100 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Bottom

Nokia N79 Thread V2, New Firmware v20

neo_sharky
post Apr 8 2010, 01:11 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Apr 8 2010, 01:31 PM)
E72!!rocks.
haha. E72 fan i guess?? rolleyes.gif
aspire2oo6
post Apr 8 2010, 01:14 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Apr 8 2010, 12:08 PM)
hmm. non-qwerty phone also can be used to surf. but, a bit hard to scroll lah  biggrin.gif yep. 5730xm abit plastic look. how bout 5800xm? not like it too??

ahh! almost forgotten to E series phone. how bout E72/E71?
You guys forget about 1 phone that will make all this phones looks small

Poison time

Refer here for more info
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1371100
Andrew Lim
post Apr 8 2010, 01:58 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 8 2010, 01:14 PM)
You guys forget about 1 phone that will make all this phones looks small
Poison time

Refer here for more info
The N900 is too big and heavy for my liking. Unless you're a trendy business user or a Linux fan, I don't think N900 is a good buy.
Many older Symbian phones can do most of non-GUI functionality that N900 does.
The N900 touchscreen also not as nice as iPhone/HTC phones.

For me the best Nokia phone is still N82. It's an old phone, but still ranks top 5 at gsmarena.
aspire2oo6
post Apr 8 2010, 02:04 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 8 2010, 01:58 PM)
The N900 is too big and heavy for my liking. Unless you're a trendy business user or a Linux fan, I don't think N900 is a good buy.
Many older Symbian phones can do most of non-GUI functionality that N900 does.
The N900 touchscreen also not as nice as iPhone/HTC phones.

For me the best Nokia phone is still N82. It's an old phone, but still ranks top 5 at gsmarena.
You should try it yourself before judging it so fast. Its big for a reason

To me N900 is a good buy for what is capable to perform. If u put N79 and N900 together and use then u will see the difference.

Here some stuff what the phone can do

Plenty. N900 runs on linux so if u have knowledge in linux u can tweak this tweak tat all it need is the command or installer. Its still in development they even OC their phone from 600mz to 1200mhz ( at your own risk) Try drop by a nokia store near you and try it.

1) Amazing graphics quite close to iphone
2) Amazing browser with flash supported no need 3rd party and no annoying lag
3) Amazing 5MP camera
4) Tons of application available to download from
5) Integration of Msn, Google talk, YM , QQ, etc etc without 3rd party but only plugin
6) Support additional decoder like RMVB,FLAC by installing decoder without 3rd party software
6) The screen is nHD.
7) 3.5 inch screen and visible under sunlight when 5800XM do not.
8) High virtual memory
9) Email integration no hassle just put your email address n password it will retrieve your setting from nokia server
10) Can play heavy flash files without lag
11) JHave Xterminal http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X_terminal
12) Sms are sorted in conversation type.
13) Design to multi task without lag.
14) Able to sign in all your online messenger 1 click.
15) qwerty keyboard
16) ARM Cortex A8 600 MHz, PowerVR SGX530 graphics ( Its like a pc with external graphic card better or internal)

and many many more

Softwares can be found @
a) Ovi stores
b) Maemo.org
c) and 3rd party website

Watch this video

For more info join us here

It took about 1 year plus for 5800 or other nokia phone to get custom firmware imagine if n900 have 1 year with something so powerful imagine how far it can go.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Apr 8 2010, 02:10 PM
Andrew Lim
post Apr 8 2010, 02:25 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

My comments in blue.

As I mentioned in the N900 thread before, I already tried it and I wasn't very impressed.

Plenty. N900 runs on linux so if u have knowledge in linux u can tweak this tweak tat all it need is the command or installer. Its still in development they even OC their phone from 600mz to 1200mhz ( at your own risk) Try drop by a nokia store near you and try it.
I already have a notebook with Ubuntu in it. I don't really care what my phone runs on, since I intend to use it mainly as a phone, not a development machine.

The graphics and touch screen are not amazing. If you want really amazing, try any phone with HTC's Sense UI.
Many other Nokia, SE and HTC phones already do this since 2007.
3) Amazing 5MP camera
5MP cameras are everywhere. And unless it has Xenon flash, I wouldn't call it amazing.
Tons? Nothing compared to iPhone App Store and Android Market.
5) Integration of Msn, Google talk, YM , QQ, etc etc without 3rd party but only plugin
Same as HTC/iPhone.
6) Support additional decoder like RMVB,FLAC by installing decoder without 3rd party software
No comment, but many phones do RMVB out of the box.
6) The screen is nHD.
No comment.
5800 has a lousy resistive touchscreen anyway.
8) High virtual memory
Okay..
9) Email integration no hassle just put your email address n password it will retrieve your setting from nokia server
E72, BlackBerry, HTC all can do this..
Same as point 2.
11) JHave Xterminal http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X_terminal
No comment..
HTC phones do this too.
So many phones multi-task, except iPhone.
That's nice
15) qwerty keyboard
E72, MILESTONE, etc all have this. Nothing special..
16) ARM Cortex A8 600 MHz, PowerVR SGX530 graphics ( Its like a pc with external graphic card better or internal)
Nexus One has 1GHz Snapdragon.

Yes, add all of the above features and the N900 sounds great. I admit it has potential, but other phones can do most of the things it does, and they weigh less and cost less too.

This post has been edited by Andrew Lim: Apr 8 2010, 02:26 PM
nicholasbeh
post Apr 8 2010, 02:35 PM

4,518 posts

back to the topic mate.this is N79 thread.cheers!
aspire2oo6
post Apr 8 2010, 02:41 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 8 2010, 02:25 PM)
My comments in blue.

As I mentioned in the N900 thread before, I already tried it and I wasn't very impressed.

Plenty. N900 runs on linux  so if u have knowledge in linux u can tweak this tweak tat all it need is the command or installer. Its still in development they even OC their phone from 600mz to 1200mhz ( at your own risk)  Try drop by a nokia store near you and try it.
I already have a notebook with Ubuntu in it. I don't really care what my phone runs on, since I intend to use it mainly as a phone, not a development machine.

The graphics and touch screen are not amazing. If you want really amazing, try any phone with HTC's Sense UI.
3) Amazing 5MP camera
5MP cameras are everywhere. And unless it has Xenon flash, I wouldn't call it amazing.
Same as HTC/iPhone.
6) The screen is nHD.
No comment.
8) High virtual memory
Okay..
Same as point 2.
11) JHave  Xterminal http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X_terminal
No comment..
HTC phones do this too.
That's nice
15) qwerty keyboard
16) ARM Cortex A8 600 MHz, PowerVR SGX530 graphics  ( Its like a pc with external graphic card better or internal)

Yes, add all of the above features and the N900 sounds great. I admit it has potential, but other phones can do most of the things it does, and they weigh less and cost less too.
Ok my point is to share but do u realize your point u highlighted is from different brands and models? My point here is to show N900 is the combination of all this and its potential. Lastly its a Nokia
Back to topic tongue.gif People even successfully run Android on N900

Dont tell me to have all this features u need have 10 phones in your pocket?

Back to topic

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Apr 8 2010, 02:53 PM
kae7
post Apr 8 2010, 02:53 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

well N900 and Maemo still new..

I still remember when N85 VS N86 VS N96 hahaha
nicholasbeh
post Apr 8 2010, 02:56 PM

4,518 posts

N85vsN86vsN96??lol.N86 sure kills without any doubt.no need to compare at all.
Emo_Boy
post Apr 8 2010, 03:05 PM

★Safe_Trader★
1,808 posts

n86 camera sudah KO n96 and n85
SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 8 2010, 03:19 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 8 2010, 02:04 PM)

Funny you should say that. In my supposedly easy-to-set-up-email E52, it is impossible for me to get the phone to accept my password containing symbols like *&^$^#$. It was only after I used plain vanilla character like ABC and 123 that I was able to.

november_thanatos
post Apr 8 2010, 09:02 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Apr 8 2010, 12:08 PM)
hmm. non-qwerty phone also can be used to surf. but, a bit hard to scroll lah  biggrin.gif yep. 5730xm abit plastic look. how bout 5800xm? not like it too??

ahh! almost forgotten to E series phone. how bout E72/E71?
5800xm is a touchscreen so i won't buy it... biggrin.gif
before this,i am quite skeptical bout e series...i thought i was only for executives or business people the specifications quite good & its battery life is better than n85...
now i hav to choose between e72,n85 & n79.....need some time to think bout this....
neway,do u guys know the price for these models now?
aspire2oo6
post Apr 8 2010, 09:03 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(november_thanatos @ Apr 8 2010, 09:02 PM)
5800xm is a touchscreen so i won't buy it...  biggrin.gif
before this,i am quite skeptical bout e series...i thought i was only for executives or business people the specifications quite good & its battery life is better than n85...
now i hav to choose between e72,n85 & n79.....need some time to think bout this....
for business class go for E72

1) Amazing battery life
2) Better processor better speed.
3) Design for business
november_thanatos
post Apr 8 2010, 09:16 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 8 2010, 09:03 PM)
for business class go for E72

1) Amazing battery life
2) Better processor better speed.
3) Design for business

wat if i am more into entertainment,which is da nice choice? n79,n85 or e72?
Emo_Boy
post Apr 8 2010, 09:20 PM

★Safe_Trader★
1,808 posts

QUOTE(november_thanatos @ Apr 8 2010, 09:16 PM)
wat if i am more into entertainment,which is da nice choice? n79,n85 or e72?
E72 !!! drool.gif
kae7
post Apr 8 2010, 09:21 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(november_thanatos @ Apr 8 2010, 09:02 PM)
well.. i am n85 user..haha..
but i suggest go for E72 if u want qwerty keyboard.. as the other only has alphanumerical keybord only..haha not a keyboard though..

the price
E72 - RM1000++ for AP and RM 1.2k++ for ORI
N85 - RM 950++ for AP and RM 1.1k++ for ORI
N79 - RM 900++ for AP and RM 1k+ for ORI

neo_sharky
post Apr 8 2010, 10:23 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 8 2010, 03:04 PM)

To me N900 is a good buy for what is capable to perform. If u put N79 and N900 together and use then u will see the difference.

Here some stuff what the phone can do

Plenty. N900 runs on linux  so if u have knowledge in linux u can tweak this tweak tat all it need is the command or installer. Its still in development they even OC their phone from 600mz to 1200mhz ( at your own risk)  Try drop by a nokia store near you and try it.

3) Amazing 5MP camera
6) The screen is nHD.
8) High virtual memory
15) qwerty keyboard
16) ARM Cortex A8 600 MHz, PowerVR SGX530 graphics  ( Its like a pc with external graphic card better or internal)

and many many more

Softwares can be found @
a) Ovi stores
b) Maemo.org
c) and 3rd party website

Watch this video

For more info join us here

It took about 1 year plus for 5800 or other nokia phone to get custom firmware imagine if n900 have 1 year with something so powerful imagine how far it can go.
QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 8 2010, 03:25 PM)
My comments in blue.

3) Amazing 5MP camera
Same as HTC/iPhone.
6) The screen is nHD.
No comment.
8) High virtual memory
Okay..
Same as point 2.
No comment..
HTC phones do this too.
That's nice
15) qwerty keyboard

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif both of u r professional in this mobile phone world. i'll leave to the readers to determine themselves

QUOTE(november_thanatos @ Apr 8 2010, 10:02 PM)
some people says, the built quality for E72 is not as nice E71? is it true? for me, i would not choose slider phone. hard for me to slide inside the pocket. plus, N85 is a 2-way slider. a big NO for me! hehe. b4 buying N79, i also considering to buy N82. but, at the end go for N79 bcoz it is newer smile.gif
neo_sharky
post Apr 9 2010, 11:24 AM

1,725 posts

I found a website which you guys can download very nice themes. maybe it kinda old for some of u, but i like it very much. go HERE
smokey
post Apr 9 2010, 07:41 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

i changed my front casing at NCC bkt bintang...
costed me rm60 (without the keypad)...
neo_sharky
post Apr 9 2010, 07:59 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Apr 9 2010, 08:41 PM)
i changed my front casing at NCC bkt bintang...
costed me rm60 (without the keypad)...
quite cheap. is it including labor cost? yours still under warranty?

100 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:05 AM