Photography Camera shops in Penang, suggestion

TSic3kacang
post Jan 3 2009, 05:13 PM, updated 12y ago

140 posts

Well, i hope you ppl can list out the camera shops that u feel that it's good or bad in Penang.
P/s:
(i)Provide good/bad service
(ii)Cheap/expensive
(iii)Choices of accesories
etc...

From what I heard from friends and saw in forums the most is CnS lah.. But I found out that the price is not the cheapest amongst others though... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ic3kacang: Jan 3 2009, 05:13 PM
teddie
post Jan 3 2009, 05:15 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Jan 3 2009, 05:13 PM)
Well, i hope you ppl can list out the camera shops that u feel that it's good or bad in Penang.
P/s:
(i)Provide good/bad service
      (ii)Cheap/expensive
      (iii)Choices of accesories
      etc...
From what I heard from friends and saw in forums the most is CnS lah.. But I found out that the price is not the cheapest amongst others though...  hmm.gif
yes got cheaper 1, opposite CnS, along side that road got alot. Sendiri go nego nego brows.gif
KTCY
post Jan 3 2009, 05:16 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

TS, the shop you mentioned is overrated.
Try go find Excel Photo Trading. Tell the aunty, Kelvin recommend. Should have some special price smile.gif

Or if you can wait, next weekend I will be at Penang. I bring you there smile.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Jan 3 2009, 05:17 PM
teddie
post Jan 3 2009, 05:18 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

TS buy from KTCY, cheaper rclxms.gif
KTCY
post Jan 3 2009, 05:19 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(teddie @ Jan 3 2009, 05:18 PM)
TS buy from KTCY, cheaper rclxms.gif
Oh ya. Forget promote myself. I also got sell blush.gif
You can get it from me if you want.
TSic3kacang
post Jan 3 2009, 05:19 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 3 2009, 05:16 PM)
Try go find Excel Photo Trading. Tell the aunty, Kelvin recommend. Should have some special price smile.gif

Or if you can wait, next weekend I will be at Penang. I bring you there smile.gif
where izit?opposite CnS 1?
sure i can wait..haha..cause i found out that some prices are even cheaper in lowyat..too bad i cant make it there
KTCY
post Jan 3 2009, 05:20 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Jan 3 2009, 05:19 PM)
where izit?opposite CnS 1?
sure i can wait..haha..cause i found out that some prices are even cheaper in lowyat..too bad i cant make it there
Next Sunday 11th Jan I will be in Penang. So 12th Jan bring you go ok ? smile.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: Jan 3 2009, 05:20 PM
teddie
post Jan 3 2009, 05:20 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 3 2009, 05:20 PM)
Next Sunday 12th Jan I will be in Penang. So 13th Jan bring you go ok ? smile.gif
no nid la.. stra8 offer him and poison kaw kaw brows.gif
TSic3kacang
post Jan 3 2009, 05:21 PM

140 posts

lol..thanks..
im looking for 450D actually
KTCY
post Jan 3 2009, 05:22 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Get 40D la. 450D price is almost 40D price smile.gif
TSic3kacang
post Jan 3 2009, 05:23 PM

140 posts

40D too heavy lah..summor im in entry level only..need to invest my money in lens..lol

Added on January 3, 2009, 5:25 pmoh..i know why u are coming back next week d..finish finals d huh?
lol..im taking foundation programme in Disted..twinning with MMU also

This post has been edited by ic3kacang: Jan 3 2009, 05:25 PM
John56
post Jan 3 2009, 09:35 PM

how much Nikon D40 can get in Penang ??
i'm in penang as well ....
still learning photography ......
epito
post Jan 3 2009, 11:51 PM

161 posts

CLICK 'N' SNAP PHOTO EQUIPMENTS (M) SDN BHD

here his thread :

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...959&hl=vladimir
MyDevil
post Jan 4 2009, 11:00 AM

7,480 posts

Bought my Canon HF100 camcorder at foto president Gurney Plaze....very good price and nice salesman smile.gif
whojen
post Jan 4 2009, 11:58 AM

1,207 posts

got my alpha from there
nice person! biggrin.gif
recommended
TSic3kacang
post Jan 4 2009, 02:10 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(epito @ Jan 3 2009, 11:51 PM)

here his thread :

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...959&hl=vladimir
Price is not cheap though..
ryanbleeth
post Jan 4 2009, 04:23 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Jan 4 2009, 02:10 PM)
Price is not cheap though..
try Mega Star opposite CnS further down beside oriental hotel.
photo president (friend bought D300 from there, okok lor)

mostly to get a cheaper price, you need to have strong PR with them though (just a opinion)

psmalaysia.com
post Jan 4 2009, 09:11 PM

101 posts

Don't buy entry level DSLR. Very fast you found yourself cannot do a lot of things because the camera limit you from doing so.

Atleast look for mid-range, a prosumer level.
teddie
post Jan 4 2009, 11:10 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

again,i strongly recommend u to buy from ktcy tongue.gif
TSic3kacang
post Jan 5 2009, 01:42 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(teddie @ Jan 4 2009, 11:10 PM)
again,i strongly recommend u to buy from ktcy tongue.gif
lol
waiting for her to quote me the price..
hmmm....cant wait to buy it =|
end
post Jan 5 2009, 01:37 PM

131 posts

can installment ?
goldfries
post Jan 5 2009, 01:40 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(psmalaysia.com @ Jan 4 2009, 09:11 PM)
Don't buy entry level DSLR. Very fast you found yourself cannot do a lot of things because the camera limit you from doing so.

like?

QUOTE(psmalaysia.com @ Jan 4 2009, 09:11 PM)
Atleast look for mid-range, a prosumer level.

and do you know that by using the word PROSUMER it is almost always pointed to PROSUMER cameras? (yes, the one between compacts and SLRs)

yojimbo512
post Jan 6 2009, 12:11 PM

237 posts

any suggestion for good camera shops in jb or around skudai?
sorry for intrudin but got to know. haha
Maniac
post Jan 6 2009, 07:19 PM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

wooo, so in summary, only 4 names from Penang shop mentioned.

1.CNS
2.Excel
3.Foto President
4.MegaStar

My vote goes to Excel now, follow by FP. Usually I dont need th 3rd shop for stuff. biggrin.gif
Personal preference. Nuff said.

KTCY
post Jan 6 2009, 07:21 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Jan 6 2009, 07:19 PM)
wooo, so in summary, only 4 names from Penang shop mentioned.

1.CNS
2.Excel
3.Foto President
4.MegaStar

My vote goes to Excel now, follow by FP.  Usually I dont need th 3rd shop for stuff. biggrin.gif
Personal preference. Nuff said.
Still got Hike Enterprise biggrin.gif
TSic3kacang
post Jan 6 2009, 10:08 PM

140 posts

nepmatic also..but ppl seldom go there..
only those rich 1 go there to get cut throat =X
Maniac
post Jan 6 2009, 11:21 PM

5,938 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 6 2009, 07:21 PM)
Still got Hike Enterprise biggrin.gif
Hike is superb on rare items, imitated china product @ super affordable price!
I bought something there also, thru a friend of mine as I rarely go there

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Jan 6 2009, 10:08 PM)
nepmatic also..but ppl seldom go there..
only those rich 1 go there to get cut throat =X
nepmatic, ehm. known for that unless you know the sale reps inside out.

jontan67
post Jan 7 2009, 11:38 AM

HHmmmm.....

Me also looking for entry level DSLR...... got the Canon 1000D in my mind for the past few months......

Went to the few shops mentioned here:-

CNS - friendly but not the cheapest and if you are asking for 0% credit card instalment..... they will charge you 6% for that..... (No meaning oledi)
Lam loong - Too LCLY
Hike - So far the best offer and the cheapest but pity dun have 0% for my credit card
Nepmatic - Used to have a friend working there but after he left...... turned LCLY

A friend said that if dun have money...... dun play photography!! WHAT!!
KTCY
post Jan 7 2009, 07:32 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

^
Go excel photo trading la doh.gif
Aiyo. Tell Kelvin recommend. Maybe can get cheaper smile.gif
boonies
post Jan 10 2009, 01:53 AM

437 posts

I always go to Megastar...the guy Alan is very friendly leh..price also really cheap too...you can get good stuff there for very reasonable price..of course la dun expect 20-30% cheaper la..no such thing wan ler..u get what you paid...going there again tomorrow to look for my EF70-200mm 4.0L IS ...really good lens la
osiris
post Jan 10 2009, 12:18 PM

77 posts

actually, whichever shop you go to will offer you low price eventually, if you are regular customer. you need to build rapport with them. if first time you go, you expect the shop to sell close to their cost price, how can? the good thing is, photography is never a one-time deal. you will keep buying and buying and buying.

having said that... i also never go to nepmatic or lam loong.
boonies
post Jan 11 2009, 12:23 AM

437 posts

lam loong is a lansi company la..i swear i will never go there to buy anything not even if all the shops in Penang close.. Once i went to the fair in Gurney plaza checking out the D60...been totally new with DSLR i tried the D60 for less than 10 seconds and asked the salesman some basic questions.

He was reluctant to answer and acted as if I am not a serious buyer...he then immediately took out the receipt and asked me 'U want ar? i write bill for you now"... what kind of attitude is that. Further to that all Lam Loong accessories are overpriced and they don't nego well..they do like billionaires..but recession i am sure they will fall flat without regulars..
TSic3kacang
post Jan 14 2009, 12:23 PM

140 posts

Haha...u Know...Gurney they have to pay high rental fees...
so those ang mo(s) are their spots..
well...
I went to fotokem to get my dslr..salesmen are good
and click n snap and fotokem are actually under same company.

KTCY
post Jan 14 2009, 12:28 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

^
Is actually father and son shop. Click n Snap is by Matthew smile.gif
raymannlucas
post Jan 14 2009, 02:37 PM

One Life, One Chance, One Try, No Retry
2,080 posts

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Jan 14 2009, 12:23 PM)
Haha...u Know...Gurney they have to pay high rental fees...
so those ang mo(s) are their spots..
well...
not really u know? i was once ask for 135 F2L price, so happen in gurney photo president a hundred cheaper than shop around komtar area...just i need to wait for a month...so i just skipped and get my another L...still missing the kengness of 135L...woohoooo.... cry.gif
KTCY
post Jan 14 2009, 02:41 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(raymannlucas @ Jan 14 2009, 02:37 PM)
not really u know? i was once ask for 135 F2L price, so happen in gurney photo president a hundred cheaper than shop around komtar area...just i need to wait for a month...so i just skipped and get my another L...still missing the kengness of 135L...woohoooo.... cry.gif
You sure ?
I always get cheaper price around Komtar area. Photo President has been labelled as "blood sucker" laugh.gif
raymannlucas
post Jan 14 2009, 04:13 PM

2,080 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 14 2009, 02:41 PM)
You sure ?
I always get cheaper price around Komtar area. Photo President has been labelled as "blood sucker" laugh.gif
im sure...i aksed for the price, photo president quote me rm3170, shop around komtar quote me rm3350...
Vip3R
post Jan 26 2009, 09:16 AM

~ Expect The Un-Expected ~
721 posts

By the way....where is the lam long and excel located....never being to this shop before...

hmm...
Maniac
post Jan 26 2009, 02:52 PM

5,938 posts

lamlong can be found in perangin mall, gurney plaza and etc
excel is located at ponang road, opposite komtar/cns/easycam, beside hike.
Vip3R
post Jan 26 2009, 03:48 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Jan 26 2009, 02:52 PM)
lamlong can be found in perangin mall, gurney plaza and etc
excel is located at ponang road, opposite komtar/cns/easycam, beside hike.
ooh..lamloong in gurney? which floor. I just notice Ky digital, photo president and nepmatic.....just when there yesterday...

maybe i should check out ....penang road, maybe at the same time get some jeruk... icon_rolleyes.gif
europology
post Jan 26 2009, 05:26 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Vip3R @ Jan 26 2009, 03:48 PM)
ooh..lamloong in gurney? which floor. I just notice Ky digital, photo president and nepmatic.....just when there yesterday...

maybe i should check out ....penang road, maybe at the same time get some jeruk... icon_rolleyes.gif
lamloong is 4th floor, the same as MPH IIANM.
Vip3R
post Jan 28 2009, 12:27 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(europology @ Jan 26 2009, 05:26 PM)
lamloong is 4th floor, the same as MPH IIANM.
thks europology.....

i will check out the stores this weekend.... rclxms.gif
chewlf
post Feb 1 2009, 01:30 PM

1,217 posts

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Jan 14 2009, 12:23 PM)
Hi ic3kacang, may I know where is the location of fotokem? Plan to go to that shop to look see look see the lens price. tongue.gif

Vip3R
post Feb 2 2009, 09:43 PM

721 posts

other than these shops...does anybody knows whereh is nikon service center in penang...
m|ng
post Feb 3 2009, 11:10 AM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

So far, I got most of my gears from
- Nepmatic (Used to... and you have to know the sales in there)
- CNS (my current store, altho at times its super packed and u have to wait for quite sum time)

I dont really Like Excel cause I find the Lady boss very pushy, but the prices are alright.

I aviod going to shops like
- Lam Loong (super expensive and lansi, think u know nuts on cameras and they are the greatest)
- Photo President (Lansi staff in gurney branch)
@meno
post Feb 3 2009, 06:39 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

There's a shop in Prangin Mall called FotoCam, anyone has any opinions on this shop?
! Love Money
post Feb 4 2009, 02:54 AM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(m|ng @ Feb 3 2009, 11:10 AM)
So far, I got most of my gears from
- Nepmatic (Used to... and you have to know the sales in there)
- CNS (my current store, altho at times its super packed and u have to wait for quite sum time)

I dont really Like Excel cause I find the Lady boss very pushy, but the prices are alright.

I aviod going to shops like
- Lam Loong (super expensive and lansi, think u know nuts on cameras and they are the greatest)
- Photo President (Lansi staff in gurney branch)
are the photo president u mentioned located at lower ground floor near the escalator? i also experienced b4, i go survey for C450D they look me like a ppl who cannot afford a few thousand DSLR wink.gif
really really lansi... mad.gif
teddie
post Feb 4 2009, 02:58 AM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

recommend hike enterprise, so far i found that the price they quoted me were reasonable amongst all smile.gif

This post has been edited by teddie: Feb 4 2009, 04:06 AM
MAAG
post Feb 4 2009, 07:02 AM

157 posts

I recom. Mega Star or CnS..
m|ng
post Feb 4 2009, 08:44 AM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Feb 4 2009, 02:54 AM)
are the photo president u mentioned located at lower ground floor near the escalator? i also experienced b4, i go survey for C450D they look me like a ppl who cannot afford a few thousand DSLR wink.gif
Yeap thats the 1.. tongue.gif Altho the 1 at Queensbay is less Lansi.. they give pretty good prices too. I got my Digipod tripod + ball head for $250

Yea Hike is also not bad.. but you need to catch the tauke. Not the wife (i think shes the wife). She doesnt know much on the prices.
But they have lotsa china stuff that they claim is OEM to the original maker.. (ie: National geographic bag).. Im a bit sceptical on that portion.
azxel
post Feb 4 2009, 09:29 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

Try Kodak Express at Lower Ground, North Zone (near Old Town Kopitiam), Queensbay Mall? The guy there was very helpful.
vv001
post Feb 4 2009, 01:45 PM

133 posts

i recommend CNS, price ok , boss also ok la ^^

1000D RM1860 +4GB +BAG
KTCY
post Feb 4 2009, 02:24 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(vv001 @ Feb 4 2009, 01:45 PM)
i recommend CNS, price ok , boss also ok la ^^

1000D  RM1860 +4GB +BAG
1000D + 4gb + bag = RM 1.8k only laugh.gif
Other shop tho tongue.gif
vv001
post Feb 4 2009, 02:36 PM

133 posts

shit lo like this.. being cheated T.T
sinister
post Feb 4 2009, 02:56 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(Vip3R @ Feb 2 2009, 09:43 PM)
other than these shops...does anybody knows whereh is nikon service center in penang...
it's in d tall building b4 Momo.. forgoten wat its call..

Vip3R
post Feb 4 2009, 04:23 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(sinister @ Feb 4 2009, 02:56 PM)
i'm sorry but where is "Momo"? sweat.gif
KTCY
post Feb 4 2009, 04:45 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(sinister @ Feb 4 2009, 02:56 PM)
MWE Plaza la sleep.gif
vv001
post Feb 4 2009, 07:01 PM

133 posts

KTCY,
where can get that price?
wilson88
post Feb 4 2009, 08:08 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(ryanbleeth @ Jan 4 2009, 04:23 PM)
try Mega Star opposite CnS further down beside oriental hotel.
photo president (friend bought D300 from there, okok lor)

mostly to get a cheaper price, you need to have strong PR with them though (just a opinion)

+1 for Mega Star

In fact I am sick of CnS, the price is ok but the way of the staff talk doh.gif I don't think I will go back there again
Vip3R
post Feb 4 2009, 09:51 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 4 2009, 04:45 PM)
MWE Plaza la sleep.gif
ic thks....KTCY, just want to check, if still under warranty...how many times can we go to nikon service center for cleaning.. rolleyes.gif
CallOfLegend
post Feb 7 2009, 12:12 AM

350 posts

Hello. May I ask where can I get a 2nd hand DSLR in Penang?
blynn123
post Feb 8 2009, 10:52 PM

221 posts

i heard there's a promotion in sunshine square .
they're selling 1000D for 1899 plus 4GB , stand and bag .

D80's rm 1950

promotion ends tomorrow though . good luck all
eddie89
post Apr 14 2009, 04:18 PM

153 posts

hello guys, any one get canon 450D/1000D recently? Whats is the price? [in penang] smile.gif
blynn123
post Apr 14 2009, 09:41 PM

221 posts

KTCY is selling 1000D for 1850 . he's based in penang smile.gif
KTCY
post Apr 14 2009, 09:47 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(blynn123 @ Apr 14 2009, 09:41 PM)
KTCY is selling 1000D for 1850 . he's based in penang smile.gif
Do I quote you that price or something ? laugh.gif
I myself forget already.
eddie89
post Apr 15 2009, 01:47 AM

153 posts

how about canon 450D
zakura_spirit
post Apr 25 2009, 06:22 PM

101 posts

1 good photo shop is at prangin mall lvl 1.opposit pizza hut.
yclee99
post Apr 25 2009, 07:58 PM

19 posts

how much is fuji f200exr in penang?
DarkNite
post Apr 25 2009, 08:41 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(yclee99 @ Apr 25 2009, 07:58 PM)
how much is fuji f200exr in penang?
Fujifilm FinePix F200EXR + 4GB SDHC Card + Case + Screen Protector = RM1250, try Gurney Plaza, KY Digital Shop, (not sure exact name) but it is just next to DIGI yellow shop. Ask for someone called Peng.
May be you can get for less, Good Luck
Understand in month of May, they are going to have a Panasonic roadshow with many freebies for Panasonic purchase.

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Apr 25 2009, 08:51 PM
yclee99
post Apr 25 2009, 09:22 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Apr 25 2009, 08:41 PM)
Fujifilm FinePix F200EXR + 4GB SDHC Card + Case + Screen Protector = RM1250, try Gurney Plaza, KY Digital Shop, (not sure exact name) but it is just next to DIGI yellow shop. Ask for someone called Peng.
May be you can get for less, Good Luck
Understand in month of May, they are going to have a Panasonic roadshow with many freebies for Panasonic purchase.
Thank alots.
Did you check whether is made in Japan? hmm.gif
DarkNite
post Apr 26 2009, 06:50 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(yclee99 @ Apr 25 2009, 09:22 PM)
Thank alots.
Did you check whether is made in Japan?  hmm.gif
Did NOT check whether is made in Japan cos the built already not so good - buttons at the back are flimsy too. Short battery life and no HD video recording. The only thing I like about it, is the superb IQ and dual Capture Technology aka Wide Dynamic Range/Pixel Fusion - very good for low light, photography. Unfortunately it is just not right for my family to bring it for holidays.
yclee99
post Apr 26 2009, 07:15 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Apr 26 2009, 06:50 AM)
Did NOT check whether is made in Japan cos the built already not so good - buttons at the back are flimsy too. Short battery life and no HD video recording. The only thing I like about it, is the superb IQ and dual Capture Technology aka Wide Dynamic Range/Pixel Fusion - very good for low light, photography. Unfortunately it is just not right for my family to bring it for holidays.
Then what is your choise? I am also looking for a camera for travelling purpose...
DarkNite
post Apr 26 2009, 11:44 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(yclee99 @ Apr 26 2009, 07:15 AM)
Then what is your choise? I am also looking for a camera for travelling purpose...

Now with the Panasonic's 33yrs anniversary special offers, that is, with so many freebies, how too resist LUMIX DMC-TZ7.
But do noted this model limitation....
It is not in the same league, Image Quality IQ , as F200EXR or LX3.
It is exactly like PowerShot SX200IS but this Canon model is unable to FOCUS and NO optical zoom during recording video. If you don't want the focus and optical zoom then go for SX200IS b'cos from my experience Canon service is the best.
Lastly, "Generally PnS cameras struggle at capturing low light conditions because of the small image sensor."- TheWandererX

Buying pnS camera is a personnel preference and needs. So please, you go and hold these models(camera that is) in your hand, get a feel, test a few shots and bargain maximum laugh.gif

jimlim007
post Apr 26 2009, 12:54 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(MyDevil @ Jan 4 2009, 11:00 AM)
Bought my Canon HF100 camcorder at foto president Gurney Plaze....very good price and nice salesman  smile.gif
how much ah
wcs2798
post Apr 26 2009, 04:32 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(yclee99 @ Apr 25 2009, 09:22 PM)
Thank alots.
Did you check whether is made in Japan?  hmm.gif
Fujifilm FinePix F200 EXR made in China
Shinichi
post Apr 29 2009, 08:39 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Apr 25 2009, 08:41 PM)
Hi, may I know when the Panasonic roadshow be held?
eddie89
post Apr 29 2009, 01:46 PM

153 posts

will there be any camera fair to be held?
kennytan
post Apr 30 2009, 02:50 PM

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Feb 4 2009, 02:54 AM)
yaya, i experienced the same thing...super lansi faces..they dont even want to approach me even though i stood there for 5 mins and show my interest to buy a dslr

Added on April 30, 2009, 2:52 pm
QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 3 2009, 05:16 PM)

Excel Photo Trading is highly recommended as i just bought my first dslr kit there, nikon D90 kit..good service, reasonable price and nice attitude..

This post has been edited by kennytan: Apr 30 2009, 02:52 PM
! Love Money
post May 1 2009, 12:52 AM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(kennytan @ Apr 30 2009, 02:50 PM)
yaya, i experienced the same thing...super lansi faces..they dont even want to approach me even though i stood there for 5 mins and show my interest to buy a dslr

Excel Photo Trading is highly recommended as i just bought my first dslr kit there, nikon D90 kit..good service, reasonable price and nice attitude..
rclxms.gif yeah... tell all forumer to ban that shop rclxms.gif
btw i bought my dslr at CnS coz that time didnt know bout excel but next time sure pay a visit there tongue.gif
kennytan
post May 1 2009, 03:11 PM

QUOTE(! Love Money @ May 1 2009, 12:52 AM)
rclxms.gif yeah... tell all forumer to ban that shop rclxms.gif
btw i bought my dslr at CnS coz that time didnt know bout excel but next time sure pay a visit there tongue.gif
actually Cns is quite nice also, just that there is always full of customers, so it is abit difficult if u wan to ask more info about ur kit if u have queries and maybe u have to wait for long there too..other than that, CnS is recommended too..
chewlf
post May 1 2009, 05:13 PM

1,217 posts

QUOTE(kennytan @ Apr 30 2009, 02:50 PM)

I have been to Excel Photo Trading few times but ended up didn't buy anything from them. When you ask for price reduced, they are quite reluctant to give discount some more keep asking you what other shop prices. IMO, if you want to give discount, just said out the best price. People tell you other shop prices you also can't give that low. So ended up I still go back to C&S. whistling.gif

Added on May 1, 2009, 5:16 pm
QUOTE(kennytan @ May 1 2009, 03:11 PM)
actually Cns is quite nice also, just that there is always full of customers, so it is abit difficult if u wan to ask more info about ur kit if u have queries and maybe u have to wait for long there too..other than that, CnS is recommended too..
Ya, I do agree with you. C&S is having good business. Every time go there also got people looking to buy new camera. Even weekday also having good business. If you can build good relationship with them then it is more easier. Normally I will do my own research first then go there ask straight to the point or give them a call. Save a lot of waiting time. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by chewlf: May 1 2009, 05:16 PM
pleasuresaurus
post May 6 2009, 05:08 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

C&S pretty responsive, i smsed for a price quote and got a reply in a matter of minutes.

OSW
post May 8 2009, 02:02 PM

27 posts

Hi, may I know where's this C&S shop? Because I'm thinking of getting a new DSLR. Hope to get some goodies if it's possible.
! Love Money
post May 12 2009, 06:38 PM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(OSW @ May 8 2009, 02:02 PM)
Hi, may I know where's this C&S shop? Because I'm thinking of getting a new DSLR. Hope to get some goodies if it's possible.
komtar there got a big tv screen... below there got a few camera shop... find the shop called Click N' Snap smile.gif
seening
post May 15 2009, 02:01 PM

13 posts

may i know the recent price for 450D and 1000D (include 4gb/8gb SD and bag) in penang?
where's Excel and MegaStar? i never notice this 2 shops b4?
any shops recommend in butterworth or seberang prai area?
teddie
post May 15 2009, 02:40 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

besides Excel, i highly recommend HIKE enterprise smile.gif
Zack Styler
post May 15 2009, 09:41 PM

Things Happen for a Reason...
1,282 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ May 12 2009, 06:38 PM)
komtar there got a big tv screen... below there got a few camera shop... find the shop called Click N' Snap smile.gif
To be exact, its sandwiched in between the Kodak shop and the money changer shop..

QUOTE(teddie @ May 15 2009, 02:40 PM)
besides Excel, i highly recommend HIKE enterprise smile.gif
The boss used to work in one of the shops in this thread..
Inspiration~
post May 15 2009, 11:47 PM

129 posts

How u guys think abt FotoCAM camera shop which inside prangin mall?

Does anybody know the best price for D90 in penang ?

This post has been edited by Inspiration~: May 16 2009, 04:39 PM
frances477
post May 16 2009, 11:07 PM

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 4 2009, 03:24 PM)
Hi i'm Pg kia may i know which shop u mention that sold 1000d for 1.8k? Thx.
seening
post May 24 2009, 04:50 PM

13 posts

anyone have the contact of any of these camera shops on penang?
i want to ask bout the camera price.
KTCY
post May 24 2009, 05:22 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(seening @ May 24 2009, 04:50 PM)
anyone have the contact of any of these camera shops on penang?
i want to ask bout the camera price.
Which model of camera you're looking for ? Maybe I can give a helping hand smile.gif
Maniac
post May 24 2009, 11:18 PM

5,938 posts

very informative thread, maybe I should korek the info and make them into 1st post biggrin.gif
seening
post May 26 2009, 01:16 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 24 2009, 05:22 PM)
Which model of camera you're looking for ? Maybe I can give a helping hand smile.gif
i'm looking for Canon EOS450D (15-55) kit. thanks for helping. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by seening: May 26 2009, 01:21 AM
haldawinge
post Jun 16 2009, 01:53 PM

Hi i am intending to get a canon 1000d from mega star photo in penang... can anyone pls tell me whether that shop is honest and good... and whether i should get it from there or from hike thanks

kevyeoh
post Jun 16 2009, 07:59 PM

4,720 posts

i bought my SB-600 and 35mm lens from Click n Snap...

i went to excel...got one a bit old guy...not too old la...but rather old..uncle... quite lansi...don't really wanna serve me.... my friend bought his SB-600 for RM790 but when i quote the price, the uncle die die dowan to give...take it or leave it...

i damn TL...so i just walk out lor... memang my friend bought at that price how come i cannot get same price lei?

i went to Click N Snap..no need nego..the sales guy there straight away quote me RM790...

so when i wanna get my 35mm lens...i didn't bother go excel liao...

pleasuresaurus
post Jun 24 2009, 03:15 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

Should also try go to Hike Enterprise further down the road, products are very reasonable and the owner is a nice dude.
seening
post Jun 30 2009, 07:04 PM

13 posts

bought my 450D at C&S. the cheapest among all the shops i asked around tat area. quote me the price i expect straight away.
reasonable price n nice service. the boss explain everything to me n even teach me how to check my camera.
he's like waiting for me to ask more questions and he did answer all the questions i asked. he gave me his card and told me to call him whenever i got problems with the camera. like the boss very much. rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

hike enterprise boss is really a nice guy. friendly and chat with me around half an hour although i din get my camera there cos he quote me higher price and he said no more discount. but i really like the boss service. thumbup.gif

excel is quite lansi. when i ask bout the price, he jz quote me n say cant lower the price anymore. sweat.gif

as for megastar, this is the shop tat i swear i'll never go in again.
the taukeniang is very rude. when i ask the price for 450D she jz ask me to buy 500D. i told her i wun 450D, then she ask me to buy 1000D instead. later on, she told me to take 40D pula. she treat me like i'm a stupid that jz want to buy a DSLR without any reserch or knowledge. i told her tat i want 450D and the price for it, then she jz ask me to wait. in the end she quoted me the highest price among all shops n i dun even bother to nego with her n jz went out. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by seening: Jun 30 2009, 07:06 PM
yclee99
post Jun 30 2009, 10:34 PM

19 posts

Anyone got HIKE phone number?
KTCY
post Jun 30 2009, 10:49 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jun 16 2009, 07:59 PM)
i bought my SB-600 and 35mm lens from Click n Snap...

i went to excel...got one a bit old guy...not too old la...but rather old..uncle... quite lansi...don't really wanna serve me.... my friend bought his SB-600 for RM790 but when i quote the price, the uncle die die dowan to give...take it or leave it...

i damn TL...so i just walk out lor... memang my friend bought at that price how come i cannot get same price lei?

i went to Click N Snap..no need nego..the sales guy there straight away quote me RM790...

so when i wanna get my 35mm lens...i didn't bother go excel liao...
Because price goes up. But I still can get RM 7xx for SB600 be it at excel or CnS smile.gif
Maybe lower some more icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(seening @ Jun 30 2009, 07:04 PM)
bought my 450D at C&S. the cheapest among all the shops i asked around tat area. quote me the price i expect straight away.
reasonable price n nice service. the boss explain everything to me n even teach me how to check my camera.
he's like waiting for me to ask more questions and he did answer all the questions i asked. he gave me his card and told me to call him whenever i got problems with the camera. like the boss very much.  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif

hike enterprise boss is really a nice guy. friendly and chat with me around half an hour although i din get my camera there cos he quote me higher price and he said no more discount. but i really like the boss service.  thumbup.gif

excel is quite lansi. when i ask bout the price, he jz quote me n say cant lower the price anymore.  sweat.gif

as for megastar, this is the shop tat i swear i'll never go in again.
the taukeniang is very rude. when i ask the price for 450D she jz ask me to buy 500D. i told her i wun 450D, then she ask me to buy 1000D instead. later on, she told me to take 40D pula. she treat me like i'm a stupid that jz want to buy a DSLR without any reserch or knowledge. i told her tat i want 450D and the price for it, then she jz ask me to wait. in the end she quoted me the highest price among all shops n i dun even bother to nego with her n jz went out.  vmad.gif
You know why they recommend 500d ? Because it's worth more than 450D. Personally, 450D not worth anymore. If you really fancy without video dslr, 1000d is the choice smile.gif
pleasuresaurus
post Jul 1 2009, 08:00 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

QUOTE(yclee99 @ Jun 30 2009, 10:34 PM)
Anyone got HIKE phone number?
Bro, try this: 0124825688

The guy's name is chee keong
pinkcotton
post Jul 2 2009, 07:42 PM

93 posts

where is C&S?

i m interested in the panasonic lumix lx3
anyone know the current market price for this camera in penang?
yclee99
post Jul 2 2009, 08:26 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jul 1 2009, 08:00 PM)
Bro, try this: 0124825688

The guy's name is chee keong
thanks bro...
he is outstation... i think his wife ans the call tongue.gif
sowhon
post Jul 2 2009, 08:29 PM

68 posts

i bought my LX3 from C&S 2 weeks ago for rm1520.....
weeluvmal
post Jul 6 2009, 12:00 AM

316 posts

never again cns, bought canned air from them before, sold at double the price sold opposite the street, and i was cns' re-visiting / regular customer.
i actually found out that much later after i stop trading with them (read on for the story). boy was i pissed when i first found out about the overpricing ..

GOOD service is NOT about how well they can talk story to you before and during closure of the deal, but is about how one service you when the product you bought really required after sales services / RMA.

claimed a 18-200 nikon vr i used to had for two times due to VR unit problem, on the 3rd claim they push you back to the distri. my complain would have stop here and i'd still be their regulars, but no, it didn't..
on the 2nd RMA, it took them 3 months and still no one inform me on the status of the RMA, at first i trusted on their service, assuming they would follow through the RMA process, that i didn't bother to check up. (..yeah, like all you happy cns costumers up there..)
but after 3 months, things just don't seemed right anymore, to a point i went to the shop, and they finally found the lens under a pile of lenses, obviously all returned from RMA, that they stuffed in a brown box.
tracing back the documents, the lens was in fact returned from RMA after less than a month. no call, no sms and nothing was done to inform me..
also, it turned out that the lens has a very loose rubber grip at the zoom ring, and i was told i need to do the 3rd claim myself on the grip and the glitches that the vr unit still had..
i left and went straight to MWE plaza for the follow up RMA myself (that's how i found out about there's nikon distri in MWE plaza), only to find out that Nikon distri in MWE was closed that day, at which point my warranty period is at the edge of expiration thanks to the 3 months delay.
luckily after that, Nikon granted me another six month of warranty, fixed the VR and replaced the rubber grips at no charge..

i dun blame them for the grip (it could be nikon's faults too, who knows), but i do blame them for their service attitude and dishonesty in pricing.
after all, what good is nice talks if it's not realized through actions?

This post has been edited by weeluvmal: Jul 6 2009, 12:32 AM
chewlf
post Jul 11 2009, 04:08 PM

1,217 posts

Anyone know which shop in Penang is doing monitor calibration service? Thought of wanted to bring my laptop to do calibration.
psmalaysia.com
post Jul 11 2009, 04:51 PM

101 posts

Buying camera or camera with kit lens. Most shop sell at the same price.
davidcch07
post Nov 19 2009, 07:41 PM

3,109 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 4 2009, 03:24 PM)
Hey bro, regarding excel just need said your name kelvin will get cheaper price?

noob here! lately i plan to get canon 500D ? How much the market price now !?

Thx guys smile.gif
d_lai_309
post Jan 17 2010, 07:51 PM

376 posts

i am looking for Canon BG E7, anyone know the price in penang?
ianho
post Jan 17 2010, 09:49 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(d_lai_309 @ Jan 17 2010, 07:51 PM)
i am looking for Canon BG E7, anyone know the price in penang?
I was checking for my friends while I was in Penang, the BG-E7 was about rm575. Damn cheap. My friends bought at about rm650 in KL.
d_lai_309
post Jan 17 2010, 10:03 PM

376 posts

uncle ian, where is the shop. rm575 is really damn cheap....CnS or mega?
ianho
post Jan 17 2010, 10:39 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(d_lai_309 @ Jan 17 2010, 10:03 PM)
uncle ian, where is the shop. rm575 is really damn cheap....CnS or mega?
rm575 was CnS n his papa's shop. Hehe.
d_lai_309
post Jan 17 2010, 10:50 PM

376 posts

thanks....hopefully they have stock when i pay the visit end of the month...
bingozero
post Jan 18 2010, 12:38 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

Where to buy a canon 450D at Penang Island?
Probably can accept credit card with installment?
flashout
post Jan 18 2010, 03:43 PM

82 posts

I was thinking to change my sony alpha 100 to either nikon 90d, nikon 5000d or canon t1i (500d). So which one better ah?

And which shop also nicer? Seem like few recommend here, Clip n Snap and Excel.

And wat kind of price i m looking at?
d_lai_309
post Jan 18 2010, 03:56 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(flashout @ Jan 18 2010, 03:43 PM)
I was thinking to change my sony alpha 100 to either nikon 90d, nikon 5000d or canon t1i (500d). So which one better ah?

And which shop also nicer? Seem like few recommend here, Clip n Snap and Excel.

And wat kind of price i m looking at?
i suggest u get semi pro body cause i was like u choosing entry level but soon u'll feel not enough to perform....since u already started using sony...
get a second hand 40D or if u have thick wallet get a new one then.....
flashout
post Jan 18 2010, 04:04 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(d_lai_309 @ Jan 18 2010, 03:56 PM)
i suggest u get semi pro body cause i was like u choosing entry level but soon u'll feel not enough to perform....since u already started using sony...
get a second hand 40D or if u have thick wallet get a new one then.....
First was to think to stick with alpha, coz oledi got the light (got it for RM 1280). But damn no video, after waiting for so long.

Then, got to move to nikon or canon loh. Budget its kinna tide, thats why I cannot buy expensive one. But donno if second hand worth it or not? afraid later rosak oh... ??

see of of canon 500d video, damn nice. Nikon 90d video so so only... But photo quality wise.. nikon seem better.

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
KTCY
post Jan 18 2010, 04:14 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

^
Want video, get camcorder la tongue.gif

Anyway, I shot video with fisheye brows.gif
flashout
post Jan 18 2010, 04:40 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 18 2010, 04:14 PM)
^

:-)

Well, since got one slr, don't wan to bring extra machine mah. Some more the dslr DOF are higher compare to normal video camera.

And also budget tide. Want to kill 2 birds with one stone. :-)
d_lai_309
post Jan 18 2010, 04:50 PM

376 posts

concentrate on photo first then just play around with videos....lol
mjoe
post Jan 19 2010, 01:27 AM

208 posts

Went to CnS last month and bought 450d. firstly they quote me Rm2150 for the kit +bag + 4GB. Nego a bit and finally they quoted me RM2100. strait away bought it because this is the best offer among shop in Penang. Recommended this shop...
chinti
post Jan 19 2010, 04:53 PM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,653 posts

hey guys,i've been surveying around in pg for some times d...gonna get my 1st dslr soon...the best price i asked for 450d is the shop in gurney on mph floor bside logitech 1...nt sure wats the shop name...anyone know hw is their service?coz i only go n ask for price...n tht shop is the cheapest d..
mjoe
post Jan 19 2010, 07:19 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 19 2010, 04:53 PM)
hey guys,i've been surveying around in pg for some times d...gonna get my 1st dslr soon...the best price i asked for 450d is the shop in gurney on mph floor bside logitech 1...nt sure wats the shop name...anyone know hw is their service?coz i only go n ask for price...n tht shop is the cheapest d..
how much? what else you get?
chinti
post Jan 19 2010, 11:54 PM

1,653 posts

450d body+4gb+bag=rm1980
! Love Money
post Jan 20 2010, 08:46 AM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 19 2010, 11:54 PM)
450d body+4gb+bag=rm1980
real kah drool.gif so cheap... if i were u i fast fast grab...
bingozero
post Jan 20 2010, 09:09 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 19 2010, 11:54 PM)
450d body+4gb+bag=rm1980
It is including the lens?
chinti
post Jan 20 2010, 09:39 AM

1,653 posts

yup it is...
bingozero
post Jan 20 2010, 09:42 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 20 2010, 09:39 AM)
yup it is...
It is really cheap, do you bought it?
chinti
post Jan 20 2010, 10:05 AM

1,653 posts

i din buy yet,i'm going bak this weekend..
mjoe
post Jan 20 2010, 12:32 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 20 2010, 10:05 AM)
i din buy yet,i'm going bak this weekend..
Please update here the shop name once u buy it....
! Love Money
post Jan 20 2010, 12:49 PM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jan 20 2010, 09:09 AM)
It is including the lens?
doh.gif my reading skill phailed...
Soony
post Jan 20 2010, 05:00 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 19 2010, 04:53 PM)
Thats very cheap for that.. On that floor only got nepmatic , KY and lam loong(camera planet).

Beware ya.. dont buy overprice filters or any other accessories.. think twice before getting anything else rather than the body and lens =)

chinti
post Jan 20 2010, 06:35 PM

1,653 posts

nooo...i just nw go wan buy...tht guy say sold out d...guess i nw hv 2 get it for 2.1k+ at other shop d...
i went into lam loong n pixus i think(in front of the dvd shop 1)...they dun even wanna serve me..they just chatting at there as if i'm invisible...
Soony
post Jan 20 2010, 07:59 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

try penang road , think they can give better price =D
aiks.. really ar? bad customer service =.=

anyway , good luck in ur purchase ya , becareful k =)
chinti
post Jan 20 2010, 09:30 PM

1,653 posts

i gt no transport to go till penang road...not a local here...only study here at INTI college...anyway,is there any seller in lowyat forum from penang 1?

This post has been edited by chinti: Jan 20 2010, 09:34 PM
e_k1117
post Jan 20 2010, 09:35 PM

276 posts

try MEGA STAR near PNG road there.....

so far i survey, that shop is the most cheap one. biggrin.gif
zellleonhart
post Jan 20 2010, 09:38 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

ouch 450D kit for 1980, my fren just bought at RM2250 in KL ==
chinti
post Jan 20 2010, 09:39 PM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jan 20 2010, 09:38 PM)
ouch 450D kit for 1980, my fren just bought at RM2250 in KL ==
too bad all sold out n nw all the price i asked today is RM2250 also...
zellleonhart
post Jan 20 2010, 09:41 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 20 2010, 09:39 PM)
too bad all sold out n nw all the price i asked today is RM2250 also...
is it YL camera in pudu plaza? We asked the whole pudu plaza only YL got stock...
chinti
post Jan 20 2010, 09:43 PM

1,653 posts

erm...nt sure where is tht...
i ask whole gurney n queensbay...thts the only place i know hw 2 go..
zellleonhart
post Jan 20 2010, 09:47 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Ooops sorry cuz just now i said 2250 in KL and u said u also found 2250, so i thought u are referring to KL. paiseh =X
chinti
post Jan 20 2010, 09:49 PM

1,653 posts

lol...suddenly the price went up this week..
zellleonhart
post Jan 20 2010, 09:57 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

maybe chinese new year coming, they wan earn more =(
chinti
post Jan 20 2010, 10:00 PM

1,653 posts

still cant find any shop wit great price 2 buy...wanna get my 1st dslr b4 cny..
zellleonhart
post Jan 20 2010, 10:03 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Good luck then. Wish you get your desired DSLR with a reasonable and good price!
bingozero
post Jan 21 2010, 10:58 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 20 2010, 09:43 PM)
erm...nt sure where is tht...
i ask whole gurney n queensbay...thts the only place i know hw 2 go..
I want to CnS before, they quote me RM2.1K for 450D. Maybe you can go to ask for it.
chinti
post Jan 21 2010, 12:09 PM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jan 21 2010, 10:58 AM)
I want to CnS before, they quote me RM2.1K for 450D. Maybe you can go to ask for it.
oo...but i duno where isit plus i dun hv transport 2 go other places...T.T
bingozero
post Jan 21 2010, 10:18 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 21 2010, 12:09 PM)
oo...but i duno where isit plus i dun hv transport 2 go other places...T.T
Do you know komtar that have a big screen tv there, the shop is just along there below the TV.
chinti
post Jan 21 2010, 10:46 PM

1,653 posts

duno o...only know the sushi king which is at road side~
raymannlucas
post Jan 21 2010, 10:57 PM

2,080 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 21 2010, 10:46 PM)
ask around...its just under the big screen...
bingozero
post Jan 21 2010, 11:31 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 21 2010, 10:46 PM)
The big screen is opposite of the GAMA complex
C.P.U
post Jan 22 2010, 10:55 AM

------------------------------
2,280 posts

Ya.. there got a lot camera shop.. make sure nego... until you feel satisfied.
loon1031
post Jan 22 2010, 11:50 AM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

CnS just beside Firefly shop

Added on January 22, 2010, 11:54 amWhat is Tamron SP90 for Nikon price now?
Look for it

This post has been edited by loon1031: Jan 22 2010, 11:54 AM
chinti
post Jan 22 2010, 12:09 PM

1,653 posts

thanks guys,i know where is cns shop d...will go visit tht shop on sunday^^
C.P.U
post Jan 22 2010, 12:27 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 22 2010, 12:09 PM)
If possible.. help me check price 55-200 nikon VR and dry box.. hehe... Thank in advance.. tongue.gif
chinti
post Jan 22 2010, 04:06 PM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ Jan 22 2010, 12:27 PM)
If possible.. help me check price 55-200 nikon VR and dry box.. hehe... Thank in advance.. tongue.gif
ok,i will^^
raymannlucas
post Jan 22 2010, 04:14 PM

2,080 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 22 2010, 12:09 PM)
cns not operate on sunday....from monday until saturday only...sunday off day...
C.P.U
post Jan 22 2010, 04:27 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 22 2010, 04:06 PM)
ok,i will^^
^^ Thank thank.. I looking this 2 item.. ^.^
chinti
post Jan 22 2010, 04:29 PM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(raymannlucas @ Jan 22 2010, 04:14 PM)
cns not operate on sunday....from monday until saturday only...sunday off day...
oo,wat time does the shop close?
teddie
post Jan 22 2010, 06:35 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

ard 7pm
chinti
post Jan 23 2010, 10:56 PM

1,653 posts

hey,does anyone know whether cns giv pay by installment?
bingozero
post Jan 23 2010, 11:33 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 23 2010, 10:56 PM)
It can pay by credit card by installment, 5.5% surcharge

This post has been edited by bingozero: Jan 23 2010, 11:35 PM
electron
post Jan 23 2010, 11:36 PM

1,329 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 23 2010, 10:56 PM)
yes they do, but with handling charges
but still work out to be cheaper than those harvey norman/jusco/etc
chinti
post Jan 23 2010, 11:42 PM

1,653 posts

ok,guess i will hav 2 pay by installment...coz really wanna buy alot of stuff at one shot..
hedonkop
post Jan 24 2010, 01:08 AM

orange bicycle shop
848 posts

anyone know where i can find canon s90 in penang area... with more reasonable price

chinti
post Jan 24 2010, 02:34 AM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(hedonkop @ Jan 24 2010, 01:08 AM)
anyone know where i can find canon s90 in penang area... with more reasonable price
bro,u can try cns...as far as i know alot of bro here say they hv gd service n best price...through i monday only going 2 go get my dslr there...
spel'it
post Jan 24 2010, 09:52 AM

319 posts

I will go to CnS if I want to get conned/cheated. smile.gif
bingozero
post Jan 24 2010, 10:24 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(spel'it @ Jan 24 2010, 09:52 AM)
What they do it for you?

This post has been edited by bingozero: Jan 24 2010, 10:25 AM
chinti
post Jan 24 2010, 01:17 PM

1,653 posts

bro wat u mean?
mjoe
post Jan 24 2010, 10:16 PM

208 posts

Come on bro...many buyer satisfied with this shop, only you have problem with them. It's not good to label this shop conned or what ever without any proof or story.

Added on January 24, 2010, 10:17 pmchinti, do you get ur 450d?

This post has been edited by mjoe: Jan 24 2010, 10:17 PM
raymannlucas
post Jan 24 2010, 10:40 PM

2,080 posts

every shops are doing business and they hv a family to feed also... no one wanna do deficit business...

sometimes u hv to bargain and survey price as well.. u cant just blame the shop like dat...

speak with evidence my friend...
Soony
post Jan 24 2010, 11:06 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

Well.. I bought all my accessories fro CNS though , good service =)
better than those in complex a lot.. way better than those in fair for sure =.=
hedonkop
post Jan 25 2010, 12:22 AM

orange bicycle shop
848 posts

thanks for the feedback guys...

i'll go there when the time allow me...

is it CNS located under the big screen next to komtar??
chinti
post Jan 25 2010, 01:58 AM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(mjoe @ Jan 24 2010, 10:16 PM)
Come on bro...many buyer satisfied with this shop, only you have problem with them. It's not good to label this shop conned or what ever without any proof or story.

Added on January 24, 2010, 10:17 pmchinti, do you get ur 450d?
bro,i'm going cns tomorrow after class~too excited until cant slp nw...
C.P.U
post Jan 25 2010, 09:21 AM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 25 2010, 01:58 AM)
bro,i'm going cns tomorrow after class~too excited until cant slp nw...
Good luck.. whops.. Good bargain ya.. =)
KTCY
post Jan 25 2010, 11:34 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Indeed, good luck tongue.gif
zellleonhart
post Jan 25 2010, 12:33 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Update us with what u bought and price ya
teddie
post Jan 25 2010, 01:13 PM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

CnS for sure? good luck
KTCY
post Jan 25 2010, 05:13 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Ahaha. Seems like most people wishing good luck to those going to CnS tongue.gif
@meno
post Jan 25 2010, 05:36 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 25 2010, 05:13 PM)
Ahaha. Seems like most people wishing good luck to those going to CnS tongue.gif
Hahahaha...not tat bad lar CNS...
Just not the best as well...LOL... laugh.gif

bingozero
post Jan 25 2010, 08:16 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Jan 25 2010, 05:36 PM)
Hahahaha...not tat bad lar CNS...
Just not the best as well...LOL... laugh.gif
Then which shop is the best tongue.gif
chinti
post Jan 25 2010, 08:54 PM

1,653 posts

ok guys..i hav bought my canon eos 450d...bt it is 2nd hand(grade A) from cns...isit ok to buy 2nd hand?coz one of my fren scold me for buying 2nd hand...
the package include 4gb,lens,bag,uv filter,a screen attach to it...total is RM1900...i compare the camera wit a new camera,it is lik completely new cant even find any evidence of 2nd hand product...the cns guy told me is better for me 2 buy 2nd hand..so i buy lo but my fren nw scolding me..
raymannlucas
post Jan 25 2010, 08:58 PM

2,080 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 25 2010, 08:54 PM)
ok guys..i hav bought my canon eos 450d...bt it is 2nd hand(grade A) from cns...isit ok to buy 2nd hand?coz one of my fren scold me for buying 2nd hand...
the package include 4gb,lens,bag,uv filter,a screen attach to it...total is RM1900...i compare the camera wit a new camera,it is lik completely new cant even find any evidence of 2nd hand product...the cns guy told me is better for me 2 buy 2nd hand..so i buy lo but my fren nw scolding me..
u dunno anything about buying 2nd hand... paying 1900 for a 2nd hand? i got nothing to say den...
chinti
post Jan 25 2010, 08:59 PM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(raymannlucas @ Jan 25 2010, 08:58 PM)
u dunno anything about buying 2nd hand... paying 1900 for a 2nd hand? i got nothing to say den...
means its not ok 2 get 2nd hand? ok then...i contacted cns...abit scare after being scold n c ur reply..so they said its ok for me 2 go bak tmr n pay extra for a new kit...

This post has been edited by chinti: Jan 25 2010, 09:30 PM
bingozero
post Jan 25 2010, 10:25 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

So do the 2nd hand camera got warranty?
raymannlucas
post Jan 25 2010, 10:29 PM

2,080 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 25 2010, 08:59 PM)
means its not ok 2 get 2nd hand? ok then...i contacted cns...abit scare after being scold n c ur reply..so they said its ok for me 2 go bak tmr n pay extra for a new kit...
few things u hv to know...warranty, battery life, shutter count...i believe adding 1-2 hundred will get u a new set already...
d_lai_309
post Jan 25 2010, 11:53 PM

376 posts

anybody from Penang know the price for Canon 135mm F/2.0 L?
i'm goin over this wkend and would like to know the price over there....

teddie
post Jan 26 2010, 12:07 AM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jan 25 2010, 08:16 PM)
Then which shop is the best  tongue.gif
not the say the best, i'd rather go megastar at opposite road. Both excel and hike their prices are competitive.
chinti
post Jan 26 2010, 12:08 AM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jan 25 2010, 10:25 PM)
Ya still got one year....anyway,I have contacted matthew and told him I wanna go change new kit tomorrow and he say ok d.....

Added on January 26, 2010, 12:09 am
QUOTE(bingozero @ Jan 25 2010, 10:25 PM)
Ya still got one year....anyway,I have contacted matthew and told him I wanna go change new kit tomorrow and he say ok d.....

This post has been edited by chinti: Jan 26 2010, 12:09 AM
Soony
post Jan 26 2010, 12:29 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

Okay what for me 2nd hand.. somemore got 1 year warranty..
I dont see any fault in getting that.
chinti
post Jan 26 2010, 12:44 AM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Jan 26 2010, 12:29 AM)
It's ok but still reading all this post and being pressure by my friend so it still safe to go change to new unit tomorow
GoodMorning
post Jan 26 2010, 12:45 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Jan 26 2010, 12:29 AM)
Try to check SC, local set? with 1 year warranty ?( mean previous user just bough within this month ). For me with 200 different from new set, i will go for new set..
chinti
post Jan 26 2010, 12:59 AM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(GoodMorning @ Jan 26 2010, 12:45 AM)
Try to check SC, local set? with 1 year warranty ?( mean previous user just bough within this month ). For me with  200 different from new set, i will go for new set..
Ok I go change to new set tomorrow
d_lai_309
post Jan 26 2010, 02:04 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 26 2010, 12:59 AM)
Ok I go change to new set tomorrow
help me check for the price of Canon 135mm f/2.0 L if possible....thanks
C.P.U
post Jan 26 2010, 08:25 AM

2,280 posts

You may check the shutter count first.. Just my 2cent opinion, I rather add in few more hundred for new set. First new set, 2nd warranty is longer than 2nd hand.. Paid more.. it might useful for future claim or warranty...
ravage.168
post Jan 26 2010, 11:25 AM

In my opinion, buying a 2nd hand especially for DSLR is a risk, you have no idea what went wrong, why must you take the risk ?? I wonder ? Dont take me wrong, If you really interested in this photography, you should buy something affordable, work out a budget or within your budget. remember, what you buy is what you get.

No offend but comparing price among the shop in Penang is a bit like wasting time, you have to know, more or less is the same, Canon price is a controlled price item, especially DSLR. I have surveyed before, either Nepmatic, foto Easycam, hike enterprise, Click n Snap, elite photo, ky digital, elite professional in Penang road and others, the price range is different about Rm10-Rm25 only.

what you can do it, when you buy the DSLR, you will definitely have to buy like the uv filter, bag, or others accessories, then it is like purchase with purchase, maybe they can reduce the price for you. Different shop selling got their way of approaching customer,
I read then someone said one of the shop is conned ppl one, well, it is not. You just need to know how you negociate the price and what are the things you really need. You really need to know what you want then you will know what to ask for.

Buying a DSLR is not just simply buy the lense and body only, you need something to support it, such as accessory. Those are the hidden charges. I have friends told me, if you want to invest, invest a good lense, the picture will be great. sometimes is not the camera take good picture, it is the photographer who knows how to take good picture at the right angle or the right aperture and shuttle speed.

No offence guys, this is just my opinion. I also want to invest a good DSLR. I am reading all the forum what ppl say and survey I get more knowledge about it.

@meno
post Jan 26 2010, 01:04 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jan 25 2010, 08:16 PM)
Then which shop is the best  tongue.gif
Well, it's personal preference there bro.
The shops around that area are pretty ok.

The only thing that you guys should always bear in mind is, do your research before buying, dun rush a purchase.
And if you're a first timer, try to bring along an experienced friend who knows what to look out for.

If anyone here needs more help or advices, feel free to PM me.
I dun mind sharing what i know though it's pretty limited... laugh.gif
ravage.168
post Jan 26 2010, 02:32 PM

QUOTE(@meno @ Jan 26 2010, 01:04 PM)
Well, it's personal preference there bro.
The shops around that area are pretty ok.

The only thing that you guys should always bear in mind is, do your research before buying, dun rush a purchase.
And if you're a first timer, try to bring along an experienced friend who knows what to look out for.

If anyone here needs more help or advices, feel free to PM me.
I dun mind sharing what i know though it's pretty limited...  laugh.gif
well, all the shops around there definitely are pretty ok, this is because they want sales, they will treat you very well rclxms.gif

when you go in, you are their customer. They will give you as much information as you want.

for me, I search for internet for info about camera. Taking experience friend is also a good idea, but the end result will be on you.

set a budget, I am sure you can get a very good DSLR. It is a long term investment, I am sure extra few Rm10-50 also doesnt matter as long they can give you after sales service. why not ??

KTCY
post Jan 26 2010, 02:51 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

ravage.168 sounds a bit fishy.
Created account today just to tell people other shops are good enough. Owner of one of the shop ? hmm.gif
ravage.168
post Jan 26 2010, 03:18 PM

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 26 2010, 02:51 PM)
ravage.168 sounds a bit fishy.
Created account today just to tell people other shops are good enough. Owner of one of the shop ? hmm.gif
hai KTCY,

I am not a bit fishy and I am NOT even one of the shop owner tongue.gif , I work in a factory line. I do know some of the shop owner and infact they are truly friendly to me even I dun buy due to money constraint. I just like to share my point of view only smile.gif I am NOT even a buyer. I don't take side. blush.gif

so, you please mind your language...
KTCY
post Jan 26 2010, 03:26 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(ravage.168 @ Jan 26 2010, 03:18 PM)
hai KTCY,

I am not a bit fishy and I am NOT even one of the shop owner  tongue.gif , I work in a factory line. I do know some of the shop owner and infact they are truly friendly to me even I dun buy due to money constraint. I just like to share my point of view only  smile.gif  I am NOT even a buyer. I don't take side.  blush.gif

so, you please mind your language...
Same thing. We are sharing our point of view only. So mind your language too tongue.gif
chinti
post Jan 26 2010, 04:50 PM

1,653 posts

Ok guys,I have change to a new set by adding 200 d....that day who ask me check 55-200nikon vr d?price is 890...how to check shutter count?
C.P.U
post Jan 27 2010, 10:29 AM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Jan 26 2010, 04:50 PM)
Ok guys,I have change to a new set by adding 200 d....that day who ask me check 55-200nikon vr d?price is 890...how to check shutter count?
Me Me.. happy.gif thank for the info.. RM890.. worth to buy...

How to check shutter count

http://www.techmalaya.com/2008/01/22/check...h-opanda-iexif/

or

http://drchung.new21.net/previewextractor/
TSic3kacang
post Feb 2 2010, 12:56 AM

140 posts

Wow..my topic is still running..Lol..
But anyways, I've found a reliable shop which is... Foto Easycam at komtar.
The aunty and uncles inside are helpful... Don't really mind if theyy charge me bit exp cause what I want is after sales service...
Btw, Foto Easycam and CnS are under the same family. Dad & son =)
Soony
post Feb 2 2010, 01:39 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

hmmm.. do I like know you TS? cos your name sounds so familiar.. LOL!
Grats on ur purchase then.. if you know the people there, you'll get cheaper prices and superb after sales service..
C.P.U
post Feb 12 2010, 04:38 PM

2,280 posts

=) Just would like give credit to hike enterpirse.. Really good manner the boss.. I asking about a lot thing.. He teach me a lot of thing of cos the pricing is reasonable...

I brought
D5000 battery grip
Thirdparty battery
Matin Strap
HB45 hood

They are so friendly.. =)

I prefer good service even it abit expnesive(expensive few ringgit la)

This post has been edited by C.P.U: Feb 12 2010, 04:39 PM
aminpenang1
post Feb 12 2010, 05:57 PM

63 posts

I would recomend Hike Enterprise because the price is resonable and very good customer service.I bought my first DSLR on 1/2/2010

D5000(kit lens)
Nikon bag
Kenko Pro1 filter
Blower
free another Nikon Battery

around RM2700

samlee860407
post Feb 12 2010, 07:13 PM

4,631 posts

although Foto Easycam and CnS are same family, but i really really dont like the service from CNS, seriously bullcrap.

yes, the person do let me play around with the 500D for sometime, but dint really teach me since alot of customer, which is OK

but when i ask for D90, yes he bring it out for me, but let me LOOK ONLY. say got shutter count and thing, cant let me play and try

Wtf is this man! say this one is premium level already, so cannot try, if people want D90, they will terus buy wont try.....wah farkkkkk????????

so although at that point of time, i know i will get the 500D, but i dont want buy from him.

instead go to foto easycam, which got lesser customer at that time. ask for 500D and play around , then D90. and they happily obliged . although they dint put in the SD card, but i still can see a short preview, which is good enough for me.

in the end, i buy from them, and their price is even cheaper than CNS

for 500D body only, foto easycam quote me RM50 lesser than CNS. while for the 50mm f1.8 lense, also RM5 cheaper.

although price is sometimes not the main factor, but for my experience, foto easycam cleary win CNS on both price and service!

coolice
post Feb 24 2010, 10:58 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

guys, anyone know which shop in penang still have stock for panasonic lx3?as well as the price

thanks biggrin.gif
raymannlucas
post Feb 24 2010, 11:53 PM

2,080 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Feb 24 2010, 10:58 PM)
guys, anyone know which shop in penang still have stock for panasonic lx3?as well as the price

thanks biggrin.gif
try to check on photo elite opposite mydin, same road with penang famous cendul...i think they hv...
PetaiMan
post Feb 25 2010, 03:01 AM

95 posts

anyone know where i can find nikon d3000 with reasonable price
how much cns selling?
adie82
post Mar 6 2010, 01:39 AM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

HI... may i know which shop in penang that can make installment via AEON credit?
Melvin_84
post Mar 6 2010, 03:54 PM

QUOTE(PetaiMan @ Feb 25 2010, 03:01 AM)
how much cns selling?
D3000 RM1850 kitlens + 4 Gb + bag >05 Mac 2010

Good deal ? or any greater offer ? Pls input.......
pmmonkey
post Mar 6 2010, 05:31 PM

485 posts

This is a good thread. I read and walked around Komtar area, looking for a shop which can give me the cheapest price.
So I took note of the shops mentioned in here and these are my experiences.

The bad:
Excel Photo Trading
I went in, there was another customer inside. But there were a few more workers, yet nobody layan me. (I know la... I not leng lui cry.gif) Then I asked a lady for the things, she gave me a price. Unfortunately, I wasn't done yet... then another customer walked in, she straightaway layan the other person. I wasn't happy with that, straightaway strike it off my list.

Photo President
The guy whom I talked to gave a very lansi expression. Prices were bad and cannot nego some more.

Fotocam
The workers there... ok ok only. Price for the main item is fair. But when you want to add this and that accessories, they are all slightly overpriced.

The good
Hike Enterprise
Friendly people in there, prices were good. (But not the best) I just like how they answered me so nicely.

MegaStar
The guy I talked to is also friendly. This is the shop which gave me the cheapest price among all. But when add in rechargeable batteries... it turned around. Didn't get from them, because of the overpriced batteries.

Photo Easycam
Uncle gave me a good price. Yet I wasn't convinced. But in the end, I went back there to get what I want.
Manage to try some other things. Okay la... can consider good service.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Mar 6 2010, 05:32 PM
samlee860407
post Mar 6 2010, 05:46 PM

4,631 posts

photo easycam really ok.

i go there 2 times after get my 500D, test their lens twice but dint buy, only buy ciplak item like lens cap and super mini tripod that cost rm40 they also layan me tongue.gif
cnc123
post Mar 8 2010, 10:54 AM

QUOTE(PetaiMan @ Feb 25 2010, 04:01 AM)
how much cns selling?
i just buy one nikon d3000 at penang times square.. i think is a good price
he give me Rm1830+4gb+bag
i forget what name of shop already..at thrt floor..my brother also buy compact over there..
maybe u can have a look over there.. nod.gif
C.P.U
post Mar 9 2010, 10:25 PM

2,280 posts

Just brought the tamron 70-300 nikon from The Excel.. The price was good.. My friend had compared with price.. Their price is cheaper than hike and another.. For my service from them is good.. Maybe I wearing formal clothes wear and they serve me well.. However, for me they are okay
shadow111
post Mar 18 2010, 10:51 AM

3,140 posts

isit true that excel offer the best price for cam/lens in penang?
plan to get my nikkor 50mm 1.8d this weekend.
samlee860407
post Mar 18 2010, 11:12 AM

4,631 posts

aiyo, just go to those shops and ask lo, since all are so near from each other nia
shadow111
post Mar 18 2010, 01:52 PM

3,140 posts

I'm not from penang, thats why I am not really familiar with the way there.
can you let me know what other shop located nearby excel? thanks.
samlee860407
post Mar 18 2010, 02:14 PM

4,631 posts

at komtar area, there's whole bunch of camera shop tongue.gif

i think almost everyone will go there for their camera gear lol, and their price seems wont be difference by more than rm100.

hike enterprise, excel, click and snap, foto easycam , megastar all is at the same area, if just walk past the shop, you can walk past all of them in less than 5minutes.

so just go around there and slowly ask, see which shop give you best service and price lo.

PS: dont forget to enter kek seng coffee shop and have a nice plate of ice kacang with durian ice cream while you are hunting for your lens biggrin.gif

Added on March 18, 2010, 2:26 pmoh, btw i think there are 2 or 3 more camera shops there too but i forget the name of them already.

So have fun! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Mar 18 2010, 02:26 PM
shadow111
post Mar 18 2010, 02:37 PM

3,140 posts

thanks man for the info. will go n walk around there to survey.. smile.gif
C.P.U
post Mar 18 2010, 03:30 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Mar 18 2010, 02:37 PM)
thanks man for the info. will go n walk around there to survey.. smile.gif
You may ring me up as well.. I from penang.. I wan survey for bag as well.. If you wan, we may go together.. haha

This post has been edited by C.P.U: Mar 18 2010, 03:31 PM
samlee860407
post Mar 18 2010, 03:50 PM

4,631 posts

CPU, lets go together biggrin.gif

i am going to hunt for lens. shadow111 still cant confirm time ma...haha

let my white knight fight ur dark force LOL

btw i going on saturday la...mostly around 11am to 12pm
KTCY
post Mar 18 2010, 03:54 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

I might be at Excel this Saturday. Reason : Lepak laugh.gif
C.P.U
post Mar 18 2010, 03:57 PM

2,280 posts

haha.. than samlee860407 and KTCY going this saturday?

Than I should go at sat also.. dark force vs white knight.. haha Jom lepak~

shadow111
post Mar 18 2010, 04:16 PM

3,140 posts

wah.. u all goin survey this sat eh.. hope i'm able to join u all too..
samlee860407
post Mar 18 2010, 04:24 PM

4,631 posts

What time CPU and ktcy will bE there ? tongue.gif
bighead85
post Mar 18 2010, 04:29 PM

75 posts

can anyone help me survey the S90 canon price in penang??
C.P.U
post Mar 18 2010, 04:31 PM

2,280 posts

I might be there 11am+ if I din over slpt.. hehe
samlee860407
post Mar 18 2010, 09:33 PM

4,631 posts

oh bagus bagus biggrin.gif
maxcheam
post Mar 19 2010, 10:58 AM

384 posts

any chance of Canon 550D with ready stocks in Penang this weekend?
i'm planning to get the body with EF50mm f/1.4 USM
choc_mocca
post Mar 19 2010, 12:49 PM

where can i get the cheapest LX3 in penang?hihih...helppp...i went to few shops in seberang jaya, they quoted around 1600++..maybe i can get cheaper price in penang island?
shadow111
post Mar 19 2010, 12:59 PM

3,140 posts

as mention by samlee few post earlier, there are few cam shop around komtar area.. smile.gif
choc_mocca
post Mar 19 2010, 01:21 PM

orait...thanks biggrin.gif i will go to komtar area this weekend..hihih..
C.P.U
post Mar 20 2010, 11:53 AM

2,280 posts

samlee860407 ... I can't make it on time.. sad.gif I just back from U park.. Take some flower picture and skating contest there..
samlee860407
post Mar 20 2010, 02:19 PM

4,631 posts

i baru back hunting there biggrin.gif

CPU went to youth park this morning?

I also at botanica garden at 8am to 10am leh lol
C.P.U
post Mar 20 2010, 03:35 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Mar 20 2010, 02:19 PM)
i baru back hunting there biggrin.gif

CPU went to youth park this morning?

I also at botanica garden at 8am to 10am leh lol
haha ya ya... i there around 8-9pm... to capture some flower there.. hehe
samlee860407
post Mar 20 2010, 03:41 PM

4,631 posts

u from shutter asia? @@@@@@@@@'''''

C.P.U
post Mar 20 2010, 04:16 PM

2,280 posts

Nonono~ Nono~ I am just ametuer walking around take photo... biggrin.gif How your lens hunting?

P.S
Few shot I taken from this morning
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2039...49&l=37a9d55d76

This post has been edited by C.P.U: Mar 20 2010, 04:20 PM
samlee860407
post Mar 20 2010, 04:48 PM

4,631 posts

I see....coz i join a few from shutterasia.com people go ma....they got outing today take macro pics tongue.gif

around 10 of them with keng keng macro lens.....me alone with 50mm....hahhaha
C.P.U
post Mar 20 2010, 04:50 PM

2,280 posts

=.= Keng keng macro.. I use tamron 70-300 fake marco 1:2.. Even worst..
shadow111
post Mar 22 2010, 10:56 AM

3,140 posts

hey guys..
how's the lens hunting last week?
i didn't manage to go coz kena drag to watch Alice in Wonderland by my gf..
sad.gif
Saphira4597
post Mar 23 2010, 04:21 PM

388 posts

Hey guys, any shop that sells bags to put DSLRS in for a good price?
Preferably sling bag or backpack with the camera compartment

Budget 100+ bahs, prangin got 1 shop selling backpack 15x or 13x I think but the camera compartment is at the bottom x.x prefer inside one in case lol >.>

btw do bags ard 100+ have warranty? lol doh.gif
shakiraa
post Mar 25 2010, 11:31 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

yo guys, im also frm penang, finally finish reading this thread.

so i can conclude Foto Easycam and Excel is best choice. in terms of price + after sale.

And all those shops ard Komtar Hair Impression there right? and also some near Kek Seng kopitiam.

i will go and check them out this weekend. wana get a simple digital cam with rm1000 budget.

any recommendation? i know i'm not at pro level as u guys buying DSLR smile.gif hope can help me . thanks,

This post has been edited by shakiraa: Mar 25 2010, 11:32 PM
C.P.U
post Mar 26 2010, 08:30 AM

2,280 posts

@Saphira4597 I also looking one sling bag.. going hunt this weekend.. Aim for bagman.. good and cheap

@shakiraa those shop beside a temple and infornt of Komtar only.. From Gama to Komtar... U can see a lot camera shop there...
Digital camera.. Canon s90.. biggrin.gif RM1.5k.. if below 1k.. You might need ask "Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3 " thread. smile.gif Cheer.. and Very good morning to you guy~
ivan5805
post Apr 5 2010, 12:39 AM

85 posts

what is the nikon D90 price now??

Added on April 5, 2010, 6:22 pmany 1???

Added on April 6, 2010, 1:39 amany 1 can recommend me good camera shop in penang?? by the way where is photoeasycam??

This post has been edited by ivan5805: Apr 6 2010, 01:39 AM
leonangelo
post Apr 7 2010, 02:39 AM

best price for 450D 500D and 550D with 18-55mm lens how much?
C.P.U
post Apr 7 2010, 02:22 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(leonangelo @ Apr 7 2010, 02:39 AM)
best price for 450D 500D and 550D with 18-55mm lens how much?
I recently ask 550d is 2.7k+ with kit lens and free gift and 500d is 2.9k.. zzzzzz I ask from Excel...

@ivan5805
There a lot good shop like Excel and hike.. the best your survey around.. =) This two my fav..

P.S

Becareful around penang buying crumpler bag.. lol.. 10 over 10 shop dunoe they are selling fake crumpler.. Myself even tell them wat is original crumpler look like...

This post has been edited by C.P.U: Apr 7 2010, 02:25 PM
samlee860407
post Apr 7 2010, 02:24 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ Apr 7 2010, 02:22 PM)
I recently ask 550d is 2.7k+ with kit lens and free gift and 500d is 2.9k.. zzzzzz I ask from Excel...
lol WTF?

hahahahha

wonder who will get 500D at that type of bs price :S
C.P.U
post Apr 7 2010, 02:25 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 7 2010, 02:24 PM)
lol WTF?
hahahahha

wonder who will get 500D at that type of bs price :S
lol.. u can't blame them because the 500d is old stock.. They can't sell below market price so.. haha..
ivan5805
post Apr 7 2010, 07:12 PM

85 posts

jus got back from fotoeasycam D90 out of stock but inside perangin mall survey 3 shops all offer me 3.3k kit set with stock!!
will pay a visit to Excel and hike there tomorrow!!
By the way if bought in pc fair will it cheaper??
unholydevil
post Apr 8 2010, 12:58 AM

i got survey a few shop, hike ,excel, mega, and a gurney pixus, the price almost same.
the most expansive 1 is gurney. expensive 150.
what i ask is 550D

for me the best service is excel, and mega,while hike is third.
all the price is agak 3700 like tat including, sd,tripod, SP filter and bag.
warranty same, register online 1+2 warranty.

for beginer, i think pixus is good, cause it provide free course whole life.

the worst is namloong. just StuXXX just will buy thier things...too expensive!
k-oi
post Apr 8 2010, 12:13 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(ivan5805 @ Apr 5 2010, 12:39 AM)
what is the nikon D90 price now??

Added on April 5, 2010, 6:22 pmany 1???

Added on April 6, 2010, 1:39 amany 1 can recommend me good camera shop in penang?? by the way where is photoeasycam??
d90 body should range RM2.4k-RM2.6k...depend on the packages and freebies..

d90 kit should be around RM3.4k - RM3.6k
nokian
post Apr 10 2010, 08:27 AM

350 posts

any shops selling used DSLR lens for canon in penang?
samlee860407
post Apr 10 2010, 09:31 AM

4,631 posts

again, go to those shops at penang road, they do sell used lens, but the choice is very limited
jack2
post Apr 10 2010, 11:27 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

anyone know about Camtronic Photo?

How is their price and service?
wenou
post Apr 10 2010, 06:57 PM

Mega Star Penang
nice shop and nice people =)

Added on April 10, 2010, 7:00 pm
QUOTE(nokian @ Apr 10 2010, 08:27 AM)
any shops selling used DSLR lens for canon in penang?
you can try to look at Click & Snap, around komtar =)

This post has been edited by wenou: Apr 10 2010, 07:00 PM
ivan5805
post Apr 10 2010, 07:54 PM

85 posts

jus bought a D90 kit at fotoeasycam jus now!!! very happy with the service!!
jack2
post Apr 10 2010, 08:17 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(ivan5805 @ Apr 10 2010, 07:54 PM)
jus bought a D90 kit at fotoeasycam jus now!!! very happy with the service!!
how much you bought?

I just bought at Excel Photo
ivan5805
post Apr 10 2010, 10:02 PM

85 posts

Rm3300 with bag and 4gb
samlee860407
post Apr 10 2010, 10:19 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(ivan5805 @ Apr 10 2010, 10:02 PM)
Rm3300 with bag and 4gb
whao, so much difference if compare with 2 months ago @@
jack2
post Apr 10 2010, 10:55 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(ivan5805 @ Apr 10 2010, 10:02 PM)
Rm3300 with bag and 4gb
how does the bag look like?

i felt the bag is not nice and cheap a bit nia.
TSic3kacang
post Apr 17 2010, 06:58 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Mar 25 2010, 11:31 PM)
yo guys, im also frm penang, finally finish reading this thread.

so i can conclude Foto Easycam and Excel is best choice. in terms of price + after sale.

And all those shops ard Komtar Hair Impression there right? and also some near Kek Seng kopitiam.

i will go and check them out this weekend. wana get a simple digital cam with rm1000 budget.

any recommendation? i know i'm not at pro level as u guys buying DSLR smile.gif hope can help me . thanks,
Photo Easycam and CnS the same. They are father and son.
I always go photo easycam....price..okay ler.. might be bit exp if were to compare with those unknown shops.
But definitely provide good service =)
tuafik31390
post Apr 17 2010, 09:55 PM

may i know which shop that sell 2nd hand lens????
C.P.U
post Apr 17 2010, 11:14 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(tuafik31390 @ Apr 17 2010, 09:55 PM)
may i know which shop that sell 2nd hand lens????
a lot of shop around there is selling.. I just back survey back around there.. Man.. the 2nd hand babylens poisoning me right now..
blynn123
post Apr 18 2010, 01:31 AM

221 posts

thinking bout getting 500D . any shops in Penang offering a good price ? wink.gif

TSic3kacang
post Apr 18 2010, 02:03 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(blynn123 @ Apr 18 2010, 01:31 AM)
thinking bout getting 500D . any shops in Penang offering a good price ? wink.gif
prices are more or less the same aat komtar area. the most different by not more than RM50. Go for one that gives u most service =)

Added on April 18, 2010, 2:04 am
p/s: i would advice u to go for 550D insteead of 500D =)

This post has been edited by ic3kacang: Apr 18 2010, 02:04 AM
busyman
post Apr 18 2010, 08:14 AM

1,465 posts

penang komtar there excel not bad..

bought D3k at RM1750(standard price RM1780)

BUT, must gv them student card,so discount RM30..swt///
C.P.U
post Apr 18 2010, 11:34 AM

2,280 posts

Go 550d.. =) It more worth than 500d`
Soony
post Apr 18 2010, 04:05 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Apr 18 2010, 02:03 AM)
prices are more or less the same aat komtar area. the most different by not more than RM50. Go for one that gives u most service =)

Added on April 18, 2010, 2:04 am
p/s: i would advice u to go for 550D insteead of 500D =)
Well, If you aren't planning to spend much in DSLR then I would advise you to get the 500D instead. As the 550D uses the new battery grip BG-E8 while the old 550D uses the BG-E5 which is easier and cheaper to find in the market.. either first or second hand.

With the saved amount of money , maybe RM 300-400 , you could get yourself a bag or some other photography equipments , a 50mm prime would be vital as it cost less than RM 300.

Think further abit , the upgrades in 550D isn't really much unless you like to take videos , which is another story.

I find Click and Snap or Photoeasycam gives me the best price in penang road , cheaper by the rest =) and the better service =)
blynn123
post Apr 18 2010, 05:51 PM

221 posts

how much is the 550D right now ? smile.gif
alrighty , will definitely go there . thanks all .
vladimir
post Apr 18 2010, 07:25 PM

MYHYPERSTORE ONLINE TRADER
639 posts

We love you guys and girls for giving us a highest morale support and purchase a lot camera from us! We've just closed down our online sales in lowyat.net ( as my price are crazier than others ) and the KL and PG side are framing us for putting them a bombardment! But trust me .. I WILL BE BACK FOR MORE! CRAZIER THAN EVER! Just stay tune to thread!!!
frenzy77
post Apr 18 2010, 09:43 PM

22 posts

how much is EF 70-200 F2.8L IS II? got stock?
busyman
post Apr 19 2010, 04:22 AM

1,465 posts

QUOTE(vladimir @ Apr 18 2010, 07:25 PM)
We love you guys and girls for giving us a highest morale support and purchase a lot camera from us! We've just closed down our online sales in lowyat.net ( as my price are crazier than others ) and the KL and PG side are framing us for putting them a bombardment! But trust me .. I WILL BE BACK FOR MORE! CRAZIER THAN EVER! Just stay tune to thread!!!
But tat day i went there, ur shop offer me D3000 at RM1780, even 1 cent also dun discount for me..=.=///

tats y in d end i bought at other shop(RM1750)
iceggy
post Apr 19 2010, 01:34 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Apr 19 2010, 04:22 AM)
But tat day i went there, ur shop offer me D3000 at RM1780, even 1 cent also dun discount for me..=.=///

tats y in d end i bought at other shop(RM1750)
I have bought DSLR from both places before and I notice 1 thing. If you are just going to buy and walk out, just go to the place where you bought your stuff. But, if you are looking for service, I think Click & Snap has better option. They have way much better service to offer and also way much more products to offer.
samlee860407
post Apr 19 2010, 02:23 PM

4,631 posts

i till now bo song click and snap, and i will always say again....

when i still new, looking for DSLR, go there want test D90, the person langsung dont want let me test. say this is for pro user, cannot test, got shutter count. good job CNS, good and respect smile.gif
frenzy77
post Apr 19 2010, 07:11 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 19 2010, 02:23 PM)

when i still new, looking for DSLR, go there want test D90, the person langsung dont want let me test. say this is for pro user, cannot test, got shutter count. good job CNS, good and respect smile.gif
when u still new? so already pro now? laugh.gif
busyman
post Apr 19 2010, 07:15 PM

1,465 posts

QUOTE(iceggy @ Apr 19 2010, 01:34 PM)
I have bought DSLR from both places before and I notice 1 thing. If you are just going to buy and walk out, just go to the place where you bought your stuff. But, if you are looking for service, I think Click & Snap has better option. They have way much better service to offer and also way much more products to offer.
btw i dun think excel service not good, d worker there even try to teach us all d function..

service wise quite good... smile.gif
samlee860407
post Apr 19 2010, 07:57 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(frenzy77 @ Apr 19 2010, 07:11 PM)
when u still new? so already pro now?  laugh.gif
no now is noob + sohai

happy? smile.gif
naimaD
post Apr 19 2010, 08:07 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(frenzy77 @ Apr 18 2010, 09:43 PM)
how much is EF 70-200 F2.8L IS II? got stock?
earlier this month i went to hike, they got stock.. I don't really remember the price, should be around 8.6k, if i'm not mistaken...

Added on April 19, 2010, 8:08 pm
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Apr 19 2010, 02:23 PM)

everytime I go in to there, they give me a feeling: don't feel like wanna layan you.. blink.gif

This post has been edited by naimaD: Apr 19 2010, 08:08 PM
frenzy77
post Apr 20 2010, 06:53 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(naimaD @ Apr 19 2010, 08:07 PM)
earlier this month i went to hike, they got stock.. I don't really remember the price, should be around 8.6k, if i'm not mistaken...
check with few shop in penang, all no stock cry.gif but kl side call me and say stock arriving end of this month.. guess i'll have to wait rclxms.gif
naimaD
post Apr 20 2010, 07:22 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(frenzy77 @ Apr 20 2010, 06:53 PM)
check with few shop in penang, all no stock  cry.gif  but kl side call me and say stock arriving end of this month.. guess i'll have to wait  rclxms.gif
tried hike enterprise?
ivan5805
post Apr 20 2010, 07:34 PM

85 posts

going to buy tripod !! any shop with a lot of tripod stock in penang??
TSic3kacang
post Apr 21 2010, 05:45 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(ivan5805 @ Apr 20 2010, 07:34 PM)
going to buy tripod !! any shop with a lot of tripod stock in penang??
go around komtar area...lots of shops there..can survey 1 by 1..
go for manfrotto! =)
naimaD
post Apr 21 2010, 06:13 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Apr 21 2010, 05:45 PM)
go around komtar area...lots of shops there..can survey 1 by 1..
go for manfrotto! =)
hi icekacang, how much is ur manfrotto? does it comes with the ball head? smile.gif
quite frustrated with my victory tripod, the head keeps shifting after i have locked it.. doh.gif

ivan5805
post Apr 21 2010, 06:49 PM

85 posts

is it expensive for manfrotto brand ?? any recom model?? how bout benro??
munchys
post Apr 26 2010, 09:56 PM

hi guys, are those shops mention open on sundays? bcoz i hav no time to go on weekdays,, thanks smile.gif
FTANEY
post Apr 27 2010, 04:24 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(munchys @ Apr 26 2010, 09:56 PM)
hi guys, are those shops mention open on sundays? bcoz i hav no time to go on weekdays,, thanks smile.gif
Nope...those shops around Komtar area are closed on Sundays.

Anyone going to BriPex this weekend??
C.P.U
post Apr 27 2010, 04:42 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(FTANEY @ Apr 27 2010, 04:24 PM)
Nope...those shops around Komtar area are closed on Sundays.

Anyone going to BriPex this weekend??
I going this week.. biggrin.gif
swaichia
post Apr 28 2010, 11:43 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 18 2010, 04:14 PM)
^

smile.gif why want to sell fisheye now? don't shot video anymore?
samlee860407
post Apr 29 2010, 09:26 AM

4,631 posts

i goin bripex too after join join shutterasia group at pisa car park lol
keeseng12
post May 10 2010, 10:08 PM

346 posts

just my personal opinion for my dslr hunt today.

went to
Gurney Plaza - Nepmatic and Lam Loong - both shop very lansi

Prangin Mall - 1 shop at Ground Floor, name Foto Cam if not mistaken - so so. price not too high yet not too low.

Komtar Area - Click n Snap, MegaStar, Excel - among this 3 shop, only Megastar give me a good impression. I mean the salesperson really explain to me nicely even though i'm just walking in to ask for prices. told me some quick info about the DSLR that i'm looking for and so on. I'm not saying the other 2 are not good, just that they are like "Nah, this is the price" with the are-you-going-to-buy kinda look. But can't blame them too because i'm just walk in and ask for price, rather than stay there asking for more question or try on the camera.

Overall, i feel if anyone wanted to buy DSLR, those shops around Komtar area are definitely the one everyone should be going. Instead of those inside Gurney and so on.

just my 2 cents.

Added on May 10, 2010, 10:09 pmWhere's Photo Easycam by the way? I think the price should be the same with Click n Snap right? Since they're both father and son.

This post has been edited by keeseng12: May 10 2010, 10:09 PM
samlee860407
post May 10 2010, 10:26 PM

4,631 posts

yea, komtar area is the place to go in penang.

hike enterprise also nearby, u shud pay them a visit too, although i dint get anything expansive from them, but they does give me good impression smile.gif

photoeasycam is behind click and snap. on the same row of click and snap, there's a travel agency on the corner (near the stairs you walk up into komtar shopping area). photo easycam is just behind the travel agent.

although they are father and son company, but when i get my DSLR, both shop quoted me different price of EOS500D body only + 50mm f1.8 II. price different around rm50.
keeseng12
post May 10 2010, 10:41 PM

346 posts

thanks, samlee860407.

yeah, i saw Hike Enterprise but didn't walk into the shop though. Will try to walk in the next time i'm asking for price.
Megastar really gave me a very good impression even though i'm just a walk-in asking for price (which most of the people does anyway, biggrin.gif )

when you say they quote differently with RM50 difference, which shop was it? Click n Snap (Matthew) or Photoeasycam (his dad)?

Added on May 10, 2010, 11:31 pmit's okay samlee860407. i know which shop between Click n Snap and Photoeasycam that give u the cheaper price.
I went through the posts and saw ur comment on that.

This post has been edited by keeseng12: May 10 2010, 11:31 PM
Soukarin
post May 11 2010, 02:17 PM

48 posts

Well....finally I got my D90, which is my 1st DSLR from Excel Photo Trading on last Saturday... rclxm9.gif

I called to couple stores before I drove down to them and 3 stores quoting me the same price, which is RM3300 Kit Set.
they are Excel Photo, MegaStar and the other one forgot the name already....
Except...this specific store that is so famous here in forum....CnS!!
I can't believe that I talked to this person name Matthew and guess what......he quoted me "Around RM4k"....so I asked for best price again, and yes he confirmed again, it is about 4k.

At first, the 3 stores has no stock available at the moment i called. but then Mr. Ong from Excel called back in about half hour, saying he has reserved unit that can let go if i want it.

It's a Nikon D90 Kit Set, with 18-105 lens, 4GB Nikon Memory Card and a Nikon Bag.
I add in another 4GB and a Nikon UV Filter. Total is RM3550.

I would say Mr. Ong and the other guy in the store were helpful and friendly. After all, Happy with the purchase! icon_rolleyes.gif

keeseng12
post May 11 2010, 05:39 PM

346 posts

from the way you're saying, i mean you walked from Excel Photo then to Megastar, and I'm predicting the third shop that you went supposed to be Hike Enterprise just a couple of shops away from there. Wild guess.

4K? wow. speechless. you must be looking like a foreigner. biggrin.gif

Just joking though. biggrin.gif
samlee860407
post May 11 2010, 06:24 PM

4,631 posts

lol at CNS, seems they are treating newcomers bad eh....haiz.....
Soony
post May 11 2010, 06:33 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Soukarin @ May 11 2010, 02:17 PM)
Well....finally I got my D90, which is my 1st DSLR from Excel Photo Trading on last Saturday... rclxm9.gif

I called to couple stores before I drove down to them and 3 stores quoting me the same price, which is RM3300 Kit Set.
they are Excel Photo, MegaStar and the other one forgot the name already....
Except...this specific store that is so famous here in forum....CnS!!
I can't believe that I talked to this person name Matthew and guess what......he quoted me "Around RM4k"....so I asked for best price again, and yes he confirmed again, it is about 4k.

At first, the 3 stores has no stock available at the moment i called. but then Mr. Ong from Excel called back in about half hour, saying he has reserved unit that can let go if i want it.

It's a Nikon D90 Kit Set, with 18-105 lens, 4GB Nikon Memory Card and a Nikon Bag.
I add in another 4GB and a Nikon UV Filter. Total is RM3550.

I would say Mr. Ong and the other guy in the store were helpful and friendly. After all, Happy with the purchase!  icon_rolleyes.gif
I thought you say u got quoted RM 3300 for kit set? then u paid like an extra RM 250 for those 4 items =.=
I don't know but though CNS s attitude is not really that awesome, I find the prices for accessories are the most reasonable.
naimaD
post May 11 2010, 07:14 PM

78 posts

I went in to CNS 2 or 3 times, every time they will just simply layan.. Give me the price, then walked away.. I was like shakehead.gif

Since then I never bother to go there anymore.. Perhaps they offer better service for regular or old customer, I don't know..

Now I go to Hike, won't even bother to ask the price at other places too, it might differ a bit, but I like their service, and don't mind paying a lil more if it's a bit expensive. biggrin.gif Just got my 5DII set and 16-35L II there. Happy buying.
keeseng12
post May 11 2010, 08:19 PM

346 posts

does anyone know the availability of D90 among all those shops in Penang?

Planning to get 1.
dlsloong
post May 11 2010, 10:03 PM

QUOTE(naimaD @ May 11 2010, 08:14 PM)
I went in to CNS 2 or 3 times, every time they will just simply layan.. Give me the price, then walked away.. I was like  shakehead.gif

Since then I never bother to go there anymore.. Perhaps they offer better service for regular or old customer, I don't know..

Now I go to Hike, won't even bother to ask the price at other places too, it might differ a bit, but I like their service, and don't mind paying a lil more if it's a bit expensive.  biggrin.gif  Just got my 5DII set and 16-35L II there. Happy buying.
I felt the same way too. I wanted to get a D90 kit set from them since many forumers recommended c&s but seems like they are much more friendlier to the regular ones sad.gif

Mind if I ask where is Hike? Is it the same row as c&s? Maybe I'll visit there and get it from them. Btw, I'm new to the world of dslr.
naimaD
post May 11 2010, 10:08 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(dlsloong @ May 11 2010, 10:03 PM)
I felt the same way too. I wanted to get a D90 kit set from them since many forumers recommended c&s but seems like they are much more friendlier to the regular ones  sad.gif

Mind if I ask where is Hike? Is it the same row as c&s? Maybe I'll visit there and get it from them. Btw, I'm new to the world of dslr.
Hike is the same row as megastar and excel. Hike is almost at the end of the road, near the pedestrian bridge. smile.gif

Added on May 11, 2010, 10:13 pm
QUOTE(keeseng12 @ May 11 2010, 08:19 PM)
does anyone know the availability of D90 among all those shops in Penang?

Planning to get 1.
Call the shops and check, easiest way. Many D90 selling out lately. smile.gif

This post has been edited by naimaD: May 11 2010, 10:13 PM
samlee860407
post May 11 2010, 11:29 PM

4,631 posts

hike is almost at the end of the road, the last shop near the big pedestrian bridge that connect you to the opposite road where you can find the penang road cendol there

it's after kek seng coffee shop (go there eat durian ice cream pls)

oh btw, the last time i visit Hike (1month ago), they tell me that they gona open another shop at the end of the row (corner lot), but last week when i pass by, the new shop seems havent open yet, but the sign board already up
C.P.U
post May 12 2010, 12:51 AM

2,280 posts

012 4825688 - Leong from Hike.. U can call him first before go.. easier for you.. or not mstaken their shop no. is 04 229 3710 or 04 - 228 3710

by the way, the both phone no from Hike however different location.. like samlee860407 say, it different shoplot no.. the best call the boss phone no. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by C.P.U: May 12 2010, 12:53 AM
Soukarin
post May 12 2010, 01:10 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ May 11 2010, 06:33 PM)
I thought you say u got quoted RM 3300 for kit set? then u paid like an extra RM 250 for those 4 items =.=
I don't know but though CNS s attitude is not really that awesome, I find the prices for accessories are the most reasonable.
Yes, the kit set is RM3300. I paid by credit card, they charge 2%...i assumed this apply to all other shops too??
I bought the Nikon UV Filter for RM135 and the Nikon 4GB Memory Card for RM55.
keeseng12
post May 12 2010, 07:11 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 11 2010, 11:29 PM)
hike is  almost at the end of the road, the last shop near the big pedestrian bridge that connect you to the opposite road where you can find the penang road cendol there

it's after kek seng coffee shop (go there eat durian ice cream pls)

oh btw, the last time i visit Hike (1month ago), they tell me that they gona open another shop at the end of the row (corner lot), but last week when i pass by, the new shop seems havent open yet, but the sign board already up
the shop is up now. Just went there roughly 2 days ago.
there's 2 Hike shop. One at near the end of the road (i mean very near to the pedestrian overhead bridge).
Too bad i didn't walk into the shop that day. Probably went to too much shops and decided to just walk away when I saw Hike as the last shop. sad.gif
Should have walked into it and ask for the price.
wk1168
post May 12 2010, 08:30 AM

myLensDB.com
778 posts

wooot.. they open two shops at the same row dy kaa... waa im outdated.. should pay a visit to them soon heheh
dlsloong
post May 12 2010, 09:25 PM

Business must be good until can open 2 shops at same area. What time do they usually close on weekdays? If I can make it then I'll just drop by after work.
samlee860407
post May 12 2010, 10:50 PM

4,631 posts

ooo open liao, good. hike give me good impression, next stuff shud get from them d , instead of that CNS which i will never get anything from them again in the future (went in the 2nd time just to see the think tank UD60, but in the end get from YL, pudu, whahaha)

btw, to dlsloong, if you go at 6 to 7 still open la, if after that i think close d
Xtrivia
post May 13 2010, 01:50 AM

Personal experience while shopping for a DSLR (and ended up with a GF1):

- Click N Snap: Matthew was nice to us on our first trip but after that so so to the point of being cold. Didn't bother going there again.
- Hike (I think, last shop towards pedestrian bridge): Nice service; was specifically asking for a GF1 pancake kit which they didn't have but ended up having a friendly chat.
- Excel: Nice shop. Ong is a very nice guy, awesome to be honest. Ordered a GF1 through him which he called me upon arrival and there was no pressure from him to purchase it. Very good pricing.
- Lam Loong: Normal typical shop. Nothing bad nothing good. Managed to play around with a G1 and E-P1 for 30 minutes which they allowed me to.
- Nepmatic: Won't recommend. Cocky, uninterested sellers and bad service. My phone call was cut short because they were busy - which I found very rude. Never bothered going there again.
- LG photo shop in Gurney: Normal shop.
- Olympus shop in LG Queensbay: Won't recommend. First seller that I came across that asked me back when I asked for best price, "Are you buying now?" Obviously I said no cause I am looking for the best price, and he said, "When you want to buy, then I will give you the best price" which I found very odd and rude. Never bothered going there again.
- Kodak shop near Old Town in Queensbay: Normal shop.
- Camera shop on 2nd floor in Queensbay near Baskins: Nice shop, friendly sales people, esp the guy.
- Harvey Norman in Queensbay: Very friendly nice seller, the guy with specs - best of the lot I think.

My personal opinion for 1st time buyers or even regular buyers, I would recommend Excel (Ong), Harvey Norman and the camera shop on 2nd floor Queensbay. I think Hike would be nice too based on comments here but never been there twice so I couldn't comment further.

I wouldn't recommend Nepmatic, Olympus LG shop in Queensbay and Click N Snap (your experience with Click N Snap may differ).

Justin.
samlee860407
post May 13 2010, 07:25 AM

4,631 posts

the camera shop in queensbay near baskins, er...the attitude so so only, and when i ask for grey card, nobody in the shop knows what is it....well.

lam loong at gurney ok la, i get a vitacon conversion lens from them, service just normal, but their price sticker on the box cannot believe one.
ivan5805
post May 13 2010, 11:21 AM

85 posts

photoeasycam ok mahhh u been there??
samlee860407
post May 13 2010, 12:29 PM

4,631 posts

photoeasycam hidden from the main road, so easily miss biggrin.gif
naimaD
post May 13 2010, 01:09 PM

78 posts

FYI, HIke's second shop at the corner is mainly selling studio equipment smile.gif
samlee860407
post May 13 2010, 02:07 PM

4,631 posts

last time i go there, they tell me that new shop mainly sell canon stuff pulak @@

maybe coz i bringing canon go in @@
Pemerhati
post May 13 2010, 07:00 PM

Hi everybody icon_rolleyes.gif

i plan to buy bagpack....

which shop have many choice n gud price arr?? thumbup.gif
busyman
post May 13 2010, 07:13 PM

1,465 posts

wan to ask d price for canon 50mm f1.8

now wat is d price in penang? which shop?

n warranty is 1+2 or only 1 year???
dlsloong
post May 13 2010, 09:02 PM

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 12 2010, 11:50 PM)
ooo open liao, good. hike give me good impression, next stuff shud get from  them d , instead of that CNS which i will never get anything from them again in the future (went in the 2nd time just to see the think tank UD60, but in the end get from YL, pudu, whahaha)

btw, to dlsloong, if you go at 6 to 7 still open la, if after that i think close d
huhuhu ... i hope my boss allows me to go back early. Recently so many things to do in office sweat.gif

zees
post May 16 2010, 09:48 AM

64 posts

Does anyone know where can i get Godspeed camera bag in penang or any local online shop? smile.gif
pmmonkey
post May 26 2010, 08:46 PM

485 posts

Got a new lens from Foto President in QB mall (the one near BR) recently. Service was quite okay.
Price is good for the 18-270 I've got.
Credit card no charges.

Too bad they don't carry high end filters.
busyman
post May 27 2010, 05:56 PM

1,465 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 26 2010, 08:46 PM)
Got a new lens from Foto President in QB mall (the one near BR) recently. Service was quite okay.
Price is good for the 18-270 I've got.
Credit card no charges.

Too bad they don't carry high end filters.
i been work at there before~ as a canon promoter~~

haha

the crew there r quite good~espectially d girl tat look abit short with glass de..

n d boss also not bad~~

btw wat is d price? smile.gif
C.P.U
post Jun 2 2010, 11:07 AM

2,280 posts

Just get 35mm 1.8 and pro - tama ultra slim multicoat uv filter from Excel.. =P Both together RM800..

Very reasonable price after discount
Lens RM760
Filter = RM48

but I bring RM800 only.. Lady boss give RM800... Very good service from them.. =) Cheap and good service from lady boss!!
d_lai_309
post Jun 3 2010, 01:10 PM

376 posts

can any bor help me ask which shop in Penang has Canon 35mm L in stock and what will be the price. going over to Penang this wkend and wish some bro there can help out to check the price so that i can directly going to the shop...
Runze
post Jun 4 2010, 06:55 PM

44 posts

anyone here knows where can i get canon 400d old stock in penang??thanks in advance!!
boonhooi
post Jun 4 2010, 08:26 PM

23 posts

anyone know where (penang side but no EXCEL) i can get lowepro inverse aw100/aw200?
aminpenang1
post Jun 5 2010, 01:23 PM

63 posts

hurm....i wanted to trade my D5000 body and buy D90 body or 40D....which shop is the cheapest and provide good service??
Soony
post Jun 5 2010, 02:33 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(aminpenang1 @ Jun 5 2010, 01:23 PM)
hurm....i wanted to trade my D5000 body and buy D90 body or 40D....which shop is the cheapest and provide good service??
U can try photoeasycam ,they do accept trade in but its better for u to sell off ur D5000 body in lowyat or other forums.
blynn123
post Jun 5 2010, 07:03 PM

221 posts

sunway is having a camera fair .

quoted 550D body and lens with 4GB memory , a camera bag and a tripod for 3.1k . is that okay ?
or should i scout other shops ?
Soony
post Jun 5 2010, 07:56 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(blynn123 @ Jun 5 2010, 07:03 PM)
sunway is having a camera fair .

quoted 550D body and lens with 4GB memory , a camera bag and a tripod for 3.1k . is that okay ?
or should i scout other shops ?
Thats a little bit pricey.. you can check out the canon thread.. I think I saw its around RM 2.5k for 550D body with 4GB memory card..
blynn123
post Jun 5 2010, 08:06 PM

221 posts

really ? where can i get that kind of pricing ?
Soony
post Jun 5 2010, 09:49 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(blynn123 @ Jun 5 2010, 08:06 PM)
really ? where can i get that kind of pricing ?
Anywhere along the roads in penang road.. U can go survey a few there first.. I can rest assure that the prices there are the cheapest you can find in Penang =D

Just don't get fooled by the word "Fair" , people tend to think its cheap cos its a "Fair" ... one way or another, u made a wise decision by asking around before settling down with the purchase.
GoodMorning
post Jun 6 2010, 07:28 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(Runze @ Jun 4 2010, 06:55 PM)
anyone here knows where can i get canon 400d old stock in penang??thanks in advance!!
Can try pixus ( Gurney ). Last time fair i see they still selling @ <1000. you can try ur luck there

Added on June 6, 2010, 7:30 am
QUOTE(Soony @ Jun 5 2010, 09:49 PM)
Anywhere along the roads in penang road.. U can go survey a few there first.. I can rest assure that the prices there are the cheapest you can find in Penang =D

Just don't get fooled by the word "Fair" , people tend to think its cheap cos its a "Fair" ... one way or another, u made a wise decision by asking around before settling down with the purchase.
Yes, please survey there ( you can read through this thread. got some gud recomendation.) Sometimes fair also quite worth if you already done the survey. As there will give you better and more freebies.

This post has been edited by GoodMorning: Jun 6 2010, 07:30 AM
Soony
post Jun 6 2010, 09:42 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(GoodMorning @ Jun 6 2010, 07:28 AM)
Can try pixus ( Gurney ). Last time fair i see they still selling @ <1000. you can try ur luck there

Added on June 6, 2010, 7:30 am
Yes, please survey there ( you can read through this thread. got some gud recomendation.) Sometimes fair also quite worth if you already done the survey. As there will give you better and more freebies.
True, only the minority fairs will give you quite nice of the price.. and remember.. don't only do research on the body and lens... do some research on the accessories as well.. since that's the place where they'll make profit on =D
maxi786
post Jun 7 2010, 01:24 AM

The lowest price for Canon EOS Rebel T1i that I could find so far is here:
http://www.upiq.com/api.php?pid=84124229

busyman
post Jun 7 2010, 09:21 AM

1,465 posts

wanna ask d price for canon 50mm f1.8 markII, which shop cheaper n do provide 1+2 years warraty de ar??

excel? or C&S ??
noob4life
post Jun 7 2010, 12:41 PM

162 posts

Guys, im looking for shops that offer trade-in/buy old cameras. Are there any shops that do that ?
I went to CnS and it seems they can help me sell my 2nd-hand camera at their shop. Anyone has experience doing this ? Is it ok ? Are they really helping us to promote our cameras for sale ?

ralf
post Jun 7 2010, 05:42 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

just came back from Click n Snap, bought the Tamron 17-50 f2.8 VC from them, it is local warranty set.

SB900 is rm1.6k...didn't bring enough cash, credit card they need to charge additional 2%, maybe next week pay them a visit again.
busyman
post Jun 7 2010, 08:35 PM

1,465 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jun 7 2010, 05:42 PM)
just came back from Click n Snap, bought the Tamron 17-50 f2.8 VC from them, it is local warranty set.

SB900 is rm1.6k...didn't bring enough cash, credit card they need to charge additional 2%, maybe next week pay them a visit again.
how much for d 17-50 vc ?
ralf
post Jun 7 2010, 11:04 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Jun 7 2010, 08:35 PM)
how much for d 17-50 vc ?
rm1750..additional rm60 for toko uv filter.

Heard many good review about Tammy 17-50...but i am not impressed with it sad.gif
nana_dya
post Jun 9 2010, 02:36 PM

can i know price 4 nikon dslr d3000 rite now??
very interested..huhu...n which shop can give me in lower price..smile.gif
KTCY
post Jun 9 2010, 03:56 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jun 7 2010, 11:04 PM)
rm1750..additional rm60 for toko uv filter.

Heard many good review about Tammy 17-50...but i am not impressed with it  sad.gif
I never impress with their lens except the 1st version tongue.gif
And i'm a pixel peeper dude. So, you know tongue.gif
ralf
post Jun 9 2010, 06:33 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jun 9 2010, 03:56 PM)
What i like is it bundled with vibration compensation and affordable price tag.

Sigma 18-50 F2.8 is an underrated lens too with similar price range.
KTCY
post Jun 10 2010, 11:00 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Sigma 18-50 color rendition much better, IMO
ralf
post Jun 10 2010, 08:43 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jun 9 2010, 03:56 PM)
pixel peeper kaki..your standard must be high then tongue.gif nod.gif notworthy.gif

busyman
post Jun 10 2010, 11:46 PM

1,465 posts

i wan to buy a canon 50mm f1.8

which shop is cheaper n which service is better??

C&S ? excel ? or any other shop?
ralf
post Jun 11 2010, 09:32 AM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Jun 10 2010, 11:46 PM)
i wan to buy a canon 50mm f1.8

which shop is cheaper n which service is better??

C&S ?  excel ? or any other shop?
MegaStar smile.gif
dantwt
post Jun 11 2010, 10:28 AM

OverD
1,308 posts

Recently Megastar kena alot of fire from rumors saying they sell grey sets.. LOL.

For me, Megastar for price. Hike Ent for service. Excel and CnS = so so only...
samlee860407
post Jun 11 2010, 11:06 AM

4,631 posts

hike service really thumbs up biggrin.gif
Zenax
post Jun 11 2010, 11:27 AM

64 posts

anyone know where can repair camera in penang? >.<
busyman
post Jun 11 2010, 06:15 PM

1,465 posts

any1 will go to hike or excel recently??

can help me d best price for canon 50mm f1.8??

gonna to buy it but duno which shop provide d cheapest price~~

Added on June 11, 2010, 6:39 pmjust phone to c&S to ask d price for canon 50mmf1.8

then d ppl tell me 350~swt
he say walkin just got discount..

i'm thinking, other place is seller around 290-300.
will he discount till RM50 for me if i walk in?

swt~weird~

This post has been edited by busyman: Jun 11 2010, 06:39 PM
XTREME
post Jun 11 2010, 06:47 PM

4,599 posts

sigma 18-50 ex dc macro's bokeh rendition is much much much better than of tamron 17-50...

& beware, sigma is coming out with stabilized 17-50mm model with HSM motor!
http://www.sigmaphoto.com/shop/17-50mm-f28...dc-os-hsm-sigma
ralf
post Jun 11 2010, 08:17 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Jun 11 2010, 06:15 PM)
any1 will go to hike or excel recently??

can help me d best price for canon 50mm f1.8??

gonna to buy it but duno which shop provide d cheapest price~~

Added on June 11, 2010, 6:39 pmjust phone to c&S to ask d price for canon 50mmf1.8

then d ppl tell me 350~swt
he say walkin just got discount..

i'm thinking, other place is seller around 290-300.
will he discount till RM50 for me if i walk in?

swt~weird~
Moral of the story-> ask you walk into/visit the shop laa..LoL laugh.gif

Added on June 11, 2010, 8:19 pm
QUOTE(XTREME @ Jun 11 2010, 06:47 PM)
sigma 18-50 ex dc macro's bokeh rendition is much much much better than of tamron 17-50...

Ya lor.

This post has been edited by ralf: Jun 11 2010, 08:19 PM
dantwt
post Jun 11 2010, 09:11 PM

OverD
1,308 posts

QUOTE(XTREME @ Jun 11 2010, 06:47 PM)

Price sure sweat.gif rclxub.gif

But i still like sigma colours and built quality better (if compare 3rd party of coz).
ralf
post Jun 11 2010, 10:00 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(dantwt @ Jun 11 2010, 09:11 PM)
Price sure sweat.gif  rclxub.gif

But i still like sigma colours and built quality better (if compare 3rd party of coz).
How much does the Sigma 17-50 cost??

XTREME
post Jun 12 2010, 12:25 AM

4,599 posts

I googled a bit it seems the retail is gonna be RM2K, a notch up on tamron's counterpart, which is expected since it has HamSapMole drool.gif

This post has been edited by XTREME: Jun 12 2010, 12:26 AM
xyber9
post Jun 12 2010, 12:39 AM

605 posts

Which shop in Penang gives the best price for Fuji HS10 Super Zoom Camera?
ralf
post Jun 12 2010, 12:20 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(XTREME @ Jun 12 2010, 12:25 AM)
I googled a bit it seems the retail is gonna be RM2K, a notch up on tamron's counterpart, which is expected since it has HamSapMole drool.gif
HamSapMode biggrin.gif i like it..

My previous 24-70 Siggy first release is so soft at wide open...but the colour output is warm..suit my liking.
busyman
post Jun 14 2010, 06:22 PM

1,465 posts

wanna ask..

if i now buy a 50mm f1.8 from excel or hike .

d warranty is 1+2 years??
aminpenang1
post Jun 14 2010, 08:28 PM

63 posts

haiz.....why d90 no stock de....maybe this week got ^ ^"
ralf
post Jun 16 2010, 02:30 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

QUOTE(aminpenang1 @ Jun 14 2010, 08:28 PM)
haiz.....why d90 no stock de....maybe this week got ^ ^"
Where have you been to, no stock?
janszmatt
post Jun 16 2010, 08:55 PM

363 posts

ive been looking around penang for a Joby Gorillapod Original. But most of the stores have the imitation mini version.

But there's one store that sells the Joby Gorillapod SLR (around RM170) cheaper than the imitation one (RM200+) -.-
Issit me or stores in penang arent into selling Gorillapod??

Anyone could tell me where can i get the Ori Gorillapod?
aminpenang1
post Jun 16 2010, 09:44 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(ralf @ Jun 16 2010, 03:30 PM)
Where have you been to, no stock?
Hike and Megastar

samlee860407
post Jun 16 2010, 09:55 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(janszmatt @ Jun 16 2010, 08:55 PM)
ive been looking around penang for a Joby Gorillapod Original. But most of the stores have the imitation mini version.

But there's one store that sells the Joby Gorillapod SLR (around RM170) cheaper than the imitation one (RM200+) -.-
Issit me or stores in penang arent into selling Gorillapod??

Anyone could tell me where can i get the Ori Gorillapod?
where u go and find? photoeasycam got sell original one

and i rmb another shop also got sell, forget the name liao, but its either hike/megastar nia
ivan5805
post Jun 23 2010, 02:41 PM

85 posts

just bought sun-dry 48 liter from excel!!! nice service u have there uncle!!! HEHE
evilhomura89
post Sep 11 2010, 11:56 PM

5,886 posts

what's the latest update on which is the most recommended shop in penang road??
blacktubi
post Sep 12 2010, 05:30 PM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Sep 11 2010, 11:56 PM)
what's the latest update on which is the most recommended shop in penang road??
I going to penang buy camera tomorrow... this thread long time no update.... I will go Jln Penang megastar, HIKE, CnS, excel as recommended from other member

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Sep 12 2010, 05:30 PM
lov3u99
post Sep 12 2010, 09:38 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 12 2010, 05:30 PM)
I going to penang buy camera tomorrow...  this thread long time no update.... I will go Jln Penang megastar, HIKE, CnS, excel as recommended from other member
which camera u buying? coz i m gonna buy camera end of this month also..hope tat u can share your exp after tmr..^^ rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
blacktubi
post Sep 12 2010, 10:11 PM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(lov3u99 @ Sep 12 2010, 09:38 PM)
which camera u buying? coz i m gonna buy camera end of this month also..hope tat u can share your exp after tmr..^^ rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I am looking for 550D 18-55 kit, but scare poisoned by the staff and came back with a 50D... lol
I go to Penang by ferry than take Rapid to komtar then start walking at Penang road looking for camera shop
Andreweird
post Sep 12 2010, 10:17 PM

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 12 2010, 10:11 PM)
I am looking for 550D 18-55 kit, but scare poisoned by the staff and came back with a 50D... lol
I go to Penang by ferry than take Rapid to komtar then start walking at Penang road looking for camera shop
Im looking for 550d 18-55mm kit too!! Mind to share what's the pricing, free gifts or service they provide? and which shop too? Thanks! smile.gif
busyman
post Sep 12 2010, 10:19 PM

1,465 posts

y not 550d + 18-135?
straight get a walkabout lens mar~
haha
blacktubi
post Sep 12 2010, 10:30 PM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(Andreweird @ Sep 12 2010, 10:17 PM)
Im looking for 550d 18-55mm kit too!! Mind to share what's the pricing, free gifts or service they provide? and which shop too? Thanks! smile.gif
I have'nt go, I will go to the shop on Jln Penang as recommended as senior...
I heard megastar pricing quite nice

Added on September 12, 2010, 10:30 pm
QUOTE(busyman @ Sep 12 2010, 10:19 PM)
y not 550d + 18-135?
haha
If that time pocket enough money sure take brows.gif

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Sep 12 2010, 10:30 PM
evilhomura89
post Sep 12 2010, 10:51 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 12 2010, 10:30 PM)

Added on September 12, 2010, 10:30 pm
If that time pocket enough money sure take  brows.gif
go check out ezcam or easycam or stg like that to see how it is
it was recommended by my friend
Andreweird
post Sep 12 2010, 10:54 PM

QUOTE(busyman @ Sep 12 2010, 10:19 PM)
y not 550d + 18-135?
haha
Haiyo.. not enough $$ ma.. haha..

Added on September 12, 2010, 10:56 pm[quote=blacktubi,Sep 12 2010, 10:30 PM]

Do share the price when you got it ya! Thanks!

This post has been edited by Andreweird: Sep 12 2010, 10:56 PM
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2010, 05:56 PM

-
8,421 posts

Hi all, just came back from Megastar, spend 1hours on transport, 1hour for survery and lunch and 2 hour from a guy in Megastar named Alex teaching and negotiating price smile.gif
Get my 550D 18-55 Kit for RM2710, I still felt that it is expensive, they said body only 2145.......... mad.gif
Luckily din kena poison and came back with 18-135, now my pocket kong dy, must start puasa one month save back pocket money

Andreweird
post Sep 13 2010, 07:02 PM

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 13 2010, 05:56 PM)
Hi all, just came back from Megastar, spend 1hours on transport, 1hour for survery and lunch and 2 hour from a guy in Megastar named Alex teaching and negotiating price smile.gif 
Get my 550D 18-55 Kit for RM2710, I still felt that it is expensive, they said body only 2145.......... mad.gif
Luckily din kena poison and came back with 18-135, now my pocket kong dy, must start puasa one month save back pocket money
Oh, Congratz on your new DSLR!! What are those freebies you got? CnS quoted me RM2700 with 4G card + bag.

Ooo..body only RM2145?? Then i might consider of getting the body and lens separately. Perharps get a 2nd hand kit lens which might just cost around RM300.

RM2145 (body) + RM350(kit) = RM2495SAVE RM205! LOL...

Of course that is just an estimation la..

Btw, mind to share why u ended up buying in Megastar?

This post has been edited by Andreweird: Sep 13 2010, 07:03 PM
lov3u99
post Sep 13 2010, 07:35 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 13 2010, 05:56 PM)
QUOTE(Andreweird @ Sep 13 2010, 07:02 PM)
Oh, Congratz on your new DSLR!! What are those freebies you got? CnS quoted me RM2700 with 4G card + bag.

Ooo..body only RM2145?? Then i might consider of getting the body and lens separately. Perharps get a 2nd hand kit lens which might just cost around RM300.

Rm2710? any freebies? i thought the price should be around Rm2699 only (with freebies)?
body if selling at RM2145 thn surely no freebies..btw, mind to share where u get tat offer for Rm2145?
i saw the cheapest price is Rm2230 only in lowyat as well ( forgotten the link )...

Andreweird
post Sep 13 2010, 08:21 PM

One of the forumer told me that his friend bought at the price of RM2500 ONLY! In Elite Professional, around Penang Road too.. I'm quite sceptical about the price tho.. If it is true with the 2+1 Warranty, Im so gonna get it there!
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2010, 08:47 PM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(Andreweird @ Sep 13 2010, 07:02 PM)

Because the damm weather is so hot, plus I go penang by bus, ferry traffic jam, 2710 with freebies, sdhc, UV, screen protector, bag...
I am thinking for buying individually too but as the staff said, the gila gila promo must buy with a kit lensofficial news from Canon too, canon only post a normal ads... Only the body doing promo. as told by the staff, 1000D, 500D doing kit promo too, 1000D price is very cheap which is RM600 nett,...

QUOTE(Andreweird @ Sep 13 2010, 08:21 PM)
One of the forumer told me that his friend bought at the price of RM2500 ONLY! In Elite Professional, around Penang Road too.. I'm quite sceptical about the price tho.. If it is true with the 2+1 Warranty, Im so gonna get it there!
OMG, why din post earlier.... then I can save another 200 for other things....
lov3u99
post Sep 13 2010, 08:48 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(Andreweird @ Sep 13 2010, 08:21 PM)
i think Rm2500 is too impossible for 550d with kit lens... perhaps it is juz body only...
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2010, 08:58 PM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(lov3u99 @ Sep 13 2010, 08:48 PM)
i think Rm2500 is too impossible for 550d with kit lens... perhaps it is juz body only...
But 2500 body is ridiculous too, let just wait he to confirm or someone go there
KTCY
post Sep 13 2010, 09:09 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

550D with kit around 2.6-2.7k la.
You can ask at Excel Photo too.
lov3u99
post Sep 13 2010, 09:37 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 13 2010, 08:58 PM)
But 2500 body is ridiculous too, let just wait he to confirm or someone go there
y not? 550d body before canon gila gila sale also almost 2.4-2.5 wad... hmm.gif hmm.gif
but if it is 2.5k wif kit lens thn it should be the cheapest in penang d...
Andreweird
post Sep 13 2010, 10:15 PM

QUOTE(lov3u99 @ Sep 13 2010, 09:37 PM)
y not? 550d body before canon gila gila sale also almost 2.4-2.5 wad... hmm.gif  hmm.gif
but if it is 2.5k wif kit lens thn it should be the cheapest in penang d...
I'm now in KL, so couldnt check out the price myself even though i would like to find out about it nw.. sad.gif

I just got to know about it. I doubt too and i think he meant the body.

Anybody could help to affirm the truth?? RM2500 550d kit in Elite Professional???! shocking.gif rclxub.gif

If i do not want the bag, will they discount the price for me ar? and how much would they discount? hmm.gif

lov3u99
post Sep 13 2010, 10:26 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(Andreweird @ Sep 13 2010, 10:15 PM)
I'm now in KL, so couldnt check out the price myself even though i would like to find out about it nw..  sad.gif

Anybody could help to affirm the truth?? RM2500 550d kit in Elite Professional???!  shocking.gif  rclxub.gif

If i do not want the bag, will they discount the price for me ar? and how much would they discount?  hmm.gif
search in google and call go ^^
blacktubi
post Sep 13 2010, 10:29 PM

-
8,421 posts

QUOTE(Andreweird @ Sep 13 2010, 10:15 PM)
I'm now in KL, so couldnt check out the price myself even though i would like to find out about it nw..  sad.gif

Anybody could help to affirm the truth?? RM2500 550d kit in Elite Professional???!  shocking.gif  rclxub.gif

If i do not want the bag, will they discount the price for me ar? and how much would they discount?  hmm.gif
Awaiting confirmation from some senior member too, if cheap, my friend want to buy too
lov3u99
post Sep 13 2010, 10:54 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 13 2010, 10:29 PM)
Awaiting confirmation from some senior member too, if cheap, my friend want to buy too
plz update here if gt any cheaper price of 550d yea...^^
Andreweird
post Sep 13 2010, 11:10 PM

Me Too!! Im intoxicated d.. Just waiting for the right budget and my pocket to fill up 1st.. $$ Lol..
evilhomura89
post Nov 25 2010, 07:18 PM

5,886 posts

anyone going to gurney plaza for the camera planet photography fair starting tml??
http://www.facebook.com/cameraplanet#!/cameraplanet
i wonder is it really an authentic sale or an opportunity to get slaughtered?

DerangedPreacher
post Dec 18 2010, 05:23 AM

Does anybody know what is the cheapest price i can get for the canon 60d +18-135mm in any of the stores around kkomtar area?
lov3u99
post Dec 19 2010, 03:30 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(DerangedPreacher @ Dec 18 2010, 05:23 AM)
Does anybody know what is the cheapest price i can get for the canon 60d +18-135mm in any of the stores around kkomtar area?
not really sure around 18-135mm...if body Rm2.9k+ only.. hmm.gif hmm.gif .
juz go there and survey yourself...nego with the salesman there..until u satisfy...i did it few months ago too tongue.gif tongue.gif
micdy
post Dec 19 2010, 07:40 AM

406 posts

Does anyone know which shop in Penang still have stock for the new Nikon D7000? Also what is the price for it and wat does it bundle with? Please and thank you~!
lov3u99
post Dec 19 2010, 11:43 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(micdy @ Dec 19 2010, 07:40 AM)
Does anyone know which shop in Penang still have stock for the new Nikon D7000? Also what is the price for it and wat does it bundle with? Please and thank you~!
Try to go and have a walk at penang road there...plenty of shops there..i m sure u can find it... brows.gif brows.gif
elainor
post Dec 19 2010, 11:44 AM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

Got mine from foto president gurney plaza for rm5000 include 16gb class 10, nikon bag. 67mm b+w xs pro and a tripod =)

This post has been edited by elainor: Dec 19 2010, 11:45 AM
micdy
post Dec 19 2010, 02:15 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Dec 19 2010, 11:44 AM)
Got mine from foto president gurney plaza for rm5000 include 16gb class 10, nikon bag. 67mm b+w xs pro and a tripod =)
May I know when did you get it? Also where is this shop located at and how are the stock level?

This post has been edited by micdy: Dec 19 2010, 02:16 PM
ivan5805
post Dec 19 2010, 05:47 PM

85 posts

try at penang road !!! excel , hike , photo easycam or click and snap should can get cheaper
weishing
post Dec 19 2010, 07:44 PM

27 posts

how much is the canon 50d body only and the lens 15-85??
la_Feng
post Dec 21 2010, 03:36 PM

170 posts

penang d3100 no stock ?
Vryon
post Dec 21 2010, 04:14 PM

<Clackmeister>
935 posts

Im from Penang. Im looking for Sling bag/Backpacks for my DSLR. Which shop can recommended ? My budget about RM200 cap. doh.gif
KTCY
post Dec 21 2010, 04:35 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(la_Feng @ Dec 21 2010, 03:36 PM)
penang d3100 no stock ?
I think got. Try search around Penang road.
la_Feng
post Dec 21 2010, 04:53 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Dec 21 2010, 04:35 PM)
I think got. Try search around Penang road.
bro, kindly let me know if you happen to know any of it.
i call a few shop, CnS, mega star.. they say around 2 weeks. but thats what i heard from other shop last week, also said 2 weeks smile.gif

wanna get it for my trip to sarawak in Jan
yuk4ming
post Dec 21 2010, 08:26 PM

asking here
im going to buy a canon s95 in tis promo

can i noe wat is da best price for it?
seems the normal wil sell abt Rm1399

and i manage to get from hike is RM1280...
juz in case is overpriced....
evilhomura89
post Dec 21 2010, 10:29 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Dec 19 2010, 11:44 AM)
places like foto president, lam loong are slightly overpriced compared to those in penang road
Soony
post Dec 21 2010, 10:56 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Dec 21 2010, 10:29 PM)
places like foto president, lam loong are slightly overpriced compared to those in penang road
Hard to say , sometimes the prices they offer are way more reasonable than in penang road , just beware of the accessories thats all.
KTCY
post Dec 22 2010, 07:02 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

I rather walk around Penang road seriously tongue.gif
yuk4ming
post Dec 24 2010, 12:00 PM

i get a better price offer at megastar but no stock...
excel no stock and they seems busy...
cns a little bit pricey and the sales not friendly
i think im gona get it from hike...and nw waiting their call...

playezhulk
post Dec 27 2010, 02:42 PM

58 posts

aite.. wanna ask sum who taiko here, its hike enterprise, o.k for deal a new DSLR , lens and other acc???
lhooipg
post Jan 10 2011, 10:38 AM

New Android User
1,403 posts

Hi Guys,

I'm planning to get Nikon D7000 (with 18-200mm lens), any recommended shop with best price and accessories include?

Thank you.

This post has been edited by lhooipg: Jan 10 2011, 10:41 AM
SUSgogo2
post Jan 10 2011, 10:44 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

last time I always buy from Hike Enterprise...

but recently I buy from Click and Snap. Seriously, their price really cheaper
by a lot.. omai
lhooipg
post Jan 10 2011, 11:14 AM

New Android User
1,403 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 10 2011, 10:44 AM)
last time I always buy from Hike Enterprise...

but recently I buy from Click and Snap. Seriously, their price really cheaper
by a lot.. omai
Any idea how cheaper their price is? Let's said 10%, 20% or 30% cheaper than other...thanks
SUSgogo2
post Jan 10 2011, 11:16 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(lhooipg @ Jan 10 2011, 11:14 AM)
Any idea how cheaper their price is? Let's said 10%, 20% or 30% cheaper than other...thanks
Hike Enterprise selling RM2230 lens. But I can get it for RM2150 in Click and Snap.

Warranty same also coz the lens frm distributor. Not water set.
KTCY
post Jan 10 2011, 11:18 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

^
What lens you're referring to ? smile.gif
lhooipg
post Jan 10 2011, 11:21 AM

New Android User
1,403 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 10 2011, 11:16 AM)
Hike Enterprise selling RM2230 lens. But I can get it for RM2150 in Click and Snap.

Warranty same also coz the lens frm distributor. Not water set.
Oh is about 4% cheaper...ok thanks alot...will try to scout around and see
SUSgogo2
post Jan 10 2011, 11:22 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 10 2011, 11:18 AM)
^
What lens you're referring to ? smile.gif
tokina 11-16mm... smile.gif
joejoeboyz
post Jan 21 2011, 07:08 PM

anyone know wat the price for nissin 866 around penang road now?

Thx for the help!
naimaD
post Jan 21 2011, 07:20 PM

78 posts

I personally like Hike, though like some said the price of certain thing might be slightly higher than CnS. I went in to CnS a couple of times and the staff was not friendly at all and don't feel like serving me. I'd rather pay a lil' more at hike for their better service biggrin.gif
kurt_penang
post Jan 23 2011, 10:15 AM

HIKE Enterprise and ELITE Profesional smile.gif
reign226
post Jan 23 2011, 01:17 PM

804 posts

Any penang outlets that sell Pentax gear? looking for a 77mm or tamron macro lens...
ainadz
post Jan 24 2011, 07:50 PM

I got mine...

just buy new 60D from CnS..price kawtim..friendly and reasonable compared to hike + megastar + elite pro
johnsonwps
post Jan 24 2011, 07:52 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(ainadz @ Jan 24 2011, 07:50 PM)
I got mine...

just buy new 60D from CnS..price kawtim..friendly and reasonable compared to hike + megastar + elite pro
How much a 60D street price nowadays? Thinking abt upgrade to 60D soon..
ainadz
post Jan 24 2011, 08:27 PM

QUOTE(johnsonwps @ Jan 24 2011, 07:52 PM)
How much a 60D street price nowadays? Thinking abt upgrade to 60D soon..
only RM 2800 just body..include 18-55mm and 8GB ++ other = RM3400
johnsonwps
post Jan 24 2011, 08:32 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(ainadz @ Jan 24 2011, 08:27 PM)
only RM 2800 just body..include 18-55mm and 8GB ++ other = RM3400
sweet!!! rclxm9.gif I'm aiming to get 60D and 580 EX II laugh.gif .. Hopefully if budget allows I would get a Tamron 18-270 PZD as well.. tongue.gif
ainadz
post Jan 24 2011, 08:44 PM

QUOTE(johnsonwps @ Jan 24 2011, 08:32 PM)
sweet!!!  rclxm9.gif  I'm aiming to get 60D and 580 EX II  laugh.gif .. Hopefully if budget allows I would get a Tamron 18-270 PZD as well..  tongue.gif
waaa..im just aim for nissin ni662 mark 2..
johnsonwps
post Jan 24 2011, 08:48 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(ainadz @ Jan 24 2011, 08:44 PM)
waaa..im just aim for nissin ni662 mark 2..
Di622 mk2 mang.. Btw I'm using 622 mk1.. The lack of HS sync iz killing me.. Optical slave flash is quite fun though..
ainadz
post Jan 24 2011, 09:01 PM

QUOTE(johnsonwps @ Jan 24 2011, 08:48 PM)
Di622 mk2 mang.. Btw I'm using 622 mk1.. The lack of HS sync iz killing me.. Optical slave flash is quite fun though..
yup..mark 1 have sync problem... It also not recommended by other..so how much for that 580 EX II ?? nod.gif
johnsonwps
post Jan 24 2011, 09:49 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(ainadz @ Jan 24 2011, 09:01 PM)
yup..mark 1 have sync problem... It also not recommended by other..so how much for that 580 EX II  ??  nod.gif
LoL... Grey unit abt 1.5k, Malaysia Warranty abt 1.7k.. According to shashinki.com.. Perhaps lowyat price would b lower I think? hmm.gif lolx.. better original than 3rd party.. me thinks.. icon_rolleyes.gif
xXDeaDXR3dDXx
post Jan 25 2011, 12:47 AM

96 posts

just a notice, i recently bought a d3100 with kit lens at Fotocam in perangin mall. they offered me rm1850 with 4gb, bag and a tripod, which eventually i bought, after surveying around komtar/penang road.

all was good, until they keep insisting me to buy their filter, which in the i bought it too. so imagine this, i got back, and went online to check the price of the so called better quality japan made filter, it was only rm50, but they sold me at rm140. well, can't blame them, i didnt know the exact price of the filter.

in the end, i think it was a win win situation, i got a reasonable bargain, and the shop got to knock me rm90.

so beware while buying at fotocam.

p/s: where reasonable place to get lens around penang road?? getting a 50mm f/1.8d tmr.

This post has been edited by xXDeaDXR3dDXx: Jan 25 2011, 12:48 AM
naimaD
post Jan 25 2011, 01:04 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(xXDeaDXR3dDXx @ Jan 25 2011, 12:47 AM)
just a notice, i recently bought a d3100 with kit lens at Fotocam in perangin mall. they offered me rm1850 with 4gb, bag and a tripod, which eventually i bought, after surveying around komtar/penang road.

all was good, until they keep insisting me to buy their filter, which in the i bought it too. so imagine this, i got back, and went online to check the price of the so called better quality japan made filter, it was only rm50, but they sold me at rm140. well, can't blame them, i didnt know the exact price of the filter.

in the end, i think it was a win win situation, i got a reasonable bargain, and the shop got to knock me rm90.

p/s: where reasonable place to get lens around penang road?? getting a 50mm f/1.8d tmr.
Some gives you very nice price on the whole set but will knock you with overpriced accessories. Make sure you do some survey online 1st next time smile.gif

Those shops in Penang road offers reasonable price, for best price you might need to survey yourself (or someone here knows where to get the cheapest one).

Cheers!
xXDeaDXR3dDXx
post Jan 25 2011, 01:09 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(naimaD @ Jan 25 2011, 01:04 AM)
Some gives you very nice price on the whole set but will knock you with overpriced accessories. Make sure you do some survey online 1st next time  smile.gif

Those shops in Penang road offers reasonable price, for best price you might need to survey yourself (or someone here knows where to get the cheapest one).

Cheers!
yeah, i thought so myself. they pull down the price and they try to trick u back with the accessories. lesson learned! unsure.gif
Double_Ace
post Jan 27 2011, 04:24 PM

517 posts

Hi guys I never bought a camera b4 so hope you can help me here. I want to buy Sony DCS-T99/v, Sony selling it at rm899 if I go to Penang road how much less will the shops be selling? Just want to know usually what the lowest these guys can go is it 100 or 200 less?

This post has been edited by Double_Ace: Jan 27 2011, 06:25 PM
phat_newbie
post Jan 27 2011, 09:36 PM

265 posts

Hi penang ppl, can someone recommend me where to get a high speed CF card in Penang with reasonable price?? Something like the Sandisk Ultra or Extreme series. Looking to get a 16GB CF.
bbuser91
post Jan 28 2011, 03:33 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(xXDeaDXR3dDXx @ Jan 25 2011, 12:47 AM)

That y i never bother them , and i only get body + len . Do survey next time before get

For 50mm f/1.8d try to search the price in lowyat or somewhere , bear in ur mind before go to shop

btw , f/1.8d wont autofocus in d3100 only manual . take note
CallMeMonkey
post Jan 28 2011, 10:03 PM

506 posts

QUOTE(bbuser91 @ Jan 28 2011, 03:33 PM)
That y i never bother them , and i only get body + len . Do survey next time before get

For 50mm f/1.8d try to search the price in lowyat or somewhere , bear in ur mind before go to shop

btw , f/1.8d wont autofocus in d3100 only manual . take note
almost made that mistake once, luckily i did some little search.. d3100 go for 50mm 1.4(expensive) or 35mm 1.8(cheaper) instead.

me myself are using 35mm and i fukken like it biggrin.gif
ralf
post Jan 28 2011, 10:05 PM

WYSIWYG
3,013 posts

Before i bought the 85mm f1.4 Nikon, already survey few of the shops at Penangroad..price gap is small so end up cincai bought from one of the shop.

My guess is the price is almost there..just that which shop provide better customer service, then i'll go..

This post has been edited by ralf: Jan 28 2011, 10:06 PM
Double_Ace
post Jan 31 2011, 11:48 PM

517 posts

Hey guys does this c&s sell digital camera like cybershot t99 or they only sell pro camera??? Is it a lot cheaper to Sony? Bcs my house far away to go to komtar. Hope can get a answer asap from any brothers here.
evilhomura89
post Jan 31 2011, 11:51 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Jan 31 2011, 11:48 PM)
Hey guys does this c&s sell digital camera like cybershot t99 or they only sell pro camera??? Is it a lot cheaper to Sony? Bcs my house far away to go to komtar. Hope can get a answer asap from any brothers here.
i think some of them do...street price confirm cheaper than getting from sony center
give them a call instead to check for stock availability n pricing instead
JustcallmeLarry
post Feb 6 2011, 01:31 PM

1,363 posts

Hi guys anyone bought a Sony nex 3 from Penang road recently? What is the price now??
evilhomura89
post Feb 7 2011, 12:07 AM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Feb 6 2011, 01:31 PM)
Hi guys anyone bought a Sony nex 3 from Penang road recently? What is the price now??
not sure but i know megastar offers the best price for sony products
shops like hike are anti-sony while CnS is another good alternative
JustcallmeLarry
post Feb 7 2011, 03:09 AM

1,363 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Feb 7 2011, 12:07 AM)
not sure but i know megastar offers the best price for sony products
shops like hike are anti-sony while CnS is another good alternative
Ic thanks for the info bro but do you happen to know the price there?? I know kl selling as low as 1380.
evilhomura89
post Feb 7 2011, 07:08 AM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Feb 7 2011, 03:09 AM)
Ic thanks for the info bro but do you happen to know the price there?? I know kl selling as low as 1380.
u can give them a call at 04-2287308
lee82gx
post Feb 8 2011, 01:47 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

when i bought my nex-3 ard November 2010, the price was about the same as in KL.

In fact my friend who is a camera salesman in Subang mentioned the price I got from Megastar is quite cheap.

aquamir
post Feb 8 2011, 07:47 PM

im looking for canon 550D..what the best price in penang?what gift included?
sashik
post Feb 9 2011, 02:13 PM

Hi there,

I'm looking for SONY A33 camera with dual lens. Sony price is RM2,799. Is it possible to get it cheaper elsewhere.
Please advice.

thanks.
busyman
post Feb 12 2011, 08:49 AM

1,465 posts

hi~
would like to ask where can i repair my flash in penang island?
which shop better & cheaper ya?
evilhomura89
post Feb 12 2011, 11:32 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(sashik @ Feb 9 2011, 02:13 PM)
Hi there,

I'm looking for SONY A33 camera with dual lens. Sony price is RM2,799. Is it possible to get it cheaper elsewhere.
Please advice.

thanks.
i saw A33 with 1855 (not twin kit) for RM2050
not sure bout the price for twin kit, probably ~2300??
SooLip
post Feb 20 2011, 08:05 PM

30 posts

i planning to buy SONY Nex5..... So what free gift can i ask for besides the 8gb memory card....?
madeleine_1406
post Feb 20 2011, 10:40 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(SooLip @ Feb 20 2011, 04:05 AM)
i planning to buy SONY Nex5..... So what free gift can i ask for besides the 8gb memory card....?
maybe extra batteries,uv filters,skin protection for ur dslr screen,bags,tripod
cam_kar
post Feb 26 2011, 10:15 PM

anyone know where can get best offer of Lx5 battery, ori or water also can smile.gif
nidzamputra
post Mar 4 2011, 06:19 PM

3,890 posts

ELITE Photo at queen bays mall is it ok on their price? wanna grab 1 lens for my nikon...
Gemeniswong
post Mar 6 2011, 08:31 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(naimaD @ Jan 21 2011, 07:20 PM)
I personally like Hike, though like some said the price of certain thing might be slightly higher than CnS. I went in to CnS a couple of times and the staff was not friendly at all and don't feel like serving me. I'd rather pay a lil' more at hike for their better service biggrin.gif
Agree... rclxms.gif
rocks&bones
post Mar 7 2011, 09:53 PM

34 posts

Im looking for a GF1/GF2 or D3100. Any honest/reliable shops in penang that sell at nice price? smile.gif
Grey.J
post Mar 7 2011, 11:10 PM

127 posts

going to buy 7D 15-85~~
whats the street price now? tongue.gif
@meno
post Mar 12 2011, 10:42 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Grey.J @ Mar 7 2011, 11:10 PM)
going to buy 7D 15-85~~
whats the street price now? tongue.gif
Bro, forgot to mention another shop to you apart from Excel.
My first choice is always Excel, but sometimes Megastar do give good prices too.
And service for both shops are good. Do walk around and survey the prices before you buy.

Btw Rocks&bones, for Panasonic stuff, again Excel. Before i left for overseas, they had the biggest range of Pana stuff available as compared to the other shops. You might want to pay them a visit if the GF-1 or GF-2 is your cup of tea.
PetaiMan
post Mar 12 2011, 08:48 PM

95 posts

just bought d90 body from photo president
rm2380
price ok or not
chinti
post Mar 12 2011, 10:08 PM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(naimaD @ Jan 21 2011, 07:20 PM)
blink.gif personally i think CnS is better than Hike...i got all my gear from CnS...best price i can get in penang n the staff very frenly a...sometime i can just go there just to chat n try out lens...very frenly a...look for Matthew next time if u go CnS... rclxms.gif
tracktion3
post Mar 12 2011, 11:18 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Mar 12 2011, 10:08 PM)
blink.gif  personally i think CnS is better than Hike...i got all my gear from CnS...best price i can get in penang n the staff very frenly a...sometime i can just go there just to chat n try out lens...very frenly a...look for Matthew next time if u go CnS... rclxms.gif
I bought my stuff from CnS. Just bought my Aipo 38ex for RM320 with credit card. The best I could find. Many shops sell sun dry analog and the reason they dont do aipo was related to reliability. But I still prefer digital. easy to use at least for me. Kinda like the LED light too. Can see clearly in that dark cabinet... ha ha ha
rocks&bones
post Mar 13 2011, 12:17 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Mar 12 2011, 10:42 AM)
Bro, forgot to mention another shop to you apart from Excel.
My first choice is always Excel, but sometimes Megastar do give good prices too.
And service for both shops are good. Do walk around and survey the prices before you buy.

Btw Rocks&bones, for Panasonic stuff, again Excel. Before i left for overseas, they had the biggest range of Pana stuff available as compared to the other shops. You might want to pay them a visit if the GF-1 or GF-2 is your cup of tea.
so where is this excel shop ur talking about? smile.gif
pinkcotton
post Mar 15 2011, 01:32 PM

93 posts

whats the cheapest market price for nikon d90 body now ?
just now i went to ask at photo president and the camera shop near to old town (qbm) and they both quoted me 2450
skycrawler
post Mar 15 2011, 01:37 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(pinkcotton @ Mar 15 2011, 01:32 PM)
whats the cheapest market price for nikon d90 body now ?
just now i went to ask at photo president and the camera shop near to old town (qbm) and they both quoted me 2450
Should be RM2380-2400..

This post has been edited by skycrawler: Mar 15 2011, 01:39 PM
yupio
post Mar 17 2011, 02:21 PM

Pro
1,766 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Mar 12 2011, 11:18 PM)
I bought my stuff from CnS. Just bought my Aipo 38ex for RM320 with credit card. The best I could find. Many shops sell sun dry analog and the reason they dont do aipo was related to reliability. But I still prefer digital. easy to use at least for me. Kinda like the LED light too. Can see clearly in that dark cabinet... ha ha ha
What kind of reliability issues with the AIPO? I never heard of any...I am using 68ex for a year now and no problem so far... hmm.gif
tracktion3
post Mar 17 2011, 09:53 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(yupio @ Mar 17 2011, 02:21 PM)
What kind of reliability issues with the AIPO? I never heard of any...I am using 68ex for a year now and no problem so far... hmm.gif
Yah lah.. those shops that dont have it will say all the bad stuff... anyway, why I still get it? Bcoz reading info in this forum. Some have problems I guess but many ok. Got warranty some more... so ... give it a try loh.
Aikolifez
post Mar 18 2011, 03:16 AM

tokina 12-24 f4 dx ii price where cheapest in penang? hehe

Added on March 18, 2011, 3:18 amplus a sb900 price ... ty

This post has been edited by Aikolifez: Mar 18 2011, 03:18 AM
Lady Nova
post Mar 20 2011, 01:54 AM

kena conned by Fotocam in Digital Mall Komtar....

Quoted me cheap price for D90 kit... but package me with the Digieye Macro & Wide Angle Converter at RM650 sad.gif

just came back checked online and it was only RM200 sad.gif(( RM450 gone

Please be aware of that shop... especially the owner.. damn cheeky..

This post has been edited by Lady Nova: Mar 20 2011, 01:59 AM
tracktion3
post Mar 20 2011, 11:53 AM

532 posts

went to click n snap the other day to get my 430exII. I notice, after work around 5-6pm, this shop is so busy. People buy camera stuff around this time kah? I visited this place for 3-4 times about this same time and always busy with lots of people. So, I suggest to get a better customer service, visit in the morning 11am like that, because according to them... almost nobody around so they spend time on fly photography... whuaa ha ha ha
naimaD
post Mar 20 2011, 12:25 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Mar 12 2011, 10:08 PM)
blink.gif  personally i think CnS is better than Hike...i got all my gear from CnS...best price i can get in penang n the staff very frenly a...sometime i can just go there just to chat n try out lens...very frenly a...look for Matthew next time if u go CnS... rclxms.gif
I've heard very good comments about cns too and it was the first shop I visited first among the shops at penang road. There's not much customer at that time when I visited. Maybe my look makes them think I am not a serious buyer biggrin.gif
SUSBorsch Soup
post Mar 26 2011, 07:44 PM

The East is Red. Defeat the new Opium called Corruption
2,641 posts

Hi notworthy.gif , can someone recommend me a good shop to buy Samsung Nx 100, I survey Komtar the shop below the staircase rm1650, but rrp is 1599, really siao eh their pricing.
UNDERGROUND
post May 5 2011, 12:46 AM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

Edited
Although the boss is kinda lansi, but there's a guy working there name Alvin or something, he is very polite and friendly, thumbs up for CnS. rclxms.gif

Now, I shall badmouth Excel Photo Trading, that youngster and uncle (the other one, not boss) sucks big time, they don't listen to their customer at all and get butthurt when I said I don't want the bundled memory card doh.gif

This post has been edited by UNDERGROUND: May 6 2011, 09:34 PM
backislan
post May 9 2011, 04:53 PM

202 posts

hi guys, just wants ur two cents,thinking of getting a dslr, which 1 is better, d3100 or eos 500d?
zaidridzuan
post May 11 2011, 10:30 AM

I bought 90% of my gear from CnS. Service very good.. Price very reasonable..... Matthew and the gang very friendly and knowledgeable.
My Aipo drybox has gone kaput already after 3 years... When can I find to send them back to CnS, after all it got 5 year warranty
mira_edora
post May 13 2011, 04:15 PM

my fav shop is Hike and Elite smile.gif
aric_68
post May 13 2011, 09:53 PM

111 posts

Click 'n' Snap and Hike...!!!
mira_edora
post May 14 2011, 10:32 AM

yesterday after work, i went to several camera shop asking for tamron 17-50 non VC

Click N Snap - Rm 1200
Photo Easy Cam - Rm 1180
Hike - Rm 1230
Photocam (inside perangin mall) - Rm - 1350
Elite - Rm 1300

the best service is photo easy cam.. uncle layan me so nicely, even open the box for me to look.. even i go just asking only..

anyway tamron offer 2+2 year warranty now and free workshop if you buy their lens for limited time period

This post has been edited by mira_edora: May 14 2011, 04:15 PM
@meno
post May 20 2011, 04:53 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(mira_edora @ May 14 2011, 10:32 AM)
yesterday after work, i went to several camera shop asking for tamron 17-50 non VC

Click  N Snap - Rm 1200
Photo Easy Cam - Rm 1180
Hike - Rm 1230
Photocam (inside perangin mall) - Rm - 1350
Elite - Rm 1300

the best service is photo easy cam.. uncle layan me so nicely, even open the box for me to look.. even i go just asking only..

anyway tamron offer 2+2 year warranty now and free workshop if you buy their lens for limited time period
Easycam and CNS is father and son...Lol...
Btw, you haven't surveryed Excel. So far i frequent excel.
Well, so far Excel gave me the best service as well...
metsatsu
post Jun 7 2011, 10:47 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

I vouched for hike. excel twisted their price right in front of my eyes after dunno which guy quoted me a price with confident. That was the last time I went there, and I don't like to wait so long for them to serve me.

And again stay away from photocam at prangin mall, they are pro in hidden charges
geforce88
post Jul 15 2011, 09:27 PM

2,841 posts

bought my cam from Camtronic Photo Enterprise @ Island Park last week, they sell stuff at very reasonable prices, but their stocks are mostly Nikon and Fujifilm, other brands i not sure......
ClericKilla
post Jul 15 2011, 09:40 PM

1,789 posts

Go buy stuff at EdCam Enterprise, which is located at Prangin Mall opposite starbucks and beside maxis . smile.gif he's a trusted seller even tho his shop is small but he has alot gadget, Can go order 1Ds Mark III brows.gif
xpilon
post Jul 15 2011, 10:32 PM

55 posts

Bought my 600D from Hike. I'm beginner for dslr. Now only playing with AV mode. Any links from here that can share to take a good shot and skill.
ClericKilla
post Jul 15 2011, 10:49 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Jul 15 2011, 10:32 PM)
Bought my 600D from Hike. I'm beginner for dslr. Now only playing with AV mode. Any links from here that can share to take a good shot and skill.
Go watch FroKnowsPhoto , Karl Taylor , DigitalRev. Might help .. youtube biggrin.gif
xpilon
post Jul 15 2011, 11:02 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Jul 15 2011, 10:49 PM)
Go watch FroKnowsPhoto , Karl Taylor , DigitalRev. Might help .. youtube biggrin.gif
Beside that any good magazine to recomend?
saviola47
post Jul 18 2011, 01:23 PM

124 posts

any suggestion where should i get fujifilm x100 in penang?

geforce88
post Jul 22 2011, 11:45 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(saviola47 @ Jul 18 2011, 01:23 PM)
any suggestion where should i get fujifilm x100 in penang?
try Camtronic @ Island Park

the staff name is Ah Siang
terrykoh
post Jul 23 2011, 10:59 AM

hey just want to ask...D7000 with 18-55 kit lense at RM3350...comes with 8gb card and a filter...ok ah?
cwaim
post Aug 5 2011, 05:00 PM

anyone bought cameras from Empire Digital in Burmah road? do they provide good after sales service?
quoted Olympus XZ-1 1400, LX5 12xx
Mr.Wang
post Aug 5 2011, 08:49 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(Lady Nova @ Mar 20 2011, 01:54 AM)
kena conned by Fotocam in Digital Mall Komtar....

Quoted me cheap price for D90 kit... but package me with the Digieye Macro & Wide Angle Converter at RM650 sad.gif

just came back checked online and it was only RM200 sad.gif(( RM450 gone

Please be aware of that shop... especially the owner.. damn cheeky..
Digieye is a generic brand. It's less than RM200. Do your research before you buy.
termignoni
post Aug 6 2011, 06:27 PM

i AM The Ultimate Driving Machine!!
597 posts

any shops to recommend to service my camera in Penang? particularly my sensor n LCD (foggy)..

Added on August 6, 2011, 6:28 pmand one more thing, any shop that does infrared conversion?

This post has been edited by termignoni: Aug 6 2011, 06:28 PM
kelvin_hata
post Aug 6 2011, 06:42 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

i wanted to test gf3 and ep3... which shop recommended?
ohde
post Aug 7 2011, 02:16 AM

282 posts

looking for NEX-C3, any shop recommend?
kuanming86
post Aug 7 2011, 11:24 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(terrykoh @ Jul 23 2011, 10:59 AM)
hey just want to ask...D7000 with 18-55 kit lense at RM3350...comes with 8gb card and a filter...ok ah?
i bought mine d7000 + 18-55 kit lens.

RM3300 from mega yesterday.

the boss is friendly..
xpilon
post Aug 9 2011, 10:10 PM

55 posts

Hi All,

Recently I bought a few magazine such as "Digital Camera magazine" & "Digital SLR photography" are these 2 megazine OK for beginner?

Thank you.
Mr.Wang
post Aug 9 2011, 11:20 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Aug 9 2011, 10:10 PM)
Hi All,

Recently I bought a few magazine such as "Digital Camera magazine" & "Digital SLR photography" are these 2 megazine OK for beginner?

Thank you.
I think all should be fine as they provide tutorial and share tips. If you want to save money, you can download photography magazines online in pdf format for free.
infinity31
post Aug 10 2011, 11:23 AM

17 posts

there's lot of camera shops along/near komtar
xpilon
post Aug 10 2011, 09:47 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(infinity31 @ Aug 10 2011, 11:23 AM)
there's lot of camera shops along/near komtar
Yup, many. One of them Hike Enterprise. biggrin.gif
termignoni
post Aug 11 2011, 07:18 PM

i AM The Ultimate Driving Machine!!
597 posts

no one answered me... sad.gif
geforce88
post Aug 15 2011, 05:54 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(terrykoh @ Jul 23 2011, 10:59 AM)
lol... i missed read the 18-55, thought it was 18-105 and i was like WTF sweat.gif
yyie
post Aug 16 2011, 10:20 AM

233 posts

hi all,
what is the latest bargain price for LX5 in penang? and what are the free gifts included in the package?

thinking to get my first ever camera

or anyone would recommend a competitive model with LX5 at affordable price?

xpilon
post Aug 17 2011, 08:46 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Wang @ Aug 9 2011, 11:20 PM)
I think all should be fine as they provide tutorial and share tips. If you want to save money, you can download photography magazines online in pdf format for free.
Hi bro,

Which website to download?
amani
post Aug 18 2011, 12:23 AM

75 posts

there will be a photography fair at gurney plaza this 26-31 aug..
xuenn
post Aug 18 2011, 12:59 AM

QUOTE(yyie @ Aug 16 2011, 10:20 AM)
hi all,
what is the latest bargain price for LX5 in penang? and what are the free gifts included in the package?

thinking to get my first ever camera

or anyone would recommend a competitive model with LX5 at affordable price?

hello! I think you can consider Olympus XZ-1 or Canon G12. Both of these two pro-sumer DC are good but I'm going to get an Olympus XZ-1 probably this week or next week biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
yyie
post Aug 18 2011, 09:58 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(xuenn @ Aug 18 2011, 12:59 AM)
hello! I think you can consider Olympus XZ-1 or Canon G12. Both of these two pro-sumer DC are good but I'm going to get an Olympus XZ-1 probably this week or next week  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
hi, mind to tell more about the pros of XZ-1 or G12 compare with LX5? i am noob in photography and thinking to get myself a camera for traveling.. notworthy.gif
subrok007
post Aug 18 2011, 10:57 AM

Squirtle
1,632 posts

where is CnS located?
ohmlawx
post Aug 20 2011, 01:18 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(yyie @ Aug 18 2011, 09:58 AM)
hi, mind to tell more about the pros of XZ-1 or G12 compare with LX5? i am noob in photography and thinking to get myself a camera for traveling.. notworthy.gif
http://snapsort.com/compare/Olympus-XZ-1-v...c_Lumix_DMC-LX5

http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon_PowerSho...c_Lumix_DMC-LX5

hehehe.. find it for you.. i am using LX-5.. bought it at Komtar, didnt remember the shop name.. really love it..

0.1769sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:27 AM