Call of Duty : Modern Warfare 2, Autumn '09

Cheesenium
post Nov 2 2009, 02:45 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Pro-MX @ Nov 2 2009, 02:26 PM)
no offense... taking other people idea's and making another game and with only 1 map to offer....for 30 USD srsly? i could buy a full game with storyline and whatnot just by adding a little bit more money
Still,DotA is based on one map all these while.People who play DotA for years are still sticking to one map.

Also,most of the time,gamers tend to stick to one map for almost every game.

I dont see whats wrong with getting HoN.
Cheesenium
post Nov 2 2009, 05:08 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(-Torrz @ Nov 2 2009, 05:03 PM)
You can get windows 7 for only AUS49.95 by using your univeristy's email. It's an offer you cannot miss!

http://www.microsoft.com/australia/windows...nt-upgrade.aspx

http://www.microsoft.com/student/discounts/itsnotcheating/
And to the guy saying HoN has only one map - clearly hasnt play the beta version but yet makes claim it's not worth it. roflmao
I know,and im getting soon. biggrin.gif

HoN isnt just one map.It's what DotA always is,with improvements on what is lacking.
Cheesenium
post Nov 2 2009, 08:06 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 2 2009, 07:40 PM)
You can get Win 7 Pro free if your university has MSDNAA
http://www.msdnaa.net/search/schoolsearchIntl.aspx

btw, any idea whether 8600GT with T8300 2.4GHz will run MW2 smoothly?
My uni is under MSDNAA but they only give it for free to CSE students.

Just forget about this.Get something else like L4D2,Dragon Age(probably kill our laptops though),Torchlight(awesome,runs on max!!!),or Borderland(probably medium or high).

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Nov 2 2009, 08:44 PM
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2009, 07:39 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Nov 2 2009, 08:42 PM)
After browsing through this thread I believe MW2 is going to be full of fail too.

And look, there is a reason they are taking this approach as opposed to something else.

Franchises like Modern Warfare are also meant to function as anglo-american propaganda, to legitimise their wars of conquest and hegemony and covert operations in entire cultures deemed as "evil".

Just look at the gameplay video above. They actually fed us a load of tripe from a fictional general, with platitudes like "what we do here affects us there" ("here"? "there"? WHERE???, and WHAT?), and "victory is written by the winners" and a whole bunch of other bullshit.

Bottomline, America doesn't have any real legitimacy to be in Afghanistan, propaganda like in Modern Warfare 2 helps to obfuscate that simple FACT with blind patriotism and jingoism.

And what do you need to do to impregnate weak minds with propaganda? You got to keep churning out FRESH propaganda often enough so that it seeps into consciousness.
The reason that it's a fail game in the making isnt because it's a propaganda game,it's because of the whole list of other wrong decisions made by IW.

CoD series have always been portraying the Allied or USA/UK side.I dont see whats wrong with portraying them,as if they want to put you in the shoes of a terrorist,IW will probably in trouble.Like the civillian shooting scene in MW2 that was reported on CNN and the Australian government is planning to ban it.They wont want that to happen,as it's lost of sales to them.

I have been playing the single player campaigns so far and i dont even feel that it's a propaganda of Americans.There are movies out there that is far worse than CoD's campaign.CoD's campaign is always just actions or epic battles.It was never meant to show how powerful are Americans.

Besides,the Americans lost badly in CoD4 due to the nuclear strike.If it's a propaganda on how powerful are Americans,IW wont have made Americans lost in the campaign and the SAS are the ones that "win" the war in the end.The Americans part was just like 1/4 of the campaign,the rest were pretty much about Soap in SAS.MW2 is probably gonna be like that too.

I dont remember seeing anything like that being said by some fictional general.

QUOTE(skippro @ Nov 2 2009, 10:36 PM)
i so want to buy this but with the mp fiasco, i will just wait for the reviews and see how it goes b4 i spend the rm200.00.
The MP is gonna disappoint,thats for sure.

QUOTE(Luftwacko @ Nov 3 2009, 02:10 AM)

wtf. They have nukes now? This is soooo not gonna look good. ==
What????

Thats pretty much game breaking.Still,how often you get 25 kill streaks?

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Nov 3 2009, 03:15 AM)
This game has everything to do with politics.

Attempting to turn a blind eye to its political and propagandic aspects, only means that you willingly collude to subject yourself to it unquestioningly.
No,there isnt.

This is not a politic game.

Have you ever played a CoD campaign?

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Nov 3 2009, 07:43 AM
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2009, 09:21 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Nov 3 2009, 08:48 AM)
Thank you kind sir, for enlightening me on how I am supposed to be enjoying my own hobby. Can I have you on speed dial so that you can tell me what to think for everything else whenever I need to?

I'll be waiting, for am I am an empty vessel now because of you. My life has lost all meaning because I was living a lie.

Much appreciated.
So,does that mean we enjoyed our hobby wrongly? sad.gif
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2009, 09:36 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Nov 3 2009, 09:27 AM)
Yes, good man, hurry before its too late! Submit to Dickson!
OMG,that means also i have been playing games on a propaganda on Dark Chaos Gods,Germans,and whole long list of them.

Do you want me to list them out?
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2009, 09:46 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 3 2009, 09:42 AM)
Meh, I can't even remember storyline of the games I played last week.

Or the movies, I watched on the weekends.
I actually still remember the storyline of the movies or games that i enjoyed a lot,like CoD4,GoW,Fight Club and TDK
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2009, 11:05 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Nov 3 2009, 10:57 AM)
Noez, but it r subliminally etched into our lesser minds, for the great USA propaganda machine that is IW shall soon have our souls for breakfast.

Enter Bobby Kotick, champion and daemon-prince to be of Tzeentch, the Lord of Change.

/endwarhammer.
*gasps

It was Tzeetch behind this all the whole. ohmy.gif

QUOTE(mrhulk @ Nov 3 2009, 10:57 AM)
if we can play as terrorist in COD:MW2, maybe in the next sequel of COD we have chance play as a SS nazi soldier.

For the Fatherland....  biggrin.gif
I say it will never happen.

German propaganda is a problem while making a German campaign.Without them,it feels empty.If you put too much,it will be a problem,as it offends Germans etc.I think thats the reason why most,not all game developers are reluctant of putting a German campaign.

Relic did say that it was a problem that they were designing OF's Operation Market Garden.It was pretty decent,though.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Nov 3 2009, 11:06 AM
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2009, 11:29 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Luftwacko @ Nov 3 2009, 11:21 AM)
More often than I get 30.

Now the MP is just sad. Everything will end in 25 streak. No more bragging on who has the highest killstreak anymore.  sad.gif
Well,this game isnt really designed for MP anyway.Considering what they have done to the MP,note that Im not talking just about dedicated servers alone,even some of the MP perks,guns,attachments decision seems weird to me.Like i heard you only get AK-47 on Level 70,based on some rumor.WTH???Also on the post release plans where they will charge you for 3 maps.

This aint the CoD we used to love,at least for the MP side.Specs Ops seems like a good addition,though which will appeal the casual market.

Even A130 is overkill for such a small scale infantry warfare.Now,they gonna put a nuke.

If it's in a battlefield game,it wont be that bad as you can counter it with jets.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Nov 3 2009, 11:29 AM
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2009, 11:42 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

You are still technically a good guy,even as terrorist because you are an undercover agent.
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2009, 11:47 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Luftwacko @ Nov 3 2009, 11:46 AM)
hmmm.... apparently, there are chickens in marketplaces just like those in CS. Except that they're caged and have better death animation....

DAMN YOU IW! STOP TEMPTING ME TO PURCHASE THE GAME >.<
Still not gonna buy this,unless they add dedicated servers.
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2009, 11:54 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(syNcv9 @ Nov 3 2009, 11:50 AM)
Lol, you gonna nuke 5-7 enemies only in MP.
Yes,and it's pointless.

It's like taking a C4 to blow up the whole house just to kill an ant when your finger alone is more than enough to kill it.
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2009, 05:50 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Nov 3 2009, 05:40 PM)
Why do you need me to tell you what to think? Are you some sort of communist?

But more importantly, why does my assertions provoke such strong emotions from you?

Cod4 IS propaganda. Those of you who say otherwise, say so merely because you are disturbed by that reality and cannot reconcile your hobby with it.

ROFL!
Tell me which part of the game is a propaganda? Because there is Americans? The Americans are only appear in 1/4 of the whole game and IW wrote the story with a nuke wiping up thousands of American troops.If they are really spreading American propaganda,wont they make them uber powerful till even 10 nukes cant even kill a single men,rather than killing all of them,including the character you play.

CoD4's campaign is pretty much on Soap,a SAS,not a US Marine.I believe MW2 is gonna be the same.

And,have you even played CoD4's campaign? Or you just merely look at some videos,then,saw some American soldiers shooting some middle east dudes? Then,just go:"OMG,this is a propaganda game!!!!!". Or just because you are imagining that it is a propaganda.

I finished it twice,i dont even recall any propaganda in the game.The whole game is just full of action,like a brainless action movie.

Besides,it's just a game that is meant to be enjoyed.Not worry about whether that it is an American propaganda or not.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Nov 3 2009, 05:57 PM
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2009, 06:11 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Nov 3 2009, 05:58 PM)
I did not say that MW2 fails because it is a propaganda game either.

I merely asserted that these decisions were made to also fulfil better a propaganda objective.
Any of the CoD game was never a propaganda game.

If you want to talk about propaganda,some of the Tom Clancy's games are propaganda.HAWX is full of this.

A propaganda objective is not necessarily to show strength, might or omnipotence.
If a propaganda does not show strength of a nation,whats the point of it then?

To show people are pathetic are Americans? Thats counter productive.

Well, I was referring to the in-game voiceover in that video preview of MW2 above.
You clearly have no idea whats this game is on.The voice overs are the russian terrorist talking about a revenge on the Americans for invading middle east in the first game.

It's clear that you never played any CoD games and just jump in to assume it's a propaganda game.

How do you say that this is not a political game when this is a game about international politics - from a certain point of view - and politics itself determines the story of the game?
Because it was always meant to be a game that shows the horrors of war(shown by the nuke strike) since CoD1.It was never meant to spread whoever propaganda.

It just borrows the idea from international politics and make a game that is about a story of a few soldiers.

Added on November 3, 2009, 6:14 pm
QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Nov 3 2009, 06:03 PM)
Does propaganda necessarily have to entail the portrayal of superhuman invincible American soldiers?
If not,what is it for then?

I can tell you which parts of the storyline are propaganda, but you seem fixated on the idea that propaganda = portrayals of might and power.
Yes I have played the game.

But I have to ask you also. Do you have the ability to perceive propaganda in news items, political speeches and storylines?

Are you able to understand themes and messages and also the moral of a story, news item, as well as understand what it is trying to appeal to?

Because if you can't, and have never had the ability, I would understand your position.
Tell me then,which part of the game is full of propaganda.

Yes,i can.

Brainless action movies, like the Rambo franchise? You would be surprised at how much brains some "brainless" movies actually have.
Rambo is full of American propaganda.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Nov 3 2009, 06:14 PM
Cheesenium
post Nov 3 2009, 06:35 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Nov 3 2009, 06:27 PM)
I agree that Tom Clancy is propaganda. Did you also know that a lot of his novels are ghost written, and that he has ties with well placed and highly connected people and institutions?
Thats why i never played any Tom Clancy games till HAWX.

Propaganda can be used to achieve a variety of purposes, such as the dehumanisation of the "enemy", or to prepare people to accept losses, and to further indoctrinate people into unquestioning the cassus belli.
CoD does none of these.

Actually I saw nothing pathetic about that nuclear scene. Surviving nuclear blasts in close proximity is quite frankly beyond reasonable expectations.

But the true purpose of that scene is to reinforce a sense of fear and insecurity over fictional nuclear weapons in the hands of terrorists in order to legitimise Anglo-American involvement even a times where such weapons of mass destructions in fact do not exist.

Such as in Iraq, such as for Pakistan, such as in Belarus, such as in Iran, in the past, and right now.

Nuclear armed terrorists are a bogeyman that people want you to believe is real.
Nope.

It's just part of what CoD franchise have been doing - horrors of war.

The intention of this game has never been to depict the horror of war.
It is,the first CoD started out with telling a tale of an American paratrooper that is dropped in Normandy,if im not wrong.

It's always about the horrors of war.

We agree again.
I dont see that MW1 has anything much to do with Rambo in terms of propaganda.
Cheesenium
post Nov 4 2009, 11:40 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(wanvadder @ Nov 4 2009, 12:50 AM)
Rough spoiler for MW2 storyline received.

What the hell 5 hours and no dedicated servers.

QUOTE(Voxe @ Nov 4 2009, 02:48 AM)
But seriously, RM219 is console pricing and with a short singleplayer and a lousy multiplayer, it will almost certain to be a failure.
It is a failure.

It's very sad to see how the game end up now.Complete piece of crap.

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Nov 4 2009, 09:17 AM)
They never had the luxury of dedi servers, have they?
They had.

BFBC1 had dedicated servers for both 360 and PS3.

QUOTE(AdamNg @ Nov 4 2009, 09:37 AM)
I think so. But why gamers still want to buy it? It show people don't care about dedi servers & price as long it's a good game.
It's because of hype.

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Nov 4 2009, 09:51 AM)
that's why i said consoles are casual gamers. and they do not have the community as united and as large as PC. they play and forget.
Thats true.

They always play and forget,while some PC gamers tend to stick to the same game for years.

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Nov 4 2009, 10:17 AM)
And to quote another guy, he doesn't mind the hefty price tag, its the lack of dedi support that bugs him. I'm seconding that, seeing how i was hooked onto MW from the day i got it till today, didn't spend on other games throughout the year.
Thats what bugs me too.

If it comes with dedicated servers and modding,i would have still buy this game.
Cheesenium
post Nov 4 2009, 01:15 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(masterz_man @ Nov 4 2009, 11:49 AM)
Highlights:

01:24 xxTex
Can explain how IW.net works for the PC platform?
01:26 Mackey-IW
PC has no common provider of matchmaking like on xbox360, so to have match making on the PC we had to create IW.Net, kind of similar to the match making networks created for RTS games on PC. This was not a trivial undertaking, although it's understandable that these days consumers may take match match making for granted.

So,thats why we get IWNet?

The same system used by RTS suxs a lot.

01:32 Josh111
PC Question... What will the max amount of players per map be for PC multiplayer on IW.net
01:32 Vince-IW
9v9

02:25 GeneralClean
So how can you justify 9 vs 9 at the most on PC when we had 32 vs 32 in COD4?
02:25 Aaron-GS
Please keep in mind that it may take a few minutes for the developers to answer your questions. To help them out, please ask short, concise questions and try to refrain from asking multiple-part questions to be fair to the other participants.
02:26 Mackey-IW
The CoD4 maps were not balanced for 32vs32. In MW2 the entire experience is carefully balanced for a smaller range of players.

Epic failure.

01:42 xxTex
What are the types of features that IW.net offers for PC players?
01:42 Mackey-IW
The ability to quickly and easily find a good multiplayer game. We're also able to host your rank and create-a-class online so any PC you log in with will be ready for you.

Ok,didnt Steam able to do that too,with Steam Cloud and in-game save?

02:03 TheNinthAxis
Is there lean in PC multiplayer.
02:03 Vince-IW
No.

Disappointing,even lean isnt in the game.Reason?

02:34 zach426
What was your guy's logic behind removing the lean feature for PC, a feature that was a mainstay from all of your previous call of duty titles?
02:34 Mackey-IW
The game is not balanced for lean.

02:05 Axen Please explain how a 9v9 match is a multiplayer experience? I'd have more fun serving lunch at a local nursing home.
02:05 Vince-IW
Sounds like are a very compassionate and giving person. I hope the people at the nursing home appreciate you.

02:09 Porschy
Will you guys ever rethink about making a possible dedicated server patch after the initial launch? BTW I LOVE U GUYS <3
02:09 Vince-IW
We feel the PC game is great in it's current form. We put a lot of work into IWnet in an effort to make the PC experience better for our users. If there is a need for somthing more in the future we will address as needed.

02:06 TRU-Jennifer
Are you considering dedicated servers for the PC gamer in the near future?
02:07 Mackey-IW
Our main focus right now is on making sure the game will work well when it is released (on all platforms).

They are avoiding some of those PC MP questions,clearly.There are a few questions that they just ignore.

I guess we'll never see a dedicated servers in MW2 in the future.

02:13 Stringarray
Will IW ever consider developing games on the PC to support dedicated servers, be it MW2 patches or future endeavors? Just curious if dedicated servers are on the radar anymore.
02:13 Mackey-IW
Our goal is to provide the best experience for our users, so nothing is ever "off the table". We are always evaluating our options.

They should have known that P2P isnt the best experience in the first place.Still there is a little hope that rethink their decision with IWNet.

02:21 Futurefighter
How do you plan to appeal to professional pc gaming leagues like CAL and CEVO with IW.net?
02:21 Vince-IW
I guess we'll have to talk to them and see what they would need. We would love to work something out.

A bit on competitive side.

02:56 LaGgY_42o
What kinds of pings did you get during your IWNet testing and what do you say is an acceptable ping?
02:56 Mackey-IW
I've been playing mainly with around 100ms ping and it was great.

Ping on IWNet.

100 ping,really?
Cheesenium
post Nov 4 2009, 01:32 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Yeah,seems like it,with all the death streaks like martyrdom,health regen(really?),and copy cat.

Guess the rumor of 4 sniper rifles is true.None of them are bolt action.

Or it could be using really optimised codes like GFWL where even 800 ping,it's still feel smooth.

Still a dedicated server is still much better.
Cheesenium
post Nov 4 2009, 02:19 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Luftwacko @ Nov 4 2009, 02:08 PM)
800ms and still feel smooth, still doesn't avoid the fact that your shots will register 0.8 seconds late.

They emphasized so much on balance. But how is 100ms considered "balance"?

P2P gaming is epic fail. Anyone of you who'd tried playing on flying spaghetti monster/Hamachi would know it sucks. Badly. Heck, even trying to play cod4 in Blitzone Sri Petaling against a host in Damansara feels laggy.
Implementing stuff like death streaks,AC130,Nuke Strike,Sentry Guns on a 9v9 match is considered balanced? I really doubt so.Looks more like it's fun to watch than balanced.Pretty much a play for 2 weeks and forget game.

P2P is always epic fail,even with my experience in DoW2 and other RTS.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Nov 4 2009, 02:21 PM
Cheesenium
post Nov 4 2009, 02:54 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Nov 4 2009, 02:39 PM)
Well, all the Call of Duty games had always had kill streak rewards. It was kinda their "thing"... Only in Modern Warfare was it escalated to new heights. The whole AC130, Nukes, etc. is just further escalation of their concept.
Yes,escalating from the previous CoD is pretty much what they have been doing to CoD series all these while.Like MW1's single attachment to the current duo attachment in MW2.Thats a great addition.

Still,dont you think that things like AC130, Nukes are a bit over kill for such a small scale combat? Thats a 9v9 combat scale.

The death strikes seems like it's meant to keep casual players happy than pleasing hardcore players.

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ Nov 4 2009, 02:42 PM)
Developers arent trying to be greedy.They are trying to feed themselves and survive in this world while making games for people. biggrin.gif
To be honest,they dont seem like doing that with MW2,and with Kotick in the office.

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:08 AM