The All New Honda City 2009 Official Thread v2, compiled by mikelee

sysh
post Jan 27 2009, 09:42 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(anson81 @ Jan 27 2009, 08:04 PM)
spray type??? can provide more info on this??

hey guys, i need to do a urgent decision within this few days on tinting my new babe,
please give some summary on your info. thanks

what i got here now is 2 offer,
1, ECOTINT (been told is korea paper by other accessories shop but SA told me is US paper)- Hybrid 6 with raybarrier in front and rear. means 6 mil thickness security film (i am not sure but he got show me the sample, he said sure will give that one and not like show this and give that) Warranty 8 years, Visible light reflected - 10%, ultraviolet rejection - 99.5%, infrared rejection - 90%, Total solar heat rejection is 56%
[RM1.5k after all discount]

2. Powercool (not sure what paper but been told is US paper), 4mil thickness ( The accessories boss very keen to say ECOTINT 6 mil maybe not 6mil, because the shop owner said 6mil cannot fit the window, even 4mil already very hard to fit.) how many % rejection i got no idea as they do not provide sample, but the shop owner is one of my friend.
[RM1k]
if you got other suggestion, please help me...... thanks
I don't believe what the SAs say when they quote that they know about the tinting. My suggestion? Read up the internet and find out the facts from the fiction.

But in terms of the security film thickness, i think 4mm is more than sufficient. because if you take 6mm, there is a tendency that it will be a little taxing for your power windows motor cos there will be alot of abrasion. furthermore, the thicker the film.. you might get the film touching the side of the door. then u might just scratch the film.. not advisable either
sysh
post Jan 27 2009, 10:00 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(silverarrows @ Jan 27 2009, 09:55 PM)
6mil security film is working fine & I don't see any problem after 2 weeks using it. According to the tint shop, >6mil above i.e. 8mil will be considered too thick for the car windows.
As long as there is sufficient "gap" between the window and the side of the window/door thinggie..then it's fine. But do take note if you notice that the window is rubbing against the sides. then you might want to rectify it. one of my friends told me about that, cos he's using a conti car and the gap is really small.. cant remember what material is that..
sysh
post Jan 27 2009, 10:29 PM

265 posts

Also to note that when ppl say Warranty Will be Void.. it's just for that particular component that u've changed. not like void for the whole car.

Say if you change ur suspension or springs to aftermarket ones, ur warranty for the suspension or springs will be void. but soon after..your door or boot cover falls out or break. it doesnt mean that ur warranty for those part will be voided too.
sysh
post Jan 27 2009, 10:48 PM

265 posts

Nice pics, ZeroSP.
How good are those 3M mats.. anything special about it?
sysh
post Jan 27 2009, 11:06 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Jan 27 2009, 10:56 PM)
Those 3M mats have rubber dots down there, so it will not move easily. And 3M mats can trap the dust or sands upon you step your shoes on it, and you can just clean it by vacuum or just use a brush. Simple and easy. They cut to fit your car.
Nice. Think I might get one. Can preserve my original Honda mats..
Ok, you've prolly mentioned it before (but im too lazy to scroll back to the pages).. how much did it cost u?
and where did you get it done?

Added on January 27, 2009, 11:08 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 27 2009, 10:54 PM)
Random! Been seeing a few new City's on the road, and damn I must say it's a handsome car. Park it next to a Vios and the Vios looks positively shite.
Lol.. eventhough I'm a City owner, but I don't think the Vios it 'that' bad.
The only thing that turned me off about the Vios was it fugly behind (the lights were atrocious) and the somewhat dated interior. Besides that, I have no qualms about it. Ok, maybe the 4AT too..

This post has been edited by sysh: Jan 27 2009, 11:08 PM
sysh
post Jan 27 2009, 11:43 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(love_hina @ Jan 27 2009, 11:39 PM)
i dun know. they said some tinting like stick a screen protector on your screen right? but this type is look like the windscreen is "sprayed" with black/blue colour..
for tinting, he said cost RM1K. the best discount ..  flex.gif  hmm.gif
for leather seats, i'm not going to get it. quite a waste of money. probably will change to leather after 3-4 years ... tongue.gif
what should i request for some more? pls advise. going there on thursday
think i'll respond to u thru pm.. easier to type..
sysh
post Jan 28 2009, 12:40 AM

265 posts

Think after we pool all the niggles and minor problems that we have experienced with the City, we should write / type in to Honda Malaysia so that they can rectify this problem for the next batches..and in the mean time, repair the 1st batch. Anyhow these things are quite normal. The price you pay for being in the exclusive '1st batch'
sysh
post Jan 28 2009, 08:54 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(chris_x @ Jan 28 2009, 10:31 AM)
When's the HC3 club launching? So we can gather our issues and resources to reach Honda MY.
I think we can start soon
Sorry, been away (still away) for CNY. So haven't gotten round to do this.
Further more, haven't driven my car > 50km yet
I'll start posting on our suggested first TT, alright guys?

Added on January 28, 2009, 8:55 pm
QUOTE(doncityz @ Jan 28 2009, 03:40 PM)
er just my personal own opiinon.
i think all the city after Type-Z incl '09 city looks not nice la..
IMHO, It's all relative.
Take a look at Vios and Latio too

This post has been edited by sysh: Jan 28 2009, 08:55 PM
sysh
post Jan 28 2009, 11:32 PM

265 posts

IMHO, I think alot of people are experiencing this sort of problem 'cos they 'expect' the car to be perfect. I noticed the NVH for both the Honda City and Jazz using the L15A engine to be a little harsh. In terms of gear change, since we are so used to the CVT box.. now that you can 'feel' the change, alot of ppl say that's no good. I do agree that there are still a little niggle and bumps (ie. peeling rubber strips, door padding got gap etc).. but I guess no car's perfect. The 8G Civic has sh|t loads of problems initially, but still heaps load of ppl have bought it. The same will go with this City. At the end of the day, there will still be grievances...but I think we'll be able to live with it.

Added on January 28, 2009, 11:33 pm
QUOTE(1282009 @ Jan 28 2009, 10:07 PM)
Thanks.  rolleyes.gif 
Just fyi, I haven't got the NHC yet as I'm still considering. That's why am following this thread closely for more info.
Besides the Honda City, what other cars are you still considering?
Maybe we can help 'persuade' u..hehe! whistling.gif

This post has been edited by sysh: Jan 28 2009, 11:33 PM
sysh
post Jan 28 2009, 11:50 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(sunnytkl @ Jan 28 2009, 11:42 PM)
Is leather seat worth to take?
offer by SA with 2K extra... leather seats ... black color
IMHO, nope.
You'll be wasting the cool water repellent seat features.
My advice? Take that RM2k.. put tinting or get a body kit.
sysh
post Jan 29 2009, 12:16 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jan 28 2009, 03:28 PM)
found out the GdYear excellence treadwear @240 ..traction A and temperature B. I think NCT series has treadwear @300.

I thought the treadwear for NCT5 is also 240??
sysh
post Jan 29 2009, 12:27 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Jan 29 2009, 12:21 AM)
I do hope they can rectify or minimize the QC issues in coming batches. That's 1 of the things that's holding me back from doing the booking now ..  wink.gif
I don't think you should let those little niggles and bumps affect your decision.
As said earlier, even the final model of the Honda City (2G) before the 3G was launched would've issues which were ultimately not ironed out.
Looking at the response, none of these are terminal to the car. I'm pretty sure it'll be rectified, even if you have to send it back to HM. Im sure they won't charge you.
sysh
post Jan 29 2009, 09:29 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jan 28 2009, 03:28 PM)
The ASM looks good.
Think no regrets with my choice nod.gif
sysh
post Feb 1 2009, 07:08 PM

265 posts

Wow. Haven't visited the forums the past few days.
Just got back from my holidays a couple days ago.
Drove my City yesterday and today and clocked about 200+ kms.
So far so good. Only thing is my front bumper has a 'little scuff marks'
Not sure how it got there 'cos I never 'touched' or 'hit' anything. Maybe can polish off. Will try later.
sysh
post Feb 1 2009, 11:10 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(love_hina @ Feb 1 2009, 10:58 PM)
thanks for the explaination bro andy, so i should choose solar tint, which can reduce heat, can use smarttag and gps, and dark. Also jpj approved? Do we need to stick any cert on windscreen that this type of tint is approved?
solar tint is not a brand, it's a type.

solar = reflect heat, uv etc
security = protection against theft

usually the good brands would have the certificate about its approved state.
sysh
post Feb 2 2009, 12:59 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Feb 1 2009, 11:42 PM)
Yup.. 3M I using now... Got their combo with mat...
Hey bro, think i've prolly asked u this before (but cant seem to find it in the threads),
just wanna know where did you get ur 3M mats + tint.. ie. location and / or contact?
sysh
post Feb 2 2009, 01:32 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Feb 2 2009, 01:03 AM)
how much u fix ur 3M. i did my V-kool for Rm2k.
Think he got it done for RM2k.. 3M tint + 3M Floor Mats
Also a forumer once said that there's a promo price for 3M tint going for RM1650
sysh
post Feb 2 2009, 11:03 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Car-Tea @ Feb 2 2009, 10:36 AM)
thinking of changing my NHC rims to 17" when the tires are due for change.. wat to u guys think.. plus the 17" tire is cheaper than 16".. so in the long run, ill cover back the money tongue.gif..
17" tyres are definitely more expensive than that of the 16" tyres, of course of the same make and grade.
I would suggest to those who wants to change to 17" rims and on a budget, to not do so and stick to the current 16" rims unless you want your FC and pick up to suffer a bit. Unless you can fork out a decent amount to get lightweight rims, it's not advisabe. Unless of course, you just want it for the bling-bling. Switching rims will also void ur warranty if im not mistaken to the wheels, suspension, and perhaps the EPS.

Added on February 2, 2009, 11:05 am
QUOTE(ZeroSP @ Feb 2 2009, 09:19 AM)
3M have security tint as well... If you want the stats I can provide you
4mm?

btw if im not mistaken.. your 3M is Crystalline 70 all around?
just wondering, is the Crystalline 60 approved by JPJ? was offered that for the 4 side windows

This post has been edited by sysh: Feb 2 2009, 11:05 AM
sysh
post Feb 2 2009, 11:44 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(cysmark @ Feb 2 2009, 11:26 AM)
Sorry, suppose this is not the right forum but can anyone direct me to alink which post discussion on getting to midvalley from klang with less toll and mileage?? Sigh.. office is goint to be relocated soon...

Thanks,
Err.. I'm not sure whether there's a discussion on that.
Maybe you can start one?
But anyhow.. where are you coming from?

Me coming from Subang,
I just take the Federal Highway.. no toll, just traffic jam.
If you want to pay toll, just take the NPE. RM1.60 x 2 (2 toll).

Added on February 2, 2009, 11:46 am
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Feb 2 2009, 11:30 AM)
Then I think you got to buy those jet washer... hmm.gif
Just make sure you don't accidentally jet spray ur car too close, don't wanna spoil ur paint

This post has been edited by sysh: Feb 2 2009, 11:46 AM
sysh
post Feb 2 2009, 12:08 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(cysmark @ Feb 2 2009, 11:58 AM)
Thanks sysh,

I stay in Klang. Using Fed HW will have to pay 2 toll [2.10x2=4.20] and can't imagine the jam near subang toll all the way to Midvalley.
Just thinking if anyone have any idea how to skip as much toll and less KM..
Sigh.. go also jam... back also jam cry.gif . Relocating is not good for me.. used to be in Shah Alam[no toll n near] now in KL.. more expenses d.. [toll and petrol]. Will the NCH save my petrol consumption??? hahaha
Probably will suggest boss to hv flexi working hour.. haha
I think there's no way to avoid the jam if you're heading to KL except:
a) If you leave very early, if you do so.. Fed Hwy is still the most straight forward and nearest.
b) Leave early, take the KTM (cheapest)
c) Flexi hours is good too. Start work at 10am, finish at 8pm. Less jam smile.gif

If you want to save ur petrol consumption, I suggest the 2G Honda City I-DSI. Very fuel economical.
Or take the Savvy or Viva. Decent fuel consumption.

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0398sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:03 AM