Life Sciences [List] Private Medical Universities in Malaysia, *MD / MBBS / MBBChBAO (Update-17/11/14)*
mivec3gs
Dec 13 2010, 12:54 PM

well some ppl just plan get the overseas uni cert/qualification but studying all locally cause going overseas are much out of their budget?
TSCyberSetan
Dec 13 2010, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(mivec3gs @ Dec 13 2010, 12:26 PM) the monash mbbs tuition fees already increased to RM 90k/year... Done~ QUOTE(zedstat @ Dec 13 2010, 12:36 PM) u guys think its worth it go pvt medical universities @500k total avrg? if without any scholarship that is I'm not surprised if in the future some of these local medical ipts or medical programs in ipts dies out / close program... Some of these ipts including the one i'm currently studying in, rely heavily on govt. funded students... With the news that have been going on about 'too many housemen' in Malaysia, it is a possibility that the govt. may reduce the number of scholarships for medical programs and channel the fund for some other courses... So, if one were to consider spending RM500K to study medicine, one might as well go and study in some other more reputable foreign universities abroad instead of our local IPTS. This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Dec 13 2010, 01:35 PM
onelove89
Dec 13 2010, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 13 2010, 01:26 PM) Done~ I'm not surprised if in the future some of these local medical ipts or medical programs in ipts dies out / close program... Some of these ipts including the one i'm currently studying in, rely heavily on govt. funded students... With the news that have been going on about 'too many housemen' in Malaysia, it is a possibility that the govt. may reduce the number of scholarships for medical programs and channel the fund for some other courses... So, if one were to consider spending RM500K to study medicine, one might as well go and study in some other more reputable foreign universities abroad instead of our local IPTS. then again qualifying for reputable foreign unis might be a prob for some, so they settle for local. my course costs about rm585k in total, so it's not far fro the 500k that was mentioned. I think most of the new ipts med course only cost about 300k-ish?
zedstat
Dec 13 2010, 01:39 PM
true enough. i dont think what u get with 500k is really worth it. just for the sake of getting a job.. if earning is ur main concern. might as well invest the 500k or use it as budget for business...
honestly. unless ur sponsored then its ok
Syd G
Dec 13 2010, 01:41 PM
Mom. Servant of God.
The tuition fee may be RM450k (Monash) but the living expenses is way cheaper in MY
zstan
Dec 13 2010, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 13 2010, 01:38 PM) then again qualifying for reputable foreign unis might be a prob for some, so they settle for local. my course costs about rm585k in total, so it's not far fro the 500k that was mentioned. I think most of the new ipts med course only cost about 300k-ish? erm, IINM, IMU one about 430k liao, UCSI about 380k... QUOTE(zedstat @ Dec 13 2010, 01:39 PM) true enough. i dont think what u get with 500k is really worth it. just for the sake of getting a job.. if earning is ur main concern. might as well invest the 500k or use it as budget for business... honestly. unless ur sponsored then its ok because people still have a mindset that you become a doctor u can immediately get back all your returns in one year.
mivec3gs
Dec 13 2010, 02:39 PM

sigh, ppl with money > overseas uni > face prob with getting pr/job there
ppl with no money > study locally (ipta/ipts) > face prob with job availability
both probs come from own government (endless) @.@
wgy589
Dec 13 2010, 03:44 PM
Public hospitals lose more specialists http://www.sgmaritime.com/SingleNews.aspx?...rec_code=676184This article is from Singapore, but the figures quoted should be similar without conversion.(S$=RM) it says "In the public sector, consultants earn between $12,000 and $60,000 a month, based on their seniority and specialty." "A highly successful specialist in private practice can make up to 10 times what he was drawing in the public sector. These top doctors earn more than $1 million a year, with some reputed to rake in more than $5 million." So i think it's really a matter of your commitment. if you are willing to work hard, the experience and skills you carry along with you will earn you big fortune.  (there might be a lot of junior doctors nowadays, but the number of specialists is unlikely to increase tremendously)
mivec3gs
Dec 13 2010, 04:45 PM

deleted
This post has been edited by mivec3gs: Dec 14 2010, 12:46 PM
wgy589
Dec 13 2010, 05:17 PM
deleted
This post has been edited by wgy589: Dec 13 2010, 06:50 PM
zedstat
Dec 13 2010, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 13 2010, 01:48 PM) erm, IINM, IMU one about 430k liao, UCSI about 380k... because people still have a mindset that you become a doctor u can immediately get back all your returns in one year. well even 10 years pon susah to get back the 500k
TSCyberSetan
Dec 14 2010, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 13 2010, 01:48 PM) because people still have a mindset that you become a doctor u can immediately get back all your returns in one year. "Kerja makan Gaji" - eg; Govt. Servant @ Govt. Hospital - No way a new doctor can get back RM500K in one year... Unless he is a specialist of a 'rare specialty' and is working in a private hospital in a developed country.... then... maybe... Back to the Medical IPTS and Surplus of Housemen issue... In view of the current situation, Govt. may reduce the number of available scholarships/loans for medical programs in the near future... and this may severely affect certain IPTS that rely heavily on govt. sponsored students --> perhaps to the extent of closing the medical program all together? we will see what happens in the coming years.... Whereas those excellent straight-A's students who aspire to become doctors will probably have to compete even harder for medical degree scholarship or will just have to settle for other field of study... (Engineering? or other science courses? - who knows...)
zedstat
Dec 15 2010, 12:09 AM
to be honest. i dont see the reason for all the hyped of getting to medical school.. i guess its abit overrated. chances to get to work and stability of the job maybe.
as for muslim, its fardhu kifayah also in helping people. but those really aiming for money, actually other courses can earn triple as much and work less. i guess the one who earns actually is the IPTS.
perhaps govt way of controlling these budding of IPTS is a good way and reduce number of available loans is definitely one of the best way to ensure the quality of healthcare
mivec3gs
Dec 15 2010, 04:47 PM

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 14 2010, 08:24 PM) In view of the current situation, Govt. may reduce the number of available scholarships/loans for medical programs in the near future... and this may severely affect certain IPTS that rely heavily on govt. sponsored students --> perhaps to the extent of closing the medical program all together? we will see what happens in the coming years.... Whereas those excellent straight-A's students who aspire to become doctors will probably have to compete even harder for medical degree scholarship or will just have to settle for other field of study... (Engineering? or other science courses? - who knows...) perhaps this might really help in the future but i got a kind of bad feeling for this. u know y? those future scholars who score good results but wihout the opportunity to get the scholarship enrol in the ipta medical school will probably bring a war/great arguement in this country from the political view. parents start going after the government of this bias. how will the government choose the capable students enrol in this field?
Hikari0307
Dec 19 2010, 01:59 AM
Prospectus for Taylor's University's School of Medicine for 2011
SOM_Prospectus__2011_.pdf ( 1.91mb )
Number of downloads: 32Full tuition + Misc Fees for the 5 years MBBS programme are RM307,550 QUOTE MEDICAL EXCELLENCE SCHOLARSHIP Bachelor of Medicine;Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) Closing Date: One Month Before Intake Date RM40,000, RM20,000 or RM10,000 tuition fee waiver per year. Good results in 2010 ACTUAL results (minimum requirements) • A-Level AAB • SAM ATAR 92 • CPU 92% • AUSMAT 92 • MUFY 92 • IB 35 points • FIS 85% Terms & Conditions apply. Interview required. http://www.taylors.edu.my/prosstudents/popup/preu_2011.phpThe MBBS Programme under the School of Medicine has also been added into Taylor's Bumiputera Study Scheme which entitles any admitted Bumiputera students to an RM4,000 per year tuition fee waiver. http://www.taylors.edu.my/en/university/st...ra_study_schemeThis post has been edited by Hikari0307: Dec 19 2010, 02:38 AM
BrachialPlexus
Dec 19 2010, 02:27 AM

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Dec 19 2010, 01:59 AM) MEDICAL EXCELLENCE SCHOLARSHIP
Bachelor of Medicine;Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS)
Closing Date: One Month Before Intake Date RM40,000, RM20,000 or RM10,000 tuition fee waiver per year.
Good results in 2010 ACTUAL results (minimum requirements)
• A-Level AAB • SAM ATAR 92 • CPU 92% • AUSMAT 92 • MUFY 92 • IB 35 points • FIS 85%
Terms & Conditions apply. Interview required. I'm conflicted; on one hand, i'm glad that Taylor's is trying hard to make medical education affordable to the masses but on the other, AAB/TER92 is HARDLY 'good', and even less so in the medical line. This post has been edited by BrachialPlexus: Dec 19 2010, 02:28 AM
Hikari0307
Dec 19 2010, 01:14 PM
QUOTE Sunday December 19, 2010 New pathway for medicine By KAREN CHAPMAN educate@thestar.com.my
THE setting up of the Perdana University Graduate School of Medicine will provide opportunities for individuals who decide to opt for medicine after they have completed a different undergraduate degree or pathway.
Most students here who want to study medicine do so after completing the Sijil Tinggi Persekolahan Malaysia (STPM), matriculation or its equivalent.
Johns Hopkins University Department of Medicine vice chair Prof Charles Wiener said some 17-year-old students might not have decided on becoming doctors after finishing secondary school, so the option of a four-year doctor of medicine (MD) programme to be offered at Perdana University would be an alternative.
“These students who decide to do a medical degree later are often more mature and directed towards their goals.
“They may have developed an appreciation for medicine during their first degree or through their research experiences,” he said, adding that his first degree was in economics.
Prof Wiener, who will be dean of the Perdana University Graduate School of Medicine, said entry to the MD programme will be open to individuals who have completed a first degree with the pre-requisite subjects, have sat for the Medical College Admission Test (MCAT) and gone through an interview.
The pre-requisite subjects include biology, general chemistry, advanced chemistry, advanced mathematics such as calculus or statistics, physics, and courses in humanities or social sciences. Candidates must also be computer literate and have good writing and verbal skills.
“The first intake will be in September next year and the Genes to Society (GTS) curriculum – used at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine – will be introduced here,” he said.
Prof Wiener explained that the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine began revamping its curriculum in 2003. In 2009, it implemented the GTS curriculum – which is aimed at reframing the context of health and illness more broadly – to encourage students to explore the biological properties of a patient’s health within a larger, integrated system, including social, cultural, psychological and environmental variables.
“The whole curriculum is based on the evolving concept of individualised medicine,” he said.
The MD degree that will be conferred will be from the Perdana University Graduate School of Medicine, he added.
Although the Johns Hopkins University – located in Baltimore, Maryland – has campuses in China, Singapore and Italy, he explained that this was the first foray for the School of Medicine outside the United States (US).
During her visit to Malaysia last month, US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin witnessed the signing of collaboration, affiliation and licensing agreements between the Academic Medical Centre Sdn Bhd, Johns Hopkins University and Johns Hopkins Medicine International.
When announcing that Johns Hopkins University would be setting up a medical school and hospital in Malaysia during his visit to the US in September, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said a site at Serdang, Selangor had been picked to set up the facilities, which would in turn become a medical research hub for the region.
The medical school, he said, would offer a four-year programme, adding that it would be a private initiative between Malaysian and American investors.
Najib said it was a world-renowned medical school and had adopted a different curriculum compared to other institutions.
“They are using the ‘Genes to Society’ curriculum, which is a more personalised medical approach,” he said.
Higher Education Ministry deputy director-general (private higher education institutions) Prof Datin Dr Siti Hamisah Tapsir had said the successful negotiations to bring the Johns Hopkins Medical School to Malaysia was proof of the nation’s appeal as a regional education hub. Source: http://thestar.com.my/education/story.asp?...1&sec=education
wgy589
Dec 19 2010, 01:42 PM
it will appear more appealing if the MD degree is conferred by Johns Hopkins itself. From the article it sounds to me that Perdana University is just another new private medical school in Malaysia, mabbe more high profile than say like Taylor's or TARC.
I think those with 1st degree should seriously consider Cornell-Qatar, Duke-NUS or even Australian Medical Schools. At least these are more well established, government initiative and the original medical schools are involved in conferring the degree.
TSCyberSetan
Dec 19 2010, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Dec 19 2010, 01:14 PM) Hmm... if they used 'John Hopkins University or Johns Hopkins Medicine International' as the name of the institution, it would be better... The name 'Perdana' University itself is somewhat a repellent to potential graduate-students wishing to join a GEMP (Graduate Entry Medical Program)... Anyway.. this will be our 18th Medical IPTS in Malaysia.... and will be added to the list....
onelove89
Dec 19 2010, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(BrachialPlexus @ Dec 19 2010, 02:27 AM) I'm conflicted; on one hand, i'm glad that Taylor's is trying hard to make medical education affordable to the masses but on the other, AAB/TER92 is HARDLY 'good', and even less so in the medical line. I reckon TER92 is a bit too low. Reminds me, I saw once, somewhere, saying:" min requirement- TER: as high as possible." QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 19 2010, 03:33 PM) Hmm... if they used 'John Hopkins University or Johns Hopkins Medicine International' as the name of the institution, it would be better... The name 'Perdana' University itself is somewhat a repellent to potential graduate-students wishing to join a GEMP (Graduate Entry Medical Program)... Anyway.. this will be our 18th Medical IPTS in Malaysia.... and will be added to the list.... well at least this is our first graduate entry med =) we should be um, proud of it? in a way? =/