speaker crossover mod, capacitor change

gabanyayaya
post Feb 17 2009, 12:13 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Feb 9 2009, 08:07 PM)
OK OK. I will take up the challenge for the SERIES crossover. I would like to experiment. photo by tonight. Actually I was drown in the digital domain with PLL, DEM, global feedback, TIM, FFT and BODE plot. I hope to be drown by Linkwitz, butterworth, etc.

Added on February 9, 2009, 10:22 pmAs promised, here is the Series crossover. the north 2 pin is input right, which is positive ?

the bottom mid 2 pin is common right ? which is treble and which is woofer.

Solen MKP....hmmmm how does it sounds????? I found that Solen sounds so 'regular'....but better than cap xxx caps....you need to add up some spices to it to see its potential.....IMHO

BTW how much you got the 6.8uF per pcs. ???

This post has been edited by gabanyayaya: Feb 17 2009, 12:14 AM
chefsinc67
post Feb 17 2009, 01:07 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Feb 17 2009, 12:13 AM)
Solen MKP....hmmmm how does it sounds????? I found that Solen sounds so 'regular'....but better than cap xxx caps....you need to add up some spices to it to see its potential.....IMHO

I am going to australia next month and probably get some more Jantzen cross caps. Chua interested in some more? or you have enough already.

I have solen mkps new and some slightly used
6.8uf
4.7uf
3.3uf
even though i feel the solens are very underated and are very neutral, I would go for jantzen, crosscaps I am starting to like them more and more now.

here is a link to a very good value DIY shop in Singapore.
http://www.acoustictechnology.sg/home.html

gilbertlhl
post Feb 17 2009, 02:29 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Feb 16 2009, 09:40 PM)
there u go.

Thanks Bro..
gilbertlhl
post Feb 17 2009, 02:56 PM

386 posts

If i connect my active subwoofer from speaker terminal, itz ok?
chefsinc67
post Feb 17 2009, 06:22 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Feb 17 2009, 02:56 PM)

If i connect my active subwoofer from speaker terminal, itz ok?
arh I have never tried using an active sub off the speaker cable.
I think it would be better if you tapped into the pre-out if you have one. anyone else happy to share some experiences with this
gabanyayaya
post Feb 17 2009, 08:30 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(chefsinc67 @ Feb 17 2009, 02:07 PM)
I am going to australia next month and probably get some more Jantzen cross caps. Chua interested in some more? or you have enough already.

I have solen mkps new and some slightly used
6.8uf
4.7uf
3.3uf
even though i feel the solens are very underated and are very neutral, I would go for jantzen, crosscaps I am starting to like them more and more now.

here is a link to a very good value DIY shop in Singapore.
http://www.acoustictechnology.sg/home.html
Thank you...Indeed I heard that Solen is the entry level for a x-over caps...better sounding starts with jantzen, mundorf, auricap bla bla bla that rated as audiophile caps...if you willing to bare the cost go ahead..... blink.gif

chefsinc67 you have some used/new solen 6.8uF....!!!! are you gonna put that on used sale item...???
TSccschua
post Feb 17 2009, 08:33 PM

1,630 posts

Ask Chef for the items. u wont find this price at the shops in PJ.

gabanyayaya
post Feb 17 2009, 08:35 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Feb 17 2009, 09:33 PM)
Ask Chef for the items. u wont find this price at the shops in PJ.
Well I'm asking him leh...hope there's a reply... smile.gif
gilbertlhl
post Feb 17 2009, 10:57 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(chefsinc67 @ Feb 17 2009, 06:22 PM)
arh I have never tried using an active sub off the speaker cable.
I think it would be better if you tapped into the pre-out if you have one. anyone else happy to share some experiences with this
I try using preout, but the sound is not as good as i using connection from amp output.

Any1 can share with me.... icon_question.gif

chefsinc67
post Feb 18 2009, 06:19 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Feb 17 2009, 08:35 PM)
Well I'm asking him leh...hope there's a reply... smile.gif
minimum order for 4 caps. any 2 of each value

the solen caps below : -

1. 2x6.8uF = RM 30
2. 2x4.7uF = RM 26
3. 2x3.3uF = RM 24

prices are inclusive of shipping.

gabanyayaya
post Feb 18 2009, 08:35 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(chefsinc67 @ Feb 18 2009, 07:19 PM)
minimum order for 4 caps. any 2 of each value

the solen caps below : -

1. 2x6.8uF = RM 30
2. 2x4.7uF = RM 26
3. 2x3.3uF = RM 24

prices are inclusive of shipping.
chefsinc67, this is the price for new or used and will you consider taking 2 caps only?
TSccschua
post Feb 22 2009, 09:28 PM

1,630 posts

My opinion is buy more and keep, never know when u need more. for new unit, u will need to run in.
gilbertlhl
post Feb 27 2009, 01:48 PM

386 posts

any1 got DIY Crosover for sell?
chefsinc67
post Feb 28 2009, 09:59 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Feb 27 2009, 01:48 PM)
any1 got DIY Crosover for sell?
Handbuilt already or parts so you can assemble?

I have numerous handbuilt series croosvers built specifically for certain speaker parametres and models. this is a bit of a science so one crossover that sounds good on certain brand of drivers, doesnt mean it will sound good on another type of driver.
please elaborate on what you want and what you want to achieve. then you need to get the driver parametres and then design the crossover based on all thiel/small parametres of the drivers, the box they will sit in etc.

Added on February 28, 2009, 10:04 am
QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Feb 17 2009, 12:13 AM)

so Chua, whats the verdict any feedback on the series crossover? remembering of course that it was designed for different drivers than what you have so probably will not fit in with your speakers but it is always fun to try these things.
anyway it is a good base to start of with and then your feedback we can change the caps and inductors to suit the sound your looking for.

by the way I am leaving for australia tomorrow and will be back in KK on the 15th then in KL for a morning shopping at the shop we met on the 29th March to get a few more goodies. always running out of that orange hook up wire so I will get 10 metres this time i think....

cheers and keep in touch.

This post has been edited by chefsinc67: Feb 28 2009, 10:04 AM
gilbertlhl
post Mar 2 2009, 08:27 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(chefsinc67 @ Feb 28 2009, 09:59 AM)

I have numerous handbuilt series croosvers built specifically for certain speaker parametres and models. this is a bit of a science so one crossover that sounds good on certain brand of drivers, doesnt mean it will sound good on another type of driver.
please elaborate on what you want and what you want to achieve. then you need to get the driver parametres and then design the crossover based on all thiel/small parametres of the drivers, the box they will sit in etc.

Added on February 28, 2009, 10:04 am
so Chua, whats the verdict any feedback on the series crossover? remembering of course that it was designed for different drivers than what you have so probably will not fit in with your speakers but it is always fun to try these things.
anyway it is a good base to start of with and then your feedback we can change the caps and inductors to suit the sound your looking for.

by the way I am leaving for australia tomorrow and will be back in KK on the 15th then in KL for a morning shopping at the shop we met on the 29th March to get a few more goodies. always running out of that orange hook up wire so I will get 10 metres this time i think....

cheers and keep in touch.
Im wan to try something for my center speaker. Or anything cheap or secondhand? i wan to start from bottom..
Escaflowne
post Aug 28 2009, 08:29 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(chefsinc67 @ Feb 28 2009, 09:59 AM)

Hi chefsin67,

Reading through this thread, you seem quite knowlegable.

Could you have a look at this series schematic and comment if it can be improved

It's actually built for home but tweaked for car use.

the tweeter would be Hiq OW1 and the mids would be seas w18nx

I would like the voicing to be more thick. That's about it.

maybe if we could communicate via mail or such to make it easier.

Do PM me

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0218sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:40 PM