kpa, Different tyre?
the_catacombs
Dec 30 2008, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Dec 30 2008, 10:01 PM) i usually pump higher if im going on a long journey on a highway. a bit bumpy but i feel so much more smoother and my frm my observation, i consume lesser petrol but isnt that much. just that my steering is also lighter if i come back to town, i'l use the standard recommended one coz of the potholes around highway cruising - F 235 / R 220 normal town driving - F210 / R 190 i dont really do this that much coz of inconvinience. usually when im going outstation on a long trip, semangat abit. higher pressure, less rolling resistance, better high speed... but beware ur tyres might heat up and increase the air pressure inside till exploding point..
amduser
Dec 30 2008, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 30 2008, 10:46 PM) higher pressure, less rolling resistance, better high speed... but beware ur tyres might heat up and increase the air pressure inside till exploding point.. which is y the maximum pressure we can put is around 5-10psi lesser than the psi stated at the tyre there to prevent explode
SUSceo684
Dec 31 2008, 04:12 AM
wont explode so easily wan.. the sidewall rating is for max cold pressure the tyre engineered for use, not for showroom usage
got one time i saw one champion pump his stock saga LMST with 400kpa. Im waiting to use air pump also cannot believe my eyes hahahaha
wch5274
Dec 31 2008, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 31 2008, 04:12 AM) wont explode so easily wan.. the sidewall rating is for max cold pressure the tyre engineered for use, not for showroom usage got one time i saw one champion pump his stock saga LMST with 400kpa. Im waiting to use air pump also cannot believe my eyes hahahaha u should take his picture as the highest air tyre fill in the world.. kehkehkeh
the_catacombs
Dec 31 2008, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 31 2008, 04:12 AM) wont explode so easily wan.. the sidewall rating is for max cold pressure the tyre engineered for use, not for showroom usage got one time i saw one champion pump his stock saga LMST with 400kpa. Im waiting to use air pump also cannot believe my eyes hahahaha dat champion using what tyre??.... i'm amazed his tyre didnt blow when he filling up the tyres...
SUSceo684
Dec 31 2008, 01:57 PM
Sime tyre  A-star you know. Dun pray pray.
the_catacombs
Dec 31 2008, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 31 2008, 01:57 PM) Sime tyre  A-star you know. Dun pray pray. mayb he is going for top speed attack....
TScwd8769
Jan 1 2009, 08:24 AM
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 30 2008, 01:23 PM) datz why it is recommended to pump nitrogen... more stable... of coz u dont pump until max pressure la... Ya, a lot of tyre shop provide nitrogen... Added on January 1, 2009, 8:26 amWe should pump depend car type or tyre type? This post has been edited by cwd8769: Jan 1 2009, 08:26 AM
the_catacombs
Jan 1 2009, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Jan 1 2009, 08:24 AM) Added on January 1, 2009, 8:26 amWe should pump depend car type or tyre type? both... but mainly tyre type...
mysql2779
Apr 7 2012, 01:12 AM
QUOTE(moon* @ Dec 28 2008, 12:25 AM) not sure about KPA; but normally i pump around 32psi. from the pic; tat should be around 221kpa a normal 195/50;55 series max is up 50PSI only. but no body is crzy enough to put so much  when u pump 32psi into a cold tire; when it gets warm up u should be getting around 35-36psi or even higher   Regarding this cold tire and warm tire theory I read on BridgeStone website too. But I just don't get what cold and warm meant to the tire. I am driving to the petrol station to pump my tires which means they are warm , I pump more kPa right ? But in normal tires shop they pump the tires as if they are cold right ? Then how much is the exactly kPa shud add in a warm tire compared to cold ? Could it be calculated ? Does the pressure of tires affected by weight of car too ? Heavier front pump more ?
amad108
Apr 7 2012, 03:34 PM
if the temp is not that diff then u can ignore them.. but if u prepare for trackday, then the temp will go above average which could be extremely high, so for daily usage its ok to ignore the cold n warm temp for tyre pressure.. as long not exceed max tyre pressure its ok..
P/S: during trackday i put it low to get more traction especially for front tyre (FF car meh..hehe)
moon*
Apr 10 2012, 09:21 AM
woah, u re-posted up such a old pix lol...
for me, i normally only check my temp early in the morning n get it pump up to required pressure.
cos air will expand quite abit when its warm. the pressure can be 32 in the cold morning, but in the hot afternoon it can expand to about 34-35.
plus minus abit here n there, should be okay.. if u feel ur car is too bumpy/stiff reduce it abit.
amad108
Apr 11 2012, 10:31 AM
but not apply to PS3 tyre, how high i put also still felt comfort.. but the grip is there.. 195/55/15 size..
kadajawi
Apr 12 2012, 06:30 PM
The tyre heats up much more when the tyre is underinflated. Tyres are usually safe to at least 300 kpa, it should be written on there somewhere. To reduce FC, improve handling, safety (if you don't overdo it and the suspension can keep up with the lack of dampening from the tyre), wear you can put in more then recommended. To increase comfort reduce the pressure, but never ever go below what was recommended.