English Clubs Arsenal Street Talk, Awaiting for Arshavin - ARS 0-0 WHU

StarGhazzer
post Jan 21 2009, 02:53 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Zan81 @ Jan 21 2009, 02:05 PM)
I'm sorry guys, but I don't quite see Denilson developing into anything better than a good squad player. For me, he's a decent player who does everything at a level that is above average.

But that's just it!

I feel he's lacking one quality that makes him an outstanding player. For example, Cesc has vision, Ade has power, Van Persie has technique and Clichy has pace. From other clubs, you have Gerrard and his semangat, Rooney and his aggresion, Ronaldo's dribbling and Terry's leadership. These players did not train hard and work at to attain these qualities during the course of their professional career, but these qualities were already apparent when they were youngsters and were polished further as they matured. Right now, I just don't see any aspect of Denilson's game that has the potential to be world-class. (Add on here coz I didnt read Star_Ghazzer's post in full. Bad habit I know) --> With all due respect to Star_Ghazzer, I believe that short passing is a basic skill that all footballers should have, moreso for a midfielder... Unless of course you're Alex Song, this skill is optional  tongue.gif

I don't deny the lad is playing well at the moment, and yes he is still young... But I just don't think he has the quality to sustain this form in the long term.

I agree with Chronic that the Flamini-type player is the best solution for our midfield, but at the moment there are no prominent players in world football right now that fits the bill. And unfortunately, Denilson is not the type of player we desperately need in our midfield right now.

... I hope I'm wrong though...
Terry's leadership? English players are just plain overrated tongue.gif Terry has his fair share of clumsy tackles but I'm being biased here so don't mind me hehe...

I agree that Denilson doesn't appear to have anything particularly outstanding at the moment, but then again when did Gilberto ever appear as a bedazzling player? Yet when he was absent we all felt the effect of it. Again, people tend to forget that Denilson is still at a very young age and there's lots for him to learn throughout the years. Youth shouldn't be an excuse of course, but we should always give space for our youngsters to breathe.

When I mentioned about Denilson's short passing, what I meant was the way he keeps things simple. Short simple passes that find the legs of a team mate who's in front or at least sideways, unlike a typical defensive player who only passes backwards or hoofs the ball upfield. It's no surprise that Denilson has one of the highest successful passing rates amongst our CMs this season.

A Flamini type player would be nice, but there doesn't seem to be anyone available on the radar. People tend to mention Lorik Cana but there doesn't seem to be any approach from us nor does Marseille seem wanting to sell. Furthermore a lot of people especially from forums are merely making judgements based on Cana's aggressive youtube videos rather than following the Ligue 1 week in week out. We never seem to replace players like-for-like anyway. We replaced the battling Paddy with a playmaker called Cesc Fabregas; we replaced the King with a lanky, awkward looking player called Adebayor (and got ourselves a quickfeet assassin called Eduardo); we replaced Bobby with a energetic CM by the name of Rosicky; and we replaced twinkle toes Hlebby with someone who actually shoots called Samir Nasri. I'd still like a Matty no doubt, but Arsene seems to prefer altering the formula by incorporating Denilson, a gentle subtle player like Gilberto who can move forward even more than his Brazillian predecessor.

And yeah... Song's short passings are optional lolol... that's mean tongue.gif

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jan 21 2009, 02:59 PM
Zan81
post Jan 21 2009, 03:21 PM

82 posts

You're right, Gilberto never had anything to offer going forward, but he had the physical presence and the defensive instincts. And again, I agree with you we missed good ol Gilbert when he was not playing.

But do we miss Denilson when he's not playing? I don't know about you guys, but I have never felt the urge to say "Dammit, we could have won if we had Denilson"...

Oh and Lorik Cana's aggresion will exponentially increase Arsene's red card collection!
aladdin
post Jan 21 2009, 04:14 PM

True Love Never Runs Smooth
4,346 posts

QUOTE(Zan81 @ Jan 21 2009, 03:21 PM)

You're right, Gilberto never had anything to offer going forward, but he had the physical presence and the defensive instincts. And again, I agree with you we missed good ol Gilbert when he was not playing.

But do we miss Denilson when he's not playing? I don't know about you guys, but I have never felt the urge to say "Dammit, we could have won if we had Denilson"...

Oh and Lorik Cana's aggresion will exponentially increase Arsene's red card collection!
I not totally agree with your earlier statement. Denilson might not that great compare to other players who are similar age as his. But do remember, he does contribute some assists (and he is currently the most assists midfielder than any other gunners). With the absence of cesc, he is important to use (It will be a diff story if Arshavin joins us).
slcroy
post Jan 21 2009, 04:53 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(aladdin @ Jan 21 2009, 04:14 PM)
I not totally agree with your earlier statement. Denilson might not that great compare to other players who are similar age as his. But do remember, he does contribute some assists (and he is currently the most assists midfielder than any other gunners). With the absence of cesc, he is important to use (It will be a diff story if Arshavin joins us).
Denilson may have good number of assist...and no doubt he's a good player at his age. Perhaps Zan81 meant the physical presence... not really well built and not scary... tongue.gif

Scary and pumping midfielders my opinion is like edgar davids, rui costa, gattusso, keane, vieira, stig tofting...

This post has been edited by slcroy: Jan 21 2009, 04:55 PM
SUSlittle_mozart
post Jan 21 2009, 04:57 PM

391 posts

my dearest dudes n babes,

worth to read.

Arshavin deal breaks down

aladdin
post Jan 21 2009, 05:31 PM

True Love Never Runs Smooth
4,346 posts

QUOTE(little_mozart @ Jan 21 2009, 04:57 PM)
worth to read.

Nice. Although i would be glad if we could get Arshavin. But Zenit is trying to rip us. WTH do they think for us? additional conditions? Fxck off then. Agree with the author, we should give ramsey some chances too.

Bellamy and Palacios deal are the biggest joke in this winter transfer.
Zan81
post Jan 21 2009, 05:31 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(slcroy @ Jan 21 2009, 04:53 PM)
Denilson may have good number of assist...and no doubt he's a good player at his age. Perhaps Zan81 meant the physical presence... not really well built and not scary... tongue.gif

Scary and pumping midfielders my opinion is like edgar davids, rui costa, gattusso, keane, vieira, stig tofting...
Denilson is playing well at the moment and deserves to be in the First XI with Fabs out. Its just my opinion that I don't think Denilson has the potential to be a world beater.

Tofting shocking.gif... Now there's a guy you don't want to mess with. Is he still in jail?

QUOTE(little_mozart @ Jan 21 2009, 04:57 PM)
worth to read.

Haih... Kinda expected... I wonder if AW's praise of Ramsey is to gee up the kid ahead of Cardiff, or is it another way of telling the fans "We can't sign Arshavin... but we have Ramsey *grin*"

This post has been edited by Zan81: Jan 21 2009, 05:41 PM
slcroy
post Jan 21 2009, 05:35 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(Zan81 @ Jan 21 2009, 05:31 PM)
Denilson is playing well at the moment and deserves to be in the First XI with Fabs out. Its just my opinion that I don't think Denilson has the potential to be a world beater.

Tofting  shocking.gif... Now there's a guy you don't want to mess with. Is he still in jail?
Haih... Kinda expected... I wonder if AW's praise of Ramsey is to gee up the kid ahead of Cardiff, or is it bvanother way of telling the fans "We can't sign Arshavin... but we have Ramsey *grin*"
Haha yeah...see if joey barton dare to mess with tofting balls...i dunno if he's out of jail but so long d i thing sure come out d...

Nani is out of favour...i like his style of play and flair although he's a lil cocky... saw in the newspaper he's out of favour in MU...but no chance to come to arsenal though...
lostasylum
post Jan 21 2009, 06:21 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jan 21 2009, 01:48 PM)
yeah, i think a partnership where two CMs are able to attack and defend simultaneously would be something to dream for, but honestly, i don't know whether cesc will ever be able to do that defensive work without sacrificing his attacking strength. it's like whether i would want fabregas to function at 100% creativity or sacrifice 50% of that to help out defensively. but like i said, many of us would probably have our own idea of how to deploy the main midfield two and who we think would be best to sit in the middle of the park because of our different perspectives.

agreed about your views on gilberto with vieira and fabregas. and yes, the flamster was never a natural DM. he evolved into that player simply because that was what arsenal needed at that time. and yes, what he lacked with natural positioning, he more than made up for with heart and unrelenting doggedness to not let his opponent past him. but he's gone now and i think we shouldn't look for the next flamini. rather, we should be looking for the next player who can complement fabregas best, whether that may mean bringing in a DM or another CM. but at the moment, i would honestly say that denilson is doing ok, but only because of the circumstance. if we had a better strength in depth, i doubt denilson will be playing as much.

to be really dead honest, i think arsenal need to tone down on the pretty football (especially when our opponent has the ball) and remind them that we do have midfield to be reckoned with even if we don't have a full fledged DM. as for diaby, he offers us the size, but he has not done much to show us that he can become the next vieira. his defensive workrate is honestly rubbish, and when he does make a tackle, it's usually late and in a dangerous area... and worst of all, it usually happens because he got caught in possession. to yeah, i'm pretty disappointed with him so far this season. probably the lack of competition for places may have something to do with that....

kaka91
post Jan 21 2009, 06:23 PM

2,228 posts

well, arshavin maybe not coming after all.. cant say i am surprised. i kinda thought it might not happen in the ned after all the kaka thing..lol. but arsene said that he has other targets. its just lucky this thing happened now and not 31st jan, coz it would be rather difficult to find someone else 2 seconds before the transfer window closes. bring on.. um.. cana? lol
vutsi
post Jan 21 2009, 06:37 PM

-+#***#[OO]#***#+-
747 posts

so,no new player coming to Ars within this transfer window rite.....haish.....

kaka91
post Jan 21 2009, 06:41 PM

2,228 posts

its not over yet.. till 1st feb.. still gt time for last minute signing. dun worry. if nobody also nobody la, at least arsene tried
hikki_hikki
post Jan 21 2009, 06:42 PM

20 posts

hahaa... better looking forward for cardiff match...
lostasylum
post Jan 21 2009, 06:43 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Jan 21 2009, 01:59 PM)
You should read the soccernet forum. It is really analytical.

I think that the argument for a defensive midfield is this. To relieve the pressure of the attack we need to have a solid base so that the attackers can concentrate on attacking without having to worry about the defence. I believe that if everyone attacks and we concede a goal, we get worried and the attacking players will have a stigma on going all out attack. Of coz all out attack is nice to see but when the attackers are confused on whether they should go all out attack or stay back a little. I think the solution would be to go all out attacks with a strong defence to repel attack by the opposition team.
but then again, having a solid base does not neccessarily mean that we will be able to attack better. it only means that our probability of not conceeding is higher. and like what starghazzer (and many others) have said, having two CMs does not neccesarily mean that we do not have any defensive cover. two CMs does not equate to everyone attacking all the time.

but personally, i would make a case for a DM so that fabregas can fully concentrate on creating play for arsenal without having to worry too much about doing defensive work. but IF wenger comes up with a solution that involves two CMs, i'm all for that too.... i'm just not too in favour of a system that will require fabregas to give up or lessen his creative abilities... but that's just me lah... =)...
sigheart
post Jan 21 2009, 06:53 PM

The Ultimate Driving Machine
1,442 posts

Zenit handed Arshavin ultimatum

Russian star ready to force exit

Andrei Arshavin's agent has indicated that his client would be willing to buy out his contract at Zenit St Petersburg.

The Russian playmaker is growing increasingly frustrated with the ongoing saga surrounding his future.

He has made no secret of his desire to secure a move away from his homeland during the January transfer window, but has so far failed to secure such a switch.

Premier League giants Arsenal are believed to be leading the chase for his signature, but Zenit's ever-increasing demands continue to delay any potential agreement.

"Unfortunately in this matter there is no movement," Arshavin's agent Dennis Lachter told the Russia press.

"The sticking point is, of course, money and rather the totally unacceptable amount of Zenit's demands for Andrei.

"The position of the club remains unchanged and that is the reality that we have faced for a long time.

"If the situation remains unchanged we will use Article 17 of the Fifa rules and buy out the contract of Andrei at the club, which could happen as early as November this year.

Free agent

"In that situation, Zenit would have to be satisfied with a much smaller amount than they are offered by representatives of Arsenal.

"If Andrei becomes a free agent, he will get many proposals, from England, Italy and Spain."

Arsenal are reported to have tabled a £12million pound offer for Arshavin, but Zenit believe their prized asset is worth more than that in the current market.

"The situation has not changed since Friday, which means Arsenal would like to pay only £12m, not one cent more," said Zenit's general director Maxim Mitrofanov.

"And we, at Zenit, are ready to discuss with them about maybe a better offer from our side.

"We are ready to make a step forward to them, but they should do the same.

"However, I have told the people from Arsenal we are ready to discuss a lot of things to make the situation easier for them.

"They have a deadline, as I understand, until 26th January, because after that, they should have some time to get another player and I respect this position."

Sky

slcroy
post Jan 21 2009, 08:05 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Jan 21 2009, 06:53 PM)

Andrei Arshavin's agent has indicated that his client would be willing to buy out his contract at Zenit St Petersburg.

The Russian playmaker is growing increasingly frustrated with the ongoing saga surrounding his future.

He has made no secret of his desire to secure a move away from his homeland during the January transfer window, but has so far failed to secure such a switch.

Premier League giants Arsenal are believed to be leading the chase for his signature, but Zenit's ever-increasing demands continue to delay any potential agreement.

"Unfortunately in this matter there is no movement," Arshavin's agent Dennis Lachter told the Russia press.

"The sticking point is, of course, money and rather the totally unacceptable amount of Zenit's demands for Andrei.

"The position of the club remains unchanged and that is the reality that we have faced for a long time.

"If the situation remains unchanged we will use Article 17 of the Fifa rules and buy out the contract of Andrei at the club, which could happen as early as November this year.

Free agent

"In that situation, Zenit would have to be satisfied with a much smaller amount than they are offered by representatives of Arsenal.

"If Andrei becomes a free agent, he will get many proposals, from England, Italy and Spain."

Arsenal are reported to have tabled a £12million pound offer for Arshavin, but Zenit believe their prized asset is worth more than that in the current market.

"The situation has not changed since Friday, which means Arsenal would like to pay only £12m, not one cent more," said Zenit's general director Maxim Mitrofanov.

"And we, at Zenit, are ready to discuss with them about maybe a better offer from our side.

"However, I have told the people from Arsenal we are ready to discuss a lot of things to make the situation easier for them.

"They have a deadline, as I understand, until 26th January, because after that, they should have some time to get another player and I respect this position."

Sky
I respect our gaffer! A man of character...not one cent more....not intimidated even to get his desired player to come to emirates. Nice!
-Nos-
post Jan 21 2009, 09:35 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jan 21 2009, 01:48 PM)
This discussion was inspired by the same discussion on arsenal land that you mentioned tongue.gif

We are still lacking someone of the stature of Paddy, not even Fabs is able to offer the dynamism and engine that our previous midfield general does so easily. Like mentioned before, if Diaby is able to recapture his form and grow into a Paddy-like player, I'd put him ahead of Denilson. But right now Denilson deserves his place.

I'll leave out Alonso since he's not our player, but Fabs + Alonso would be my first choice should we ever reignite the bid for him in summer and actually manage to get the lad.
I believe a partnership where our two CMs are able to attack and defend simultaneously would work better than letting Fabs focus only on the attack while the DM sits back ala sweeper style.

Fabs + Gilberto didn't work as well as Paddy + Gilberto. Paddy and Gilberto worked well because Paddy started our moves from the back and carried the ball (and the team) forward while Gilberto used his positioning to block passing channels. Gilberto was never the fiercest tackles anyway (not even close to Paddy's prowess), but of course he never shied away from any physical challenges. Fabs, as brilliant as his vision is, doesn't appear to me as a full fledged AM ala Kaka or even Rivaldo if anyone remembers him. Having him operate deeper with runners latching onto his passes would be a better option.

The combination of Fabs + Matty worked well last season not because Matty is a pure defensive midfielder, in fact if anyone watched him closely Matty actually joined the attack on a regular basis. What he lacks in physique he makes it up with energy and hustle-bustle, and he manages to bring the ball from our defence to our playmaker (Fabs) quickly. A pseudo box to box midfielder, if you like; but definitely not a Makelele/Toulalan sweeper.

Finally about our difficulties in breaking down anti-football teams - We're not the only one. MU had trouble with Bolton and only managed to scrap a last minute victory too. Yet I'd like to see us being more nasty in tackles, I actually miss the days where everyone is complaining about us being the number 1 red-carded team in the league. Denilson, Song, and even Fabs are all guilty of losing tussles and tackles this season, Diaby offers us more physical brute but his ball distribution is appalling.
I beg to differ.
For one, i bet most of the gooners would prefer to see a more attacking style Fab.
Plus, his strength is creativity and a vision for goal. If he constantly tracking back, worrying for the defense line, he will not be able to utilize his full potential.

No comment for the Fabs+Gilberto partnership. However, i reckon that they did enough. Miles better than Fabs+Denilson. At least we are scoring more goals and conceding less.
So now you still prefer 2 CMs at the middle?

As for Fabs+Flamini, that was the best combination we ever had for that season. He did join the attack at times and that is because he can read the game well. He is more like a DM.
His work rate? Exceptional! I think we need to look for footie in Kenya to match his stamina.

To be honest here, I will prefer Diaby + Fabs any day rather than Denilson + Fabs.

To answer your previous question, my first combination will be Fabs+Rosicky, follow by Fabs+Diaby and the least i would like to see is Fabs+Denilson. It's like we are having 2 lightweights men at the middle. That is unless Deni can generate the godlike work rate and stamina.

solstice818
post Jan 21 2009, 11:44 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Jan 21 2009, 06:53 PM)

Free agent

Sky
5-6 more days to go, eh?

They shud sell it rather than letting arshavin leaving by buying out his contract
highbury1913
post Jan 21 2009, 11:46 PM

526 posts

Arshavin for anything more than 15m pounds is a waste of money. we could easily sign a left/right winger and use nasri as a permanent replacement for cesc for that kind of money.

on the whole diaby thing. he just looks like veira, he is an attacking player that cant defend to save his life.

on denilson, he is showing potential but i dont see him as a DM. we all saw how similar he is to Cesc when he joined us a coupl of years back. imo, that is his best position and AW is using him as a makeshift DM. he is ok, but Song looks much better in DM and at times this season he has looked very good (although sometimes he plays so badly that i wonder whether his uncle taught him how to play).

i agree that playing a DM with cesc is better than partnering cesc with another CM and make him do some defensive work. a few reasons:

1. Cesc cant defend. Making him defend not only makes our defence weaker but also makes our attacking side inferior with Denilson(for example) bombing forward instead of cesc.
2. Like Gerard for Liverpool, making him defend is a waste of an attacking threat that is world class.

I dont usually like Rafa Benitez but he is a good tactician. there is a reason why he prefers to partner Gerard with Mascherano and not Alonso. Alonso attacks occasionally, which means Gerard would have to defend. With Mascherano, Gerard has the freedom to move forward as much as he wants to.

On a Diaby+Cesc partnership? That would not work out at all....no defensive cover at all. At leats Denilson can defend, Diaby is hopeless.
sigheart
post Jan 22 2009, 12:08 AM

The Ultimate Driving Machine
1,442 posts

Diaby + Cesc in the middle will impede Cesc's attacking potential to an even larger degree.

I've highlighted before that Diaby is as lazy as a center midfield can get, doesn't track back, doesn't chase the ball back when he loses the ball and more importantly tends to ball watch which are just a few reasons why Wenger has stuck him on the left before this for so long.

Kudos to Denilson in recent matches for covering back most of the time when paired with Diaby IMO. He has been doing the dirty job for most part in the last few games and as usual most Gooners fail to acknowledge that as they did with Gilberto before until they go missing.

Denilson has improved on his defensive side of the game which I believe has been evident in recent games and I am sure he will continue to do so. I reckon when Cesc returns it will be a rejuvenated and much improved partnership than what we have seen thus far from Cesc + Denilson if ever the Boss chooses to continue with this pairing when the time comes.

122 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0577sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:55 AM