31 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Perfumes for Guys V1

jonny4
post Jun 24 2010, 11:42 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(BlackNAGA @ Jun 24 2010, 11:08 PM)
Almost finish the thread already but need to narrow down only tongue.gif

THX  jonny icon_rolleyes.gif
How's burberry , seen a few ads....(need ideas from other ppl too)
Burberry IMO is really not bad, not the most unique but still a more creative than CK, Armani and etc. I personally like London and Brit but can't stand The Beat. The new Sport is not too bad either. The rest in the Burberry lineup I don't like.
jonny4
post Jun 25 2010, 10:41 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(x-death-x @ Jun 25 2010, 10:18 AM)
your opinion on gucci by gucci?
A waste of money. It smells pretty good for 30mins but it den fades away pretty fast. I have not tried the Gucci By Gucci Sport.
jonny4
post Jun 25 2010, 07:47 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Jun 25 2010, 05:24 PM)
hi guys,
am planning to buy cologne as gift for my bf. (am targeting on Burberry )

Anyone using Burberry The Beat For Men?
can giv me feedback?

also, wat other Burberry cologne you guys use?
pls recommend with explanation.

icon_question.gif

very much appreciated.
serious feedback needed.
tkz
I've tried The BEat a few times but never liked it at all. I found it too peppery.

I own Burberry for Men, Brit and London. My favs are London and Brit...For Men is so-so. Brit is powdery and vanilla is prominent...good for the office as it's not too strong. London is not similar to Brit but still light enough for office..
jonny4
post Jun 25 2010, 08:09 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ Jun 25 2010, 08:06 PM)
i have got positive feedback and negative feedback for The Beat.
Some say too peppery, but some say the woody smells are great.
So i have no idea how it is.
seems like jonny4 you also do not like The Beat.

am still wondering whether i should get that for my bf or not.
Better ask him to try first...u wont want RM200+ to just sit on the shelf after u buy it for him.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Jun 25 2010, 08:12 PM
jonny4
post Jun 25 2010, 08:46 PM

1,974 posts

Good luck.
jonny4
post Jun 26 2010, 09:37 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(sickboy @ Jun 26 2010, 07:48 AM)
Any Christian Dior male fragrances to recommend, the only i tried is Dior Homme Sport.

Can be of any type
Dior Homme and Dior Fahrenheit are quite interesting. Dior makes much better frags than Dior Homme Sport. Another one worth trying is the classic Eau Sauvage (Savage Water) LOL.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Jun 26 2010, 04:26 PM
jonny4
post Jun 26 2010, 06:50 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(sickboy @ Jun 26 2010, 06:38 PM)
oh, how is Dior Homme as compare to Dior Homme Sport.

and iirc there are few versions of Fahrenheit
Both are totally unrelated to each other fragrance wise. Only similar in name dats all. Dior Homme is sweet and flowery and very different from the rest. Sport is ordinary with the usual citrus blast. Dior Homme as another 2 versions called DH Cologne and DH Intense. Only Cologne is available here and it is a fresher version of DH.

The original Fahrenheit is my fav.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Jun 26 2010, 07:48 PM
jonny4
post Jun 28 2010, 09:47 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jun 28 2010, 09:07 PM)
hows sexy men 212 ? is it nice ? how long does it last ?
212 Sexy Men smells like a Le Male clone to me and a not very good one. Longevity is better than average.
jonny4
post Jun 28 2010, 10:57 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jun 28 2010, 10:41 PM)
whats the best perfume that u have tried that smells good and last long
YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme, Dior Fahrenheit, Prada Amber Pour Homme, Thierry Mugler A*Men & B*Men, Hermes Rocabar, Aramis 900, Terre d'Hermes, Escada Pour Homme and Bulgari Aqua among others.
jonny4
post Jun 29 2010, 10:48 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(sickboy @ Jun 29 2010, 09:20 PM)
is Dior Fahrenheit an ideal daily wear perfume
Should be ok for daily wear unless u r outdoors a lot.

Added on June 29, 2010, 10:50 pm
QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jun 29 2010, 09:46 PM)
hey bro, i forgot to inform you that i"m a teenager. whats a good perfumes thats going to last long and good smell ?
used for occasions, dates and ofcourse for clubbing. i would like a perfumes that the smell would stand out in a crowd.
YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme, Dior Fahrenheit, Prada Amber Pour Homme, Thierry Mugler A*Men & B*Men, Hermes Rocabar, Aramis 900, Terre d'Hermes, Escada Pour Homme and Bulgari Aqua among others.

If u want to stand out u need to go for something different and not the usual fresh/aquatic/citrus types.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Jun 29 2010, 10:50 PM
jonny4
post Jun 30 2010, 10:08 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(sickboy @ Jun 30 2010, 09:30 PM)
how about office use?  tongue.gif
other than Dior Homme series, Fahrenheit, what are the other Dior perfumes for men available in the market
It's fine for office use just don't overspray. U may find the opening 1st hour of Fahrenheit a bit too strong but once it settles down it is just nice. Have u tried it before ?

AFAIK the ones available here are Dior Homme, DH Sport, DH Cologne, Eau Sauvage, Eau Savage Extreme (if still got stock), Dune Pour Homme, Fahrenheit 32, Higher and Higher Energy.
jonny4
post Jul 2 2010, 08:20 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(sickboy @ Jul 2 2010, 08:16 PM)
I have tried out Fahrenheit the original, I'm picking it up surely, but have not tried out Fahrenheit 32, and I dun see Absolute around.

how bout all the other Diors (except DHS)
F32 has a lot of vanilla...strong vanilla with a lot of florals. I don't like it one bit.

Eau Sauvage, Dior Homme and Fahrenheit are the only Diors I like. The rest are rather mediocre IMHO. Absolute was launched late last year...hopefully they will bring it in soon.
jonny4
post Jul 3 2010, 10:01 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(sickboy @ Jul 3 2010, 08:14 AM)
how is Dior Homme actually and also its longevity and projection, and lets say for daily office use.
and i see there are Cologne and Intense version of it

IIRC jonny you dun like Issey Miyake L'eau Dissey,right
Initially I found Dior Homme really feminine but as I begun to test out different types of frags I realized how unique and sensual Dior Homme is. It is prominent in iris and is rather sweet and powdery too. A lot of reviews mention Dior Homme smells like women's cosmetic/lipstick. Longevity on me is above average and so is the projection. Should be fine for office use. I don't think can get the Intense version here but i may be outdated hehe.

L'Eau i dun like because of the florals. For some strange reason I prefer the shower gel and dedorant stick LOL.
jonny4
post Jul 5 2010, 08:19 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 5 2010, 08:17 PM)
nah..fragrance is lasting..CK latest one..
CK Free ?

CK perfume all famous for not being long lasting wor...
jonny4
post Jul 6 2010, 11:14 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 5 2010, 09:43 PM)
forgotten the name.  sad.gif

most latest one.

really?wow. then those that can last can last 24 hours? drool.gif
Ya can even last a week if u don't bathe drool.gif

Added on July 6, 2010, 11:34 am
QUOTE(izam7 @ Jul 5 2010, 11:26 PM)
clavicus/naughtyz,

which version of bvlgari aqva that you guys refer to?
pour homme or marine?
did try both of them during my vacation in Singapore last weekend.
finally decided on pour homme for casual use bcoz of the smell..  thumbup.gif
bought at Mustaffa Store...@ heaven of perfume...
currently using Le Male based on sifu Johnny recommendation  notworthy.gif
Oh yes Mustaffa ! The shop is world famous u know for good deals, cheap prices, vintage frags and discontinued gems. Definitely a perfume heaven.
In general Singapore frag prices are more competitive compared to here where our market prices are controlled by a few companies.

Good to hear u like Le Male dude. It's one of my fav too but it makes my skin red and itchy for 30mins after applying haha.

Aqua Pour Homme is one of the better aquatics out there.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Jul 6 2010, 11:34 AM
jonny4
post Jul 11 2010, 09:39 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Knisse @ Jul 10 2010, 02:25 AM)
Hi guys,

I could use some great summer evening fragrances, and for the bars.

Im definitely more interested in something sophisticated that is a bit settle.

Right now i have;
Gucci Pour Homme + PH II,
YSL L'homme
Armani Black Code
Burberry London

I like them all very much, so if you have others you are sure that i like, please let know! Also if they dont fall in the above wanted categories, please just post away:)

Great forum by the way smile.gif
Cool collection of frags there biggrin.gif

But I noticed the frags u have are on the sweet side. So if I were u I'll add some classy masculine frags, a good aquatic and maybe something woody.

Classy masculine - YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme, Dior Eau Sauvage and Chanel Pour Monsieur.

Aquatic/fresh - Bulgari Aqua, YSL Live Jazz and Azzaro Chrome

Woody - Hermes Rocabar, Escada Pour Homme and Montana Red.

Rocabar, Rive Gauche and Escada Pour Homme would suit an evening out.
jonny4
post Jul 11 2010, 09:51 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Jul 10 2010, 09:01 PM)
I sound like a broken record here, but do try Versace the Dreamer. I tried it after reading jonny's recommendation and i'm a believer ever since. It's smells kinda oriental with a smooth vanilla-ish drydown. How much i love it? Lets just say its my default perfume for now. smile.gif
It's a great frag so don't be shy recommending it over n over again haha. I'm using my Dreamer really sparingly nowadays as it's close to impossible to obtain over here. The strength and sillage of Dreamer is almost perfect as it never gets too overwhelming or too subtle.

Added on July 11, 2010, 9:56 am
QUOTE(sarahlah @ Jul 11 2010, 09:47 AM)
hye jonny.. i give up on searching encre noire at counter.. sweat.gif i am thinking to blind buy dat frags.. any other vetiver frags dat u have tried b4 ?
Seriously don't blind buy Encre Noire. Some ppl will find it pungent and overly strong. Some even said it gives them terrible headaches. Give Guerlain Vetiver a try....Encre Noire is much more bitter and dry...and stronger too. But those two are not similar...just 2 different interpretations of vetiver.

Why don't u give Paul Smith Story a try. It's a very wearable vetiver frag.

Added on July 11, 2010, 9:58 am
QUOTE(Knisse @ Jul 11 2010, 04:23 AM)
I would love to give a review of YSL L'homme, but i am not very good at it, its kinda settle, non offensive, fresh clean woody smooth citrusity. But with a little dept, it could appear boring, but as more as you smell it the better it gets.

I will highly recommend it, as i think it has all season potential. And a kinda long longivity.

I must admit, i am too afraid of The Dreamer, it should have a kinda make-it-or-break-it opening which i am scared of smile.gif
I agree with your review of L'Homme as it's a very versatile type of frag but a little too pleasant and generic smelling to stand out.

The Dreamer ain't too scary as long as u don't overspray. The opening is actually my fav part of The Dreamer.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Jul 11 2010, 09:58 AM
jonny4
post Jul 11 2010, 10:29 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(sarahlah @ Jul 11 2010, 10:03 AM)
i have read some feedback for the Guerlain Vetiver.. They said the new one is kinda citrusy..

i will give paul smith story a shot.. is Pavilion or MV got that frags ?
It is extra citrusy but the bitterness of the tobacco and vetiver will quickly overwhelm the citrus. Guerlain Vetiver is not something that will appeal to the average guy on the street.

Pavilion and MV should have Story.
jonny4
post Jul 11 2010, 02:20 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Knisse @ Jul 11 2010, 02:14 PM)
Hi Jonny,

I very much appriciate your suggestions.

My idea; and why i am asking the question here, is because i would like to narrow my colletion down to 5-7 fragrances. There needs to be fragrances that fit All seasons, and All occasions.

It is importent for me that they are pleasent to be around, so i am actually not looking for a make-it-or-break-it type, something secure, that smells pleasent, a long longivity that doesnt scream (for me, jean paul gaultier - Le Male screams)

Since i wont be having THAT many different fragrances i obviously prefer once that are more all season possible.

With that in mind, would you still recommend the above?

Regards,  smile.gif
YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme
jonny4
post Jul 11 2010, 02:58 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Jul 11 2010, 02:22 PM)
sifu jonny...need ur help to recommend me perfume for casual days out and also for special occasions....if possible....something less people use and reasonably priced....=)
also...excuse me for my lack of knowledge in perfumes but I've heard that tester perfumes are better as they last longer?? so is it better to buy testers? and are there any differences between tester bottles and the stuff sold to us?
Casual - YSL Live Jazz, Bulgari Pour Homme Extreme, Solo Loewe, CK Be, Davidoff Silver Shadow Altitude and Versace Pour Homme.

Special Occasions - YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme, Bulgari Black, Aramis 900, Aramis Tuscany, YSL M7, Versace The Dreamer and Dior Fahrenheit.

I don't work in the perfume industry so I can't give u an answer whether or not testers are more concentrated. But from my experience I see no difference. Most of the time these testers have been exposed to light and heat for long periods so the smell will be slightly different. So that may be the cause of some ppl thinking testers are more concentrated.

There is no prob in buying testers but as always make sure the sellers is genuine as most testers don't come with the proper boxes and caps. Counterfeit items are a risk too. Always try to find out how the testers were stored as exposure to the elements will degrade the frag.

31 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0542sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:44 AM