. tongue.gif
aspire2oo6
post Apr 20 2010, 05:23 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 20 2010, 05:22 PM)
Sometimes I wear loose shorts and if they don't have strings for tying I can't carry heavy phones otherwise my shorts would drop!  brows.gif
Yeah, N900 is the biggest and heaviest, which is why it's not suitable for me.  tongue.gif
Actually its not about how heavy it is but what it is capable off. I also dislike heavy phones but there is no light phones that so capable like n900

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Apr 20 2010, 05:26 PM
Andrew Lim
post Apr 20 2010, 05:30 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 20 2010, 05:23 PM)
Actually its not about how heavy it is but what it is capable off. I also dislike heavy phones but there is no light phones that so capable like n900
I agree. In my case I just need a phone with Wi-Fi/GPS/Camera, is enough for me. blush.gif
I don't need to surf much on a phone because I'm always near a laptop or PC.
When I have to travel and I feel the need to surf, I bring my Vaio. smile.gif
kae7
post Apr 20 2010, 05:56 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 20 2010, 05:23 PM)
well.. i will waiting for the small and light phones that better than N900 laugh.gif
voscar
post Apr 20 2010, 06:50 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 20 2010, 02:36 PM)
Actually I feel unsafe using N79. tongue.gif
My previous Sony Eric P990 weights 150g and 26mm of thickness. And I used to keep P990 inside pocket everyday.

So that day when I come out the phone shop, I tot my new N79 is left inside the box since I feel nothing on my pocket. But in fact it is inside my pocket, just I can't feel it, what a HUGE difference of weight and size.

Now I has a bad habit of checking my pocket fr. time to time when taking public transport, scared my N79 lost without knowing it.
aspire2oo6
post Apr 20 2010, 08:40 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 20 2010, 05:22 PM)
Sometimes I wear loose shorts and if they don't have strings for tying I can't carry heavy phones otherwise my shorts would drop!  brows.gif
Yeah, N900 is the biggest and heaviest, which is why it's not suitable for me.  tongue.gif
Thats why i carry 1 Nokia N900 and Nokia 5800XM.

5800XM only 109g
beatlesalbum
post Apr 21 2010, 01:54 AM

1,711 posts

N79 is a great all-rounder phone, it has wi-fi, a decent camera, gps and all the 3g services like video calling. A good priced phone too below 1k!
neo_sharky
post Apr 21 2010, 02:42 AM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Apr 21 2010, 02:54 AM)
N79 is a great all-rounder phone, it has wi-fi, a decent camera, gps and all the 3g services like video calling. A good priced phone too below 1k!
i will agree with u on that biggrin.gif

how do u guys protect your N79 from scratches? any case u're using? i want to use epikcase or capdase one, but none for N79 yawn.gif

This post has been edited by neo_sharky: Apr 22 2010, 02:22 PM
Andrew Lim
post Apr 23 2010, 04:05 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Hi guys, I think I have too many phones. So I've decided to sell my N79.
If anybody interested, see my Garage Sales topic.
nicholasbeh
post Apr 23 2010, 08:12 AM

4,518 posts

for me,weight will never be a problem.coz i bring my bag all the time.i put it into my bag.haha.
voscar
post Apr 23 2010, 09:56 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 23 2010, 04:05 AM)
Hi guys, I think I have too many phones. So I've decided to sell my N79.
If anybody interested, see my Garage Sales topic.
Wow, that's fast! shocking.gif
Not even 1 week of using. Keypad not comfortable compared to your other phone?

Btw, I think the the bass produced N79 original earphone is too soft (maybe i got used with SE's Megabass?). Anyone here can suggest other earphone which has better bass effect? My budget below RM50. Thank you.
kae7
post Apr 23 2010, 10:09 AM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Apr 23 2010, 09:56 AM)
Btw, I think the the bass produced N79 original earphone is too soft (maybe i got used with SE's Megabass?). Anyone here can suggest other earphone which has better bass effect? My budget below RM50. Thank you.
below RM 50 ..?
i'm using Sony Ericsson Stereo handfree HPM-85 (with remote control) - buy from hito1115

Andrew Lim
post Apr 23 2010, 11:56 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Yeah, the N79 keypad doesn't feel very nice. The number keys are okay, but the D-pad always causes me problems.
Otherwise the phone's functionality is pretty good.
But I think my N82, N86 more than enough liao... too many N series phones... laugh.gif
aspire2oo6
post Apr 23 2010, 12:01 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

if u have better budget u can consider Nokia BH-503. Quite nice bass for me.
neo_sharky
post Apr 23 2010, 01:14 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 23 2010, 12:56 PM)
Yeah, the N79 keypad doesn't feel very nice. The number keys are okay, but the D-pad always causes me problems.
Otherwise the phone's functionality is pretty good.
But I think my N82, N86 more than enough liao... too many N series phones...  laugh.gif
i like N82 xenon's only. they keypad seems weird to use smile.gif
deicide
post Apr 23 2010, 01:47 PM

17 posts

haiyo... pls help...
i want to update my fon using NSU.
my fon version is 11.049
when connect to NSU everything is ok, like normal.
then the update size is 151mb ++
after the download reach the 151mb, the size keep counting till 425mb then, update fail...
y ?

100 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:48 PM