Caller ID Fix 2.2 Jailbreak, Change the locale setting

TSr0kawa
post Jan 1 2009, 11:57 AM, updated 17y ago

40 posts

After failing to fix caller ID on without Jailbreak. I'm jailbreaking my iPhone 3G wink.gif ( http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/884557 ) .

I'm reading the thread overwrite default.phoneformat ( http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/747611 ) and the result is ok, but still have a problem if I receive sms and not saving it as +60xxxxxxx . Not sure if I did correct, but I'm viewing SMS preview correctly and receive phone call correctly but the sms thread is not working quite right.

I'm surfing trough the net and finally found a solution. Changing locale of Apple to Malaysia using Caller ID Fix 2.2 - Cydia

You can view it at : Settings > General > International

But there's no Malaysia for the setting.

I'll review the steps here and assume you have jailbreak your iPhone and using firmware 2.2

1. Install CallerID Fix for 2.2

2. Install Erica Utilities (for the /usr/bin/plutil command )

3. Install Mobile Terminal (to run the command for steps 4)

Run the command on Mobile terminal (Quite long)

/usr/bin/plutil -s AppleLocale -v my_MY /var/mobile/Library/Preferences/.GlobalPreferences.plist

If successful, it will give you alert about changing to my_MY locale

Reboot your iPhone. and you will get the result like the 1st pics. The problem I see only Google Maps will show as Miles not KM, maybe someone can report to the CallerID Fix to change it to KM. If somebody know how to change it without change the I10N setting back to others country (you need to stick to the Malaysia setting ).

Other than that, I think you good to go about the Caller ID problem.
sugen
post Jan 1 2009, 05:50 PM

1,358 posts

Another alternative WITHOUT the need to change the LOCAL SETTING... I am very happy to solved my Digi Caller ID issue.. This is how..

1.) Install Caller ID Fix 2.2 via Cydia
2.) Change all your CONTACT with the storing format "+60" -- make it a pratice to store in this format in future..

You are Done.. When someone call you it will Display out his Contact name.. When he SMS you, the SMS will also display his name correctly..

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by sugen: Jan 1 2009, 06:32 PM
calvin_gsc
post Jan 1 2009, 08:40 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(sugen @ Jan 1 2009, 05:50 PM)
    Another alternative WITHOUT the need to change the LOCAL SETTING... I am very happy to solved my Digi Caller ID issue.. This is how..

1.) Install Caller ID Fix 2.2 via Cydia
2.) Change all your CONTACT with the storing format "+60" -- make it a pratice to store in this format in future.. 

You are Done.. When someone call you it will Display out his Contact name.. When he SMS you, the SMS will also display his name correctly..

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
hehe, this is the issue. Which is why people wants a fix for this. To prevent the need for this step. laugh.gif
myjunk
post Jan 1 2009, 08:53 PM

3,446 posts

I always thought that this was a "feature"

instead, I've changed majority of the numbers to have +60 in front already
sugen
post Jan 1 2009, 09:47 PM

1,358 posts

From the step above. Seems very complicated.Anyway,+60 is just an International standard...Just practice this...

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jan 1 2009, 08:40 PM)
hehe, this is the issue. Which is why people wants a fix for this. To prevent the need for this step.  laugh.gif
TripleH
post Jan 1 2009, 10:11 PM

380 posts

Whaa r0kawa..the steps so long leh. Who wants to follow when we have faster solution? Sugen steps are faster and easy. No one is gonna follow what your post.
TSr0kawa
post Jan 1 2009, 10:14 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(TripleH @ Jan 1 2009, 10:11 PM)
Whaa r0kawa..the steps so long leh. Who wants to follow when we have faster solution? Sugen steps are faster and easy. No one is gonna follow what your post.
It's supposed to be 5 steps only

1. Install Cydia CallerID Fix 2.2
2. Install Erica
3. Install Mobile Terminal
4. Run command inside Mobile Terminal
5. Restart

Maybe later ispazio will integrate the Internationalization Interface using Malaysia as the choice. Jailbreak is different tuto later wink.gif.
TripleH
post Jan 1 2009, 10:17 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(r0kawa @ Jan 1 2009, 10:14 PM)

2. Install Erica
5. Restart

Maybe later ispazio will integrate the Internationalization Interface using Malaysia as the choice. Jailbreak is different tuto later wink.gif.
Ok. now is not so bad..your first post scary la ..hahaha..and what Jailbreak is different tuto later? We have a thread on jailbreak already.

This post has been edited by TripleH: Jan 1 2009, 10:17 PM
TSr0kawa
post Jan 1 2009, 10:45 PM

40 posts

Well, I've read the thread at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/790913 , I think it's much more scarier than my tutorial .

I think we need a wiki or something like that that much cleaner. I would like a thread example :

1. Jailbreak iPhone for Unlock 3G for firmware 2.2 using QuickPawn
2. Unlock iPhone for lock 3G
4. Jailbreak iPhone for Unlock 3G for firmware 2.2 using Pwnage Tool

It's more easier for user to digest and a lot less scarier. I'm considering a programmer and a sysadmin my self need a lot of digging to start doing Jailbreak myself.
TripleH
post Jan 1 2009, 10:55 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(r0kawa @ Jan 1 2009, 10:45 PM)
Well, I've read the thread at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/790913 , I think it's much more scarier than my tutorial .

I think we need a wiki or something like that that much cleaner. I would like a thread example :

It's more easier for user to digest and a lot less scarier. I'm considering a programmer and a sysadmin my self need a lot of digging to start doing Jailbreak myself.
Where got scary. All i read was davidgary73 posted warnings before we do the jailbreak and btw, the guide is from iClarified. How difficult can it be? It's proven to work for so many here and you wanna do up threads on the same subjects? I did my own jailbreaking with the tutorial provide on the thread la..So why do we need extra thread like you mentioned?

How simple can you put it when iClarified is so simple that noobs can even follow leh..

For Unlocking lock 3G iPhone, i have a thread on it and it will be updated with instructions.

We are not stopping your from posting those thread but sure got people report your thread wan lor. Don't get angry if your post close by mods ah

This post has been edited by TripleH: Jan 1 2009, 11:00 PM
TSr0kawa
post Jan 1 2009, 11:21 PM

40 posts

Actually , I want the content / tutorial to be here. So LYN user can comment on the tutorial, make correction. In iClarified the tutorial seem assume user is on the firmware for less than 2.2. What if user is on the 2.2 firmware ? Do I need to restore / upgrade to 2.2 again ? That the question that we can ask here, correction, if the tutorial located inside the forum. It's good for us, if our cable been struck by whale, or bomb by terrorist wink.gif .

LYN server is inside Malaysia, so there's not a problem if something international cable is going down again. I'm not sure what the policy of LYN to push away user outside the LYN forum (outside tutorial) or pull the interaction inside the forum (local tutorial).

Just my opinion.
TripleH
post Jan 1 2009, 11:27 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(r0kawa @ Jan 1 2009, 11:21 PM)
Actually , I want the content / tutorial to be here. So LYN user can comment on the tutorial, make correction. In iClarified the tutorial seem assume user is on the firmware for less than 2.2. What if user is on the 2.2 firmware ? Do I need to restore / upgrade to 2.2 again ? That the question that we can ask here, correction,  if the tutorial located inside the forum. It's good for us, if our cable been struck by whale, or bomb by terrorist wink.gif .

LYN server is inside Malaysia, so there's not a problem if something international cable is going down again. I'm not sure what the policy of LYN to push away user outside the LYN forum (outside tutorial) or pull the interaction inside the forum (local tutorial).

Just my opinion.
Err..you can always save the website as pdf ma to view later. So no worries..

Also if you on frimware 2.2, got any problems just restore lor or repwn again la. Not so difficult ma. I did it alot of times already.
AiRBooM
post Jan 2 2009, 03:12 AM

超低能,勁搞笑
1,562 posts

no need to add all contacts to +60 or do so many steps and change locale setting to show contacts name , and no need to download Caller ID Fix 2.2 as well ....

it's very easy... just replace the default.phoneformat in your iphone then everything will be fixed , just follow here... everything stated there...

This post has been edited by AiRBooM: Jan 2 2009, 03:14 AM
afcmh
post Jan 2 2009, 10:23 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(AiRBooM @ Jan 2 2009, 03:12 AM)
no need to add all contacts to +60 or do so many steps and change locale setting to show contacts name , and no need to download Caller ID Fix 2.2 as well  ....

it's very easy... just replace the default.phoneformat in your iphone then everything will be fixed , just follow here... everything stated there...
correct but it only works on incoming call not for smses

Added on January 2, 2009, 11:30 pmthis tutorial is too tough for me
scared i'll damage the phone hahaa
im not quite understand in the mobile terminal part
mind to explain more?thx

This post has been edited by afcmh: Jan 2 2009, 11:30 PM
AiRBooM
post Jan 3 2009, 01:41 AM

超低能,勁搞笑
1,562 posts

QUOTE(afcmh @ Jan 2 2009, 10:23 PM)
correct but it only works on incoming call not for smses

Added on January 2, 2009, 11:30 pmthis tutorial is too tough for me
scared i'll damage the phone hahaa
im not quite understand in the mobile terminal part
mind to explain more?thx
wrong.... sms also can display name , not only incoming calls , told u guys already... no problem for me just replace the default.phoneformat only ... smile.gif
TripleH
post Jan 5 2009, 10:41 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(r0kawa @ Jan 1 2009, 10:45 PM)

Hey r0kawa,

If you seriously think you need to make those tutorials, go ahead and do it up. Have fun. thumbup.gif
myxery
post Jan 5 2009, 05:08 PM

Oro?!
904 posts

the command in Terminal thing wont work for me? i can't set Malaysia in Setting>General>International but in Phonebook can.. help me
sugen
post Jan 5 2009, 05:39 PM

1,358 posts

how many contacts in your phonebook?
If not too many.. manually change it all to format +60... Then everything works..
QUOTE(myxery @ Jan 5 2009, 05:08 PM)
the command in Terminal thing wont work for me? i can't set Malaysia in Setting>General>International but in Phonebook can.. help me
Edoras
post Jan 5 2009, 06:13 PM

1,134 posts

I used to edit one of those .plist files... But when I upgrade and JB FW 2.2, and run the Caller Fix ID 2.2 --> Voila!! All problems vanished!!
Stamp
post Jan 5 2009, 07:15 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(r0kawa @ Jan 1 2009, 10:14 PM)

2. Install Erica
5. Restart

r0kawa,

sorry for this silly question: how to 'run command inside Mobile Terminal'? icon_question.gif

0.0460sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:44 PM