31 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Perfumes for Guys V1

jonny4
post Sep 15 2010, 11:21 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(spoon2272 @ Sep 15 2010, 11:04 AM)
any1 wanna give review on givenchy pi? smile.gif
Pi = Sweet Vanilla Overload. Lasts for hours and hours and its very strong. I personally don't fancy it but the bottle looks very cool.
jonny4
post Sep 16 2010, 09:34 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(ruffin @ Sep 16 2010, 08:41 AM)
Hi All,
Just want ask if some of you like 70's & 80's powerhouse fragrance? We can share some experience here...since in Malaysia quite difficult to get powerouse fragrance...here some my collection..

http://www.basenotes.net/wardrobe/39542
I've got a few powerhouses and some of my favs are Kouros and Azzaro Pour Homme. Not the easiest frags to wear but the drydown is marvelous indeed.
jonny4
post Sep 23 2010, 11:09 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(^mtv^ @ Sep 23 2010, 09:55 AM)
Real men wear cologne, not perfume.
If I wear perfume means i'm not a real man ?
jonny4
post Sep 23 2010, 08:37 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Space @ Sep 18 2010, 01:36 AM)
Hi, Jonny, hope you still remember me laugh.gif I finally get to try L'artisan,
and the results are quite disappointing, I tried quite a few of them.
I was so disappointed those famous ones that I longing to try are not available,
(Passage d'Enfer, Dzing!, Timbuktu, Dzongkha)

so I've tried are The pour un ete, anana fizz, Mure et Musc and Fou d’Absinthe,
I was kinda horrified by the lasting time, the first three are so fleeting,
I think they disappeared as soon as I step out of Tangs,
The pour un ete is quite nice, but wears too close to skin,
after 5 minutes, I have to stick my nose close to my wrist to smell it,
anana fizz and Mure et Musc are plain yucky like those fragrance bean that children like.

The last one Fou d’Absinthe's really nice,
in fact, I went movie-watching after that and I can't stop smelling my wrist,
my neighbor must thought I am crazy, haha. Love to smell this on a guy,
it's clean, comforting and sexy, not in a ozonic, aqua way.
It lasts 2 hours with a single spritz.
Did you smell it before? If so, can you recall any perfume that smells like it?
Would love to try them.

Another perfume that I love to smell on a guy would be Cartier Roadster,
this one is quite perfumee and I personally thought it's a sillage monster,
so one spritz is enough and it last more than 10 hours.

I also went to L'occitane to try Vetyver cause I heard a lot ladies wear this,
but I found it too masculine on me, plus it's kinda boring,
I also tried Eau du Badian which I like a lot and thought it will be lovely on guy,
it smells so inviting and comforting but the dry down is kinda boring (as usual for l'occitane)
That's all I tried in a day smile.gif I wish to try more but I always try my perfume on skin,
so I can only try 4 in a time, and I still hate to go perfume shopping,
all the sales person turn sour face on me when I said I want to try it on skin,
guess that every time a person said so, there's a slim chance they'll come back and buy it laugh.gif
I also got those " duh, dumb person" look every time I asked to try a men perfume sad.gif

I hope all you guys find it useful if you want a girl's opinion on male perfume.
and haha, I want a favor from you guys,
please tell me what perfumes that you like and found irresistible on a female?
Hey Space, I just stumbled onto your post.

TBH I have not tested any of the L'Artisan frags u mentioned. My interest in frags have waned slightly these few months. But yeah a high price tag doesn't mean good sillage and longevity. Thanks for highlighting L'Occitane frags to me...always slipped my mind. You should try out Kiehl's Forest Rain and Original Musk.

I totally get what u mean with those perfume counter SAs. They usually so shocked when u want to try on skin LOL. One even said No to spraying my arm. So now I'll just tell them I want to "admire the beauty" of the bottle and I'll just spray on skin myself.
Personally I really like Hermes Hiris on a woman. After liking it for so long I ended up buying one for myself LOL.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Sep 23 2010, 08:39 PM
jonny4
post Sep 24 2010, 03:46 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Sep 24 2010, 02:25 PM)
Most of the time, SAs give me an unhappy look when I ask to try on my hand. Then again, if you are at the department stores on weekday mornings or afternoons, the SAs are usually not around, so you can just take the sample bottle and spray yourself haha.

I had a very pleasant experience the other day though, I was at Subang Parade Parkson, checking out the Dior counter when the SA, a pregnant lady came over and asked me if I wanted to try anything. I asked to try Dior Homme, and to my amazement she asked 'You want to try on your hand or on the strip?'

Jonny I know you're a big fan of Dior Homme, I love the smell and the drydown, but the scent is SO close to skin. Have you had the chance to try the Intense version? Since it's EDP I'm sure the sillage and longevity will be much better. I think I'd buy the Intense version in a heartbeat! Do you have any recommendations on something similar to Dior Homme but with better sillage? I've seen you mention Kenzo Power before, haven't had the chance to try that one though.

On another note, I managed to try Bleu de Chanel. First impression was that top notes smelled very generic, but after 20 minutes or so the drydown started and it smelled much better. Won't buy it though.

Also out of curiosity, are there any EDP versions available for men here?
I've got no probs with the sillage and longevity of Dior Homme. on me it ain't a powerhouse frag but it doesn't disappoint either. I have not tried the Intense version before as it ain't available here. An EDP doesn't guarantee stronger sillage and better longevity. There is a Dior Homme Cologne too and I hope u didn't try that one instead. Kenzo Power and Dior Homme are by the same perfumer and I do detect some similarities but both are worth owning a bottle. To me Power is a fresher brother of Dior Homme. I can't really comment on the sillage and longevity of Power compared to DH as I have not worn Power in months LOL.

Bleu de Chanel is a waste of money IMO. A lof of ppl were expecting much more from Chanel and Jacques Polge.
jonny4
post Sep 24 2010, 10:25 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Sep 24 2010, 09:48 PM)
can i have a review of armani code and armani diamond for men.
which is better ?
i m planning to get 1
code is much better because Diamonds is overly sweet and cloying.

Added on September 25, 2010, 10:26 am
QUOTE(Space @ Sep 24 2010, 12:18 PM)
Thanks Jonny, I'll put Kiehl's on my to try list.
As for those SA, I really don't understand,
is it like underwear, you can see and buy, but no trying on??
I always insist trying on skin, coz 9 out of 10 have bad drydown,
some totally lost sparks after the grand opening.
If I trust the paper stripe, I'll have cupboard full of perfumes. doh.gif

btw, do you have any recommendation if I want a perfume that smells like tiger balm or Vicks vapor rub? laugh.gif
I can't think of any frag atm that smells like Tiger balm or Vicks. LOL. If I ever come across something silimar to those 2 I'll pm u.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Sep 25 2010, 10:26 AM
jonny4
post Sep 25 2010, 06:11 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Sep 25 2010, 03:24 PM)
how long can it last ?
Not very long...on me probably 6 hours.

Added on September 25, 2010, 6:13 pm
QUOTE(maloa @ Sep 25 2010, 04:53 PM)
hi jonny,
there is one the first note smells abit like vicks,
issey de blue..
after 2hours the smells is awsome...
by the way, my most recent one is chanel de blue,
the sillage is medium, it can last for almost one day..
the base note is similar with the intial smell, nice
Yeah man ! I knew there was a frag with a vicks like smell but couldn't recall. Thanks man !

So @space u got ur answer there ^^. Tiger balm frag I still got no idea.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Sep 25 2010, 06:13 PM
jonny4
post Sep 28 2010, 10:06 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Sep 28 2010, 09:36 PM)
hey johnny, which is a better choice, armani code or givenchy play?
code is still my pick. Try Play Intense...it's not bad.
jonny4
post Oct 3 2010, 05:00 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(GuyzNexDoor @ Oct 3 2010, 03:14 PM)
Bought JPG Le Male and Paco Rabane Black XS juz now from fragrant shop. Darn, the price of JPG already increased. Bought 1 six months ago for RM220, now RM278.  Black xs is RM195 after 15% discount. The SA told me the price of all old frag has been increased. I've been with JPG Le Male since 2001, so not gonna change it tongue.gif  Normally will buy it with 1 or 2 other perfume. So far, beside JPG, i like Armani Code, Boss 6 and CH 212. Thinking of buying Gucci Pour Homme and BValgari Aqua oso, but have to wait for 2 weeks coz she said no stock.

BTW, love to see this thread now got more and more expert like jonny4, mrbs84 and Clavicus. Never miss all of your post tongue.gif  In fact, been using it as reference smile.gif  nod.gif  But of course, some of the frags being recommended are too expensive laugh.gif
Which frag shop u bought from ? do share hehe.

U see expensive doesn't mean it's gonna be a mindblowing frag contrary to what some of the posers on this thread have been trying to preach...been there done that really. Some of the RM500+ frags smell awful and some don't even last very long. But that's just me. One guy on this thread even said he dreamt about a frag he didn't even smelled b4 coz he liked it's description so much LOL. He must have found a way to google a smell. Anyways don't get influenced by all the posers on this thread and their name dropping of expensive niche frags...test the frag a few times...make sure u like it then buy it.
jonny4
post Oct 3 2010, 08:38 PM

1,974 posts

Someone took the bait LOL

Thanks for playing.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 3 2010, 08:39 PM
jonny4
post Oct 11 2010, 02:26 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(maloa @ Oct 11 2010, 12:05 AM)
Salvatore Ferragamo is awsome.
Can it last long ? I read a few reviews n ppl complaining it was not lasting. I agree it smells good.
jonny4
post Oct 26 2010, 07:36 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(deadsoulz89 @ Oct 26 2010, 03:01 PM)
hi guys!!

first of all im quite noob in purchase a branded perfume or cologne so right here i want to know what exactly fit my lifestyle.i travel to office or even dating with my gf by public transport a.k.a LRT@STAR.sot its quite hot and sweating alot

i wonder what product should i prefer based on my budget around less than rm250???
Bulgari Aqua. For other recommendations pls search this thread.
jonny4
post Oct 27 2010, 07:31 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(deadsoulz89 @ Oct 27 2010, 12:02 PM)
the price??

is there any diff if i buy from parkson/isetan etc or directly to boutique??The Price??
Should not be a diff in price as perfumes only use the brand name and is marketed n made by diff business entity...maybe a subsidiary maybe not.

IIRC I bought my 50ml gift set (EDT, shower gel n toiletry bag) for RM220 from the bulgari counter at Isetan.

You could get it cheaper from places like Just Parfum (usually 20% off the counter price)..but they usually don't offer any gift sets, samples n etc. Another option is fr one of the numerous sellers of LYN...just make sure u get it from a reputable seller.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 27 2010, 07:34 PM
jonny4
post Oct 27 2010, 08:26 PM

1,974 posts

I'm actually quite a fan of GPH II haha...its subtle and it has bad longevity.
jonny4
post Nov 3 2010, 07:48 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Nov 3 2010, 07:33 PM)
I was asked (last night) what sort of perfume I use.

"So-and-so said when she was in your office that there was a strong "lam yan mei" (masculine scent). What perfume do you use?"

"I cannot tell you. It's a secret. But I use two kinds of perfume."

"Tell lah. What did you use today?"

"I did not put anything on today."

"And normally?"

"Normally I use an extract from the testicles of bears."
Good one LOL...What was the gal/guy's reaction after telling them the secret extract ?

Last week a lady in my office asked me what frag I had on...Even before I could respond she countinued "Is it a Christian Dior ? Young man...did u curi-curi use your mum's perfume ar ?"

My response: "No lah...I am using a perfume by Zegna"

For the record I was using Z Zegna Extreme by Ermenegildo Zegna. It isn't feminine by a long shot but it does have this distinctive rose note that some ppl might consider soft.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Nov 3 2010, 07:49 PM
jonny4
post Nov 5 2010, 04:18 PM

1,974 posts

dkny the one gentlemen ? ?

jonny4
post Nov 5 2010, 05:06 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(malayneum @ Nov 5 2010, 04:30 PM)
anyone know where to find Azzaro Chrome?
Almost every department store in KL/PJ has it.
jonny4
post Nov 5 2010, 11:45 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(malayneum @ Nov 5 2010, 09:10 PM)
im tempted to compare it with cool water. do you think chrome is the best aquatic/fresh frags ever? especially in the sillage and longevity department.
IMHO I do rate Chrome very highly but it tends to be very common and there r quite a few similar smelling frags. Best for office I would say. Chrome winds hands down in the sillage and longevity department when compared to Cool Water. Smell wise I prefer Cool Water.
jonny4
post Nov 6 2010, 08:04 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(malayneum @ Nov 6 2010, 02:29 AM)
i have another question, what kind of deodorant you all wear? and which soap you use? most of the time i found out the deodorant smell is conflicting with the perfume. you wonder whats wrong, cant differentiate between shampoo smell, bathbody, or deodorant that youve used after bath with the perfume.
If I don't have a matching shower gel or deodorant I will use an unscented soap and deodorant. My unscented soap of choice is Simple and as for deodorant I use Lab Series.
jonny4
post Nov 7 2010, 06:17 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(swissdec @ Nov 7 2010, 04:08 PM)
guys..

how about  paco rabbane 1 million,  dunhill black and CK Man..?which do you recommend for me..
with it ranking..

base on sweet n smooth smell
I find both 1 Million and Dunhill Black to be horrible. CK Man although bland would be my pick...but it isn't very sweet.

31 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0549sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:48 PM