hi, i would like to ask, does anyone know whether UKM, UPM, and UM biomedical science course is accredited by institute of biomedical science (IBMS) or not??
Life Sciences Biomedical science, come one come all
Mar 22 2011, 11:05 PM
1 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
hi, i would like to ask, does anyone know whether UKM, UPM, and UM biomedical science course is accredited by institute of biomedical science (IBMS) or not??
Mar 22 2011, 11:10 PM
2,550 posts Joined: Jun 2010 From: Petaling Jaya, Selangor |
where to work in malaysia for fresh grads?
Apr 18 2011, 09:16 PM
12 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Jan 5 2009, 07:22 PM) kind of agree but because of ppl like us who leaves to other countries looking for a better future and facilities that the bio field in Malaysia is kind of low in standards. i have applied for biomedical science but i'm afraid that there will b less job opportunity..should i carry on??or biomedical engineer is better?I my self plan to stay in Malaysia to gain some experience 1st than move to other countries. wanted to go to singapore but its too close to Malaysia already so I also plan to go to Australia maybe after 2-3 years of working experience and maybe after i got my masters in some local uni. |
Apr 30 2011, 01:57 AM
1,059 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(rowshini @ Apr 18 2011, 08:16 PM) i have applied for biomedical science but i'm afraid that there will b less job opportunity..should i carry on??or biomedical engineer is better? Biomedical Engineering has good prospect in overseas (e.g., genetic engineering, biochemical engineering) and they are very popular in the research field. There may be job opportunities in these areas but usually require some research based qualifications (e.g., PhD, master by research). |
May 5 2011, 08:33 PM
2 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Hi guys, I'm wondering what's the difference between Medical Science, Medical Bioscience and Biomedical Science? o.O What're the chances of jobs for Medical Bioscience here in Malaysia compared to Biomedical Science (or are they the same
Thanks! This post has been edited by jasjasmine: May 5 2011, 08:37 PM |
May 6 2011, 03:51 AM
1,059 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(jasjasmine @ May 5 2011, 07:33 PM) Hi guys, I'm wondering what's the difference between Medical Science, Medical Bioscience and Biomedical Science? o.O What're the chances of jobs for Medical Bioscience here in Malaysia compared to Biomedical Science (or are they the same This topic has already been discussed elsewhere in this form. Check this out:Thanks! http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1708916 |
May 6 2011, 08:14 AM
2 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(Angela Lee @ May 6 2011, 03:51 AM) This topic has already been discussed elsewhere in this form. Check this out: I've read that before but I still don't exactly get it http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1708916 |
May 6 2011, 04:24 PM
12 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(Angela Lee @ Apr 30 2011, 01:57 AM) Biomedical Engineering has good prospect in overseas (e.g., genetic engineering, biochemical engineering) and they are very popular in the research field. There may be job opportunities in these areas but usually require some research based qualifications (e.g., PhD, master by research). ok thanks alot again |
Jun 6 2011, 01:41 PM
133 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(Angela Lee @ Apr 30 2011, 01:57 AM) Biomedical Engineering has good prospect in overseas (e.g., genetic engineering, biochemical engineering) and they are very popular in the research field. There may be job opportunities in these areas but usually require some research based qualifications (e.g., PhD, master by research). I dont think Biomedical engineering graduates are able to do genetic engineering (local graduates)... correct me if I'm wrong... |
Jun 18 2011, 12:10 AM
39 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(Crazy Alone @ Mar 22 2011, 11:05 PM) hi, i would like to ask, does anyone know whether UKM, UPM, and UM biomedical science course is accredited by institute of biomedical science (IBMS) or not?? UM's biomed course is only 3 years course, and even SG doesn't recognize their degree (I heard it from Biomed frens,not sure though). UKM's was once accredited but the accredition was abolished few years ago cuz Ukm changed their syllabus from 4 years course to 3 years course. They are trying to apply for IBMS accredition again now. While for UPM's, I'm not sure bout it, but I guess UPM's biomed course is the best among these 3 unis. correct me if I'm wrong. Ps : If u want to check for the IBMS accredition, U can try to look for on their website. |
Jun 29 2011, 09:43 PM
2,527 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Im a Medical Officer in /K. I'm here to lepak. |
I think I should bump this thread for those confused about this program...
Jul 8 2011, 06:09 PM
46 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
i did badly in my 3 yrs biomedical course in UTAR
This post has been edited by CruelKiss: Jul 8 2011, 06:10 PM |
Jul 8 2011, 09:48 PM
389 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
cruelkiss:ur friends who did well manage to secure jobs in that field?If yes,what are their starting pay?
Jul 8 2011, 10:16 PM
46 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(dentalfloss @ Jul 8 2011, 10:48 PM) cruelkiss:ur friends who did well manage to secure jobs in that field?If yes,what are their starting pay? I'm not sure what's the starting pay for those who go for lab tutor , or college lecturer . and mostly I know those who become salesperson either selling medical devices or working in pharmaceutical company, their basic salary are between 1.5 - 2.5k, of cause this has to depend on their commission also and they get extra allowances so overall is above 2.0k. |
Sep 28 2011, 11:54 AM
2 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
i am now completed my a level n wanna pursue my study in science based degree. i do really love biology a lot n at first, i decided to go for biomed. but after listeing to sum opinions, biotech MIGHT offers gud prospect in future. so now i am so confuse which one is better, biotech or biomed? i really need to now which one is better in the aspects of salary, job field, courses learn in universities n ect. anyone??
Dec 29 2011, 02:44 AM
1 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
QUOTE(newbieyla @ Sep 28 2011, 11:54 AM) i am now completed my a level n wanna pursue my study in science based degree. i do really love biology a lot n at first, i decided to go for biomed. but after listeing to sum opinions, biotech MIGHT offers gud prospect in future. so now i am so confuse which one is better, biotech or biomed? i really need to now which one is better in the aspects of salary, job field, courses learn in universities n ect. anyone?? Dude, I was just like you when I joined Medical Bioscience at Monash. I used to like Biology in school and A-levels, but when you enter into a degree course, things are much different. U might not like Biology so much then. LOL. Ive graduated since July, and up to now havent had success in finding a job. Like what the previous commenter mentioned, and i quote "most biotech/ biomed/ bioscience grads become salesperson either selling medical devices or working in pharmaceutical company, their basic salary are between 1.5 - 2.5k, of cause this has to depend on their commission also and they get extra allowances so overall is above 2.0k" So, my advice, try to go into sumtin else for now, Nutritionist or Biomedical Engineer, something where u get hands on, rather than sales job which even business students can handle. Unless u really into RND, then u have to go all out til PHD, and try to do that overseas if u ada $$$. Better job prospect IMHO. |
Feb 21 2012, 08:33 AM
60 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
Hey friends, may i know what is the diferrence between biomedical science and biomedical engineer? also not to forget, biochem.
May i know the job prospects and what specialize i can be in the future? Lastly, what IPTA is recommend for those courses?*degree course* Thanks very much! |
Mar 28 2012, 05:31 PM
187 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
May I know whether if i take Foundation in Health Sciences, will I be able to continue to take Bachelor of Biomedical Science (Hons) ?
Apr 23 2012, 10:07 PM
1 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Hey guys
I am currently finishing my BTEC course extended diploma in health and social care and doing a Biomedical science course this october and at the moment all my assignments are all D's. however, i fear that this course may be too tough for me because i am only a BTEC as i was mis-informed - and now i know that i had to do A levels to get into medicine so i had to take this route. I love sciences especially biology do you think i could get a 1st with a lot of effort? I mean it's possible, and do you have any advise for me? Thanks Added on April 23, 2012, 10:22 pmI forgot to say that I was planning to do a levels at least biology/mathematics and/or chemistry...what do you think ? This post has been edited by Nessa-Noah: Apr 23 2012, 10:22 PM |
Jul 25 2012, 06:36 PM
11 posts Joined: May 2012 |
hi. I realise most job opportunity for Biomedical sciences are lab-based. To be frank, i'm not a lab person and i do not enjoy lab work. I prefer reaching people and working in teams with comunication. I have chosen this course because i like bio and having interest in mastering in Neuroscience. But the problem is i hate lab work. Should i continue choosing this? or change to other options?
And, is there e-book version available for the reference book mentioned? it's a bit too expensive for me to afford it. |
| Change to: | 0.0270sec
5 queries
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:00 AM |