azarimy
post Apr 6 2012, 09:30 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(LaiFany @ Apr 5 2012, 04:33 PM)
Thanks for the info.  biggrin.gif One question, how many years do I have to study from now with the assumption of me completing my Masters.
well, depends on ur path ofcourse.

A-levels and STPM takes about 18 months.
a degree can be between 3 to 4 years, depending on course.
a masters degree can be between 1 to 1.5 years.

some masters degree require u to have some work experience. but i cant imagine ur path would chance u upon one.
academiclawyer
post May 2 2012, 03:44 PM

204 posts

I go into the office only twice a week. It is difficult to think of many other jobs that can beat the flexible hours of the academia.
Human Nature
post May 2 2012, 06:58 PM

- student of human nature -
26,533 posts

QUOTE(academiclawyer @ May 2 2012, 03:44 PM)
I go into the office only twice a week. It is difficult to think of many other jobs that can beat the flexible hours of the academia.
no record? IPTA or IPTS?
academiclawyer
post May 2 2012, 08:05 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 2 2012, 06:58 PM)
no record? IPTA or IPTS?
Neither. I'm based overseas.

No record. No leave application either. I only need to be there for the classes (app 5 hours per week). As long as I meet my publication targets I'm fine.

This post has been edited by academiclawyer: May 2 2012, 08:06 PM
Human Nature
post May 2 2012, 08:49 PM

26,533 posts

QUOTE(academiclawyer @ May 2 2012, 08:05 PM)
Neither. I'm based overseas.

No record. No leave application either. I only need to be there for the classes (app 5 hours per week). As long as I meet my publication targets I'm fine.
That is nice. Local ones may still require some sort of record. Tend to be abused by some thats why. What about administration work, is there any?

This post has been edited by Human Nature: May 2 2012, 08:50 PM
academiclawyer
post May 2 2012, 09:10 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 2 2012, 08:49 PM)
That is nice. Local ones may still require some sort of record. Tend to be abused by some thats why. What about administration work, is there any?
Let's put it this way. It's a job from heaven.

I'm in my mid twenties and so it's an entry-level academic position. No administrative duties.

I teach about 5 hours per week for two semesters (about 3 months each). If I do 10 hours in one semester, I have the other 8 months free.

The rest of the time is for research, which I have to do properly for the next decade, in order for me to be upgraded to a tenured position (Assoc Prof). If I fail to meet my research targets within the specified duration, then I'm out of the game: publish or perish. So here's the tough part.

dragontongue88
post May 25 2012, 03:24 PM

360 posts

Hi all,

I am a student currently doing my Masters, and I am thinking of becoming a lecturer. From what I gather from reading this thread, there are some IPTS that accepts a Masters holder as a lecturer. I know that most lecturers will have to do research as well. The thing I’m curious about is regarding the publications, I’ve heard that lecturers have to publish a certain number of publications every year. Is that true? What I am curious to know is what would happen if a lecturer fails to meet that requirement? hmm.gif Will the lecturer be fired? Or will he/she just get poor performance rating at the end of the year (thus losing out on perks like bonus, promotion, etc.)? If it is the former, then it certainly seems like a lecturer’s job is a very pressurized job. Because from my experience of my Masters research now, it certainly seems like the research duration is not something that is predictable, there are many occasions where ideas attempted end up in failure, thus taking up a lot of time.

I do believe I will enjoy teaching, though I’ve no experience in teaching yet. It is the research part of a lecturer’s job that worries me actually. So if anyone has experience on this, please share with me. icon_question.gif

Thanks. notworthy.gif

Human Nature
post May 25 2012, 03:34 PM

26,533 posts

QUOTE(dragontongue88 @ May 25 2012, 03:24 PM)
Hi all,

I am a student currently doing my Masters, and I am thinking of becoming a lecturer. From what I gather from reading this thread, there are some IPTS that accepts a Masters holder as a lecturer. I know that most lecturers will have to do research as well. The thing I’m curious about is regarding the publications, I’ve heard that lecturers have to publish a certain number of publications every year. Is that true? What I am curious to know is what would happen if a lecturer fails to meet that requirement?  hmm.gif  Will the lecturer be fired? Or will he/she just get poor performance rating at the end of the year (thus losing out on perks like bonus, promotion, etc.)? If it is the former, then it certainly seems like a lecturer’s job is a very pressurized job. Because from my experience of my Masters research now, it certainly seems like the research duration is not something that is predictable, there are many occasions where ideas attempted end up in failure, thus taking up a lot of time.

I do believe I will enjoy teaching, though I’ve no experience in teaching yet. It is the research part of a lecturer’s job that worries me actually. So if anyone has experience on this, please share with me.  icon_question.gif

Thanks.  notworthy.gif
Lecturers have to meet a certain set of KPI, and publication is one of the criteria. How it affects the perks and annual bonus depends on the weightage given to this criteria, usually set by the university. It is likely that publication is one of the most important criteria for promotion. Getting fired for not having publication, in my opinion, is very extreme.
OMG!
post May 26 2012, 08:51 AM

Raymond
1,397 posts

Hi all,

I am a student currently doing my Masters, and I am thinking of becoming a lecturer. From what I gather from reading this thread, there are some IPTS that accepts a Masters holder as a lecturer. I know that most lecturers will have to do research as well. The thing I’m curious about is regarding the publications, I’ve heard that lecturers have to publish a certain number of publications every year. Is that true? What I am curious to know is what would happen if a lecturer fails to meet that requirement?  hmm.gif  Will the lecturer be fired? Or will he/she just get poor performance rating at the end of the year (thus losing out on perks like bonus, promotion, etc.)? If it is the former, then it certainly seems like a lecturer’s job is a very pressurized job. Because from my experience of my Masters research now, it certainly seems like the research duration is not something that is predictable, there are many occasions where ideas attempted end up in failure, thus taking up a lot of time.

I do believe I will enjoy teaching, though I’ve no experience in teaching yet. It is the research part of a lecturer’s job that worries me actually. So if anyone has experience on this, please share with me.  icon_question.gif

Thanks.  notworthy.gif
Yes, research is never a predictable thing on when and how long you are going to get it done.

Most of my lecturers did their Phd in overseas and end up in local university IPTA , teaching and researching are two main roles they do. Occasionally, they have to attend conferences, involved in mentoring, and paper works for sure.

Publications are only a must if you are graduated from Phd, and not really applies for Master. there is a tier 1,2,3 publication where the Tier 1 is the most excellent work of publication.

If you intend to just further up to master, you may find a lecturer position in IPTS to be relatively easier to secure compared to IPTA as IPTA now aiming for producing full time Phd holders to hold the lecturer position. While for IPTS which is not so heavily inclined on research, most of your time will be on lecturing.

By the way, again, it is important to state your field of study. smile.gif

This post has been edited by OMG!: May 26 2012, 08:53 AM
azarimy
post May 26 2012, 09:19 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(dragontongue88 @ May 25 2012, 07:24 AM)
Hi all,

Thanks.  notworthy.gif
well u've got most of it right.

whether a lecturer gets fired or not (eventually) depends on his overall performance. yes, publication is one of the things they'd have to do. not doing it means the KPI will be poor. u get poor rating for several years u'll get a warning. u might be transferred elsewhere, holding a weaker post.

thing is, IPTAs are under JPA. and anyone under JPA is subject to the King. only the King can approve anyone to be fired. the process alone could take years, involving countless top management officers to make the decision. which is why it's much easier to transfer people around in government offices rather than fire them outright.
Human Nature
post May 26 2012, 10:34 AM

26,533 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ May 26 2012, 08:51 AM)
Yes, research is never a predictable thing on when and how long you are going to get it done.

Most of my lecturers did their Phd in overseas and end up in local university IPTA , teaching and researching are two main roles they do. Occasionally, they have to attend conferences, involved in mentoring, and paper works for sure.

Publications are only a must if you are graduated from Phd, and not really applies for Master. there is a tier 1,2,3 publication where the Tier 1 is the most excellent work of publication.
If you intend to just further up to master, you may find a lecturer position in IPTS to be relatively easier to secure compared to IPTA as IPTA now aiming for producing full time Phd holders to hold the lecturer position. While for IPTS which is not so heavily inclined on research, most of your time will be on lecturing.

By the way, again, it is important to state your field of study. smile.gif
That is not entrirely correct as non Phd lecturers are required to have publications too. Tiers are determined by the university and different universities may have different set of tiering. When we discuss about IPTA and IPTS, we should differentiate between the premier and non premier ones. In low ranked IPTAs, you can still become a lecturer with just a master. As for premier IPTS, research and publication is a major component.
etsy3699
post May 26 2012, 01:28 PM

60 posts

Hi all,

Thanks.  notworthy.gif
Don't worry too much about the 'publish or perish' practice. Usually when you accept a lecturing job, they should give you a clear guideline of Key Performance Index (KPI) of what is expected of you for the whole year, and you should be able to achieve them, some institutions don't even emphasise on research (some not compulsory, just included in KPI but doesn't affect perks).

Most of Malaysian institutions put heavy emphasis on the publishing part though. However, it is not too hard to get published, some institutions even publish their own periodicals to 'help' their lecturers, some hold bi-annual conferences for paper presentation, where half of the presenters are members of their own academia.

Concentrate on finishing your Masters first. It is easier to get into lecturing in Malaysia than you think. Good luck!
academiclawyer
post May 26 2012, 04:21 PM

204 posts

If you join a research intensive university, then you will usually be put on a tenure track. You will be given a limited duration (usually 6 to 8 years) to meet your publication targets. If you meet them, you will be offered a permanent tenured position. If you don't, they will simply not renew your contract, and you are out of the game. The phrase 'publish or perish' best describes this situation.

The alternative is a teaching track, under which you teach much more than a tenure track lecturer. You can still be promoted, but it takes longer, and the position is a non-tenured one.

Your publication targets also depend on your institution. Good institutions will require publications in international peer-reviewed journals respected in your field. Anything short of this, eg non peer-reviewed pieces or conference presentations, carries almost no weight.

When your tenure track duration is up, your work will be reviewed by half a dozen experts on your subject, mostly from overseas. You need to submit a selection of your work which you can be proud of. The focus is on quality. If the review is unfavourable, then you are out of the game.

It's a very challenging job. Good universities will pay you "telephone number" salaries for this.

OMG!
post May 26 2012, 06:50 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 26 2012, 10:34 AM)
That is not entrirely correct as non Phd lecturers are required to have publications too. Tiers are determined by the university and different universities may have different set of tiering. When we discuss about IPTA and IPTS, we should differentiate between the premier and non premier ones. In low ranked IPTAs, you can still become a lecturer with just a master. As for premier IPTS, research and publication is a major component.
Yes thanks for clarifying. Do you know how to differentiate a IPTS between the premier and the non-premier?

As far as I know, those with university status will belong to the premier one, but I am just not too sure how established their research works and publications do.

Sunway, Taylor, HELP, Monash, Nottingham, AIMST, UCSI for sure belong to the premier one, right?
Human Nature
post May 26 2012, 07:01 PM

26,533 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ May 26 2012, 06:50 PM)
Yes thanks for clarifying. Do you know how to differentiate a IPTS between the premier and the non-premier?

As far as I know, those with university status will belong to the premier one, but I am just not too sure how established their research works and publications do.

Sunway, Taylor, HELP, Monash, Nottingham, AIMST, UCSI for sure belong to the premier one, right?
There is no real classification for IPTS in Malaysia. There is a so called SETARA rating but research only contributes 15% of it. Few years back, I came across a statistic on the number of publications generated by the various IPTA, IPTS and government agencies in Malaysia. Perhaps such kind of data gives a better representation on the R&D activities carried out by these institutions. Would love to know what is the current statistic now.
OMG!
post May 26 2012, 07:11 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 26 2012, 07:01 PM)
There is no real classification for IPTS in Malaysia. There is a so called SETARA rating but research only contributes 15% of it. Few years back, I came across a statistic on the number of publications generated by the various IPTA, IPTS and government agencies in Malaysia. Perhaps such kind of data gives a better representation on the R&D activities carried out by these institutions. Would love to know what is the current statistic now.
It is like comparing apples and oranges if we compare the research activities between a IPTA and IPTS due to the nature that IPTA are heavily highly supported by gov giving grant to carry out their research and thus theirs are much more established than IPTS. To me, IPTS is a money-minded industry, more or less, majority of them focus on getting more postgrads students with no strict requirements imposed. But some do very well, and contribute a lots to the industry and economy.

Nowadays, there are these common collaboration exists between IPTA and IPTS from the fact that many of the Phd candidates with main supervisor from a IPTA have co-supervisor from a IPTS. Both complement with each other very well in research activities.
yan cheng
post May 26 2012, 07:11 PM

Can earn more and flexible time.
Human Nature
post May 26 2012, 07:22 PM

26,533 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ May 26 2012, 07:11 PM)
It is like comparing apples and oranges if we compare the research activities between a IPTA and IPTS due to the nature that IPTA are heavily highly supported by gov giving grant to carry out their research and thus theirs are much more established than IPTS. To me, IPTS is a money-minded industry, more or less, majority of them focus on getting more postgrads students with no strict requirements imposed. But some do very well, and contribute a lots to the industry and economy.

Nowadays, there are these common collaboration exists between IPTA and IPTS from the fact that many of the  Phd candidates with main supervisor from a IPTA have co-supervisor from a IPTS. Both complement with each other very well in research activities.
Indeed. Getting fund is still a major hindrance and the awarding bodies prefer to award IPTAs.

Here is the R&D indicators that I mentioned previously.
http://www.mastic.gov.my/servlets/sfs;jses...D=1118046919668

This post has been edited by Human Nature: May 26 2012, 07:28 PM

Geneveive
post May 26 2012, 08:18 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 19 2009, 10:59 PM)
there are two choices when it comes to lecturing: IPTA or IPTS. each has very different outcome, depending on how u see it.

at the moment, IPTAs will definitely turn u into an academician, as the government will automatically sponsor u for ur masters and PhD wherever u wanna go (yes, even to the most expensive universities in the world as long as u can qualify for it). then there will be a contract for 7 years, which normally u can use to get at least an associate professor title. by then, ur basic salary would reach about RM6k (add about RM1.5k for allowances etc). this does not include any consultancy jobs or practice u do outside (which most lecturers are recommended to do).

in IPTS, u're more of a professional who teaches. meaning it is always assumed that u will be working as a professional in the related fields while at the same time teaching the students. this would mean u will be less involved in research, hence there is no need for them to send u to do ur masters or PhD. but there are a few dedicated academics in each course, but their number is small. i do know that some IPTS sponsor a small number of their staffs for PhD, but i'm not aware of the duration of the contract.
that's just briefly. there's a similar topic in the Jobs section where this have been discussed in quite detail.
Wow.. pretty good information.. Keep posting azarimy.. rclxms.gif
iqbalhajar
post May 26 2012, 08:25 PM

108 posts

i am a final year student , bachelor degree in electrical engineering from uitm shah alam.. currently my cgpa is 3.76/4.00. i want to ask all lowyat forumer opinion.. is it worth for me to continue my study in phd level under MYPHD programme..boleh trus ke phd klu first class result.. selalunya Phd nh jd lecturer je la kan..nk tanya gaji lecturer nh ok ke x...berbanding dgn engineer...minta pendapat ...huhu... hmm.gif

34 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0310sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:25 PM