4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia N79 Thread V2, New Firmware v20

neo_sharky
post Aug 29 2009, 04:03 AM

1,725 posts

any major problems with the N79? i'd like to know coz im interested to get one soon smile.gif
neo_sharky
post Mar 16 2010, 03:51 PM

1,725 posts

new user here
nokia n79, black, original avaxx, rm1200
neo_sharky
post Mar 17 2010, 11:30 AM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(samsoong @ Mar 17 2010, 04:23 AM)
how's it working for u bro?
u referring to me bro? tongue.gif
neo_sharky
post Mar 22 2010, 01:55 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(HEERO @ Mar 20 2010, 03:11 AM)
Ovi Contacts...Does anyone heard this before???
What is the best way for firmware update> FOTA or Suite??? (In order to prevent bugs occurs.)
FOTA - less time needed to update coz the updater file is around 20-30Mb
Suite - more time needed to update coz the updater file is around 120Mb++

usually after the upd8 process completed i'll softreset the phone (*#7370#)
when u do softreset, mybe some of the pre-installed applications will disappear e.g ovi contacts, facebook, n-gage

This post has been edited by neo_sharky: Mar 22 2010, 01:58 PM
neo_sharky
post Mar 23 2010, 07:33 AM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(tkgan @ Mar 23 2010, 12:10 AM)
lookin forward to get me one of this.

izit worth it?
for me, as for now, it is worth to buy.

what i like?
- A-gps
- 5Mpx camera
- sound quality quite okay
- wifi, although not use very frequent, but best to have bundled together smile.gif
- last but not least, navi wheel

what i dont like?
- keypad a bit hard to press, since there are no clevage between key 1, 2 and 3, afraid it will crack in the middle
- using A-gps will eat your money a bit tongue.gif
- camera have noise when taking night shot
- dust easy accumulated at the camera slider, i like N95 camera shutter design

QUOTE(HEERO @ Mar 23 2010, 02:22 AM)
So means a complete update will only done by suite?
Ovi contacts got what use? Facebook addware in phone got what usage? (Seen like nothing much function Bcoz i saw same things when i log in facebook by phone "web".)
cant confirm that though. i think using FOTA is the best since it will save your time. but if you afraid it will not update completely, go for suite lah. never use Ovi contacts before. already disappear after i have done the softreset. yes2, the Facebook addware is like when log in thru web. mybe just like a shortcut
neo_sharky
post Mar 24 2010, 11:47 AM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(tkgan @ Mar 23 2010, 10:05 PM)
ok thanks for the info smile.gif
ur welcome mate. the best way to experience it by yourself is to go to the center to play with it @ buy it tongue.gif
neo_sharky
post Mar 25 2010, 03:10 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Mar 25 2010, 02:37 PM)
You could use I-GPS is you dont want to pay!  rclxms.gif Its a little slow in connecting, but once connected not a problem.

Keys, you need to get used to it, unless one has big fingers. Finger nail might be helpful!  nod.gif
I-gps? how to do it?
neo_sharky
post Mar 26 2010, 08:44 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(HEERO @ Mar 26 2010, 02:21 AM)
Settings > Positioning > Positioning Methods > Integrated GPS (only enable this and disable others so that it's free to use)
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Mar 26 2010, 02:55 PM)
Thanks Heero for the feedback.....but if you want faster connection to GPS, then set AGPS< as soon as you get connected, just disable AGS, and IGPS would continue to serve  biggrin.gif
hoho. thanx guys! never know bout this tho. long time dont use hi-end Nokia tongue.gif
neo_sharky
post Mar 31 2010, 06:47 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Mar 31 2010, 03:02 PM)
Yeah there are alot of cool stuff in N79, just need to explore or download some freewares  rclxms.gif  Do you know you can turn on the  camera flash as a night light (torchlight) as well!  icon_rolleyes.gif
haha. not know bout that. but wont be needed it though tongue.gif

QUOTE(smokey @ Mar 31 2010, 06:36 PM)
u can use n79 (or all other symbian phone with gps) as gps receiver on ur laptop too...
i ran garmin on my laptop...haha
it is sad coz my lappy doesnt have bluetooth connection sad.gif
neo_sharky
post Apr 2 2010, 02:38 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Apr 1 2010, 10:44 PM)
guys, how long the battery of ur n79 can survive?
i just bought my n79 two weeks ago and i notice that the battery generally last for 2 days only ( even for full 100% battery charge ).
and i only use to online like 30 minutes per day only.
is this normal?
if just use the phone for sms, call and music, 3-4 days. if included garmin usage as well, 2-3 days. overall, the battery performance is superb biggrin.gif
neo_sharky
post Apr 3 2010, 01:19 AM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(november_thanatos @ Apr 2 2010, 10:27 PM)
is there any better nokia phones other than this?(touchscreen phone excluded)

is it worth it if i buy this phone next month?or shud i get other model?...

icon_question.gif
in terms of design, it suits me perfectly. easy for me to slip into my pocket jeans. at first, i am considering for N86. luv the back design. but since it is a slider design (ex-user of N95), hard for me to slide in to my pocket. if use flip pouch, will look bulkier. the cons is just it is prone to fingerprint. i kept wipe my phone rite now tongue.gif

btw, i would like to ask, what is your priority for your phone? mybe it can help u a bit when choosing a phone smile.gif
neo_sharky
post Apr 3 2010, 04:47 PM

1,725 posts

if i want to take photo continuously without viewing it, sometimes it cant focus and snap. do this happen to u guys?
neo_sharky
post Apr 4 2010, 07:24 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(november_thanatos @ Apr 3 2010, 10:13 PM)
me?i want a phone that has a long battery life,got wi-fi,a quite good we browser & good music player...that's all i think..i just want an entertainment phone...i dun care bout' emel attachment,camera or wateve....i don't know why phone companies lately really like to produce touchscreen phones...it would be hard for me to sms,rite?...n85 specs are really good for me but considering the problems of the phone spreading aound the webs,i had to think twice bout' getting n85....  cry.gif
if u like to surf a lot, mybe u should go for a qwerty-type phone smile.gif how bout Nokia 5730XM/N97/N97 mini? dont like it? dont know how the performance since im not using it though. mybe u can to their specific thread smile.gif
neo_sharky
post Apr 5 2010, 01:07 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Apr 5 2010, 01:30 AM)
Hi, may i know how you identify the battery is not genuine nokia battery? can provide picture for comparison purpose or not?
i just bought an ap set black n79 last week, and the battery also only lasted 2 days. Normal phone call ard 30mins/day, 5 sms, 30mins music.
i dont trust AP shop anymore. better buy at the service centre or authorised dealer. yes. it is abit expensive but it is worth every money u spend smile.gif btw, this is just an opinion. no need to flame me. anyone know how to solve the problem i've mentioned in my previous post?

This post has been edited by neo_sharky: Apr 5 2010, 01:08 PM
neo_sharky
post Apr 5 2010, 01:32 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Apr 5 2010, 02:13 PM)
depends on which AP company.if the ap company is reliable enough then is ok.im always stick to AP since the company is responsible and reliable enough.
i seconded that

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 5 2010, 02:19 PM)
actually its very subjective because the ap company can close down anytime or change management. Ask yourself wats the chance compare to ap company nokia malaysia or nokia international to disappear? to identify ori make sure the warranty are either zitron, avaxx or sapura other than those is ap
yup. that's rite. they are well known distributor. surely they wont up let us down as a customer tongue.gif but sometimes, the other thing happens too sweat.gif
neo_sharky
post Apr 6 2010, 05:51 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Apr 6 2010, 06:09 AM)
ya.even samsung FMG also closed down d.
err. what do u mean by that? unsure.gif
neo_sharky
post Apr 8 2010, 12:08 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(november_thanatos @ Apr 8 2010, 10:25 AM)
n97 & n97 mini are not my type....already hav a look at my friend 's n97 mini & it's not really my type,plus the price is too expensive for me....
i got really excited when i saw 5730XM in some articles months ago...but it's too 'plastic' rite?im a tough user btw so its not reliable...
hmm. non-qwerty phone also can be used to surf. but, a bit hard to scroll lah biggrin.gif yep. 5730xm abit plastic look. how bout 5800xm? not like it too??

ahh! almost forgotten to E series phone. how bout E72/E71?

This post has been edited by neo_sharky: Apr 8 2010, 12:09 PM
neo_sharky
post Apr 8 2010, 01:11 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Apr 8 2010, 01:31 PM)
E72!!rocks.
haha. E72 fan i guess?? rolleyes.gif
neo_sharky
post Apr 8 2010, 10:23 PM

1,725 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 8 2010, 03:04 PM)
You should try it yourself before judging it so fast. Its big for a reason

To me N900 is a good buy for what is capable to perform. If u put N79 and N900 together and use then u will see the difference.

Here some stuff what the phone can do

Plenty. N900 runs on linux  so if u have knowledge in linux u can tweak this tweak tat all it need is the command or installer. Its still in development they even OC their phone from 600mz to 1200mhz ( at your own risk)  Try drop by a nokia store near you and try it.

1) Amazing graphics quite close to iphone
2) Amazing browser with flash supported no need 3rd party and no annoying lag
3) Amazing 5MP camera
4) Tons of application available to download from
5) Integration of Msn, Google talk, YM , QQ, etc etc without 3rd party but only plugin
6) Support additional decoder like RMVB,FLAC by installing decoder without 3rd party software
6) The screen is nHD.
7) 3.5 inch screen and visible under sunlight when 5800XM do not.
8) High virtual memory
9) Email integration no hassle just put your email address n password it will retrieve your setting from nokia server
10) Can play heavy flash files without lag
11) JHave  Xterminal http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X_terminal
12) Sms are sorted in conversation type.
13) Design to multi task without lag.
14) Able to sign in all your online messenger 1 click.
15) qwerty keyboard
16) ARM Cortex A8 600 MHz, PowerVR SGX530 graphics  ( Its like a pc with external graphic card better or internal)

and many many more

Softwares can be found @
a) Ovi stores
b) Maemo.org
c) and 3rd party website

Watch this video

For more info join us here
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1371100

It took about 1 year plus for 5800 or other nokia phone to get custom firmware imagine if n900 have 1 year with something so powerful imagine how far it can go.
QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Apr 8 2010, 03:25 PM)
My comments in blue.

You should try it yourself before judging it so fast. Its big for a reason
As I mentioned in the N900 thread before, I already tried it and I wasn't very impressed.

Plenty. N900 runs on linux  so if u have knowledge in linux u can tweak this tweak tat all it need is the command or installer. Its still in development they even OC their phone from 600mz to 1200mhz ( at your own risk)  Try drop by a nokia store near you and try it.
I already have a notebook with Ubuntu in it. I don't really care what my phone runs on, since I intend to use it mainly as a phone, not a development machine.

1) Amazing graphics quite close to iphone
The graphics and touch screen are not amazing. If you want really amazing, try any phone with HTC's Sense UI.
2) Amazing browser with flash supported no need 3rd party and no annoying lag
Many other Nokia, SE and HTC phones already do this since 2007.
3) Amazing 5MP camera
5MP cameras are everywhere. And unless it has Xenon flash, I wouldn't call it amazing.
4) Tons of application available to download from
Tons? Nothing compared to iPhone App Store and Android Market.
5) Integration of Msn, Google talk, YM , QQ, etc etc without 3rd party but only plugin
Same as HTC/iPhone.
6) Support additional decoder like RMVB,FLAC by installing decoder without 3rd party software
No comment, but many phones do RMVB out of the box.
6) The screen is nHD.
No comment.
7) 3.5 inch screen and visible under sunlight when 5800XM do not.
5800 has a lousy resistive touchscreen anyway.
8) High virtual memory
Okay..
9) Email integration no hassle just put your email address n password it will retrieve your setting from nokia server
E72, BlackBerry, HTC all can do this..
10) Can play heavy flash files without lag
Same as point 2.
11) JHave  Xterminal http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X_terminal
No comment..
12) Sms are sorted in conversation type.
HTC phones do this too.
13) Design to multi task without lag.
So many phones multi-task, except iPhone.
14) Able to sign in all your online messenger 1 click.
That's nice
15) qwerty keyboard
E72, MILESTONE, etc all have this. Nothing special..
16) ARM Cortex A8 600 MHz, PowerVR SGX530 graphics  ( Its like a pc with external graphic card better or internal)
Nexus One has 1GHz Snapdragon.

Yes, add all of the above features and the N900 sounds great. I admit it has potential, but other phones can do most of the things it does, and they weigh less and cost less too.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif both of u r professional in this mobile phone world. i'll leave to the readers to determine themselves

QUOTE(november_thanatos @ Apr 8 2010, 10:02 PM)
5800xm is a touchscreen so i won't buy it...  biggrin.gif
before this,i am quite skeptical bout e series...i thought i was only for executives or business people the specifications quite good & its battery life is better than n85...
now i hav to choose between e72,n85 & n79.....need some time to think bout this....
neway,do u guys know the price for these models now?
some people says, the built quality for E72 is not as nice E71? is it true? for me, i would not choose slider phone. hard for me to slide inside the pocket. plus, N85 is a 2-way slider. a big NO for me! hehe. b4 buying N79, i also considering to buy N82. but, at the end go for N79 bcoz it is newer smile.gif
neo_sharky
post Apr 9 2010, 11:24 AM

1,725 posts

I found a website which you guys can download very nice themes. maybe it kinda old for some of u, but i like it very much. go HERE

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0454sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:51 AM