6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Studying in Australia (V 3.0), Read front page or be prepared for warn

tsm
post Mar 11 2009, 01:01 PM

261 posts

Hi Guys, anyone have any ideas about getting secondhand lab coat in Melbourne? How much does it cost? Or someone in Melbourne would like to sell it?

I've just gone to my uni and look, new one without my uni logo is $25. While, in Malaysia I also use RM25 to buy it. I regret that I didn't bring mine over here.
tsm
post Mar 12 2009, 02:03 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Braviaman @ Mar 12 2009, 05:47 AM)
Hello, i am newbie here. Currently, i study in Melbourne. I also have same situation like you, tsm. I forgot to bring my lab coat from Malaysia which only cost around RM20-30. It is expensive to buy in Melbourne beside i have no choice but to buy new one without university logo for Aus$20 as i need to use it urgently.

I regret that i did not research properly before i came here. I have a lot of problems for me to solve here  doh.gif
I was suprised that international students are not eglible to apply for concession card (public transports) in Melbourne,  mad.gif
Anyway, this is a good thread. Does anyone know when is the best time to move out and look for a new accomodation?
Where did you get for $20. I want to grab one too! My uni sells $25.
tsm
post Mar 12 2009, 03:53 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Mar 12 2009, 03:39 PM)
From what I know, tsm isn't a person who dines a lot at the outside. She cooks. laugh.gif
Hahaha. Thank you.

Since I'm going to city why not just ask where is it and buy it. rclxm9.gif

Now, another entertainment for me is cooking. I still continue download, I love drama very much. Anyway, try to cut down because need to study hard. See how long can I stand^-^
tsm
post Mar 12 2009, 05:46 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Mar 12 2009, 05:36 PM)
in melbourne i stopped DL stuff for a long while to save bandwidth. go for streaming sites instead cause their inet is quite stable. can save a bit of bandwidth. another thing. tsm you go to deakin right? go look for the anime club. they have a large stockpile of anime/drama that you can borrow for free.
My landlord is animax super fan. He has a lot. Me is drama super fans. DL and streaming almost same. I using china software "xunlei" for DL. Don't use BT very slow and use a lot of quota. Anyway, cutting down now.
tsm
post Mar 13 2009, 02:49 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Braviaman @ Mar 13 2009, 12:28 PM)
Hello tsm, I got it(without logo) from my university (Melbourne University) and the shop is located at Union House. If i buy a labcoat with university logo in the bookshop, that will costs me around $30 aust dollars, doh.gif One word i can say, expensive!!
Just need to get use with it and don't time conversion factor. ^0^ Anyway, I still the pain but worth it. This is because I need it

Added on March 13, 2009, 2:53 pm
QUOTE(panda-man @ Mar 13 2009, 02:24 PM)
for changi village.

http://maps.google.com/maps?oe=utf-8&rls=o...384211965591486

and for kayu.

http://www.impressive.com.my/kayu/

got the address and number and all that there. even got menu. heheheh.
Let us go to Kayu on Tue and Thurs. Got 10% discount.

Wau got my favorite teh halia and roti tisue. I just wonder how much does it cost?

This post has been edited by tsm: Mar 13 2009, 02:53 PM
tsm
post Mar 18 2009, 02:58 PM

261 posts

Why I can't feel it. My housemate can feel it??
tsm
post Apr 1 2009, 02:25 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(adrianteo @ Apr 1 2009, 02:06 PM)
I dono bout RMIT, but i do know that Deakin has a international enrollment day for international students which are compulsary for first time international student and that is around 2 weeks before the start of the course.
Most of the students at deakin just went for one day. Me went for 2 days one day registration (enrollment), the other day for trip (optional).

Therefore, if you never appear also never mind. (Just only my opinion). You can enroll later, same as other local students.
tsm
post Apr 2 2009, 07:39 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(AIYOYO~~ @ Apr 2 2009, 01:33 PM)
thanks for the reply.
what u said is correct. IMU is using their own syllabus but not the other unis.
BUT the application form wrote there Twinning programme...
and we alr have to choose whether to take twinning package or do 4 years local once we apply.
then, we cant change our plan aft tat. bcz we alr guarantee a place in tat particular uni as a third year student.
oohh...confusing alr...
really have to depend on grades?
if enter tat uni using credit transfer, i might as well apply to transfer to Monash..
by the way, have u heard of any comments abt university of newcastle?
I found nt many Malaysian students who are studying overthere.
If you plan for migration I mean PR then you need to make sure the minimum duration of your course is 2 years.

All dietetics courses in Australia are assessed by DAA (Dietetics Association of Australia), therefore their standard I reckon almost similar. What are differences between universities might be elective field. For example, Wollongong (spelling not sure) has sport nutrition while others might not have. Monash University has pediatric nutrition while my university don't have. They just give us a book, something like note and you read it. For final clinical placement you can request to have practical at child hospital (special term already forgotten) to deepen your knowledge. I think Flinders University has the highest number of Malaysians and Singaporeans who study dietetics. Some of my senior went there.

University of Otago is in NZ. I have a friend graduated from there but from medicine and few years back. If you want to study at this university you better check for PR application in NZ. You need to know how long you need to study in NZ in order to obtain PR.

In terms of demand, haha. Demand of dietitian in OZ not really high. Fresh graduate quite difficult to get job at hospital except you willing go to ulu ulu places. Anyway, ulu places also not too bad to as a stepping stone for you.

For me to study dietetics is my passion and not for PR. Therefore, I'm choosing to spend 1.5 year to study it and high possibility back to Malaysia or Singapore. Homesick cry.gif

BTW, does Newcastle recognised by JPA. This is because previously I checked through food science and nutrition courses at JPA website, only Deakin been recognised.

Hope this can help you. I think I have posted some information at food science and nutrition thread. Go there to get more information. Cheers^0^

Remember study for passion. If want high demand course then study Medicine or pharmacy and don't study nutrition and dietetics.
tsm
post Apr 3 2009, 01:20 PM

261 posts

[quote=AIYOYO~~,Apr 3 2009, 12:00 PM]
ic...thank a lot for the information...now i understand better..
so u are N&D students too? studying in Deakin? mind telling me which year?

Added on April 3, 2009, 12:02 pm[quote=haya,Apr 2 2009, 07:43 PM]
Paragraphs please!

Isn't that similar to their MBBS program, where you have to choose either the PMS or local stream upon application, and there is no changing after application?

In any case, it is always about grades, regardless if it is a transfer or twinning program. If it is a transfer you many not get the uni you put as your 1st preference. If twinning you may get less exemption in your new institution.

Newcastle, the town, is a nice and quiet place. Sydney is not too far away for a weekend escape either.

sorry lar haya...im new here..^^
nid paragraph right? okok..
i will be more careful nex time. sweat.gif

[/quote]

I'm studying Master of Dietetics (1st semester, 1st year). I did my bachelor at UPM, Bs (Nutrition and Community Health)
tsm
post Apr 3 2009, 03:45 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Apr 3 2009, 03:37 PM)
can i drive in oz??if i have international license?where can i apply it??
Which state you intend to drive? Remember do your license's translation into English
tsm
post Apr 4 2009, 09:30 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(AIYOYO~~ @ Apr 3 2009, 08:30 PM)
oo~
even if I get my bachelor degree in local uni, I still can apply for master in foreign uni?
I thought they dun recognize the standard of our local uni?

how do u find lecturers in Deakin? for Dietetics course of cz...
Any feedback from Monash students? (ev1 is talking abt Go8, that's why I wana noe more abt it =.=)

Now I may consider again whether I should study IMU or local uni...
since graduates from local uni can apply for master in aus...
haha..money problem...thats why din directly go aus...
It applied this course 3 years ago before I graduated from my university. This is a very competitive course. There are few universities offer this course. You can check it from DAA website and not every university offers master course. You need to have good grade in your study. Anyway, you can try your luck.

Try to apply local university I mean UPM, UKM or USM. (save more $). If you want to study dietetic then you need better CGPA than nutrition. Nutrition course also offered by UPM, UKM, USM, USTEM (spelling not sure), USM, UCSI. They call nutrition as Permakanan.

Initially, I when I applied this course I didn't know what was it. I just simply applied. Coz I like to eat but this course ask me not to over eating doh.gif . Anyway, when I started this course, I felt this course quite interesting and can help more and more people. But if you want people to adopt healthy eating is really difficult. You will know it when you deal with people. Anyway, when you face difficulties remember the moment why you like this course. Don't give up!
tsm
post Apr 6 2009, 04:46 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(AIYOYO~~ @ Apr 5 2009, 09:40 PM)
thank you so much~~ ^^
u really help me a lot...
but I dun wana take the risk...if I study local uni, 4 yrs later aus uni dun accept my degree..
I cant go study in aus d...
i thk i will go IMU...alr cheaper than go monash for 4 years..haha
but IMU will credit transfer to Newcastle...thats the imperfect part...
duno Newcastle gud anot...
How many years will you study at Newcastle?

As Haya said, dietitian not in shortlisted, so for migration wise a bit difficult. Besides, demand for dietitian in Australia not really high.

Maybe Singapore is another good option. Good luck.

If I were you, I think I would study all 4 years at IMU.

Cheers, C U

Added on April 6, 2009, 4:48 pmGriffith or flinders might easily to enter. I heard from my friend. Those who rejected by Deakin and able to study at Griffith or Flinders

This post has been edited by tsm: Apr 6 2009, 04:48 PM
tsm
post Apr 8 2009, 05:31 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(AIYOYO~~ @ Apr 7 2009, 04:54 PM)
if I will study in newcastle, it will be my final 2 years.

from the migration site, I found that dietitian can get 60 points, as high as an engineer...

but I cant find it shortlisted...

if demand nt high, then after you graduate, will u work in aus? or u will aim for s'pore?

at first, I thk of going s'pore to study this subject.

but, s'pore doen't have any university offer this course. tats why I change my plan to aus.

so, u thk study 4 years in IMU is better? aft graduate only do master in overseas?

it takes a longer time right...
Dietetic is a professional course. After this course you can work as a dietitian and do not need master. Master is for those who are not study dietetic in their undergraduate and hope to be a dietitian. Or those who work as health care worker and would like to further study.

For me I plan go to Singapore. Lower tax than Aus. Or study population health science for 1 year. Still do know yet.

If you study at IMU then you can save a lot.

Overseas also not too bad! At least you learn how to be independent, how to cook and how to be independent.

Added on April 8, 2009, 5:46 pm
QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Apr 7 2009, 11:36 PM)
to those who had chosen homestay last time or now,can u all give me some idea cause i am doubt on choosing it...
would you live with other students in the homestay?

would you live with children?

room type-single or twin?
Me used to be!

It's really depended on your luck.

This post has been edited by tsm: Apr 8 2009, 05:46 PM
tsm
post Apr 9 2009, 07:35 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Apr 8 2009, 09:28 PM)
so what did u choose last time?
Convenient!
I don't know anyone at here, not really familiar with this area. So, I think homestay is a good place to start. Besides, the fee not really expensive as compared with S-H-A. and they also include with anything such as food, internet (depends), electric, water, etc. Besides, they never request for minimum stay. You just need to inform them 2 weeks in advance when you want to move out.

However, it's not really for long term. Once you familiar with the place, you can move out.
tsm
post Apr 16 2009, 04:46 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 15 2009, 10:13 PM)
hmm..ok
need to consider it well

btw melbourne here getting colder now..
looks like need to buy quilt de
buy electronic blanket. quite nice no cold bed! K-mart has offer now, go and have a look lah
tsm
post Apr 17 2009, 05:41 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 16 2009, 06:15 PM)
wat is tht?n how much?
Don't you feel that at the moment you go into your bed very cold. Electrical blanket something like underneath blanket (correct term not sure) to keep your bed cold.

How do you put the blanket,
1. this blanket like cover sheet so put it 1st and cover your bed
2.put bed protector (if you have)
3. bed cover sheet
4. flat sheet (if you have, I don't put because lazy to wash)
5. sleep on it
6. cover with quilt.

I bought at K-mart Aus$39.99 (single bed) Kambrook. I've other customers, the most popular brand is sunbeam but they claim all brands are same.

I only turn it on before i go to bed, about 30-60mins before go to bed. Then turn it off.
tsm
post Apr 24 2009, 05:53 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 24 2009, 12:41 AM)
received optus mail tht called me to change billing option to online method instead of paper method to avoid $2.20 service charge doh.gif

even paper now also need to charge...swt
To encourage environmental friendly mah! BTW, they try to reduce their work load and hire less ppl loh^^
tsm
post Apr 25 2009, 09:38 AM

261 posts

Tomorrow might have hail in Melbourne! Take care
tsm
post Apr 28 2009, 04:56 PM

261 posts

Hail in Melbourne today

Added on April 28, 2009, 4:59 pmWhat is frost then sunny? I read tomorrow weather forecast and don't understand the symbol???

This post has been edited by tsm: Apr 28 2009, 04:59 PM
tsm
post Apr 30 2009, 05:16 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Braviaman @ Apr 30 2009, 01:11 PM)
This early morning was freezing cold, i checked it on website and it was 3 degree. It is getting colder and colder now...i feel tired and hungry easily these days.....
My area is 0 degree. Anyway, I didn't have class. rclxms.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0449sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:01 AM