QUOTE(hokuan @ Jan 10 2009, 12:32 AM)
Mattel increase the price or the seller own choice? Maybe we need to write to Mattel also..Next year wave will move very slow,
parents wont buy hot wheels for their kids. Even at 5.90, most parents already disagree to buy it. I once heard a parents told his kid, "Tak mau hotwheels lah, mahal, beli yang ini ok?" . and he took Tesco car..
I think Mattel increase the RRP of their products, it is up to the retailers to sell them at what price. Like Tomica, at one time Parkson was selling them at 20% off!! So it is up to the retailer to give discount etc.
These retailers got to know that increasing the price won't help. Simple example: Look at all the Transformers toys all gathering dust all over the place; Parkso, MJ, Sogo, TRU, C4. all the TF toys increase price by 10% and see what happened? ppl all boycott the hasbro products. And this is BEFORE Israel started to attack Gaza! Somemore it is a well known price increase since Hasbro themselves announced it. Hasbro got a little too lan si after the TF movie I guess.
Which brings us back to Mattel. Now is not the time for a price increase PERIOD. I'm a building services engineer (mechanical) and let me tell you, all my projects are either KIV or not moving or moving very slowly. I got one semi-conductor factory in planning; guess what, it is now KIVed till god knows when. Last year was different, all the projects were moving FAST!.
I always say Mattel got their marketing wrong, and I think what I say is always true, the HWs & MB sold here are simply not up to mark. Even Singapore get better stuff and if the stuff is moving fast there it is becoz we are buying it from Singapore!
I wrote an e-mail to toycarsmy
here and
here, which pretty much what I wanted to say bout the HW and MB situation in Malaysia.
Let me tell you something I realized when I was in university in Adelaide. The university wanted to raise the tuition fees, the student union opposed. So the uni and the students got together to talk on a solution. The following year when I came back to uni, the uni repainted the interior of the building, install 2 new pc labs (CATS) with the latest pcs among others. The lawn outside was renovated to look very nice and the main hall was air-conditioned for the 1st time in so many years since the uni started. Ppl can accept a price increase, but the condition it is for the better and with value attached.
Bukan macam our Mattel/Hasbro/RapidKL/ Litrak/P2/UMW price increase but product and service still.