58 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Life Sciences [List] Private Medical Universities in Malaysia, *MD / MBBS / MBBChBAO (Update-17/11/14)*

Visualize
post Feb 25 2009, 05:48 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(celion @ Feb 25 2009, 05:43 PM)
all right, i checked it....IMU appeared in the AVICENNA Directories which means the graduates there can apply to practice there.
but i think it is not easy to get in there... sweat.gif
Read the immigration rules also. doh.gif
limeuu
post Feb 25 2009, 05:57 PM

12,295 posts

i think the days of img (international medical graduates) getting into uk to work with relative ease is gone......and there are now considerable obstacles in the way, both in getting registration with gmc, and in actually getting a job offer, and a work visa.......

if one is serious about working there, the only reliable option is to graduate from a med school there itself, either direct entry or through imu......and then, it's only the 2 foundation years that job is assured......after that, if the immigration laws continue in the present trend, the prospect of staying on and work is also getting slimmer........

Added on February 25, 2009, 6:29 pmin any case, being in the avicenna directory just means one can apply to sit for the plab exam, not that you can automatically apply to work there......

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 25 2009, 06:29 PM
Visualize
post Feb 25 2009, 07:07 PM

557 posts

Would u happen to know the passing rate of PLAB?

limeuu: Is topical steroid cream for treatment of phimosis available in the pharmacy or any general practitioner's clinic? Someone I know suspect he's suffering from it. He's 18 by the way.
MBBS siang
post Feb 25 2009, 07:13 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 25 2009, 06:57 PM)
i think the days of img (international medical graduates) getting into uk to work with relative ease is gone......and there are now considerable obstacles in the way, both in getting registration with gmc, and in actually getting a job offer, and a work visa.......

if one is serious about working there, the only reliable option is to graduate from a med school there itself, either direct entry or through imu......and then, it's only the 2 foundation years that job is assured......after that, if the immigration laws continue in the present trend, the prospect of staying on and work is also getting slimmer........

Added on February 25, 2009, 6:29 pmin any case, being in the avicenna directory just means one can apply to sit for the plab exam, not that you can automatically apply to work there......
Graduates from aimst can take plab test or not?
limeuu
post Feb 25 2009, 07:50 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Feb 25 2009, 07:07 PM)
Would u happen to know the passing rate of PLAB?

limeuu: Is topical steroid cream for treatment of phimosis available in the pharmacy or any general practitioner's clinic? Someone I know suspect he's suffering from it. He's 18 by the way.
1. dunno.

2. topical steroids for phimosis only works for infants and small children. It is unlikely to work for adults. sunat is required...... biggrin.gif

Added on February 25, 2009, 7:52 pm
QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 25 2009, 07:13 PM)
Graduates from aimst can take plab test or not?
dunno.....their website is not specific........email them if you want to know.....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Feb 25 2009, 07:52 PM
Visualize
post Feb 25 2009, 08:00 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 25 2009, 07:50 PM)
topical steroids for phimosis only works for infants and small children. It is unlikely to work for adults. sunat is required...... biggrin.gif
sweat.gif Seriously? I helped him to check on the internet and many states that adults are also using it and are cured.

Is it available in pharmacies or must go to GP's clinic to buy the cream?

This post has been edited by Visualize: Feb 25 2009, 08:20 PM
MBBS siang
post Feb 25 2009, 08:04 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 25 2009, 08:50 PM)
1. dunno.

2. topical steroids for phimosis only works for infants and small children. It is unlikely to work for adults. sunat is required...... biggrin.gif

Added on February 25, 2009, 7:52 pm
dunno.....their website is not specific........email them if you want to know.....
okok.email already,not yet reply.

Added on February 25, 2009, 8:26 pmThis is the email from GMC,uk.For who have the same doubt with me.Hopefully,in future aimst will be in the list of medical school which is eligible for registration.haha.... rclxms.gif

Dear Mr/Ms Tan

Thank you for your email of 22 January 2009.

Primary Medical Qualifications (PMQ) awarded by Asian Institute of Medicine, Sciences and Technology, Malaysia are not currently acceptable for the purposes of applying for provisional or full registration. This means that these degrees are also not accepted for the purposes of taking the Professional and Linguistic Assessment Board (PLAB) test.

We currently recognise most, but not all, of the (PMQs) listed in the Avicenna Directory (formerly the WHO Directory of medical schools) as acceptable for the purposes of registering to practise as a doctor in the UK. You can find the directory at

http://avicenna.ku.dk/database/who_directory/

An acceptable PMQ is one which has:

* been awarded by an institution which is listed in the Avicenna Database or otherwise accepted by the GMC
* been awarded by an institution which has a physical address included in the Avicenna Directory.
* been awarded after a course of study comprising of at least 5,500 hours (or four years full time equivalent study)
* not involved a course of study undertaken wholly or substantially outside the country that awarded the PMQ
* not involved a course of study undertaken wholly or substantially by correspondence

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 25 2009, 08:26 PM
limeuu
post Feb 25 2009, 11:04 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Feb 25 2009, 08:00 PM)
sweat.gif Seriously? I helped him to check on the internet and many states that adults are also using it and are cured.

Is it available in pharmacies or must go to GP's clinic to buy the cream?
they are available in pharmacies but they are POM, and under scheduled poisons, so can only LEGALLY be dispensed under the prescription of a registered medical practitioner.......but the law has never stopped msian pharmacies from selling all kinds of scheduled poisons freely without prescriptions......... biggrin.gif

i would recommend going to see a doctor to get a proper diagnosis, rather than self medicate.......especially drugs like steroids.......

the chance of a significant phimosis being 'cured' in adulthood with steroids is very small........it depends on what one means by 'cure'....... biggrin.gif
Visualize
post Feb 25 2009, 11:43 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 25 2009, 11:04 PM)
they are available in pharmacies but they are POM, and under scheduled poisons, so can only LEGALLY be dispensed under the prescription of a registered medical practitioner.......but the law has never stopped msian pharmacies from selling all kinds of scheduled poisons freely without prescriptions......... biggrin.gif

i would recommend going to see a doctor to get a proper diagnosis, rather than self medicate.......especially drugs like steroids.......

the chance of a significant phimosis being 'cured' in adulthood with steroids is very small........it depends on what one means by 'cure'....... biggrin.gif
According to him, can only 'retract' partially even when 'flaccid'. He was like that since young and apparently, he didn't know the 'difference' until recently. biggrin.gif I'll tell him to go c a doc then. laugh.gif
hypermax
post Feb 26 2009, 12:07 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Feb 25 2009, 11:43 PM)
According to him, can only 'retract' partially even when 'flaccid'. He was like that since young and apparently, he didn't know the 'difference' until recently. biggrin.gif I'll tell him to go c a doc then.  laugh.gif
Circumcision will solve the problem in most cases. No worries, only small matter. smile.gif
Visualize
post Feb 26 2009, 12:18 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Feb 26 2009, 12:07 AM)
Circumcision will solve the problem in most cases. No worries, only small matter. smile.gif
The other day I told him so. The moment he heard sunat, it looks like the end of the world for him. sweat.gif Something about less sensitive. brows.gif Is there any other viable alternative other than sunat? Non-invasive ones.
hypermax
post Feb 26 2009, 12:24 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Feb 26 2009, 12:18 AM)
The other day I told him so. The moment he heard sunat, it looks like the end of the world for him. sweat.gif Something about less sensitive. brows.gif  Is there any other viable alternative other than sunat? Non-invasive ones.
Circumcision is the most ideal treatment for him. Dun think there's another better treatment. Perhaps you can ask THE experienced Um grad doctor here. drool.gif

BTW, circumcision is good one, can "Tahan" longer. brows.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Feb 26 2009, 12:25 AM
limeuu
post Feb 26 2009, 12:25 AM

12,295 posts

less sensitive has the side effect of therefore, more lasting.....which to some may be advantageous.....

no impact really, the fastest growing population group in the world have all been 'desensitised'.........
Visualize
post Feb 26 2009, 12:31 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 26 2009, 12:25 AM)
less sensitive has the side effect of therefore, more lasting.....which to some may be advantageous.....

no impact really, the fastest growing population group in the world have all been 'desensitised'.........
Why some? Isn't supposed to be all? tongue.gif

So there's no other alternative other than sunat? I read something about preputioplasty.

Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Feb 26 2009, 01:04 AM

1,396 posts

celion thats for twinning, 5 year mbbs as mentioned earlier is sri lanka and malaysia.

i highly doubt you can enter any other country.

there's this Singaporean ruling. if you graduate from UM you can apply to work in singapore, however if you completed your specialist training here you'll be rejected.

for PMC even if your degree is from Ireland, you're still no accepted in singapore. mainly, the clinical years matter the most. and its then and there you'll learn the art of medicine. where else the place where you've covered the science of it is not really the deciding factor.
celion
post Feb 26 2009, 02:48 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Feb 26 2009, 01:04 AM)
celion thats for twinning, 5 year mbbs as mentioned earlier is sri lanka and malaysia.

i highly doubt you can enter any other country.

there's this Singaporean ruling. if you graduate from UM you can apply to work in singapore, however if you completed your specialist training here you'll be rejected.

for PMC even if your degree is from Ireland, you're still no accepted in singapore. mainly, the clinical years matter the most. and its then and there you'll learn the art of medicine. where else the place where you've covered the science of it is not really the deciding factor.
How about Monash? Is it any better than IMU?
limeuu
post Feb 26 2009, 03:49 PM

12,295 posts

if you are referring to monash msia, it will also NOT be recognised by gmc and smc...........

although it is recognised by amc, you have no right to work in oz..........
celion
post Feb 26 2009, 06:46 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 26 2009, 03:49 PM)
if you are referring to monash msia, it will also NOT be recognised by gmc and smc...........

although it is recognised by amc, you have no right to work in oz..........
wow
than wad college/uni's mbbs recognized worldwide? (in malaysia)

This post has been edited by celion: Feb 26 2009, 06:47 PM
limeuu
post Feb 26 2009, 06:52 PM

12,295 posts

non

recognition is by individual country, there is NO qualification from any country that is 'recognised worldwide'..........

so which country are you interested to gain registration in?
celion
post Feb 26 2009, 07:02 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 26 2009, 06:52 PM)
non

recognition is by individual country, there is NO qualification from any country that is 'recognised worldwide'..........

so which country are you interested to gain registration in?
aus or nz...

58 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:28 AM