Facial Skin Care, discussions, recommendations and reviews

jonny4
post Apr 5 2011, 06:33 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Apr 5 2011, 06:30 PM)
hmm thanks for your advice, never tried them before, do they sell those in Watson's, Guardian or anyother pharmacies?
pharmacies do sell but the prob is these BB creams come in different colours...each brand usually produce 1-2 colours. Some make u look ghostly white n some r too yellow haha..very hard to get one that matches ur skin tone. The prospect of trying the tester to see if the colour matches is scary for me. But in the end have to admit that BB cream is makeup haha.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Apr 5 2011, 06:35 PM
jonny4
post Apr 5 2011, 07:29 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Apr 5 2011, 07:10 PM)
what's BB Cream? is it also a BP product? cuz if its make-up then I scared make-up might cause skin impurities which can lead to pimple/acne..

oxy cover abit more expensive than Oxy10.. and Ya its also 10%BP but I only use VERY little(cuz I dap it on the red/scar area to make them less visible)
http://www.myfashionasia.com/2008/08/what-is-bb-cream.html

http://mrmfashion.blogspot.com/2009/01/ble...balm-cream.html

no BP
jonny4
post Apr 5 2011, 08:42 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Apr 5 2011, 08:29 PM)
thanks for links..
whats the price range? It seems quite costly, around RM60~RM70 for 40ml?
yea that's the price range. some can even go up to RM100+

but u wont need much so 40ml will last a few months.
jonny4
post Apr 5 2011, 09:39 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(twho @ Apr 5 2011, 08:50 PM)
can it be applied on a fresh pimple? or is it only used when it is healed?
?? BB cream ??

it doesn't so much for pimples fresh or healed. it's make up basically that covers the blemish. Some BB creams have lightening ingredients tho.
jonny4
post Apr 6 2011, 03:38 PM

1,974 posts

I read that the Kanebo Freshel White C BB Cream is not bad. RM60 for 50ml. I saw at Watsons d other day.
jonny4
post Apr 6 2011, 07:29 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Apr 6 2011, 07:24 PM)
Are BB creams similar to foundation/concealer?
yup almost same thing but BB creams usually come with sunscreen, whitening and moisturizing ingredients.
jonny4
post Apr 6 2011, 07:40 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Apr 6 2011, 07:31 PM)
Now I see smile.gif . Better and easy to use.
Yea in a way but I don't think the sunscreen in BB creams is very stable n dun offer sufficient protection.

Finding a BB cream that matches ur skin colour is HARD.
jonny4
post Apr 6 2011, 09:18 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Apr 6 2011, 09:08 PM)
Where did you find BB creams? In pharmacy? 
I think you could try some brands like Bobbi Brown, Benefit
I'm not sure whether they have BB creams actually lol.......
Pharmacies, Koreans beauty shops, even the Western brands have a BB type cream.
jonny4
post Apr 7 2011, 06:08 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Apr 7 2011, 05:40 PM)
Do any of you guys go for facials like once a month?
Nope.

My general impression is that those ppl working at facial centers r evil. They criticize, scold n insult u so that u will be inclined to buy more of their products or come 4 more facials. I got this impression fr de various blogs i read.
jonny4
post Apr 7 2011, 10:35 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Apr 7 2011, 09:47 PM)
Haha you're right, I was just curious since a few of my friends who went for facials twice a month still has imperfect faces
By using the proper products with the right concentration of ingredients u can get the same effect of a facial.

Aspirin mask is one of them. effective n cheap thumbup.gif
jonny4
post Apr 8 2011, 07:41 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Apr 8 2011, 07:36 PM)
Does this apply to 128 Faubourg?
Can't recall...just Google it and there shud be some reviews.
jonny4
post Apr 9 2011, 05:41 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Reimao @ Apr 9 2011, 12:32 PM)
Hey guys, need some help here.

Im currently using Avene cleanser, just started using it, and also the thermal water as a substitute for toner.

I was wondering whether to get a toner since i kinda need to tighten my pores. I was thinking of getting the lotion/cream to rid off black heads and white heads, since i do have lots of black heads on my nose biggrin.gif

So should i get the toner or the blackhead remover-thingy first?

thanx  in advance guys smile.gif
Toners r really optional. Thermal water shud be good enuf la as a toner. Try using a clay mask/aspirin mask 2 times a week to get rid/prevent black heads.

Added on April 9, 2011, 5:44 pm
QUOTE(twho @ Apr 9 2011, 04:01 PM)
Why is it that those brands like Garnier for men, olay for men or even gilette mostly comes with cleanser and moisturizers only without an option for pore tightening toners?

Any good toners to recommend. Currently using garnier for men range cleanser.
Coz toners r optional n can always be skipped. If ur skip is really oily then u could add in a toner to ur skin care routine.

Added on April 9, 2011, 5:46 pm
QUOTE(nicdanic @ Apr 8 2011, 12:12 AM)
BTW, i would like to share my own experience. I do have many pimples on my face and i tend to scratch it when i was young.maybe like 15-16.then I bought the Skin Solution + O2 products and I used like 16-18.Then I totally stop using this product when I feel this product contains high chemical ingredients especially the skin solution that contains 5% of benzoyl peroxide. and even dyed a few of my clothes punya colour. Then, I start to realized what I just used from the past. 

So,I moved to dermalogica,skin food,simple,st ives,and now I am using Garnier for men.I start to feel dry after washing my face using this. I even used the Hada Labo moisturing lotion. I still wonder.Should I stop using the garnier immediately while waiting for me to finish using it and buy another product. It seems like It's hard for me to decide after using so many products. Not so sure about the other expensive products. Any suggestions for me??
Other than the Hada Labo lotion do u use any other kind of moisturizing product daily ?

This post has been edited by jonny4: Apr 9 2011, 05:46 PM
jonny4
post Apr 9 2011, 10:51 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Apr 9 2011, 10:02 PM)
Hi all,

Actually my face started to have this red patches and marks after the pimples were gone a few years ago, and I also had seriously dry skin problem back then too. I didn't know what it was, but I went to the pharmacist today, the girl said that there were pimple scars. I was quite shocked as I never touched those pimples before, how come got scars? Guys I need some advice please!
If it ain't too bad just leave it and it will go away on it's own.

I bet u dun use sunscreen thats y even after a few yrs the scars r still there. U can get many cheap light sunscreens from pharmacies.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Apr 9 2011, 10:53 PM
jonny4
post Apr 10 2011, 09:28 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Apr 9 2011, 11:47 PM)
Its not that bad, but the thing is, it already been there for 2 years. Yeah I don't use sunscreen, so what do I do now?
Use sunscreen daily to stop the scars fr gettin deeper n darker.

Use a whitening serum to help fade the scars.

Added on April 10, 2011, 9:31 am
QUOTE(nkw1987 @ Apr 10 2011, 02:19 AM)
juz bought hadolabo facial cleanser yesterday...feel tight n uncomfortable after using it.. feel regret...any1 of u have the same exp??? the oni facial form i use b4 and neva feel uncomfortable is simple...so  guess my face is a sensitive one. but my pores are big. can recommend any toner to tighten pores for sensitive skin? i tried simple toner and my face ultra oily the next day when wake up.
Use a moisturizer after cleansing n the tight feeling will go away faster.

Your skin is already sensitive so there is no need to use a toner. If u still want to use one...try the Avene THermal Spring Water Spray as a toner. After cleansing spray a bit over face, leave for 30 seconds to 1 minute n pat dry with hands.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Apr 10 2011, 09:31 AM
jonny4
post Apr 10 2011, 11:10 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Apr 10 2011, 10:34 AM)
I think hadalabo is known for its moisturizer
??????

wat r u referring to ?

This post has been edited by jonny4: Apr 10 2011, 11:12 AM
jonny4
post Apr 10 2011, 04:09 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Apr 10 2011, 02:57 PM)
Still have not found my answer,
Can pimples leave scar even when I didn't touch them at all?
definitely of course the scarring is much more minimal. the scarring will take longer to fade if u r in the sun a lot without sunscreen.

Also depends on the severity of your acne n ur overall skin health.

The way u take care of ur face also plays a role. If u use proper products them the scarring will be less severe.

The type of acne medication u apply also is a factor. Benzoyl peroxide is very effective against acne but tends to leave dark marks after the pimple has subsided.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Apr 10 2011, 04:16 PM
jonny4
post Apr 10 2011, 08:09 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Apr 10 2011, 07:46 PM)
this
Ok.

I've tried most of their products. Didn't do much for me. Too simple.
jonny4
post Apr 10 2011, 10:11 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Xiia0Ban @ Apr 10 2011, 09:41 PM)
How about sebamed anti pimple gel?
I cannot find it's ingredient in the package.
Does it contain Benzoyl Peroxide?
http://www.cosmetic-ingredients.net/produc...tment&brand=102

which one u using ?

both seem to be more for calming the pimple rather than treating it.
jonny4
post Apr 11 2011, 12:29 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Xiia0Ban @ Apr 10 2011, 10:50 PM)
The bottom 1.
I prefer treating it instead of calming. sweat.gif
Kiehl's Dermatologist Solutions has a pretty good pimple cream. but it's pretty pricey...RM110 for 30ml. if its within ur budget u can try that. there r cheaper equivalent products at pharmacies but the finish is horrible...sticky n shiny. Kiehl's when dry is non sticky n shiny..dats y i recommend it.
jonny4
post Apr 11 2011, 05:30 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Xiia0Ban @ Apr 11 2011, 03:07 PM)
Is there any other brand you recommend?
Im still a secondary student and i cannot afford that price.
I don't mind it is sticky or shiny, i will only use pimple cream before sleep.
U could try Garnier or Clean and Clear. But they r mostly effective for less serious acne.

So far I find Benzoyl Peroxide to be the most effective over the counter acne medication.

29 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0445sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:04 PM