DENON AVR Discussion Thread, Lets find more about DENON Brand

robinlim
post Aug 14 2009, 11:07 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Aug 14 2009, 10:39 AM)
Meaning for you, Denon gives you better performance?
not to say better performance
it's just that denon can give me the oomph i want for movies watching
robinlim
post Aug 14 2009, 11:12 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 14 2009, 10:57 AM)
you really cant take the yammy (older generation) to compare with the newer generation of Denon
the new range of yammy really excel in all areas,

But the Finale is.... each and every model of AVR have their own unique features and distinctive presentation
"Its a matter what kinda taste suits you more"
I've auditioned the yammy 3 series before
and compared it with denon
i even compared them with marantz
the only one i've not auditioned before is onkyo

well, i ended up with denon due to the reason i mentioned above
u also said "Its a matter what kinda taste suits you more" mah
that's what i'm trying to point out lar smile.gif

robinlim
post Aug 14 2009, 11:14 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Aug 14 2009, 11:07 AM)
Jialat, my office quarantine liao. Now at home goyang.
1 week off?
fai fai ask ur director to sell u his 2809
then u can use this 1 week to watch BDs with 2809 drool.gif
robinlim
post Aug 14 2009, 01:48 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Aug 14 2009, 12:22 PM)
Hopefully is just Denon 4310 fever.  innocent.gif
not ur director's 2809 ah? tongue.gif

robinlim
post Aug 15 2009, 12:29 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(cloud4822 @ Aug 14 2009, 11:26 PM)
What's wrong with the statement??
This is Denon Thread ma.... Don be so sensitive la........
not to say sensitive
just felt that ur statement a bit misleading
as if 'denon' is the one for all

anyway, i'm also a happy denon user icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by robinlim: Aug 15 2009, 12:29 AM
robinlim
post Aug 17 2009, 09:16 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 17 2009, 08:48 AM)
For all those who are looking at the new Denon series, consider starting from the 2310 onwards since it has the renowned ABT2010 chipset. If u r using for upscaling and deinterlacing, its pretty darned good. The 1910 only has the ABT1030 chip that is not that great.

Denons move to ABT is definately a step in the right direction compared to their older alliance with DCDI (Faroudja).
is the difference between ABT2010 and DCDI Faroudja very significant?
am using the DCDI and the result is much better than before with the LCD doing its upscale job hmm.gif
robinlim
post Aug 17 2009, 01:09 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 17 2009, 09:52 AM)
It depends a lot on your screen size as well. I believe if ur display is below 50in it is difficult to make out the differnces. Will u see the difference? Yes if u look carefully. DCDi is still a good chip. Its just that it is meant as a entry level whereas ABT2010 is a slightly higher end chip.
yeah, my display is below 50'
means i'll have to change my avr as well if i were to upgrade my display in order to get better upscaling cry.gif
robinlim
post Aug 25 2009, 09:37 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Aug 25 2009, 09:17 AM)
FYI, today STAR newspaper advertise the new Denon AVR series with introductory price.

AVR-4310 = rm9500
AVR-3310 = rm6990
AVR-2310 = rm4699
AVR-1910 = RM2999
AVR-1610 = 2155

What are the major different between 1909 and 1910? Thks
The prices are ridiculously expensive shocking.gif shakehead.gif

Added on August 25, 2009, 9:38 am
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Aug 25 2009, 09:34 AM)
One major difference that I know of is the upscaling/deinterlacing chip. 1910 moved to ABT 1030 while the older 1909 was DCDi Faroudja. Also I believe there might be some new Dolby PLIIz codecs.
With additional HDMI inputs as well smile.gif

This post has been edited by robinlim: Aug 25 2009, 09:38 AM
robinlim
post Aug 27 2009, 04:47 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

Denon Lowyat.net Owner List

1. xrossf1re - Denon 3808
2. dayalan86 - Denon 1909
3. choontoy - Denon 2309
4. ronaldjoe - Denon 2309
5. kianwee - Denon 2809 & 1909
6. attentional - Denon 1910
7. robinlim - Denon 2809

QUOTE(kianwee @ Aug 27 2009, 04:28 PM)
Yup. nod.gif

RM2k with additional 5 blu-ray titles. Not bad huh?
additional 5 blu-ray titles + 2809 all together 2k? drool.gif
robinlim
post Aug 30 2009, 10:34 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Aug 30 2009, 06:17 PM)
Does this support Denon AVR?

shd be no problem
even my older Harmony 885 can support 2809

Added on August 30, 2009, 10:36 pm
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Aug 29 2009, 11:00 AM)
Touch screen?

These aside, Denon's remote always kena ketuk by experts..
That's one thing I don't understand
those experts also 'kutuk' 2809 remote
said not user friendly, hard to use lar
but I find it quite easy to use
didn't take me years to learn doh.gif

This post has been edited by robinlim: Aug 30 2009, 10:36 PM
robinlim
post Aug 31 2009, 11:55 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 31 2009, 10:40 AM)
But not so soon. Ordered. Maybe 1 more for my friend 2 hook up his pwr amps. Sld be get'g it in mid Sept. Very bz lately. Black looks better.

Jchong is right abt pwr amp.
u plan to use ur future 4310 to hook up to a power amp also?
robinlim
post Sep 3 2009, 05:23 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Sep 3 2009, 05:19 PM)
Wow, everyone upgrading sweat.gif
u also not bad mah
got a director signature 2809 brows.gif
robinlim
post Sep 16 2009, 09:36 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(maja_5365 @ Sep 16 2009, 12:32 AM)
Just finished the setting on 2809 using Audyssey Multi EQ XT last night ard 1am. My initial impression on audyssey thing was WOW. It helps alot in improving my living room surround.

This afternoon tested Hulk BD. PQ wasn't that noticeable maybe bcos of my seating position( abt 8.5ft ) but I get to see the 24pfs on my lcd.

AQ- Excellent but need to crank up volume until -15db. There was a scene where Hulk was fighting this ultrasound weapon and I thought I heard a loud thud on my PC12+ or was it like it bottom out the sub. The surround steering was superb. Need to upgrade my mains n center but no $$.

Audyssey setting for the sub on 2809 was +0.5db and sub gain was at 10 o'clock. Now I can feel the vibration on my sofa.

Here is audyssey setting on 2809 after calculating the 8th position.

FR = -6.5db
C  = -6db
FL = - 7db  
SR = -4.5db
SL = -5.5db
Sub = +0.5db

Overall I'm loving my new avr and may be still need to do some more tweaking and I must admit there is no regret coming out from yammy  1600 and yes finally I got to see the magic word on the denon.

Thank to all the bro's leading me to the Dark Side.
welcome to the dark side
I was also surprised of the performance when I first got my 2809
no regret getting it as well rclxms.gif

Added on September 16, 2009, 9:39 am
QUOTE(khchong81 @ Sep 16 2009, 09:04 AM)
Anyone know which hifi shop that i can review full range of Denon product with excellent service & pricing?
for full range u can go CMY
pricing wise u can try Desa Home Theater

This post has been edited by robinlim: Sep 16 2009, 09:39 AM
robinlim
post Sep 18 2009, 09:37 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 17 2009, 05:13 PM)
Ooppsss.... Raya came early blush.gif

wah, congrats bro
can unleash the full force of 4310 during the raya break rclxms.gif

btw, will u still go for the emotiva pairing ur 4310 in the future?
robinlim
post Nov 5 2009, 11:54 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(maja_5365 @ Nov 5 2009, 10:17 PM)
Dont think XX09 model still available right now but u can try call WKH.

I got my 2809 last Sept. fr Perfect HiFi. biggrin.gif
How much did u get, bro?
less than RM3.8k?
robinlim
post Nov 9 2009, 10:41 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Nov 9 2009, 10:40 PM)
Yummy biggrin.gif
Yummy for 4810? biggrin.gif
robinlim
post Jan 21 2010, 10:47 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(radovantz @ Jan 21 2010, 08:28 AM)
in my experience, Denon & Marantz is well known among people who really interested in audio system only.
unlike yamaha, onkyo and Pioneer, everybody knows  nod.gif
err... to be frank
before I really went into the HT/audiophile world
I've already heard of yamaha, pioneer, marantz and denon
but never heard of onkyo biggrin.gif

0.0221sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:03 PM