12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Begin Your Career As A SEAFARER, Marine Engineering, Nautical Studies,etc

TSdestroyer
post Feb 5 2009, 11:21 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(HiddenTrap @ Feb 5 2009, 09:29 PM)
Is there any chance for me to work onshore if i take Nautical Studies. or is it compulsory to work on ship.

I mean terus work onshore. No need to sail at all.
yep. you can be port superitendant or manager.

other than that, you can also join tug boat or become strait/harbour pilot. only sail for few hours and not for days. hoho.
TSdestroyer
post Feb 6 2009, 04:16 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(new~b0y @ Feb 6 2009, 02:53 AM)
About RM150 to get it done. RM100+ for the medical checkup at approved clinics, then RM50 for passport sized photographs and post order for the application forms at the Marine department.

I got mine in just half a day. Morning go for medical checkup, then get the doctor's letter, go to Marine department and submit everything. Two hours later I got my seaman card and log book.
hoho!

welcome to the thread!

which department? engine or deck?
TSdestroyer
post Feb 6 2009, 06:12 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

hrmmm...

don't know about that. since i'm only familiar with malaysian vessel.

hoho. nice job you have there. what is your opinion regarding seaman life?
TSdestroyer
post Feb 6 2009, 06:47 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

Yep!

you're true about that. not many want to sail as they get older.

that's why we have many job opportunities in this industry. because the average retirement age for seafarer is around 30-40. once the senior step down, more opening will be available.

there also many career opportunities on shore for seafarer once they're tired of sailing.
TSdestroyer
post Feb 6 2009, 08:16 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

yep!

our lifestyle is very different from normal people.

during the first two or three month of sailing, you're still happy. after that, you'll be thinking about home.

moreover, during storm. the ship will roll and pitch. seasick. sometime, during storm, you'll be thinking that you'll never go sailing again. but after a while on shore, you'll be thinking to sail again. hoho.

Added on February 7, 2009, 7:25 am1st post edited. past year oral question added. fell free to check!

*NOWADAYS, THERE ARE ALSO COMPANY SEEKING FOR MECHANICAL/MARINE ENGINEERING DEGREE GRADUATE TO DO THEIR CADETSHIP FOR 6 MONTH ONBOARD THEIR SHIP. AFTER COLLECTING SEATIME, YOU CAN TAKE THE ORAL TEST FROM MARDEP FOR CLASS 4 COC. THAT MEAN, IF YOU GRADUATE FOR EXAMPLE FROM UTM ALSO CAN GO ONBOARD SHIP. I'LL TRY TO GET MORE INFO ABOUT THIS. WILL ASK FROM MY SENIOR FOR FURTHER DETAILS. I'LL UPDATE IT LATER ON.

DURING CADET, THIS COMPANY THAT I'VE KNOWN WILL PAY USD 650. AFTER GOT CLASS 4 COC, SALARY USD3450. WORK ONBOARD FPSO. 2MONTH ON/2MONTH OFF. DURING OFF, NO PAY.

Added on February 7, 2009, 8:02 pmDefinition of Marine Engineer

Marine engineers are the members of a ship's crew that operate and maintain the propulsion and other systems on board the vessel. Marine Engineering staff also deal with the "Hotel" facilities on board, notably the sewage, lighting, air conditioning and water systems. They deal with bulk fuel transfers, and require training in firefighting and first aid, as well as in dealing with the ship's boats and other nautical tasks- especially with cargo loading/discharging gear and safety systems, though the specific cargo discharge function remains the responsibility of deck officers and deck workers.

Sometimes, they are involved in the design and construction of these complicated systems. New design is mostly included within the naval architecture or ship design. The field is closely related to mechanical engineering, although the modern engineer requires knowledge (and hands on experience) with electrical, electronic, pneumatic, hydraulic, chemistry, control engineering, naval architecture, process engineering, gas turbines and even nuclear technology on certain military vessels.

Added!

Past year question for oral test. COC class 4.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 8 2009, 04:39 AM
TSdestroyer
post Feb 8 2009, 11:04 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(froggytrade @ Feb 8 2009, 08:02 PM)
Destroyer... after I read this thread I saw that you were a matrics student before joining ALAM... do you have to pay any denda?
denda?

nope. if you quit matric before receiving any allowances given by them, you don't have to pay back. if you already receive, you'll have to pay what you've receive back to them.
TSdestroyer
post Feb 9 2009, 12:50 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(linuxskate @ Feb 9 2009, 12:29 AM)
hey destroyer which batch are u? dme? ec?

just noticed this thread xD

i was just graduated from alam last year. taking nautical studies.

for sure misc sponsored.

i quit matrix oso last time. have to pay back rm 1k, their allowance i mean. i was being there for 2 weeks only.

im 22 this year, and earning 3250 monthly basis. up to 7k with total allowances.

hope that figures can attract more students to join us ;p

fyi, most of my frens same age as me are still struggling to complete their studies with no jobs confirmation.
welcome to the thread!

another seafarer here. anybody want to ask about nautical studies can ask linuskate coz he's more expert than me.

i'm DME 25. laz year intake. I'm AET sponsored. there is no longer ec batch coz they've change 3 1/2 years prog to 3 years.

yep! luckily maritime industries are not affected much by the recession. at this time. hope it will last.

I've been introduce these sea-going career to many people as possible. because i'll be happy to see more Malaysian seafarers. we are lacking of seafarer in malaysia and worldwide.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2009, 12:52 AM
TSdestroyer
post Feb 9 2009, 01:21 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

haha.

too bad aet no LNG. heard that life onboard LNG is much more happier. clean ship!

i'll be dealing with the baddest oil.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2009, 01:21 AM
TSdestroyer
post Feb 9 2009, 02:33 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Feb 9 2009, 12:22 PM)
@destroyer, nice to see that you are helping others here.

My younger bro is sponsored by AET and is studying in ALAM. Just came back from sailing few months back in Mediterranean Sea and Gulf of Mexico. Will grad this year wink.gif

Have fun studying!
haha. no problemo. send my regards to your brother.

Actually, i've promised myself. that i'll introduced this seafaring career. because, when i was asked to go for interview and written test, i have no ideas about it. I search the net and find very little info about this career in Malaysia and how to prepare for ALAM interview and written test.

moreover, i know there are many people out there that have the same vision as me. that is to end study early and earn big $ early. so can help famly and sibling. i'm willing to sacrifice my younger years and life just for this.

seaman lyf is not as hard and boring as everybody think actually. all your hardwork is paid when you go to bank, insert ur atm card, enter ur pin, and smile. hoho.

Added on February 9, 2009, 2:35 pm
QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 9 2009, 10:53 AM)
Destroyer, I think I can't be your junior in seafarer, will stick back to where I belong now.

When I need someone to help there is. And he help me alot.

Aviation field to get license by own is hard especially EASA CAT B1&2. But I have people helping and motivating. I would like to continue.

As your salary is high enough, at the age like your senior linuxskate 22, 7K + -. I need that firgure I have to work hard now and minimum 25 years old only have 8K + -......

As you said, every jobs have it pros and cons.
It's good then cause you've been back on your track. good luck for you! later on can find someone to help me get into avation field. haha.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2009, 02:35 PM
TSdestroyer
post Feb 9 2009, 04:41 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 9 2009, 03:52 PM)
Study now for me is not easy hehe cause still fresh.

Stewardess,.... some ok some OMG>(dont want to think also)

Really Pilot earn more than engineer but is like marine will not always stay at home. engineer always at home, pilot 14days out. Marine 6 months.....

Ya, that is real. Like people who hire from other country in Mas RM60~Rm150/hour. Is that little or many? Just work 8/hrs per day with Rm60/hours for 20 days a month=RM9600....
yep! just that, pilot have more chances of travelling. actually, if you notice, different ranks have different sea-going time. it is because that they want us to collect seatime to undergo next level of COC.

if you notice, you can see that actually LAME bring more bucks than mariner. but, as you can see, they've to pay for income tax, transportation to work, meal. etc...

but if you work in Dubai, bigger bucks and no income tax.

hoho. right now, money is my 2nd concern as i'm still studying. but for linuxskate, haha! he's already earning it.

QUOTE(linuxskate @ Feb 9 2009, 04:35 PM)
hurm so u are now a cadet pilot? u are under mas or what? how much a fresh grad can earn? u graduated as first officer eh? i dunno how their ranks. hehe.

yea in marine we earn more than marine engineer. but no big different.

how much ur 4 stripes eg captain can earn a month?
btw linuxskate, have you ever heard anything about dynamic positioning officer. heard that ALAM melaka are currently conducting these course. i also heard that for senior dynamic positioning officer, they can earn up to rm 45k per month without income tax working in malaysian companies.

if you happen to know these course, wanna ask. is there any same course dynamic positioning officer for marine engineer?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2009, 04:43 PM
TSdestroyer
post Feb 9 2009, 05:01 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 9 2009, 04:57 PM)
Yeah people who in India from mas $$$ is good. But mostly come back say no good. nice with 45k permonth. USD or RMY?
RMY of coz. not much. i think LAME earn more than that.
TSdestroyer
post Feb 9 2009, 05:16 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(linuxskate @ Feb 9 2009, 05:10 PM)
oh ok ok for all that info. i thought u are a cadet pilot. sorry dude. hehe. i have some frens also from MIAT.

yeah destroyer, heard that oso for dynamic position. basically they are learning how to stabilize the oil platforms etc at sea. yes they are making big bucks. im not sure whether they open for marine engineer or not. most of the ppl taking that course is self sponsored. about a few person only for every course. have no idea actually. just paying attention to get my 1st class first and finished the contract xD
haha!

just thought that there is position like that for engineer. maybe can have dynamic positioning engineer. haha.

hoho. you're in the 10 years contract or 5 years after Class 1/captain?
TSdestroyer
post Feb 9 2009, 06:56 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(silverchain @ Feb 9 2009, 06:01 PM)
wanna ask, if we take nautical studies. What do we learned from that course? is it like how to predict whether..read the map..temperature..altitude and etc2?
How bout mechanical engineering? study abt electronics and electromagnetism like in form5?..
been thinking and wondering..wnted to choose the best for me XD i like calculations btw if it matter..
yep! if i'm not mistaken, nautical will learn about stuff that you've mention and maritime law. they have math if i'm not mistaken. but just basic math. they also learn about cargo handling. how to load cargo. how to unload. the procedure. the part that i don't like that prevent me from taking nautical is the maritime law. haha. only to learn that in engineering also need to study some of the laws.

for engineering, yes electronics and electromagnetism we will learn in electrotechnology. but juz basic stuff. for math, almost the same as add math and mod math you've learn in form 5. just a bit harder. we also learn thermodynamics. and we learn applied mechanics. which is something like advance version of physic you've learn in form 5.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2009, 06:57 PM
TSdestroyer
post Feb 9 2009, 10:33 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 9 2009, 08:38 PM)
Like after I have my license, I cound not join seafarer anymore? Cause the age problems???
errrr... i dunno about that. still can be seafarer. but not marine engineer. maybe if you got welder professional certs, you can be welder. not very much compared to marine engineer. and normally, company have age limit for those who wanted to go onboard ship. due to fitness reason.

QUOTE(silverchain @ Feb 9 2009, 09:50 PM)
woot! looks like marine engineering wud be my best choice smile.gif gotta prepared hard frm now
haha. my advice, think about it very carefully once you've passed the selection process. coz this will be ur career. you have to sail for a long tym(unless you want to pay money due to breach of contract).

like me, sometime i'm happy with my decision. sometime i think i've made a wrong decision. haha.

don't think only stupid people go to work onboard ship. in my batch, there is 12 A's student. 9 A's student.
TSdestroyer
post Feb 9 2009, 11:08 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

try to apply for politeknik ungku omar if you're above the age limit. coz they accept until 28.
TSdestroyer
post Feb 9 2009, 11:36 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(Lestat @ Feb 9 2009, 11:08 PM)
is there temporary kind of jobs available in this area? like a few days/weeks in sea, moderate pay, low qualifications (in term of less paper work/requirement just to be on ship). plan to introduce my lil bro to give a try. seaman book seems easy to get, what a seaman book holder can do?
not only seaman book. but you also need international passport, modular courses certs(this is the expensive one).

seaman book just to show as evidence when you want to seat for higher level of COC classes and test. as a proof that you've enough seatime.
TSdestroyer
post Feb 9 2009, 11:56 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(Lestat @ Feb 9 2009, 11:50 PM)
ok, thx destroyer, linuxskate.
passport, of course, unavoidable.. about modular course, which place carry it out? ALAM? what is the rough estimate cost / number of modules enough to enable one to be on ship?

plan to get rid of my bro and ask to pay my money back later tongue.gif
my advice, better search for job before doing all this stuff. coz it'll be expensive and will be waste in case your brother cannot find the job.

may i suggest tanker pacific for u to search job for ur bro. they have their website and online job application.

yep. can do it in ALAM. around 2 weeks for basic and another 2 weeks for advance.

basic around 3k.
advance i'm not sure about this.

what is qualification/academic achievement/certs that ur brother holding? and what is his ages?
TSdestroyer
post Feb 10 2009, 12:11 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(hakunamatata @ Feb 10 2009, 12:01 AM)
hi, may i ask if i finished the diploma programme and search for cadetship to do OJT and will be hired as fresh grad with 4-5k salary?

Approximately how long does it takes to finish the course and become a seafarer?
if you enter alam, you're high probability you're sponsored by shipping companies. in fact, 90% are sponsored by companies. the other 10% is sponsored by felda and JPA. for petronas sponsored, they'll be working with MISC.

for cadetship. only little pay. if i'm not mistaken. rm680 for MISC and usd200 for AET.

yep! not 4-5k. coz linuxskate juz come back from his 1st voyage. it is around rm7k
TSdestroyer
post Feb 10 2009, 12:29 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(hakunamatata @ Feb 10 2009, 12:20 AM)
wow.. the salary is much higher compare to LAE..Approximately how long does it takes to finish the course and become a seafarer? Any other university proviede this courses beside ALAM?

Most student in ALAM is malay right? so as seafarer?
nope! LAE is higher provided that they work outside malaysia. for starting, they're higher than us. but they start working later than us. if you enter alam

by the age of 18, you'll work by the age of 22, at that time you've already earn rm7k per month. when you're 25(age when normally LAE start

working), provided you past all the test and promoted, you'll earn rm13-15k per month. but remember this. you don't have to pay income tax for being

seafarer. during working, meal provided, no need transportation to go to work. thus, we save more money.

in ALAM, we have balance number of student here. majority is malays and indians. chinese not mush since not many of them apply for this course. but

for seafarer, most were foreigner. we hae small number of malaysian seafarer.

3 years is needed to finish diploma. after grad, company give around 2-3 month of rest before you start working.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 10 2009, 12:36 AM
TSdestroyer
post Feb 10 2009, 12:36 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(hakunamatata @ Feb 10 2009, 12:33 AM)
We need good eyesight (without optical aid) to become a seafarer?
that is for deck side(nautical). for engine side(engineering), can wear spectacles.

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0444sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:33 AM